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Exhibit A

STATE OF CALIFORNIA . EDMUND G. BROWN JR., Governor

COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES
980 NINTH STREET, SUITE 300

SACRAMENTO, CA 95814

PHONE: (916) 323-3562

FAX: (916) 445-0278

E-mail: csminfo@csm.ca.gov

December 16, 2013

Ms. Alice Park-Renzie Mr. Mark Rewolinski

County of Alameda MAXIMUS

1221 Oak Street 625 Coolidge Drive, Suite 100
Oakland, CA 94612 Folsom, CA 95630

And Parties, Interested Parties, and Interested Persons (See Mailing List)

Re:  Adopted Statement of Decision, Draft Expedited Parameters and Guidelines,
and Notice of Hearing '
Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders, 08-TC-04
Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5
Statutes 2006, Chapter 657 (SB 1469)

County of Alameda, Claimant

Dear Ms. Park-Renzie and Mr. Rewolinski:

On December 6, 2013, the Commission on State Mandates adopted the statement of decision
partially approving the above-entitled matter. State law provides that reimbursement, if any, is
subject to Commission approval of parameters and guidelines for reimbursement of the
mandated program, approval of a statewide cost estimate, a specific legislative appropriation for
such purpose, a timely-filed claim for reimbursement, and subsequent review of the claim by the
State Controller’s Office.

Following is a description of the responsibilities of all parties and of the Commission during the
parameters and guidelines phase.

o Draft Expedited Parameters and Guidelines. Pursuant to California Code of
Regulations, title 2, section 1183.12, the Commission staff is expediting the parameters
and guidelines process by enclosing draft parameters and guidelines to assist the
claimant. The proposed reimbursable activities are limited to those approved in the
statement of decision by the Commission.

e Claimant’s Review of Draft Parameters and Guidelines. Pursuant to California Code
of Regulations, title 2, sections 1183.12(b) and (c), the successful test claimant may file
modifications and comments on the proposal with Commission staff by January 2, 2014.
The claimant may also propose a reasonable reimbursement methodology pursuant to
Government Code section 17518.5 and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section
1183.13.

State Agencies and Interested Parties Comments. State agencies and interested parties
may submit recommendations and comments by December 30, 2013. (Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 2, § 1183.11(d).) State agencies and interested parties may also submit
recommendations and comments within 15 days of service of the claimant’s
modifications and comments. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, § 1183.12(d).)
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Claimant Rebuttals to State Agency and Interested Party Comments. The claimant
and other interested parties may submit written rebuitals within 15 days of service of state
agency and interested party modifications and comments. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, §
1183.11(f).)

* Adoption of Parameters and Guidelines. After review of the draft expedited
parameters and guidelines and all proposed modifications and comments, Commission
staff will prepare the proposed parameters and guidelines and statement of decision and
recommend adoption by the Commission.

Reasonable Reimbursement Methodology and Statewide Estimate of Costs

¢ Test Claimant and Department of Finance Submission of Letter of Intent. Within 30
days of the Commission’s adoption of a statement of decision on a test claim, the test
claimant(s) and the Department of Finance may notify the executive director of the
Commission in writing of their intent to follow the process described in Government
Code sections 17557.1—17557.2 and section 1183.30 of the Commission’s regulations to
develop a reasonable reimbursement methodology and statewide estimate of costs for the
initial claiming period and budget year for reimbursement of costs mandated by the state.
The letter of intent shall include the date on which the test claimant and the Department
of Finance will submit a plan to ensure that costs from a representative sample of eligible
claimants are considered in the development of a reasonable reimbursement
methodology.

¢ Test Claimant and Department of Finance Submission of Draft Reasonable
Reimbursement Methodology and Statewide Estimate of Costs. Pursuant to the plan,
the test claimant and the Department of Finance shall submit the Draft Reasonable
Reimbursement Methodology and Statewide Estimate of Costs to the Commission.
See Government Code section 17557.1 for guidance in preparing and filing a timely
submission.

* Review of Proposed Reasonable Reimbursement Methodology and Statewide
Estimate of Costs. Upon receipt of the jointly developed proposals, Commission staff
shall notify all recipients that they shall have the opportunity to review and provide
written comments or recommendations concerning the draft reasonable reimbursement
methodology and proposed statewide estimate of costs within fifteen (15) days of service.
The test claimant and Department of Finance may submit written rebuttals to
Commission staff.

¢ Adoption of Reasonable Reimbursement Methodology and Statewide Estimate of
Costs. At least ten days prior to the next hearing, Commission staff shall issue review
comments and a staff recommendation on whether the Commission should approve the
draft reasonable reimbursement methodology and adopt the proposed statewide estimate
of costs pursuant to Government Code section 17557.2.

You are advised that comments filed with the Commission are required to be simultaneously
served on the other interested parties on the mailing list, and to be accompanied by a proof of
service. However, this requirement may also be satisfied by electronically filing your
documents. Please see http://www.csm.ca.gov/dropbox.shtml on the Commission’s website for
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instructions on electronic filing. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, § 1181.2.) If you would like to request
an extension of time to file comments, please refer to section 1183.01(c)(1) of the Commission’s
regulations.

The parameters and guidelines for this matter are tentatively set for hearing on March 28, 2014.
Please contact Heidi Palchik at (916) 323-3562 if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Heather Halsey
Executive Director




BEFORE THE
COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES
STATE OF CALIFORNIA

IN RE TEST CLAIM ON: Case No.: 08-TC-04
Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5 Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders
Statutes 2006, chapter 657 STATEMENT OF DECISION PURSUANT

TO GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION
17500 ET SEQ.; CALIFORNIA CODE OF
REGULATIONS, TITLE 2, DIVISION 2,
CHAPTER 2.5, ARTICLE 7.

Filed on January 29, 2009 (Adopted December 6, 2013)

By County of Alameda, Claimant. (Served December 16, 2013)

PROPOSED STATEMENT OF DECISION

The Commission on State Mandates (Commission) heard and decided this test claim during a
regularly scheduled hearing on December 6, 2013. Nicole Wordelman, Legislative Advocate of
Platinum Advisors, appeared on behalf of the claimant. Lee Scott, Michael Byrne, and Kathy Lynch
appeared on behalf of the Department of Finance. Eduardo Cavazos appeared on behalf of the
Department of Health Care Services.

The law applicable to the Commission’s determination of a reimbursable state-mandated
program is article XII1 B, section 6 of the California Constitution, Government Code sections
17500 et seq., and related case law.

The Commission adopted the proposed statement of decision to partially approve the test claim
by a vote of 7-0.

Summary of the Findings

This test claim seeks reimbursement for counties to help juveniles whose Medi-Cal coverage is
terminated as a result of incarceration in a juvenile detention facility for 30 days or more to
obtain Medi-Cal or other health coverage immediately upon release from custody.

The Commission finds that Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5 (Stats. 2006, ch. 657)
constitutes a reimbursable state-mandated program within the meaning of article Xl B,

section 6 of the California Constitution and requires county juvenile detention facilities to
provide specified information regarding Medi-Cal eligibility to county welfare departments
(CWD) and, if the ward is a minor, provide notice to the ward’s parent or guardian beginning
January 1, 2008.

The CWD is then required to perform specified mandated activities related to initiating an
application for Medi-Cal benefits for the ward. The CWD is also required to determine the
ward’s Medi-Cal eligibility; however, this requirement does not impose a reimbursable mandate
since it is not new.



COMMISSION FINDINGS

l. Chronology

01/29/2009 Claimant, County of Alameda, filed the test claim with the Commission.

03/12/2009 Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) filed a request for extension
of time to file comments on the test claim.

06/22/2009 DHCS filed comments on the test claim.

08/12/2009 Department of Finance (Finance) filed comments on the test claim.

10/27/2010 DHCS filed rebuttal comments.

07/16/2013 Commission staff issued the draft staff analysis.

08/06/2013 DHCS filed comments on the draft staff analysis.

08/06/2013 Finance requested an extension of time to file comments until

September 5, 2013, and to postpone the hearing on the test claim to
December 6, 2013.

08/07/2013 Finance’s request for extension of time and postponement of hearing was
granted for good cause.

09/05/2013 Finance filed comments on the draft staff analysis.
. Background

This test claim seeks reimbursement for counties to help juveniles, whose Medi-Cal coverage is
terminated as a result of incarceration in a juvenile detention facility for 30 days or more, obtain
Medi-Cal or other health coverage immediately upon release from custody.

A. Preexisting Law

Medi-Cal is the state’s system for administering the federal government’s Medicaid program.*
The Medicaid program provides financial assistance to states to furnish health care to low-
income persons based on a cost sharing formula with the states. States that participate in the
Medicaid program are required to comply with certain requirements, including having
procedures designed to ensure that recipients make timely and accurate reports of any change in
circumstances that may affect their eligibility.> Federal law also requires that if the agency has
information about anticipated changes in a recipient’s circumstances, the agency must re-
determine eligibility at the appropriate time based on those changes.® Otherwise, re-
determination of eligibility is required every 12 months.

! Medi-Cal family income eligibility for children ages 0 to 1 extends up to 200% of the federal
poverty level (FPL), children ages 1 to 5 with family incomes up to 133% FPL, and children
ages 6 to 19 with family incomes up to 100% FPL.

2 Under federal law, the state may delegate the authority to determine eligibility for the program
to local agencies. (42 USC § 1396a (a)(5), 42 CFR § 431.11(d).)

3 42 CFR section 435.916.



Generally, Medicaid benefits are not paid for health care services for incarcerated individuals.
Incarceration is considered a change in circumstances that affects eligibility. No federal
matching funds are provided to the state during the recipient’s incarceration. Federal law does
not require states to terminate eligibility for aid during incarceration, but allows states to suspend
their eligibility during incarceration.

California participates in the federal Medicaid program through the California Medical
Assistance Program, or Medi-Cal, enacted in Welfare and Institutions Code section 14000, et
seg. Under the Medi-Cal program, anyone serving a sentence in a facility that is part of the
criminal justice system is ineligible for aid until permanent release, bail, probation, or parole.”

Prior to the enactment of the test claim statute, inmates of public institutions, including minors in
juvenile detention facilities, who received Medi-Cal before incarceration had their eligibility
terminated at the time of custody.® Under prior state law, the juvenile’s eligibility for Medi-Cal
had to then be re-determined with a new application filed by the juvenile, or the juvenile’s
parents or guardians, following release from custody. This gap in time after incarceration until
the new Medi-Cal application was approved often left the juvenile with no Medi-Cal or other
health care benefits for mental health or substance abuse issues following incarceration. As
stated in the Assembly Health Committee’s analysis of the bill that enacted the test claim statute:

There are huge rates of recidivism among the juvenile population. Often, the
reason for a ward's return to custody is the result of his or her failure to receive
treatment for a mental health or substance abuse disorder. The author reports that
a recent study conducted at the University of California, Irvine found that harmful
alcohol and drug use by adolescents in juvenile detention facilities is at a 70%
level, or roughly 70,000 of the 100,000 admissions to juvenile halls across
California counties in 2004."

B. The Test Claim Statute

The test claim statute enacted Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5 in 2006 to ensure
that the Medi-Cal application process is initiated before juvenile wards are released from custody
so that eligibility can be established immediately upon the ward’s release.® Beginning

January 1, 2008, the statute requires county juvenile detention facilities, immediately following
the issuance of an order of the juvenile court committing that ward to a juvenile hall, camp, or
ranch for 30 days or longer, to notify CWDs when a juvenile is incarcerated so that the CWD can

% States must “continue to furnish Medicaid regularly to all eligible individuals until they are
found to be ineligible.” (42 CFR § 435.930(b).)

® Department of Health Care Services, “Medi-Cal Eligibility Procedures Manual.” Page 6A-1.

® Welfare and Institutions Code, section 14053(b). California Code of Regulations, title 22,
section 50273.

” Assembly Committee on Health, Analysis of SB 1469 (2005-2006 Reg. Sess.) amended
June 15, 2006, page 4.

8 Ibid.



determine before the ward is released from custody if the juvenile will be eligible for Medi-Cal,
the Healthy Families Program or other appropriate health coverage.® The test claim statute also
requires the CWD to initiate an application for Medi-Cal or Healthy Families for the juvenile
with the cooperation of the juvenile's parent or guardian. Specifically, the test claim statute
requires the county juvenile detention facility to:

e Provide the CWD with the ward’s name, scheduled or actual release date, any known
information regarding the ward’s Medi-Cal status prior to disposition, and sufficient
information, when available, for the CWD to begin the process of determining the ward’s
eligibility for benefits including, if the ward is a minor,® contact information for the
ward’s parent or guardian, if available.

e |f the ward is a minor, before providing the information in the paragraph above to the
CWD, notify the parent or guardian, in writing, of its intention to submit the information
listed above to the CWD.

The CWD is required, upon receipt of the ward’s information, to:

e Initiate an application and determine the individual’s eligibility for benefits under the
Medi-Cal program.

e |f the ward is a minor, promptly contact the parent or guardian to arrange for completion
of the application.

e Expedite the application of a ward who is scheduled to be released in fewer than 45 days.

e |f the CWD determines that the ward is not eligible for Medi-Cal, it shall, with the
consent of the parent or guardian if the ward is a minor, forward the ward’s information
to the appropriate entity to determine eligibility for the Healthy Families Program or
other appropriate health coverage as determined by the CWD.

e |f the CWD determines that the ward is eligible for Medi-Cal, it shall provide sufficient
documentation to enable the ward to obtain necessary medical care upon his or her
release from custody.

The test claim statute also requires the Department of Health Care Services (DHCS) to establish
protocols and procedures necessary to implement section 14029.5. On January 2, 2008, the
DHCS issued an all county letter describing the activities required to comply with the test claim
statute.**

% The Healthy Families Program (California’s version of the federal Children’s Health Insurance
Program) is administered by Managed Risk Medical Insurance Board and provides low-cost,
subsidized health, vision and dental insurance to uninsured children, with family incomes up to
250% of federal poverty level, who are not eligible for no-cost Medi-Cal.

19 The juvenile justice system has jurisdiction over persons up to 21 years of age, or in certain
instances up to 25 years of age. (Welf. & Inst. Code, 8 607).

