SixTen and Associates Mandate Reimbursement Services

KEITH B. PETERSEN, President P.O. Box 340430 Sacramento, CA 95834-0430 Telephone: (916) 419-7093 Fax: (916) 263-9701

E-Mail: Kbpsixten@aol.com 5252 Balboa Avenue, Suite 900 San Diego, CA 92117 Telephone: (858) 514-8605 Fax: (858) 514-8645

September 30, 2013

Heather Halsey, Executive Director Commission on State Mandates 980 Ninth Street, Suite 300 Sacramento, CA 95814



RE: 498/83 Notification of Truancy-Audit #3 San Juan Unified School District Fiscal Years 2006-07 through 2009-10 Incorrect Reduction Claim

Dear Ms. Halsey:

Enclosed is the original and two copies of the above-referenced incorrect reduction claim for San Juan Unified School District.

SixTen and Associates has been appointed by the District as its representative for this matter and all interested parties should direct their inquiries to me, with a copy as follows:

Kent Stephens, Chief Financial Officer San Juan Unified School District 3738 Walnut Avenue P.O. Box 477 Carmichael, CA 95609-0477 Voice: 916-971-7238 Fax: 916-979-8215 E-Mail: kent.stephens@sanjuan.edu

Sincerely,

Keith B. Petersen

Enclosure: Incorrect Reduction Claim

C: Kent Stephens, Chief Financial Officer

COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES

1. INCORRECT REDUCTION CLAIM TITLE

498/83 Notification of Truancy #3

This is the third incorrect reduction claim filed by the District on this mandate program

2. CLAIMANT INFORMATION

San Juan Unified School District

Kent Stephens, Chief Financial Officer San Juan Unified School District 3738 Walnut Avenue P.O. Box 477 Carmichael, CA 95609-0477 Voice: 916-971-7238 Fax: 916-979-8215 E-Mail: kent.stephens@sanjuan.edu

3. CLAIMANT REPRESENTATIVE INFORMATION

Claimant designates the following person to act as its sole representative in this incorrect reduction claim. All correspondence and communications regarding this claim shall be forwarded to this representative. Any change in representation must be authorized by the claimant in writing, and sent to the Commission on State Mandates.

Keith B. Petersen, President SixTen and Associates P. O. Box 340430 Sacramento, California 95834-0430 Voice: (916) 419-7093 Fax: (916) 263-9701 kbpsixten@aol.com

1. A state of the state of t



Statutes of 1983, Chapter 498 Education Code Sections 48260 and 48260.5

5. AMOUNT OF INCOR	RECT REDUCTION
Fiscal Year	Amount of Reduction
2006-07	\$ 33,802
2007-08	\$ 23,449
2008-09	\$ 27,160
2009-10	<u>\$ 21,122</u>
TOTAL:	\$105,533

6. NOTICE OF NO INTENT TO CONSOLIDATE This claim is **not** being filed with the intent to consolidate on behalf of other claimants.

Sections 7-12 are attached as follows:

7. Written Detailed NarrativePage8. Parameters and GuidelinesExt9. Controllers Claiming InstructionsExt10. Controller's Final Audit ReportExt11. "Statistical Sampling Revisited"Ext12. Annual Reimbursement Claims:Ext

ages 1	to 23
xhibit	A & B
xhibit	<u> </u>
xhibit	D
xhibit	E
xhibit	F

13. CLAIM CERTIFICATION

This claim alleges an incorrect reduction of a reimbursement claim filed with the State Controller's Office pursuant to Government Code section 17561. This incorrect reduction claim is filed pursuant to Government Code section 17551, subdivision (d). I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California, that the information in this incorrect reduction claim submission is true and complete to the best of my own knowledge or information or belief.

Kent Stephens, Chief Financial Officer

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8	Keith B. Petersen, President SixTen and Associates P. O. Box 340430 Sacramento, California 95834-0430 Voice: (916) 419-7093 Fax: (916) 263-9701 <u>kbpsixten@aol.com</u>				
9	BEF	ORE THE			
10	COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES				
11	STATE OF CALIFORNIA				
12 13	INCORRECT REDUCTION CLAIM OF:)	No. CSM			
13 14 15 16 17	SAN JUAN UNIFIED	Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983 Education Code Section 48260 Education Code Section 48260.5			
18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25) School District) Claimant.)))	<u>Notification of Truancy #3</u> Annual Reimbursement Claims: Fiscal Year 2006-07 Fiscal Year 2007-08 Fiscal Year 2008-09 Fiscal Year 2009-10			
26	INCORRECT RED	UCTION CLAIM FILING			
27	PART I. AUTHOF	RITY FOR THE CLAIM			
28	The Commission on State Mandates has the authority pursuant to Government				
29	Code Section 17551(d) to " hear and decide upon a claim by a local agency or				
30	school district filed on or after January 1, 1985, that the Controller has incorrectly				
31	reduced payments to the local agency or	school district pursuant to paragraph (2) of			
32	subdivision (d) of Section 17561." San Ju	an Unified School District (hereafter "District")			
33	is a school district as defined in Government Code Section 17519. Title 2, CCR,				

1	Section 1185 (a), requires the claimant to file an incorrect reduction claim with the					
2	Commission.					
3	This incorrect reduction claim is timely filed. Title 2, CCR, Section 1185 (b),					
4	requires incorrect reduction claims to be filed no later than three years following the					
5	date of the Controller's remittance advice notifying the claimant of a reduction. A					
6	Controller's audit report dated November 30, 2011, has been issued and constitutes a					
7	demand for repayment and adjudication of the claim.					
8	There is no alternative dispute resolution process available from the Controller's					
9	office. The audit report states that an incorrect reduction claim should be filed with the					
10	Commission if the claimant disagrees with the audit findings.					
11	PART II. SUMMARY OF THE CLAIM					
12	The Controller conducted a field audit of the District's annual reimbursement					
13	claims for Fiscal Years 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, and 2009-10 for the costs of					
14	complying with the legislatively mandated program 498/83 Notification of Truancy. As a					
15	result of the audit, the Controller determined that \$105,533 of the claimed costs were					
16	unallowable:					
17 18	Fiscal Amount Audit SCO Amount Due <u>Year Claimed Adjustment Payments <state> District</state></u>					
19 20 21 22	2006-07 \$291,023 \$33,802 \$54,550 \$202,671 2007-08 \$302,988 \$23,449 \$9 \$279,530 2008-09 \$290,617 \$27,160 \$65,849 \$197,608 2009-10 \$307,418 \$21,122 \$60,382 \$225,914					

\$180,790

\$905,723

\$1,192,046 \$105,533

23

Totals

1	The audit report states that the District was paid \$180,790 for these annual claims and				
2	concludes that the amount of \$905,723 is due to the District.				
3	PART III. PREVIOUS INCORRECT REDUCTION CLAIMS				
4	FIRST AUDIT: The District filed an incorrect reduction claim for the first audit of this				
5	program for Fiscal Years 1999-00, 2000-01, and 2001-02 on December 18, 2007. The				
6	District filed a revised incorrect reduction claim for those fiscal years on July 16, 2010,				
7	in response to a revised audit report dated November 25, 2009.				
8	SECOND AUDIT: The District filed an incorrect reduction claim for the second audit of				
9	this program for Fiscal Years 2002-03, 2003-04, 2004-05, and 2005-06 on October 6,				
10	2010.				
11	The District is not aware of any incorrect reduction claims having been				
12	adjudicated on the specific issues or subject matter raised by this incorrect reduction				
13	claim.				
14	PART IV. BASIS FOR REIMBURSEMENT				
15	1. <u>Mandate Legislation</u>				
16	Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983 added Section 48260.5 to the Education Code to				
17	require school districts to notify parents or guardians of the pupil's initial classification				
18	as truant:				
19 20 21 22 23 24	 (a) Upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant, the school district shall notify the pupil's parent or guardian, by first-class mail or other reasonable means, of the following: (1) That the pupil is truant. (2) That the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school. 				

1 2 3 4 5 6 7	 (3) That parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subject to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with Section 48290) of Chapter 2 of Part 27. (b) The district also shall inform the parents or guardians of the following: (1) Alternative educational programs are available in the district. (2) The right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.
8	The time for distribution of the initial classification of truancy is controlled by
9	Education Code Section 48260. Education Code Section 48260, as recodified by
10	Chapter 1010, Statutes of 1976, requires:
11 12 13 14 15	"Any pupil subject to compulsory full-time education or to compulsory continuation education who is absent from school without valid excuse more than three days or tardy in excess of 30 minutes on each of more than three days in one school year is a truant and shall be reported to the attendance supervisor or to the superintendent of the school district."
16	The test claim was based on this definition of a truant, that is, more than three
17	unexcused absences or tardy for more than three periods.
18	2. <u>Test Claim</u>
19	The State Board of Control, the predecessor body to the Commission on State
20	Mandates, with jurisdiction regarding costs mandated by the state, determined on
21	November 29, 1984, that Education Code Section 48260.5 imposed a new program or
22	an increased level of service by requiring notifications be sent to the parents or
23	guardians of pupils upon initial classification of truancy, which at the time the test claim
24	was adopted, occurred upon the fourth truancy or tardy.
25	3. <u>Parameters and Guidelines</u>
26	The original parameters and guidelines were adopted on August 27, 1987,

1	amended on July 28, 1988, and then amended a second time on July 22, 1993.
2	Subsequent to the adoption of the test claim and the adoption of the second amended
3	parameters and guidelines in 1993, Education Code Section 48260 was amended by
4	Chapter 1023, Statutes of 1994 and Chapter 19, Statutes of 1995, to require:
5 7 9 10 11 12 13 14	 (a) Any pupil subject to compulsory full-time education or to compulsory continuation education who is absent from school without valid excuse three <u>full</u> days in one school year or tardy or <u>absent for more than any 30-minute period</u> <u>during the schoolday</u> without a valid excuse ***<u>on</u> three <u>occasions</u> in one school year, <u>or any combination thereof</u>, is a truant and shall be reported to the attendance supervisor or to the superintendent of the school district. (b) Notwithstanding subdivision (a), it is the intent of the Legislature that school districts shall not change the method of attendance accounting provided for in existing law and shall not be required to employ period-by-period attendance accounting.
15	Chapter 1023, Statutes of 1994 and Chapter 19, Statutes of 1995, also amended
16	Education Code Section 48260.5 as follows:
17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33	 *** Upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant, the school district shall notify the pupil's parent or guardian, by first-class mail or other reasonable means, of the following: (a) That the pupil is truant. (b) That the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school. (c) That parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subject to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with Section 48290) of Chapter 2 of Part 27. *** ***(d) That alternative educational programs are available in the district. ****(e) That the parent or guardian has the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy. (f) That the pupil may be subject to prosecution under Section 48264. (g) That the pupil may be subject to suspension, restriction, or delay of the pupil's driving privilege pursuant to Section 13202.7 of the Vehicle Code.
	(h) That it is recommended that the parent or guardian accompany the

1	These amendments created a conflict between the Education Code and the					
2	parameters and guidelines. The second amended parameters and guidelines					
3	continued to require a notice of five elements to be issued upon the fourth occasion of					
4	absence even though Education Code Section 48260.5 had been amended to require a					
5	notice of eight elements to be issued upon the third occasion of absence. Resolution of					
6	this conflict was the subject of Chapter 69, Statutes of 2007 (AB 1698), which required					
7	the Commission on State Mandates to update the parameters and guidelines. On					
8	January 31, 2008, the Commission adopted the third-amended parameters and					
9	guidelines pursuant to Chapter 69, Statutes of 2007, retroactively effective July 1, 2006,					
10	for annual claims beginning FY 2006-07. A copy of the January 31, 2008, parameters					
11	and guidelines is attached as Exhibit "A."					
12	The parameters and guidelines were further amended on May 27, 2010, to					
13	update "boilerplate language" clarifying source documentation requirements and record					
14	retention language pursuant to a request by the Controller, retroactively effective to July					
15	1, 2006. A copy of the May 27, 2010, parameters and guidelines is attached as Exhibit					
16	"В."					
17	4. <u>Claiming Instructions</u>					
18	The Controller has periodically issued or revised claiming instructions for the					

mandate program. A copy of the October 1996 revision of the claiming instructions is
attached as Exhibit "C." The October 1996 claiming instructions are believed to be, for
the purposes and scope of this incorrect reduction claim, substantially similar to the

1	version existing at the time the claims that are the subject of this incorrect reduction
2	claim were filed except as to the annual update to the unit cost allowance. However,
3	since the Controller's claim forms and instructions have not been adopted as
4	regulations, they have no force of law and no effect on the outcome of this revised
5	incorrect reduction claim.
6	PART V. STATE CONTROLLER CLAIM ADJUDICATION
7	The Controller conducted a field audit of the District's annual reimbursement
8	claims for Fiscal Years 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, and 2009-10. A copy of the
9	November 30, 2011, audit report is attached as Exhibit "D."
10	VI. CLAIMANT'S RESPONSE TO THE STATE CONTROLLER
11	By letter dated October 25, 2011, the Controller transmitted a copy of its draft
12	audit report. The District objected to the proposed adjustments for Findings 1 and 2 by
13	letter dated November 2, 2011. A copy of the District's response is included in Exhibit
14	"D," the final audit report. The Controller then issued the final audit report without
15	making any substantive changes.
16	PART VII. STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES
17	Finding Non-reimbursable initial truancy notifications
18	The audit report concludes that the District claimed costs for non-reimbursable
19	initial truancy notifications in the amount of \$105,533 for Fiscal Years 2006-07, 2007-
20	08, 2008-09, and 2009-10. This represents about 8.9% of the total claimed amount of
21	\$1,192,046 for the three fiscal years. The audit states that the disallowed initial truancy

1	notifications pertain to students who accumulated fewer than three unexcused
2	absences or tardiness occurrences while between ages 6 and 18, and students who
3	accumulated fewer than three unexcused absences or tardiness occurrences during the
4	school year.
5	THE ISSUE OF STATISTICAL SAMPLING AND EXTRAPOLATION
6	Reimbursement for this mandate is based on the actual number of notifications
7	distributed, multiplied by a uniform cost allowance for reimbursement in lieu of reporting
8	staff time and materials cost. The dollar amounts of the adjustments are the result of
9	reductions in the number of notices approved for reimbursement based upon the
10	auditor's review of a random sample of truancy notifications. The audit report states
11	that this finding is based on a statistical sample of 1,180 truancy notifications (588 for
12	daily attendance and 592 for period attendance) actually examined from a universe of
13	69,139 notices (30,232 + 38,907) for the four fiscal years.
1 4	A. Legal Basis for Reimbursement Based on Statistical Sampling
15	The essential legal issue for this finding is whether the Controller can adjust
16	claims utilizing an extrapolation of findings from an audit sample. The propriety of a
17	mandate audit adjustment based on the statistical sampling technique is a threshold
18	issue in that if the methodology used is rejected, as it should be, the extrapolation is
19	void and the audit findings can only pertain to documentation actually reviewed, that is,
20	the 1,180 notifications examined for the criteria of whether there were a sufficient
21	number of absences or tardies to justify the initial notification of truancy and the age of

.

1 the student.

2 The audit report has cited no statutory or regulatory authority to allow the
3 Controller to reduce claimed reimbursement based on extrapolation of a statistical
4 sample. Instead, the audit report states that:

- "The SCO did, in fact, conclude that the district's claim was excessive." That
conclusion is not responsive to the sampling issue presented. The conclusion is also
unavailing since the Notification of Truancy mandate is reimbursed based on a unit-cost
rate allowance which was determined by the Commission on State Mandates to be a
reasonable representation of actual costs incurred by districts.

-"Government Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(2) allows the SCO to audit
the district's records to verify *actual* mandate-related costs" and "In addition,

12 Government Code Section 12410 states 'the Controller shall audit all claims against the 13 state, and may audit the disbursement of any state money, for correctness, legality, and 14 for sufficient provisions of law for payment." The District concurs that the Controller has 15 authority to audit mandate claims, but asserts that it must be done legally and logically. 16 The District does not dispute the Controller's authority to audit claims for mandated 17 costs and to reduce those costs that are excessive or unreasonable. This authority is 18 expressly contained in Government Code Section 17561. However, Section 12410 is found in the part of the Government Code that provides a general description of the 19 20 duties of the Controller. It is not specific to the audit of mandate reimbursement claims. 21 The only applicable audit standard for mandate reimbursement claims is found in

1 Government Code Section 17561(d)(2). The fact that Section 17561(d)(2) specifies its 2 own audit standard (excessive or unreasonable) implies that the general Controller 3 audit standard (correctness, legality, and sufficient provisions of law) does not control here. Therefore, the Controller may only reduce a mandate reimbursement claim if it 4 5 specifically finds that the amounts claimed are unreasonable or excessive under 6 Section 17561(d)(2). Further, the Controller has not asserted or demonstrated that, if 7 Section 12410 was the applicable standard, the audit adjustments were made in 8 accordance with this standard. The District's claim was correct, in that it reported the 9 number of notices distributed. There is also no allegation in the audit report that the 10 claim was in any way illegal. Finally, the phrase "sufficient provisions of law for 11 payment" refers to the requirement that there be adequate appropriations prior to the 12 disbursement of any funds. There is no indication that any funds were disbursed 13 without sufficient appropriations. Thus, even if the standards of Section 12410 were 14 applicable to mandate reimbursement audits, the Controller has failed to put forth any 15 evidence that these standards are not met or even relevant. There is no indication that 16 the Controller is actually relying on the audit standards set forth in Section 12410 for the 17 adjustments to the District's reimbursement claims.

-"The SCO conducted its audit according to generally accepted government
auditing standards [GAGAS] (*Government Auditing Standards*, issued by the U.S.
Government Accountability Office [GAO], July 2007)." The audit report asserts that the
"standards recognize statistical sampling as an acceptable method to provide sufficient,

1 appropriate evidence" but does not cite specific GAO or GAGAS language in support of 2 that assertion. The audit report does not explain how a statistical sample that provides 3 "appropriate evidence" of the scope and reliability of source documentation is therefore 4 a source of findings of actual cost or pervasive compliance with the mandate program 5 requirements. Notwithstanding, the GAO auditing guide referenced specifically pertains 6 to audits of federal funds and state mandate reimbursement does not utilize federal 7 funds. Further, the GAO audit guide has not been adopted pursuant to any state 8 agency rulemaking nor is it included as a standard in the parameters and guidelines, so 9 claimants could not be on legal notice if its requirements, assuming its requirements 10 were relevant to mandate audits, nor could the District have actual notice of the GAO 11 guide since the Controller does not publish its audit standards. Adjustment of the 12 claimed costs based on an extrapolation from a statistical sample is utilizing a standard 13 of general application without the benefit of compliance with the Administrative 14 Procedure Act. Thus, the application of the method is prohibited by the Government 15 Code.

16 Β.

Utility of the Sampling Methodology

17 A statistically valid sample methodology is a recognized audit tool for some 18 purposes. See Exhibit "E" ("Statistical Sampling Revisited"). The sampling process 19 was misapplied here. The purpose of sampling is to determine the results of 20 transactions or whether procedures were properly applied to the reported transactions, 21 most typically an internal control compliance test. In the case of reimbursement for this

mandate, the state reimburses a specific dollar amount for each transaction, that is, a
notice sent to parents, so that a dollar amount outcome is not being tested. What the
Controller purports to be testing is whether the notices are reimbursable based on the
number of prerequisite absences or content of the notice, which is testing for procedural
compliance.

6 Instead, the auditor was actually conducting a review for documentation rather 7 than mandate compliance. Testing for procedural compliance usually involves 8 establishing tolerance parameters, but in the case of this audit, the tolerance factor was 9 zero, that is, based on the auditor's perception of adequate documentation, which is a 10 separate issue. Testing to detect the rate of error within tolerances is the purpose of 11 sampling, but it is not a tool to assign an exact dollar amount to the amount of the error, 12 which the Controller has inappropriately done so here. This is a failure of auditor 13 judgment, both in the purpose of the sampling and the use of the findings. 14 C. Sample Risk 15 The ultimate risk from extrapolating findings from a sample is that the 16 conclusions obtained from the sample may not be representative of the universe. That 17 is, the errors perceived from the sample do not occur at the same rate in the universe. 18 That is what has occurred in this audit. For example, kindergarten students present in 19 the sample are more likely to be excluded because of the under-age issue, which 20 makes these samples nonrepresentative of the universe. Also, if any of the notices

21 excluded for being under-age or over-age are for students who are special education

1	students, these samples would al	so not	be rep	resenta	ative of the un	iverse since the
2	possibility of a special education	studen	t being	under-	age or over-a	ige is greater than
3	the entire student body. The Dist	rict doe	es not a	assert f	hat the incide	ence of kindergarten
4	students or special education stud	dents is	s either	· propo	rtionate or dis	proportionate, rather
5	that a kindergarten pupil is more	likely to	be un	der-ag	e and a speci	al education pupil is
6	more likely to be over-age than of	ther stu	udents	sample	ed, and thus n	ot representative.
7	D. Sample Error					
8	Elementary Schools	<u>06-07</u>	<u>07-08</u>	<u>08-09</u>	<u>09-10</u>	<u>Total</u>
9	Audited notifications claimed	8,680	8,001	7,545	6,006	30,232
10	Total notices in entire sample	148	147	147	146	588
11	Percentage of the sample to total	1.7%	1.8%	1.9%	2.4%	1.9%
12	Audit Results:					
13	Alleged "noncompliant" notices	26	19	24	3	72
14	Percentage "noncompliant"	17.6%	12.9%	16.3%	2.05%	12.2%
15	Secondary Schools					
16	Audited notifications claimed	9,340	9,533	8,837	11,197	38,907
17	Total notices in entire sample	148	148	148	148	592
18	Percentage of the sample to total	1.6%	1.6%	1.7%	1.3%	1.5%
19	Audit Results:					
20	Alleged "noncompliant" notices	9	5	5	14	33
21	Percentage "noncompliant"	6.08%	3.38%	3.38%	9.46%	5.57%

1	In addition to the qualitative concerns discussed, quantitative extrapolation of the
2	sample to the universe depends on a statistically valid sample methodology.
3	Extrapolation does not ascertain actual cost. It ascertains probable costs within an
4	interval. The sampling technique used by the Controller is quantitatively non-
5	representative. For the four sampled fiscal years, the Controller determined that there
6	were 69,139 notices (30,232 + 38,907) in the distributed notices universe. The total
7	sample size for all four years was 1,180 truancy notifications (588 + 592) which is 1.7% of
8	the universe. The stated precision rate was plus or minus 8%, even though the sample
9	size is essentially identical for all four fiscal years (either 146, 147, or 148), and even
10	though the audited number of notices claimed for daily accounting (elementary schools)
11	in FY 2006-07 (8,680) is 45% larger than the size of FY 2009-10 (6,006). The expected
12	error rate is stated to be 50%, which means the total adjustment amount of \$105,533 is
13	really just a number exactly between \$52,767 (50%) and \$158,300 (150%). An interval of
14	possible outcomes cannot be used as a finding of absolute actual cost.
15	The Controller does not assert that the unit cost allowance is excessive or
16	unreasonable, which is the only mandated cost audit standard in statute (Government
17	Code Section 17561(d)(2)). The cost to be reimbursed by the state for each notice is
18	stipulated by the parameters and guidelines. It would therefore appear that the entire
19	findings are based upon the wrong standard for review. If the Controller wishes to enforce

20 other audit standards for mandated cost reimbursement, the Controller should comply with 21 the Administrative Procedure Act.

1	THE ISSUES OF COMPLIANCE WITH THE MANDATE					
2	Since the statistical sampling performed by the auditor fails for legal, qualitative,					
3	and quantitative reasons, the remaining audit findings are limited to the 1,180 notices					
4	actually investigated. The Controller cannot disallow costs for noncompliance for notices					
5	which were never audited.					
6	The audit report disallows 105 (72+33) of the 1,180 notifications evaluated for two					
7	reasons:					
8	DISALLOWANCE REASON	<u>06-07</u>	<u>07-08</u>	<u>08-09</u>	<u>09-10</u>	<u>TOTAL</u>
9	Daily Attendance					
10	Underage (less than 6 years)	20	16	22	1	59
11	Less than 3 Absences	<u>6</u>	<u>3</u>	<u>2_</u>	2_	<u>13</u>
12	Total Disallowed	26	19	24	3	72
13	Sample Size	148	147	147	146	588
14	Percentage Disallowance	17.6%	12.9%	16.3%	2.05%	12.2%
15	Period Attendance					
16	Overage (18 years plus)	9	5	4	9	27
17	Less than 3 Absences	. <u> </u>	_	<u>1</u>	<u>5</u>	<u>6</u>
18	Total Disallowed	9	5	5	14	33
19	Sample Size	148	148	148	148	592
20	Percentage Disallowance	6.08%	3.38%	3.38%	9.46%	5.57%

- 1 E. <u>Age of Student</u>
- 2 The audit report disallows 59 notices in the audit sample for the elementary school
- 3 (daily attendance accounting) for students that were less than six years of age and
- 4 disallows 27 notices in the audit sample for secondary schools (period attendance
- 5 accounting) for students that were older than eighteen years of age, citing the compulsory

6 attendance law, Education Code Section 48200.¹ Section 48200 and Section 48400²

¹ Education Code Section 48200, as last amended by Chapter 1452, Statutes of 1987 requires:

Each person between the ages of 6 and 18 years not exempted under the provisions of this chapter or Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 48400) is subject to compulsory full-time education. Each person subject to compulsory full-time education and each person subject to compulsory continuation education not exempted under the provisions of Chapter 3 (commencing with Section 48400) shall attend the public full-time day school or continuation school or classes and for the full time designated as the length of the schoolday by the governing board of the school district in which the residency of either the parent or legal guardian is located and each parent, guardian, or other person having control or charge of the pupil shall send the pupil to the public full-time day school or continuation school or classes and for the full time designated as the length of the schoolday by the governing board of the school district in which the residence of either the parent or legal guardian is located.

Unless otherwise provided for in this code, a pupil shall not be enrolled for less than the minimum schoolday established by law.

² Education Code Section 48400, as last reenacted by Chapter 1010, Statutes of 1976 states:

All persons 16 years of age or older and under 18 years of age, not otherwise exempted by this chapter, shall attend upon special continuation education classes maintained by the governing board of the high school district in which they reside, or by the governing board of a neighboring high school district, for not less than four 60minute hours per week for the regularly established annual school term. Such minimum attendance requirement of four 60-minute hours per week may be satisfied by any combination of attendance upon special continuation education classes and regional occupational centers or programs.

1 establish the legal *requirement* for attendance for persons of the ages 6 through 18 years

2 of age, and is an offense enforceable against parents who fail to send their children to

3 school. However, younger persons have the statutory entitlement to attend kindergarten

4 pursuant to Section 48000³, and first-grade pursuant to Section 48010⁴ and Section

5 48011⁵, that cannot be denied by a school district. In addition, special education students

(a) A child shall be admitted to a kindergarten at the beginning of a school year, or at any later time in the same year if the child will have his or her fifth birthday on or before December 2 of that school year. A child who will have his or her fifth birthday on or before December 2 may be admitted to the prekindergarten summer program maintained by the school district for pupils who will be enrolling in kindergarten in September.

(b) The governing board of any school district maintaining one or more kindergartens may, on a case-by-case basis, admit to a kindergarten a child having attained the age of five years at any time during the school year with the approval of the parent or guardian, subject to the following conditions:

(1) The governing board determines that the admittance is in the best interests of the child.

(2) The parent or guardian is given information regarding the advantages and disadvantages and any other explanatory information about the effect of this early admittance.

⁴ Education Code Section 48010, as last amended by Chapter 1256, Statutes of 1989 states:

A child shall be admitted to the first grade of an elementary school during the first month of a school year if the child will have his or her sixth birthday on or before December 2nd of that school year. For good cause, the governing board of a school district may permit a child of proper age to be admitted to a class after the first school month of the school term.

⁵ Education Code Section 48011, as last amended by Chapter 221, Statutes of 1991 states:

³ Education Code Section 48000, as last amended by Chapter 381, Statutes of 1991 states:

- 1 are statutorily entitled to educational services from ages 3 to 22 years pursuant to Section
- 2 56026.⁶

A child who, consistent with Section 48000, has been admitted to the kindergarten maintained by a private or a public school in California or any other state, and who has completed one school year therein, shall be admitted to the first grade of an elementary school unless the parent or guardian of the child and the school district agree that the child may continue in kindergarten for not more than an additional school year.

A child who has been lawfully admitted to a public school kindergarten or a private school kindergarten in California and who is judged by the administration of the school district, in accordance with rules and regulations adopted by the State Board of Education, to be ready for first-grade work may be admitted to the first grade at the discretion of the school administration of the district and with the consent of the child's parent or guardian if the child is at least five years of age. When a child has been legally enrolled in a public school of another district within or out of the state, he or she may be admitted to school and placed in the grade of enrollment in the district of former attendance, at the discretion of the school administration of the school administration of the district entered.

⁶ Education Code Section 56026, added in 1980 and as last amended by Chapter 56, Statutes of 2007 states:

"Individuals with exceptional needs" means those persons who satisfy all the following:

- (a) Identified by an individualized education program team as a child with a disability, as that phrase is defined in Section 1401(3) (A) of Title 20 of the United States Code.
- (b) Their impairment, as described by subdivision (a), requires instruction and services which cannot be provided with modification of the regular school program in order to ensure that the individual is provided a free appropriate public education pursuant to Section 1401(9) of Title 20 of the United States Code.
- (c) Come within one of the following age categories:
 - (1) Younger than three years of age and identified by the local educational agency as requiring intensive special education and services, as defined by the board.
 - (2) Between the ages of three to five years, inclusive, and identified by the local educational agency pursuant to Section 56441.11.
 - (3) Between the ages of five and 18 years, inclusive.
 - (4) Between the ages of 19 and 21 years, inclusive; enrolled in or eligible for

1

The District is required by Section 460007 to record and keep attendance and

a program under this part or other special education program prior to his or her 19th birthday; and has not yet completed his or her prescribed course of study or who has not met proficiency standards or has not graduated from high school with a regular high school diploma.

- (A) Any person who becomes 22 years of age during the months of January to June, inclusive, while participating in a program under this part may continue his or her participation in the program for the remainder of the current fiscal year, including any extended school year program for individuals with exceptional needs established pursuant to Section 3043 of Title 5 of the California Code of Regulations and Section 300.106 of Title 34 of the Code of Federal Regulations.
- (B) Any person otherwise eligible to participate in a program under this part shall not be allowed to begin a new fiscal year in a program if he or she becomes 22 years of age in July, August, or September of that new fiscal year. However, if a person is in a year-round school program and is completing his or her individualized education program in a term that extends into the new fiscal year, then the person may complete that term.
- (C) Any person who becomes 22 years of age during the months of October, November, or December while participating in a program under this act shall be terminated from the program on December 31 of the current fiscal year, unless the person would otherwise complete his or her individualized education program at the end of the current fiscal year. (D) No local educational agency may develop an individualized education program that extends these eligibility dates, and in no event may a pupil be required or allowed to attend school under the provisions of this part beyond these eligibility dates solely on the basis that the individual has not met his or her goals or objectives.
- (d) Meet eligibility criteria set forth in regulations adopted by the board, including, but not limited to, those adopted pursuant to Article 2.5 (commencing with Section 56333) of Chapter 4.
- (e) Unless disabled within the meaning of subdivisions (a) to (d), inclusive, pupils whose educational needs are due primarily to limited English proficiency; a lack of instruction in reading or mathematics; temporary physical disabilities; social maladjustment; or environmental, cultural, or economic factors are not individuals with exceptional needs.

- 1 report absences of *all students* according to the regulations of the State Board of
- 2 Education for purposes of apportionment and general compliance with the compulsory
- 3 education law (Title 5, CCR, Section 400⁸, et seq.). The initial notification of truancy is a
- 4 product of the attendance accounting process and promotes compliance of the
- 5 compulsory education law and *every pupil's* duty to attend school regularly (Title 5, CCR,
- 6 Section 300⁹).

8

- 7 /
- 8

1

1

9

⁷ Education Code Section 46000, as reenacted by Chapter 1010, Statutes of 1976 states:

Attendance in all schools and classes shall be recorded and kept according to regulations prescribed by the State Board of Education, subject to the provisions of this chapter.

Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Section 400, states:

Records of attendance of every pupil in the public schools shall be kept for the following purposes:

- (A) For apportionment of State funds.
- (B) To insure general compliance with the compulsory education law, and performance by a pupil of his duty to attend school regularly as provided in Section 300.
- ⁹ Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Section 300, states:

Every pupil shall attend school punctually and regularly; conform to the regulations of the school; obey promptly all the directions of his teacher and others in authority; observe good order and propriety of deportment; be diligent in study; respectful to his teacher and others in authority; kind and courteous to schoolmates; and refrain entirely from the use of profane and vulgar language.

1 Amount Paid by The State

2	This issue was not an au	dit find	ing. T	he amo	ount of	payme	nts rec	ceived f	rom the	;
3	state is an integral part of the re	imburs	sement	calcul	ation.	The Co	ontrolle	r chang	ged all o	of
4	the claimed payment amounts re	the claimed payment amounts received without a finding in the audit report.								
5		Fiscal Year of Claim								
6	Amount Paid by the State	<u>2006</u>	<u>8-07</u>	<u>2007</u>	<u>2007-08</u>		2008-09		<u>2009-10</u>	
7	As Claimed	\$	0	\$	0	\$	0	\$	0	
8	Audit Report	\$54,	550	\$	9	\$65,	849	\$60,	382	
9	The propriety of these adjustments cannot be determined until the Controller supports the							the		
10	reason for each change.									
11	PAF	RT VIII	RELI	EF RE	QUES	TED				
12	The District filed its annual reimbursement claims within the time limits prescribed						эd			
13	by the Government Code. The amounts claimed by the District for reimbursement of the						he			
14	costs of implementing the progra	am imp	bosed	by Cha	pter 49	8, Stat	utes of	f 1983,	Notifica	ition
15	of Truancy, and relevant Educat	ion Co	de Se	ctions,	repres	ent the	actual	costs i	ncurred	by
16	the District to carry out this prog	ram. ⁻	These	costs w	ere pro	operly	claimed	d pursu	ant to tl	ne
17	Commission's parameters and g	juidelir	nes. R	eimbur	semen	t of the	se cos	ts is re	quired	
18	under Article XIIIB, Section 6 of	the Ca	lifornia	a Const	titution.	The (Control	ler's ad	justmer	าts
19	deny reimbursement without any	y basis	in law	or fact	. The	District	has m	et its b	urden o	f
20	going forward on this claim by co	omplyi	ng with	the re	quirem	ents of	Sectio	on 1185	5, Title 2	<u>></u> ,
21	California Code of Regulations.	Becau	use the	Contro	oller ha	s enfo	rced ar	nd is se	eking to	C

1	enforce these adjustments without benefit of statute or regulation, the burden of proof is
2	now upon the Controller to establish a legal basis for its actions.
3	The District requests that the Commission make findings of fact and law on each
4	and every adjustment made by the Controller and each and every procedural and
5	jurisdictional issue raised in this claim, and order the Controller to correct its audit report
6	findings therefrom.
7	/
8	1
9	/
10	/
11	/
12	/
13	/
14	/
15	/
16	/
17	/
18	/
19	1
20	1

1	PART IX. CERTIFICATION					
2	By my signature below, I hereby declare, under penalty of perjury under the laws of					
3	the State of California, that the information in this incorrect reduction claim submission is					
4	true and complete to the best of my own knowledge or information or belief, and that the					
5	attached documents are true and correct copies of documents received from or sent by					
6	the state agency which originated the document.					
7	Executed on September 25 2013, at Carmichael, California, by					
8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16	Kent Stephens, Chief Financial Officer San Juan Unified School District 3738 Walnut Avenue P.O. Box 477 Carmichael, CA 95609-0477 Voice: 916-971-7238 Fax: 916-979-8215 E-Mail: kent.stephens@sanjuan.edu					
17	APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVE					
18 19 20 21 22	San Juan Unified School District appoints Keith B. Petersen, SixTen and Associates, as its representative for this incorrect reduction claim.					
23	Attachments:					

24 Exhibit "A" Parameters and Guidelines as amended January 31, 2008 Parameters and Guidelines as amended May 27, 2010 25 Exhibit "B" 26 Exhibit "C" Controller's Claiming Instructions revised October 1996 Controller's Audit Report dated November 30, 2011 27 Exhibit "D" Exhibit "E" "Statistical Sampling Revisited" by Neal B. Hitzig, CPA 28 Exhibit "F" 29 Annual reimbursement claims

Exhibit A

 Adopted:
 8/27/87

 Amended:
 7/28/88

 Amended:
 7/22/93

 Amended:
 1/31/08

AMENDMENTS TO PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES AS DIRECTED BY THE LEGISLATURE

Statutes 2007, Chapter 69 (AB 1698)

Education Code Section 48260.5 Statutes 1983, Chapter 498 [Statutes 1994, Chapter 1023] [Statutes 1995, Chapter 19]

Notification of Truancy 07-PGA-01 (4133)

I. BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY OF MANDATE

Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, added Education Code Section 48260.5 which requires school districts, upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant, to notify the pupil's parent or guardian by first-class mail or other reasonable means of (1) the pupil's truancy; (2) that the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school; and (3) that parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subject to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with section 48290) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.

Additionally, the district must inform parents and guardians of (1) alternative educational programs available in the district, and (2) the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.

A truancy occurs when a student is absent from school without valid excuse three (3) full days in one school year, or is tardy or absent without valid excuse for more than any thirty (30)-minute period during the school day on n three (3) occasions in one school year, or any combination thereof. (Definition from Ed. Code, § 48260, as amended by Stats. 1994, ch. 1023 and Stats. 1995, ch. 19.)

Upon a student's initial classification as a truant, the school must perform the requirements mandated by Education Code section 48260.5 as enacted by Statutes 1983, chapter 498 and amended by Statutes 1994, chapter 1023, and Statutes 1995, chapter 19.

Board of Control Decision

On November 29, 1984, the State Board of Control determined that Education Code Section 48260.5, as added by Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, constitutes a state mandated program because it requires an increased level of service by requiring specified notifications be sent to the parents or guardians of pupils upon initial classification of truancy.

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines

The Legislature directed the Commission on State Mandates to revise the parameters and guidelines to modify the definition of truant and the required elements to be included in the initial truancy notifications to conform reimbursable activities to Statutes 1994, chapter 1023, and Statutes 1995, chapter 19, effective July 1, 2006. (Stats., 2007, ch. 69 (AB 1698).)

II. <u>ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS</u>

The claimants are all school districts and county offices of education of the state of California, except a community college district, as defined by Government Code Section 17519 (formerly Revenue and Taxation Code 2208.5), that incur increased costs as a result of implementing the program activities of Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

III. <u>PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT</u>

The amendments to the parameters and guidelines adopted on January 31, 2008 are effective July 1, 2006.

IV. <u>REIMBURSABLE COSTS</u>

A. Scope of Mandate

The eligible claimant shall be reimbursed for only those costs incurred for planning the notification process, revising district procedures, the printing and distribution of notification forms, and associated record keeping.

B. Reimbursable Activities

For each eligible school district the direct and indirect costs of labor, supplies, and services incurred for the following mandated program activities are reimbursable:

1. Planning and Preparation -- One-time

Planning the method of implementation, revising school district policies, and designing and printing the forms.

2. Notification process -- On-going

Identifying the truant pupils to receive the notification, preparing and distributing by first-class mail or other reasonable means the forms to parents/guardians, and associated recordkeeping to provide parents/guardians with the following required information upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant:

- a. That the pupil is truant.
- b. That the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school.
- c. That parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subjet to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with Section 48260) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.

- d. That alternative educational programs are available in the district.
- e. That the parent or guardian has the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.
- f. That the pupil may be subject to prosecution under Section 48264.
- g. That the pupil may be subject to suspension, restriction, or delay of the pupil's driving privileges pursuant to Section 13202.7 of the Vehicle Code.
- h. That it is recommended that the parent or guardian accompany the pupil to school and attend classes with the pupil for one day.
- C. Uniform Cost Allowance

Pursuant to Government Code section 17557, the Commission on State Mandates has adopted a uniform cost allowance for reimbursement in lieu of payment of total actual costs incurred. The uniform cost allowance is based on the number of initial notifications of truancy distributed pursuant to Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

For fiscal year 1992-93, the uniform cost allowance is \$10.21 per initial notification of truancy distributed. The cost allowance shall be adjusted each subsequent year by the Implicit Price Deflator.

D. Unique Costs

School districts incurring unique costs within the scope of the reimbursable mandated activities may submit a request to amend the parameters and guidelines to the Commission for the unique costs to be approved for reimbursement, Pursuant to Section 1185.3, Title 2, California Code of Regulations, such requests must be made by November 30 immediately following the fiscal year of the reimbursement claim in which reimbursement for the costs is requested.

V. <u>CLAIM PREPARATION</u>

Each claim for reimbursement pursuant to Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, must be timely filed and provide documentation in support of the reimbursement claimed for this mandated program.

A. Uniform Cost Allowance Reimbursement

Report the number of initial notifications of truancy distributed during the year. Do not include in that count the number of notifications or other contacts which may result from the initial notification to the parent or guardian.

B. Recognized Unique Costs

As of fiscal year 1992-93, the Commission has not identified any circumstances which would cause a school district to incur additional costs to implement this mandate which have not already been incorporated in the uniform cost allowance.

If and when the Commission recognizes any unique circumstances which can cause the school district to incur additional reasonable costs to implement this mandated program, these unique implementation costs will be reimbursed for specified fiscal years in addition to the uniform cost allowance.

School districts which incur these recognized unique costs will be required to support those actual costs in the following manner:

1. Narrative Statement of Unique Costs Incurred

Provide a detailed written explanation of the costs associated with the unique circumstances recognized by the Commission.

2. Employee Salaries and Benefits

Identify the employee(s) and their job classification, describe the mandated functions performed, and specify the actual number of hours devoted to each function, the productive hourly rate, and the related benefits. The staff time claimed must be supported by source documentation, such as time reports, however, the average number of hours devoted to each function may be claimed if supported by a documented time study.

3. Services and Supplies

Only expenditures which can be identified as a direct cost as a result of the mandated program can be claimed. List cost of materials which have been consumed or expended specifically for the purposes of this mandated program.

4. Allowable Overhead Costs

School districts must use the J-380 (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the California Department of Education. County offices of education must use the J-73A (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the State Department of Education.

VI. <u>SUPPORTING DATA</u>

For auditing purposes, documents must be kept on file for a period of 3 years from the date of final payment by the State Controller, unless otherwise specified by statute and be made available at the request of the State Controller or his agent.

A. Uniform Allowance Reimbursement

Documentation which indicates the total number of initial notifications of truancy distributed.

B. Reimbursement of Unique Costs

In addition to maintaining the **same** documentation as required for uniform cost allowance reimbursement, all costs claimed must be traceable to source documents **and/or** worksheets that show evidence of the validity of such **costs**.

VIII. OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND OTHER REIMBURSEMENT

Any offsetting savings the claimants experience as a direct result of this statute must be deducted from the uniform cost allowance and actual cost reimbursement for unique circumstances claimed. In addition, reimbursement for this mandated program received from any source, e.g., federal, state, etc., shall be identified and deducted from this claim.

IX. <u>REQUIRED CERTIFICATION</u>

ι.

An authorized representative of the claimant will be required to provide a certification of claim, as specified in the State Controller% claiming instructions, for those costs mandated by the state contained herein.

Exhibit B

Adopted: 8/27/87 Amended: 7/28/88 Amended: 7/22/93 Amended: 1/31/08 Amended: 5/27/10

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines as Directed by the Legislature

Statutes 2007, Chapter 69 (AB 1698)

Education Code Section 48260.5

Statutes 1983, Chapter 498

Statutes 1994, Chapter 1023

Statutes 1995, Chapter 19

Notification of Truancy 05-PGA-56 (07-PGA-01; 4133)

Effective Date: Beginning with Claims Filed for the July 1, 2006 – June 30, 2007 Period of Reimbursement

I. BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY OF MANDATE

Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, added Education Code Section 48260.5 which requires school districts, upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant, to notify the pupil's parent or guardian by first-class mail or other reasonable means of (1) the pupil's truancy; (2) that the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school; and (3) that parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subject to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with section 48290) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.

Additionally, the district must inform parents and guardians of (1) alternative educational programs available in the district, and (2) the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.

A truancy occurs when a student is absent from school without valid excuse three (3) full days in one school year, or is tardy or absent without valid excuse for more than any thirty (30)-minute period during the school day on n three (3) occasions in one school year, or any combination thereof. (Definition from Ed. Code, § 48260, as amended by Stats. 1994, ch. 1023 and Stats. 1995, ch. 19.)

Upon a student's initial classification as a truant, the school must perform the requirements mandated by Education Code section 48260.5 as enacted by Statutes 1983, chapter 498 and amended by Statutes 1994, chapter 1023, and Statutes 1995, chapter 19.

Board of Control Decision

On November 29, 1984, the State Board of Control determined that Education Code Section 48260.5, as added by Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, constitutes a

state mandated program because it requires an increased level of service by requiring specified notifications be sent to the parents or guardians of pupils upon initial classification of truancy.

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines

The Legislature directed the Commission on State Mandates to revise the parameters and guidelines to modify the definition of truant and the required elements to be included in the initial truancy notifications to conform reimbursable activities to Statutes 1994, chapter 1023, and Statutes 1995, chapter 19, effective July 1, 2006. (Stats., 2007, ch. 69 (AB 1698).)

II. <u>ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS</u>

The claimants are all school districts and county offices of education of the state of California, except a community college district, as defined by Government Code Section 17519 (formerly Revenue and Taxation Code 2208.5), that incur increased costs as a result of implementing the program activities of Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

III. PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT

The amendments to the parameters and guidelines adopted on January 31, 2008 are effective July 1, 2006.

IV. <u>REIMBURSABLE COSTS</u>

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, "I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct based upon personal knowledge." Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate.

A. Scope of Mandate

The eligible claimant shall be reimbursed for only those costs incurred for planning the notification process, revising district procedures, the printing and distribution of notification forms, and associated record keeping.

B. Reimbursable Activities

For each eligible school district the direct and indirect costs of labor, supplies, and services incurred for the following mandated program activities are reimbursable:

1. Planning and Preparation -- One-time

Planning the method of implementation, revising school district policies, and designing and printing the forms.

2. Notification process -- On-going

Identifying the truant pupils to receive the notification, preparing and distributing by first-class mail or other reasonable means the forms to parents/guardians, and associated recordkeeping to provide parents/guardians with the following required information upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant:

- a. That the pupil is truant.
- b. That the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school.
- c. That parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subjet to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with Section 48260) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.
- d. That alternative educational programs are available in the district.
- e. That the parent or guardian has the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.
- f. That the pupil may be subject to prosecution under Section 48264.
- g. That the pupil may be subject to suspension, restriction, or delay of the pupil's driving privileges pursuant to Section 13202.7 of the Vehicle Code.
- h. That it is recommended that the parent or guardian accompany the pupil to school and attend classes with the pupil for one day.

C. Uniform Cost Allowance

Pursuant to Government Code section 17557, the Commission on State Mandates has adopted a uniform cost allowance for reimbursement in lieu of payment of total actual costs incurred. The uniform cost allowance is based on the number of initial notifications of truancy distributed pursuant to Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

For fiscal year 1992-93, the uniform cost allowance is \$10.21 per initial notification of truancy distributed. The cost allowance shall be adjusted each subsequent year by the Implicit Price Deflator.

D. Unique Costs

School districts incurring unique costs within the scope of the reimbursable mandated activities may submit a request to amend the parameters and guidelines to the Commission for the unique costs to be approved for reimbursement, Pursuant to Section 1185.3, Title 2, California Code of Regulations, such requests must be made by November 30 immediately following the fiscal year of the reimbursement claim in which reimbursement for the costs is requested.

V. <u>CLAIM PREPARATION</u>

Each claim for reimbursement pursuant to Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, must be timely filed and provide documentation in support of the reimbursement claimed for this mandated program.

A. Uniform Cost Allowance Reimbursement

Report the number of initial notifications of truancy distributed during the year. Do not include in that count the number of notifications or other contacts which may result from the initial notification to the parent or guardian. The agency must maintain documentation that indicates the total number of initial notifications of truancy distributed.

B. Recognized Unique Costs

As of fiscal year 1992-93, the Commission has not identified any circumstances which would cause a school district to incur additional costs to implement this mandate which have not already been incorporated in the uniform cost allowance.

If and when the Commission recognizes any unique circumstances which can cause the school district to incur additional reasonable costs to implement this mandated program, these unique implementation costs will be reimbursed for specified fiscal years in addition to the uniform cost allowance.

School districts which incur these recognized unique costs will be required to support those actual costs in the following manner:

1. Narrative Statement of Unique Costs Incurred

Provide a detailed written explanation of the costs associated with the unique circumstances recognized by the Commission.

2. Employee Salaries and Benefits

Identify the employee(s) and their job classification, describe the mandated functions performed, and specify the actual number of hours devoted to each function, the productive hourly rate, and the related benefits. The staff time claimed must be supported by source documentation, such as time reports, however, the average number of hours devoted to each function may be claimed if supported by a documented time study.

3. Services and Supplies

Only expenditures which can be identified as a direct cost as a result of the mandated program can be claimed. List cost of materials which have been consumed or expended specifically for the purposes of this mandated program.

4. Allowable Overhead Costs

School districts must use the J-380 (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the California Department of Education. County offices of education must use the J-73A (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the State Department of Education.

VI. <u>RECORD RETENTION</u>

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter¹ is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in Section V, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated an audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings.

For auditing purposes, documents must be kept on file for a period of 3 years from the date of final payment by the State Controller, unless otherwise specified by statute and be made available at the request of the State Controller or his agent.

A. Uniform Allowance Reimbursement

Documentation which indicates the total number of initial notifications of truancy distributed.

B. Reimbursement of Unique Costs

In addition to maintaining the **same** documentation as required for uniform cost allowance reimbursement, all costs claimed must be traceable to source documents **and/or** worksheets that show evidence of the validity of such **costs**.

VIII. OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND OTHER REIMBURSEMENT

Any offsetting savings the claimants experience as a direct result of this statute must be deducted from the uniform cost allowance and actual cost reimbursement for unique circumstances claimed. In addition, reimbursement for this mandated

¹ This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code.

program received from any source, e.g., federal, state, etc., shall be identified and deducted from this claim.

IX. REQUIRED CERTIFICATION

•

١

An authorized representative of the claimant will be required to provide a certification of claim, as specified in the State Controller% claiming instructions, for those costs mandated by the state contained herein.

.

·

6 61

NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY

1. Summary of Chapter 498/83

Education Code § 48260.5, as added by Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, requires that school districts, upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant, notify the pupil's parent or guardian by first-class mail or other reasonable means, of the pupil's truancy, that the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school and that the parent or guardian who fails to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subject to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with § 48290) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.

Additionally, the district must inform parents and guardians of alternative educational programs available in the district, and the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.

- (1) Truancy occurs when a student is absent from school without valid excuse more than three (3) days or is tardy in excess of thirty (30) minutes on each of more than three (3) days in one school year. (Definition from Education Code § 48260).
- (2) A student shall be classified as truant upon the fourth unexcused absence, and the school must at that time perform the requirements mandated in Education Code 48260.5 as enacted by Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

On November 29, 1984, the Commission on State Mandates determined that Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, resulted in state mandated costs which are reimbursable pursuant to Part 7 (commencing with Government Code § 17500) of Division 4 of Title 2.

2. Eligible Claimants

Any school district (K-12) or county office of education that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim reimbursement of these costs.

3. Appropriations

Claims may only be filed with the State Controller's Office for programs that have been funded in the state budget, the State Mandates Claims Fund, or in special legislation. To determine if this program is funded in subsequent fiscal years, refer to the schedule "Appropriation for State Mandated Cost Programs" in the "Annual Claiming Instructions for State Mandated Costs" issued in September of each year to county superintendents of schools and superintendents of schools.

4. Types of Claims

A. Reimbursement and Estimated Claims

A claimant may file a reimbursement and/or an estimated claim. A reimbursement claim details the costs actually incurred for a prior fiscal year. An estimated claim shows the costs to be incurred for the current fiscal year.

B. Minimum Claim

Government Code § 17564(a), provides that no claim shall be filed pursuant to Government Code § 17561 unless such a claim exceeds \$200 per program per fiscal year. However, any county superintendent of schools, as fiscal agent for the school district, may submit a combined claim in excess of \$200 on behalf of one or more districts within the county even if the individual district's claim does not exceed \$200. A combined claim must show the individual costs for each district.

Once a combined claim is filed, all subsequent years relating to the same mandate must be filed in a combined form. The county receives the reimbursement payment and is responsible for disbursing funds to each participating district. A district may withdraw from the combined claim form by providing a written notice to the county superintendent of schools and the State Controller's Office of its intent to file a separate claim at least 180 days prior to the deadline for

School Mandated Cost Manual

filing the claim.

5. Filing Deadline

Refer to the item, "Reimbursable State Mandated Cost Programs", contained in the annual cover letter for mandated cost programs issued annually in September, which identifies the fiscal years for which claims may be filed. If an "x" is shown for the program listed under "19_/__Reimbursement Claim", and/or "19_/__Estimated Claim", claims may be filed as follows:

(1) An estimated claim must be filed with the State Controller's Office and postmarked by November 30 of the fiscal year in which costs are to be incurred. Timely filed estimated claims will be paid before late claims.

After having received payment for an estimated claim, the claimant must file a reimbursement claim by November 30 of the following fiscal year. If the district fails to file a reimbursement claim, monies received for the estimated claim must be returned to the State. If no estimated claim was filed, the agency may file a reimbursement claim detailing the actual costs incurred for the fiscal year, provided there was an appropriation for the program for that fiscal year. For information regarding appropriations for reimbursement claims, refer to the "Appropriation for State Mandated Cost Programs" in the previous fiscal year's annual claiming instructions.

(2) A reimbursement claim detailing the actual costs must be filed with the State Controller's Office and postmarked by November 30 following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. If the claim is filed after the deadline but by November 30 of the succeeding fiscal year, the approved claim must be reduced by a late penalty of 10%, not to exceed \$1,000. Claims filed more than one year after the deadline will not be accepted.

6. Reimbursable Components

Eligible claimants will be reimbursed on a unit cost basis for an initial notice to the parents or guardian regarding the pupil's truancy. For the 1995/96 fiscal year the unit rate is \$10.97 per initial notice. The unit rate is adjusted annually by the changes in the implicit price deflator and covers all direct and indirect costs of the following on-going activities:

- A. Identifying the Truant Pupil
- B. Notification to Parent or Guardian
- C. Printing Additional Forms
- D. Recordkeeping

7. Reimbursement Limitations

- A. This program does not provide reimbursement for activities related to resolving truancy problems (i.e., referrals to attendance review board, meetings with parent or guardian to discuss the pupil's truancy problems and/or discuss alternative educational programs, etc.).
- B. Any offsetting savings or reimbursement the claimant received from any source (e.g. service fees collected, federal funds, other state funds, etc.,) as a result of this mandate shall be identified and deducted so only net local costs are claimed.

For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained for a period of two years after the end of the calendar year in which the reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. Such documents shall be made available to the State Controller's Office on request.

8. Form NOT-1, Claim Summary

This form is used to compute the amount of claimable costs based on the number of reports forwarded to the governing board with the recommendation not to expel the student. The claimant must give the number of truant notifications. The cost data on this form is carried forward to form FAM-27.

9. Form FAM-27, Claim for Payment

Form FAM-27 contains a certification that must be signed by an authorized representative of the district. All applicable information from form NOT-1 must be carried forward to this form for the State Controller's Office to process the claim for payment.

State Controller's Office

School Mandated Cost Manual

State Controller S On			3011001 Intal	nuated ocot mailua
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT			For State Controller Use	
Pursuant	t to Government Code So	(19) Program Number 000		
I NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY			(20) Date Filed/	
(01) Claimant Identification Num	ıber		(21) LRS Input/	ent Claim Data
(02) Claimant Name				
County of Location			(22) NOT-1, (03)	
			(23)	
Street Address or P.O. Box		Suite	(24)	
City	State	Zip Code	(25)	
Type of Claim	Estimated Claim	Reimbursement Claim	(26)	
	(03) Estimated	(09) Reimbursement	(27)	
	(04) Combined	(10) Combined	(28)	
	(05) Amended	(11) Amended	(29)	
Fiscal Year of Cost	(06) 20/20	(12) 20/20	(30)	
Total Claimed Amount	(07)	(13)	(31)	
Less: 10% Late Penalty	y, not to exceed \$1,000	(14)	(32)	
Less: Prior Claim Payment Received		(15)	(33)	
Net Claimed Amount		(16)	(34)	
Due from State	(08)	(17)	(35)	
Due to State		(18)	(36)	
(37) CERTIFICATIO	N OF CLAIM			
file mandated cost claim		e Section 17561, I certify that I for this program, and certify un 1098, inclusive.		
costs claimed herein, ar and reimbursements set	nd such costs are for a new pr	n from the claimant, nor any gr ogram or increased level of ser Guidelines are identified, and al	vices of an existing prog	ram. All offsetting savi
	n the attached statements. I ce	rsement Claim are hereby clain rtify under penalty of perjury u		
Signature of Authorized C	Officer		Date	
Type or Print Name (38) Name of Contact Perso	on for Claim		Title	
		Telephone Numbe	r <u>() -</u>	Ext.
		E-Mail Address		

Form FAM-27 (Revised 09/03)

State Controller's Office

,

•

School Mandated Cost Manual

Program 048	NOTIFICATION OF TR Certification Claim Instructions		FORM FAM-27	
(01)	Enter the payee number assigned by the State Controller's Office.			
(02)	Enter your Official Name, County of Location, Street or P. O. Box a	ddress, City, State, and Zip Code.		
(03)	f filing an estimated claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (03) Estir	nated.		
(04)	If filing a combined estimated claim on behalf of districts within the	county, enter an "X" in the box on line (04) Co	ombined.	
(05)	If filing an amended estimated claim, enter an "X" in the box on line	e (05) Amended.		
(06)	Enter the fiscal year in which costs are to be incurred.			
	Enter the amount of the estimated claim. If the estimate exceeds form NOT-1 and enter the amount from line (08).	the amount of the estimated claim. If the estimate exceeds the previous year's actual costs by more than 10%, complete NOT-1 and enter the amount from line (08).		
(08)	Enter the same amount as shown on line (07).			
(09)	If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09)	Reimbursement.		
(10)	If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts with	n the county, enter an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined.	
(11)	If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box	on line (11) Amended.		
(12)	Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If complete a separate form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.	actual costs for more than one fiscal year a	are being claimed,	
(13)	Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim from form NOT-1, lin	ne (08). The total claimed amount must exce	əd \$1,000.	
(14)	Reimbursement claims must be filed by January 15 of the following fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims shall be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was timely filed, otherwise, enter the product of multiplying line (13) by the factor 0.10 (10% penalty), not to exceed \$1,000.			
(15)	If filing a reimbursement claim or a claim was previously filed for Otherwise, enter a zero.	the same fiscal year, enter the amount rece	eived for the claim.	
(16)	Enter the result of subtracting line (14) and line (15) from line (13)	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	-	
(17)	If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount or	line (17), Due from State.		
(18)	f line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State.			
(19) to (21)	Leave blank.			
(22) to (36)	Reimbursement Claim Data. Bring forward the cost information a the reimbursement claim, e.g., NOT-1, (03), means the informati the same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information sho percentage should be shown as a whole number and witho Completion of this data block will expedite the payment proc	on is located on form NOT-1, line (03). Ente ald be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no o ut the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% shoul	r the information on cents. Indirect costs	
(37)	Read the statement "Certification of Claim." If it is true, the clain must include the person's name and title, typed or printed. Claim certification. (To expedite the payment process, please sig form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.)	is cannot be paid unless accompanied by	an original signed	
(38)	Enter the name, telephone number, and e-mail address of the pe	erson to contact if additional information is re	quired.	
	SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL, AND A COPY OF FORM DOCUMENTS TO:	FAM-27, WITH ALL OTHER FORMS /	AND SUPPORTING	
	Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service:	Address, if delivered by other delivery s	ervice:	
	OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting P.O. Box 942850 Sacramento, CA 94250	OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting 3301 C Street, Suite 500 Sacramento, CA 95816		

tate Controller's Office		School Mandated	Cost Manual
Program 048	MANDATED COSTS NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY CLAIM SUMMARY		
01) Claimant	· · · ·	(02)	Fiscal Year /
Claim Statistics			
03) Number of truant notifications		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
(04) Unit Cost	······································	16.15 for fy 2006-07]	
(05) Total Costs	[ו	Line (03) x line (04)]	
Cost Reduction	angananan ing setin analy sing arithmetic and an	ungan ina uni anna ina anaran ailte infiair (ailte infiair).	anger 2014) (4338 Berdilah)
(06) Less: Offsetting Savings			
(07) Less: Other Reimbursements			-
(08) Total Claimed Amount	[Line (08) - {line (09) + line (10)}]	

Revised 04/08

ŧ.

ł

State Cont	roller's Office School	ol Mandated Cost Manual
Program 048		FORM 1
(01)	Enter the name of the claimant. If more than one department has incurred of the name of each department. A Form-1 should be completed for each dep	
(02)	Enter the fiscal year of costs.	
(03)	Enter the number of truant notifications that were sent during the fisc students' initial classification of truancy.	al year of claim, upon the

- (04) The unit cost rate for fiscal year 06-07 is \$16.15 per initial notification. This unit cost rate will be updated annually in the Annual Revisions for Schools issued in September.
- (05) Multiply line (03), the number of truant notifications by line (04), the unit cost rate.
- (06) Less: Offsetting Savings. If applicable, enter the total savings experienced by the claimant as a direct result of this mandate. Submit a detailed schedule of savings with the claim.
- (07) Less: Other Reimbursements. If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, that reimbursed any portion of the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.
- (08) Total Claimed Amount. From Total Costs, line (05), subtract the sum of Offsetting Savings, line (06), and Other Reimbursements, line (07). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to form FAM-27, line (07) for the Estimated Claim or line (13) for the Reimbursement Claim.

FILING A CLAIM

RECEIVED December 16, 2013 Commission on State Mandates

1. Introduction

The law in the State of California, (GC Sections 17500 through 17617), provides for the reimbursement of costs incurred by school districts for costs mandated by the State. Costs mandated by the State means any increased costs which a school district is required to incur after July 1, 1980, as a result of any statute enacted after January 1, 1975, or any executive order implementing such statute which mandates a new program or higher level of service of an existing program.

Estimated claims that show costs to be incurred in the current fiscal year and reimbursement claims that detail the costs actually incurred for the prior fiscal year may be filed with the State Controller's Office (SCO). Claims for on-going programs are filed annually by February 15. Claims for new programs are filed within 120 days from the date claiming instructions are issued for the program. A 10 percent penalty, up to \$10,000 for continuing claims, no limit for initial claims, is assessed for late claims. The SCO may audit the records of any school district to verify the actual amount of mandated costs and may reduce any claim that is excessive or unreasonable.

When a program has been reimbursed for three or more years, the Commission on State Mandates (COSM) may approve the program for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS). For programs included in SMAS, the SCO determines the amount of each claimant's entitlement based on an average of three consecutive fiscal years of actual costs adjusted by any changes in the Implicit Price Deflator (IPD). Claimants with an established entitlement receive an annual apportionment adjusted by any changes in the IPD and, under certain circumstances, by any changes in workload. Claimants with an established entitlement do not file further claims for the program.

The SCO is authorized to make payments for costs of mandated programs from amounts appropriated by the State Budget Act, by the State Mandates Claims Fund, or by specific legislation. In the event the appropriation is insufficient to pay claims in full, claimants will receive prorated payments in proportion to the dollar amount of approved claims for the program. Balances of prorated payments will be made when supplementary funds are made available.

The instructions contained in this manual are intended to provide general guidance for filing a mandated cost claim. Since each mandate is administered separately, it is important to refer to the specific program for information relating to established policies on eligible reimbursable costs.

2. Types of Claims

There are three types of claims: Reimbursement, estimated, and entitlement. A claimant may file a reimbursement claim for actual mandated costs incurred in the prior fiscal year or may file an estimated claim for mandated costs to be incurred during the current fiscal year. An entitlement claim may be filed for the purpose of establishing a base year entitlement amount for mandated programs included in SMAS. A claimant who has established a base year entitlement for a program would receive an automatic annual payment which is reflective of the current costs for the program.

All claims received by the SCO will be reviewed to verify actual costs. An adjustment of the claim will be made if the amount claimed is determined to be excessive, improper, or unreasonable. The claim must be filed with sufficient documentation to support the costs claimed. The types of documentation required to substantiate a claim are identified in the instructions for the program. The certification of claim, form FAM-27, must be signed and dated by the entity's authorized officer in order for the SCO to make payment on the claim.

A. Reimbursement Claim

A reimbursement claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed with the SCO by a school district for reimbursement of costs incurred for which an appropriation is made for the purpose of paying the claim. The claim must include supporting documentation to substantiate the costs claimed.

Initial reimbursement claims are first-time claims for reimbursement of costs for one or more prior fiscal years of a program that was previously unfunded. Claims are due 120 days from the date of issuance of the claiming instructions for the program by the SCO. The first statute that appropriates funds for the mandated program will specify the fiscal years for which costs are eligible for reimbursement.

Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15 following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred for the program. A reimbursement claim must detail the costs actually incurred in the prior fiscal year.

An actual claim for the 2006-07 fiscal year may be filed by February 15, 2008, without a late penalty. Claims filed after the deadline will be reduced by a late penalty of 10%, not to exceed \$10,000. However, initial reimbursement claims will be reduced by a late penalty of 10% with no limitation. In order for a claim to be considered properly filed, it must include any specific supporting documentation requested in the instructions. Claims filed more than one year after the deadline or without the requested supporting documentation will not be accepted.

B. Estimated Claim

An estimated claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed with the SCO, during the fiscal year in which the mandated costs are to be incurred by the school districts and county superintendent of schools, against an appropriation made to the SCO for the purpose of paying those costs.

An estimated claim may be filed in conjunction with an initial reimbursement claim, annual reimbursement claim, or at other times for estimated costs to be incurred during the current fiscal year. Annual estimated claims are due February 15 of the fiscal year in which the costs are to be incurred. Initial estimated claims are due on the date specified in the claiming instructions. Timely filed estimated claims are paid before those filed after the deadline.

After receiving payment for an estimated claim, the claimant must file a reimbursement claim by February 15 following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. If the claimant fails to file a reimbursement claim, monies received for the estimated claims must be returned to the State.

C. Entitlement Claim

An entitlement claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed by a school district and county superintendent of schools with the SCO for the sole purpose of establishing or adjusting a base year entitlement for a mandated program that has been included in SMAS. An entitlement claim should not contain nonrecurring or initial start-up costs. There is no statutory deadline for the filing of entitlement claims. However, entitlement claims and supporting documents should be filed by February 15, following the third fiscal year used to develop the entitlement claim, to permit an orderly processing of claims. When the claims are approved and a base year entitlement amount is determined, the claimant will receive an apportionment reflective of the program's current year costs. School mandates included in SMAS are listed on page 5.

Once a mandate has been included in SMAS and the claimant has established a base year entitlement, the claimant will receive automatic payments from the SCO for the mandate. The automatic apportionment is determined by adjusting the claimant's base year entitlement for changes in the implicit price deflator of costs of goods and services to governmental agencies,

as determined by the State Department of Finance. For programs approved by the COSM for inclusion in SMAS on or after January 1, 1988, the payment for each year succeeding the three-year base period is adjusted according to any changes by both the deflator and average daily attendance. Annual apportionments for programs included in the system are paid on or before November 30 of each year.

A base year entitlement is determined by computing the average of the claimant's costs for any three consecutive years after the program has been approved for the SMAS process. The amount is first adjusted according to any changes in the deflator. The deflator is applied separately to each year's costs for the three years, which comprise the base year. The SCO will perform this computation for each claimant who has filed claims for three consecutive years. If a claimant has incurred costs for three consecutive years but has not filed a claim in each of those years, the claimant may file an entitlement claim, form FAM-43, to establish a base year entitlement. The form FAM-43 is included in the claiming instructions for SMAS programs. An entitlement claim does not result in the claimant being reimbursed for the costs incurred, but rather entitles the claimant to receive automatic payments from SMAS.

3. Minimum Claim Amount

GC Section 17564(a) provides that no claim shall be filed pursuant to Sections 17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars (\$1,000), provided that a county superintendent of schools may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts within their county if the combined claim exceeds \$1,000, even if the individual school district's claim does not each exceed \$1,000. The county superintendent of schools shall determine if the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and shall be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school district. These combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools is the fiscal agent for the districts. A combined claim must show the individual claim costs for each eligible district. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate shall only be filed in the combined form unless a school district provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the county superintendent of schools and to the SCO at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim.

4. Filing Deadline for Claims

Initial reimbursement claims (first-time claims) for reimbursement of costs of a previously unfunded mandated program must be filed within 120 days from the date of issuance of the program's claiming instructions by the SCO. If the initial reimbursement claim is filed after the deadline, but within one year of the deadline, the approved claim must be reduced by a 10% penalty. A claim filed more than one year after the deadline cannot be accepted for reimbursement.

Annual reimbursement claims for costs incurred during the previous fiscal year and estimated claims for costs to be incurred during the current fiscal year must be filed with the SCO and postmarked on or before February 15. If the annual or estimated reimbursement claim is filed after the deadline, but within one year of the deadline, the approved claim must be reduced by a 10% late penalty, not to exceed \$10,000. Claims must include supporting data to show how the amount claimed was derived. Without this information, the claim cannot be accepted.

Entitlement claims do not have a filing deadline. However, entitlement claims and supporting documents should be filed by February 15 to permit an orderly processing of claims. Entitlement claims are used to establish a base year entitlement amount for calculating automatic annual payments. Entitlement does not result in the claimant being reimbursed for costs incurred, but rather entitles the claimant to receive automatic payments from SMAS.

5. Payment of Claims

In order for the SCO to authorize payment of a claim, the Certification of Claim, form FAM-27, must

be properly filled out, signed, and dated by the entity's authorized officer.

A claimant is entitled to receive accrued interest at the pooled money investment account rate if the payment was made more than 60 days after the claim filing deadline or the actual date of claim receipt, whichever is later. For an initial claim, interest begins to accrue when the payment is made more than 365 days after the adoption of the program's statewide cost estimate. The SCO may withhold up to 20 percent of the amount of an initial claim until the claim is audited to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs. The 20 percent withheld is not subject to accrued interest.

Pursuant to GC section 17561(d), the Controller shall pay any eligible claim by August 15 or 45 days after the date the appropriation for the claim is effective, whichever is later. In the event the amount appropriated by the Legislature is insufficient to pay the approved amount in full for a program, claimants will receive a prorated payment in proportion to the amount of approved claims timely filed and on hand at the time of proration.

The SCO reports the amounts of insufficient appropriations to the State Department of Finance, the Chairperson of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, and the Chairperson of the respective committee in each house of the Legislature, which considers appropriations in order to assure appropriation of these funds in the Budget Act. If these funds cannot be appropriated on a timely basis in the Budget Act, this information is transmitted to the COSM which will include these amounts in its report to assure that an appropriation sufficient to pay the claims is included in the next local government claims bill or other appropriation bills. When the supplementary funds are made available, the balance of the claims will be paid.

Unless specified in the statutes, regulations, or P's & G's, the determination of allowable and unallowable costs for mandates is based on the P's & G's adopted by the COSM. The determination of allowable reimbursable mandated costs for unfunded mandates is made by the COSM. The SCO determines allowable reimbursable costs, subject to amendment by the COSM, for mandates funded by special legislation. Unless specified, allowable costs are those direct and indirect costs, less applicable credits, considered to be eligible for reimbursement. In order for costs to be allowable and thus eligible for reimbursement, the costs must meet the following general criteria:

- 1. The cost is necessary and reasonable for proper and efficient administration of the mandate and not a general expense required to carry out the overall responsibilities of government.
- 2. The cost is allocable to a particular cost objective identified in the P's & G's.
- 3. The cost is net of any applicable credits that offset or reduce expenses of items allocable to the mandate.

The SCO has identified certain costs that should not be claimed as direct program costs unless specified as reimbursable under the program's P's & G's. These costs include, but are not limited to, subscriptions, depreciation, memberships, conferences, workshops general education, and travel costs.

6. State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS)

Chapter 1534, Statutes of 1985, established SMAS, a method of paying certain mandated programs as apportionments. This method is utilized whenever a program has been approved for inclusion in SMAS by the COSM.

When a mandated program has been included in SMAS, the SCO will determine a base year entitlement amount for each school district that has submitted reimbursement claims (or entitlement claims) for three consecutive fiscal years. A base year entitlement amount is determined by averaging the approved reimbursement claims (or entitlement claims) for 1982-83, 1983-84, and 1984-85 years or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter. The amounts are first adjusted by any change in the Implicit Price Deflator (IPD), which is applied separately to each year's costs for

the three years that comprise the base period. The base period means the three fiscal years immediately succeeding the COSM's approval.

Each school district with an established base year entitlement for the program will receive automatic annual payments from the SCO reflective of the program's current year costs. The amount of apportionment is adjusted annually for any change in the IPD. If the mandated program was included in SMAS after January 1, 1988, the annual apportionment is adjusted for any change in both the IPD and average daily attendance.

In the event a school district has incurred costs for three consecutive fiscal years but did not file a reimbursement claim in one or more of those fiscal years, the school district may file an entitlement claim for each of those missed years to establish a base year entitlement. An "entitlement claim" means any claim filed by a school district with the SCO for the sole purpose of establishing a base year entitlement. A base year entitlement shall not include any nonrecurring or initial start-up costs.

Initial apportionments are made on an individual program basis. After the initial year, all apportionments are made by November 30. The amount to be apportioned is the base year entitlement adjusted by annual changes in the IPD for the cost of goods and services to governmental agencies as determined by the State Department of Finance.

In the event the school district determines that the amount of apportionment does not accurately reflect costs incurred to comply with a mandate, the process of adjusting an established base year entitlement upon which the apportionment is based is set forth in GC Section 17615.8 and requires the approval of the COSM.

School Mandates Included in SMAS

Program Name	Chapter/Statute	Program Number
Immunization Records	Ch. 1176/77	32

Pupil Expulsion Transcripts, program #91, Chapter 1253/75 was removed from SMAS for the 2002-03 fiscal year. This program was consolidated with other mandate programs that are included in Pupil Suspension, Expulsions, and Expulsion Appeals, program #176.

7. Direct Costs

A direct cost is a cost that can be identified specifically with a particular program or activity. Each claimed reimbursable cost must be supported by documentation as described in Section 12. Costs that are typically classified as direct costs are:

(1) Employee Wages, Salaries, and Fringe Benefits

For each of the mandated activities performed, the claimant must list the names of the employees who worked on the mandate, their job classification, hours worked on the mandate, and rate of pay. The claimant may, in-lieu of reporting actual compensation and fringe benefits, use a productive hourly rate:

(a) Productive Hourly Rate Options

A school district may use one of the following methods to compute productive hourly rates:

- Actual annual productive hours for each employee
- The weighted-average annual productive hours for each job title, or
- 1,800* annual productive hours for all employees

If actual annual productive hours or weighted-average annual productive hours for each job title is chosen, the claim must include a computation of how these hours were computed.

- * 1,800 annual productive hours excludes the following employee time:
- o Paid holidays
- o Vacation earned
- o Sick leave taken
- o Informal time off

o Jury duty

o Military leave taken.

(b) Compute a Productive Hourly Rate

1. Compute a productive hourly rate for salaried employees to include actual fringe benefit costs. The methodology for converting a salary to a productive hourly rate is to compute the employee's annual salary and fringe benefits and divide by the annual productive hours.

Table 1: Productive Hourly Rate, Annual Salary + Benefits Methe

Formula:	Description:
[(EAS + Benefits) ÷ APH] = PHR	EAS = Employee's Annual Salary
	APH = Annual Productive Hours
[(\$26,000 + \$8,099)] ÷ 1,800 hrs =	18.94 PHR = Productive Hourly Rate

- As illustrated in Table 1, if you assume an employee's compensation was \$26,000 and \$8,099 for annual salary and fringe benefits, respectively, using the "Salary + Benefits Method," the productive hourly rate would be \$18.94. To convert a biweekly salary to EAS, multiply the biweekly salary by 26. To convert a monthly salary to EAS, multiply the monthly salary by 12. Use the same methodology to convert other salary periods.
- 2. A claimant may also compute the productive hourly rate by using the "Percent of Salary Method."

Table 2: Productive Hourly Rate, Percent of Salary Method

Example:		
Step 1: Fringe Benefits as a Percent of Salary		Step 2: Productive Hourly Rate
Retirement	15.00 %	Formula:
Social Security & Medicare	7.65	$[(EAS x (1 + FBR)) \div APH] = PHR$
Health & Dental Insurance	5.25	
Workers Compensation	3.25	[(\$26,000 x (1.3115)) ÷ 1,800] = \$18.94
Total	31.15 %	
Description:		
EAS = Employee's Annual Salary		APH = Annual Productive Hours
FBR = Fringe Benefit Rate		PHR = Productive Hourly Rate

• As illustrated in Table 3, both methods produce the same productive hourly rate.

Reimbursement for personnel services includes, but is not limited to, compensation paid

for salaries, wages, and employee fringe benefits. Employee fringe benefits include employer's contributions for social security, pension plans, insurance, workmen's compensation insurance, and similar payments. These benefits are eligible for reimbursement as long as they are distributed equitably to all activities. Whether these costs are allowable is based on the following presumptions:

- The amount of compensation is reasonable for the service rendered.
- The compensation paid and benefits received are appropriately authorized by the governing board.
- Amounts charged for personnel services are based on payroll documents that are supported by time and attendance or equivalent records for individual employees.
- The methods used to distribute personnel services should produce an equitable distribution of direct and indirect allowable costs.

For each of the employees included in the claim, the claimant must use reasonable rates and hours in computing the wage cost. If a person of a higher-level job position performs an activity which normally would be performed by a lower-level position, reimbursement for time spent is allowable at the average salary range for the lower-level position. The salary rate of the person at the higher-level position may be claimed if it can be shown that it was more cost effective in comparison to the performance by a person at the lower-level position under normal circumstances and conditions. The number of hours charged to an activity should reflect the time expected to complete the activity under normal circumstances and conditions. The numbers of hours in excess of normal expected hours are not reimbursable.

(c) Calculating an Average Productive Hourly Rate

In those instances where the parameters and guidelines allow a unit as a basis of claiming costs, the direct labor component of the unit cost should be expressed as an average productive hourly rate and can be determined as follows:

	<u>Time</u> Spent	Productive Hourly Rate	Total Cost by Employee	
Employee A	1.25 hrs	\$6.00	\$7.50	
Employee B	0.75 hrs	4.50	3.38	
Employee C	3.50 hrs	10.00	35.00	
Total	5.50 hrs		\$45.88	
Average Productive Hourly Rate is \$45.88/5.50 hrs. = \$8.34				

Table 3: Calculating an Average Productive Hourly Rate

(d) Employer's Fringe Benefits Contribution

A school district has the option of claiming actual employer's fringe benefit contributions or may compute an average fringe benefit cost for the employee's job classification and claim it as a percentage of direct labor. The same time base should be used for both salary and fringe benefits when computing a percentage. For example, if health and dental insurance payments are made annually, use an annual salary. After the percentage of salary for each fringe benefit is computed, total them. For example:

Employer's Contribution	% of Salary
Retirement	15.00%
Social Security	7.65%
Health and Dental	5.25%
Insurance	5.2576
Worker's Compensation	0.75%
Total	28.65%

(e) Materials and Supplies

Only actual expenses can be claimed for materials and supplies, which were acquired and consumed specifically for the purpose of a mandated program. The claimant must list the materials and supplies that were used to perform the mandated activity, the number of units consumed, the cost per unit, and the total dollar amount claimed. Materials and supplies purchased to perform a particular mandated activity are expected to be reasonable in quality, quantity, and cost. Purchases in excess of reasonable quality, quantity, and cost are not reimbursable. Materials and supplies withdrawn from inventory and charged to the mandated activity must be based on a recognized method of pricing, consistently applied. Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price after deducting discounts, rebates, and allowances received by local agencies.