1 Exhibit G.



The Senate Health Committee described the legal background of the test claim statute as follows:

Under [federal] Medicaid law, states do not receive federal matching funds for
services provided to individuals in jail. However, federal law does not require
states to terminate inmates' eligibility. Inmates may remain enrolled in Medicaid
even though services received while in jail are not covered. Accordingly,
someone who had a Medicaid card when jailed may be able to use it to obtain
needed services and medication immediately after release.

Under federal rules, Medicaid eligibility should be reinstated upon release unless
the person is no longer eligible. Before ending eligibility, states must determine
the potential for qualifying under all the state's eligibility categories. Regrettably,
this re-determination often does not occur.

Even inmates who keep their Medicaid eligibility may lose Medicaid coverage
unnecessarily because of procedures in correctional facilities. Many individuals
will be incarcerated for so long that they will lose their Medicaid benefits after the
state's customary re-determination of eligibility is conducted (annually for
California). Something as simple as the loss of a Medicaid card following arrest
can make it impossible to obtain mental health services from Medicaid providers
upon release. Cards are often lost because jails take possession of all personal
property when booking a person. In many jurisdictions, this property is destroyed
if it is not claimed within a certain time. Inmates cannot claim the property
themselves and if they have no one to do it for them, their Medicaid card is
destroyed.*?

C. Subsequent Amendments to Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5
(SB 1147, Stats. 2008, ch. 546)

On October 16, 2007, the City and County of San Francisco and the County of Santa Clara filed
a lawsuit against the state and DHCS requesting that the court end the state’s policy of
terminating Medi-Cal eligibility for juveniles in custody and failing to restore enroliment
immediately upon release.*®

12 Senate Health Committee, Analysis of SB 1469 (2005-2006 Reg. Sess.) amended March 30,
2006, page 4. Exhibit G.

13 City and County of San Francisco, et al. v. State of California, et al., Superior Court of the
County of San Francisco, Case No. 468-241. The petitioners also requested a writ requiring the
state to provide Medi-Cal coverage for inpatient psychiatric hospital services provided to
juveniles under the age of 21 and in custody, consistent with federal law. On this point,
petitioners recognized that federal Medicaid law contains an exclusion generally barring the
availability of federal financial participation for medical services provided to inmates of a public
institution (42 U.S.C. 8§ 1396(a)(A)). But they argued that the exclusion was subject to an
exception for inpatient psychiatric hospital services provided under paragraph 16 of 42 U.S.C.

8 1396(a)(A). The court agreed and issued a peremptory writ of mandate against the state.



While the case was pending, the Legislature enacted Senate Bill 1147 in 2008, which ended the
policy of terminating Medi-Cal eligibility for incarcerated juveniles under the age of 21, and
instead required that eligibility for juveniles who are Medi-Cal beneficiaries at the time they
become inmates of a public institution be suspended during incarceration. To implement the
process for suspending benefits, the bill added Welfare and Institutions Code section 14011.10,
which became operative on January 1, 2010, or at such time the federal government approved the
state’s amended plan. Section 14011.10 provides in relevant part the following:

(a) Benefits provided under this chapter to an individual under 21 years of age
who is an inmate of a public institution shall be suspended in accordance with
Section 1396d(a)(28)(A) of Title 42 of the United States Code as provided in
subdivision (c).

(b) County welfare departments shall be required to notify the department [of
Health Care Services] within 10 days of receiving information that an individual,
under 21 years of age on Medi-Cal in the county is or will be an inmate of a
public institution.

(c) If an individual under 21 years of age is a Medi-Cal beneficiary on the date he
or she becomes an inmate of a public institution, his or her benefits under this
chapter and under Chapter 8 (commencing with Section 14200) shall be
suspended effective the date he or she becomes an inmate of a public institution.
The suspension will end on the date he or she is no longer an inmate of a public
institution or one year from the date he or she becomes an inmate of a public
institution, whichever is sooner.

(d) Nothing in this section shall create a state-funded benefit or program. Health
care services under this chapter and Chapter 8 (commencing with Section 14200)
shall not be available to inmates of public institutions whose Medi-Cal benefits
have been suspended under this section.

(e) This section shall be implemented only if and to the extent allowed by federal
law. This section shall be implemented only to the extent that any necessary
federal approval of state plan amendments or other federal approvals are obtained.

(F) If any part of this section is in conflict with or does not comply with federal
law, this entire section shall be inoperable.

(9) This section shall be implemented on January 1, 2010, or the date when all
necessary federal approvals are obtained, which is later.

In addition, Statutes 2008, chapter 546, effective January 1, 2009, limited the requirement that
CWDs initiate a Medi-Cal application for all juvenile wards following receipt of the information
from the county detention facility, to only those wards not already enrolled in the Medi-Cal
program. The 2008 statute added the following underlined text to section 14029.5:

(Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Petitioner’s Motion for Peremptory Writ, filed
April 5, 2010.)

10



(b) (1) Upon receipt of the information described in paragraph (1) of subdivision
(@), and pursuant to the protocols and procedures developed pursuant to
subdivision (c) the county welfare department shall initiate an application for any
ward not already enrolled in the Medi-Cal program, and determine the
individual's eligibility for benefits under the Medi-Cal program. If the ward is a
minor, the county welfare department shall promptly contact the parent or
guardian to arrange for completion of the application. If the cooperation of the
minor's parent or guardian is necessary to complete the application, but the parent
or guardian fails to cooperate in completing the application, the county welfare
department shall deny the application in accordance with due process
requirements. The county shall expedite the application of a ward who, according
to the information provided pursuant to paragraph (1) of subdivision (a), is
scheduled to be released in fewer than 45 days.

The legislative history of the 2008 bill recognized the pending lawsuit filed by the City and
County of San Francisco, and further recognized that the federal Center for Medicare and
Medicaid Services encouraged states to suspend, rather than terminate, Medicaid benefits while a
person is incarcerated as part of a federal effort to reduce homelessness.™

On March 23, 2010, DHCS issued an all-county letter (Letter No. 10-06) informing counties of
the implementation requirements of SB 1147. As summarized in the letter, the 2006 and 2008
statutes impose two processes: one for those wards who are Medi-Cal beneficiaries at the time
they become inmates and whose benefits are suspended during incarceration; and one for those
wards who are not enrolled in the Medi-Cal program at the time of incarceration, requiring the
CWD to determine eligibility when warranted and to start the application process for Medi-Cal
or other health program.’®> A test claim has not been filed on SB 1147 and, thus, no analysis or
findings are provided in this statement of decision on the requirements for suspending Medi-Cal
benefits for juvenile wards pursuant to Welfare and Institutions Code section 14011.10, or on the
new language in section 14029.5(b)(1) requiring the CWD to deny the application for Medi-Cal
benefits in accordance with due process requirements when the parent or guardian fails to
cooperate with the county to complete the application for benefits. However, SB 1147 does limit
the duties of the CWD that were imposed by the test claim statute to initiate an application for
Medi-Cal benefits and, thus, SB 1147 will be analyzed for that purpose below.

On April 15, 2010, the Superior Court in the City and County of San Francisco case denied the
challenge by local government regarding the termination of Medi-Cal benefits on the ground that
the issue was moot with the passage of SB 1147.

14 Senate Rules Committee, Office of Senate Floor Analyses, Analysis of SB 1147 (2007-2008
Reg. Sess.) as amended August 8, 2008. Exhibit G.

15 Exhibit G.

11



1. Positions of the Parties
A. Claimant’s Position

The claimant alleges that the test claim statute imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program
under article XIII B, section 6 and Government Code section 17514 for counties. The test claim
is supported by declarations from the County of Alameda, which estimates $14,948.41 in annual
costs to implement the mandate.*® A separate declaration submitted with the test claim estimates
a minimum of 30 minutes of a probation officer's time and 30 minutes of clerical time per
juvenile to carry out the probation department's duties under the test claim statute.’

B. State Agency Positions

Department of Health Care Services: DHCS argues that the test claim statute does not impose a
reimbursable state-mandated program within the meaning of article XII1 B, section 6 of the
California Constitution and recommends that the Commission deny the test claim for the
following reasons:

e The test claim statute’s costs are incidental to a federal mandate. Federal regulations
require agencies to have procedures to ensure that recipients make timely and accurate
reports of any change in circumstances (such as incarceration) that may affect a
recipients’ eligibility for benefits. Because the test claim statute requirement does not
exceed federal law, the test claim is not reimbursable.

e Under existing laws, counties are already required to assist all applicants and
beneficiaries and provide care for all juvenile detainees. Specifically, CWDs have an
obligation to conduct eligibility screenings of all applicants and perform re-
determinations of individuals whenever there is a change of circumstances or at least
every 12 months.

e The test claim statute does not shift the financial responsibility of carrying out
governmental functions to local agencies. The statute merely clarifies that the eligibility
determination or re-determination can commence when the county probation department
learns of the juvenile’s disposition and notifies the CWD.

DHCS also argues that the statute does not result in costs mandated by the state for the following
reasons:

e County stakeholders supported the test claim legislation and, thus, Government Code
section 17556(a) applies to bar reimbursement.

e The alleged costs of the county probation department are not “costs” for the purposes of
article X111 B, section 6 because CWDs are already reimbursed for the eligibility
determinations and any cost attributed to the test claim statute is a facet of its case
management duties.

18 Declaration of Patricia Fair, Deputy Chief Probation Officer for Juvenile Facilities, County of
Alameda, test claim, page 1.

7 Declaration of Allan P. Burdick, Maximus, page 1.
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e Welfare and Institutions Code section 14011.10 (Stats. 2008, ch. 546) results in lower
county costs to re-determine Medi-Cal eligibility because re-determination would be less
work intensive when eligibility is suspended. The resulting offsetting savings means
there are no costs mandated by the state in accordance with Government Code section
17556(e).

e Any de minimis costs of forwarding printouts of juvenile information to CWDs are made
up for by offsetting savings, such as no longer having responsibility for the health of the
juvenile 60-90 days after release. Under prior law, the juvenile could be deemed eligible
45-90 days after release and Medi-Cal would cover that period retroactively. After the
test claim statute, the CWD would not have to expend work hours managing the
transition or directing the health care of the juvenile, since Medi-Cal would be
immediately online. Also saved would be any incurred costs during the 45-90 day period
provided by non-Medi-Cal providers. And there would be savings from lower recidivism
because the juvenile inmate would receive mental health and drug and alcohol treatment
upon release.

In its August 2013 comments on the draft staff analysis, DHCS disagrees with the finding to
partially approve the test claim, restating its position that no additional costs would be incurred
by county probation departments because counties are already being reimbursed for their
services incidental to juvenile incarceration. According to DHCS, a partial finding of a
reimbursable mandate would result in duplicative reimbursement to counties. DHCS states the
following:

As DHCS as previously noted, counties are already being reimbursed for their
intake, investigation, and other services incidental to juvenile incarceration.
Counties are responsible for the case management of juveniles who have been
incarcerated in the juvenile justice system. (See Welf. & Inst. Code, 88 650 et
seq., 850 et seq., and 207.1, subd. (e)(1).)

The draft analysis does acknowledge that determining eligibility for benefits
under the Medi-Cal program is not a new activity for the County. This, together
with the fact that counties are already reimbursed and responsible for services
incidental to juvenile incarceration, means that even a partial finding of a
reimbursable mandate would result in duplicative reimbursement to counties.

Department of Finance: Finance believes that partial approval of the test claim may be
appropriate for the sole requirement on county detention facilities to provide specified
information to the CWD, if additional costs have been incurred. Finance states that counties are
fully reimbursed through state and federal funding for all costs of Medi-Cal eligibility
determinations.

In its September 2013 comments on the draft staff analysis, Finance reiterates the position that
approving the part of the test claim relating to juvenile detention facility administration costs
may be appropriate. Finance also states that it does not have documentation to show whether the
test claim activities performed by CWDs are already funded through federal Medicaid or state
Medi-Cal, or through county tax proceeds, and in this regard, Finance states the following:

13



Finance has requested that the DHCS take a closer look toward the activities
claimed by Alameda County’s welfare department which may result in the
claiming providing additional documentation to support its claim that the costs in
question have been, in fact, borne by the county’s general tax fund. It is our
intent to request that staff of the DHCS be present at the December 6, 2013,
Commission hearing to provide a more detailed discussion of the costs and
funding of county welfare departments activities under Medi-Cal.

IV.  Discussion
Article XII1 B, section 6 of the California Constitution provides in relevant part the following:

Whenever the Legislature or any state agency mandates a new program or higher
level of service on any local government, the state shall provide a subvention of
funds to reimburse such local government for the costs of such programs or
increased level of service.

The purpose of article XI1I B, section 6 is to “preclude the state from shifting financial
responsibility for carrying out governmental functions to local agencies, which are ‘ill equipped’
to assume increased financial responsibilities because of the taxing and spending limitations that
articles X111 A and X111 B impose.”*® Thus, the subvention requirement of section 6 is “directed
to state-mandated increases in the services provided by [local government] ...”*°

Reimbursement under article X111 B, section 6 is required when the following elements are met:

1. A state statute or executive order requires or “mandates” local agencies or school districts
to perform an activity.?

2. The mandated activity either:
a. Carries out the governmental function of providing a service to the public; or

b. Imposes unique requirements on local agencies or school districts and does not
apply generally to all residents and entities in the state.**

3. The mandated activity is new when compared with the legal requirements in effect
immediately before the enactment of the test claim statute or executive order and it
increases the level of service provided to the public.?

18 County of San Diego v. State of California (1997)15 Cal.4th 68, 81.
19 County of Los Angeles v. State of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56.

2% san Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (San Diego Unified School
Dist.) (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 874.

21 san Diego Unified School Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th at pgs. 874-875 (reaffirming the test set out
in County of Los Angeles v. State of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56.