(f) Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies

In those instances where the parameters and guidelines suggest that a unit cost be developed for use as a basis of claiming costs mandated by the State, the materials and supplies component of the unit cost should be expressed as a unit cost of materials and supplies as shown in Table 1 or Table 2:

Supplies	<u>Cost Per Unit</u>	Amount of Supplies Used <u>Per Activity</u>	Unit Cost of Supplies <u>Per Activity</u>
Paper	0.02	4	\$0.08
Files	0.10	1	0.10
Envelopes	0.03	2	0.06
Photocopies	0.10	4	_0.40
			<u>\$0.64</u>

Table 1: Calculating A Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies

Supplies	Supplies <u>Used</u>	Unit Cost of Supplies <u>Per Activity</u>
Paper (\$10.00 for 500 sheet ream)	250 Sheets	\$5.00
Files (\$2.50 for box of 25)	10 Folders	1.00
Envelopes (\$3.00 for box of 100)	50 Envelopes	1.50
Photocopies (\$0.05 per copy)	40 Copies	2.00
		\$9.50
If the number of reimbursable instances is 2 per reimbursable instance (\$9.50 / 25).	25, then the unit cost of su	upplies is \$0.38

Table 2: Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies

(g) Contract Services

The cost of contract services is allowable if the school district lacks the staff resources or necessary expertise, or it is economically feasible to hire a contractor to perform the mandated activity. The claimant must give the name of the contractor, explain the reason for having to hire a contractor, describe the mandated activities performed, give the dates when the activities were performed, the number of hours spent performing the mandate, the hourly billing rate, and the total cost. The hourly billing rate shall not exceed the rate specified in the parameters and guidelines for the mandated program. The contractor's invoice, or statement, which includes an itemized list of costs for activities performed, must accompany the claim.

(h) Equipment Rental Costs

Equipment purchases and leases (with an option to purchase) are not reimbursable as a direct cost unless specifically allowed by the parameters and guidelines for the particular mandate. Equipment rentals used solely for the mandate is reimbursable to the extent such costs do not exceed the retail purchase price of the equipment plus a finance charge. The claimant must explain the purpose and use for the equipment, the time period for which the equipment was rented and the total cost of the rental. If the equipment is used for purposes other than reimbursable activities, only the pro rata portion of the rental costs can be claimed.

(i) Capital Outlay

Capital outlays for land, buildings, equipment, furniture and fixtures may be claimed if the parameters and guidelines specify them as allowable. If they are allowable, the parameters and guidelines for the program will specify a basis for the reimbursement. If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for purposes other than reimbursable activities for a specific mandate, only the pro rata portion of the purchase price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed.

(j) Travel Expenses

Travel expenses are normally reimbursable in accordance with travel rules and regulations of the local jurisdiction. For some programs, however, the parameters and guidelines may specify certain limitations on expenses, or that expenses can only be reimbursed in accordance with the State Board of Control travel standards. When claiming travel expenses, the claimant must explain the purpose of the trip, identify the name and address of the persons incurring the expense, the date and time of departure

and return for the trip, description of each expense claimed, the cost of transportation, number of private auto miles traveled, and the cost of tolls and parking with receipts required for charges over \$10.00.

(k) Documentation

It is the responsibility of the claimant to make available to the SCO, upon request, documentation in the form of general and subsidiary ledgers, purchase orders, invoices, contracts, canceled warrants, equipment usage records, land deeds, receipts, employee time sheets, agency travel guidelines, inventory records, and other relevant documents to support claimed costs. The type of documentation necessary for each claim may differ with the type of mandate.

8. Indirect Costs

Indirect costs are: (a) Incurred for a common or joint purpose benefiting more than one cost objective, and (b) not readily assignable to the cost objectives specifically benefited, without effort disproportionate to the results achieved. Indirect costs can originate in the department performing the mandate or in departments that supply the department performing the mandate with goods, services and facilities. As noted previously, in order for a cost to be allowable, it must be allocable to a particular cost objective. With respect to indirect costs, this requires that the cost be distributed to benefiting cost objectives on bases, which produce an equitable result in relation to the benefits derived by the mandate.

School districts and county superintendents of schools may use the indirect cost rates approved by the California Department of Education based on J-380/580/780/SACS Expenditure Data whichever is applicable to the fiscal year of the claim.

The amount of indirect costs the claimant is eligible to claim is computed by multiplying the rate by direct costs. When applying the rate, multiply the rate by mandated direct costs not included in either (1) total support services, EDP No. 422 of the J-380 or J-580, or (2) indirect costs on Form ICR of the California Department of Education's SACS Financial Reporting Software. If there are any exceptions to this general rule for applying the indirect cost rate, they will be found in the individual mandate instructions.

9. Time Study Guidelines

Background

For costs incurred on or after January 1, 2005, a reasonable reimbursement methodology can be used as a formula for reimbursing school district costs mandated by the state that meet certain conditions specified in GC Section 17518.5(a). For costs incurred prior to January 1, 2005, a time study can only substitute for continuous records of actual time spent for a specific fiscal year if the program's P's & G's allow for the use of time studies.

Two methods are acceptable for documenting employee time charged to mandated cost programs: Actual Time Reporting and Time Study, which are described below. Application of time study results is restricted. As explained in Time Study Results below the results may be projected forward a maximum of two years provided the claimant meets certain criteria.

Actual Time Reporting

Parameters and Guidelines define reimbursable activities for each mandated cost program. (Some P's & G's refer to reimbursable activities as reimbursable components.) When employees work on multiple activities and/or programs, a distribution of their salaries or wages must be supported by personnel activity reports or equivalent documentation that meets the following standards (which

clarify documentation requirements discussed under the Reimbursable Activities section of recent P's & G's):

- They must reflect an after-the-fact (contemporaneous) distribution of the actual activity of each employee;
- They must account for the total activity for which each employee is compensated;
- They must be prepared at least monthly and must coincide with one or more pay periods; and
- They must be signed by the employee.

Budget estimates, or other distribution percentages determined before services are performed, do not qualify as support for time distribution.

Time Study

In certain cases, a time study may be used to substitute for continuous records of actual time spent on multiple activities and/or programs. An effective time study requires that an activity be a task that is repetitive in nature. Activities that require a varying level of effort are not appropriate for time studies.

Time Study Plan

A time study plan is necessary before conducting the time study. The claimant must retain the time study plan for audit purposes. The plan needs to identify the following:

- Time period(s) to be studied The plan must show that all time periods selected are representative of the fiscal year and that the results can be reasonably projected to approximate actual costs.
- Activities and/or programs to be studied For each mandated program included, the time study
 must separately identify each reimbursable activity defined in the mandated program's P's &
 G's, which are derived from the program's Statement of Decision. If a reimbursable activity in
 the P's & G's identifies separate and distinct sub-activities, they must also be treated as
 individual activities.

For example, sub-activities (a), (b), and (c) under reimbursable activity (B) (1) of the local agency's Domestic Violence Treatment Services: Authorization and Case Management program relate to information to be discussed during victim notification by the probation department and therefore are not separate and distinct activities. These sub-activities do not have to be separately studied.

- Process used to accomplish each reimbursable activity Use flowcharts or similar analytical tools and/or written desk procedures to describe the process for each activity.
- Employee universe The employee universe used in the time study must include all positions whose salaries and wages are to be allocated by means of the time study.
- Employee sample selection methodology The plan must show that employees selected are representative of the employee universe, and the results can be reasonably projected to approximate actual costs. In addition, the employee sample size should be proportional to the variation in time spent to perform a task. The sample size should be larger for tasks with significant time variations.
- Time increments to be recorded The time increments used should be sufficient to recognize the number of different activities performed and the dynamics of these responsibilities. Very

large increments (such as one hour or more) might be used for employees performing only a few functions that change very slowly over time. Very small increments (a number of minutes) may be needed for employees performing more short-term tasks.

Random moment sampling is not an acceptable alternative to continuous time records for mandated cost claims. Random moment sampling techniques are most applicable in situations where employees perform many different types of activities on a variety of programs with small time increments throughout the fiscal year.

Time Study Documentation

Time studies must:

- Be supported by time records that are completed contemporaneously;
- Report activity on a daily basis;
- Be sufficiently detailed to reflect all mandated activities and/or programs performed during a specific time period; and
- Coincide with one or more pay periods.

Time records must be signed by the employee (electronic signatures are acceptable) and be supported by corroborating evidence, which validates that the work was actually performed. As with actual time reporting, budget estimates, or other distribution percentages determined before services are performed do not qualify as valid time studies.

Time Study Results

Time study results must be summarized to show how the time study supports the costs claimed for each activity. Any variations from the procedures identified in the original time study plan must be documented and explained.

Current-year costs must be used to prepare a time study. Claimants may project time study results to no more than two subsequent fiscal years. A claimant may not apply time study results retroactively.

- <u>Annual Reimbursement Claims</u> Claimants may use time studies to support costs incurred on or after January 1, 2005. Claimants may not use time studies for the period July 1, 2004, through December 31, 2004, unless (1) the program's P's & G's specifically allow time studies, and (2) the time study is prepared based on mandated activity occurring between July 1, 2004, and December 31, 2004.
- <u>Initial Claims</u> When filing an initial claim for new mandated programs, claimants may only use time study results for costs incurred on or after January 1, 2005. Claimants may not use time studies to support costs incurred before January 1, 2005, unless (1) the program's P's & G's specifically allow time studies, and (2) the claimant prepares separate time studies for each fiscal year preceding January 1, 2005, based on mandated activity occurring during those years.

When projecting time study results, the claimant must certify that there have been no significant changes between years in either (1) the requirements of each mandated program activity or (2) the processes and procedures used to accomplish the activity. For all years, the claimant must maintain corroborating evidence that validates the mandated activity was actually performed. Time study results used to support subsequent years' claims are subject to the recordkeeping requirements for those claims.

10. Offset Against State Mandated Claims

As noted previously, allowable costs are defined as those direct and indirect costs, less applicable credits, considered to be eligible for reimbursement. When all or part of the costs of a mandated program are specifically reimbursable from local assistance revenue sources (e.g., state, federal, foundation, etc.), only that portion of any increased costs payable from school district funds is eligible for reimbursement under the provisions of GC Section 17561.

Example 1:

As illustrated in Table 5, this example shows how the "Offset against State Mandated Claims" is determined for school districts receiving block grant revenues not based on a formula allocation. Program costs for each of the situations equals \$100,000.

	Program Costs	Actual Local Assistance Revenues	State Mandated Costs	Offset Against State Mandated Claims	Claimable Mandated Costs
1.	\$100,000	\$95,000	\$2,500	\$-0-	\$2,500
2.	100,000	97,000	2,500	-0-	2,500
3.	100,000	98,000	2,500	500	2,000
4.	100,000	100,000	2,500	2,500	-0-
5.	100,000 *	50,000	2,500	1,250	1,250
6.	100,000 *	49,000	2,500	250	2,250

Table 5: Offset Against State Mandates, Example 1

* School district share is \$50,000 of the program cost.

Numbers (1) through (4), in Table 5, show intended funding at 100% from local assistance revenue sources. Numbers (5) and (6) show cost sharing on a 50/50 basis with the district. In numbers (1) through (6), included in the program costs of \$100,000 are state mandated costs of \$2,500. The offset against state mandated claims are the amount of actual local assistance revenues which exceeds the difference between program costs and state mandated costs. This offset cannot exceed the amount of state mandated costs.

In (1), local assistance revenues were less than expected. Local assistance funding was not in excess of the difference between program costs and state mandated costs. As a result, the offset against state mandated claims is zero and \$2,500 is claimable as mandated costs.

In (4), local assistance revenues were fully realized to cover the entire cost of the program, including the state mandate activity; therefore, the offset against state mandated claims is \$2,500, and claimable costs are \$0.

In (5), the district is sharing 50% of the project cost. Since local assistance revenues of \$50,000 were fully realized, the offset against state mandated claims is \$1,250.

In (6), local assistance revenues were less than the amount expended and the offset against state mandated claims is \$250. Therefore, the claimable mandated costs are \$2,250.

Example 2:

As illustrated in Table 6, this example shows how the offset against state mandated claims is determined for school districts receiving special project funds based on approved actual costs. Local assistance revenues for special projects must be applied proportionately to approved costs.

	Program Costs	Actual Local Assistance Revenues	State Mandated Costs	Offset Against State Mandated Claims	Claimable Mandated Costs
1.	\$100,000	\$100,000	\$2,500	\$2,500	\$-0-
2.	100,000 **	75,000	2,500	1,875	625
3.	100,000 **	45,000	1,500	1,125	375

** School district share is \$25,000 of the program cost.

In (2), the entire program cost was approved. Since the local assistance revenue source covers 75% of the program cost, it also proportionately covered 75% of the \$2,500 state mandated costs, or \$1,875.

If in (3) local assistance revenues are less than the amount expected because only \$60,000 of the \$100,000 program costs were determined to be valid by the contracting agency, then a proportionate share of state mandated costs is likewise reduced to \$1,500. The offset against state mandated claims are \$1,125. Therefore, the claimable mandated costs are \$375.

Federal and State Funding Sources

State school fund apportionments and federal aid for education, which are based on average daily attendance and are part of the general system of financing public schools as well as block grants which do not provide for specific reimbursement of costs (i.e., allocation formulas not tied to expenditures), should not be included as reimbursements from local assistance revenue sources.

Governing Authority

The costs of salaries and expenses of the governing authority, such as the school superintendent and governing board, are not reimbursable. These are costs of general government as described in the Office of Management and Budget Circular (OMB) 2 CFR Part 225.

11. Notice of Claim Adjustment

All claims submitted to the SCO are reviewed to determine if the claim was prepared in accordance with the claiming instructions. If any adjustments are made to a claim, the claimant will receive a "Notice of Claim Adjustments" detailing adjustments made by the SCO.

12. Audit of Costs

All claims submitted to the State Controller's Office (SCO) are reviewed to determine if costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and the claim was prepared in accordance with the SCO's claiming instructions and the P's & G's adopted by the COSM. If any adjustments are made to a claim, a "Notice of Claim Adjustment" specifying the claim component adjusted, the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment will be mailed within 30 days after payment of the claim.

Pursuant to GC Section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a school district pursuant to this chapter is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall

be completed no later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings.

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Accordingly, all documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years after the end of the calendar year in which the reimbursement claim was filed or amended regardless of the year of costs incurred. When no funds are appropriated for initial claims at the time the claim is filed, supporting documents must be retained for three years from the date of initial payment of the claim. Claim documentation shall be made available to the SCO on request.

13. Source Documents

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating: "I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct based upon personal knowledge." Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

For costs incurred on or after January 1, 2005, a reasonable reimbursement methodology can be used as a "formula for reimbursing school district costs mandated by the State" that meets certain conditions specified in 17518.5(a). For costs incurred prior to January 1, 2005, time study can substitute for continuous records of actual time spent for a specific fiscal year only if the program's P's & G's allow for the use of time studies.

14. Claim Forms and Instructions

A claimant may submit a computer generated report in substitution for Form-1 and Form-2, provided the format of the report and data fields contained within the report are identical to the claim forms included with these instructions. The claim forms provided with these instructions should be duplicated and used by the claimant to file an estimated or reimbursement claim. The SCO will revise the manual and claim forms as necessary.

A. Form-2, Component/Activity Cost Detail

This form is used to segregate the detail costs by claim component. In some mandates, specific reimbursable activities have been identified for each component. The expenses reported on this form must be supported by the official financial records of the claimant and copies of supporting documentation, as specified in the claiming instructions, must be submitted with the claims. All supporting documents must be retained for a period of not less than three years after the reimbursement claim was filed or last amended.

B. Form-1, Claim Summary

This form is used to summarize direct costs by component and compute allowable indirect costs for the mandate. The direct costs summarized on this form are derived from Form-2 and are carried forward to form FAM-27.

School districts and county superintendents of schools may compute the amount of indirect costs using the indirect cost rates approved by the California Department of Education based on J-380/580/780/SACS Expenditure Data applicable to the fiscal year of the claim.

C. Form FAM-27, Claim for Payment

This form contains a certification that must be signed by an authorized officer of the school district. All applicable information from Form-1 must be carried forward onto this form in order for the SCO to process the claim for payment. An original and one copy of the FAM-27 is required.

Claims should be rounded to the nearest dollar. Submit a signed original and one copy of form FAM-27, Claim for Payment, and all other forms and supporting documents (To expedite the payment process, please sign the form FAM-27 with blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.) Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

If delivered by Other delivery services:

Office of the State Controller Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting P.O. Box 942850 Sacramento, CA 94250 Office of the State Controller Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting 3301 C Street, Suite 500 Sacramento, CA 95816

15. Retention of Claiming Instructions

For your convenience, the revised claiming instructions in this package have been arranged in alphabetical order by program name. These revisions should be inserted in the School Mandated Cost Manual and the old forms they replace should be removed. The instructions should then be retained permanently for future reference, and the forms should be duplicated to meet your filing requirements. Annually, updated forms and any other information or instructions claimants may need to file claims, as well as instructions and forms for all new programs released throughout the year will be placed on the SCO's web site at www.sco.ca.gov/ard/local/locreim/index.shtml.

If you have any questions concerning mandated cost reimbursements, please write to us at the address listed for filing claims, or send e-mail to Irsdar@sco.ca.gov, or call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729.

16. Retention of Claim Records and Supporting Documentation

All claims submitted to the SCO are reviewed to determine if costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and that the claim was prepared in accordance with the SCO's claiming instructions and the COSM's P's and G's. if any adjustments are made to a claim, a "Notice of Claim Adjustments" specifying the claim component adjusted, the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment, will be mailed within 30 days after payment of the claim.

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC Section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a school district is subject to audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for the SCO to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and shall be made available to the SCO on request.

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER

STATE MANDATED COST CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2007-19

ANNUAL REVISIONS - SCHOOL DISTRICTS

NOVEMBER 2, 2007

Government Code (GC) section 17561 provides for the reimbursement of state mandated costs. Enclosed is information for updating the Mandated Cost Manual for Schools. The manual contains all forms and instructions that are necessary for school districts to file mandated cost claims with the State Controller's Office (SCO).

Estimated claims for costs to be incurred during the 2007-08 fiscal year and reimbursement claims detailing the costs actually incurred in the 2006-07 fiscal year must be filed with the SCO. **Claims must be delivered or postmarked on or before February 15, 2008**. If the reimbursement claim is filed after the deadline, but by February 15, 2009, the approved claim will be reduced by a late penalty of 10% for initially filed claims and for continuing programs, the late fee is 10% not to exceed \$10,000. In order for a claim to be considered properly filed, the claim must include supporting documentation as specified in the instructions to substantiate the costs claimed. In addition, the claimant must explain the functions performed by each employee for whom costs were claimed. Claims will not be accepted if filed more than one year after the deadline.

Pursuant to GC section 17561(d), the Controller shall pay any eligible claim by August 15 or 45 days after the date the appropriation for the claim is effective, whichever is later.

Amounts appropriated for payment of program costs are shown beginning on page five under "Appropriations for the 2007-08 Fiscal Year." The fiscal years for which costs can be claimed for a program are shown beginning on page six under "Reimbursable State Mandated Cost Programs." To prepare 2007-08 estimated claims and 2006-07 reimbursement claims, forms in the manual should be duplicated to meet the district's filing requirements. Claim amounts should be rounded to the nearest dollar.

Submit a signed original and a copy of form FAM-27, Claim for Payment, and all other forms and supporting documents. (To expedite the payment process, please sign the form in blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.) Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by
U.S. Postal Service:If delivered by
Other delivery services:Office of the State Controller
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Division of Accounting and Reporting
P.O. Box 942850
Sacramento, CA 94250Office of the State Controller
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Division of Accounting and Reporting
3301 C Street, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA 95816

MINIMUM CLAIM COST

GC section 17564(a) provides that no claim shall be filed pursuant to sections 17551 and 17561, unless such claim exceeds one thousand dollars (\$1,000), provided that a county superintendent of schools may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts within their county if the combined claim exceeds \$1,000, even if the individual school district's claim does not each exceed \$1,000. The county superintendent of schools shall determine if the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and shall be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school district. Combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools is the fiscal agent for the school district. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate shall only be filed in the combined form unless a school district provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the county superintendent of schools and to the SCO at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim.

ESTIMATED CLAIMS

Unless otherwise specified in the claiming instructions, claimants do not have to provide cost schedules and supporting documents with the estimated claim if the estimated amount does not exceed the prior fiscal year's actual costs by more than 10%. The claimant can simply enter the estimated amount on form FAM-27, line (07). However, if the estimated claim exceeds the prior fiscal year's actual costs by more than 10%, the claimant must complete claim forms as specified in the claiming instructions for the program and explain the reason for the increased costs. If the explanation to support the higher estimate is not provided, the claim will automatically be adjusted to 110% of the prior fiscal year's actual costs.

PROGRAM UPDATES FOR 2006-07 FISCAL YEAR

Updates of Rates and Factors

The following rates are to be used for filing 2006-07 reimbursement claims. These rates are computed by adjusting the 2005-06 rates by changes in the Implicit Price Deflator (IPD) as determined by the State Department of Finance's Report of April 30, 2007, *National Deflators, State and Local Purchases.* The estimated change in the IPD for 2006-07 is 3.9%. For preparing the 2007-08 estimated claims, districts may use the program's 2006-07 rate or increase the 2006-07 rate by the estimated 2007-08 IPD change of 2.6% to determine 2007-08 estimated claim amounts. In the subsequent fiscal year, the estimated amount must be adjusted to actual cost.

• Ch. 448/75, Consolidation of Annual Parent Notification/Schoolsite Discipline Rules/ Alternative Schools/Pupil Suspensions: Parent Classroom Visits (Program No. 272).

The 2006-07 unit rate is \$0.0817 per page of printed notification material distributed to parents and guardians, and \$0.3055 per notice.

• Ch. 961/75, Collective Bargaining (Program No. 11)

The 2006-07 GNP Deflator factor for adjusting the 1974-75 Winton Act cost is \$4.031.

• *Ch.* 498/83, *Graduation Requirements (Program No.* 26)

The 2006-07 maximum reimbursement hourly rate for contract services is \$138.05. Staffing cost reimbursement is limited to salary and other remuneration differentials, if any, of a science teacher, and the cost of lab assistants or special training aids required by a science class.

The addition of science classes should have resulted in offsetting savings due to a corresponding reduction of non-science classes.

• Ch. 1177/76, Immunization Records (Program No. 32)

The 2006-07 unit rate is \$6.39 per new entrant (K-12). A new entrant does not include a student previously enrolled in a school within the State of California.

Payment of the cost of immunization records for 1992-93 and subsequent fiscal years are made pursuant to the State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS) to those school districts with an established base year entitlement. An entitlement amount is determined by the SCO by averaging the district's actual costs (from reimbursement claims filed) for 1989-90, 1990-91, and 1991-92, or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter, adjusted by changes in the IPD. The amount of apportionment the district receives for 1992-93 and subsequent fiscal years is the base year entitlement amount adjusted by annual changes in IPD and workload. "Workload" means change in the district's average daily attendance (ADA) from the previous fiscal year.

Once the district has filed actual costs for 1989-90 through 1991-92, or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter, no further filing of claims is necessary. The claimant will automatically receive an annual payment by November 30 of each fiscal year. A district without an established entitlement amount must continue to file reimbursement claims until three consecutive fiscal years of costs are available to compute a base year cost.

• Ch. 325/78, Immunization Records: Hepatitis B (Program No. 230)

The 2006-07 unit rate is \$7.79 per new entrant (K-12) and \$4.08 per student in the seventh grade. A new entrant does not include a student previously enrolled in a school within the State of California.

• Ch. 1423/84, Juvenile Court Notices II (Program No. 155)

The 2006-07 unit rates for the number of notices received from the juvenile court system and distributed to school district personnel is \$45.11 per notice received, and the number of written requests received from parents or guardian to review the record to ensure the record has been destroyed is \$32.07 per letter received.

• Ch. 498/83, Notification of Truancy (Program No. 48)

The 2006-07 unit cost reimbursement is \$16.15 per initial truancy notification. The unit cost covers all costs (direct and indirect), including, but not limited to, identifying the truant pupil, preparing and distributing by mail or other methods of notification to parents or guardians, and associated record keeping.

• Ch. 668/78, Pupil Exclusions (Program No. 165)

The 2006-07 unit cost reimbursement is \$0.23 per page for the cost of including specific information in the notice of pupil exclusion to the parents or guardians. The unit cost rate covers all costs (direct and indirect) of performing activities required by subparagraph (2), (3), and (4), of Education Code Section 48213.

• Ch. 1347/80, Scoliosis Screening (Program No. 58)

The 2006-07 unit cost rate is \$7.66 per student screened. This rate covers all costs (direct and indirect), incurred including activities for, but not limited to, parent notification, screening, re-screening, referral and follow-up, record keeping, and administration of the program.

• Ch. 818/91, Aids Prevention Instruction II (Program No. 250)

The 2006-07 uniform cost allowance is \$0.0773 per notice. This uniform allowance covers all of the direct and indirect costs incurred in compliance with this mandate.

• Ch. 1208/76, Pupil Health Screenings (Program 261)

The 2006-07 uniform cost allowance for: (a) Notification to Parents is \$0.0800; (b) Obtaining Parental Compliance is \$5.19; (c) Exclusion of Pupils is \$13.65; (d) Statistical Reporting is not applicable since the reimbursement period expired 12/31/04.

FINAL FILING DEADLINE FOR 2006-07 FISCAL YEAR CLAIMS

The filing deadline for 2006-07 reimbursement claims is **February 15, 2008**. A late penalty of 10% up to a maximum of \$10,000 of the approved claim will be applied to 2006-07 claims filed after February 15, 2008. Claims filed after February 15, 2009, will not be accepted.

APPROPRIATIONS FOR THE 2007-08 FISCAL YEAR

Item 6110-295-0001

272	(1)	Ch.	36/77	Annual Parent Notification	\$1,000
172	(2)	Ch.	98/94	Caregiver Affidavits	1,000
153	(3)	Ch.	161/93	Intradistrict Attendance	1,000
42	(4)	Ch.	486/75	Mandate Reimbursement Process	$1,000^{1}$
26	(5)	Ch.	498/83	Graduation Requirements	1,000
48	(6)	Ch.	498/83	Notification of Truancy	1,000
176	(7)	Ch.	498/83	Pupil Suspensions, Expulsions/Expulsion Appeals	1,000
277	(8)	Ch.	781/92	Charter Schools III	1,000
N/A	(9)	Ch.	799/80	PERS Death Benefits	$1,000^2$
250	(10)	Ch.	818/91	AIDS Prevention Instruction I and II	1,000
11	(11)	Ch.	961/75	Collective Bargaining	1,000
139	(12)	Ch.	1208/76	Pupil Health Screenings	1,000
173	(13)	Ch.	975/95	Physical Performance Tests	1,000
155	(14)	Ch.	1011/84	Juvenile Court Notices II	1,000
57	(15)	Ch.	1107/84	Removal of Chemicals	1,000
157	(16)	Ch.	1117/89	Law Enforcement Agency Notifications	1,000
32	(17)	Ch.	1176/77	Immunization Records	1,000
166	(18)	Ch.	1184/75	Habitual Truants	1,000
176	(19)	Ch.	1253/75	Pupil Expulsion Transcripts	1,000
150	(20)	Ch.	1306/89	Notification to Teachers of Public Expulsion	1,000
58	(21)	Ch.	1347/80	Scoliosis Screening	1,000
N/A	(22)	Ch.	1398/74	PERS Unused Sick Leave Credit	$1,000^2$
182	(23)	Ch.	309/95	Pupil Residency Verification and Appeals	1,000
251	(24)	Ch.	588/97	Criminal Background Checks II	1,000
184	(25)	Ch.	624/92	School Bus Safety I and II	0^{3}
186	(26)	Ch.	465/76	Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights	1,000
192	(27)	Ch.	36/77	Financial and Compliance Audits	1,000
195	(28)	Ch.	640/97	Physical Education Reports	1,000
198	(29)	Ch.	1120/96	Health Benefits for Survivors of Peace Officers & Firefighters	1,000
209	(30)	Ch.	917/87	County Office of Education Fiscal Accountability Reporting	1,000
258	(31)	Ch.	100/81	School District Fiscal Accountability Reporting	1,000
194	(32)	Ch.	126/93	Law Enforcement Sexual Harassment Training	0^{3}
206	(33)	Ch.	784/95	County Treasury Withdrawals	0^{3}
223	(34)	Ch.	736/97	Comprehensive School Safety Plans	1,000
230	(35)	Ch.	325/78	Immunization Records-Hepatitis B	1,000
228	(36)	Ch.	1192/80	School District Reorganization	1,000
249	(37)	Ch.	34/98	Charter Schools II	1,000
251	(38)	Ch.	594/98	Criminal Background Checks II	1,000
226	(39)	Ch.	1170/96	Grand Jury Proceedings	0^{3}
244	(40)	Ch.	100/81	Pupil Promotion and Retention	1,000

¹ This program was suspended per Budget Act Item 8885-295-001, Sch. (3)(y) for the 2006-07 and 2007-08 fiscal years per Ch. 47 & 48/06 and Ch. 171 & 172/07.

² Numbers (9) and (22) are for transfer to the Public Employees' Retirement Fund for reimbursement of costs incurred pursuant to 799/80 or 1398/74.

³ These programs have been suspended for 2006-07 and 2007-08

Item 6110-295-0001 (Cont'd.)

252	(41) Ch.	331/98	Teacher Incentive Program	1,000
253	(42) Ch.	30/98	Differential Pay and Reemployment	1,000
Total .	Appropriat	tions, Ite	m 6110-295-0001	\$38,000

REIMBURSABLE STATE MANDATED COST PROGRAMS

Claims for the following State mandated cost programs may be filed with the SCO. For your convenience, the programs are listed in alphabetical order by program name. An "X" indicates the fiscal year for which a claim may be filed.

2006-07 Reimburse-	2007-08 Estimated	Pgm.		School Dis	stricts and County Offices of Education
ment Claims		#		School Dis	whices and county offices of Education
Х	Х	170	Ch.	77/78	Absentee Ballots
\mathbf{X}^2	\mathbf{X}^1	269	Ch.	893/00	Agency Fee Arrangements
Х	Х	250	Ch.	818/91	AIDS Prevention Instruction II
Х	Х	172	Ch.	98/94	Caregiver Affidavits
Х	Х	249	Ch.	34/98	Charter Schools II
\mathbf{X}^1	\mathbf{X}^1	277	Ch.	34/98	Charter Schools III
Х	Х	209	Ch.	917/87	COE Fiscal Accountability Reporting
Х	Х	11	Ch.	961/75	Collective Bargaining
Х	Х	223	Ch.	736/97	Comprehensive School Safety Plans
\mathbf{X}^1	\mathbf{X}^1	272	Ch.	448/75	Consolidation of Annual Parent Notification/Schoolsite
					Discipline Rules/Alternative Schools
Х	Х	251	Ch.	594/98	Criminal Background Checks II
Х	Х	253	Ch.	30/98	Differential Pay and Re-employment
Х	Х	210	Ch.	650/94	Employee Benefits Disclosure
Х	Х	192	Ch.	36/77	Financial and Compliance Audits
Х	Х	26	Ch.	498/83	Graduation Requirements
Х	Х	166	Ch.	1184/75	Habitual Truant
Х	Х	198	Ch.	1120/96	Health Benefits for Survivors of Peace Officers & Firefighters
\mathbf{X}^1	\mathbf{X}^1	268	Ch.	1/99	High School Exit Exam
Х	Х	32	Ch.	1176/77	Immunization Records
Х	Х	230	Ch.	325/78	Immunization Records: Hepatitis B
Х	Х	153	Ch.	161/93	Intradistrict Attendance

² These are new programs and funding is not yet available for the 2006-07 and 2007-08 fiscal years.

REIMBURSABLE STATE MANDATED COST PROGRAMS (Cont'd.)

2006-07 Reimburse- ment Claims	2007-08 Estimated Claims	Pgm #		School Dis	stricts and County Offices of Education
Х	Х	155	Ch.	1011/84	Juvenile Court Notices II
Х	Х	157	Ch.	1117/89	Law Enforcement Agency Notifications
Х	Х	275	Ch.	249/86	Missing Children Reports
x^{3}	\mathbf{X}^1	265	Ch.	828/97	National Norm-Referenced Achievement Test
Х	Х	48	Ch.	498/83	Notification of Truancy
Х	Х	150	Ch.	1306/89	Notification to Teachers: Pupils Subject to Suspension or Expulsion
Х	Х	186	Ch.	465/76	Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights
Х	Х	214	Ch.	875/85	Photographic Record of Evidence
Х	Х	195	Ch.	640/97	Physical Education Reports
Х	Х	173	Ch.	975/95	Physical Performance Tests
Х	Х	261	Ch.	965/77	Pupil Health Screenings
Х	Х	244	Ch.	100/81	Pupil Promotion and Retention
Х	Х	182	Ch.	309/95	Pupil Residency Verification and Appeals
Х	Х	176	Ch.	1253/75	Pupil Suspensions, Expulsions, and Expulsion Appeals
Х	Х	57	Ch.	1107/84	Removal of Chemicals
Х	Х	258	Ch.	100/81	School District Fiscal Accountability Reporting
Х	Х	228	Ch.	1192/80	School District Reorganization
Х	Х	58	Ch.	1347/80	Scoliosis Screening
Х	Х	208	Ch.	828/97	Standardized Testing & Reporting
Х	Х	252	Ch.	331/98	Teacher Incentive Program
Х	Х	162	Ch.	1249/92	Threats Against Peace Officers

³ These are new programs and funding is not yet available for the 2006-07 and 2007-08 fiscal years.

PROGRAMS SUSPENDED FOR THE 2007-08 FISCAL YEAR

Pursuant to GC §17581.5, the following education state mandated programs are identified in the 2007 State Budget Act, with a \$0 appropriation. Therefore, the following state mandated programs have been suspended for the 2007-08 fiscal year, and no claim for fiscal year 2007-08 shall be filed.

Pgm.

206	Ch. 784/95	County Treasury Oversight Committee
226	Ch. 1170/96	Grand Jury Proceedings
194	Ch. 126/93	Law Enforcement Sexual Harassment Training
42	Ch. 486/75	Mandated Reimbursement Process
184	Ch. 624/92	School Bus Safety I & II

The following education state mandated programs have been determined to be optional, repealed, or overturned by the court:

Pgm. #

148	Ch. 172/86	Interdistrict Attendance Permits
149	Ch. 172/86	Interdistrict Transfer Requests: Parent's Employment
165	Ch. 668/78	Pupil Exclusions (AB 2855 and SB 512 eff. 1/1/05 and 10/7/05 resp.)
156	Ch. 160/93	School District of Choice: Transfers and Appeals
199	Ch. 1138/93	Schoolsite Councils and Brown Act Reform
146	Ch. 87/86	Schoolsite Discipline Rules

The Commission on State Mandates has set aside the Parameters and Guidelines for the following programs:

Pgm. #

179	Ch. 778/96	American Government Course Documentation Requirements
218	Ch. 641/86	Open Meetings/Brown Act Reform (AB 138 effective 07/19/05)
109^{4}	Ch. 1607/84	School Crimes Statistic Reporting and Validation
	Ch. 965/77	Pupil Classroom Suspensions: Counseling
154^{4}	Ch. 965/77	Pupil Suspension: Parent Classroom Visits
171	Ch. 1463/89	School Accountability Report Cards (AB 2855 and SB 512 eff. 1/1/05)
190^{4}	Ch. 759/92	School Crime Reporting II

⁴ Pursuant to AB 2855, Ch. 895/04, effective 1/1/05, and AB 38, Ch. 72/05effective 7/19/05.

AUDIT OF COSTS

All claims submitted to the SCO are reviewed to determine if costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and that the claim was prepared in accordance with the SCO's claiming instructions and the Commission on State Mandate's Parameters and Guidelines (Ps and Gs). If any adjustments are made to a claim, a "Notice of Claim Adjustment" specifying the claim component adjusted, the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment will be mailed within 30 days after payment of the claim.

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC §17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a school district is subject to audit by the State Controller no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and shall be made available to the SCO on request.

SOURCE DOCUMENTS

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification stating: "I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct based upon personal knowledge." Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

RETENTION OF CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS

For your convenience, the revised claiming instructions in this package have been arranged in alphabetical order by program name. These revisions should be inserted in the School Mandated Cost Manual to replace the old forms. The instructions should then be retained permanently for future reference, and the forms should be duplicated to meet your filing requirements. Annually, updated forms and any other information or instructions claimants may need to file claims, as well as instructions and forms for all new programs released throughout the year will be placed on the SCO's Web site at www.sco.ca.gov/ard/local/locreim/ mancost.shtml.

If you have any questions concerning mandated cost reimbursements, please write to us at the address listed for filing claims, send e-mail to LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, or call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729.

NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY

1. Summary of Chapter 498/83

Education Code § 48260.5, as added by Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, requires that school districts, upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant, notify the pupil's parent or guardian by first-class mail or other reasonable means, of the pupil's truancy, that the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school and that the parent or guardian who fails to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subject to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with § 48290) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.

Additionally, the district must inform parents and guardians of alternative educational programs available in the district, and the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.

- (1) Truancy occurs when a student is absent from school without valid excuse more than three (3) days or is tardy in excess of thirty (30) minutes on each of more than three (3) days in one school year. (Definition from Education Code § 48260).
- (2) A student shall be classified as truant upon the fourth unexcusedabsence, and the school must at that time perform the requirements mandated in Education Code 48260.5 as enacted by Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

On November 29, 1984, the Commission on State Mandates determined that Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, resulted in state mandated costs which are reimbursable pursuant to Part 7 (commencing with Government Code § 17500) of Division 4 of Title 2.

2. Eligible Claimants

Any school district (K-12) or county office of education that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim reimbursement of these costs.

3. Appropriations

Claims may only be filed with the State Controller's Office for programs that have been funded in the state budget, the State Mandates Claims Fund, or in special legislation. To determine if this program is funded in subsequent fiscal years, refer to the schedule "Appropriation for State Mandated Cost Programs" in the "Annual Claiming Instructions for State Mandated Costs" issued in September of each year to county superintendents of schools and superintendents of schools.

4. Types of Claims

A. Reimbursement and Estimated Claims

A claimant may file a reimbursement and/or an estimated claim. A reimbursement claim details the costs actually incurred for a prior fiscal year. An estimated claim shows the costs to be incurred for the current fiscal year.

B. Minimum Claim

Government Code § 17564(a), provides that no claim shall be filed pursuant to Government Code § 17561 unless such a claim exceeds \$200 per program per fiscal year. However, any county superintendent of schools, as fiscal agent for the school district, may submit a combined claim in excess of \$200 on behalf of one or more districts within the county even if the individual district's claim does not exceed \$200. A combined claim must show the individual costs for each district.

Once a combined claim is filed, all subsequent years relating to the same mandate must be filed in a combined form. The county receives the reimbursement payment and is responsible for disbursing funds to each participating district. A district may withdraw from the combined claim form by providing a written notice to the county superintendent of schools and the State Controller's Office of its intent to file a separate claim at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim.

5. Filing Deadline

Refer to the item, "Reimbursable State Mandated Cost Programs", contained in the annual cover letter for mandated cost programs issued annually in September, which identifies the fiscal years for which claims may be filed. If an "x" is shown for the program listed under "19_/__Reimbursement Claim", and/or "19_/__Estimated Claim", claims may be filed as follows:

(1) An estimated claim must be filed with the State Controller's Office and postmarked by November 30 of the fiscal year in which costs are to be incurred. Timely filed estimated claims will be paid before late claims.

After having received payment for an estimated claim, the claimant must file a reimbursement claim by November 30 of the following fiscal year. If the district fails to file a reimbursement claim, monies received for the estimated claim must be returned to the State. If no estimated claim was filed, the agency may file a reimbursement claim detailing the actual costs incurred for the fiscal year, provided there was an appropriation for the program for that fiscal year. For information regarding appropriations for reimbursement claims, refer to the "Appropriation for State Mandated Cost Programs" in the previous fiscal year's annual claiming instructions.