22 san Diego Unified School Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th 859, 874-875, 878; Lucia Mar Unified
School Dist. v. Honig, (1988) 44 Cal.3d 830, 835.
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4. The mandated activity results in the local agency or school district incurring increased
costs. Increased costs, however, are not reimbursable if an exception identified in
Government Code section 17556 applies to the activity. %

The Commission is vested with exclusive authority to adjudicate disputes over the existence of
state-mandated programs within the meaning of article X111 B, section 6.%* The determination of
whether a statute or executive order imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program is a
question of law.% In making its decisions, the Commission must strictly construe article X111 B,
section 6, and not apply it as an “equitable remedy to cure the perceived unfairness resulting
from political decisions on funding priorities.”?®

A. The Test Claim Statute Imposes a State-Mandated New Program or Higher Level of
Service on Counties.

1. The Test Claim Statute Requires Counties to Perform New Activities.

The plain language of Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5, as added by the 2006 test
claim statute, requires county detention facilities to perform the following activities beginning
January 1, 2008:

1. Subject to the provisions in 2. below, immediately following the issuance of an order of
the juvenile court committing the ward to a juvenile hall, camp, or ranch for 30 days or
longer, provide the appropriate CWD with the following information: the ward’s name,
scheduled or actual release date, any known information regarding the ward’s Medi-Cal
status prior to disposition, and sufficient information when available for the CWD to
begin the process of determining the ward’s eligibility for the Medi-Cal program,
including available contact information for the ward’s parent or guardian if the ward is a
minor.

2. If the ward is a minor and before providing information to the CWD, notify the parent or
guardian in writing of the intention to submit the information to the CWD. The parent or
guardian shall be given a reasonable time to opt out of the Medi-Cal eligibility
determination. If the parent or guardian opts out of the Medi-Cal eligibility
determination, the county detention facility shall not provide information to the CWD.

23 County of Fresno v. State of California (1991) 53 Cal.3d 482, 487; County of Sonoma v.
Commission on State Mandates (2000) 84 Cal.App.4th 1265, 1284; Government Code
sections 17514 and 17556.

2 Kinlaw v. State of California (1991) 54 Cal.3d 326, 331-334; Government Code
sections 17551 and 17552.

% County of San Diego, supra, 15 Cal.4th 68, 109.

%6 County of Sonoma, supra, 84 Cal.App.4th 1265, 1280, citing City of San Jose v. State of
California (1996) 45 Cal.App.4th 1802, 1817.
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The CWD is then required to perform the following activities:

1. Upon receipt of the information from the county detention facility, and pursuant to the
protocols and procedures developed by DHCS, initiate an application and determine the
eligibility for benefits under the Medi-Cal program.

From January 1, 2008, until December 31, 2008, the CWD is required to perform these
activities following the receipt of information from the county detention facility for all
juvenile wards.

Beginning January 1, 2009, the CWD is required to initiate an application and determine
eligibility for benefits under the Medi-Cal program only for wards not already enrolled in
the Medi-Cal program.*’

2. If the ward is a minor, promptly contact the parent or guardian to arrange for completion
of the application. Applications shall be expedited for those wards scheduled to be
released in fewer than 45 days.

3. If the ward does not meet the eligibility requirements for the Medi-Cal program, forward
the ward’s information to the appropriate entity to determine eligibility for the Healthy
Families Program, or other appropriate health coverage program, with the consent of the
ward’s parents or guardian if the ward is a minor.

4. If the ward meets eligibility requirements for the Medi-Cal program, provide sufficient
documentation to enable the ward to obtain necessary medical care upon release from
custody.

The italicized activity required by section 14029.5 for CWDs to “determine the individual’s
eligibility for benefits under the Medi-Cal program” is not new. Under prior law, CWDs were
already required to perform annual eligibility determinations whenever the county received
information about changes in a beneficiary’s circumstances that could affect eligibility for the
Medi-Cal program, or at least every 12 months.?® Since incarceration is a circumstance that
changes a beneficiary’s Medi-Cal eligibility, prior law required CWDs to re-determine eligibility
(from eligible to ineligible) for incarcerated Medi-Cal recipients, and then another determination
of eligibility was required once the ward filed a new application following release from custody.
Thus, this activity is not new.

All other required activities, however, are newly required of counties. CWDs were not required
under preexisting law to initiate a Medi-Cal application, contact a minor’s parent or guardian for
completion of the Medi-Cal application, or forward a ward’s information to the appropriate
entity to determine eligibility for the Healthy Families Program or other appropriate health
coverage program if not eligible for Medi-Cal.

2T Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5 as amended by Statutes 2008, chapter 546
(SB 1147).

28 \Welfare and Institutions Code sections 14012 and 14005.37. California Code of Regulations,
title 22, section 50189.
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Providing documentation to enable the ward to obtain medical care is also new. Under existing
law, when a person applies for Medi-Cal and is certified as eligible by the CWD, the state issues
a Medi-Cal card based on documentation submitted to DHCS by the CWD.?® CWDs issue
“current or past month” (temporary) Medi-Cal cards to certain categories of individuals, such as
those who have a need for medical services prior to the normal anticipated receipt of a state-
issued Medi-Cal card* or those eligible for Supplemental Security Income or State
Supplementary Payments.®> CWDs may issue Medi-Cal cards to others, such as those who do
not have a share of cost, or are not enrolled in a comprehensive prepaid health plan for the month
for which a card is requested, or did not receive a Medi-Cal card.** However, preexisting law
did not require the CWD to provide sufficient documentation to enable wards to obtain necessary
medical care upon release from custody, so this is a new and additional requirement. According
to a DHCS memo, the requirement to provide sufficient documentation means that the county is
required to “issue an immediate need paper Medi-Cal card for the juvenile as soon as eligibility
is established.” %

2. The New Requirements Imposed by the Test Claim Statute are Mandated by the State and
not by Federal Law.

DHCS argues that the requirements imposed by the test claim statute are incidental to a federal
mandate and, thus, are not considered state-mandated activities. DHCS states:

The requirements of this [test claim] statute come within the federal requirement
to re-determine eligibility whenever there is a change in circumstances. Federal
law requires states to re-determine eligibility every 12 months or whenever the
agency is informed of a change in circumstances. This duty is concomitant to the
eligibility determinations that are already delegated to the CWD.

DHCS quotes the federal Medicaid eligibility re-determination regulation (with underlined
emphasis) as follows:

(a) The agency must redetermine the eligibility of Medicaid recipients, with
respect to circumstances that may change, at least every 12 months, however —

(... 1]

# Welfare and Institutions Code section 14017.8. California Code of Regulations, title 22,
section 50741; California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 50742,

% California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 50658(d).
%t California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 50743(a).
%2 California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 50743(b).

% DHCS memo to County Welfare Directors “Medi-Cal Pre-Release Application Process for
Wards in County Juvenile Facilities Re: Senate Bill (SB) 1469, Chapter 657, Statutes of 2006,
Welfare and Institutions (W&I) Code section 14029.5” January 2, 2008, page 2.
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(b) Procedures for reporting changes. The agency must have procedures designed
to ensure that recipients make timely and accurate reports of any change in
circumstances that may affect their eligibility.

(c) CWD or local agency action on information about changes.

(1) The agency must promptly redetermine eligibility when it receives
information about changes in a recipient’s circumstances that may affect
his eligibility.

(2) If the agency has information about anticipated changes in a recipient’s
circumstances, it must redetermine eligibility at the appropriate time based
on those changes.>*

DHCS argues that this federal requirement defeats the claim for reimbursement because of the
holding in San Diego Unified School District v. Commission on State Mandates, which states:
“for purposes of ruling upon a request for reimbursement, challenged state rules or procedures
that are intended to implement an applicable federal law-- and whose costs are, in context, de

minimis—should be treated as part and parcel of the underlying federal mandate.”*

The Commission finds, however, that even though the state’s Medi-Cal program implements a
federal program, the activities required by Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5 are
mandated by the state and not by federal law.

Article XII1 B, section 6 requires reimbursement only for state mandated costs. “When the
federal government imposes costs on local agencies those costs are not mandated by the state and
thus would not require a state subvention. Instead, such costs are exempt from local agencies’
taxing and spending limitations” under article X111 B.*

In this case, the federal Medicaid program was passed under Congress’ spending powers and
provides financial assistance to states participating in the program to furnish health care to low-
income persons based on a cost sharing formula with the states. In order to receive federal
funding, states that participate in the program are required to comply with certain requirements,
including those identified above by DHCS to re-determine eligibility when a recipient’s
circumstances change. As determined by the courts, a federal program in which the state
participates is not a federal mandate on the state unless the program leaves the state with no
discretion as to alternatives and no true choice but to participate.®” In the case of the Medicaid

%% 42 CFR section 435.916.
% san Diego Unified School District, supra, 33 Cal.4™ 859, 889.

% Hayes v. Commission on State Mandates (1992) 11 Cal.App.4th 1564, 1593, citing City of
Sacramento v. State of California (1990) 50 Cal.3d 51, 76; see also, San Diego Unified School
District, supra, 33 Cal.4th 859, 880; Government Code sections 17513, 17556(c).

%7 City of Sacramento, supra, 50 Cal.3d 51, 76; Hayes, supra, 11 Cal.App.4 th 1564, 1581.
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program, the U.S. Supreme Court has recently suggested that the states’ participation in that
federal program is not truly voluntary.*®

Even if Medicaid were determined to be a federal mandate on the states, the mandates analysis
does not end there. The key question then turns on how the costs of complying with the new
requirements in Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5 came to be imposed on the
counties. “If the state freely chose to impose those costs upon the local agency as a means of
implementing a federal program then the costs are the result of a reimbursable state mandate
regardless whether the costs were imposed upon the state by the federal government.”*® In this
case, the state freely chose to impose the costs of terminating Medi-Cal benefits of incarcerated
juveniles and establishing a process to determine eligibility before the juvenile was released.

As DHCS points out, federal law requires states to have procedures to determine or re-determine
Medicaid eligibility for applicants and recipients, but California already had these procedures in
place before the test claim statute was enacted. Preexisting law required counties to conduct
eligibility screening of Medi-Cal applicants and perform re-determinations whenever there is a
change of circumstances or at least every 12 months.*® The test claim statute was not necessary
for California to comply with federal law. In addition, the federal government encouraged states
to suspend benefits upon incarceration instead of terminate them. Thus, the federal Medicaid
program did not force the state to enact Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5.

Moreover, DHCS’s reliance on the San Diego Unified School District case is misplaced. The
court did find, as asserted by DHCS, that “for purposes of ruling upon a request for
reimbursement, challenged state rules or procedures that are intended to implement an applicable
federal law-- and whose costs are, in context, de minimis—should be treated as part and parcel of
the underlying federal mandate.”** However, that finding was made in a factual context that
does not apply here. The San Diego Unified case addressed the costs associated with due
process hearings triggered by discretionary student expulsion recommendations. The
discretionary expulsion recommendation then triggered federal due process requirements. The
court found that the state’s hearing procedures required by the test claim statute were adopted to
implement federal due process requirements, and that even in the absence of the test claim
statute, school districts would still be required to comply with federal law. Even though the state

% See, National Federation of Independent Business v. Sebulius (2012) 132 S.Ct. 2566, where
the court determined the constitutionality of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act of
2010, including the provisions governing the Medicaid expansion, which gives funds to the
States on the condition that they provide specified health care to all citizens whose income falls
below a certain threshold. In that case, the court recognized that Medicaid has long been the
largest federal program of grants to the States; and noted the consequences of nonparticipation.
(1d. at pp. 2604-2605.)

% Hayes, supra, 11 Cal.App.4th 1564, 1592-1593.

“0\Welfare and Institutions Code section 14012, California Code of Regulations, title 22, section
50189.

* san Diego Unified School District, supra, 33 Cal.4™ 859, 889.
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adopted some additional notice and recording requirements that were not expressly articulated in
federal due process law, those excess requirements were intended to implement the federal
mandate and did not significantly increase the cost of compliance with the federal law. Thus, the
excess requirements in that case were viewed as part and parcel of the federal mandate.*?

Here, on the other hand, there is no federal mandate to establish a process to determine eligibility
before a juvenile is released from incarceration. Thus, in the absence of the test claim statute,
counties would not be required by federal law to comply with the process outlined in Welfare
and Institutions Code section 14029.5.

Moreover, the intent of section 14029.5 was not to implement a federal requirement. The intent
of the statute was to carry out the state’s policy of addressing the huge rates of recidivism among
the juvenile population, which was thought to be at least partially caused by the termination of
benefits upon incarceration and the lack of benefits immediately upon release for the care of
mental health and substance abuse issues. The central purpose article XIII B, section 6 is to
prevent the state from shifting to local government the fiscal responsibility for providing services
which the state believed should be extended to the public.** Here it is state law, not federal law
that requires counties to incur the costs of complying with section 14029.5.

Accordingly, the Commission finds that the new requirements imposed by Welfare and
Institutions Code section 14029.5 are mandated by the state.

3. The New Mandated Activities Impose a New Program or Higher Level of Service on
Counties.

DHCS argues that the test claim statute does not shift the financial responsibility of carrying out
governmental functions from the state to local agencies and, thus, does not mandate a new
program or higher level of service. The Commission disagrees.

In order for the newly-mandated activities to impose a new program or higher level of service,
the activities must be new, as determined above, and either carry out the governmental function
of providing a service to the public, or impose unique requirements on local government to carry
out the state’s policy, which do not apply generally to all residents and entities in the state.**
Both factors are present here. The activities mandated by the test claim statute are uniquely
required of counties and implement the state’s policy with respect to ensuring medical coverage
through Medi-Cal, the Healthy Families program, or other health care program for incarcerated
juveniles immediately upon release. As indicated in the legislative history of the test claim
statute, the purpose of the bill was to reduce recidivism, which in theory reduces the rate of
crime. Thus, the activities provide a service to the public.

2 1d. at pp. 888-890.
*3 County of Los Angeles v. State of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56.

* san Diego Unified School Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th 859, 874-875, 878; Lucia Mar Unified
School Dist. v. Honig, supra, 44 Cal.3d 830, 835; Carmel Valley Fire Protection Dist. v. State of
California (1987) 190 Cal.App.3d 521, 537.
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DHCS further argues that the test claim statute is similar to the one at issue in County of Los
Angeles,*® where reimbursement was denied. There, the test claim statute required local law
enforcement officers to participate in two hours of domestic violence training every two years.
There was a preexisting requirement for officers to spend 24 hours in continuing education
training every two years, of which the two hours of domestic violence training could be part.
The court found that the statute did not mandate a higher level of service because the training
requirement remained at 24 hours before and after enactment of the test claim statute, so there
were no increased training hours and costs associated with the domestic violence training course.
As the court said, “the state is requiring certain courses to be placed within an already existing
framework of training. This loss of ‘flexibility’ does not, in and of itself, require the county to
expend funds that previously had been expended on the POST program by the State.”*®

Unlike the statute in the County of Los Angeles case, the test claim statute in this case imposes a
new process on counties that does not fit within an existing framework of minimum program
requirements. Accordingly, the Commission finds that the test claim statute mandates a new
program or higher level of service on counties.

B. The Test Claim Statute Imposes Costs Mandated by The State Within the Meaning of
Government Code Section 17514.

In order for the activities required by the test claim statute to be reimbursable under article

X111 B, section 6 of the California Constitution, they must impose “costs mandated by the state,”
defined as any increased cost that a local agency or school district incurs as a result of any statute
or executive order that mandates a new program or higher level of service.*’

The claimant contends that all activities required by the test claim statute result in increased costs
mandated by the state within the meaning of Government Code section 17514. The test claim is
supported by declarations from the County of Alameda, which estimates $14,948.41 in annual
costs to implement the test claim statute.*

Government Code section 17556 prohibits the Commission from finding costs mandated by the
state if, after a hearing, the Commission makes certain specified findings. DHCS argues that the
test claim statute does not impose costs mandated by the state for the reasons stated in
Government Code section 17556(a) and (e). The Commission finds that Government Code
section 17556(a) and (e) do not apply to deny this claim.

1. Government Code Section 17556(a) Does Not Apply to this Test Claim.

DHS argues that local agencies requested legislative authority to implement the program
specified in Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5 and, thus, reimbursement is not
required pursuant to Government Code section 17556(a).

%> County of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates (2003) 110 Cal.App.4th 1176.
“®1d. at 1194.
" Government code section 17514.

“8 Declaration of Patricia Fair, Deputy Chief Probation Officer for Juvenile Facilities, County of
Alameda, test claim page 1.
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Government Code section 17556(a) prohibits the Commission from finding that the test claim
statute imposes costs mandated by the state if the Commission finds that:

The claim is submitted by a local agency or school district that requests or
previously requested legislative authority for that local agency or school district to
implement the program specified in the statute, and that statute imposes costs
upon that local agency or school district requesting the legislative authority. A
resolution from the governing body or a letter from a delegated representative of
the governing body of a local agency or school district that requests authorization
for that local agency or school district to implement a given program shall
constitute a request within the meaning of this subdivision.

DHCS points out that the bill that enacted the test claim statute (SB 1469) was supported by the
following organizations and local agencies: County Alcohol and Drug Program Administrators
Association of California, California Mental Health Directors Association, Chief Probation
Officers of California, City of Los Angeles, City of Santa Monica, Urban Counties Caucus, and
the National Association of Social Workers. DHCS argues that this support constitutes a request
for legislative authority to implement the program specified in Welfare and Institutions Code
section 14029.5 pursuant to Government Code section 17556(a).

The Commission finds that Government Code section 17556(a) does not apply to the test claim.

Government Code section 17556(a) requires “a resolution from the governing body or a letter
from a delegated representative of the governing body of a local agency or school district that
requests authorization for that local agency or school district to implement a given program.”
The legislative history of the bill indicates that it was supported by associations representing
local agencies. But there is no resolution in the record from a governing body of a county, or
any evidence that a county delegated a representative to draft a letter requesting authorization to
implement the test claim statute.

Moreover, the Legislature, when enacting the exception in Government Code section 17556(a),
did not intend that support for a bill would be enough to constitute a request for the legislation by
a local agency. Section 17556 is derived from Statutes 1977, chapter 1135, also known as SB
90, in former Revenue and Taxation Code section 2253.2.*° The original statute precluded
reimbursement for a “chaptered bill ...requested by or on behalf of the local agency ...which
desired legislative authority to implement the program specified in the bill.” The following year,
section 2253.2 was amended by Statutes 1978, chapter 794 (SB 1490). The May 8, 1978 version
of SB 1490 added the definition of request to include “expresses a desire for and support of
legislation” as follows:

* The provisions of SB 90, Statutes 1977, chapter 1135, governed the mandates process for the
Board of Control, the Commission on State Mandate’s predecessor, and were repealed by
Statutes 1988, chapter 160. Government Code section 17556 was added by Statutes 1984,
chapter 1459 to govern the mandates process and replace the former Revenue and Taxation
Codes.

22



For purposes of this paragraph, a resolution from the governing body or a letter from a
member or delegated representative of the governing body of a local agency ...which
expresses a desire for and support of legislation to authorize that local agency ...to
implement a given program shall constitute a “request”...” [Underline added.]

However, the June 21, 1978 amendments to SB 1490 deleted the “support” language and
amended the section to be nearly identical to its current form in the Government Code, as
follows:

For purposes of this paragraph, a resolution from the governing body or a letter
from a member-or delegated representative of the governing body of a local
agency ...which expresses a desire Tor and support of legislation to authorize
requests legislative authorization for that local agency ...to implement a given
program shall constitute a “request”...” [ltalicized text in original.]*°

Rejection of a specific provision contained in an act as originally introduced is most persuasive
that the act should not be interpreted to include what was left out.>* Here, deleting the phrase
“expresses a desire for and support of legislation,” means that a “request of legislative
authorization” should not be interpreted to include an expression of “desire for and support of
legislation” because this phrase was left out of the final bill. In other words, the Legislature did
not intend to preclude reimbursement for counties or other local entities that support legislation.

Therefore, the Commission finds that Government Code section 17556(a) does not preclude a
finding that Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5 (Stats. 2006, ch. 657) imposes costs
mandated by the state.

2. Government Code Section 17556(e) Does Not Apply to Deny the Test Claim.

DHCS and Finance also suggest that Government Code section 17556(e) applies to deny this
claim. Government Code section 17556(e) precludes a finding of costs mandated by the state if
the Commission finds:

The statute, executive order, or an appropriation in a Budget Act or other bill
provides for offsetting savings to local agencies or school districts that result in no
net costs to the local agencies or school districts, or includes additional revenue
that was specifically intended to fund the costs of the state mandate in an amount
sufficient to fund the cost of the state mandate.

The Commission finds that section 17556(e) does not apply to deny this claim.

a) There is no evidence of additional revenue appropriated by the Legislature that is
specifically intended to fund the costs of the mandated activities.

DHCS asserts that counties receive sufficient funding from the state and the federal government
to conduct eligibility re-determinations for Medi-Cal, and that funding is available for the

% The word “legislative” was later amended out of the provision.
> Bollinger v. San Diego Civil Service Comm. (1999) 71 Cal. App. 4th 568, 575.
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necessary administrative costs incurred in determining and re-determining Medi-Cal eligibility.>?
As discussed above, however, eligibility determinations or re-determinations are not new and do
not constitute a state-mandated new program or higher level of service. Thus, the funding for
determining eligibility is not relevant to the mandated activities in this case.

DHCS also argues that counties are already being reimbursed for intake, investigation, and other
services incidental to juvenile incarceration and, thus, the activities mandated of county detention
facilities do not result in increased costs mandated by the state.

In order for Government Code section 17556(e) to apply, evidence is required to show that
“additional revenue that was specifically intended to fund the costs of the state mandate in an
amount sufficient to fund the cost of the state mandate” has been appropriated. Although
counties may receive funding to generally perform services incidental to juvenile incarceration,
the activities mandated by the test claim statute are new. There is no evidence the Legislature
appropriated revenue in a Budget Act or other bill “specifically intended” to fund the cost of the
new activities mandated by section 14029.5. In comments filed on the test claim, DHCS
acknowledged that no appropriation has been identified and no funds have been appropriated for
the new activities mandated by the state.>® Moreover, the County of Alameda has filed a
declaration signed under penalty of perjury that it has incurred increased costs mandated by the
state and estimates annual costs in the amount of $14,948.41 to implement the test claim statute.

Accordingly, the Commission finds that the exception provided in Government Code section
17556(e) for offsetting revenue sufficient to fund the cost of the mandate does not apply to the
test claim.

b) There is no evidence of offsetting cost savings resulting from the test claim statute.

DHCS also argues that the test claim statute results in potential offsetting savings because
counties are no longer required to direct the health care needs of the juvenile for the time period
following release and the subsequent approval and determination of Medi-Cal eligibility, as
follows:

Specifically, the county failed to factor in potential savings that could offset the
work hours as a result of Medi-Cal starting coverage immediately upon release of
the juvenile. Under the old rules (before the effective date of Welf. & Inst. Code
814029.5), the county was responsible for the health care of the juvenile 60-90
days from release from incarceration. During the 45-90 day period, the juvenile
was still not covered by Medi-Cal, hence, the county would expend work hours to
determine and direct the health care needs of the juvenile. Once approved under
Medi-Cal, Medi-Cal would retroactively cover the 45-90 day period. Under
Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5, Medi-Cal would be on-line
immediately and the county would not have to expend work hours managing the

%2 42 CFR 435.1001 states: “(a) FFP [federal financial participation] is available in the necessary
administrative costs the State incurs in— (1) Determining and redetermining Medicaid eligibility
and in providing Medicaid to eligible individuals; . . .”

*3 DHCS comments filed June 22, 2009, page 13.
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transition, directing the health care of the juvenile. Consequently, the counties
will realize a savings from Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5 since
they will not expend any work hours directing the juvenile’s health care needs
during those 60-90 days since Medi-Cal would be immediately online.

Furthermore, any services provided by non-Medi-Cal providers during the 45-90
day period would not be reimbursed to the county even after Medi-Cal eligibility
is established. The process under Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5
will cancel out the 45-90 day period, and hence would not subject the county to
potential services that are not reimbursable thereby resulting in savings to the
county.

Lastly, the county failed to take into consideration any potential savings
mentioned in SB 1469’s analysis regarding lower costs to counties because lower
recidivism will lower rates of incarceration since the juvenile inmates will receive
mental health and alcohol and drug treatment upon release.>*

Counties are required to provide indigent medical care under Welfare and Institutions Code
sections 17000 et seq. for those not eligible for Medi-Cal or other insurance programs. Counties
receive realignment money to perform these services.”® And once Medi-Cal is approved, the
benefits retroactively cover and fund the health services of the juvenile.®® Although counties no
longer have to direct the health care needs of the juvenile for the 45 to 90 days following release
from incarceration pending Medi-Cal eligibility with the enactment of the test claim statute, and
juvenile recidivism might decrease, county detention facilities and CWDs are now required to
perform new activities mandated by the state that, as determined above, increase the level of
service provided to the public without any additional revenue appropriated to the county. DHCS
has filed no evidence to support the argument that counties will realize decreased costs as a result
of the test claim statute. “Cost savings authorized by the state” is defined, in part, to mean “any
decreased costs that a local agency or school district realizes as a result of any statute enacted or
executive order adopted that permits or requires the discontinuance of or a reduction in the level
of service.”®’

Accordingly, the Commission finds that the offsetting savings exception in Government Code
section 17556(e) does not apply to this test claim.

V. Conclusion

The Commission finds that Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5 (Stats. 2006, ch. 657)
imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program within the meaning of article XII1 B, section 6

> DHCS provides a declaration from John Zapata, a Unit Chief in DHCS, Medi-Cal eligibility
division, regarding these same potential offsetting costs. Exhibit B.

% Welfare and Institutions Code sections 17600, et seq. as amended in 1991.

% \Welfare and Institutions Code section 14019; California Code of Regulations, title 22, section
50197.

5" Government Code section 17517.5.
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of the California Constitution and requires county detention facilities to perform the following
mandated activities beginning January 1, 2008:

1. Subject to the provisions in 2. below, immediately following the issuance of an order of
the juvenile court committing the ward to a juvenile hall, camp, or ranch for 30 days or
longer, provide the appropriate CWD with the following information: the ward’s name,
scheduled or actual release date, any known information regarding the ward’s Medi-Cal
status prior to disposition, and sufficient information when available for the CWD to
begin the process of determining the ward’s eligibility for the Medi-Cal program,
including available contact information for the ward’s parent or guardian if the ward is a
minor.

2. If the ward is a minor and before providing information to the CWD, notify the parent or
guardian in writing of the intention to submit the information to the CWD. The parent or
guardian shall be given a reasonable time to opt out of the Medi-Cal eligibility
determination. If the parent or guardian opts out of the Medi-Cal eligibility
determination, the county detention facility shall not provide information to the CWD.

The CWD is then required to perform the following mandated activities:

1. From January 1, 2008, until December 31, 2008, upon receipt of the information from the
county detention facility, and pursuant to the protocols and procedures developed by
DHCS, initiate an application for benefits under the Medi-Cal program for all juvenile
wards.

2. Beginning January 1, 2009, upon receipt of the information from the county detention
facility, and pursuant to the protocols and procedures developed by DHCS, initiate an
application for benefits under the Medi-Cal program only for wards not already enrolled
in the Medi-Cal program. If the ward is a minor, promptly contact the parent or guardian
to arrange for completion of the application. Applications shall be expedited for those
wards scheduled to be released in fewer than 45 days.

3. If the ward does not meet the eligibility requirements for the Medi-Cal program, forward
the ward’s information to the appropriate entity to determine eligibility for the Healthy
Families Program, or other appropriate health coverage program, with the consent of the
ward’s parents or guardian if the ward is a minor.

4. If the ward meets eligibility requirements for the Medi-Cal program, provide sufficient
documentation to enable the ward to obtain necessary medical care upon release from
custody.®

% According to a DHCS memao, this means that the “county must issue an immediate need paper
Medi-Cal card for the juvenile as soon as eligibility is established.” DHCS memo to County
Welfare Directors “Medi-Cal Pre-Release Application Process for Wards in County Juvenile
Facilities Re: Senate Bill (SB) 1469, Chapter 657, Statutes of 2006, Welfare and Institutions
(W&I) Code section 14029.5” January 2, 2008, page 2. Exhibit G.
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The activity to “determine the individual’s eligibility for benefits under the Medi-Cal program™
is not reimbursable since it is not new.