(2) A reimbursement claim detailing the actual costs must be filed with the State Controller's Office and postmarked by November 30 following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. If the claim is filed after the deadline but by November 30 of the succeeding fiscal year, the approved claim must be reduced by a late penalty of 10%, not to exceed \$1,000. Claims filed more than one year after the deadline will not be accepted.

6. Reimbursable Components

Eligible claimants will be reimbursed on a unit cost basis for an initial notice to the parents or guardian regarding the pupil's truancy. For the 1995/96 fiscal year the unit rate is \$10.97 per initial notice. The unit rate is adjusted annually by the changes in the implicit price deflator and covers all direct and indirect costs of the following on-going activities:

- **A.** Identifying the Truant Pupil
- **B.** Notification to Parent or Guardian
- C. Printing Additional Forms
- **D.** Recordkeeping

7. Reimbursement Limitations

- A. This program does not provide reimbursement for activities related to resolving truancy problems (i.e., referrals to attendance review board, meetings with parent or guardian to discuss the pupil's truancy problems and/or discuss alternative educational programs, etc.).
- **B.** Any offsetting savings or reimbursement the claimant received from any source (e.g. service fees collected, federal funds, other state funds, etc.,) as a result of this mandate shall be identified and deducted so only net local costs are claimed.

For audit purposes, all supporting documents must be retained for a period of two years after the end of the calendar year in which the reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. Such documents shall be made available to the State Controller's Office on request.

8. Form NOT-1, Claim Summary

This form is used to compute the amount of claimable costs based on the number of reports forwarded to the governing board with the recommendation not to expel the student. The claimant must give the number of truant notifications. The cost data on this form is carried forward to form FAM-27.

9. Form FAM-27, Claim for Payment

Form FAM-27 contains a certification that must be signed by an authorized representative of the district. All applicable information from form NOT-1 must be carried forward to this form for the State Controller's Office to process the claim for payment.

State Controller's Of	fice		School Ma	Indated Cost Manual
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT			For State Controller Us	se Only Program
Pursuar	nt to Government Code S	(19) Program Number 00		
	NOTIFICATION OF TRUA	(20) Date Filed/	-' 048	
			(21) LRS Input/	
(01) Claimant Identification Nu	mber		Reimbursem	ent Claim Data
(02) Claimant Name			(22) NOT-1, (03)	
County of Location			(23)	
Street Address or P.O. Box		Suite	(24)	
City	State	Zip Code	(25)	
Type of Claim	Estimated Claim	Reimbursement Claim	(26)	
	(03) Estimated	(09) Reimbursement	(27)	
	(04) Combined	(10) Combined	(28)	
	(05) Amended	(11) Amended	(29)	
Fiscal Year of Cost	(06) 20/20	(12) 20_/20	(30)	
Total Claimed Amount	(07)	(13)	(31)	
Less: 10% Late Penalty	v, not to exceed \$1,000	(14)	(32)	
Less: Prior Claim Paym	nent Received	(15)	(33)	
Net Claimed Amount		(16)	(34)	
Due from State	(08)	(17)	(35)	
Due to State		(18)	(36)	
(37) CERTIFICATION	OF CLAIM			•
file mandated cost claims	ovisions of Government Code 5 with the State of California for ment Code Sections 1090 to 109	this program, and certify under		
costs claimed herein, and and reimbursements set f	was no application other than a I such costs are for a new prog forth in the Parameters and Gui maintained by the claimant.	ram or increased level of servi	ces of an existing progra	m. All offsetting savings
	mated Claim and/or Reimburse the attached statements. I certif rect.			
Signature of Authorized Off	ficer		Date	
Type or Print Name	fee Oleim		Title	
(38) Name of Contact Person		Telephone Number	() -	Ext.

E-Mail Address

Form FAM-27 (Revised 09/03)

Program			FORM FAM-27	
(01)	Enter the payee number assigned by the State Controller's Office.			
(02)	Enter your Official Name, County of Location, Street or P. O. Box address, City, State, and Zip Code.			
(03)	If filing an estimated claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (03) Estimated.			
(04)	If filing a combined estimated claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box on line	(04) Co	ombined.	
(05)	If filing an amended estimated claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (05) Amended.			
(06)	Enter the fiscal year in which costs are to be incurred.			
(07)	Enter the amount of the estimated claim. If the estimate exceeds the previous year's actual costs by m form NOT-1 and enter the amount from line (08).	ore tha	n 10%, complete	
(08)	Enter the same amount as shown on line (07).			
(09)	If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement.			
(10)	If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box of	n line (1	0) Combined.	
(11)	If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended.			
(12)	Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete a separate form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.			
(13)	Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim from form NOT-1, line (08). The total claimed amount must	Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim from form NOT-1, line (08). The total claimed amount must exceed \$1,000.		
(14)	Reimbursement claims must be filed by January 15 of the following fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims shall be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim was timely filed, otherwise, enter the product of multiplying line (13) by the factor 0.10 (10% penalty), not to exceed \$1,000.			
(15)	If filing a reimbursement claim or a claim was previously filed for the same fiscal year, enter the amount received for the claim. Otherwise, enter a zero.			
(16)	Enter the result of subtracting line (14) and line (15) from line (13).			
(17)	If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State.	If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State.		
(18)	If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State.			
(19) to (21)	Leave blank.	Leave blank.		
(22) to (36)	Reimbursement Claim Data. Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., NOT-1, (03), means the information is located on form NOT-1, line (03). Enter the information on the same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% should be shown as 8. Completion of this data block will expedite the payment process.			
(37)	Read the statement "Certification of Claim." If it is true, the claim must be dated, signed by the agency's authorized officer, and must include the person's name and title, typed or printed. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original signed certification. (To expedite the payment process, please sign the form FAM-27 with blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.)			
(38)	nter the name, telephone number, and e-mail address of the person to contact if additional information is required.			
	SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL, AND A COPY OF FORM FAM-27, WITH ALL OTHER FORMS AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO:			
	Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service: Address, if delivered by other delivered	•	vice:	
	OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLEROFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLATTN: Local Reimbursements SectionATTN: Local Reimbursements SectionDivision of Accounting and ReportingDivision of Accounting and ReportingP.O. Box 9428503301 C Street, Suite 500Sacramento, CA 94250Sacramento, CA 95816	on		

	^{ogram} 48	MAND/ NOTIFICAT CLAIM	FORM	
(01)	Claimant		(02) Type of Claim Reimbursement Estimated	Fiscal Year 20/20
Clair	m Statisti	ics		
(03)	Number	of truant notifications		
-				
Cost	t			
(04)	Unit Cos	t per an initial truancy notification	[\$16.15 for the 2006-07 fiscal year]	
(05)	Total Co	sts	[Line (03) x line (04)]	
Cost	t Reducti	on		
(06)	Less: Of	fsetting Savings		
(07)	Less: Of	ther Reimbursements		
(08)	Total Cla	imed Amount	[Line (05) – {line (06) + line (07)}]	

FORM Program NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY **CLAIM SUMMARY** Instructions (01) Enter the name of the claimant. Type of Claim. Check a box, Reimbursement or Estimated, to identify the type of claim being filed. (02) Enter the fiscal year of costs. Form 1 must filed for a reimbursement claim. Do not complete form 1 if you are filing an estimated claim and the estimate does not exceed the previous fiscal year's actual costs by more than 10%. Simply enter the amount of the estimated claim on form FAM-27, line (07). However, if the estimated claim exceeds the previous fiscal year's actual costs by more than 10%, form 1 must be completed and a statement attached explaining the increased costs. Without this information the estimated claim will automatically be reduced to 110% of the previous fiscal year's actual costs. (03) Number of truant notifications. Enter the number of initial notifications sent upon the student's fourth unexcused absence to inform the parent or guardian of their child's absence from school without a valid excuse or is tardy in excess of thirty (30) minutes for more than three days in one school year. Unit cost rate for the 2006-07 fiscal year is \$16.15 per initial notification. This cost rate will be updated (04)early and listed in the annual updates to claiming instructions mailed to school districts in September. Total Costs. Multiply line (03) by the unit cost rate, line (04). (05) Less: Offsetting Savings. If applicable, enter the total savings experienced by the claimant as a direct (06)result of this mandate. Submit a detailed schedule of savings with the claim. (07) Less: Other Reimbursements. If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source (i.e., service fees collected, federal funds, other state funds etc.), which reimbursed any portion of the mandated program. Submit a detailed schedule of the reimbursement sources and amounts. (08)Total Claimed Amount. Subtract the sum of Offsetting Savings, line (06), and Other Reimbursements, line (07), from Total Costs, line (05). Enter the remainder of this line and carry the amount forward to form FAM-27, line (07) for the Estimated Claim or line (13) for the Reimbursement Claim.

A. STATE OF CALIFORNIA TRAVEL EXPENSE GUIDELINES

Travel Program Effective January 31, 2002

The travel reimbursement program continues to be subject to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requirements for an accountable plan. There are no flat rate reimbursements. All items are to be claimed for the actual amount of expense, up to the maximum allowed. If the provisions below do not require submission of a receipt for a given item of expense, it is the employee's responsibility to retain receipts and other records of the expense and have them available for audit.

Lodging and meals that are provided by the State, including hotel expenses, conference fees, or transportation costs such as airline tickets; or otherwise provided shall not be claimed for reimbursement.

Employees may be reimbursed for actual expenses for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and incidentals for each 24 hours of travel, as follows:

Breakfast	up to	\$6.00
Lunch	up to	10.00
Dinner	up to	18.00
Incidentals	up to	6.00

Incidental expenses include, but are not limited to, expenses for laundering and pressing of clothing and tips for services such as porters and baggage handlers. Incidentals do not include taxicab fares, lodging taxes, or the cost of telegrams or telephone calls.

Lodging

All lodging reimbursements require a receipt from a commercial lodging establishment such as a hotel, motel, bed and breakfast inn, or campground that caters to the general public. No lodging will be reimbursed without a valid receipt. Employees who stay with friends or relatives are not eligible for lodging reimbursement, but may claim their actual expenses for meals and incidentals.

Short-Term Travel

- **A.** For continuous short-term travel of more than 24 hours but less than 31 days, the employee will be reimbursed for actual costs up to the maximum for each meal, incidental, and lodging expense for each completed 24 hours of travel, beginning with the traveler's time of departure and return as follows:
 - 1. On the first day of travel at the beginning of a trip of more than 24 hours:

Trip begins at or before 6 a.m. - Breakfast may be claimed

Trip begins at or before 11 a.m	Lunch may be claimed
---------------------------------	----------------------

Trip begins at or before 5 p.m. - Dinner may be claimed

2. On the fractional day of travel at the end of a trip of more than 24 hours:

Trip ends at or after 8 a.m. - Breakfast may be claimed

Trip ends at or after 2 p.m. - Lunch may be claimed

Trip ends at or after 7 p.m. - Dinner may be claimed

If the fractional day includes an overnight stay, receipted lodging may be claimed. No meal or lodging expenses may be claimed or reimbursed more than once on any given date or during any 24-hour period.

B. For continuous travel of less than 24 hours, the employee will be reimbursed for actual expenses, up to a maximum as follows:

Travel begins at or before 6 a.m. and ends at or after 9 a.m. - Breakfast may be claimed Travel begins at or before 4 p.m. and ends at or after 7 p.m. - Dinner may be claimed

If the trip extends overnight, receipted lodging may be claimed. No lunch or incidentals may be claimed on a trip of less than 24 hours.

Short-Term Travel Maximum Lodging Reimbursement Rate

- A. Statewide except as in (B) and (C) below, actual receipted lodging up to \$84 plus tax.
- **B.** When required to conduct state business and obtain lodging in the counties of Los Angeles and San Diego, reimbursement will be for actual receipted lodging, to a maximum of \$110 plus tax.
- **C.** When required to conduct state business and obtain lodging in the counties of Alameda, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Santa Clara, reimbursement will be for actual receipted lodging, to a maximum of \$140 plus tax.

Long-Term Travel

Actual expenses for long-term meals and receipted lodging will be reimbursed when the employee incurs expenses in one location comparable to those arising from the use of establishments catering to long-term visitors.

A. Full Long-Term Travel

To qualify for full long-term travel reimbursement, the employee on a long-term field assignment must meet the following criteria:

- a) The employee continues to maintain a permanent residence at the primary headquarters, and either,
- b) The permanent residence is occupied by the employee's dependents, or
- c) The permanent residence is maintained at a net expense to the employee exceeding \$200 per month.

The employee who is living at the long-term location may claim either:

- Reimbursement for actual individual expense, substantiated by receipts for lodging, water, sewer, gas, and electricity, up to a maximum of \$1,130 per calendar month while on the long-term assignment, and actual expenses up to \$10 for meals and incidentals, for each period of 12 to 24 hours and up to \$5 for actual meals and incidentals for each period of less than 12 hours at the long-term location, or
- 2. Long-term subsistence rates of \$24 for actual meals and incidentals, \$24 for receipted lodging for travel of 12 hours up to 24 hours, and either \$24 for actual meals or \$24 for receipted lodging for travel less than 12 hours when the employee incurs expenses in one location comparable to those arising from the use of establishments catering to long-term visitors.

B. Partial Long-Term Travel

An employee on long-term field assignment who does not maintain a separate residence in the headquarters area may claim long-term subsistence rates of up to \$12 for actual meals and incidentals and \$12 for receipted lodging for travel of 12 hours up to 24 hours at the long-term location, and either \$12 for actual meals or \$12 for receipted lodging for travel less than 12 hours at the long-term location.

Receipts

Receipts or vouchers shall be submitted for every item of expense of \$25 or more.

- a) Receipts are required for every item of transportation and business expense incurred as a result of conducting state business except for actual expenses as follows:
 - 1. Railroad and bus fares of less than \$25, when travel is wholly within the State of California.
 - 2. Street car, ferry fares, bridge and road tolls, local rapid transit system, taxi, shuttle, or hotel bus fares, and parking fees of \$10 or less for each continuous period of parking or each separate transportation expense noted in this item.
 - 3. Telephone, telegraph, tax, or other business charges related to state business of \$5 or less.
 - 4. In the absence of a receipt, reimbursement will be limited to the non-receipted amount above.
- b) Reimbursement will be claimed only for the actual and necessary expenses noted above. Regardless of the above exceptions, the approving officer may require additional certification and/or explanation in order to determine that an expense was actually and reasonably incurred. In the absence of a satisfactory explanation, the expense shall not be allowed.

Mileage

Effective July 1, 2006, when an employee is authorized by his/her appointing authority or designee to operate a privately owned vehicle on state business, the employee will be allowed to claim and be reimbursed 44.5 cents per mile. Effective January 1, 2007, reimbursement rate is 48.5 cents per mile.

B. GOVERNMENT CODE SECTIONS 17500-17617

GC §17500: Legislative Findings and Declarations

The Legislature finds and declares that the existing system for reimbursing local agencies and school districts for the costs of state-mandated local programs has not provided for the effective determination of the state's responsibilities under Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. The Legislature finds and declares that the failure of the existing process to adequately and consistently resolve the complex legal questions involved in the determination of state-mandated costs has led to an increasing reliance by local agencies and school districts on the judiciary and, therefore, in order to relieve unnecessary congestion of the judicial system, it is necessary to create a mechanism which is capable of rendering sound quasi-judicial decisions and providing an effective means of resolving disputes over the existence of state-mandated local programs. It is the intent of the Legislature in enacting this part to provide for the implementation of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. Further, the Legislature intends that the Commission on State Mandates, as a quasi-judicial body, will act in a deliberative manner in accordance with the requirements of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution.

GC §17510: Construction of Part

Unless the context otherwise requires, the definitions contained in this chapter govern the construction of this part. The definition of a word applies to any variants thereof and the singular tense of a word includes the plural.

GC §17511: "City"

"City" means any city whether general law or charter, except a city and county.

GC §17512: "Commission"

"Commission" means the Commission on State Mandates.

GC §17513: "Cost Mandated by the Federal Government"

"Costs mandated by the federal government" means any increased costs incurred by a local agency or school district after January 1, 1973, in order to comply with the requirements of a federal statute or regulation. "Costs mandated by the federal government" includes costs resulting from enactment of a state law or regulation where failure to enact that law or regulation to meet specific federal program or service requirements imposed upon the state would result in substantial monetary penalties or loss of funds to public or private persons in the state whether the federal law was enacted before or after the enactment of the state law, regulation, or executive order. "Costs mandated by the federal government" does not include costs which are specifically reimbursed or funded by the federal or state government or programs or services which may be implemented at the option of the state, local agency, or school district.

GC §17514: "Costs Mandated by the State"

"Costs mandated by the state" means any increased costs which a local agency or school district is required to incur after July 1, 1980, as a result of any statute enacted on or after January 1, 1975, or any executive order implementing any statute enacted on or after January 1, 1975, which mandates a new program or higher level of service of an existing program within the meaning of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution.

GC §17515: "County"

"County" means any chartered or general law county. "County" includes a city and county.

GC §17516: "Executive Order"

"Executive order" means any order, plan, requirement, rule, or regulation issued by any of the following: (a) The Governor. (b) Any officer or official serving at the pleasure of the Governor. (c) Any agency, department, board, or commission of state government. "Executive order" does not include any order, plan, requirement, rule, or regulation issued by the State Water Resources Control Board or by any regional water quality control board pursuant to Division 7 (commencing with Section 13000) of the Water Code. It is the intent of the Legislature that the State Water Resources Control Board and regional water quality control boards will not adopt enforcement orders against publicly owned dischargers which mandate major waste water treatment facility construction costs unless federal financial assistance and state financial assistance pursuant to the Clean Water Bond Act of 1970 and 1974, is simultaneously made available. "Major" means either a new treatment facility or an addition to an existing facility, the cost of which is in excess of 20 percent of the cost of replacing the facility.

GC §17517.5: "Cost Savings authorized by the state"

"Cost savings authorized by the state" means any decreased costs that a local agency or school district realizes as a result of any statute enacted or any executive order adopted that permits or requires the discontinuance of or a reduction in the level of service of an existing program that was mandated before January 1, 1975.

GC §17518: "Local Agency"

"Local agency" means any city, county, special district, authority, or other political subdivision of the state.

GC §17518.5: "Reasonable Reimbursement Methodology"

(a) "Reasonable reimbursement methodology" means a formula for reimbursing local agency and school district costs mandated by the state that meets the following conditions: (1) The total amount to be reimbursed statewide is equivalent to total estimated local agency and school district costs to implement the mandate in a cost-efficient manner. (2) For 50 percent or more of eligible local agency and school district claimants, the amount reimbursed is estimated to fully offset their projected costs to implement the mandate in a cost-efficient manner. (b) Whenever possible, a reasonable reimbursement methodology shall be based on general allocation formulas, uniform cost allowances, and other approximations of local costs mandated by the state, rather than detailed documentation of actual local costs. In cases when local agencies and school districts are projected to incur costs to implement a mandate over a period of more than one fiscal year, the determination of a reasonable reimbursement methodology may consider local costs and state reimbursements over a period of greater than one fiscal year, but not exceeding 10 years. (c) A reasonable reimbursement methodology may be developed by any of the following: (1) The Department of Finance. (2) The Controller. (3) An affected state agency. (4) A claimant. (5) An interested party.

GC §17519: "School District"

"School district" means any school district, community college district, or county superintendent of schools.

GC §17520: "Special District"

"Special district" means any agency of the state that performs governmental or proprietary functions within limited boundaries. "Special district" includes a county service area, a maintenance district or

area, an improvement district or improvement zone, or any other zone or area. "Special district" does not include a city, a county, a school district, or a community college district. County free libraries established pursuant to Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 27151) of Division 20 of the Education Code, areas receiving county fire protection services pursuant to Section 25643 of the Government Code, and county road districts established pursuant to Chapter 7 (commencing with Section 1550) of Division 2 of the Streets and Highways Code shall be considered "special districts" for all purposes of this part.

GC §17521: "Test Claim"

"Test claim" means the first claim filed with the commission alleging that a particular statute or executive order imposes costs mandated by the state.

GC §17522: Definitions

(a) "Initial reimbursement claim" means a claim filed with the Controller by a local agency or school district for costs to be reimbursed for the fiscal years specified in the first claiming instructions issued by the Controller pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 17558. (b) "Annual reimbursement claim" means a claim for actual costs incurred in a prior fiscal year filed with the Controller by a local agency or school district for which appropriations are made to the Controller for this purpose. (c) "Estimated reimbursement claim" means a claim filed with the Controller by a local agency or school district in conjunction with an initial reimbursement claim, annual reimbursement claim, or at other times, for estimated costs to be reimbursed during the current or future fiscal years, for which appropriations are made to the Controller for this purpose. (d) "Entitlement claim" means a claim filed by a local agency or school district with the Controller for the purpose of establishing or adjusting a base year entitlement. All entitlement claims are subject to Section 17616.

GC §17523: "Deflator"

"Deflator" means the Implicit Price Deflator for the Costs of Goods and Services to Governmental Agencies, as determined by the Department of Finance.

GC §17524: "Base Year Entitlement"

"Base year entitlement" means that amount determined to be the average for the approved reimbursement claims of each local agency or school district for the three preceding fiscal years adjusted by the change in the deflator. A base year entitlement shall not include any nonrecurring or initial startup costs incurred by a local agency or school district in any of those three fiscal years. For those mandates which become operative on January 1 of any year, the amount of the "approved reimbursement claim" for the first of the three years may be computed by annualizing the amount claimed for the six-month period of January through June in that first year, excluding nonrecurring or startup costs.

GC §17525: Members: Term and Per Diem for Specified Members

(a) There is hereby created the Commission on State Mandates, which shall consist of seven members as follows: (1) The Controller. (2) The Treasurer. (3) The Director of Finance. (4) The Director of the Office of Planning and Research. (5) A public member with experience in public finance, appointed by the Governor and approved by the Senate. (6) Two members from the following three categories appointed by the Governor and approved by the Senate, provided that no more than one member shall come from the same category: (A) A city council member. (B) A member of a county or city and county board of supervisors. (C) A governing board member of a school district as defined in Section 17519. (b) Each member appointed pursuant to paragraph (5) or (6) of subdivision (a) shall be subject to both of the following: (1) The member shall serve for a term of four years subject to renewal. (2) The member shall receive per diem of one hundred dollars (\$100) for each day actually spent in the

discharge of official duties and shall be reimbursed for any actual and necessary expenses incurred in connection with the performance of duties as a member of the commission.

GC §17526: Open Meetings: Executive Sessions

(a) All meetings of the commission shall be open to the public, except that the commission may meet in executive session to consider the appointment or dismissal of officers or employees of the commission or to hear complaints or charges brought against a member, officer, or employee of the commission. (b) The commission shall meet at least once every two months. (c) The time and place of meetings may be set by resolution of the commission, by written petition of a majority of the members, or by written call of the chairperson. The chairperson may, for good cause, change the starting time or place, reschedule, or cancel any meeting.

GC §17527: Powers of Commission

In carrying out its duties and responsibilities, the commission shall have the following powers: (a) To examine any document, report, or data, including computer programs and data files, held by any local agency or school district. (b) To meet at times and places as it may deem proper. (c) As a body or, on the authorization of the commission, as a committee composed of one or more members, to hold hearings at any time and place it may deem proper. (d) Upon a majority vote of the commission, to issue subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of books, records, papers, accounts, reports, and documents. (e) To administer oaths. (f) To contract with other agencies or individuals, public or private, as it deems necessary, to provide or prepare services, facilities, studies, and reports to the commission as will assist it in carrying out its duties and responsibilities. (g) To adopt, promulgate, amend, and rescind rules and regulations, which shall not be subject to the review and approval of the Office of Administrative Law pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act provided for in Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2. (h) To do any and all other actions necessary or convenient to enable it fully and adequately to perform its duties and to exercise the powers expressly granted to it.

GC §17528: Election of Officers

The members of the commission shall elect a chairperson and a vice chairperson of the commission.

GC §17529: Appointment of Attorney: Duties

The commission may appoint as attorney to the commission an attorney at law of this state, who shall hold office at the pleasure of the commission. The attorney shall represent and appear for the commission in all actions and proceedings involving any question under this part or under any order or act of the commission. The attorney shall advise the commission and each member of the commission, when so requested, in regard to all matters in connection with the powers and duties of the commission and the members thereof. The attorney shall generally perform all duties and services as attorney to the commission which the commission may require.

GC §17530: Appointment of Executive Director: Duties

The commission shall appoint an executive director, who shall be exempt from civil service and shall hold office at the pleasure of the commission. The executive director shall be responsible for the executive and administrative duties of the commission and shall organize, coordinate, supervise, and direct the operations and affairs of the commission and expedite all matters within the jurisdiction of the commission. The executive director shall keep a full and true record of all proceedings of the commission, issue all necessary process, writs, warrants, and notices, and perform other duties as the commission prescribes.

GC §17531: Authority of Executive Director to Employ Necessary Staff

The executive director may employ those officers, examiners, experts, statisticians, accountants, inspectors, clerks, and employees as the executive director deems necessary to carry out the provisions of this part or to perform the duties and exercise the powers conferred upon the commission by law.

GC §17532: Quorum: Investigations, Inquiries, and Hearing

A majority of the commissioners shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of any business, for the performance of any duty, or for the exercise of any power of the commission. Any investigation, inquiry, or hearing which the commission has power to undertake or to hold may be undertaken or held by or before any commissioner or commissioners designated for the purpose by the commission. The evidence in any investigation, inquiry, or hearing may be taken by the commissioner or commissioners to whom the investigation, inquiry, or hearing has been assigned or, in his or her or their behalf, by an examiner designated for that purpose. Every finding, opinion, and order made by the commissioner or commissioner so designated, pursuant to the investigation, inquiry, or hearing, when approved or confirmed by the commission and ordered filed in its office, shall be deemed to be the finding, opinion, and order of the commission.

GC §17533: Provisions not Applicable to Hearing by Commission

Notwithstanding Section 11425.10, Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 11400) of Part 1 of Division 3 does not apply to a hearing by the commission under this part.

GC §17550: Reimbursements of Local Agencies and Special Districts

Reimbursement of local agencies and school districts for costs mandated by the state shall be provided pursuant to this chapter.

GC §17551: Commission Hearing and Decision Upon Claims

(a) The commission, pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, shall hear and decide upon a claim by a local agency or school district that the local agency or school district is entitled to be reimbursed by the state for costs mandated by the state as required by Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (b) Commission review of claims may be had pursuant to subdivision (a) only if the test claim is filed within the time limits specified in this section. (c) Local agency and school district test claims shall be filed not later than 12 months following the effective date of a statute or executive order, or within 12 months of incurring increased costs as a result of a statute or executive order, whichever is later. (d) The commission, pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, shall hear and decide upon a claim by a local agency or school district filed on or after January 1, 1985, that the Controller has incorrectly reduced payments to the local agency or school district pursuant to paragraph (2) of subdivision (d) of Section 17561.

GC §17552: Exclusivity of Procedure by Chapter

This chapter shall provide the sole and exclusive procedure by which a local agency or school district may claim reimbursement for costs mandated by the state as required by Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution.

GC §17553: Adoption of Procedure for Receiving Claims and Providing Hearings: Postponement of Hearings

(a) The commission shall adopt procedures for receiving claims pursuant to this article and for providing a hearing on those claims. The procedures shall do all of the following: (1) Provide for presentation of evidence by the claimant, the Department of Finance and any other affected department

or agency, and any other interested person. (2) Ensure that a statewide cost estimate is adopted within 12 months after receipt of a test claim, when a determination is made by the commission that a mandate exists. This deadline may be extended for up to six months upon the request of either the claimant or the commission. (3) Permit the hearing of a claim to be postponed at the request of the claimant, without prejudice, until the next scheduled hearing. (b) All test claims shall be filed on a form prescribed by the commission and shall contain at least the following elements and documents: (1) A written narrative that identifies the specific sections of statutes or executive orders alleged to contain a mandate and shall include all of the following: (A) A detailed description of the new activities and costs that arise from the mandate. (B) A detailed description of existing activities and costs that are modified by the mandate. (C) The actual increased costs incurred by the claimant during the fiscal year for which the claim was filed to implement the alleged mandate. (D) The actual or estimated annual costs that will be incurred by the claimant to implement the alleged mandate during the fiscal year immediately following the fiscal year for which the claim was filed. (E) A statewide cost estimate of increased costs that all local agencies or school districts will incur to implement the alleged mandate during the fiscal year immediately following the fiscal year for which the claim was filed. (F) Identification of all of the following: (i) Dedicated state funds appropriated for this program. (ii) Dedicated federal funds appropriated for this program. (iii) Other nonlocal agency funds dedicated for this program. (iv) The local agency's general purpose funds for this program. (v) Fee authority to offset the costs of this program. (G) Identification of prior mandate determinations made by the Board of Control or the Commission on State Mandates that may be related to the alleged mandate. (2) The written narrative shall be supported with declarations under penalty of perjury, based on the declarant's personal knowledge, information or belief, and signed by persons who are authorized and competent to do so, as follows: (A) Declarations of actual or estimated increased costs that will be incurred by the claimant to implement the alleged mandate. (B) Declarations identifying all local, state, or federal funds, or fee authority that may be used to offset the increased costs that will be incurred by the claimant to implement the alleged mandate, including direct and indirect costs. (C) Declarations describing new activities performed to implement specified provisions of the new statute or executive order alleged to impose a reimbursable state-mandated program. Specific references shall be made to chapters, articles, sections, or page numbers alleged to impose a reimbursable state-mandated program. (3) (A) The written narrative shall be supported with copies of all of the following: (i) The test claim statute that includes the bill number or executive order, alleged to impose or impact a mandate. (ii) Relevant portions of state constitutional provisions, federal statutes, and executive orders that may impact the alleged mandate. (iii) Administrative decisions and court decisions cited in the narrative. (B) State mandate determinations made by the Board of Control and the Commission on State Mandates and published court decisions on state mandate determinations made by the Commission on State Mandates are exempt from this requirement. (4) A test claim shall be signed at the end of the document, under penalty of perjury by the claimant or its authorized representative, with the declaration that the test claim is true and complete to the best of the declarant's personal knowledge or information or belief. The date of signing, the declarant's title, address, telephone number, facsimile machine telephone number, and electronic mail address shall be included. (c) If a completed test claim is not received by the commission within 30 calendar days from the date that an incomplete test claim was returned by the commission, the original test claim filing date may be disallowed, and a new test claim may be accepted on the same statute or executive order. (d) In addition, the commission shall determine whether an incorrect reduction claim is complete within 10 days after the date that the incorrect reduction claim is filed. If the commission determines that an incorrect reduction claim is not complete, the commission shall notify the local agency and school district that filed the claim stating the reasons that the claim is not complete. The local agency or school district shall have 30 days to complete the claim. The commission shall serve a copy of the complete incorrect reduction claim on the Controller. The Controller shall have no more than 90 days after the date the claim is delivered or mailed to file any rebuttal to an incorrect reduction claim. The failure of the Controller to file a rebuttal to an incorrect reduction claim shall not serve to delay the consideration of the claim by the commission.

GC §17554: Commission's Authority to Expedite Claim

With the agreement of all parties to the claim, the commission may waive the application of any procedural requirement imposed by this chapter or pursuant to Section 17553. The authority granted by this section includes the consolidation of claims and the shortening of time periods.

GC §17555: Date for Public Hearing: Test Claim Form and Procedure

(a) No later than 30 days after hearing and deciding upon a test claim pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17551, the commission shall notify the appropriate Senate and Assembly policy and fiscal committees, the Legislative Analyst, the Department of Finance, and the Controller of that decision. (b) For purposes of this section, the "appropriate policy committee" means the policy committee that has jurisdiction over the subject matter of the statute, regulation, or executive order, and bills relating to that subject matter would have been heard.

GC §17556: Criteria for not Finding Costs Mandated by the State

The commission shall not find costs mandated by the state, as defined in Section 17514, in any claim submitted by a local agency or school district, if, after a hearing, the commission finds that: (a) The claim is submitted by a local agency or school district that requested legislative authority for that local agency or school district to implement the program specified in the statute, and that statute imposes costs upon that local agency or school district requesting the legislative authority. A resolution from the governing body or a letter from a delegated representative of the governing body of a local agency or school district that requests authorization for that local agency or school district to implement a given program shall constitute a request within the meaning of this paragraph. (b) The statute or executive order affirmed for the state a mandate that had been declared existing law or regulation by action of the courts. (c) The statute or executive order imposes a requirement that is mandated by a federal law or regulation and results in costs mandated by the federal government, unless the statute or executive order mandates costs that exceed the mandate in that federal law or regulation. This subdivision applies regardless of whether the federal law or regulation was enacted or adopted prior to or after the date on which the state statute or executive order was enacted or issued. (d) The local agency or school district has the authority to levy service charges, fees, or assessments sufficient to pay for the mandated program or increased level of service. (e) The statute, executive order, or an appropriation in a Budget Act or other bill provides for offsetting savings to local agencies or school districts that result in no net costs to the local agencies or school districts, or includes additional revenue that was specifically intended to fund the costs of the state mandate in an amount sufficient to fund the cost of the state mandate. (f) The statute or executive order imposed duties that were expressly included in a ballot measure approved by the voters in a statewide or local election. (g) The statute created a new crime or infraction, eliminated a crime or infraction, or changed the penalty for a crime or infraction, but only for that portion of the statute relating directly to the enforcement of the crime or infraction.

GC §17557: Determination of Amount to be Subvened for Reimbursement: Parameters and Guidelines

(a) If the commission determines there are costs mandated by the state pursuant to Section 17551, it shall determine the amount to be subvened to local agencies and school districts for reimbursement. In so doing it shall adopt parameters and guidelines for reimbursement of any claims relating to the statute or executive order. The successful test claimants shall submit proposed parameters and guidelines within 30 days of adoption of a statement of decision on a test claim. At the request of a successful test claimant, the commission may provide for one or more extensions of this 30-day period at any time prior to its adoption of the parameters and guidelines. If proposed parameters and guidelines are not submitted within the 30-day period and the commission has not granted an extension, then the commission shall notify the test claimant that the amount of reimbursement the test claimant is entitled to for the first 12 months of incurred costs will be reduced by 20 percent, unless the test claimant can demonstrate to the commission why an extension of the 30-day period is justified. (b) In adopting parameters and guidelines, the commission may adopt a reasonable reimbursement methodology. (c)

The parameters and guidelines adopted by the commission shall specify the fiscal years for which local agencies and school districts shall be reimbursed for costs incurred. However, the commission may not specify in the parameters and guidelines any fiscal year for which payment could be provided in the annual Budget Act. (d) A local agency, school district, or the state may file a written request with the commission to amend, modify, or supplement the parameters or guidelines. The commission may, after public notice and hearing, amend, modify, or supplement the parameters and guidelines. A parameters and guidelines amendment submitted within 90 days of the claiming deadline for initial claims, as specified in the claiming instructions pursuant to Section 17561, shall apply to all years eligible for reimbursement as defined in the original parameters and guidelines. A parameters and guidelines amendment filed more than 90 days after the claiming deadline for initial claims, as specified in the claiming instructions pursuant to Section 17561, and on or before January 15 following a fiscal year, shall establish reimbursement eligibility for that fiscal year. (e) A test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 following a fiscal year in order to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal year. The claimant may thereafter amend the test claim at any time, but before the test claim is set for a hearing, without affecting the original filing date as long as the amendment substantially relates to the original test claim. (f) In adopting parameters and guidelines, the commission shall consult with the Department of Finance, the affected state agency, the Controller, the fiscal and policy committees of the Assembly and Senate, the Legislative Analyst, and the claimants to consider a reasonable reimbursement methodology that balances accuracy with simplicity.

GC §17558: Submission of Parameters and Guidelines to Controller: Transfer of Claims; Claiming Instructions

(a) The commission shall submit the adopted parameters and guidelines to the Controller. All claims relating to a statute or executive order that are filed after the adoption or amendment of parameters and guidelines pursuant to Section 17557 shall be transferred to the Controller who shall pay and audit the claims from funds made available for that purpose. (b) Not later than 60 days after receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines from the commission, the Controller shall issue claiming instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement, to assist local agencies and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed. In preparing claiming instructions, the Controller shall request assistance from the Department of Finance and may request the assistance of other state agencies. The claiming instructions shall be derived from the test claim decision and the parameters and guidelines adopted parameters and guidelines from the commission or other information necessitating a revision of the claiming instructions, prepare and issue revised claiming instructions for mandates that require state reimbursement to Section 17557 or after any decision or order of the commission pursuant to Section 17551. In preparing revised claiming instructions, the Controller may request the assistance of other state agencies.

GC §17558.5: Reimbursement Claim: Audit; Remittance Advice and Other Notices of Payment

(a) A reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced. (b) The Controller may conduct a field review of any claim after the claim has been submitted, prior to the reimbursement of the claim. (c) The Controller shall notify the claimant in writing within 30 days after issuance of a remittance advice of any adjustment to a claim for reimbursement to the local agency or school district, and the reason for the adjustment. Remittance advices and other notices of payment action shall not constitute notice of adjustment from an audit or review. (d) The interest rate charged by the Controller on reduced claims shall be set at the Pooled

Money Investment Account rate and shall be imposed on the dollar amount of the overpaid claim from the time the claim was paid until overpayment is satisfied. (e) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the adjustment of payments when inaccuracies are determined to be the result of the intent to defraud, or when a delay in the completion of an audit is the result of willful acts by the claimant or inability to reach agreement on terms of final settlement.

GC §17558.6: Legislative Intent

It is the intent of the Legislature that the Commission on State Mandates review its process by which local agencies may appeal the reduction of reimbursement claims on the basis that the reduction is incorrect in order to provide for a more expeditious and less costly process.

GC §17559: Judicial Review

(a) The commission may order a reconsideration of all or part of a test claim or incorrect reduction claim on petition of any party. The power to order a reconsideration or amend a test claim decision shall expire 30 days after the statement of decision is delivered or mailed to the claimant. If additional time is needed to evaluate a petition for reconsideration filed prior to the expiration of the 30-day period, the commission may grant a stay of that expiration for no more than 30 days, solely for the purpose of considering the petition. If no action is taken on a petition within the time allowed for ordering reconsideration, the petition shall be deemed denied. (b) A claimant or the state may commence a proceeding in accordance with the provisions of Section 1094.5 of the Code of Civil Procedure to set aside a decision of the commission on the ground that the commission's decision is not supported by substantial evidence. The court may order the commission to hold another hearing regarding the claim and may direct the commission on what basis the claim is to receive a rehearing.

GC §17560: Deadlines for Filing Reimbursement Claims

Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows: (a) A local agency or school district may file an estimated reimbursement claim by January 15 of the fiscal year in which costs are to be incurred, and, by January 15 following that fiscal year shall file an annual reimbursement claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year; or it may comply with the provisions of subdivision (b). (b) A local agency or school district may, by January 15 following the fiscal year in which costs are incurred, file an annual reimbursement claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year; or it may comply with the provisions of subdivision (b). (b) A local agency or school district may, by January 15 following the fiscal year in which costs are incurred, file an annual reimbursement claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year. (c) In the event revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 17558 between October 15 and January 15, a local agency or school district filing an annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the revised claiming instructions to file a claim.