All other activities alleged by the claimant to require reimbursement do not mandate a new
program or higher level of service and are, therefore, denied.
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA - EDMUND G. BROWN JR., Governor

COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES
980 NINTH STREET, SUITE 300

SACRAMENTO, CA 95814

PHONE: (916) 323-3562

FAX: (916) 445-0278

E-mail: csminfo@csm.ca.gov

RE: Adopted Statement of Decision )

Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders, 08-TC-04
Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5
Statutes 2006, Chapter 657 (SB 1469)

County of Alameda, Claimant

On December 6, 2013, the foregoing statement of decision of the Commission on State Mandates

was adopted in the above-entitled matter.
Z/’ W Dated: December 16, 2013

Heather Halsey, Executive ector
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DECLARATION OF SERVICE BY EMAIL

I, the undersigned, declare as follows:

I am a resident of the County of Solano and | am over the age of 18 years, and not a party to the
within action. My place of employment is 980 Ninth Street, Suite 300, Sacramento,
California 95814.

On December 16, 2013, | served the:

Adopted Statement of Decision, Draft Expedited Parameters and Guidelines,
and Notice of Hearing

Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders, 08-TC-04

Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5

Statutes 2006, Chapter 657 (SB 1469)

County of Alameda, Claimant

by making it available on the Commission’s website and providing notice of how to locate it to
the email addresses provided on the attached mailing list.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is
true and correct, and that this declaration was executed on December 16, 2013 at Sacramento,

California. S
s
N

Heidi J. Palchik

Commission on State Mandates
980 Ninth Street, Suite 300
Sacramento, CA 95814

(916) 323-3562
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12/13/13 Mailing List

COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES

Mailing List
Last Updated: 11/27/13
Claim Number: 08-TC-04
Matter: Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders

Claimant(s): County of Alameda

TO ALL PARTIES, INTERESTED PARTIES, AND INTERESTED PERSONS:

Each commission mailing list is continuously updated as requests are received to include or remove
any party or person on the mailing list. A current mailing list is provided with commission
correspondence, and a copy of the current mailing list is available upon request at any time. Except
as provided otherwise by commission rule, when a party or interested party files any written material
with the commission concemning a claim, it shall simultaneously serve a copy of the written material
on the parties and interested parties to the claimidentified on the mailing list provided by the
commission. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, § 1181.2.)

Denise Ackerman, Department of Health Care Services

1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 0010, P.O. Box 997413, Sacramento, CA
Phone: (916) 440-7787

denise.ackerman@dhcs.ca.gov

Socorro Aquino, State Controller's Office

Division of Audits, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 322-7522

SAquino@sco.ca.gov

Harmeet Barkschat, Mandate Resource Services,LLC
5325 Elkhorn Blvd. #307, Sacramento, CA 95842
Phone: (916) 727-1350

harmeet@calsdrc.com

Lacey Baysinger, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-0254

Ibaysinger@sco.ca.gov

Allan Burdick,

7525 Myrtle Vista Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95831
Phone: (916) 203-3608

allanburdick@gmail.com

J. Bradley Burgess, MGT of America
895 La Sierra Drive, Sacramento, CA 95864
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Phone: (916)595-2646
Bburgess@mgtamer.com

Michael Byrne, Department of Finance

915 L Street, 8th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274
michael.byme@dof.ca.gov

Gwendolyn Carlos, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-5919

gcarlos@sco.ca.gov

Annette Chinn, Cost Recovery Systems,Inc.

705-2 East Bidwell Street, #294, Folsom, CA 95630
Phone: (916) 939-7901

achinncrs@aol.com

Marieta Delfin, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 323-0706

mdelfin@sco.ca.gov

Tom Dyer, Department of Finance (A-15)
915 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274
tom.dyer@dof.ca.gov

Eric Feller, Commission on State Mandates
980 9th Street, Suite 300, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 323-3562

eric.feller@csm.ca.gov

Susan Geanacou, Department of Finance

915 L Street, Suite 1280, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274
susan.geanacou@dof.ca.gov

Dorothy Holzem, California Special Districts Association
1112 I Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 442-7887

dorothyh@csda.net

Mark Ibele, Senate Budget & Fiscal Review Committee

California State Senate, State Capitol Room 5019, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4103

Mark.Ibele@sen.ca.gov

Edward Jewik, County of Los Angeles

Auditor-Controller's Office, 500 W. Temple Street, Room 603, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone: (213) 974-8564

ejewik@auditor.lacounty.gov

Ferlyn Junio, Nimbus Consulting Group,LLC
2386 Fair Oaks Boulevard, Suite 104, Sacramento, CA 95825
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Phone: (916) 480-9444
flunio@nimbusconsultinggroup.com

Jill Kanemasu, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 322-9891

jkanemasu@sco.ca.gov

Jean Kinney Hurst, Senior Legislative Representative, Revenue & Taxation, California State
Association of Counties (CSAC)

1100 K Street, Suite 101, Sacramento, CA 95814-3941

Phone: (916) 327-7500

jhurst@counties.org

Jay Lal, State Controller's Office (B-08)

Division of Accounting & Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-0256

JLal@sco.ca.gov

Kathleen Lynch, Department of Finance (A-15)

915 L Street, Suite 1280, 17th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274

kathleen.lynch@dof.ca.gov

Hortensia Mato, City of Newport Beach

100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone: (949) 644-3000
hmato@newportbeachca.gov

Michelle Mendoza, MAXIMUS

17310 Red Hill Avenue, Suite 340, Irvine, CA 95403
Phone: (949) 440-0845
michellemendoza@maximus.com

Geoffrey Neill, Senior Legislative Analyst, Revenue & Taxation, California State Association
of Counties (CSAC)

1100 K Street, Suite 101, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 327-7500

gneill@counties.org

Andy Nichols, Nichols Consulting
1857 44th Street, Sacramento, CA 95819
Phone: (916) 455-3939
andy@nichols-consulting.com

Marianne O'Malley, Legislative Analyst's Office (B-29)
925 L Street, Suite 1000, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 319-8315

marianne.O'malley @lao.ca.gov

Christian Osmena, Department of Finance
915 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 445-0328
christian.osmena@dof.ca.gov
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Alice Park-Renzie, County of Alameda
CAOQ, 1221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94612
Phone: (510) 272-3873
Alice.Park@acgov.org

Anita Peden, County of Sacramento

711 G Street, Room 405, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 874-8441
apeden@sacsheriff.com

Keith Petersen, SixTen & Associates

P.O. Box 340430, Sacramento, CA 95834-0430
Phone: (916) 419-7093

kbpsixten@aol.com

Jesse Phillips, Department of Health Care Services

1501 Capitol Avenue, P.O. Box 997413, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 440-7692

Jesse.Phillips@dhcs.ca.gov

Jai Prasad, County of San Bernardino

Office of Auditor-Controller, 222 West Hospitality Lane, 4th Floor, San Bernardino, CA 92415-
0018

Phone: (909) 386-8854

jaiprasad@atc.sbcounty.gov

Mark Rewolinski, MAXIMUS

Claimant Representative

625 Coolidge Drive, Suite 100, Folsom, CA 95630
Phone: (949) 440-0845
markrewolinski@maximus.com

Kathy Rios, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-5919

krios@sco.ca.gov

Matthew Schuneman, MAXIMUS

900 Skokie Boulevard, Suite 265, Northbrook, 11 60062
Phone: (847) 513-5504
matthewschuneman@maximus.com

Lee Scott, Department of Finance

15 L Street, 8th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274

lee.scott@dof.ca.gov

David Scribner, Max8550

2200 Sunrise Boulevard, Suite 240, Gold River, CA 95670
Phone: (916) 852-8970

dscribner@max8550.com

Jim Spano, Chief, Mandated Cost Audits Bureau, State Controller's Office
Division of Audits, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816

33

csm.ca.govicsmint/cats/print_mailing_list_from_claim.php 4/5



12/13/13 Mailing List

Phone: (916) 323-5849
jspano@sco.ca.gov

Dennis Speciale, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-0254

DSpeciale@sco.ca.gov

Meg Svoboda, Senate Office of Research
1020 N Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA
Phone: (916) 651-1500
meg.svoboda@sen.ca.gov

Jolene Tollenaar, MGT of America

2001 P Street, Suite 200, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA 95811
Phone: (916) 443-9136

jolene_tollenaar@mgtamer.com

Evelyn Tseng, City of Newport Beach

100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone: (949) 644-3127
etseng@newportbeachca.gov

Brian Uhler, Legislative Analyst's Office

925 L Street, Suite 1000, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-8328

brian.uhler@lao.ca.gov

Lisa Velazquez, Department of Health Care Services

1501 Capitol Avenue, P.O. Box997413 A-22, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 440-7700

lisa.velazquez@dhcs.ca.gov

David Wellhouse, David Wellhouse & Associates,Inc.
3609 Bradshaw Road, Suite 121, Sacramento, CA 95927
Phone: (916) 368-9244

dwa-david@surewest.net

Anita Worlow, AK & Company

3531 Kersey Lane, Sacramento, CA 95864
Phone: (916) 972-1666
akcompany@um.att.com

Hasmik Yaghobyan, County of Los Angeles

Auditor-Controller's Office, 500 W. Temple Street, Room 603, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone: (213) 893-0792

hyaghobyan@auditor.lacounty.gov
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Exhibit B

STATE OF CALIFORNIA . EDMUND G. BROWN JR., Governor

COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES
980 NINTH STREET, SUITE 300

SACRAMENTO, CA 95814

PHONE: (916) 323-3562

FAX: (916) 445-0278

E-mail: csminfo@csm.ca.gov

December 16, 2013

Ms. Alice Park-Renzie Mr. Mark Rewolinski

County of Alameda MAXIMUS

1221 Oak Street 625 Coolidge Drive, Suite 100
Oakland, CA 94612 Folsom, CA 95630

And Parties, Interested Parties, and Interested Persons (See Mailing List)

Re:  Adopted Statement of Decision, Draft Expedited Parameters and Guidelines,
and Notice of Hearing '
Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders, 08-TC-04
Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5
Statutes 2006, Chapter 657 (SB 1469)

County of Alameda, Claimant

Dear Ms. Park-Renzie and Mr. Rewolinski:

On December 6, 2013, the Commission on State Mandates adopted the statement of decision
partially approving the above-entitled matter. State law provides that reimbursement, if any, is
subject to Commission approval of parameters and guidelines for reimbursement of the
mandated program, approval of a statewide cost estimate, a specific legislative appropriation for
such purpose, a timely-filed claim for reimbursement, and subsequent review of the claim by the
State Controller’s Office.

Following is a description of the responsibilities of all parties and of the Commission during the
parameters and guidelines phase.

o Draft Expedited Parameters and Guidelines. Pursuant to California Code of
Regulations, title 2, section 1183.12, the Commission staff is expediting the parameters
and guidelines process by enclosing draft parameters and guidelines to assist the
claimant. The proposed reimbursable activities are limited to those approved in the
statement of decision by the Commission.

e Claimant’s Review of Draft Parameters and Guidelines. Pursuant to California Code
of Regulations, title 2, sections 1183.12(b) and (c), the successful test claimant may file
modifications and comments on the proposal with Commission staff by January 2, 2014.
The claimant may also propose a reasonable reimbursement methodology pursuant to
Government Code section 17518.5 and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section
1183.13.

State Agencies and Interested Parties Comments. State agencies and interested parties
may submit recommendations and comments by December 30, 2013. (Cal. Code Regs.,
tit. 2, § 1183.11(d).) State agencies and interested parties may also submit
recommendations and comments within 15 days of service of the claimant’s
modifications and comments. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, § 1183.12(d).)
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Ms. Park-Renzie and Mr. Rewolinski
December 16, 2013
Page 2

Claimant Rebuttals to State Agency and Interested Party Comments. The claimant
and other interested parties may submit written rebuitals within 15 days of service of state
agency and interested party modifications and comments. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, §
1183.11(f).)

* Adoption of Parameters and Guidelines. After review of the draft expedited
parameters and guidelines and all proposed modifications and comments, Commission
staff will prepare the proposed parameters and guidelines and statement of decision and
recommend adoption by the Commission.

Reasonable Reimbursement Methodology and Statewide Estimate of Costs

¢ Test Claimant and Department of Finance Submission of Letter of Intent. Within 30
days of the Commission’s adoption of a statement of decision on a test claim, the test
claimant(s) and the Department of Finance may notify the executive director of the
Commission in writing of their intent to follow the process described in Government
Code sections 17557.1—17557.2 and section 1183.30 of the Commission’s regulations to
develop a reasonable reimbursement methodology and statewide estimate of costs for the
initial claiming period and budget year for reimbursement of costs mandated by the state.
The letter of intent shall include the date on which the test claimant and the Department
of Finance will submit a plan to ensure that costs from a representative sample of eligible
claimants are considered in the development of a reasonable reimbursement
methodology.

¢ Test Claimant and Department of Finance Submission of Draft Reasonable
Reimbursement Methodology and Statewide Estimate of Costs. Pursuant to the plan,
the test claimant and the Department of Finance shall submit the Draft Reasonable
Reimbursement Methodology and Statewide Estimate of Costs to the Commission.
See Government Code section 17557.1 for guidance in preparing and filing a timely
submission.

* Review of Proposed Reasonable Reimbursement Methodology and Statewide
Estimate of Costs. Upon receipt of the jointly developed proposals, Commission staff
shall notify all recipients that they shall have the opportunity to review and provide
written comments or recommendations concerning the draft reasonable reimbursement
methodology and proposed statewide estimate of costs within fifteen (15) days of service.
The test claimant and Department of Finance may submit written rebuttals to
Commission staff.

¢ Adoption of Reasonable Reimbursement Methodology and Statewide Estimate of
Costs. At least ten days prior to the next hearing, Commission staff shall issue review
comments and a staff recommendation on whether the Commission should approve the
draft reasonable reimbursement methodology and adopt the proposed statewide estimate
of costs pursuant to Government Code section 17557.2.

You are advised that comments filed with the Commission are required to be simultaneously
served on the other interested parties on the mailing list, and to be accompanied by a proof of
service. However, this requirement may also be satisfied by electronically filing your
documents. Please see http://www.csm.ca.gov/dropbox.shtml on the Commission’s website for
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Ms. Park-Renzie and Mr. Rewolinski
December 16, 2013
Page 3

instructions on electronic filing. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, § 1181.2.) If you would like to request
an extension of time to file comments, please refer to section 1183.01(c)(1) of the Commission’s
regulations.

The parameters and guidelines for this matter are tentatively set for hearing on March 28, 2014.
Please contact Heidi Palchik at (916) 323-3562 if you have any questions.

Sincerely,

Heather Halsey
Executive Director
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Proposed for Adoption: March 28, 2014
JAMANDATES\2008\TC\08-TC-04 (Medi Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders)\Ps&Gs\Expedited Draft Proposed
Ps&Gs.docx

DRAFT EXPEDITED PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES
Welfare and Institution Code Sections 14029.5
Statutes 2006, Chapter 657

Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders
08-TC-04

Period of reimbursement begins January 1, 2008
l. SUMMARY OF THE MANDATE

These parameters and guidelines address activities associated with county juvenile detention
facilities and county welfare departments (CWD) assisting juveniles whose Medi-Cal coverage is
terminated as a result of incarceration in a juvenile detention facility for 30 days or more to
obtain Medi-Cal or other health coverage immediately upon release from custody. The activities
require county juvenile detention facilities to provide specified information regarding Medi-Cal
eligibility to CWDs and, if the ward is a minor, provide notice to the ward’s parent or guardian
beginning January 1, 2008. The CWD is then required to perform specified mandated activities
related to initiating an application for Medi-Cal benefits for the ward. The CWD is also required
to determine the ward’s Medi-Cal eligibility; however, this requirement does not impose a
reimbursable mandate since it is not new.

On December 6, 2013, the Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted a statement of
decision on the test claim finding that Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5, as
amended by test claim statute, imposes a partial reimbursable state-mandated program on local
agencies within the meaning of article XII1 B, section 6 of the California Constitution, and
Government Code section 17514. The Commission approved the test claim for the reimbursable
activities found under Section IV. Reimbursable Activities.

1. ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS

Any county and city and county that incur increased costs as a result of this mandate are eligible
to claim reimbursement.

I11.  PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT

Government Code section 17557(e) states that a test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30
following a given fiscal year to establish eligibility for that fiscal year. The County of Alameda
filed the test claim on January 29, 2008, establishing eligibility for reimbursement for the 2007-
2008 fiscal year. However, the effective date of the reimbursable state-mandated activities begins
January 1, 2008, the effective date of the test claim statute. As a result, any costs incurred for the
activities in these parameters and guidelines are reimbursable on or after January 1, 2008.

Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows:
1. Actual costs for one fiscal year shall be included in each claim.
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2. Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1)(A), all claims for reimbursement of
initial fiscal year costs shall be submitted to the State Controller (Controller) within 120
days of the issuance date for the claiming instructions.

3. Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a school district may, by February 15
following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred, file an annual reimbursement
claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year.

4. If revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Government
Code section 17558(c), between November 15 and February 15, a local agency filing an
annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the
revised claiming instructions to file a claim. (Government Code section 17560(b).)

5. If the total costs for a given fiscal year do not exceed $1,000, no reimbursement shall be
allowed except as otherwise allowed by Government Code section 17564(a)

6. There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended
the operation of a mandate pursuant to state law.

IV. REIMBURSABLE ACTIVITIES

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be
claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities.
Actual costs must be traceable to and supported by source documents that show the validity of
such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A
source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for
the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to,
employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost
allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, and declarations.
Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, “I certify (or declare) under
penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct,”
and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5.
Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable
activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements.
However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable
activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is
required to incur as a result of the mandate.

For each eligible claimant that incurs increased costs, the following activities are reimbursable:

1. Subject to the provisions in Activity 2 below, immediately following the issuance of an
order of the juvenile court committing the ward to a juvenile hall, camp, or ranch for 30
days or longer, provide the appropriate CWD with the following information: the ward’s
name, scheduled or actual release date, any known information regarding the ward’s
Medi-Cal status prior to disposition, and sufficient information when available for the
CWD to begin the process of determining the ward’s eligibility for the Medi-Cal
program, including available contact information for the ward’s parent or guardian if the
ward is a minor.
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2. If the ward is a minor and before providing information to the CWD, notify the parent or
guardian in writing of the intention to submit the information to the CWD. The parent or
guardian shall be given a reasonable time to opt out of the Medi-Cal eligibility
determination. If the parent or guardian opts out of the Medi-Cal eligibility
determination, the county detention facility shall not provide information to the CWD.

The CWD is then required to perform the following mandated activities:

1. From January 1, 2008, until December 31, 2008, upon receipt of the information from the
county detention facility, and pursuant to the protocols and procedures developed by
DHCS, initiate an application for benefits under the Medi-Cal program for all juvenile
wards.

2. Beginning January 1, 2009, upon receipt of the information from the county detention
facility, and pursuant to the protocols and procedures developed by DHCS, initiate an
application for benefits under the Medi-Cal program only for wards not already enrolled
in the Medi-Cal program. If the ward is a minor, promptly contact the parent or guardian
to arrange for completion of the application. Applications shall be expedited for those
wards scheduled to be released in fewer than 45 days.

3. If the ward does not meet the eligibility requirements for the Medi-Cal program, forward
the ward’s information to the appropriate entity to determine eligibility for the Healthy
Families Program, or other appropriate health coverage program, with the consent of the
ward’s parents or guardian if the ward is a minor.

4. If the ward meets eligibility requirements for the Medi-Cal program, provide sufficient
documentation to enable the ward to obtain necessary medical care upon release from
custody.

The activity to ““determine the individual’s eligibility for benefits under the Medi-Cal program”
IS not reimbursable since it is not new.

V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION

Each of the following cost elements must be identified for each reimbursable activity identified
in Section IV, Reimbursable Activities, of this document. Each claimed reimbursable cost must
be supported by source documentation as described in Section IV. Additionally, each
reimbursement claim must be filed in a timely manner.

A. Direct Cost Reporting

Direct costs are those costs incurred specifically for the reimbursable activities. The following
direct costs are eligible for reimbursement.

1. Salaries and Benefits

Report each employee implementing the reimbursable activities by name, job classification,
and productive hourly rate (total wages and related benefits divided by productive hours).
Describe the specific reimbursable activities performed and the hours devoted to each
reimbursable activity performed.

40



2. Materials and Supplies

Report the cost of materials and supplies that have been consumed or expended for the
purpose of the reimbursable activities. Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price after
deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by the claimant. Supplies that are
withdrawn from inventory shall be charged on an appropriate and recognized method of
costing, consistently applied.

3. Contracted Services

Report the name of the contractor and services performed to implement the reimbursable
activities. Attach a copy of the contract to the claim. If the contractor bills for time and
materials, report the number of hours spent on the activities and all costs charged. If the
contract is a fixed price, report the dates when services were performed and itemize all costs
for those services. If the contract services are also used for purposes other than the
reimbursable activities, only the pro-rata portion of the services used to implement the
reimbursable activities can be claimed. Submit contract consultant and attorney invoices
with the claim and a description of the contract scope of services.

4. Fixed Assets

Report the purchase price paid for fixed assets (including computers) necessary to
implement the reimbursable activities. The purchase price includes taxes, delivery costs,
and installation costs. If the fixed asset is also used for purposes other than the reimbursable
activities, only the pro-rata portion of the purchase price used to implement the reimbursable
activities can be claimed.

5. Travel

Report the name of the employee traveling for the purpose of the reimbursable activities.
Include the date of travel, destination, the specific reimbursable activity requiring travel, and
related travel expenses reimbursed to the employee in compliance with the rules of the local
jurisdiction. Report employee travel time according to the rules of cost element A.1.,
Salaries and Benefits, for each applicable reimbursable activity.

B. Indirect Cost Rates

Indirect costs are costs that are incurred for a common or joint purpose, benefiting more than one
program, and are not directly assignable to a particular department or program without efforts
disproportionate to the result achieved. Indirect costs may include both: (1) overhead costs of
the unit performing the mandate; and (2) the costs of the central government services distributed
to the other departments based on a systematic and rational basis through a cost allocation plan.

Compensation for indirect costs is eligible for reimbursement utilizing the procedure provided in
2 CFR Part 225 (Office of Management and Budget (OMB) Circular A-87). Claimants have the
option of using 10% of direct labor, excluding fringe benefits, or preparing an Indirect Cost Rate
Proposal (ICRP) if the indirect cost rate claimed exceeds 10%.

If the claimant chooses to prepare an ICRP, both the direct costs (as defined and described in 2
CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B) and the indirect
costs shall exclude capital expenditures and unallowable costs (as defined and described in 2
CFR Part 225, Appendix A and B (OMB Circular A-87 Attachments A and B). However,
unallowable costs must be included in the direct costs if they represent activities to which
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indirect costs are properly allocable. The distribution base may be: (1) total direct costs
(excluding capital expenditures and other distorting items, such as pass-through funds, major
subcontracts, etc.); (2) direct salaries and wages; or (3) another base which results in an equitable
distribution.

In calculating an ICRP, the claimant shall have the choice of one of the following
methodologies:

1. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular A-
87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by: (1) classifying a department’s total
costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total allowable
indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base. The result of
this process is an indirect cost rate which is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.
The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount of allowable
indirect costs bears to the base selected; or

2. The allocation of allowable indirect costs (as defined and described in OMB Circular A-
87 Attachments A and B) shall be accomplished by: (1) separating a department into
groups, such as divisions or sections, and then classifying the division’s or section’s total
costs for the base period as either direct or indirect; and (2) dividing the total allowable
indirect costs (net of applicable credits) by an equitable distribution base. The result of
this process is an indirect cost rate that is used to distribute indirect costs to mandates.
The rate should be expressed as a percentage which the total amount of allowable
indirect costs bears to the base selected.

VI. RECORD RETENTION

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5(a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed
by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter® is subject to the initiation of an audit
by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is
filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is
made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for
the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the
claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the
audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in
Section V., must be retained during the period subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by
the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the
ultimate resolution of any audit findings.

VIl. OFFSETTING REVENUES AND REIMBURSEMENTS

Any offsetting revenue the claimant experiences in the same program as a result of the same
statutes or executive orders found to contain the mandate shall be deducted from the costs
claimed. In addition, reimbursement for this mandate from any source, including but not limited
to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, shall be identified and deducted
from this claim.

! This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code.
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VIIl. STATE CONTROLLER’S CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558(b), the Controller shall issue claiming instructions
for each mandate that requires state reimbursement not later than 90 days after receiving the
adopted parameters and guidelines from the Commission, to assist local agencies and school
districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed. The claiming instructions shall be derived from the
statements of decisions on the test claim and parameters and guidelines and the parameters and
guidelines adopted by the Commission.

Pursuant to Government Code section 17561(d)(1), issuance of the claiming instructions shall
constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement
claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission.

IX. REMEDIES BEFORE THE COMMISSION

Upon request of a local agency or school district, the Commission shall review the claiming
instructions issued by the State Controller or any other authorized state agency for
reimbursement of mandated costs pursuant to Government Code section 17571. If the
Commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and
guidelines, the Commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and
the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines
as directed by the Commission.

In addition, requests may be made to amend parameters and guidelines pursuant to Government
Code section 17557(d), and California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2.

X. LEGAL AND FACTUAL BASIS FOR THE PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES

The statements of decision adopted for the test claim and parameters and guidelines are legally
binding on all parties and provide the legal and factual basis for the parameters and guidelines.
The support for the legal and factual findings is found in the administrative record. The
administrative record is on file with the Commission.
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DECLARATION OF SERVICE BY EMAIL

I, the undersigned, declare as follows:

I am a resident of the County of Solano and | am over the age of 18 years, and not a party to the
within action. My place of employment is 980 Ninth Street, Suite 300, Sacramento,
California 95814.

On December 16, 2013, | served the:

Adopted Statement of Decision, Draft Expedited Parameters and Guidelines,
and Notice of Hearing

Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders, 08-TC-04

Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5

Statutes 2006, Chapter 657 (SB 1469)

County of Alameda, Claimant

by making it available on the Commission’s website and providing notice of how to locate it to
the email addresses provided on the attached mailing list.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is
true and correct, and that this declaration was executed on December 16, 2013 at Sacramento,

California. S
s
N

Heidi J. Palchik

Commission on State Mandates
980 Ninth Street, Suite 300
Sacramento, CA 95814

(916) 323-3562
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12/13/13 Mailing List

COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES

Mailing List
Last Updated: 11/27/13
Claim Number: 08-TC-04
Matter: Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders

Claimant(s): County of Alameda

TO ALL PARTIES, INTERESTED PARTIES, AND INTERESTED PERSONS:

Each commission mailing list is continuously updated as requests are received to include or remove
any party or person on the mailing list. A current mailing list is provided with commission
correspondence, and a copy of the current mailing list is available upon request at any time. Except
as provided otherwise by commission rule, when a party or interested party files any written material
with the commission concemning a claim, it shall simultaneously serve a copy of the written material
on the parties and interested parties to the claimidentified on the mailing list provided by the
commission. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, § 1181.2.)

Denise Ackerman, Department of Health Care Services

1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 0010, P.O. Box 997413, Sacramento, CA
Phone: (916) 440-7787

denise.ackerman@dhcs.ca.gov

Socorro Aquino, State Controller's Office

Division of Audits, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 322-7522

SAquino@sco.ca.gov

Harmeet Barkschat, Mandate Resource Services,LLC
5325 Elkhorn Blvd. #307, Sacramento, CA 95842
Phone: (916) 727-1350

harmeet@calsdrc.com

Lacey Baysinger, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-0254

Ibaysinger@sco.ca.gov

Allan Burdick,

7525 Myrtle Vista Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95831
Phone: (916) 203-3608

allanburdick@gmail.com

J. Bradley Burgess, MGT of America
895 La Sierra Drive, Sacramento, CA 95864
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Phone: (916)595-2646
Bburgess@mgtamer.com

Michael Byrne, Department of Finance

915 L Street, 8th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274
michael.byme@dof.ca.gov

Gwendolyn Carlos, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-5919

gcarlos@sco.ca.gov

Annette Chinn, Cost Recovery Systems,Inc.