GC §17561: Reimbursement of Costs for State Mandated Programs

(a) The state shall reimburse each local agency and school district for all "costs mandated by the state," as defined in Section 17514. (b) (1) For the initial fiscal year during which these costs are incurred, reimbursement funds shall be provided as follows: (A) Any statute mandating these costs shall provide an appropriation therefor. (B) Any executive order mandating these costs shall be accompanied by a bill appropriating the funds therefor, or alternatively, an appropriation for these costs shall be included in the Budget Bill for the next succeeding fiscal year. The executive order shall cite that item of appropriation in the Budget Bill or that appropriation in any other bill which is intended to serve as the source from which the Controller may pay the claims of local agencies and school districts. (2) In subsequent fiscal years appropriations for these costs shall be included in the annual Governor's Budget and in the accompanying Budget Bill. In addition, appropriations to reimburse local agencies and school districts for continuing costs resulting from chaptered bills or executive orders for which claims have been awarded pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17551 shall be included in the annual Governor's Budget and in the accompanying Budget Bill subsequent to the enactment of the local government claims bill pursuant to Section 17600 that includes the amounts awarded relating to these chaptered bills or executive orders. (c) The amount appropriated to reimburse local agencies and

school districts for costs mandated by the state shall be appropriated to the Controller for disbursement. (d) The Controller shall pay any eligible claim pursuant to this section within 60 days after the filing deadline for claims for reimbursement or 15 days after the date the appropriation for the claim is effective, whichever is later. The Controller shall disburse reimbursement funds to local agencies or school districts if the costs of these mandates are not payable to state agencies, or to state agencies that would otherwise collect the costs of these mandates from local agencies or school districts in the form of fees, premiums, or payments. When disbursing reimbursement funds to local agencies or school districts, the Controller shall disburse them as follows: (1) For initial reimbursement claims, the Controller shall issue claiming instructions to the relevant local agencies and school districts pursuant to Section 17558. Issuance of the claiming instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the commission. (A) When claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Section 17558 for each mandate determined pursuant to Section 17551 that requires state reimbursement, each local agency or school district to which the mandate is applicable shall submit claims for initial fiscal year costs to the Controller within 120 days of the issuance date for the claiming instructions. (B) When the commission is requested to review the claiming instructions pursuant to Section 17571, each local agency or school district to which the mandate is applicable shall submit a claim for reimbursement within 120 days after the commission reviews the claiming instructions for reimbursement issued by the Controller. (C) If the local agency or school district does not submit a claim for reimbursement within the 120-day period, or submits a claim pursuant to revised claiming instructions, it may submit its claim for reimbursement as specified in Section 17560. The Controller shall pay these claims from the funds appropriated therefor, provided that the Controller (i) may audit the records of any local agency or school district to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs, and (ii) may reduce any claim that the Controller determines is excessive or unreasonable. (2) In subsequent fiscal years each local agency or school district shall submit its claims as specified in Section 17560. The Controller shall pay these claims from funds appropriated therefor, provided that the Controller (A) may audit the records of any local agency or school district to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs, (B) may reduce any claim that the Controller determines is excessive or unreasonable, and (C) shall adjust the payment to correct for any underpayments or overpayments which occurred in previous fiscal years. (3) When paying a timely filed claim for initial reimbursement, the Controller shall withhold 20 percent of the amount of the claim until the claim is audited to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs. All initial reimbursement claims for all fiscal years required to be filed on their initial filing date for a state-mandated local program shall be considered as one claim for the purpose of computing any late claim penalty. Any claim for initial reimbursement filed after the filing deadline shall be reduced by 10 percent of the amount that would have been allowed had the claim been timely filed. The Controller may withhold payment of any late claim for initial reimbursement until the next deadline for funded claims unless sufficient funds are available to pay the claim after all timely filed claims have been paid. In no case may a reimbursement claim be paid if submitted more than one vear after the filing deadline specified in the Controller's claiming instructions on funded mandates contained in a claims bill.

GC §17561.5: Payment of Claim with Interest

The payment of an initial reimbursement claim by the Controller shall include accrued interest at the Pooled Money Investment Account rate, if the payment is being made more than 365 days after adoption of the statewide cost estimate for an initial claim or, in the case of payment of a subsequent claim relating to that same statute or executive order, if payment is being made more than 60 days after the filing deadline for, or the actual date of receipt of, the subsequent claim, whichever is later. In those instances, interest shall begin to accrue as of the 366th day after adoption of the statewide cost estimate for an initial claim and as of the 61st day after the filing deadline for, or actual date of receipt of, the subsequent claim, whichever is later.

GC §17561.6: Payment

A budget act item or appropriation pursuant to this part for reimbursement of claims shall include an amount necessary to reimburse any interest due pursuant to Section 17561.5.

GC §17562: Review of Costs of State-Mandated Local Programs

(a) The Legislature hereby finds and declares that the increasing revenue constraints on state and local government and the increasing costs of financing state-mandated local programs make evaluation of state-mandated local programs imperative. Accordingly, it is the intent of the Legislature to increase information regarding state mandates and establish a method for regularly reviewing the costs and benefits of state-mandated local programs. (b) The Controller shall submit a report to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee and fiscal committees by January 1 of each year. This report shall summarize, by state mandate, the total amount of claims paid per fiscal year and the amount, if any, of mandate deficiencies or surpluses. This report shall be made available in an electronic spreadsheet format. The report shall compare the annual cost of each mandate to the statewide cost estimate adopted by the commission. (c) After the commission submits its second semiannual report to the Legislature pursuant to Section 17600, the Legislative Analyst shall submit a report to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee and legislative fiscal committees on the mandates included in the commission's reports. The report shall make recommendations as to whether the mandate should be repealed, funded, suspended, or modified. (d) In its annual analysis of the Budget Bill and based on information provided pursuant to subdivision (b), the Legislative Analyst shall identify mandates that significantly exceed the statewide cost estimate adopted by the commission. The Legislative Analyst shall make recommendations on whether the mandate should be repealed, funded, suspended, or modified. (e) (1) A statewide association of local agencies or school districts or a Member of the Legislature may submit a proposal to the Legislature recommending the elimination or modification of a state-mandated local program. To make such a proposal, the association or member shall submit a letter to the Chairs of the Assembly Committee on Education or the Assembly Committee on Local Government, as the case may be, and the Senate Committee on Education or the Senate Committee on Local Government, as the case may be, specifying the mandate and the concerns and recommendations regarding the mandate. The association or member shall include in the proposal all information relevant to the conclusions. If the chairs of the committees desire additional analysis of the submitted proposal, the chairs may refer the proposal to the Legislative Analyst for review and comment. The chairs of the committees may refer up to a total of 10 of these proposals to the Legislative Analyst for review in any year. Referrals shall be submitted to the Legislative Analyst by December 1 of each year. (2) The Legislative Analyst shall review and report to the Legislature with regard to each proposal that is referred to the office pursuant to paragraph (1). The Legislative Analyst shall recommend that the Legislature adopt, reject, or modify the proposal. The report and recommendations shall be submitted annually to the Legislature by March 1 of the year subsequent to the year in which referrals are submitted to the Legislative Analyst. (3) The Department of Finance shall review all statutes enacted each year that contain provisions making inoperative Section 17561 or Section 17565 that have resulted in costs or revenue losses mandated by the state that were not identified when the statute was enacted. The review shall identify the costs or revenue losses involved in complying with the statutes. The Department of Finance shall also review all statutes enacted each year that may result in cost savings authorized by the state. The Department of Finance shall submit an annual report of the review required by this subdivision, together with the recommendations as it may deem appropriate, by December 1 of each year. (f) It is the intent of the Legislature that the Assembly Committee on Local Government and the Senate Committee on Local Government hold a joint hearing each year regarding the following: (1) The reports and recommendations submitted pursuant to subdivision (e). (2) The reports submitted pursuant to Sections 17570, 17600, and 17601. (3) Legislation to continue, eliminate, or modify any provision of law reviewed pursuant to this subdivision. The legislation may be by subject area or by year or years of enactment.

GC §17563: Use of Funds Received for Public Purpose

Any funds received by a local agency or school district pursuant to the provisions of this chapter may be used for any public purpose.

GC §17564: Filing of Claims: Threshold Amount

(a) No claim shall be made pursuant to Sections 17551 and 17561, nor shall any payment be made on claims submitted pursuant to Sections 17551 and 17561, unless these claims exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000), provided that a county superintendent of schools or county may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts, direct service districts, or special districts within their county if the combined claim exceeds one thousand dollars (\$1,000) even if the individual school district's, direct service district's, or special district's claims do not each exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000). The county superintendent of schools or the county shall determine if the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and shall be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school, direct service, or special district. These combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools or the districts. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate shall only be filed in the combined form unless a school district, direct service district, or special district provides to the county superintendent of schools or county and to the Controller, at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim, a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim. (b) Claims for direct and indirect costs filed pursuant to Section 17561 shall be filed in the manner prescribed in the parameters and guidelines and claiming instructions.

GC §17565: Reimbursement of Subsequently Mandated Costs

If a local agency or a school district, at its option, has been incurring costs which are subsequently mandated by the state, the state shall reimburse the local agency or school district for those costs incurred after the operative date of the mandate.

GC §17567: Insufficiency of Appropriation: Proration of Claims

In the event that the amount appropriated for reimbursement purposes pursuant to Section 17561 is not sufficient to pay all of the claims approved by the Controller, the Controller shall prorate claims in proportion to the dollar amount of approved claims timely filed and on hand at the time of proration. The Controller shall adjust prorated claims if supplementary funds are appropriated for this purpose. In the event that the Controller finds it necessary to prorate claims as provided by this section, the Controller shall immediately report this action to the Department of Finance, the Chairperson of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, and the Chairperson of the respective committee in each house of the Legislature which considers appropriated on a timely basis in the Budget Act, the Controller shall transmit this information to the commission which shall include these amounts in its report to the Legislature pursuant to Section 17600 to assure that an appropriation sufficient to pay the claims is included in the local government claims bills or other appropriation bills. If the local government claims bills required by Section 17612 have been introduced in the Legislature which considers appropriation of a sufficient appropriation in the Legislature which considers appropriated appropriation in the Legislature, the Controller shall report directly to the chairperson of the respective committee in each house of the Legislature which considers appropriation of a sufficient appropriation in the claims bills.

GC §17568: Payment of Claims Submitted After Deadline

If a local agency or school district submits an otherwise valid reimbursement claim to the Controller after the deadline specified in Section 17560, the Controller shall reduce the reimbursement claim in an amount equal to 10 percent of the amount which would have been allowed had the reimbursement claim been timely filed, provided that the amount of this reduction shall not exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000). In no case shall a reimbursement claim be paid which is submitted more than one year after the deadline specified in Section 17560. Estimated claims which were filed by the deadline specified in that section shall be paid in full before payments are made on estimated claims filed after the deadline. In the event the amount appropriated to the Controller for reimbursement purposes is not sufficient to pay the estimated claims approved by the Controller, the Controller shall prorate those claims in proportion to the dollar amount of approved claims filed after the deadline and shall report to the commission or the Legislature in the same manner as described in Section 17566 in order to assure appropriation of funds sufficient to pay those claims.

GC §17570: Annual Report to Legislature

The Legislative Analyst shall review each unfunded statutory or regulatory mandate for which claims have been approved by the Legislature pursuant to a claims bill during the preceding fiscal year. Any recommendations by the Legislative Analyst to eliminate or modify the mandates shall be contained in the annual analysis of the Budget Bill prepared by the Legislative Analyst.

GC §17571: Review and Modification of Claiming Instructions

The commission, upon request of a local agency or school district, shall review the claiming instructions issued by the Controller or any other authorized state agency for reimbursement of mandated costs. If the commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and guidelines, the commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines as directed by the commission.

GC §17572: Amended Animal Adoption Parameters and Guidelines

(a) The commission shall amend the parameters and guidelines for the state-mandated local program contained in Chapter 752 of the Statutes of 1998, known as the Animal Adoption mandate (Case No. 98-TC-11), as specified below: (1) Amend the formula for determining the reimbursable portion of acquiring or building additional shelter space that is larger than needed to comply with the increased holding period to specify that costs incurred to address preexisting shelter overcrowding or animal population growth are not reimbursable. (2) Clarify how the costs for care and maintenance shall be calculated. (3) Detail the documentation necessary to support reimbursement claims under this mandate, in consultation with the Bureau of State Audits and the Controller's office. (b) The parameters and guidelines, as amended pursuant to this section, shall apply to claims for costs incurred in fiscal years commencing with the 2005-06 fiscal year in which Chapter 752 of the Statutes of 1998 is not suspended pursuant to Section 17581. (c) Before funds are appropriated to reimburse local agencies for claims related to costs incurred in fiscal years commencing with the 2005-06 fiscal year pursuant to Sections 1834 and 1846 of the Civil Code, and Sections 31108, 31752, 31752.5, 31753, 32001, and 32003 of the Food and Agricultural Code, known as the Animal Adoption mandate, local agencies shall file reimbursement claims pursuant to the parameters and guidelines amended pursuant to this section, and the Controller's revised claiming instructions.

GC §17575: Review of Bills

When a bill is introduced in the Legislature, and each time a bill is amended, on and after January 1, 1985, the Legislative Counsel shall determine whether the bill mandates a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. The Legislative Counsel shall make this determination known in the digest of the bill and shall describe in the digest the basis for this determination. The determination by the Legislative Counsel shall not be binding on the commission in making its determination pursuant to Section 17555.

GC §17576: Amendment of Bills on Floor: Notification by Legislative Counsel

Whenever the Legislative Counsel determines that a bill will mandate a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution, the Department of Finance shall prepare an estimate of the amount of reimbursement which will be required. This estimate shall be prepared for the respective committees of each house of the Legislature which consider taxation measures and appropriation measures and shall be prepared prior to any hearing on the bill by any such committee.

GC §17577: Amount of Estimates

The estimate required by Section 17576 shall be the amount estimated to be required during the first fiscal year of a bill's operation in order to reimburse local agencies and school districts for costs mandated by the state by the bill.

GC §17578: Amendment of Bills on Floor: Notification by Legislative Counsel

In the event that a bill is amended on the floor of either house, whether by adoption of the report of a conference committee or otherwise, in such a manner as to mandate a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution, the Legislative Counsel shall immediately inform, respectively, the Speaker of the Assembly and the President of the Senate of that fact. Notification from the Legislative Counsel shall be published in the journal of the respective houses of the Legislature.

GC §17579: Requirement for New Mandates to Specify Reimbursement Requirements: Appropriations

Any bill introduced or amended for which the Legislative Counsel has determined the bill will mandate a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution shall contain a section specifying that reimbursement shall be made pursuant to this chapter or that the mandate is being disclaimed and the reason therefor.

GC §17581: Conditions for Exemption from Implementation of Statute or Executive Order

(a) No local agency shall be required to implement or give effect to any statute or executive order, or portion thereof, during any fiscal year and for the period immediately following that fiscal year for which the Budget Act has not been enacted for the subsequent fiscal year if all of the following apply: (1) The statute or executive order, or portion thereof, has been determined by the Legislature, the commission, or any court to mandate a new program or higher level of service requiring reimbursement of local agencies pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (2) The statute or executive order, or portion thereof, has been specifically identified by the Legislature in the Budget Act for the fiscal year as being one for which reimbursement is not provided for that fiscal year. For purposes of this paragraph, a mandate shall be considered to have been specifically identified by the Legislature only if it has been included within the schedule of reimbursable mandates shown in the Budget Act and it is specifically identified in the language of a provision of the item providing the appropriation for mandate reimbursements. (b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if a local agency elects to implement or give effect to a statute or executive order described in subdivision (a), the local agency may assess fees to persons or entities which benefit from the statute or executive order. Any fee assessed pursuant to this subdivision shall not exceed the costs reasonably borne by the local agency. (c) This section shall not apply to any state-mandated local program for the trial courts, as specified in Section 77203. (d) This section shall not apply to any state-mandated local program for which the reimbursement funding counts toward the minimum General Fund requirements of Section 8 of Article XVI of the Constitution.

GC §17581.5 Exemption from Provisions of School Bus Safety II Mandate and School Crimes Reporting II Mandate

(a) A school district may not be required to implement or give effect to the statutes, or portion thereof, identified in subdivision (b) during any fiscal year and for the period immediately following that fiscal year for which the Budget Act has not been enacted for the subsequent fiscal year if all of the following apply: (1) The statute or portion thereof, has been determined by the Legislature, the commission, or any court to mandate a new program or higher level of service requiring reimbursement of school districts pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (2) The statute, or portion thereof, has been specifically identified by the Legislature in the Budget Act for the fiscal year as being

one for which reimbursement is not provided for that fiscal year. For purposes of this paragraph, a mandate shall be considered to have been specifically identified by the Legislature only if it has been included within the schedule of reimbursable mandates shown in the Budget Act and it is specifically identified in the language of a provision of the item providing the appropriation for mandate reimbursements. (b) This section applies only to the following mandates: (1) The School Bus Safety I (CSM-4433) and II (97-TC-22) mandates (Chapter 642 of the Statutes of 1992; Chapter 831 of the Statutes of 1994; and Chapter 739 of the Statutes of 1997). (2) The School Crimes Reporting II mandate (97-TC-03; and Chapter 759 of the Statutes of 1992 and Chapter 410 of the Statutes of 1995). (3) Investment reports (96-358-02; and Chapter 783 of the Statutes of 1995 and Chapter 516 and 749 of the Statutes of 1996). (4) County treasury oversight committees (96-365-03; and Chapter 784 of the Statutes of 1995 and Chapter 156 of the Statutes of 1996).

GC §17600: Report on Number of Mandates and Their Costs

At least twice each calendar year the commission shall report to the Legislature on the number of mandates it has found pursuant to Article 1 (commencing with Section 17550) and the estimated statewide costs of these mandates. This report shall identify the statewide costs estimated for each mandate and the reasons for recommending reimbursement.

GC §17601: Report on Claims Denied

The commission shall report to the Legislature on January 15, 1986, and each January 15 thereafter, on the number of claims it denied during the preceding calendar year and the basis on which the particular claims were denied.

GC §17612: Local Government Claims Bills: Judicial Review of Funding Deletions

(a) Immediately upon receipt of the report submitted by the commission pursuant to Section 17600, a local government claims bill shall be introduced in the Legislature. The local government claims bill, at the time of its introduction, shall provide for an appropriation sufficient to pay the estimated costs of these mandates. (b) The Legislature may amend, modify, or supplement the parameters and guidelines for mandates contained in the local government claims bill. If the Legislature amends, modifies, or supplements the parameters and guidelines, it shall make a declaration in the local government claims bill specifying the basis for the amendment, modification, or supplement. (c) If the Legislature deletes from a local government claims bill funding for a mandate, the local agency or school district may file in the Superior Court of the County of Sacramento an action in declaratory relief to declare the mandate unenforceable and enjoin its enforcement.

GC §17613: Authorization of Augmentation for Mandated Costs

(a) The Director of Finance may, upon receipt of any report submitted pursuant to Section 17567, authorize the augmentation of the amount available for expenditure to reimburse costs mandated by the state, as defined in Section 17514, as follows: (1) For augmentation of (A) any schedule in any item to reimburse costs mandated by the state in any budget act, or (B) the amount appropriated in a local government claims bill for reimbursement of the claims of local agencies, as defined by Section 17518, from the unencumbered balance of any other item to reimburse costs mandated by the state in that budget act or another budget act or in an appropriation for reimbursement of the claims of local agencies in another local government claims bill. (2) For augmentation of (A) any schedule in any budget act item, or (B) any amount appropriated in a local government claims bill, when either of these augmentations is for reimbursement of mandated claims of school districts, as defined in Section 17519, when the source of this augmentation is (A) the unencumbered balance of any other scheduled amount in that budget act or another budget act, or (B) an appropriation in another local government claims bill, when either of these appropriations is for reimbursement of mandate claims of school districts. This paragraph applies only to appropriations that are made for the purpose of meeting the minimum funding guarantee for educational programs pursuant to Section 8 of Article XVI of the California Constitution. (b) No authorization for an augmentation pursuant to this section may be made sooner than 30 days after the notification in writing of the necessity therefor to the chairperson of the committee in each house which considers appropriations and the chairperson of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, or not sooner than whatever lesser time as the chairperson of the joint committee, or his or her designee, may in each instance determine.

GC §17615: Legislative Findings and Intent

The Legislature finds and declares that the existing system for reimbursing local agencies and school districts for actual costs mandated by the state on an annual claim basis is time consuming, cumbersome, and expensive at both the local and state levels. The Controller must process voluminous claims with all claims subject to a desk audit and selected claims also subject to a field audit. Local agencies are required to maintain extensive documentation of all claims in anticipation of such an audit. The volume of these records is substantial and will continue to grow with no relief in sight as new programs are mandated. The cost to local agencies and school districts for filing claims, and for maintaining documentation and responding to the Controller's audits is substantial. The current administrative cost to both state and local governments represents a significant expenditure of public funds with no apparent benefit to the taxpayers. It is the intent of the Legislature to streamline the reimbursement process for costs mandated by the state by creating a system of state mandate apportionments to fund the costs of certain programs mandated by the state.

GC §17615.1: Review of Programs for Inclusion in System

The commission shall establish a procedure for reviewing, upon request, mandated cost programs for which appropriations have been made by the Legislature for the 1982-83, 1983-84, and 1984-85 fiscal years, or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter. At the request of the Department of Finance, the Controller, or any local agency or school district receiving reimbursement for the mandated program, the commission shall review the mandated cost program to determine whether the program should be included in the State Mandates Apportionment System. If the costs of the state-mandated program, the commission shall direct the Controller to include the program in the State Mandates Apportionment System.

GC §17615.2: Calculation of Disbursement Amounts

(a) Notwithstanding Section 17561, after November 30, 1985, for those programs included in the State Mandates Apportionment System, after approval by the commission, there shall be disbursed by the Controller to each local agency and school district which has submitted a reimbursement claim for costs mandated by the state in the 1982-83, 1983-84, and the 1984-85 fiscal years, or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter, an amount computed by averaging the approved reimbursement claims for this three-year period. The amount shall first be adjusted according to any changes in the deflator. The deflator shall be applied separately to each year's costs for the three years which comprise the base period. Funds for these purposes shall be available to the extent they are provided for in the Budget Act of 1985 and the Budget Act for any subsequent fiscal year thereafter. For purposes of this article, "base period" means the three fiscal years immediately succeeding the commission's approval. (b) When the Controller has made payment on claims prior to commission approval of the program for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System, the payment shall be adjusted in the next apportionment to the amount which would have been subvened to the local agency or school district for that fiscal year had the State Mandates Apportionment System been in effect at the time of the initial payment.

GC §17615.3: Annual Recalculation of Allocation

Notwithstanding Section 17561, by November 30, 1986, and by November 30 of each year thereafter, for those programs included in the State Mandates Apportionment System, the Controller shall recalculate each allocation for each local agency and school district for the 1985-86 fiscal year, by using the actual change in the deflator for that year. That recalculated allocation shall then be adjusted by the estimated change in the deflator for the 1986 -87 fiscal year, and each fiscal year thereafter, to

establish the allocation amount for the 1986-87 fiscal year, and each fiscal year thereafter. Additionally, for programs approved by the commission for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System on or after January 1, 1988, the allocation for each year succeeding the three-year base period shall be adjusted according to any changes in both the deflator and workload. The Controller shall then subvene that amount after adjusting it by any amount of overpayment or underpayment in the 1985-86 fiscal year, and each fiscal year thereafter, due to a discrepancy between the actual change and the estimated change in the deflator or workload. Funds for these purposes shall be available to the extent they are provided for in the Budget Act of 1986 and the Budget Act for any subsequent fiscal year thereafter. For purposes of this article, "workload" means, for school districts and county offices of education, changes in the average daily attendance; for community colleges, changes in the number of full-time equivalent students; for cities and counties, changes in the population within their boundaries; and for special districts, changes in the population of the county in which the largest percentage of the district's population is located.

GC §17615.4: Procedure for Newly Mandated Program

(a) When a new mandate imposes costs that are funded either by legislation or in local government claims bills, local agencies and school districts may file reimbursement claims as required by Section 17561, for a minimum of three years after the initial funding of the new mandate. (b) After actual cost claims are submitted for three fiscal years against such a new mandate, the commission shall determine, upon request of the Controller or a local entity or school district receiving reimbursement for the program, whether the amount of the base year entitlement adjusted by changes in the deflator and workload accurately reflects the costs incurred by the local agency or school district. If the commission determines that the base year entitlement, as adjusted, does accurately reflect the costs of the program, the commission shall direct the Controller to include the program in the State Mandates Apportionment System. (c) The Controller's recommendations for each new mandate submitted for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System pursuant to this section are also subject to the audit provisions of Section 17616.

GC §17615.5: Procedure Where No Base Year Entitlement Has Been Established

(a) If any local agency or school district has an established base year entitlement which does not include costs for a particular mandate, that local agency or school district may submit reimbursement claims for a minimum of three consecutive years, adjusted pursuant to Section 17615.3 by changes in the deflator and workload, or entitlement claims covering a minimum of three consecutive years, after which time its base year entitlement may be adjusted by an amount necessary to fund the costs of that mandate. (b) If any local agency or school district has no base year entitlement, but wishes to begin claiming costs of one or more of the mandates included in the State Mandates Apportionment System, that local agency or school district may submit reimbursement claims for a minimum of three consecutive years, or entitlement claims covering the preceding three consecutive years, which shall be adjusted pursuant to Sections 17615.2 and 17615.3 by changes in the deflator and workload, after which time a base year entitlement may be established in an amount necessary to fund the costs of the mandate or mandates.

GC §17615.6: Procedure Where Program is No Longer Mandatory

If a local agency or school district realizes a decrease in the amount of costs incurred because a mandate is discontinued, or made permissive, the Controller shall determine the amount of the entitlement attributable to that mandate by determining the base year amount for that mandate for the local agency or school district plus the annual adjustments. This amount shall be subtracted from the annual subvention which would otherwise have been allocated to the local agency or school district.

GC §17615.7: Procedure Where Program is Modified

If a mandated program included in the State Mandates Apportionment System is modified or amended by the Legislature or by executive order, and the modification or amendment significantly affects the costs of the program, as determined by the commission, the program shall be removed from the State Mandate Apportionment System, and the payments reduced accordingly. Local entities or school districts may submit actual costs claims for a period of three years, after which the program may be considered for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System, pursuant to the provisions of Section 17615.4.

GC §17615.8: Review of Base Year Entitlement

(a) The commission shall establish a procedure for reviewing, upon request, any apportionment or base year entitlement of a local agency or school district. (b) Local agencies and school districts which request such a review shall maintain and provide those records and documentation as the commission or its designee determines are necessary for the commission or its designee to make the required determinations. With the exception of records required to verify base year entitlements, the records may not be used to adjust current or prior apportionments, but may be used to adjust future apportionments. (c) If the commission determines that an apportionment or base year entitlement for funding costs mandated by the state does not accurately reflect the costs incurred by the local agency or school district for all mandates upon which that apportionment is based, the commission shall direct the Controller to adjust the apportionment accordingly. For the purposes of this section, an apportionment or a base year entitlement does not accurately reflect the costs incurred by a local agency or school district if it falls short of reimbursing, or overreimburses, that local agency's or school district's actual costs by 20 percent or by one thousand dollars (\$1,000), whichever is less. (d) If the commission determines that an apportionment or base year entitlement for funding costs mandated by the state accurately reflects the costs incurred by the local agency or school district for all mandates upon which that apportionment is based, the commission may, in its discretion, direct the Controller to withhold, and, if so directed, the Controller shall withhold the costs of the commission's review from the next apportionment to the local agency or school district, if the commission review was requested by the local agency or school district.

GC §17615.9: Review of Programs Under SMAS

The commission shall periodically review programs funded under the State Mandate Apportionments System to evaluate the effectiveness or continued statewide need for each such mandate.

GC §17616: Audits and Verification by Controller

The Controller shall have the authority to do either or both of the following: (a) Audit the fiscal years comprising the base year entitlement no later than three years after the year in which the base year entitlement is established. The results of such audits shall be used to adjust the base year entitlements and any subsequent apportionments based on that entitlement, in addition to adjusting actual cost payments made for the base years audited. (b) Verify that any local agency or school district receiving funds pursuant to this article is providing the reimbursed activities.

GC §17617: Local Agency Payment

The total amount due to each city, county, city and county, and special district, for which the state has determined, as of June 30, 2005, that reimbursement is required under Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution, shall be appropriated for payment to these entities over a period of not more than five years, commencing with the Budget Act for the 2006-07 fiscal year and concluding with the Budget Act for the 2011-12 fiscal year.

Table of Contents

FILING A CLAIM



1. Introduction

The law in the State of California, (GC Sections 17500 through 17617), provides for the reimbursement of costs incurred by school districts (SD) and county superintendents of schools (CSOS) for costs mandated by the State. Costs mandated by the State means any increased costs which a SD and CSOS is required to incur after July 1, 1980, as a result of any statute enacted after January 1, 1975, or any executive order implementing such statute which mandates a new program or higher level of service of an existing program.

These claiming instructions are issued to help claimants prepare paper and electronic mandated cost claims for submission to SCO. These instructions are based upon the SCO's interpretation of the State of California statutes, regulations, and parameters and guidelines (P's & G's) adopted by CSM. Since each mandate is administered separately, it is important to refer to the specific program for information relating to established policies on eligible reimbursable costs.

Mandated cost claims can be filed on paper or filed electronically using the Local Government e-Claims (LGeC) system. The LGeC system provides an easy and straightforward approach to the claiming process. Email distributions lists are also new this year and are available to provide timely, comprehensive information regarding Mandated Cost claim receipts, payments, test claims, guidelines, electronic claims, and other news and updates. Additional information regarding electronic filling and email distribution lists is located in the following section of this manual.

A reimbursement claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed with the State Controller's Office (SCO) by a SD and CSOS for reimbursement of costs incurred for which an appropriation is made for the purpose of paying the claim.

Pursuant to AB 8, Chapter 6, Statutes of 2008, the option to file estimated claims has been eliminated. Therefore, estimated claims filed on or after February 16, 2008, will not be accepted by SCO.

Pursuant to GC 17560, the deadline for filing ongoing mandated cost claims has been extended to February 15th of the year following the fiscal year the costs were incurred. The deadline for filing initial reimbursement claims has not changed and remains at 120 days from the date the SCO issues claiming instructions for each program.

Initial reimbursement claims filed after the deadline, but within one year of the deadline, will be reduced by a late penalty of 10% with no limitation. Initial claims filed more than one year after the deadline cannot be accepted for reimbursement.

Annual reimbursement claims for the 2007-08 fiscal year, must be filed by February 15th of the year following the fiscal year the costs were incurred, to avoid a late penalty. If the filing deadline falls on a weekend or holiday, the deadline is extended to the next business day. Since February 15, 2009, falls on a weekend, and the following Monday is a holiday, annual reimbursement claims will be accepted without a penalty if postmarked or delivered on or before Tuesday, February 17, 2009. Annual reimbursement claims filed after the deadline will be reduced by a late penalty of 10%, not to exceed \$10,000.

Amended annual claims filed after the filing deadline will be reduced by 10% of the increased amount not to exceed \$10,000 for the entire claim, while amended initial reimbursement claims filed after the deadline will be reduced by 10% without limitation.

Claims filed more than one year after the deadline cannot be accepted for reimbursement.

Additional information regarding filing deadlines and late penalties is located in Section 5, Filing Deadline for Claims in this manual.

Charter Schools are not eligible to file mandated cost claims under these programs because they are not a school district under GC Section 17519. Accordingly, charter schools cannot be reimbursed by filing a claims or through a third party's claim such as a school district or a superintendent of schools for their costs. The CSM adopted the Charter School III statement of decision on May 25, 2006. The CSM stated that "a …charter school is voluntarily participating in the charter program at issue" and that a charter school is not a school district under GC 17519 and therefore is not eligible to claim reimbursement under GC Section 17560.

School districts and county superintendents of schools may use the indirect cost rates approved by the California Department of Education based on J-380/580/780/SACS Expenditure Data whichever is applicable to the fiscal year of the claim. Since this information is readily available online, there is no need for SDs or CSOSs to file supporting documentation for indirect costs with mandated cost claims. Additional information regarding indirect cost rates is located in Section 9: Indirect Costs, of this manual.

Supporting documentation for actual costs is no longer required to be submitted with the claim. Instead, those records must be kept on hand and made available to the SCO upon request. Additional information is located in Section 17: Retention of Claim Records and Supporting Documentation of this manual.

SCO is authorized to make payments for costs of mandated programs from amounts appropriated by the State Budget Act, by the State Mandates Claims Fund, or by specific legislation. In the event the appropriation is insufficient to pay claims in full, claimants will receive prorated payments in proportion to the dollar amount of approved claims for the program. Balances of prorated payments will be made when supplementary funds become available.

Pursuant to GC Section 17561 (d), the Controller will pay any eligible claim by August 15 or 45 days after the date the appropriation for the claim is effective, whichever is later.

2. Local Government Electronic Claims (LGeC)

LGeC enables claimants and their consultants to securely prepare and submit mandated cost claims via the Internet. LGeC uses a series of data input screens to collect the information needed to prepare a claim and also provides a web service so claims can be uploaded in batch files. LGeC also incorporates an attachment feature so claimants can electronically attach supporting documentation to file with their claims. The LGeC system provides an easy and straightforward approach to the claiming process.

Filing claims using LGeC eliminates the manual preparation and submission of paper claims by the locals and the receiving, processing, key entry, verification, and storage of paper claims by SCO. LGeC also provides mathematical checks and automated error detection to reduce erroneous and incomplete claims, provides the state with an electronic workflow process, and stores the claims in an electronic format. Making the change from paper claims to electronic claims reduces the manual handling of paper claims and decreases the costs incurred by local entities for handling, postage, and storage of claims filed using the LGeC system

In order to use the LGeC system you must obtain a user ID and password for each person who will need access to the LGeC system. To obtain a User ID and password you must file an application with SCO. The application and instructions are available on the LGeC website located at http://www.sco/ard/local/lgec/index.shtml. Once you complete the application and mail it to SCO, it will be processed and a User ID and password will be issued to each person to establish their role on the LGeC system.

In addition, you may want to subscribe to an email distribution list to automatically receive timely, comprehensive information regarding mandated cost claim receipts, payments, test

claims, guidelines, electronic claims, and other news and updates. You also will receive related audit reports and mandate information disseminated by other state agencies.

You can find more information about LGeC and the email distribution lists at http://www.sco/ard/local/lgec/index.shtml. This website provides access to the LGeC system, an application for user id's and passwords, an instructional guide, FAQ's and additional help files. Questions about the information on this website should be directed by email to LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, or to Angie Lowi Teng at the Division of Accounting and Reporting, Local Reimbursements Section, Local Government e-Claims, (916) 323-0706.

3. Types of Claims

A reimbursement claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed with the SCO by a school district for reimbursement of costs incurred for which an appropriation is made for the purpose of paying the claim. These claims are made up of initial reimbursement claims and actual (ongoing) reimbursement claims. Each has separate filing deadlines and late filing penalties as discussed later in this manual.

A. Initial reimbursement claims

Initial reimbursement claims are first-time claims for reimbursement of costs for one or more prior fiscal year(s) of a program that was previously unfunded. The first statute that appropriates funds for the new program will specify the fiscal years for which costs are eligible for reimbursement.

B. reimbursement claims

A claimant may file a reimbursement claim for actual mandated costs incurred in the prior fiscal year in each successive year the program is active.

C. Estimated Claims

Assembly Bill 8, Chapter 6, Statutes of 2008, eliminated the option to file estimated claims. Therefore, estimated claims filed on or after February 16, 2008, will no longer be accepted by SCO.

D. Entitlement Claims

An entitlement claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed by a SD and/or a CSOS with the SCO for the sole purpose of establishing or adjusting a base year entitlement for a mandated cost program that has been included in SMAS. These claims should not contain nonrecurring or initial start-up costs. For programs included in SMAS, The SMAS program is discussed in detail in Section 7: State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS).

4. Minimum Claim Amount

GC Section 17564(a) provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to Sections 17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars (\$1,000), provided that a CSOS may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts within their county if the combined claim exceeds \$1,000, even if the individual school district's claim does not each exceed \$1,000.

The county superintendent of schools will determine if the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school district. These combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools is the fiscal agent for the districts.

A combined claim must show the individual claim costs for each eligible school district. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate must be filed in the combined form unless a school district provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the county superintendent of schools and to SCO at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim.

Table of Contents

5. Filing Deadline for Claims

GC Section 17561(d) specifies the filing deadlines and late fee penalties for each type of mandated cost claim.

Initial reimbursement claims (first time claims) for reimbursement of costs of a previously unfunded mandated cost program must be filed within 120 days from the date SCO issues the program's claiming instructions.

Any claim for initial reimbursement filed after the filing deadline shall be reduced by 10 percent of the amount that would have been allowed had the claim been timely filed. All initial reimbursement claims for all fiscal years required to be filed on their initial filing date shall be considered as one claim for the purpose of computing any late claim penalty. The Controller may withhold payment of any late claim for initial reimbursement until the next deadline for funded claims unless sufficient funds are available to pay the claim after all timely filed claims have been paid

Ongoing annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15th following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred for the program. If the filing deadline falls on a weekend or holiday, the filing deadline will be the next business day. Since February 15th falls on a weekend in 2009, and the following Monday is a holiday, claims will be accepted without penalty if postmarked or delivered on or before February 17, 2009. Reimbursement claims filed after the deadline, but within one year of the deadline, will be reduced by a late penalty of 10%, not to exceed \$10,000.

Amended reimbursement claims filed after the deadline, but within one year of the deadline, will be reduced by 10% of the increased amount, not to exceed \$10,000 for the total claim.

Entitlement claims do not have a filing deadline. However, entitlement claims should be filed by February 15 to permit orderly processing of the claims.

Pursuant to GC 17561, In no case may a reimbursement claim be paid if submitted more than one year after the filing deadline specified in the Controller's claiming instructions on funded mandates. Therefore, these claims will not be accepted for reimbursement.

6. Payment of Claims

GC Section 17561 states that reimbursement claims are to be paid as follows:

The Controller shall pay any eligible claim by August 15 or 45 days after the date of the appropriation for the claim is effective, whichever is later.

However, the SCO shall withhold 20 percent of the amount of timely filed initial reimbursement claims until the claim is audited to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs.

The Controller may withhold payment of any late claim for initial reimbursement until the next deadline for funded claims unless sufficient funds are available to pay the claim after all timely filed claims have been paid.

In order for SCO to authorize payment of a claim, the Certification of Claim, form FAM-27, must be properly filled out, signed, and dated by the entity's authorized officer. When using the LGeC system the logon id and password of the authorized officer is used for the signature and is applied by the LGeC system when the claim is submitted.

A claimant is entitled to receive accrued interest at the pooled money investment account rate if the payment was made more than 60 days after the claim filing deadline or the actual date of claim receipt, whichever is later. For an initial claim, interest begins to accrue when the payment is made more than 365 days after the adoption of the program's statewide cost estimate. SCO may withhold up to 20 percent of the amount of an initial claim until the claim is audited to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs.

SCO reports the amounts of insufficient appropriations to the State Department of Finance, the Chairperson of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, and the Chairperson of the respective committee in each house of the Legislature, who consider appropriations in order to assure appropriation of these funds in the Budget Act. If these funds cannot be appropriated on a timely basis in the Budget Act, this information is transmitted to CSM which will include these amounts in its report to assure that an appropriation sufficient to pay the claims is included in the next local government claims bill or other appropriation bills. When the supplementary funds are made available, the balance of the claims will be paid.

Allowable costs are those direct and indirect costs, less applicable credits, considered eligible for reimbursement. Unless specified in the statutes, regulations, or P's & G's, the determination of allowable and unallowable costs are based on the P's & G's adopted by the CSM for funded and unfunded mandates, except for mandates funded by special legislation. The SCO determines allowable reimbursable costs, subject to amendment by CSM, for mandates funded by special legislation.

In order for costs to be allowable and thus eligible for reimbursement, the costs must meet the following general criteria:

- 1. The cost is necessary and reasonable for proper and efficient administration of the mandate and not a general expense required to carry out the overall responsibilities of government;
- 2. The cost is allocable to a particular cost objective identified in the P's & G's;

3. The cost is net of any applicable credits that offset or reduce expenses of items allocable to the mandate.

The SCO has identified certain costs that should not be claimed as direct program costs unless specified as reimbursable under the program's P's & G's. These costs include, but are not limited to, subscriptions, depreciation, memberships, conferences, workshops, general education, and travel costs.

7. State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS)

Chapter 1534, Statutes of 1985, established SMAS, a method of paying certain mandated programs as apportionments. This method is utilized whenever a program has been approved for inclusion in SMAS by the CSM. An "entitlement claim" means any claim filed by a SD and CSOS with SCO for the sole purpose of establishing a base year entitlement. A base year entitlement shall not include any nonrecurring or initial start-up costs.