705-2 East Bidwell Street, #294, Folsom, CA 95630
Phone: (916) 939-7901

achinncrs@aol.com

Marieta Delfin, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 323-0706

mdelfin@sco.ca.gov

Tom Dyer, Department of Finance (A-15)
915 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274
tom.dyer@dof.ca.gov

Eric Feller, Commission on State Mandates
980 9th Street, Suite 300, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 323-3562

eric.feller@csm.ca.gov

Susan Geanacou, Department of Finance

915 L Street, Suite 1280, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274
susan.geanacou@dof.ca.gov

Dorothy Holzem, California Special Districts Association
1112 I Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 442-7887

dorothyh@csda.net

Mark Ibele, Senate Budget & Fiscal Review Committee

California State Senate, State Capitol Room 5019, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4103

Mark.Ibele@sen.ca.gov

Edward Jewik, County of Los Angeles

Auditor-Controller's Office, 500 W. Temple Street, Room 603, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone: (213) 974-8564

ejewik@auditor.lacounty.gov

Ferlyn Junio, Nimbus Consulting Group,LLC
2386 Fair Oaks Boulevard, Suite 104, Sacramento, CA 95825
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Phone: (916) 480-9444
flunio@nimbusconsultinggroup.com

Jill Kanemasu, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 322-9891

jkanemasu@sco.ca.gov

Jean Kinney Hurst, Senior Legislative Representative, Revenue & Taxation, California State
Association of Counties (CSAC)

1100 K Street, Suite 101, Sacramento, CA 95814-3941

Phone: (916) 327-7500

jhurst@counties.org

Jay Lal, State Controller's Office (B-08)

Division of Accounting & Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-0256

JLal@sco.ca.gov

Kathleen Lynch, Department of Finance (A-15)

915 L Street, Suite 1280, 17th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274

kathleen.lynch@dof.ca.gov

Hortensia Mato, City of Newport Beach

100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone: (949) 644-3000
hmato@newportbeachca.gov

Michelle Mendoza, MAXIMUS

17310 Red Hill Avenue, Suite 340, Irvine, CA 95403
Phone: (949) 440-0845
michellemendoza@maximus.com

Geoffrey Neill, Senior Legislative Analyst, Revenue & Taxation, California State Association
of Counties (CSAC)

1100 K Street, Suite 101, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 327-7500

gneill@counties.org

Andy Nichols, Nichols Consulting
1857 44th Street, Sacramento, CA 95819
Phone: (916) 455-3939
andy@nichols-consulting.com

Marianne O'Malley, Legislative Analyst's Office (B-29)
925 L Street, Suite 1000, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 319-8315

marianne.O'malley @lao.ca.gov

Christian Osmena, Department of Finance
915 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 445-0328
christian.osmena@dof.ca.gov
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Alice Park-Renzie, County of Alameda
CAOQ, 1221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94612
Phone: (510) 272-3873
Alice.Park@acgov.org

Anita Peden, County of Sacramento

711 G Street, Room 405, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 874-8441
apeden@sacsheriff.com

Keith Petersen, SixTen & Associates

P.O. Box 340430, Sacramento, CA 95834-0430
Phone: (916) 419-7093

kbpsixten@aol.com

Jesse Phillips, Department of Health Care Services

1501 Capitol Avenue, P.O. Box 997413, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 440-7692

Jesse.Phillips@dhcs.ca.gov

Jai Prasad, County of San Bernardino

Office of Auditor-Controller, 222 West Hospitality Lane, 4th Floor, San Bernardino, CA 92415-
0018

Phone: (909) 386-8854

jaiprasad@atc.sbcounty.gov

Mark Rewolinski, MAXIMUS

Claimant Representative

625 Coolidge Drive, Suite 100, Folsom, CA 95630
Phone: (949) 440-0845
markrewolinski@maximus.com

Kathy Rios, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-5919

krios@sco.ca.gov

Matthew Schuneman, MAXIMUS

900 Skokie Boulevard, Suite 265, Northbrook, 11 60062
Phone: (847) 513-5504
matthewschuneman@maximus.com

Lee Scott, Department of Finance

15 L Street, 8th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274

lee.scott@dof.ca.gov

David Scribner, Max8550

2200 Sunrise Boulevard, Suite 240, Gold River, CA 95670
Phone: (916) 852-8970

dscribner@max8550.com

Jim Spano, Chief, Mandated Cost Audits Bureau, State Controller's Office
Division of Audits, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
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Phone: (916) 323-5849
jspano@sco.ca.gov

Dennis Speciale, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-0254

DSpeciale@sco.ca.gov

Meg Svoboda, Senate Office of Research
1020 N Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA
Phone: (916) 651-1500
meg.svoboda@sen.ca.gov

Jolene Tollenaar, MGT of America

2001 P Street, Suite 200, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA 95811
Phone: (916) 443-9136

jolene_tollenaar@mgtamer.com

Evelyn Tseng, City of Newport Beach

100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone: (949) 644-3127
etseng@newportbeachca.gov

Brian Uhler, Legislative Analyst's Office

925 L Street, Suite 1000, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-8328

brian.uhler@lao.ca.gov

Lisa Velazquez, Department of Health Care Services

1501 Capitol Avenue, P.O. Box997413 A-22, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 440-7700

lisa.velazquez@dhcs.ca.gov

David Wellhouse, David Wellhouse & Associates,Inc.
3609 Bradshaw Road, Suite 121, Sacramento, CA 95927
Phone: (916) 368-9244

dwa-david@surewest.net

Anita Worlow, AK & Company

3531 Kersey Lane, Sacramento, CA 95864
Phone: (916) 972-1666
akcompany@um.att.com

Hasmik Yaghobyan, County of Los Angeles

Auditor-Controller's Office, 500 W. Temple Street, Room 603, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone: (213) 893-0792

hyaghobyan@auditor.lacounty.gov
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Exhibit C

RECEIVED

. . December 30, 2013
California State ontraller Commissi
ommission on

Division of Accounting and Reporting State Mandates

December 30, 2013

Ms. Heather Halsey

Executive Director
Commission on State Mandates
980 Ninth Street, Suite 300
Sacramento, CA 95814

Re:  Adopted Statement of Decision, Draft Expedited Parameters and Guidelines,
and Notice of Hearing
Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders, 08-TC-04
Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5
Statutes 2006, Chapter 657 (SB 1469)
County of Alameda, Claimant

Dear Ms. Halsey:

We have reviewed the proposed draft expedited parameters and guidelines for the above-
entitled matter submitted by the Commission staff. Below are our comments and
recommendations. Proposed additions are underlined and deletions are indicated with
strikethrough as follows:

Page 1:
III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT

The County of Alameda filed the test claim on January 29, 2008 9, establishing eligibility for
reimbursement for the 2007-2008 fiscal year.

COMMENT: Please delete “8” and add “9” to correct the year in which the claim was filed.

Page 2:
3. Pursuant to Government Code section 17560(a), a seheel-distriet local agency may...

COMMENT: Please replace “school district” with “local agency” because this program is for
the county and city and county.

Page 4:
V. CLAIM PREPARATION AND SUBMISSION

3. Contracted Services

MAILING ADDRESS: P.O. Box 942850, Sacramento, CA 94250
STREET ADDRESS: 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
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Ms. Heather Halsey
December 30, 2013
Page 2

If the contract is a fixed price, report the dates when services were performed and itemize all
costs for those services during the period covered by the reimbursement claim.

COMMENT: Please add “during the period covered by the reimbursement claim” for clarity
and consistency.

Should you have any questions regarding the above, please contact Travis White at
(916) 323-0734 or e-mail twhite(@sco.ca.gov.

Sincerely,

AL~

J AMManager
Local Reimbursements Section
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DECLARATION OF SERVICE BY EMAIL

I, the undersigned, declare as follows:

I am a resident of the County of Solano and | am over the age of 18 years, and not a party to the
within action. My place of employment is 980 Ninth Street, Suite 300, Sacramento,
California 95814.

On December 31, 2013, | served the:

SCO Comments

Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders, 08-TC-04
Welfare and Institutions Code section 14029.5
Statutes 2006, Chapter 657 (SB 1469)

County of Alameda, Claimant

by making it available on the Commission’s website and providing notice of how to locate it to
the email addresses provided on the attached mailing list.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is
true and correct, and that this declaration was executed on December 31, 2013 at Sacramento,

California. A
(20
N

Heidi J. Palchik

Commission on State Mandates
980 Ninth Street, Suite 300
Sacramento, CA 95814

(916) 323-3562
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12/31/13 Mailing List

COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES

Mailing List
Last Updated: 12/16/13
Claim Number: 08-TC-04
Matter: Medi-Cal Eligibility of Juvenile Offenders

Claimant: County of Alameda

TO ALL PARTIES, INTERESTED PARTIES, AND INTERESTED PERSONS:

Each commission mailing list is continuously updated as requests are received to include or remove
any party or person on the mailing list. A current mailing list is provided with commission
correspondence, and a copy of the current mailing list is available upon request at any time. Except
as provided otherwise by commission rule, when a party or interested party files any written material
with the commission concerning a claim, it shall simultaneously serve a copy of the written material
on the parties and interested parties to the claimidentified on the mailing list provided by the
commission. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, § 1181.2.)

Denise Ackerman, Department of Health Care Services

1501 Capitol Avenue, MS 0010, P.O. Box 997413, Sacramento, CA
Phone: (916) 440-7787

denise.ackerman@dhcs.ca.gov

Socorro Aquino, State Controller's Office

Division of Audits, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 322-7522

SAquino@sco.ca.gov

Harmeet Barkschat, Mandate Resource Services,LLC
5325 Elkhorn Blvd. #307, Sacramento, CA 95842
Phone: (916) 727-1350

harmeet@calsdrc.com

Lacey Baysinger, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-0254

Ibaysinger@sco.ca.gov

Allan Burdick,

7525 Myrtle Vista Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95831
Phone: (916) 203-3608

allanburdick@gmail.com

J. Bradley Burgess, MGT of America
895 La Sierra Drive, Sacramento, CA 95864

53

csm.ca.govicsmint/cats/print_mailing_list from_claim.php 1/5



12/31/13 Mailing List

Phone: (916)595-2646
Bburgess@mgtamer.com

Michael Byrne, Department of Finance

915 L Street, 8th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274
michael.byme@dof.ca.gov

Gwendolyn Carlos, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-5919

gcarlos@sco.ca.gov

Annette Chinn, Cost Recovery Systems,Inc.

705-2 East Bidwell Street, #294, Folsom, CA 95630
Phone: (916) 939-7901

achinncrs@aol.com

Marieta Delfin, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 323-0706

mdelfin@sco.ca.gov

Tom Dyer, Department of Finance (A-15)
915 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274
tom.dyer@dof.ca.gov

Eric Feller, Commission on State Mandates
980 9th Street, Suite 300, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 323-3562

eric.feller@csm.ca.gov

Susan Geanacou, Department of Finance

915 L Street, Suite 1280, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274
susan.geanacou@dof.ca.gov

Dorothy Holzem, California Special Districts Association
1112 I Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 442-7887

dorothyh@csda.net

Mark Ibele, Senate Budget & Fiscal Review Committee

California State Senate, State Capitol Room 5019, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 651-4103

Mark.Ibele@sen.ca.gov

Edward Jewik, County of Los Angeles

Auditor-Controller's Office, 500 W. Temple Street, Room 603, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone: (213) 974-8564

ejewik@auditor.lacounty.gov

Ferlyn Junio, Nimbus Consulting Group,LLC
2386 Fair Oaks Boulevard, Suite 104, Sacramento, CA 95825
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Phone: (916) 480-9444
flunio@nimbusconsultinggroup.com

Jill Kanemasu, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 322-9891

jkanemasu@sco.ca.gov

Jean Kinney Hurst, Senior Legislative Representative, Revenue & Taxation, California State
Association of Counties (CSAC)

1100 K Street, Suite 101, Sacramento, CA 95814-3941

Phone: (916) 327-7500

jhurst@counties.org

Jay Lal, State Controller's Office (B-08)

Division of Accounting & Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-0256

JLal@sco.ca.gov

Kathleen Lynch, Department of Finance (A-15)

915 L Street, Suite 1280, 17th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274

kathleen.lynch@dof.ca.gov

Hortensia Mato, City of Newport Beach

100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone: (949) 644-3000
hmato@newportbeachca.gov

Michelle Mendoza, MAXIMUS

17310 Red Hill Avenue, Suite 340, Irvine, CA 95403
Phone: (949) 440-0845
michellemendoza@maximus.com

Geoffrey Neill, Senior Legislative Analyst, Revenue & Taxation, California State Association
of Counties (CSAC)

1100 K Street, Suite 101, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 327-7500

gneill@counties.org

Andy Nichols, Nichols Consulting
1857 44th Street, Sacramento, CA 95819
Phone: (916) 455-3939
andy@nichols-consulting.com

Marianne O'Malley, Legislative Analyst's Office (B-29)
925 L Street, Suite 1000, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 319-8315

marianne.O'malley @lao.ca.gov

Christian Osmena, Department of Finance
915 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

Phone: (916) 445-0328
christian.osmena@dof.ca.gov
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Alice Park-Renzie, County of Alameda
CAOQ, 1221 Oak Street, Oakland, CA 94612
Phone: (510) 272-3873
Alice.Park@acgov.org

Anita Peden, County of Sacramento

711 G Street, Room 405, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 874-8441
apeden@sacsheriff.com

Keith Petersen, SixTen & Associates

P.O. Box 340430, Sacramento, CA 95834-0430
Phone: (916) 419-7093

kbpsixten@aol.com

Jesse Phillips, Department of Health Care Services

1501 Capitol Avenue, P.O. Box 997413, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 440-7692

Jesse.Phillips@dhcs.ca.gov

Jai Prasad, County of San Bernardino

Office of Auditor-Controller, 222 West Hospitality Lane, 4th Floor, San Bernardino, CA 92415-
0018

Phone: (909) 386-8854

jaiprasad@atc.sbcounty.gov

Mark Rewolinski, MAXIMUS

Claimant Representative

625 Coolidge Drive, Suite 100, Folsom, CA 95630
Phone: (949) 440-0845
markrewolinski@maximus.com

Kathy Rios, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-5919

krios@sco.ca.gov

Matthew Schuneman, MAXIMUS

900 Skokie Boulevard, Suite 265, Northbrook, 11 60062
Phone: (847) 513-5504
matthewschuneman@maximus.com

Lee Scott, Department of Finance

15 L Street, 8th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 445-3274

lee.scott@dof.ca.gov

David Scribner, Max8550

2200 Sunrise Boulevard, Suite 240, Gold River, CA 95670
Phone: (916) 852-8970

dscribner@max8550.com

Jim Spano, Chief, Mandated Cost Audits Bureau, State Controller's Office
Division of Audits, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
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Phone: (916) 323-5849
jspano@sco.ca.gov