In the event a SD and/or CSOS has incurred costs for three consecutive fiscal years but did not file a reimbursement claim in one or more of those fiscal years, the SD and/or CSOS may file an entitlement claim for each of those missed years to establish a base year entitlement

When a mandated program has been included in SMAS, SCO will determine a base year entitlement amount for each SD and CSOS that has submitted reimbursement claims (or entitlement claims) for three consecutive fiscal years. A base year entitlement amount is determined by averaging the approved reimbursement claims (or entitlement claims) for 1982-83, 1983-84, and 1984-85 years or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter. The amounts are first adjusted by any change in the IPD, which is applied separately to each year's costs for the three years that comprise the base period. The base period means the three fiscal years immediately succeeding the CSM's approval.

Each SD and/or CSOS with an established base year entitlement for the program will receive automatic annual payments from SCO reflective of the program's current year costs. The amount of apportionment is adjusted annually for any change in the IPD. If the mandated program was included in SMAS after January 1, 1988, the annual apportionment is adjusted for any change in both the IPD and ADA. The amount to be apportioned is the base year entitlement adjusted by annual changes in the IPD for the cost of goods and services to governmental agencies as determined by the State Department of Finance.

In the event the SD and CSOS determines that the amount of apportionment does not accurately reflect costs incurred to comply with a mandate, the process of adjusting an established base year entitlement upon which the apportionment is based is set forth in GC Section 17615.8 and requires the approval of the CSM.

Initial apportionments are made on an individual program basis. After the initial year, all apportionments are paid by November 30th of each successive year.

8. Direct Costs

A direct cost is a cost that can be identified specifically with a particular program or activity. Documentation to support direct costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made available to SCO upon request as explained in Section 17 of these instructions. Costs typically classified as direct costs are:

(1) Employee Wages, Salaries, and Fringe Benefits

For each of the mandated activities performed, the claimant must list the names of the employees who worked on the mandate, their job classification, hours worked on the mandate, and rate of pay. The claimant may, in-lieu of reporting actual compensation and fringe benefits use a productive hourly rate:

(a) **Productive Hourly Rate Options**

A SD and CSOS may use one of the following methods to compute productive hourly rates:

- Actual annual productive hours for each employee;
- The weighted-average annual productive hours for each job title; or
- 1,800* annual productive hours for all employees.

If actual annual productive hours or weighted-average annual productive hours for each job title is chosen, the claimant must maintain documentation of how these hours were computed. Documentation to support these costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made available to SCO upon request as explained in Section 17 of these instructions.*

1,800 annual productive hours excludes the following employee time:

- Paid holidays;
- Vacation earned;
- Sick leave taken;
- Informal time off;
- o Jury duty;
- o Military leave taken.

(b) Compute a Productive Hourly Rate

1. Compute a productive hourly rate for salaried employees to include actual fringe benefit costs. The methodology for converting a salary to a productive hourly rate is to compute the employee's annual salary and fringe benefits and divide by the annual productive hours.

Table 1: Productive Hourly Rate, Annual Salary + Benefits Method

Formula:	Description:
[(EAS + Benefits) APH] = PHR	EAS = Employee's Annual Salary
	APH = Annual Productive Hours
[(\$26,000 + \$8,099)] 1,800 hrs = 18.94	PHR = Productive Hourly Rate

As illustrated in Table 1, if you assume an employee's compensation was \$26,000 and \$8,099 for annual salary and fringe benefits, respectively, using the "Salary + Benefits Method," the productive hourly rate would be \$18.94. To convert a biweekly salary to EAS, multiply the biweekly salary by 26. To convert a monthly salary to EAS, multiply the same methodology to convert other salary periods.

2. A claimant may also compute the productive hourly rate by using the "Percent of Salary Method."

	,	•	
Example:			
Step 1: Fringe Benefits as a Percent of Salary		Step 2: Productive Hourly Rate	
Retirement	15.00 %	Formula:	
Social Security & Medicare	7.65	[(EAS x (1 + FBR)) APH] = PHR	
Health & Dental Insurance	5.25		
Workers Compensation	3.25	[(\$26,000 x (1.3115)) 1,800] = \$18.94	
Total	31.15 %		
Description:			
EAS = Employee's Annual Salary		APH = Annual Productive Hours	
FBR = Fringe Benefit Rate		PHR = Productive Hourly Rate	

Table 2: Productive Hourly Rate, Percent of Salary Method

As illustrated in Table 3, both methods produce the same productive hourly rate.

Reimbursement for personnel services includes, but is not limited to, compensation paid for salaries, wages and employee fringe benefits. Employee fringe benefits include employer's contributions for social security, pension plans, insurance, worker's compensation insurance and similar payments. These benefits are eligible for reimbursement as long as they are distributed equitably to all activities. Whether these costs are allowable is based on the following presumptions:

- The amount of compensation is reasonable for the service rendered.
- The compensation paid and benefits received are appropriately authorized by the governing board.
- Amounts charged for personnel services are based on payroll documents that are supported by time and attendance or equivalent records for individual employees.
- The methods used to distribute personnel services should produce an equitable distribution of direct and indirect allowable costs.

For each of the employees included in the claim, the claimant must use reasonable rates and hours in computing the wage cost. If a person of a higher-level position, performs an activity which normally would be performed by a lower-level position, reimbursement for time spent is allowable at the average salary range for the lower-level position. The salary rate of the person at a higher-level position may be claimed if it can be shown that it was more cost effective in comparison to the performance by a person at the lower-level position under normal circumstances and conditions. The number of hours charged to an activity should reflect the time expected to complete the activity under normal circumstances and conditions. The numbers of normal expected hours are not reimbursable. Documentation to support these costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made available to SCO upon request as explained in Section 17 of these instructions.

(c) Calculating an Average Productive Hourly Rate

In those instances where the P's & G's allow a unit as a basis of claiming costs, the direct labor component of the unit cost should be expressed as an average productive hourly rate and can be determined as follows:

	<u>Time</u> <u>Spent</u>	Productive Hourly Rate	Total Cost by Employee
Employee A	1.25 hrs	\$6.00	\$7.50
Employee B	0.75 hrs	4.50	3.38
Employee C	3.50 hrs	10.00	35.00
Total	5.50 hrs		\$45.88
Average Productive Hourly Rate is \$45.88/5.50 hrs. = \$8.34			

Table 3: Calculating an Average Productive Hourly Rate

(d) Employer's Fringe Benefits Contribution

An SD and CSOS has the option of claiming actual employer's fringe benefit contributions or may compute an average fringe benefit cost for the employee's job classification and claim it as a percentage of direct labor. The same time base should be used for both salary and fringe benefits when computing a percentage. For example, if health and dental insurance payments are made annually, use an annual salary. After the percentage of salary for each fringe benefit is computed, total them. Documentation to support these costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made available to SCO upon request as explained in Section 17 of these instructions.

For example:

Employer's Contribution	<u>% of Salary</u>
Retirement	15.00%
Social Security	7.65%
Health and Dental Insurance	5.25%
Worker's Compensation	0.75%
Total	28.65%

(e) Materials and Supplies

Only actual expenses can be claimed for materials and supplies, which were acquired and consumed specifically for the purpose of a mandated program. The claimant must list the materials and supplies that used to perform the mandated activity, the number of units consumed, the cost per unit, and the total dollar amount claimed. Materials and supplies in excess of reasonable quality, quantity, and cost are not reimbursable. Materials and supplies withdrawn from inventory and charged to the mandated activity must be based on a recognized method of pricing, consistently applied. Purchases shall be claimed at the actual price after deducting discounts, rebates and allowances received by the SD and CSOS. Documentation to support these costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made available to SCO upon request as explained in Section 17 of these instructions.

(f) Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies

In those instances where the P's & G's suggest that a unit cost be developed for use as a basis of claiming costs mandated by the State, the materials and supplies component of the unit cost should be expressed as a unit cost of materials and supplies as shown in Table 1 or Table 2:

Table 1:	Calculating A Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies	

Supplies	Cost Per Unit	Amount of Supplies Used <u>Per Activity</u>	Unit Cost of Supplies <u>Per Activity</u>
Paper	0.02	4	\$0.08
Files	0.10	1	0.10
Envelopes	0.03	2	0.06
Photocopies	0.10	4	0.40
			<u>\$0.64</u>

Table 2: Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies

Supplies	Supplies <u>Used</u>	Unit Cost of Supplies <u>Per Activity</u>
Paper (\$10.00 for 500 sheet ream)	250 Sheets	\$5.00
Files (\$2.50 for box of 25)	10 Folders	1.00
Envelopes (\$3.00 for box of 100)	50 Envelopes	1.50
Photocopies (\$0.05 per copy)	40 Copies	2.00
		\$9.50

If the number of reimbursable instances is 25, then the unit cost of supplies is \$0.38 per reimbursable instance (\$9.50/25).

(g) Contract Services

The cost of contract services is allowable if the SD and CSOS lacks the staff resources or necessary expertise, or it is economically feasible to hire a contractor to perform the

mandated activity. The claimant must keep documentation on hand to support the name of the contractor, explain the reason for having to hire a contractor, describe the mandated activities performed, give the dates when the activities were performed, the number of hours spent performing the mandate, the hourly billing rate, and the total cost. The hourly billing rate shall not exceed the rate specified in the P's & G's for the mandated program. The contractor's invoice, or statement, which includes an itemized list of costs for activities performed. Documentation to support these costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made available to SCO upon request as explained in Section 17 of these instructions.

(h) Equipment Rental Costs

Equipment purchases and leases (with an option to purchase) are not reimbursable as a direct cost unless specifically allowed by the P's & G's for the particular mandate. Equipment rentals used solely for the mandate are reimbursable to the extent such costs do not exceed the retail purchase price of the equipment plus a finance charge. The claimant must maintain documentation to support the purpose and use for the equipment, the time period for which the equipment was rented and the total cost of the rental. If the equipment is used for purposes other than reimbursable activities, only the pro rata portion of the rental costs can be claimed. Documentation to support these costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made available to SCO upon request as explained in Section 17 of these instructions.

(i) Capital Outlay

Capital outlays for land, buildings, equipment, furniture and fixtures may be claimed if the P's & G's specify them as allowable. If they are allowable, the P's & G's for the program will specify a basis for the reimbursement. If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for purposes other than reimbursable activities for a specific mandate, only the pro rata portion of the purchase price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed. Documentation to support these costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made available to SCO upon request as explained in Section 17 of these instructions.

(j) Travel Expenses

Travel expenses are normally reimbursable in accordance with travel rules and regulations of the local jurisdiction. For some programs, however, the P's & G's may specify certain limitations on expenses, or that expenses can only be reimbursed in accordance with the State Board of Control travel standards. When claiming travel expenses, the claimant must maintain documentation to support the purpose of the trip, the name and address of the persons incurring the expense, the date and time of departure and return, a description of each expense claimed, and the cost of transportation, number of private auto miles traveled, and the cost of tolls and parking. Receipts are required for charges over \$10.00. This Documentation to support these costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made available to SCO upon request as explained in Section 17 of these instructions.

(k) Documentation

It is the responsibility of the claimant to maintain, documentation in the form of general and subsidiary ledgers, purchase orders, invoices, contracts, canceled warrants, equipment usage records, land deeds, receipts, employee time sheets, agency travel guidelines, inventory records, and other relevant documents to support claimed costs. The type of documentation necessary for each claim may differ with the type of mandate. The documentation supporting these costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made available to SCO upon request as explained in Section 17 of this manual.

9. Indirect Costs

Indirect costs are: (a) Incurred for a common or joint purpose benefiting more than one cost objective, and (b) not readily assignable to the cost objectives specifically benefited, without effort disproportionate to the results achieved. Indirect costs can originate in the department performing the mandate or in departments that supply the department performing the mandate with goods, services and facilities. As noted previously, in order for a cost to be allowable, it must be allocable to a particular cost objective. With respect to indirect costs, this requires that the cost be distributed to benefiting cost objectives on bases, which produce an equitable result in relation to the benefits derived by the mandate.

School districts and county superintendents of schools may use the indirect cost rates approved by the California Department of Education based on J-380/580/780/SACS Expenditure Data whichever is applicable to the fiscal year of the claim.

The amount of indirect costs the claimant is eligible to claim is computed by multiplying the rate by salaries and benefits. When applying the rate, multiply the rate by mandated direct costs not included in either (1) total support services, EDP No. 422 of the J-380 or J-580, or (2) indirect costs on Form ICR of the California Department of Education's SACS Financial Reporting Software. If there are any exceptions to this general rule for applying the indirect cost rate, they will be found in the individual mandate instructions.

10. Time Study Guidelines

Background

A reasonable reimbursement methodology, which meets certain conditions specified in Government Code section 17518.5, subdivision (a), can be used as a "formula for reimbursing local agency and school district costs mandated by the state."

Two methods are acceptable for documenting employee time charged to mandated cost programs: Actual Time Reporting and Time Study. These methods are described below. Application of time study results is restricted. As explained in the Time Study Results section below, the results may be projected forward a maximum of two years or applied retroactively to initial claims, current-year claims, and late-filed claims, provided certain criteria are met.

Actual Time Reporting

Each program's parameters and guidelines define reimbursable activities for the mandated cost program. (Some parameters and guidelines refer to reimbursable activities as reimbursable components.) When employees work on multiple activities and/or programs, a distribution of their salaries or wages must be supported by personnel activity reports or equivalent documentation that meets the following standards (which clarify documentation requirements discussed in the Reimbursable Activities section of recent parameters and guidelines):

• They must reflect an after-the-fact (contemporaneous) distribution of the actual activity of each employee;

- They must account for the total activity for which each employee is compensated;
- They must be prepared at least monthly and must coincide with one or more pay periods; and
- They must be signed by the employee.

Budget estimates or other distribution percentages determined before services are performed do not qualify as support for actual time reporting.

Time Study

In certain cases, a time study may be used as a substitute for continuous records of actual time spent on multiple activities and/or programs. A time study can be used for an activity when the task

is repetitive in nature. Activities that require varying levels of effort are not appropriate for time studies.

Time Study Plan

Claimants must develop a time study plan before a time study is conducted. The claimant must retain the time study plan for audit purposes. The plan must identify the following:

- Time period(s) to be studied the plan must show that all time periods selected are representative of the fiscal year and that the results can be reasonably projected to approximate actual costs.
- Activities and/or programs to be studied for each mandated program included, the time study
 must separately identify each reimbursable activity defined in the mandated program's
 parameters and guidelines, which are derived from the program's statement of decision. If a
 reimbursable activity in the parameters and guidelines identifies separate and distinct subactivities, these sub-activities also must be treated as individual activities.

For example, sub-activities (a), (b), and (c) under reimbursable activity (B)(1) of the local agency's Domestic Violence Treatment Services: Authorization and Case Management Program, relate to information to be discussed during victim notification by the probation department and therefore are not separate and distinct activities. It is not necessary to separately study these sub-activities.

- Process used to accomplish each reimbursable activity use flowcharts or similar analytical tools and/or written desk procedures to describe the process followed to complete each activity.
- Employee universe the employee universe used in the time study must include all positions whose salaries and wages are to be allocated by means of the time study.
- Employee sample selection methodology the plan must show that employees selected are representative of the employee universe and that the results can be reasonably projected to approximate actual costs. In addition, the employee sample size should be proportional to the variation in time spent to perform a task. The sample size should be larger for tasks with significant time variations.
- Time increments to be recorded the time increments used should be sufficient to recognize the number of different activities performed and the dynamics of these responsibilities. Very large increments (such as one hour or more) can be used for employees performing only a few functions that change very slowly over time. Small increments (a number of minutes) can be used for employees performing more short-term tasks.

Random-moment sampling is not an acceptable alternative to continuous time records for mandated cost claims. Random-moment sampling techniques are most applicable in situations where employees perform many different types of activities on a variety of programs with small time increments throughout the fiscal year.

Time Study Documentation

Time studies must:

- Be supported by time records that are completed contemporaneously;
- Report activity on a daily basis;
- Be sufficiently detailed to reflect all mandated activities and/or programs performed during a specific time period; and
- Coincide with one or more pay periods.

Time records must be signed by the employee and be supported by documentation that validates that the work was actually performed. As with actual time reporting, budget estimates or other distribution percentages determined before services are performed do not qualify as valid time studies.

Time Study Results

Claimants must summarize time study results to show how the time study supports the costs claimed for each activity. Any variations from the procedures identified in the original time study plan must be documented and explained. Current-year costs must be used to prepare a time study. Claimants may project time study results to no more than two subsequent fiscal years. A claimant also may apply time study results retroactively to initial claims, current-year claims, and late-filed claims.

When projecting time study results, the claimant must certify that no significant changes have occurred between years in either (1) the requirements of each mandated program activity; or (2) the processes and procedures used to accomplish the activity. For all years, the claimant must maintain documentation that shows that the mandated activity was actually performed. Time study results used to support claims are subject to the record-keeping requirements for those claims.

11. Offset Against State Mandated Claims

As noted previously, allowable costs are defined as those direct and indirect costs, less applicable credits, considered to be eligible for reimbursement. When all or part of the costs of a mandated program are specifically reimbursable from local assistance revenue sources (e.g., state, federal, foundation, etc.), only that portion of any increased costs payable from SD and CSOS funds is eligible for reimbursement under the provisions of GC Section 17561.

Example 1:

As illustrated in Table 5, this example shows how the "Offset Against State Mandated Claims" is determined for a SD and CSOS receiving block grant revenues not based on a formula allocation. Program costs for each situation equal \$100,000.

	Program Costs	Actual Local Assistance Revenues	State Mandated Costs	Offset Against State Mandated Claims	Claimable Mandated Costs
1.	\$100,000	\$95,000	\$2,500	\$-0-	\$2,500
2.	100,000	97,000	2,500	-0-	2,500
3.	100,000	98,000	2,500	500	2,000
4.	100,000	100,000	2,500	2,500	-0-
5.	100,000 *	50,000	2,500	1,250	1,250
6.	100,000 *	49,000	2,500	250	2,250

Table 5: Offset Against State Mandates, Example 1

* CCD share is \$50,000 of the program cost.

Numbers (1) through (4), in Table 5, show intended funding at 100% from local assistance revenue sources. Numbers (5) and (6) show cost sharing on a 50/50 basis with the district. In numbers (1) through (6), included in the program costs of \$100,000 are state mandated costs of \$2,500. The offset against state mandated claims are the amount of actual local assistance revenues, which exceeds the difference between program costs and state mandated costs. This offset cannot exceed the amount of state mandated costs.

In (1), local assistance revenues were less than expected. Local assistance funding was not in excess of the difference between program costs and state mandated costs. As a result, the offset against state mandated claims is zero and \$2,500 is claimable as mandated costs.

In (4), local assistance revenues were fully realized to cover the entire cost of the program, including the state mandated activity; therefore, the offset against state mandated claims is \$2,500, and claimable cost is \$0.

In (5), the district is sharing 50% of the project cost. Since local assistance revenues of \$50,000 were fully realized, the offset against state mandated claims is \$1,250.

In (6), local assistance revenues were less than the amount expended and the offset against state mandated claims is \$250. Therefore, the claimable mandated costs are \$2,250.

Example 2:

As illustrated in Table 6, this example shows how the offset against state mandated claims is determined for a SD and CSOS receiving special project funds based on approved actual costs. Local assistance revenues for special projects must be applied proportionately to approve costs.

	Program Costs	Actual Local Assistance Revenues	State Mandated Costs	Offset Against State Mandated Claims	Claimable Mandated Costs
1.	\$100,000	\$100,000	\$2,500	\$2,500	\$-0-
2.	100,000 **	75,000	2,500	1,875	625
3.	100,000 **	45,000	1,500	1,125	375

 Table 6: Offset Against State Mandates, Example 2

** CCD share is \$25,000 of the program cost.

In (2), the entire program cost was approved. Since the local assistance revenue source covers 75% of the program cost, it also proportionately covered 75% of the \$2,500 state mandated costs, or \$1,875.

If in (3) local assistance revenues are less than the amount expected because only \$60,000 of the \$100,000 program costs were determined to be valid by the contracting agency, then a proportionate share of state mandated costs is likewise reduced to \$1,500. The offset against state mandated claims is \$1,125. Therefore, the claimable mandated costs are \$375.

Federal and State Funding Sources

State school fund apportionments and federal aid for education, which are based on ADA and are part of the general system of financing public schools as well as block grants which do not provide for specific reimbursement of costs (i.e., allocation formulas not tied to expenditures), should not be included as reimbursements from local assistance revenue sources.

Governing Authority

The costs of salaries and expenses of the governing authority, such as the school superintendent and governing board, are not reimbursable. These are costs of general government as described in the Office of Management and Budget Circular (OMB) 2 CFR Part 225.

12. Notice of Claim Adjustment

Pursuant to GC Section 17558.5, subdivision (b), the SCO may review any claim to determine if the costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and the claim was prepared in accordance with SCO's claiming instructions and the P's & G's adopted by CSM. If any

Table of Contents

adjustments are made to a claim, a "Notice of Claim Adjustment" specifying the claim component adjusted, the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment will be mailed within 30 days after payment of the claim.

13. Audit of Costs

Pursuant to GC Section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by SD and CSOS pursuant to this chapter is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed no later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting documents must be made available to SCO upon request.

14. Source Documents

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee records, or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, "I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct," and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure section 2015.5. Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

For costs incurred on or after January 1, 2005, a reasonable reimbursement methodology can be used as a formula for reimbursing a CCD mandated by the State that meets certain conditions specified in 17518.5(a). For costs incurred prior to January 1, 2005, time study can substitute for continuous records of actual time spent for a specific fiscal year only if the program's P's & G's allow for the use of time studies.

15. Claim Forms and Instructions

A claimant may submit a computer generated report in substitution for Form-1 and Form-2, provided the format of the report and data fields contained within the report are identical to the claim forms included with these instructions. The claim forms provided with these instructions should be duplicated and used by the claimant to file a reimbursement claim. SCO will revise the manual and claim forms as necessary.

A. Form-2, Activity Cost Detail

This form is used to segregate the detail costs by claim activity. In some mandates, specific reimbursable activities have been identified for each activity. The expenses reported on this form must be supported by the official financial records of the claimant and copies of supporting documentation, as specified in the claiming instructions, must be submitted with the claims. All supporting documents must be retained for a period of not less than three years after the reimbursement claim was filed or last amended.

B. Form-1, Claim Summary

This form is used to summarize direct costs by activity and compute allowable indirect costs for the mandate. The direct costs summarized on this form are derived from Form-2 and are carried forward to form FAM-27.

School districts and county superintendents of schools may compute the amount of indirect costs using the indirect cost rates approved by the California Department of Education based on J-380/580/780/SACS Expenditure Data applicable to the fiscal year of the claim.

C. Form FAM-27, Claim for Payment

This form contains a certification that must be signed by an authorized officer of the CCD. All applicable information from Form-1 must be carried forward onto this form in order for SCO to process the claim for payment. An original and one copy of the FAM-27 are required.

Claims should be rounded to the nearest dollar. Submit a signed original and one copy of form FAM-27, Claim for Payment, and all other forms and supporting documents (To expedite the payment process, please sign the form FAM-27 with blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.) Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by	If delivered by
<u>U.S. Postal Service:</u>	Other delivery services:
Office of the State Controller	Office of the State Controller
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section	Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Division of Accounting and Reporting	Division of Accounting and Reporting
P.O. Box 942850	3301 C Street, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA 94250	Sacramento, CA 95816

16. Retention of Claiming Instructions

For your convenience, the revised claiming instructions in this package have been arranged in alphabetical order by program name. These revisions should be inserted in the School District's Mandated Cost Manual and the old forms they replace should be removed. The instructions should then be retained permanently for future reference, and the forms should be duplicated to meet your filing requirements. Annually, updated forms and any other information or instructions claimants may need to file claims, as well as instructions and forms for all new programs released throughout the year will be placed on SCO's Web site at www.sco.ca.gov/ard/local/locreim/index.shtml.

If you have any questions concerning mandated cost reimbursements, please write to us at the address listed for filing claims, or send e-mail to Irsdar@sco.ca.gov, or call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729.

17. Retention of Claim Records and Supporting Documentation

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a SD and CSOS pursuant to this chapter is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in Section V, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated an audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting documents must be made available to SCO on request.

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER

STATE MANDATED COST CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2008-23

ANNUAL REVISIONS - SCHOOL DISTRICTS

OCTOBER 31, 2008

Government Code (GC) Section 17561 provides for the reimbursement of state mandated costs. Enclosed is information for updating the Mandated Cost Manual for Schools. The manual contains all forms and instructions that are necessary for school districts to file mandated cost claims with the State Controller's Office (SCO).

Reimbursement claims detailing the costs actually incurred in the 2007-08 fiscal year must be filed with SCO and be delivered or postmarked on or before **February 17, 2009**. If the reimbursement claim is filed after the deadline, but by **February 16, 2010**, the approved claim will be reduced by a late penalty of 10% without limit for initially filed claims and for continuing programs, the late fee is 10% not to exceed \$10,000. Claims will not be accepted if filed more than one year after the deadline.

Pursuant to GC Section 17561(d), the Controller will pay any eligible claim by August 15 or 45 days after the date the appropriation for the claim is effective, whichever is later.

Amounts appropriated for payment of program costs are shown beginning on page five under "Appropriations for the 2008-09 Fiscal Year." The fiscal years for which costs can be claimed for a program are shown beginning on page five under "Reimbursable State Mandated Cost Programs." To prepare for the 2007-08 reimbursement claims, forms in the manual should be duplicated to meet the district's filing requirements. Claim amounts should be rounded to the nearest dollar.

Submit a signed original and a copy of form FAM-27, Claim for Payment, and all other forms and supporting documents. (To expedite the payment process, please sign the form in blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.) Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by	If delivered by
U.S. Postal Service:	Other delivery services:
Office of the State Controller	Office of the State Controller
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section	Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Division of Accounting and Reporting	Division of Accounting and Reporting
P.O. Box 942850	3301 C Street, Suite 500
Sacramento, CA 94250	Sacramento, CA 95816

MINIMUM CLAIM COST

GC Section 17564(a) provides that no claim will be filed pursuant to Sections 17551 and 17561, unless such claim exceeds one thousand dollars (\$1,000), provided that a county superintendent of schools may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts within their county if the combined claim exceeds \$1,000, even if the individual school district's claim does not each exceed \$1,000. The county superintendent of schools must determine if the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and be responsible for disbursing the funds to each

school district. Combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools is the fiscal agent for the school districts. A combined claim must show the individual claim costs for each eligible school district. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate must only be filed in the combined form unless a school district provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the county superintendent of schools and to SCO at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim.

ESTIMATED CLAIMS

Pursuant to AB 8, Chapter 6, Statutes of 2008, the option to file estimated claims has been eliminated. Therefore, estimated claims filed on or after February 16, 2008, will not be accepted by SCO.

PROGRAM UPDATES FOR 2007-08 FISCAL YEAR

Updates of Rates and Factors

The following rates are to be used for filing 2007-08 reimbursement claims. These rates are computed by adjusting the 2006-07 rates by changes in the Implicit Price Deflator (IPD) as determined by the State Department of Finance's Report of April 30, 2008, *National Deflators, State and Local Purchases*. The change in the IPD for 2007-08 is 5.5%.

• Ch. 448/75, Consolidation of Annual Parent Notification/Schoolsite Discipline Rules/ Alternative Schools/Pupil Suspensions: Parent Classroom Visits (Program No. 272).

The 2007-08 unit rate is \$0.0822 per page of printed notification material distributed to parents and guardians, and \$0.3268 per notice.

• Ch. 961/75, Collective Bargaining (Program No. 11)

The 2007-08 GNP Deflator factor for adjusting the 1974-75 Winton Act cost is \$4.315.

• Ch. 498/83, Graduation Requirements (Program No. 26)

The 2007-08 maximum reimbursement hourly rate for contract services is \$147.77. Staffing cost reimbursement is limited to salary and other remuneration differentials, if any, of a science teacher, and the cost of lab assistants or special training aids required by a science class.

The addition of science classes should have resulted in offsetting savings due to a corresponding reduction of non-science classes.

• Ch. 1177/76, Immunization Records (Program No. 32)

The 2007-08 unit rate is \$6.84 per new entrant (K-12). A new entrant does not include a student previously enrolled in a school within the State of California.

Payment of the cost of immunization records for 1992-93 and subsequent fiscal years are made pursuant to the State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS) to those school districts with an established base year entitlement. An entitlement amount is determined by SCO by averaging the district's actual costs (from reimbursement claims filed) for 1989-90, 1990-91, and 1991-92, or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter, adjusted by changes in the IPD. The amount of apportionment the district receives for 1992-93 and subsequent fiscal years is the base year entitlement amount adjusted by annual changes in IPD and workload. "Workload" means change in the district's average daily attendance (ADA) from the previous fiscal year.

Once the district has filed actual costs for 1989-90 through 1991-92, or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter, no further filing of claims is necessary. The claimant will automatically receive an annual payment by November 30 of each fiscal year. A district without an established entitlement amount must continue to file reimbursement claims until three consecutive fiscal years of costs are available to compute a base year cost.

• Ch. 325/78, Immunization Records: Hepatitis B (Program No. 230)

The 2007-08 unit rate is \$8.22 per new entrant (K-12) and \$4.30 per student in the seventh grade. A new entrant does not include a student previously enrolled in a school within the State of California.

• Ch. 1423/84, Juvenile Court Notices II (Program No. 155)

The 2007-08 unit rates for the number of notices received from the juvenile court system and distributed to school district personnel is \$48.29 per notice received, and the number of written requests received from parents or guardian to review the record to ensure the record has been destroyed is \$34.33 per letter received.

• Ch. 498/83, Notification of Truancy (Program No. 48)

The 2007-08 unit cost reimbursement is \$17.28 per initial truancy notification. The unit cost covers all costs (direct and indirect), including, but not limited to, identifying the truant pupil, preparing and distributing by mail or other methods of notification to parents or guardians, and associated record keeping.

• Ch. 1347/80, Scoliosis Screening (Program No. 58)

The 2007-08 unit cost rate is \$8.20 per student screened. This rate covers all costs (direct and indirect), incurred including activities for, but not limited to, parent notification, screening, re-screening, referral and follow-up, record keeping, and administration of the program.

• Ch. 818/91, Aids Prevention Instruction II (Program No. 250)

The 2007-08 uniform cost allowance is \$0.0827 per notice. This uniform allowance covers all of the direct and indirect costs incurred in compliance with this mandate.

• *Ch.* 1208/76, *Pupil Health Screenings (Program 261)*

The 2007-08 uniform cost allowance for: (a) Notification to Parents is \$0.0805; (b) Obtaining Parental Compliance is \$5.55; (c) Exclusion of Pupils is \$14.61; (d) Statistical Reporting is not applicable since the reimbursement period expired 12/31/04.

• Ch. 1253/56, Pupil Suspensions, Expulsions, and Expulsion Appeals (Program 176)

The 2007-08 unit cost rates are as follows: Preparation for expulsion hearing - \$173.86; conducting the expulsion hearing - \$217.22; for the hearing officer's or panel's expulsion recommendation to the Governing Board - \$256.91; and for the record of hearing \$2.21.

• Ch. 465/76, Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights (Program 186)

The 2007-08 unit cost rate for the Flat Rate Method is \$39.31.

APPROPRIATIONS FOR THE 2008-09 FISCAL YEAR

Item 6110-295-0001

Item 6					
272	(1)	Ch.	36/77	Annual Parent Notification	\$1,000
172	(2)	Ch.	98/94	Caregiver Affidavits	1,000
153	(3)	Ch.	161/93	Intradistrict Attendance	1,000
42	(4)	Ch.	486/75	Mandate Reimbursement Process	$1,000^{1}$
26	(5)	Ch.	498/83	Graduation Requirements	1,000
48	(6)	Ch.	498/83	Notification of Truancy	1,000
176	(7)	Ch.	498/83	Pupil Suspensions, Expulsions/Expulsion Appeals	1,000
277	(8)	Ch.	781/92	Charter Schools III	1,000
N/A	(9)	Ch.	799/80	PERS Death Benefits	$1,000^2$
250	(10)	Ch.	818/91	AIDS Prevention Instruction I and II	1,000
11	(11)	Ch.	961/75	Collective Bargaining	1,000
261	(12)	Ch.	1208/76	Pupil Health Screenings	1,000
173	(13)	Ch.	975/95	Physical Performance Tests	1,000
155	(14)	Ch.	1011/84	Juvenile Court Notices II	1,000
57	(15)	Ch.	1107/84	Removal of Chemicals	1,000
157	(16)	Ch.	1117/89	Law Enforcement Agency Notifications	1,000
32	(17)	Ch.	1176/77	Immunization Records	1,000
166	(18)	Ch.	1184/75	Habitual Truants	1,000
176	(19)	Ch.	1253/75	Pupil Expulsion Transcripts	1,000
150	(20)	Ch.	1306/89	Notification to Teachers of Public Expulsion	1,000
58	(21)	Ch.	1347/80	Scoliosis Screening	1,000
N/A	(22)	Ch.	1398/74	PERS Unused Sick Leave Credit	$1,000^2$
182	(23)	Ch.	309/95	Pupil Residency Verification and Appeals	1,000
251	(24)	Ch.	588/97	Criminal Background Checks II	1,000
184	(25)	Ch.	624/92	School Bus Safety I and II	0^3
186	(26)	Ch.	465/76	Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights	1,000
192	(27)	Ch.	36/77	Financial and Compliance Audits	1,000
195	(28)	Ch.	640/97	Physical Education Reports	1,000
198	(29)	Ch.	1120/96	Health Benefits for Survivors of Peace Officers & Firefighters	0 3
209	(30)	Ch.		County Office of Education Fiscal Accountability Reporting	1,000
258				School District Fiscal Accountability Reporting	1,000
194			126/93	Law Enforcement Sexual Harassment Training	0^{3}
206	(33)	Ch.	784/95	County Treasury Withdrawals	0^3
223		Ch.	736/97	Comprehensive School Safety Plans	1,000
230			325/78	Immunization Records-Hepatitis B	1,000
228			1192/80	School District Reorganization	1,000
249	(37)	Ch.	34/98	Charter Schools II	1,000
251		Ch.		Criminal Background Checks II	1,000
226			1170/96	Grand Jury Proceedings	1,000
244	(40)	Ch.	100/81	Pupil Promotion and Retention	1,000
252	(41)	Ch.	331/98	Teacher Incentive Program	1,000
253	(42)	Ch.	30/98	Differential Pay and Reemployment	1,000
Total .	Appro	opriat	tions, Ite	m 6110-295-0001	\$38,000

¹ This program has been set aside by the Commission on State Mandates and is presently in litigation.

² Numbers (9) and (22) are for transfer to the Public Employees' Retirement Fund for reimbursement of costs incurred pursuant to 799/80 or 1398/74.

³ These programs have been suspended for the 2007-08 and 2008-09 fiscal years.

REIMBURSABLE STATE MANDATED COST PROGRAMS

An "x" indicates the fiscal year for which a claim may be filed with SCO.

2007-08 Reimbursement Claims	Pgm. #			ricts and County Offices of Education
X	170	Ch.	77/78	
x^4	269	Ch.	893/00	Agency Fee Arrangements
Х	250	Ch.	818/91	AIDS Prevention Instruction II
Х	172	Ch.	98/94	Caregiver Affidavits
Х	278	Ch.	781/92	Charter Schools I, II, & III
Х	209	Ch.	917/87	COE Fiscal Accountability Reporting
Х	11	Ch.	961/75	Collective Bargaining
Х	223	Ch.	736/97	Comprehensive School Safety Plans
Х	272	Ch.	448/75	Consolidation of Annual Parent Notification/Schoolsite Discipline Rules/Alternative Schools
\mathbf{x}^4	276	Ch.	1117/89	Consolidation of Law Enforcement Agency Notifications (LEAN) and Missing Children Reports (MCR)
Х	251	Ch.	594/98	Criminal Background Checks II
Х	253	Ch.	30/98	Differential Pay and Re-employment
Х	192	Ch.	36/77	Financial and Compliance Audits
Х	26	Ch.	498/83	Graduation Requirements
Х	166	Ch.	1184/75	Habitual Truant
Х	198	Ch.	1120/96	Health Benefits for Survivors of Peace Officers & Firefighters
\mathbf{x}^4	268	Ch.	1/99	High School Exit Exam
Х	32	Ch.	1176/77	Immunization Records
Х	230	Ch.	325/78	Immunization Records: Hepatitis B
Х	153	Ch.	161/93	Intradistrict Attendance
Х	155	Ch.	1011/84	Juvenile Court Notices II
Х	265	Ch.	828/97	National Norm-Referenced Achievement Test
Х	48	Ch.	498/83	Notification of Truancy
x ⁵	150	Ch.	1306/89	Notification to Teachers: Pupils Subject to Suspension or Expulsion
Х	186	Ch.	465/76	Peace Officers Procedural Bill of Rights
Х	214	Ch.	875/85	Photographic Record of Evidence
Х	195	Ch.	640/97	Physical Education Reports
Х	173	Ch.	975/95	Physical Performance Tests
Х	261	Ch.	965/77	Pupil Health Screenings
Х	244	Ch.	100/81	Pupil Promotion and Retention
Х	182	Ch.	309/95	Pupil Residency Verification and Appeals
Х	176	Ch.	1253/75	Pupil Suspensions, Expulsions, and Expulsion Appeals

⁴ These are new programs and no funding has been appropriated yet.
 ⁵ Program ends 07-08. For 08-09 and following use program 292, Consolidation of NTT I & II and PDR.

REIMBURSABLE STATE MANDATED COST PROGRAMS (Cont'd.)

2007-08 Reimbursement Claims	Pgm #	School Districts and County Offices of Education				
Х	57	Ch.	1107/84	Removal of Chemicals		
Х	258	Ch.	100/81	School District Fiscal Accountability Reporting		
Х	228	Ch.	1192/80	School District Reorganization		
Х	58	Ch.	1347/80	Scoliosis Screening		
Х	252	Ch.	331/98	Teacher Incentive Program		
Х	260	Ch.	498/83	The Stull Act		
Х	162	Ch.	1249/92	Threats Against Peace Officers		

Initial Claims

Х	280	Ch.	498/83	Pupil Safety Notices
Х	286	Ch.	603/94	California State Teachers' Retirement System (CalSTRS)
				Service Credit
Х	291	Ch.	345/00	Pupil Discipline Records, and Notification to Teachers: Pupils
				Subject to Suspension or Expulsion II

PROGRAMS SUSPENDED FOR THE 2007-08 AND 2008-09 FISCAL YEARS

Pursuant to GC §17581.5, the following education state mandated programs are identified in the 2007 and 2008 State Budget Act, with a \$0 appropriation by the Legislature. Therefore, no claims for these programs may be filed for the 2007-08 and 2008-09 fiscal years.

Pgm.

206	Ch. 784/95	County Treasury Oversight Committee
198	Ch. 1120/96	Health Benefits for Survivors of Peace Officers & Firefighters
226	Ch. 1170/96	Grand Jury Proceedings
194	Ch. 126/93	Law Enforcement Sexual Harassment Training
184	Ch. 624/92	School Bus Safety I & II

The following education state mandated programs have been determined to be optional, repealed, or overturned by the court:

Pgm.

148	Ch. 172/86	Interdistrict Attendance Permits
149	Ch. 172/86	Interdistrict Transfer Requests: Parent's Employment
165	Ch. 668/78	Pupil Exclusions (AB 2855 and SB 512 eff. 1/1/05 and 10/7/05 resp.)
156	Ch. 160/93	School District of Choice: Transfers and Appeals
199	Ch. 1138/93	Schoolsite Councils and Brown Act Reform
146	Ch. 87/86	Schoolsite Discipline Rules

The Commission on State Mandates has set aside the following programs:

Pgm.

179	Ch. 778/96	American Government Course Documentation Requirements
42^{6}	Ch. 486/75	Mandated Reimbursement Process
218^{6}	Ch. 641/86	Open Meetings/Brown Act Reform (AB 138 effective 07/19/05)
109^{7}	Ch. 1607/84	School Crimes Statistic Reporting and Validation
151^{7}	Ch. 965/77	Pupil Classroom Suspensions: Counseling
154^{7}	Ch. 965/77	Pupil Suspension: Parent Classroom Visits
171 ⁶	Ch. 1463/89	School Accountability Report Cards (AB 2855 and SB 512 eff. 1/1/05)
190^{7}	Ch. 759/92	School Crime Reporting II

⁶ These programs have been set aside by the Commission on State Mandates pursuant to AB 138, Ch. 72/05, effective 07/19/05. They are presently in litigation.