Dennis Speciale, State Controller's Office

Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
Phone: (916) 324-0254

DSpeciale@sco.ca.gov

Meg Svoboda, Senate Office of Research
1020 N Street, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA
Phone: (916) 651-1500
meg.svoboda@sen.ca.gov

Jolene Tollenaar, MGT of America

2001 P Street, Suite 200, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA 95811
Phone: (916) 443-9136

jolene_tollenaar@mgtamer.com

Evelyn Tseng, City of Newport Beach

100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
Phone: (949) 644-3127
etseng@newportbeachca.gov

Brian Uhler, Legislative Analyst's Office

925 L Street, Suite 1000, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 319-8328

brian.uhler@lao.ca.gov

Lisa Velazquez, Department of Health Care Services

1501 Capitol Avenue, P.O. Box997413 A-22, Sacramento, CA 95814
Phone: (916) 440-7700

lisa.velazquez@dhcs.ca.gov

David Wellhouse, David Wellhouse & Associates,Inc.
3609 Bradshaw Road, Suite 121, Sacramento, CA 95927
Phone: (916) 368-9244

dwa-david@surewest.net

Anita Worlow, AK & Company

3531 Kersey Lane, Sacramento, CA 95864
Phone: (916) 972-1666
akcompany@um.att.com

Hasmik Yaghobyan, County of Los Angeles

Auditor-Controller's Office, 500 W. Temple Street, Room 603, Los Angeles, CA 90012
Phone: (213) 893-0792

hyaghobyan@auditor.lacounty.gov
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SANDRA SHEWRY ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER
Director Governor

January 2, 2008

TO: ALL COUNTY WELFARE DIRECTORS Letter No.: 07-34
ALL COUNTY WELFARE ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICERS
ALL COUNTY MEDI-CAL PROGRAM SPECIALISTS/LIAISONS
ALL COUNTY HEALTH EXECUTIVES
ALL COUNTY MENTAL HEALTH DIRECTORS
ALL COUNTY MEDS LIAISONS

SUBJECT: MEDI-CAL PRE-RELEASE APPLICATION PROCESS
FOR WARDS IN COUNTY JUVENILE FACILITIES
RE: Senate Bill (SB) 1469, Chapter 657, Statutes of 2006
Welfare & Institutions (W&I) Code Section §14029.5

The purpose of this letter is to provide county welfare departments (CWDs) with the
instructions needed to implement SB 1469 (Ch. 657; Stats. 2006). This bill requires all
county juvenile detention facilities, by January 1, 2008, to provide specific information to
the appropriate CWD for a ward who is to be released so that the county can determine
the Medi-Cal eligibility of the ward. This enables the ward to receive medical care upon
his or her release. A ward is a youth who has been committed to a county juvenile hall,
camp, or ranch, for 30 days or longer by a juvenile court.

Medi-Cal Eligibility Division, MS 4607, P.O. Box 997417, Sacramento, CA 95899-7417
(916) 552-9430 FAX (916) 552-9478

Internet Addres% ém.dhcs.ca.gov
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OVERVIEW:

The purpose of this bill is to ensure that the Medi-Cal application process is initiated
before juvenile wards are released from incarceration so Medi-Cal eligibility can be
established immediately upon the ward’s release whenever possible. In general, SB
1469 requires:

. County juvenile detention facilities, immediately following the issuance of an
order scheduling the release date of a ward from their facility, to provide the
appropriate CWD with the ward’s name, his or her scheduled or actual release
date, and sufficient information, when available, for the CWD to begin the
process of determining the ward’s Medi-Cal eligibility for benefits.

. County welfare departments to use the information provided by the juvenile
facility to process a Medi-Cal application, as explained below. This process may
require the county to request additional information to complete the eligibility
determination. This bill does not change existing eligibility procedures or
requirements. Medi-Cal applications submitted on behalf of juvenile inmates in
accordance with this letter are processed in the same manner as all other
Medi-Cal applications.

HOW DOES THIS WORK?

The juvenile facility notifies the ward’s parent or guardian that they intend to obtain
Medi-Cal benefits for the ward. If the parent or guardian does not respond to this
notification, the juvenile facility and the CWD continue the Medi-Cal application process.
The juvenile facility completes an information worksheet and sends it to the CWD. The
CWD works with the juvenile facility, the ward or the ward’s parents or guardian to
complete a Medi-Cal application. Once the CWD contacts the child’'s representative to
request additional information, all Medi-Cal application requirements apply. This means
that an application can be denied if the responsible individual does not cooperate with
the request for additional information. Counties must only request the minimum
information needed to determine or restore eligibility under current Medi-Cal policy.

The CWD then determines whether the ward is eligible for benefits and notifies the
juvenile facility of the outcome of their determination. The county must issue an
immediate need paper Medi-Cal card for the juvenile as soon as eligibility is
established.

WHO DOES THIS BILL COVER?
The bill requires that; “commencing January 1, 2008, immediately following the

issuance of an order of the juvenile court, pertaining to the disposition of a ward of the
county, committing that ward to a juvenile hall, camp or ranch for 30 days or longer, the
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county juvenile detention facility shall provide the appropriate CWD with the ward’s
name, his or her actual release date, any known information regarding the ward’s
Medi-Cal status prior to disposition, and sufficient information, when available, for the
CWD to begin the process of determining the ward’s eligibility for benefits under this
chapter, including, if the ward is a minor, contact information for the ward’s parent or
guardian, if available.” (SB 1469, Welfare and Institutions Code Sec.14029.5(a)(1))

Under Article 6 of the Medi-Cal Eligibility Procedures Manual, a juvenile loses Medi-Cal
eligibility if he or she is:

. In a detention center due to criminal activity and is a resident of a public
institution.
. On intensive probation with a plan of release which includes residence in a

detention center.

A ward that would have had to apply for Medi-Cal after his or her release from
incarceration under Article 6 of the Medi-Cal Eligibility Procedures Manual can, under
SB 1469, apply for Medi-Cal prior to his or her release. The eligibility that is established
as a result of the pre-release application takes effect as soon as the ward is released
from incarceration.

PRE-RELEASE APPLICATION PROCESS:

The following pre-release application policy and procedures will be followed by county
juvenile facilities and CWDs to ensure that eligible youth have Medi-Cal coverage or
other medical assistance upon discharge from a county juvenile detention facility such
as a juvenile hall, camp, or ranch.

COUNTY JUVENILE FACILITIES:

. When a ward has been issued an order committing that ward to a juvenile hall,
camp, or ranch for 30 days or longer, the facility will provide to the CWD:

1. The name of the ward.

2. The scheduled or actual release date, or, if applicable, notify the CWD
about placement into a medical/mental health care facility. It is important
that the facility keep the CWD informed of any changes in release date.

3. The ward’s Medi-Cal status prior to disposition.

4. Sufficient information, if available, to begin determining Medi-Cal eligibility.
(See Sample Medi-Cal Transmittal Form enclosed.)
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5. If the ward is under 21, contact information for the ward’s parent or
guardian, if available.

. The facility shall notify the parent or guardian, in writing, of its intention to obtain
Medi-Cal benefits for the ward and will give reasonable time for a response
(30 days). If the parent or guardian informs the facility that they do not want an
application to be submitted on behalf of their child, there will be no application
and the facility and the CWD will end this process. If the parent or guardian does
not respond, the juvenile facility and the CWD will continue with the process.
However, because this process does not change Medi-Cal eligibility rules, the
application or restoration of benefits can be denied if the parent or guardian fails
to cooperate or does not respond to request for information that is needed to
determine eligibility.

o The facility shall submit all information and supporting documentation with a
cover letter at least 90 days prior to release to the designated CWD within the
county where the ward is scheduled to be released. Documentation can be
submitted at less than 90 days prior to release, when necessary, but information
worksheets should be submitted to the CWD no less than 90 days prior to
release for individuals with disabilities and no less than 45 days prior to release
for non-disabled individuals. Late information worksheets will be processed as
they are submitted.

. Medi-Cal applications include confidential (and sometimes medical) information.
Therefore, Medi-Cal applications sent from juvenile facilities to CWDs in
accordance with this letter and the requirements of SB 1469 should be handled
by individuals within the juvenile facility (or in some instances a medical facility)
who are authorized to handle medical and other confidential information related
to the juvenile for whom Medi-Cal is being requested.

. If disability is claimed for a ward at a juvenile facility, the facility shall provide all
medical information for the county to request a disability evaluation. If the ward
is over 21, he/she may sign the MC 220 Medical Authorization of Release.

o All information and documentation can be sent via mail, fax or E-mail with
appropriate information security measures to protect confidential information.
County juvenile facilities and CWDs will both provide contact person information
so that the information needed to complete this process can be exchanged
effectively and expeditiously.
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COUNTY WELFARE DEPARTMENTS:

County juvenile facilities will send the CWD documentation on a ward via a coversheet
and an information worksheet (enclosed). The facility will not send a Medi-Cal
application. The CWD is to process an application based on the ward’s information to
determine Medi-Cal eligibility, and, for wards under 21, will contact the parent/guardian
for further information as necessary. The CWD must review this information to
determine whether the ward will be eligible for Medi-Cal and may request additional
information as needed. The CWD will then inform the facility of its determination. If the
ward is eligible, an application will be processed 45 days before release whenever
possible. The application may be signed by the person or agency responsible for the
ward’s affairs in accordance with current Medi-Cal application policy.

All Medi-Cal applications, policies and procedures apply for incarcerated youth who are
reviewed for eligibility based on this letter. For example:

. Eligibility cannot be established prior to release unless all required information is
provided in accordance with current Medi-Cal policy.

. Failure to cooperate is grounds for denial of eligibility in accordance with current
Medi-Cal policy.
. All Notice of Action requirements apply.

In compliance with SB 1469 the CWD will:

. Accept information from facilities to begin the Medi-Cal eligibility determination
for wards prior to their release. All current procedures used to process Medi-Cal
applications apply. This is not a new Medi-Cal program.

) Use the date of release as the date of Medi-Cal eligibility. The ward will be
eligible in the month of release. Use date and month of release on MEDS and
Consortia systems.

o Acknowledge receipt of the ward’s informal application via a cover letter to
designated staff within ten days of the information.

. Work with the juvenile facility staff, the ward and with the ward’s parent or
guardian as appropriate to complete the application and notify the facility.

) Expedite the pre-release application process if the ward is scheduled for release
in fewer than 45 days. Late applications will be processed when the
documentation is submitted.
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J Forward the ward’s information to the Healthy Families Program or another
appropriate health coverage program if the ward is not eligible for Medi-Cal.
(With the permission of the ward’s parent or guardian as required by State law.)

. Notify the designated worker at the county juvenile facility in writing on the
outcome of the eligibility determination or if additional information is required.

. Notify the county juvenile facility at least ten days prior to the expected release
date if the Medi-Cal determination is not completed.

. Provide a Temporary Paper Card using immediate need procedures to enable an
eligible ward to access Medi-Cal benefits immediately upon release if the county
determines that the ward or inmate is Medi-Cal eligible. The temporary card
must be sent to the facility prior to the release date to be given to the ward upon
release. A permanent Benefit Identification Card will be mailed to the ward soon
thereafter.

EVIDENCE OF CITIZENSHIP AND IDENTIIFICATION REQUIREMENTS:

All federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 (DRA) requirements specified in All County
Welfare Directors Letter (ACWDL) 07-12 apply. This includes the requirement that
evidence of citizenship and identity must be provided (when required) before eligibility
begins for wards applying for Medi-Cal in accordance with this letter. For example, if
the family or facility is making a good faith effort to provide citizenship information for an
applicant but it has not already been provided on the date of release, eligibility cannot
be established upon release. In these cases, counties should work with the family or
guardian of the ward to obtain the required citizenship information as soon as possible.
For those wards who are making a good faith effort to provide citizenship information,
but who are unable to provide it by the date of release, counties should grant restricted
eligibility as specified in ACWDL 07-12 if the good faith effort ends (if otherwise eligible).
Wards that have already provided evidence of citizenship and identity do not have to
produce original or certified copies of their documents again.

EFFECTIVE DATE:

This pre-release application process is effective January 1, 2008.

Effective with the issuance of this letter, juveniles who are released from a juvenile
facility before the requirements of this letter are in place should have an expedited
review of any Medi-Cal applications received, including issuance of immediate need
Medi-Cal if eligible.
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REQUIRED CONTACT INFORMATION:

Within 30 days of the date of this letter, county juvenile facilities must provide the
Medi-Cal Eligibility Division with a contact person and a designated back-up who will
work with the CWDs in determining Medi-Cal eligibility for wards. Likewise, CWDs must
provide the Medi-Cal Eligibility Division with a contact person and a designated back-up
who will work with the county juvenile facilities in accordance with this letter. Please
include name, address, phone number, fax number, and E-mail address. This letter will
be followed by an information letter to provide counties with a list of the CWD and
county juvenile facility contacts in each county. Please send CWD contact information
to Mr. Jeffery Baca at the following address:

Mr. Jeffery Baca
California Department of Health Care Services
Medi-Cal Eligibility Division
1501 Capitol Avenue, Suite 71.4063
MS 4607
P.O. Box 997417
Sacramento, CA 95899-7417

If there are any questions, please contact Mr. Jeffery Baca at (916) 552-9523.
Original signed by Vivian Auble

Vivian Auble, Chief
Medi-Cal Eligibility Division

Attachment
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MEDI-CAL APPLICATION TRANSMITTAL
INFORMATION FORM

NAME OF WARD:

RELEASE DATE:

FACILITY CASE NUMBER:

MEDICAL STATUS PRE-INCARCERATION:

MEDI-CAL ELIGIBILITY _ !/ NO [_/ YES
OTHER HEALTH COVERAGE: /1 NO [_/ YES
DISABILITY: /" NO [/_/ YES

SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER:

DATE OF BIRTH:

RESIDENCE ADDRESS UPON RELEASE (include county):

PARENT OR GUARDIAN CONTACT INFORMATION:
(Name, address and phone number)

FATHER:

MOTHER:
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Medi-Cal Application Transmittal
Information Form
Page 2

GUARDIAN:

9. REFERRING PARTY (facility contact):

NAME:

FACILITY:

PHONE #:

FAX#:
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