⁷ These programs have been set aside by the Commission on State Mandates pursuant to AB 2855, Ch. 895/04, effective 01/01/05 and AB 38, Ch. 72/05, effective 07/19/05.

AUDIT OF COSTS

All claims submitted to SCO are reviewed to determine if costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and that the claim was prepared in accordance with SCO's claiming instructions and the Commission on State Mandate's Parameters and Guidelines (Ps and Gs). If any adjustments are made to a claim, a "Notice of Claim Adjustment" specifying the claim component adjusted, the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment will be mailed within 30 days after payment of the claim.

On-site audits will be conducted by SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC §17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a school district is subject to audit by the State Controller no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be made available to SCO on request.

SOURCE DOCUMENTS

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. Actual costs are those costs incurred to implement the mandated activities. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification stating: "I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct based upon personal knowledge." Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

RETENTION OF CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS

For your convenience, the revised claiming instructions in this package have been arranged in alphabetical order by program name. These revisions should be inserted in the School Mandated Cost Manual to replace the old forms. The instructions should then be retained permanently for future reference and the forms should be duplicated to meet your filing requirements. Annually, updated forms and any other information or instructions claimants may need to file claims, as well as instructions and forms for all new programs released throughout the year will be placed on SCO's Web site at **www.sco.ca.gov/ard/local/locreim/index.shtml**.

If you have any questions concerning mandated cost reimbursements, please write to us at Office of the State Controller, Local Reimbursements Section, Division of Accounting and Reporting, P. O. Box 942850, Sacramento, CA 94250; send e-mail to <u>LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov</u>; or call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729.

Table of Contents

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER STATE MANDATED COST CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2008-03 NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY

APRIL 4, 2008

Revised January 30, 2009

In accordance with Government Code (GC) Section 17561, eligible claimants may submit claims to the State Controller's Office (SCO) for reimbursement of state mandated cost programs. The following are claiming instructions and forms that eligible claimants will use for filing claims for the Notification of Truancy (NOT) program. These claiming instructions are issued subsequent to adoption of the program's amended Parameters and Guidelines (P's & G's) by the Commission on State Mandates (CSM).

On January 31, 2008, CSM adopted the attached amended P's and G's for NOT, which is effective July 1, 2006. For your reference, the amended P's & G's are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.

Limitations and Exceptions

There shall be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the operation of a mandate pursuant to Government Code section 17581.5.

If an actual claim was filed for fiscal year 2006-07, you may file an amended claim for all costs including the increased costs based on the new definition of truancy. If no claim was previously filed you may file for fiscal year 2006-07 by **August 4, 2008**, without being assessed a late claim penalty.

Eligible Claimants

Except for community colleges, any school district or county office of education as defined in GC section 17519, that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate, is eligible to claim reimbursement.

Filing Deadlines

A. Reimbursement Claims

A reimbursement claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed with SCO by a school district for reimbursement of costs incurred for which an appropriation is made for the purpose of paying the claim.

An actual claim may be filed by February 15 following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. If the filing date falls on a weekend or holiday, the filing deadline will be the next business day. Since the 15th falls on a weekend in 2009, claims for fiscal year 2007-08 will be accepted without penalty if postmarked or delivered on or before February 17, 2009. Claims filed after the deadline will be reduced by a late penalty of 10%, not to exceed \$10,000. However, initial reimbursement claims will be reduced by a late penalty of 10% with no limitation. Claims filed more than one year after the deadline will not be accepted.

Documentation to support actual costs must be kept on hand by the claimant and made available to SCO upon request as explained in Section 16 of the instructions.

B. Estimated Claims

Pursuant to AB 8, Chapter 6, Statutes of 2008, the option to file estimated claims has been eliminated. Therefore, estimated claims filed on or after February 16, 2008, will not be accepted by SCO.

Minimum Claim Cost

GC Section 17564(a) provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to Sections 17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars (**\$1,000**), provided that a county superintendent of schools may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts within their county if the combined claim exceeds **\$1,000**, even if the individual school district's claim does not each exceed **\$1,000**. The county superintendent of schools will determine if the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school district. These combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools is the fiscal agent for the districts. A combined claim must show the individual claim costs for each eligible school district. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate will only be filed in the combined form unless a school district provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the county superintendent of schools and to SCO at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim.

Reimbursement of Claims

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities.

A source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations.

Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, "I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct," and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure Section 2015.5.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

Audit of Costs

All claims submitted to SCO are reviewed to determine if costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with SCO's claiming instructions and the P's & G's adopted by CSM. If any adjustments are made to a claim, a "Notice of Claim Adjustment" specifying the activity adjusted, the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment, will be mailed within 30 days after payment of the claim.

Pursuant to GC Section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to audit by SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings.

On-site audits will be conducted by SCO as deemed necessary. Accordingly, all documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years after the end of the calendar year in which the reimbursement claim was filed or last amended regardless of the year of costs incurred. When no funds were appropriated for initial claims at the time the claim was filed, supporting documents must be retained for three years from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and shall be made available to the SCO on request.

Retention of Claiming Instructions

The claiming instructions and forms in this package should be retained permanently in your Mandated Cost Manual for future reference and use in filing claims. These forms should be duplicated to meet your filing requirements. You will be notified of updated forms or changes to claiming instructions as necessary.

Questions, or requests for hard copies of these instructions, should be faxed to Angie Lowi-Teng at (916) 323-6527 or e-mailed to **LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov.** Or, if you wish, you may call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729. For your reference, these and future mandated costs claiming instructions and forms can be found on the Internet at **www.sco.ca.gov/ard/local/locreim/index.shtml**.

Address for Filing Claims

Claims should be rounded to the nearest dollar. Submit a signed original and a copy of form FAM-27, Claim for Payment, and all other forms and supporting documents.

To expedite the payment process, please sign the form in blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.

Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

Office of the State Controller Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting P.O. Box 942850 Sacramento, CA 94250 If delivered by other delivery services:

Office of the State Controller Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting 3301 C Street, Suite 500 Sacramento, CA 95816
 Adopted:
 8/27/87

 Amended:
 7/28/88

 Amended:
 7/22/93

 Amended:
 1/31/08

AMENDMENTS TO PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES AS DIRECTED BY THE LEGISLATURE

Statutes 2007, Chapter 69 (AB 1698)

Education Code Section 48260.5 Statutes 1983, Chapter 498 [Statutes 1994, Chapter 1023] [Statutes 1995, Chapter 19]

Notification of Truancy 07-PGA-01 (4133)

I. BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY OF MANDATE

Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, added Education Code Section 48260.5 which requires school districts, upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant, to notify the pupil's parent or guardian by first-class mail or other reasonable means of (1) the pupil's truancy; (2) that the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school; and (3) that parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subject to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with section 48290) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.

Additionally, the district must inform parents and guardians of (1) alternative educational programs available in the district, and (2) the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.

A truancy occurs when a student is absent from school without valid excuse three (3) full days in one school year, or is tardy or absent without valid excuse for more than any thirty (30)-minute period during the school day on n three (3) occasions in one school year, or any combination thereof. (Definition from Ed. Code, § 48260, as amended by Stats. 1994, ch. 1023 and Stats. 1995, ch. 19.)

Upon a student's initial classification as a truant, the school must perform the requirements mandated by Education Code section 48260.5 as enacted by Statutes 1983, chapter 498 and amended by Statutes 1994, chapter 1023, and Statutes 1995, chapter 19.

Board of Control Decision

On November 29, 1984, the State Board of Control determined that Education Code Section 48260.5, as added by Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, constitutes a state mandated program because it requires an increased level of service by requiring specified notifications be sent to the parents or guardians of pupils upon initial classification of truancy.

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines

The Legislature directed the Commission on State Mandates to revise the parameters and guidelines to modify the definition of truant and the required elements to be included in the initial truancy notifications to conform reimbursable activities to Statutes 1994, chapter 1023, and Statutes 1995, chapter 19, effective July 1, 2006. (Stats., 2007, ch. 69 (AB 1698).)

II. <u>ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS</u>

The claimants are all school districts and county offices of education of the state of California, except a community college district, as defined by Government Code Section 17519 (formerly Revenue and Taxation Code 2208.5), that incur increased costs as a result of implementing the program activities of Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

III. <u>PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT</u>

The amendments to the parameters and guidelines adopted on January 31, 2008 are effective July 1, 2006.

IV. <u>REIMBURSABLE COSTS</u>

A. Scope of Mandate

The eligible claimant shall be reimbursed for only those costs incurred for planning the notification process, revising district procedures, the printing and distribution of notification forms, and associated record keeping.

B. Reimbursable Activities

For each eligible school district the direct and indirect costs of labor, supplies, and services incurred for the following mandated program activities are reimbursable:

1. Planning and Preparation -- One-time

Planning the method of implementation, revising school district policies, and designing and printing the forms.

2. Notification process -- On-going

Identifying the truant pupils to receive the notification, preparing and distributing by first-class mail or other reasonable means the forms to parents/guardians, and associated recordkeeping to provide parents/guardians with the following required information upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant:

- a. That the pupil is truant.
- b. That the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school.
- c. That parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subjet to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with Section 48260) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.

- d. That alternative educational programs are available in the district.
- e. That the parent or guardian has the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.
- f. That the pupil may be subject to prosecution under Section 48264.
- g. That the pupil may be subject to suspension, restriction, or delay of the pupil's driving privileges pursuant to Section 13202.7 of the Vehicle Code.
- h. That it is recommended that the parent or guardian accompany the pupil to school and attend classes with the pupil for one day.
- C. Uniform Cost Allowance

Pursuant to Government Code section 17557, the Commission on State Mandates has adopted a uniform cost allowance for reimbursement in lieu of payment of total actual costs incurred. The uniform cost allowance is based on the number of initial notifications of truancy distributed pursuant to Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

For fiscal year 1992-93, the uniform cost allowance is \$10.21 per initial notification of truancy distributed. The cost allowance shall be adjusted each subsequent year by the Implicit Price Deflator.

D. Unique Costs

School districts incurring unique costs within the scope of the reimbursable mandated activities may submit a request to amend the parameters and guidelines to the Commission for the unique costs to be approved for reimbursement, Pursuant to Section 1185.3, Title 2, California Code of Regulations, such requests must be made by November 30 immediately following the fiscal year of the reimbursement claim in which reimbursement for the costs is requested.

V. <u>CLAIM PREPARATION</u>

Each claim for reimbursement pursuant to Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, must be timely filed and provide documentation in support of the reimbursement claimed for this mandated program.

A. Uniform Cost Allowance Reimbursement

Report the number of initial notifications of truancy distributed during the year. Do not include in that count the number of notifications or other contacts which may result from the initial notification to the parent or guardian.

B. Recognized Unique Costs

As of fiscal year 1992-93, the Commission has not identified any circumstances which would cause a school district to incur additional costs to implement this mandate which have not already been incorporated in the uniform cost allowance.

If and when the Commission recognizes any unique circumstances which can cause the school district to incur additional reasonable costs to implement this mandated program, these unique implementation costs will be reimbursed for specified fiscal years in addition to the uniform cost allowance.

School districts which incur these recognized unique costs will be required to support those actual costs in the following manner:

1. Narrative Statement of Unique Costs Incurred

Provide a detailed written explanation of the costs associated with the unique circumstances recognized by the Commission.

2. Employee Salaries and Benefits

Identify the employee(s) and their job classification, describe the mandated functions performed, and specify the actual number of hours devoted to each function, the productive hourly rate, and the related benefits. The staff time claimed must be supported by source documentation, such as time reports, however, the average number of hours devoted to each function may be claimed if supported by a documented time study.

3. Services and Supplies

Only expenditures which can be identified as a direct cost as a result of the mandated program can be claimed. List cost of materials which have been consumed or expended specifically for the purposes of this mandated program.

4. Allowable Overhead Costs

School districts must use the J-380 (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the California Department of Education. County offices of education must use the J-73A (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the State Department of Education.

VI. <u>SUPPORTING DATA</u>

For auditing purposes, documents must be kept on file for a period of 3 years from the date of final payment by the State Controller, unless otherwise specified by statute and be made available at the request of the State Controller or his agent.

A. Uniform Allowance Reimbursement

Documentation which indicates the total number of initial notifications of truancy distributed.

B. Reimbursement of Unique Costs

In addition to maintaining the **same** documentation as required for uniform cost allowance reimbursement, all costs claimed must be traceable to source documents **and/or** worksheets that show evidence of the validity of such **costs**.

VIII. OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND OTHER REIMBURSEMENT

Any offsetting savings the claimants experience as a direct result of this statute must be deducted from the uniform cost allowance and actual cost reimbursement for unique circumstances claimed. In addition, reimbursement for this mandated program received from any source, e.g., federal, state, etc., shall be identified and deducted from this claim.

IX. <u>REQUIRED CERTIFICATION</u>

An authorized representative of the claimant will be required to provide a certification of claim, as specified in the State Controller% claiming instructions, for those costs mandated by the state contained herein.

School Mandated Cost Manual

CLAIM FOR PAYMENT Pursuant to Government Code Section 17561 NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY			For State Controller Use C	Only PROGRAM
			(19) Program Number 00048 (20) Date Filed (21) LRS Input	048
(01) Claimant Iden	tification Number		Reimbursement Claim Data	
(02) Claimant Nam	e		(22) FORM-1, (03)	
Address			(23)	
			(24)	
			(25)	
Type of Claim	Estimated Claim	Reimbursement Claim	(26)	
	(03)	(09) Reimbursement	(27)	
	(04)	(10) Combined	(28)	
	(05)	(11) Amended	(29)	
Fiscal Year of Cost	(06)	(12)	(30)	
Total Claimed Amount	(07)	(13)	(31)	
	Penalty (Refer to claim	(14)	(32)	
<i>i</i>	m Payment Received	(15)	(33)	
Net Claimed Am	ount	(16)	(34)	
Due from State	(08)	(17)	(35)	
Due to State		(18)	(36)	
(37) CERTIFIC	ATION OF CLAIM	•		
file mandated cos	t claims with the State of C		at I am the officer authorized by the ertify under penalty of perjury that the ertify under penalty of perjury the ertify	
of costs claimed h savings and reim	nerein; and such costs are f	or a new program or increased e Parameters and Guidelines ar	or any grant or payment received level of services of an existing pro re identified, and all costs claime	ogram. All offsetting
			or payment of actual costs set for alifornia that the foregoing is true	
Signature of Autho	rized Officer		Date	
Type or Print Name			Title	
(38) Name of Contact Person for Claim		Telephone Number		
		E-mail Address		

School Mandated Cost Manual

	m	School Manualeu	
Progra 048	B NOTIFICATION OF 1 Certification Clair Instruction	n Form	FORM FAM-27
(01)	Enter the payee number assigned by the State Controller's Office).	
(02)	Enter your Official Name, County of Location, Street or P. O. Box	address, City, State, and Zip Code.	
(03)	Leave blank.		
(04)	Leave blank.		
(05)	Leave blank.		
(06)	Leave blank.		
(07)	Leave blank.		
(08)	Leave blank.		
(09)	If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement.		
(10)	If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined.		
(11)	If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended.		
(12)	Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete a separate form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.		
(13)	Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim from Form-1, line (08). The total claimed amount must exceed \$1,000.		
(14)	Actual claims for fiscal year 06-07 must be filed by August 4, 2008, and for fy 07-08 must be filed by February 17, 2009 , otherwise the claims will be reduced by a late penalty.		
(15)	If filing a reimbursement claim or a claim was previously filed for the same fiscal year, enter the amount received for the claim. Otherwise, enter a zero.		
(16)	Enter the result of subtracting line (14) and line (15) from line (13).		
(17)	If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State.		
(18)	If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State.		
(19) to (21)	Leave blank.		
(22) to (36)	Reimbursement Claim Data. Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., Form-1, (03), means the information is located on Form-1, block (03). Enter the information on the same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% should be shown as 8. Completion of this data block will expedite the payment process .		
(37)	Read the statement "Certification of Claim." If it is true, the claim must be dated, signed by the district's authorized officer, and must include the person's name and title, typed or printed. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original signed certification. (To expedite the payment process, please sign the form FAM-27 with blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.)		
(38)	Enter the name, telephone number, and e-mail address of the person to contact if additional information is required.		
	SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL, AND A COPY OF FORM DOCUMENTS TO:	FAM-27, WITH ALL OTHER FORMS AND	SUPPORTING
	Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service:	Address, if delivered by other delivery servi	ce:
	OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting P.O. Box 942850 Sacramento, CA 94250	OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting 3301 C Street, Suite 500 Sacramento, CA 95816	

Program 048		MANDATED COSTS NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY CLAIM SUMMARY	form 1
(01) Claimant		(02)	Fiscal Year /
Claim Statisti	cs		
(03) Number c	of truant notifications		
(04) Unit Cost		[\$17.28 for fiscal year 2007-08]	
(05) Total Cos	ts	[Line (03) x line (04)]	
Cost Reduction	on		
(06) Less: Off	setting Savings		
(07) Less: Oth	ner Reimbursements		
(08) Total Clai	med Amount	[Line (05) - {line (06) + line (07)}]	

Program	NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY	FORM
048	CLAIM SUMMARY Instructions	1

- (01) Enter the name of the claimant. If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A Form-1 should be completed for each department.
- (02) Enter the fiscal year of costs.
- (03) Enter the number of truant notifications that were sent during the fiscal year of claim, upon the students' initial classification of truancy.
- (04) The unit cost rate for fiscal year 07-08 is \$17.28 per initial notification. This unit cost rate will be updated annually in the Annual Revisions for Schools issued in September.
- (05) Multiply line (03), the number of truant notifications by line (04), the unit cost rate.
- (06) Less: Offsetting Savings. If applicable, enter the total savings experienced by the claimant as a direct result of this mandate. Submit a detailed schedule of savings with the claim.
- (07) Less: Other Reimbursements. If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, that reimbursed any portion of the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.
- (08) Total Claimed Amount. From Total Costs, line (05), subtract the sum of Offsetting Savings, line (06), and Other Reimbursements, line (07). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to form FAM-27, line (13) for the Reimbursement Claim.

A. STATE OF CALIFORNIA TRAVEL EXPENSE GUIDELINES

Travel Program Effective January 31, 2002

The travel reimbursement program continues to be subject to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requirements for an accountable plan. There are no flat rate reimbursements. All items are to be claimed for the actual amount of expense, up to the maximum allowed. If the provisions below do not require submission of a receipt for a given item of expense, it is the employee's responsibility to retain receipts and other records of the expense and have them available for audit.

Lodging and meals that are provided by the State, including hotel expenses, conference fees, or transportation costs such as airline tickets; or otherwise provided shall not be claimed for reimbursement.

Employees may be reimbursed for actual expenses for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and incidentals for each 24 hours of travel, as follows:

Breakfast	up to	\$6.00
Lunch	up to	10.00
Dinner	up to	18.00
Incidentals	up to	6.00

Incidental expenses include, but are not limited to, expenses for laundering and pressing of clothing and tips for services such as porters and baggage handlers. Incidentals do not include taxicab fares, lodging taxes, or the cost of telegrams or telephone calls.

Lodging

All lodging reimbursements require a receipt from a commercial lodging establishment such as a hotel, motel, bed and breakfast inn, or campground that caters to the general public. No lodging will be reimbursed without a valid receipt. Employees who stay with friends or relatives are not eligible for lodging reimbursement, but may claim their actual expenses for meals and incidentals.

Short-Term Travel

- **A.** For continuous short-term travel of more than 24 hours but less than 31 days, the employee will be reimbursed for actual costs up to the maximum for each meal, incidental, and lodging expense for each completed 24 hours of travel, beginning with the traveler's time of departure and return as follows:
 - 1. On the first day of travel at the beginning of a trip of more than 24 hours:

Trip begins at or before 6 a.m. - Breakfast may be claimed

Trip begins at or before 11 a.m	Lunch may be claimed
---------------------------------	----------------------

Trip begins at or before 5 p.m. - Dinner may be claimed

2. On the fractional day of travel at the end of a trip of more than 24 hours:

Trip ends at or after 8 a.m. - Breakfast may be claimed

Trip ends at or after 2 p.m. - Lunch may be claimed

Trip ends at or after 7 p.m. - Dinner may be claimed

If the fractional day includes an overnight stay, receipted lodging may be claimed. No meal or lodging expenses may be claimed or reimbursed more than once on any given date or during any 24-hour period.

B. For continuous travel of less than 24 hours, the employee will be reimbursed for actual expenses, up to a maximum as follows:

Travel begins at or before 6 a.m. and ends at or after 9 a.m. - Breakfast may be claimed Travel begins at or before 4 p.m. and ends at or after 7 p.m. - Dinner may be claimed

If the trip extends overnight, receipted lodging may be claimed. No lunch or incidentals may be claimed on a trip of less than 24 hours.

Short-Term Travel Maximum Lodging Reimbursement Rate

- A. Statewide except as in (B) and (C) below, actual receipted lodging up to \$84 plus tax.
- **B.** When required to conduct state business and obtain lodging in the counties of Los Angeles and San Diego, reimbursement will be for actual receipted lodging, to a maximum of \$110 plus tax.
- **C.** When required to conduct state business and obtain lodging in the counties of Alameda, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Santa Clara, reimbursement will be for actual receipted lodging, to a maximum of \$140 plus tax.

Long-Term Travel

Actual expenses for long-term meals and receipted lodging will be reimbursed when the employee incurs expenses in one location comparable to those arising from the use of establishments catering to long-term visitors.

A. Full Long-Term Travel

To qualify for full long-term travel reimbursement, the employee on a long-term field assignment must meet the following criteria:

- a) The employee continues to maintain a permanent residence at the primary headquarters, and either,
- b) The permanent residence is occupied by the employee's dependents, or
- c) The permanent residence is maintained at a net expense to the employee exceeding \$200 per month.

The employee who is living at the long-term location may claim either:

- Reimbursement for actual individual expense, substantiated by receipts for lodging, water, sewer, gas, and electricity, up to a maximum of \$1,130 per calendar month while on the long-term assignment, and actual expenses up to \$10 for meals and incidentals, for each period of 12 to 24 hours and up to \$5 for actual meals and incidentals for each period of less than 12 hours at the long-term location, or
- 2. Long-term subsistence rates of \$24 for actual meals and incidentals, \$24 for receipted lodging for travel of 12 hours up to 24 hours, and either \$24 for actual meals or \$24 for receipted lodging for travel less than 12 hours when the employee incurs expenses in one location comparable to those arising from the use of establishments catering to long-term visitors.

B. Partial Long-Term Travel

An employee on long-term field assignment who does not maintain a separate residence in the headquarters area may claim long-term subsistence rates of up to \$12 for actual meals and incidentals and \$12 for receipted lodging for travel of 12 hours up to 24 hours at the long-term location, and either \$12 for actual meals or \$12 for receipted lodging for travel less than 12 hours at the long-term location.

Receipts

Receipts or vouchers shall be submitted for every item of expense of \$25 or more.

- a) Receipts are required for every item of transportation and business expense incurred as a result of conducting state business except for actual expenses as follows:
 - 1. Railroad and bus fares of less than \$25, when travel is wholly within the State of California.
 - 2. Street car, ferry fares, bridge and road tolls, local rapid transit system, taxi, shuttle, or hotel bus fares, and parking fees of \$10 or less for each continuous period of parking or each separate transportation expense noted in this item.
 - 3. Telephone, telegraph, tax, or other business charges related to state business of \$5 or less.
 - 4. In the absence of a receipt, reimbursement will be limited to the non-receipted amount above.
- b) Reimbursement will be claimed only for the actual and necessary expenses noted above. Regardless of the above exceptions, the approving officer may require additional certification and/or explanation in order to determine that an expense was actually and reasonably incurred. In the absence of a satisfactory explanation, the expense shall not be allowed.

Mileage

When an employee is authorized by his/her appointing authority or designee to operate a privately owned vehicle on state business, effective January 1, 2009, the employee will be allowed to claim and be reimbursed 55 cents per mile.

B. GOVERNMENT CODE SECTIONS 17500-17617

GC §17500: Legislative Findings and Declarations

The Legislature finds and declares that the existing system for reimbursing local agencies and school districts for the costs of state-mandated local programs has not provided for the effective determination of the state's responsibilities under Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. The Legislature finds and declares that the failure of the existing process to adequately and consistently resolve the complex legal questions involved in the determination of state-mandated costs has led to an increasing reliance by local agencies and school districts on the judiciary and, therefore, in order to relieve unnecessary congestion of the judicial system, it is necessary to create a mechanism which is capable of rendering sound quasi-judicial decisions and providing an effective means of resolving disputes over the existence of state-mandated local programs. It is the intent of the Legislature in enacting this part to provide for the implementation of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. Further, the Legislature intends that the Commission on State Mandates, as a quasi-judicial body, will act in a deliberative manner in accordance with the requirements of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution.

GC §17510: Construction of Part

Unless the context otherwise requires, the definitions contained in this chapter govern the construction of this part. The definition of a word applies to any variants thereof and the singular tense of a word includes the plural.

GC §17511: "City"

"City" means any city whether general law or charter, except a city and county.

GC §17512: "Commission"

"Commission" means the Commission on State Mandates.

GC §17513: "Cost Mandated by the Federal Government"

"Costs mandated by the federal government" means any increased costs incurred by a local agency or school district after January 1, 1973, in order to comply with the requirements of a federal statute or regulation. "Costs mandated by the federal government" includes costs resulting from enactment of a state law or regulation where failure to enact that law or regulation to meet specific federal program or service requirements imposed upon the state would result in substantial monetary penalties or loss of funds to public or private persons in the state whether the federal law was enacted before or after the enactment of the state law, regulation, or executive order. "Costs mandated by the federal government" does not include costs which are specifically reimbursed or funded by the federal or state government or programs or services which may be implemented at the option of the state, local agency, or school district.

GC §17514: "Costs Mandated by the State"

"Costs mandated by the state" means any increased costs which a local agency or school district is required to incur after July 1, 1980, as a result of any statute enacted on or after January 1, 1975, or any executive order implementing any statute enacted on or after January 1, 1975, which mandates a new program or higher level of service of an existing program within the meaning of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution.

GC §17515: "County"

"County" means any chartered or general law county. "County" includes a city and county.

GC §17516: "Executive Order"

"Executive order" means any order, plan, requirement, rule, or regulation issued by any of the following: (a) The Governor. (b) Any officer or official serving at the pleasure of the Governor. (c) Any agency, department, board, or commission of state government. "Executive order" does not include any order, plan, requirement, rule, or regulation issued by the State Water Resources Control Board or by any regional water quality control board pursuant to Division 7 (commencing with Section 13000) of the Water Code. It is the intent of the Legislature that the State Water Resources Control Board and regional water quality control boards will not adopt enforcement orders against publicly owned dischargers which mandate major waste water treatment facility construction costs unless federal financial assistance and state financial assistance pursuant to the Clean Water Bond Act of 1970 and 1974, is simultaneously made available. "Major" means either a new treatment facility or an addition to an existing facility, the cost of which is in excess of 20 percent of the cost of replacing the facility.

GC §17517.5: "Cost Savings authorized by the state"

"Cost savings authorized by the state" means any decreased costs that a local agency or school district realizes as a result of any statute enacted or any executive order adopted that permits or requires the discontinuance of or a reduction in the level of service of an existing program that was mandated before January 1, 1975.

GC §17518: "Local Agency"

"Local agency" means any city, county, special district, authority, or other political subdivision of the state.

GC §17518.5: "Reasonable Reimbursement Methodology"

(a) "Reasonable reimbursement methodology" means a formula for reimbursing local agencies and school districts for costs mandated by the state, as defined in Section 17514. (b) A reasonable reimbursement methodology shall be based on cost information from a representative sample of eligible claimants, information provided by associations of local agencies and school districts, or other projections of local costs. (c) A reasonable reimbursement methodology shall consider the variation in costs among local agencies and school districts to implement the mandate in a cost-efficient manner. (d) Whenever possible, a reasonable reimbursement methodology shall be based on general allocation formulas, uniform cost allowances, and other approximations of local costs mandated by the state, rather than detailed documentation of actual local costs. In cases when local agencies and school districts are projected to incur costs to implement a mandate over a period of more than one fiscal year, the determination of a reasonable reimbursement methodology may consider local costs and state reimbursements over a period of greater than one fiscal year, but not exceeding 10 years. (e) A reasonable reimbursement methodology may be developed by any of the following: (1) The Department of Finance. (2) The Controller. (3) An affected state agency. (4) A claimant. (5) An interested party.

GC §17519: "School District"

"School district" means any school district, community college district, or county superintendent of schools.

GC §17520: "Special District"

"Special district" means any agency of the state that performs governmental or proprietary functions within limited boundaries. "Special district" includes a county service area, a maintenance district or area, an improvement district or improvement zone, or any other zone or area. "Special district" does not include a city, a county, a school district, or a community college district. County free libraries established pursuant to Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 27151) of Division 20 of the Education Code, areas receiving county fire protection services pursuant to Section 25643 of the Government Code, and county road districts established pursuant to Chapter 7 (commencing with Section 1550) of Division 2 of the Streets and Highways Code shall be considered "special districts" for all purposes of this part.

GC §17521: "Test Claim"

"Test claim" means the first claim filed with the commission alleging that a particular statute or executive order imposes costs mandated by the state, and includes a claim filed pursuant to Section 17574.

GC §17521.5: "Legislatively Determined Mandate"

"Legislatively determined mandate" means the provisions of a statute or executive order that the Legislature, pursuant to Article 1.5, has declared by statute to be a mandate for which reimbursement is required by Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution.

GC §17522: Definitions

(a) "Initial reimbursement claim" means a claim filed with the Controller by a local agency or school district for costs to be reimbursed for the fiscal years specified in the first claiming instructions issued by the Controller pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 17558. (b) "Annual reimbursement claim" means a claim for actual costs incurred in a prior fiscal year filed with the Controller by a local agency or school district for which appropriations are made to the Controller for this purpose. (c) "Estimated reimbursement claim" means a claim filed with the Controller by a local agency or school district in conjunction with an initial reimbursement claim, annual reimbursement claim, or at other times, for estimated costs to be reimbursed during the current or future fiscal years, for which appropriations are made to the Controller for this purpose. (d) "Entitlement claim" means a claim filed by a local agency or school district with the Controller for the purpose of establishing or adjusting a base year entitlement. All entitlement claims are subject to Section 17616.

GC §17523: "Deflator"

"Deflator" means the Implicit Price Deflator for the Costs of Goods and Services to Governmental Agencies, as determined by the Department of Finance.

GC §17524: "Base Year Entitlement"

"Base year entitlement" means that amount determined to be the average for the approved reimbursement claims of each local agency or school district for the three preceding fiscal years adjusted by the change in the deflator. A base year entitlement shall not include any nonrecurring or initial startup costs incurred by a local agency or school district in any of those three fiscal years. For those mandates which become operative on January 1 of any year, the amount of the "approved reimbursement claim" for the first of the three years may be computed by annualizing the amount claimed for the six-month period of January through June in that first year, excluding nonrecurring or startup costs.

GC §17525: Members: Term and Per Diem for Specified Members

(a) There is hereby created the Commission on State Mandates, which shall consist of seven members as follows: (1) The Controller. (2) The Treasurer. (3) The Director of Finance. (4) The Director of the Office of Planning and Research. (5) A public member with experience in public finance, appointed by the Governor and approved by the Senate. (6) Two members from the following three categories appointed by the Governor and approved by the Senate, provided that no more than one member shall come from the same category: (A) A city council member. (B) A member of a county or city and county board of supervisors. (C) A governing board member of a school district as defined in Section 17519.
(b) Each member appointed pursuant to paragraph (5) or (6) of subdivision (a) shall be subject to both of the following: (1) The member shall serve for a term of four years subject to renewal. (2) The member shall receive per diem of one hundred dollars (\$100) for each day actually spent in the discharge of official duties and shall be reimbursed for any actual and necessary expenses incurred in connection with the performance of duties as a member of the commission.

GC §17526: Commission Meetings

(a) All meetings of the commission shall be open to the public, except that the commission may meet in executive session to consider the appointment or dismissal of officers or employees of the commission or to hear complaints or charges brought against a member, officer, or employee of the commission. (b) The commission shall meet at least once every two months. (c) The time and place of meetings may be set by resolution of the commission, by written petition of a majority of the members, or by written call of the chairperson. The chairperson may, for good cause, change the starting time or place, reschedule, or cancel any meeting.

GC §17527: Powers of Commission

In carrying out its duties and responsibilities, the commission shall have the following powers: (a) To examine any document, report, or data, including computer programs and data files, held by any local agency or school district. (b) To meet at times and places as it may deem proper. (c) As a body or, on the authorization of the commission, as a committee composed of one or more members, to hold hearings at any time and place it may deem proper. (d) Upon a majority vote of the commission, to issue subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of books, records, papers, accounts, reports, and documents. (e) To administer oaths. (f) To contract with other agencies or individuals, public or private, as it deems necessary, to provide or prepare services, facilities, studies, and reports to the commission as will assist it in carrying out its duties and responsibilities. (g) To adopt, promulgate, amend, and rescind rules and regulations, which shall not be subject to the review and approval of the Office of Administrative Law pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act provided for in Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2. (h) To do any and all other actions necessary or convenient to enable it fully and adequately to perform its duties and to exercise the powers expressly granted to it.

GC §17528: Election of Officers

The members of the commission shall elect a chairperson and a vice chairperson of the commission.

GC §17529: Appointment of Attorney: Duties

The commission may appoint as attorney to the commission an attorney at law of this state, who shall hold office at the pleasure of the commission. The attorney shall represent and appear for the commission in all actions and proceedings involving any question under this part or under any order or act of the commission. The attorney shall advise the commission and each member of the commission, when so requested, in regard to all matters in connection with the powers and duties of the commission and the members thereof. The attorney shall generally perform all duties and services as attorney to the commission which the commission may require.

GC §17530: Appointment of Executive Director: Duties

The commission shall appoint an executive director, who shall be exempt from civil service and shall hold office at the pleasure of the commission. The executive director shall be responsible for the executive and administrative duties of the commission and shall organize, coordinate, supervise, and direct the operations and affairs of the commission and expedite all matters within the jurisdiction of the commission. The executive director shall keep a full and true record of all proceedings of the commission, issue all necessary process, writs, warrants, and notices, and perform other duties as the commission prescribes.

GC §17531: Authority of Executive Director to Employ Necessary Staff

The executive director may employ those officers, examiners, experts, statisticians, accountants, inspectors, clerks, and employees as the executive director deems necessary to carry out the provisions of this part or to perform the duties and exercise the powers conferred upon the commission by law.

GC §17532: Quorum: Investigations, Inquiries, and Hearing

A majority of the commissioners shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of any business, for the performance of any duty, or for the exercise of any power of the commission. Any investigation, inquiry, or hearing which the commission has power to undertake or to hold may be undertaken or held by or before any commissioner or commissioners designated for the purpose by the commission. The evidence in any investigation, inquiry, or hearing may be taken by the commissioner or commissioners to whom the investigation, inquiry, or hearing has been assigned or, in his or her or their behalf, by an examiner designated for that purpose. Every finding, opinion, and order made by the commissioner or commissioners so designated, pursuant to the investigation, inquiry, or hearing, when approved or confirmed by the commission and ordered filed in its office, shall be deemed to be the finding, opinion, and order of the commission.

GC §17533: Provisions not Applicable to Hearing by Commission

Notwithstanding Section 11425.10, Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 11400) of Part 1 of Division 3 does not apply to a hearing by the commission under this part.

GC §17550: Reimbursements of Local Agencies and Special Districts

Reimbursement of local agencies and school districts for costs mandated by the state shall be provided pursuant to this chapter.

GC §17551: Commission Hearing and Decision Upon Claims

(a) The commission, pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, shall hear and decide upon a claim by a local agency or school district that the local agency or school district is entitled to be reimbursed by the state for costs mandated by the state as required by Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (b) Except as provided in Sections 17573 and 17574, commission review of claims may be had pursuant to subdivision (a) only if the test claim is filed within the time limits specified in this section. (c) Local agency and school district test claims shall be filed not later than 12 months following the effective date of a statute or executive order, or within 12 months of incurring increased costs as a result of a statute or executive order, whichever is later. (d) The commission, pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, shall hear and decide upon a claim by a local agency or school district filed on or after January 1, 1985, that the Controller has incorrectly reduced payments to the local agency or school district pursuant to paragraph (2) of subdivision (d) of Section 17561.

GC §17552: Exclusivity of Procedure by Chapter

This chapter shall provide the sole and exclusive procedure by which a local agency or school district may claim reimbursement for costs mandated by the state as required by Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution.

GC §17553: Adoption of Procedure for Receiving Claims and Providing Hearings: Postponement of Hearings

(a) The commission shall adopt procedures for receiving claims filed pursuant to this article and Section 17574 for providing a hearing on those claims. The procedures shall do all of the following: (1) Provide for presentation of evidence by the claimant, the Department of Finance and any other affected department or agency, and any other interested person. (2) Ensure that a statewide cost estimate is adopted within 12 months after receipt of a test claim, when a determination is made by the commission that a mandate exists. This deadline may be extended for up to six months upon the request of either the claimant or the commission. (3) Permit the hearing of a claim to be postponed at the request of the claimant, without prejudice, until the next scheduled hearing. (b) All test claims shall be filed on a form prescribed by the commission and shall contain at least the following elements and documents: (1) A written narrative that identifies the specific sections of statutes or executive orders and the effective date and register number of regulations alleged to contain a mandate and shall include all of the following: (A) A detailed description of the new activities and costs that arise from the mandate. (B) A detailed description of existing activities and costs that are modified by the mandate. (C) The actual increased costs incurred by the claimant during the fiscal year for which the claim was filed to implement the alleged mandate. (D) The actual or estimated annual costs that will be incurred by the claimant to implement the alleged mandate during the fiscal year immediately following the fiscal year for which the claim was filed. (E) A statewide cost estimate of increased costs that all local agencies or school districts will incur to implement the alleged mandate during the fiscal year immediately following the fiscal year for which the claim was filed. (F) Identification of all of the following: (i) Dedicated state funds appropriated for this program. (ii) Dedicated federal funds appropriated for this program. (iii) Other non-local agency funds dedicated for this program. (iv) The local agency's general purpose funds for this program. (v) Fee authority to offset the costs of this program. (G) Identification of prior mandate determinations made by the Commission on State Mandates or a predecessor agency that may be related to the alleged mandate. (H) Identification of a legislatively determined mandate pursuant to Section 17573 that is on the same statute or executive order. (2) The written narrative shall be supported with declarations under penalty of perjury, based on the declarant's personal knowledge, information or belief, and signed by persons who are authorized and competent to do so, as follows: (A) Declarations of actual or estimated increased costs that will be incurred by the claimant to implement the alleged mandate. (B) Declarations identifying all local, state, or federal funds, or fee authority that may be used to offset the increased costs that will be incurred by the claimant to implement the alleged mandate, including direct and indirect costs, (C) Declarations describing new activities performed to implement specified provisions of the new statute or executive order alleged to impose a reimbursable state-mandated program. Specific references shall be made to chapters, articles, sections, or page numbers alleged to impose a reimbursable state-mandated program. (D) If applicable, declarations describing the period of reimbursement and payments received for full reimbursement of costs for a legislatively determined mandate pursuant to Section 17573, and the authority to file a test claim pursuant to paragraph (1) of Section 17574. (3) (A) The written narrative shall be supported with copies of all of the following: (i) The test claim statute that includes the bill number or executive order, alleged to impose or impact a mandate. (ii) Relevant portions of state constitutional provisions, federal statutes, and executive orders that may impact the alleged mandate. (iii) Administrative decisions and court decisions cited in the narrative. (B) State mandate determinations made by the Commission on State Mandates or a predecessor agency and published court decisions on state mandate determinations made by the Commission on State Mandates are exempt from this requirement. (4) A test claim shall be signed at the end of the document, under penalty of perjury by the claimant or its authorized representative, with the declaration that the test claim is true and complete to the best of the declarant's personal knowledge or information or belief. The date of signing, the declarant's title, address, telephone number, facsimile machine telephone number, and electronic mail address shall be included.

(c) If a completed test claim is not received by the commission within 30 calendar days from the date that an incomplete test claim was returned by the commission, the original test claim filing date may be disallowed, and a new test claim may be accepted on the same statute or executive order. (d) In addition, the commission shall determine whether an incorrect reduction claim is complete within 10 days after the date that the incorrect reduction claim is filed. If the commission determines that an incorrect reduction claim is not complete, the commission shall notify the local agency and school district that filed the claim stating the reasons that the claim is not complete. The local agency or school district shall have 30 days to complete the claim. The commission shall serve a copy of the complete incorrect reduction claim is delivered or mailed to file any rebuttal to an incorrect reduction claim. The failure of the Controller to file a rebuttal to an incorrect reduction claim shall not serve to delay the consideration of the claim by the commission.

GC §17554: Commission's Authority to Expedite Claim

With the agreement of all parties to the claim, the commission may waive the application of any procedural requirement imposed by this chapter or pursuant to Section 17553. The authority granted by this section includes the consolidation of claims and the shortening of time periods.

GC §17555: Date for Public Hearing: Test Claim Form and Procedure

(a) No later than 30 days after hearing and deciding upon a test claim pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17551, and determining the amount to be subvened to local agencies and school districts for reimbursement pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17557, the commission shall notify the appropriate Senate and Assembly policy and fiscal committees, the Legislative Analyst, the Department of Finance, and the Controller of that decision. (b) For purposes of this section, the "appropriate policy committee" means the policy committee that has jurisdiction over the subject matter of the statute, regulation, or executive order, and bills relating to that subject matter would have been heard.

GC §17556: Criteria for not Finding Costs Mandated by the State

The commission shall not find costs mandated by the state, as defined in Section 17514, in any claim submitted by a local agency or school district, if, after a hearing, the commission finds any one of the following: (a) The claim is submitted by a local agency or school district that requested legislative authority for that local agency or school district to implement the program specified in the statute, and that statute imposes costs upon that local agency or school district requesting the legislative authority. A resolution from the governing body or a letter from a delegated representative of the governing body of a local agency or school district that requests authorization for that local agency or school district to implement a given program shall constitute a request within the meaning of this subdivision. (b) The statute or executive order affirmed for the state a mandate that had been declared existing law or regulation by action of the courts. (c) The statute or executive order imposes a requirement that is mandated by a federal law or regulation and results in costs mandated by the federal government, unless the statute or executive order mandates costs that exceed the mandate in that federal law or regulation. This subdivision applies regardless of whether the federal law or regulation was enacted or adopted prior to or after the date on which the state statute or executive order was enacted or issued. (d) The local agency or school district has the authority to levy service charges, fees, or assessments sufficient to pay for the mandated program or increased level of service. (e) The statute, executive order, or an appropriation in a Budget Act or other bill provides for offsetting savings to local agencies or school districts that result in no net costs to the local agencies or school districts, or includes additional revenue that was specifically intended to fund the costs of the state mandate in an amount sufficient to fund the cost of the state mandate. (f) The statute or executive order imposes duties that are necessary to implement, reasonably within the scope of, or expressly included in, a ballot measure approved by the votes in a statewide or local election. This subdivision applies regardless of whether the statute or executive order was enacted or adopted before or after the date on which the ballot measure was approved by the voters. (g) The statute created a new crime or infraction, eliminated a

crime or infraction, or changed the penalty for a crime or infraction, but only for that portion of the statute relating directly to the enforcement of the crime or infraction.

GC §17557: Determination of Amount to be Subvened for Reimbursement: Parameters and Guidelines

(a) If the commission determines there are costs mandated by the state pursuant to Section 17551, it shall determine the amount to be subvened to local agencies and school districts for reimbursement. In so doing it shall adopt parameters and guidelines for reimbursement of any claims relating to the statute or executive order. The successful test claimants shall submit proposed parameters and guidelines within 30 days of adoption of a statement of decision on a test claim. At the request of a successful test claimant, the commission may provide for one or more extensions of this 30-day period at any time prior to its adoption of the parameters and guidelines. If proposed parameters and guidelines are not submitted within the 30-day period and the commission has not granted an extension, then the commission shall notify the test claimant that the amount of reimbursement the test claimant is entitled to for the first 12 months of incurred costs will be reduced by 20 percent, unless the test claimant can demonstrate to the commission why an extension of the 30-day period is justified. (b) In adopting parameters and guidelines, the commission may adopt a reasonable reimbursement methodology. (c) The parameters and guidelines adopted by the commission shall specify the fiscal years for which local agencies and school districts shall be reimbursed for costs incurred. However, the commission may not specify in the parameters and guidelines any fiscal year for which payment could be provided in the annual Budget Act. (d) A local agency, school district, or the state may file a written request with the commission to amend, modify, or supplement the parameters or guidelines. The commission may, after public notice and hearing, amend, modify, or supplement the parameters and guidelines. A parameters and guidelines amendment submitted within 90 days of the claiming deadline for initial claims, as specified in the claiming instructions pursuant to Section 17561, shall apply to all years eligible for reimbursement as defined in the original parameters and guidelines. A parameters and guidelines amendment filed more than 90 days after the claiming deadline for initial claims, as specified in the claiming instructions pursuant to Section 17561, and on or before the claiming deadline following a fiscal year, shall establish reimbursement eligibility for that fiscal year. (e) A test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 following a fiscal year in order to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal year. The claimant may thereafter amend the test claim at any time, but before the test claim is set for a hearing, without affecting the original filing date as long as the amendment substantially relates to the original test claim. (f) In adopting parameters and guidelines, the commission shall consult with the Department of Finance, the affected state agency, the Controller, the fiscal and policy committees of the Assembly and Senate, the Legislative Analyst, and the claimants to consider a reasonable reimbursement methodology that balances accuracy with simplicity.

GC §17557.1: Statement of Decision on Test Claim

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this part within 30 days of the commission's adoption of a statement of decision on a test claim, the test claimant and the Department of Finance may notify the executive director of the commission in writing of their intent to follow the process described in this section to develop a reasonable reimbursement methodology and statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year for reimbursement of costs mandated by the state in accordance with the statement of decision. The letter of intent shall include the date on which the test claimant and the Department of Finance will submit a plan to ensure that costs from a representative sample of eligible local agency or school district claimants are considered in the development of a reasonable reimbursement methodology. (b) This plan shall also include all of the following information: (1) The date on which the test claimant and Department of Finance will submit to the executive director an informational update regarding their progress in developing the reasonable reimbursement methodology. (2) The date on which the test claimant and Department of Finance will submit to the executive director the draft reasonable reimbursement methodology and proposed statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year. This date shall be no later than 180 days after the date the letter of intent is sent by the test claimant and Department of Finance to the executive

director. (c) At the request of the test claimant and Department of Finance, the executive director may provide for up to four extensions of this 180-day period. (d) The test claimant or Department of Finance may notify the executive director at any time that the claimant or Department of Finance no longer intends to develop a reasonable reimbursement methodology pursuant to this section. In this case, paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 17553 and Section 17557 shall apply to the test claim. Upon receipt of this notification, the executive director shall notify the test claimant of the duty to submit proposed parameters and guidelines within 30 days under subdivision (a) of Section 17557.

GC §17557.2: Broad Support Required; Joint Proposal Prior to Commission Hearing

(a) A reasonable reimbursement methodology developed pursuant to Section 17557.1 or a joint request for early termination of a reasonable reimbursement methodology shall have broad support from a wide range of local agencies or school districts. The test claimant and Department of Finance may demonstrate broad support from a wide range of local agencies or school districts in different ways including, but not limited to, obtaining endorsement by one or more statewide associations of local agencies or school districts and securing letters of approval from local agencies or school districts. (b) No later than 60 days before a commission hearing, the test claimant and Department of Finance shall submit to the commission joint proposal that shall include all of the following: (1) The draft reasonable reimbursement methodology. (2) The proposed statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year. (3) A description of the steps the test claimant and the Department of Finance undertook to determine the level of support by local agencies or school districts for the draft reasonable reimbursement methodology. (4) An agreement that the reasonable reimbursement methodology developed and approved under this section shall be in effect for a period of five years unless a different term is approved by the commission, or upon submission to the commission of a letter indicating the Department of Finance and test claimant's joint interest in early termination of the reasonable reimbursement methodology. (5) An agreement that, at the conclusion of the period established in paragraph (4), the Department of Finance and the test claimant will consider jointly whether amendments to the methodology are necessary. (c) The commission shall approve the draft reasonable reimbursement methodology if review of the information submitted pursuant to Section 17557.1 and subdivision (b) of this section demonstrates that the draft reasonable reimbursement methodology and statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year have been developed in accordance with Section 17557.1 and meet the requirements of subdivision (a). The commission thereafter shall adopt the proposed statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year. Statewide cost estimates adopted under this section shall be included in the report to the Legislature required under Section 17600 and shall be reported by the commission to the appropriate Senate and Assembly policy and fiscal committees, the Legislative Analyst, and the Department of Finance not later than 30 days after adoption. (d) Unless amendments are proposed pursuant to this subdivision, the reasonable reimbursement methodology approved by the commission pursuant to this section shall expire after either five years, any other term approved by the commission, or upon submission to the commission of a letter indication the Department of Finance's and test claimant's joint interest in early termination of the reasonable reimbursement methodology. (e) The commission shall approved a joint request for early termination of a reasonable reimbursement methodology if the request meets the requirements of subdivision (a). If the commission approves a joint request for early termination, the commission shall notify the test claimant of the duty to submit proposed parameters and guidelines to the commission pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17557. (f) At least one year before the expiration of a reasonable reimbursement methodology, the commission shall notify the Department of Finance and the test claimant that they may do one of the following: (1) Jointly propose amendments to the reasonable reimbursement methodology by submitting the information described in paragraphs (1), (3), and (4) of subdivision (b), and providing an estimate of the mandate's annual cost for the subsequent budget year. (2) Jointly propose that the reasonable reimbursement methodology remain in effect. (3) Allow the reasonable reimbursement methodology to expire and notify the commission that the test claimant will submit proposed parameters and guidelines to the commission pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17557 to replace the reasonable reimbursement methodology. (g) The commission shall either approve the continuation of the reasonable reimbursement methodology or approve the jointly proposed amendments to the reasonable reimbursement methodology if the

information submitted in accordance with paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) demonstrates that the proposed amendments were developed in accordance with Section 17557.1 and meet the requirements of subdivision (a) of this section.

GC §17558: Submission of Parameters and Guidelines to Controller: Transfer of Claims; Claiming Instructions

(a) The commission shall submit the adopted parameters and guidelines or a reasonable reimbursement methodology approved pursuant to Section 17557.2 to the Controller. As used in this chapter, a "reasonable reimbursement methodology" approved pursuant to Section 17557.2 includes all amendments to the reasonable reimbursement methodology. When the Legislature declares a legislatively determined mandate in accordance with Section 17573 in which claiming instructions are necessary, the Department of Finance shall notify the Controller. (b) Not later than 60 days after receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines, a reasonable reimbursement methodology from the commission, or notification from the Department of Finance, the Controller shall issue claiming instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement, to assist local agencies and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed. In preparing claiming instructions, the Controller shall request assistance from the Department of Finance and may request the assistance of other state agencies. The claiming instructions shall be derived from the test claim decision and the adopted parameters and guidelines, reasonable reimbursement methodology, or statute declaring a legislatively determined mandate. (c) The Controller shall, within 60 days after receiving adopted parameters and guidelines, an amended reasonable reimbursement methodology from the commission or other information necessitating a revision of the claiming instructions, prepare and issue revised claiming instructions for mandates that require state reimbursement that have been established by commission action pursuant to Section 17557. Section 17557.2 or after any decision or order of the commission pursuant to Section 17557.2, or after any action by the Legislature pursuant to Section 17573. In preparing revised claiming instructions, the Controller may request the assistance of other state agencies.

GC §17558.5: Reimbursement Claim: Audit; Remittance Advice and Other Notices of Payment

(a) A reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced. (b) The Controller may conduct a field review of any claim after the claim has been submitted, prior to the reimbursement of the claim. (c) The Controller shall notify the claimant in writing within 30 days after issuance of a remittance advice of any adjustment to a claim for reimbursement that results from an audit or review. The notification shall specify the claim components adjusted, the amounts adjusted, interest charges on claims adjusted to reduce the overall reimbursement to the local agency or school district, and the reason for the adjustment. Remittance advices and other notices of payment action shall not constitute notice of adjustment from an audit or review. (d) The interest rate charged by the Controller on reduced claims shall be set at the Pooled Money Investment Account rate and shall be imposed on the dollar amount of the overpaid claim from the time the claim was paid until overpayment is satisfied. (e) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the adjustment of payments when inaccuracies are determined to be the result of the intent to defraud, or when a delay in the completion of an audit is the result of willful acts by the claimant or inability to reach agreement on terms of final settlement.

GC §17558.6: Legislative Intent

It is the intent of the Legislature that the Commission on State Mandates review its process by which local agencies may appeal the reduction of reimbursement claims on the basis that the reduction is incorrect in order to provide for a more expeditious and less costly process.

GC §17559: Judicial Review

(a) The commission may order a reconsideration of all or part of a test claim or incorrect reduction claim on petition of any party. The power to order a reconsideration or amend a test claim decision shall expire 30 days after the statement of decision is delivered or mailed to the claimant. If additional time is needed to evaluate a petition for reconsideration filed prior to the expiration of the 30-day period, the commission may grant a stay of that expiration for no more than 30 days, solely for the purpose of considering the petition. If no action is taken on a petition within the time allowed for ordering reconsideration, the petition shall be deemed denied. (b) A claimant or the state may commence a proceeding in accordance with the provisions of Section 1094.5 of the Code of Civil Procedure to set aside a decision of the commission on the ground that the commission's decision is not supported by substantial evidence. The court may order the commission to hold another hearing regarding the claim and may direct the commission on what basis the claim is to receive a rehearing.

GC §17560: Deadlines for Filing Reimbursement Claims

Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows: (a) A local agency or school district may, by February 15 following the fiscal year in which costs are incurred, file an annual reimbursement claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year. (b) In the event revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 17558 between November 15 and February 15, a local agency or school district filing an annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the revised claiming instructions to file a claim.

GC §17561: Reimbursement of Costs for State Mandated Programs

(a) The state shall reimburse each local agency and school district for all "costs mandated by the state." as defined in Section 17514 and for legislatively determined mandates in accordance with Section 17573. (b) (1) For the initial fiscal year during which these costs are incurred, reimbursement funds shall be provided as follows: (A) Any statute mandating these costs shall provide an appropriation therefor. (B) Any executive order mandating these costs shall be accompanied by a bill appropriating the funds therefor, or alternatively, an appropriation for these costs shall be included in the Budget Bill for the next succeeding fiscal year. The executive order shall cite that item of appropriation in the Budget Bill or that appropriation in any other bill that is intended to serve as the source from which the Controller may pay the claims of local agencies and school districts. (2) In subsequent fiscal years appropriations for these costs shall be included in the annual Governor's Budget and in the accompanying Budget Bill. In addition, appropriations to reimburse local agencies and school districts for continuing costs resulting from chaptered bills or executive orders for which claims have been awarded pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17551 shall be included in the annual Governor's Budget and in the accompanying Budget Bill. (c) The amount appropriated to reimburse local agencies and school districts for costs mandated by the state shall be appropriated to the Controller for disbursement. (d) The Controller shall pay any eligible claim pursuant to this section by August 15 or 45 days after the date of the appropriation for the claim is effective, whichever is later. The Controller shall disburse reimbursement funds to local agencies or school districts if the costs of these mandates are not payable to state agencies, or to state agencies that would otherwise collect the costs of these mandates from local agencies or school districts in the form of fees, premiums, or payments. When disbursing reimbursement funds to local agencies or school districts, the Controller shall disburse them as follows: (1) For initial reimbursement claims, the Controller shall issue claiming instructions to the relevant local agencies and school districts pursuant to Section 17558. Issuance of the claiming instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the commission, the

reasonable reimbursement methodology approved by the commission pursuant to Section 17557.2, or statutory declaration of a legislative determined and reimbursement methodology pursuant to Section 17573. (A) When claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Section 17558 for each mandate determined pursuant to Section 17551 or 17573 that requires state reimbursement, each local agency or school district to which the mandate is applicable shall submit claims for initial fiscal year costs to the Controller within 120 days of the issuance date for the claiming instructions. (B) When the commission is requested to review the claiming instructions pursuant to Section 17571, each local agency or school district to which the mandate is applicable shall submit a claim for reimbursement within 120 days after the commission reviews the claiming instructions for reimbursement issued by the Controller. (C) If the local agency or school district does not submit a claim for reimbursement within the 120-day period, or submits a claim pursuant to revised claiming instructions, it may submit its claim for reimbursement as specified in Section 17560. The Controller shall pay these claims from the funds appropriated therefor, provided that the Controller (i) may audit the records of any local agency or school district to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs, the application of a reasonable reimbursement methodology, or application of a legislatively enacted reimbursement methodology under Section 17573, and (ii) may reduce any claim that the Controller determines is excessive or unreasonable. (2) In subsequent fiscal years each local agency or school district shall submit its claims as specified in Section 17560. The Controller shall pay these claims from funds appropriated therefor, provided that the Controller (A) may audit (i) the records of any local agency or school district to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs, (ii) the application of a reasonable reimbursement methodology, or (iii) application of a legislatively enacted reimbursement methodology under Section 17573.(B) may reduce any claim that the Controller determines is excessive or unreasonable, and (C) shall adjust the payment to correct for any underpayments or overpayments which occurred in previous fiscal years. (3) When paying a timely filed claim for initial reimbursement, the Controller shall withhold 20 percent of the amount of the claim until the claim is audited to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs. All initial reimbursement claims for all fiscal years required to be filed on their initial filing date for a state-mandated local program shall be considered as one claim for the purpose of computing any late claim penalty. Any claim for initial reimbursement filed after the filing deadline shall be reduced by 10 percent of the amount that would have been allowed had the claim been timely filed. The Controller may withhold payment of any late claim for initial reimbursement until the next deadline for funded claims unless sufficient funds are available to pay the claim after all timely filed claims have been paid. In no case may a reimbursement claim be paid if submitted more than one year after the filing deadline specified in the Controller's claiming instructions on funded mandates . (e) (1) Except as specified in paragraph (2), for the purposes of determining the state's payment obligation under paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the Constitution, a mandate that is "determined in a preceding fiscal year to be payable by the state" means any mandate for which the commission adopted a statewide cost estimate pursuant to this part during a previous fiscal year or that were identified as mandates by a predecessor agency to the commission, or that the Legislature declared by statute to be a legislatively determined mandate, unless the mandate has been repealed or otherwise eliminated. (2) If the commission adopts a statewide cost estimate for a mandate during the months of April, May, or June, the state's payment obligation under subdivision (b) of Section 6 of Article XIIIB shall commence one year after the time specified in paragraph (1).

GC §17561.5: Payment of Claim with Interest

The payment of an initial reimbursement claim by the Controller shall include accrued interest at the Pooled Money Investment Account rate, if the payment is being made more than 365 days after adoption of the statewide cost estimate for an initial claim or, in the case of payment of a subsequent claim relating to that same statute or executive order, if payment is being made more than 60 days after the filing deadline for, or the actual date of receipt of, the subsequent claim, whichever is later. In those instances, interest shall begin to accrue as of the 366th day after adoption of the statewide cost estimate for an initial claim and as of the 61st day after the filing deadline for, or actual date of receipt of, the subsequent claim, whichever is later.

GC §17561.6: Payment

A budget act item or appropriation pursuant to this part for reimbursement of claims shall include an amount necessary to reimburse any interest due pursuant to Section 17561.5.

GC §17562: Review of Costs of State-Mandated Local Programs

(a) The Legislature hereby finds and declares that the increasing revenue constraints on state and local government and the increasing costs of financing state-mandated local programs make evaluation of state-mandated local programs imperative. Accordingly, it is the intent of the Legislature to increase information regarding state mandates and establish a method for regularly reviewing the costs and benefits of state-mandated local programs. (b) The Controller shall submit a report to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee and fiscal committees by October 31 of each fiscal year beginning with the 2007-08 fiscal year. This report shall summarize, by state mandate, the total amount of claims paid per fiscal year and the amount, if any, of mandate deficiencies or surpluses. This report shall be made available in an electronic spreadsheet format. The report shall compare the annual cost of each mandate. In the preceding fiscal year to the amount determined to be payable by the state for that fiscal year. (2) The Controller shall submit a report to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, the applicable fiscal committees, and the Director of Finance by April 30 of each fiscal year. This report shall summarize, by state mandate, the total amount of unpaid claims by fiscal year that were submitted before April 1 of that fiscal year. The report shall also summarize any mandate deficiencies or surpluses. It shall be made available in an electronic spreadsheet, and shall be used for the purpose of determining the state's payment obligation under paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (c) After the commission submits its second semiannual report to the Legislature pursuant to Section 17600, the Legislative Analyst shall submit a report to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee and legislative fiscal committees on the mandates included in the commission's reports. The report shall make recommendations as to whether the mandate should be repealed, funded, suspended, or modified. (d) In its annual analysis of the Budget Bill and based on information provided pursuant to subdivision (b), the Legislative Analyst shall report total annual state costs for mandated programs and, as appropriate, provide and analysis of specific mandates and make recommendations on whether the mandate should be repealed, funded, suspended, or modified. (e) (1) A statewide association of local agencies or school districts or a Member of the Legislature may submit a proposal to the Legislature recommending the elimination or modification of a state-mandated local program. To make such a proposal, the association or member shall submit a letter to the Chairs of the Assembly Committee on Education or the Assembly Committee on Local Government, as the case may be, and the Senate Committee on Education or the Senate Committee on Local Government, as the case may be, specifying the mandate and the concerns and recommendations regarding the mandate. The association or member shall include in the proposal all information relevant to the conclusions. If the chairs of the committees desire additional analysis of the submitted proposal, the chairs may refer the proposal to the Legislative Analyst for review and comment. The chairs of the committees may refer up to a total of 10 of these proposals to the Legislative Analyst for review in any year. Referrals shall be submitted to the Legislative Analyst by December 1 of each year. (2) The Legislative Analyst shall review and report to the Legislature with regard to each proposal that is referred to the office pursuant to paragraph (1). The Legislative Analyst shall recommend that the Legislature adopt, reject, or modify the proposal. The report and recommendations shall be submitted annually to the Legislature by March 1 of the year subsequent to the year in which referrals are submitted to the Legislative Analyst. (3) The Department of Finance shall review all statutes enacted each year that contain provisions making inoperative Section 17561 or Section 17565 that have resulted in costs or revenue losses mandated by the state that were not identified when the statute was enacted. The review shall identify the costs or revenue losses involved in complying with the statutes. The Department of Finance shall also review all statutes enacted each year that may result in cost savings authorized by the state. The Department of Finance shall submit an annual report of the review required by this subdivision, together with the recommendations as it may deem appropriate, by December 1 of each year. (f) It is the intent of the Legislature that the Assembly Committee on Local Government and the Senate Committee on Local Government hold a joint hearing each year regarding the following: (1) The reports and recommendations submitted pursuant to subdivision (e). (2) The reports submitted pursuant to Sections

17570, 17600, and 17601. (3) Legislation to continue, eliminate, or modify any provision of law reviewed pursuant to this subdivision. The legislation may be by subject area or by year or years of enactment.

GC §17563: Use of Funds Received for Public Purpose

Any funds received by a local agency or school district pursuant to the provisions of this chapter may be used for any public purpose.

GC §17564: Filing of Claims: Threshold Amount

(a) No claim shall be made pursuant to Sections 17551, 17561, or 17573, nor shall any payment be made on claims submitted pursuant to Sections 17551 or 17561, or pursuant to a legislative determination under Section 17573, unless these claims exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000), provided that a county superintendent of schools or county may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts, direct service districts, or special districts within their county if the combined claim exceeds one thousand dollars (\$1,000) even if the individual school district's, direct service district's, or special district's claims do not each exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000). The county superintendent of schools or the county shall determine if the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and shall be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school, direct service, or special district. These combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools or the county is the fiscal agent for the districts. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate shall only be filed in the combined form unless a school district, direct service district, or special district provides to the county superintendent of schools or county and to the Controller, at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim, a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim. (b) Claims for direct and indirect costs filed pursuant to Section 17561 shall be filed in the manner prescribed in the parameters and guidelines or reasonable reimbursement methodology and claiming instructions. (c) Claims for direct and indirect costs filed pursuant to a legislatively determined mandate pursuant to Section 17573 shall be filed and paid in the manner prescribed in the Budget Act or other bill, or claiming instructions, if applicable.

GC §17565: Reimbursement of Subsequently Mandated Costs

If a local agency or a school district, at its option, has been incurring costs which are subsequently mandated by the state, the state shall reimburse the local agency or school district for those costs incurred after the operative date of the mandate.

GC §17567: Insufficiency of Appropriation: Proration of Claims

In the event that the amount appropriated for reimbursement purposes pursuant to Section 17561 is not sufficient to pay all of the claims approved by the Controller, the Controller shall prorate claims in proportion to the dollar amount of approved claims timely filed and on hand at the time of proration. The Controller shall adjust prorated claims if supplementary funds are appropriated for this purpose. In the event that the Controller finds it necessary to prorate claims as provided by this section, the Controller shall immediately report this action to the Department of Finance, the Chairperson of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, and the Chairperson of the respective committee in each house of the Legislature which considers appropriations in order to assure appropriation of these funds in the Budget Act.

GC §17568: Payment of Claims Submitted After Deadline

If a local agency or school district submits an otherwise valid reimbursement claim to the Controller after the deadline specified in Section 17560, the Controller shall reduce the reimbursement claim in an amount equal to 10 percent of the amount which would have been allowed had the reimbursement claim been timely filed, provided that the amount of this reduction shall not exceed ten thousand dollars (\$10,000). In no case shall a reimbursement claim be paid which is submitted more than one year after

the deadline specified in Section 17560. Estimated claims which were filed by the deadline specified in that section shall be paid in full before payments are made on estimated claims filed after the deadline. In the event the amount appropriated to the Controller for reimbursement purposes is not sufficient to pay the estimated claims approved by the Controller, the Controller shall prorate those claims in proportion to the dollar amount of approved claims filed after the deadline and shall report to the commission or the Legislature in the same manner as described in Section 17566 in order to assure appropriation of funds sufficient to pay those claims.

GC §17570: Annual Report to Legislature

The Legislative Analyst shall review each unfunded statutory or regulatory mandate for which claims have been approved by the Legislature pursuant to a claims bill during the preceding fiscal year. Any recommendations by the Legislative Analyst to eliminate or modify the mandates shall be contained in the annual analysis of the Budget Bill prepared by the Legislative Analyst.

GC §17571: Review and Modification of Claiming Instructions

The commission, upon request of a local agency or school district, shall review the claiming instructions issued by the Controller or any other authorized state agency for reimbursement of mandated costs. If the commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and guidelines, the commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines as directed by the commission.

GC §17575: Review of Bills

When a bill is introduced in the Legislature, and each time a bill is amended, on and after January 1, 1985, the Legislative Counsel shall determine whether the bill mandates a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. The Legislative Counsel shall make this determination known in the digest of the bill and shall describe in the digest the basis for this determination. The determination by the Legislative Counsel shall not be binding on the commission in making its determination pursuant to Section 17555.

GC §17576: Determination of Bills by the Legislative Counsel

Whenever the Legislative Counsel determines that a bill will mandate a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution, the Department of Finance shall prepare an estimate of the amount of reimbursement which will be required. This estimate shall be prepared for the respective committees of each house of the Legislature which consider taxation measures and appropriation measures and shall be prepared prior to any hearing on the bill by any such committee.

GC §17577: Amount of Estimates

The estimate required by Section 17576 shall be the amount estimated to be required during the first fiscal year of a bill's operation in order to reimburse local agencies and school districts for costs mandated by the state by the bill.

GC §17578: Amendment of Bills on Floor: Notification by Legislative Counsel

In the event that a bill is amended on the floor of either house, whether by adoption of the report of a conference committee or otherwise, in such a manner as to mandate a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution, the Legislative Counsel shall immediately inform, respectively, the Speaker of the Assembly and the President of the Senate of that fact. Notification from the Legislative Counsel shall be published in the journal of the respective houses of the Legislature.

GC §17579: Requirement for New Mandates to Specify Reimbursement Requirements: Appropriations

Any bill introduced or amended for which the Legislative Counsel has determined the bill will mandate a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution shall contain a section specifying that reimbursement shall be made pursuant to this chapter or that the mandate is being disclaimed and the reason therefor.

GC §17581: Conditions for Exemption from Implementation of Statute or Executive Order

(a) No local agency shall be required to implement or give effect to any statute or executive order, or portion thereof, during any fiscal year and for the period immediately following that fiscal year for which the Budget Act has not been enacted for the subsequent fiscal year if all of the following apply: (1) The statute or executive order, or portion thereof, has been determined by the Legislature, the commission, or any court to mandate a new program or higher level of service requiring reimbursement of local agencies pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (2) The statute or executive order, or portion thereof, has been specifically identified by the Legislature in the Budget Act for the fiscal year as being one for which reimbursement is not provided for that fiscal year. For purposes of this paragraph, a mandate shall be considered to have been specifically identified by the Legislature only if it has been included within the schedule of reimbursable mandates shown in the Budget Act and it is specifically identified in the language of a provision of the item providing the appropriation for mandate reimbursements. (b) Within 30 days after enactment of the Budget Act, the Department of Finance shall notify local agencies of any statute or executive order, or portion thereof, for which operation of the mandate is suspended because reimbursement is not provided for that fiscal year pursuant to this section and Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if a local agency elects to implement or give effect to a statute or executive order described in subdivision (a), the local agency may assess fees to persons or entities which benefit from the statute or executive order. Any fee assessed pursuant to this subdivision shall not exceed the costs reasonably borne by the local agency. (c) This section shall not apply to any state-mandated local program for the trial courts, as specified in Section 77203. (d) This section shall not apply to any state-mandated local program for which the reimbursement funding counts toward the minimum General Fund requirements of Section 8 of Article XVI of the Constitution.

GC §17581.5 Exemption from Provisions of School Bus Safety II Mandate and School Crimes Reporting II Mandate

(a) A school district may not be required to implement or give effect to the statutes, or portion thereof, identified in subdivision (b) during any fiscal year and for the period immediately following that fiscal year for which the Budget Act has not been enacted for the subsequent fiscal year if all of the following apply: (1) The statute or portion thereof, has been determined by the Legislature, the commission, or any court to mandate a new program or higher level of service requiring reimbursement of school districts pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (2) The statute, or portion thereof, has been specifically identified by the Legislature in the Budget Act for the fiscal year as being one for which reimbursement is not provided for that fiscal year. For purposes of this paragraph, a mandate shall be considered to have been specifically identified by the Legislature only if it has been included within the schedule of reimbursable mandates shown in the Budget Act and it is specifically identified in the language of a provision of the item providing the appropriation for mandate reimbursements. (b) This section applies only to the following mandates: (1) The School Bus Safety I (CSM-4433) and II (97-TC-22) mandates (Chapter 642 of the Statutes of 1992; Chapter 831 of the Statutes of 1994; and Chapter 739 of the Statutes of 1997). (2) The School Crimes Reporting II mandate (97-TC-03; and Chapter 759 of the Statutes of 1992 and Chapter 410 of the Statutes of 1995). (3) Investment reports (96-358-02; and Chapter 783 of the Statutes of 1995 and Chapters 156 and 749 of the Statutes of 1996). (4) County treasury oversight committees (96-365-03; and Chapter 784 of the Statutes of 1995 and Chapter 156 of the Statutes of 1996).

GC §17600: Report on Number of Mandates and Their Costs

At least twice each calendar year the commission shall report to the Legislature on the number of mandates it has found pursuant to Article 1 (commencing with Section 17550) and the estimated statewide costs of these mandates. This report shall identify the statewide costs estimated for each mandate and the reasons for recommending reimbursement.

GC §17601: Report on Claims Denied

The commission shall report to the Legislature on January 15, 1986, and each January 15 thereafter, on the number of claims it denied during the preceding calendar year and the basis on which the particular claims were denied.

GC §17612: Local Government Claims Bills: Judicial Review of Funding Deletions

(a) Upon receipt of the report submitted by the commission pursuant to Section 17600, funding shall be provided in the subsequent Budget Act for costs incurred in prior years. No funding shall be provided for years in which a mandate is suspended. (b) The Legislature may amend, modify, or supplement the parameters and guidelines for mandates contained in the local government claims bill. If the Legislature amends, modifies, or supplements the parameters and guidelines, reasonable reimbursement methodology, and adopted statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year for mandates contained in the annual Budget Act. If the Legislature amends, modifies, or supplements the parameters and guidelines, reasonable reimbursement methodology, and adopted statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year for costs for the initial claiming period and budget year, it shall make a declaration in a separate legislation specifying the basis for the amendment, modification, or supplement. (c) If the Legislature deletes from a local government claims bill funding for a mandate, the local agency or school district may file in the Superior Court of the County of Sacramento an action in declaratory relief to declare the mandate unenforceable and enjoin its enforcement.

GC §17613: Authorization of Augmentation for Mandated Costs

(a) The Director of Finance may, upon receipt of any report submitted pursuant to Section 17567, authorize the augmentation of the amount available for expenditure to reimburse costs mandated by the state, as defined in Section 17514, as follows: (1) For augmentation of (A) any schedule in any item to reimburse costs mandated by the state in any budget act, or (B) the amount appropriated in a local government claims bill for reimbursement of the claims of local agencies, as defined by Section 17518, from the unencumbered balance of any other item to reimburse costs mandated by the state in that budget act or another budget act or in an appropriation for reimbursement of the claims of local agencies in another local government claims bill. (2) For augmentation of (A) any schedule in any budget act item, or (B) any amount appropriated in a local government claims bill, when either of these augmentations is for reimbursement of mandated claims of school districts, as defined in Section 17519, when the source of this augmentation is (A) the unencumbered balance of any other scheduled amount in that budget act or another budget act, or (B) an appropriation in another local government claims bill, when either of these appropriations is for reimbursement of mandate claims of school districts. This paragraph applies only to appropriations that are made for the purpose of meeting the minimum funding guarantee for educational programs pursuant to Section 8 of Article XVI of the California Constitution. (b) No authorization for an augmentation pursuant to this section may be made sooner than 30 days after the notification in writing of the necessity therefor to the chairperson of the committee in each house which considers appropriations and the chairperson of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, or not sooner than whatever lesser time as the chairperson of the joint committee, or his or her designee, may in each instance determine.

GC §17615: Legislative Findings and Intent

The Legislature finds and declares that the existing system for reimbursing local agencies and school districts for actual costs mandated by the state on an annual claim basis is time consuming,

cumbersome, and expensive at both the local and state levels. The Controller must process voluminous claims with all claims subject to a desk audit and selected claims also subject to a field audit. Local agencies are required to maintain extensive documentation of all claims in anticipation of such an audit. The volume of these records is substantial and will continue to grow with no relief in sight as new programs are mandated. The cost to local agencies and school districts for filing claims, and for maintaining documentation and responding to the Controller's audits is substantial. The current administrative cost to both state and local governments represents a significant expenditure of public funds with no apparent benefit to the taxpayers. It is the intent of the Legislature to streamline the reimbursement process for costs mandated by the state by creating a system of state mandate apportionments to fund the costs of certain programs mandated by the state.

GC §17615.1: Review of Programs for Inclusion in System

The commission shall establish a procedure for reviewing, upon request, mandated cost programs for which appropriations have been made by the Legislature for the 1982-83, 1983-84, and 1984-85 fiscal years, or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter. At the request of the Department of Finance, the Controller, or any local agency or school district receiving reimbursement for the mandated program, the commission shall review the mandated cost program to determine whether the program should be included in the State Mandates Apportionment System. If the costs of the state-mandated program, the commission shall direct the Controller to include the program in the State Mandates Apportionment System.

GC §17615.2: Calculation of Disbursement Amounts

(a) Notwithstanding Section 17561, after November 30, 1985, for those programs included in the State Mandates Apportionment System, after approval by the commission, there shall be disbursed by the Controller to each local agency and school district which has submitted a reimbursement claim for costs mandated by the state in the 1982-83, 1983-84, and the 1984-85 fiscal years, or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter, an amount computed by averaging the approved reimbursement claims for this three-year period. The amount shall first be adjusted according to any changes in the deflator. The deflator shall be applied separately to each year's costs for the three years which comprise the base period. Funds for these purposes shall be available to the extent they are provided for in the Budget Act of 1985 and the Budget Act for any subsequent fiscal year thereafter. For purposes of this article, "base period" means the three fiscal years immediately succeeding the commission's approval. (b) When the Controller has made payment on claims prior to commission approval of the program for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System, the payment shall be adjusted in the next apportionment to the amount which would have been subvened to the local agency or school district for that fiscal year had the State Mandates Apportionment System been in effect at the time of the initial payment.

GC §17615.3: Annual Recalculation of Allocation

Notwithstanding Section 17561, by November 30, 1986, and by November 30 of each year thereafter, for those programs included in the State Mandates Apportionment System, the Controller shall recalculate each allocation for each local agency and school district for the 1985-86 fiscal year, by using the actual change in the deflator for that year. That recalculated allocation shall then be adjusted by the estimated change in the deflator for the 1986-87 fiscal year, and each fiscal year thereafter, to establish the allocation amount for the 1986-87 fiscal year, and each fiscal year thereafter. Additionally, for programs approved by the commission for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System on or after January 1, 1988, the allocation for each year succeeding the three-year base period shall be adjusted according to any changes in both the deflator and workload. The Controller shall then subvene that amount after adjusting it by any amount of overpayment or underpayment in the 1985-86 fiscal year, and each fiscal year thereafter, due to a discrepancy between the actual change and the estimated change in the deflator or workload. Funds for these purposes shall be available to the extent they are provided for in the Budget Act of 1986 and the Budget Act for any subsequent fiscal year thereafter. For purposes of this article, "workload" means, for school districts and county offices of

education, changes in the average daily attendance; for community colleges, changes in the number of full-time equivalent students; for cities and counties, changes in the population within their boundaries; and for special districts, changes in the population of the county in which the largest percentage of the district's population is located.

GC §17615.4: Procedure for Newly Mandated Program

(a) When a new mandate imposes costs that are funded either by legislation or in local government claims bills, local agencies and school districts may file reimbursement claims as required by Section 17561, for a minimum of three years after the initial funding of the new mandate. (b) After actual cost claims are submitted for three fiscal years against such a new mandate, the commission shall determine, upon request of the Controller or a local entity or school district receiving reimbursement for the program, whether the amount of the base year entitlement adjusted by changes in the deflator and workload accurately reflects the costs incurred by the local agency or school district. If the commission determines that the base year entitlement, as adjusted, does accurately reflect the costs of the program, the commission shall direct the Controller to include the program in the State Mandates Apportionment System. (c) The Controller's recommendations for each new mandate submitted for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System pursuant to this section are also subject to the audit provisions of Section 17616.

GC §17615.5: Procedure Where No Base Year Entitlement Has Been Established

(a) If any local agency or school district has an established base year entitlement which does not include costs for a particular mandate, that local agency or school district may submit reimbursement claims for a minimum of three consecutive years, adjusted pursuant to Section 17615.3 by changes in the deflator and workload, or entitlement claims covering a minimum of three consecutive years, after which time its base year entitlement may be adjusted by an amount necessary to fund the costs of that mandate. (b) If any local agency or school district has no base year entitlement, but wishes to begin claiming costs of one or more of the mandates included in the State Mandates Apportionment System, that local agency or school district may submit reimbursement claims for a minimum of three consecutive years, or entitlement claims covering the preceding three consecutive years, which shall be adjusted pursuant to Sections 17615.2 and 17615.3 by changes in the deflator and workload, after which time a base year entitlement may be established in an amount necessary to fund the costs of the mandate or mandates.

GC §17615.6: Procedure Where Program is No Longer Mandatory

If a local agency or school district realizes a decrease in the amount of costs incurred because a mandate is discontinued, or made permissive, the Controller shall determine the amount of the entitlement attributable to that mandate by determining the base year amount for that mandate for the local agency or school district plus the annual adjustments. This amount shall be subtracted from the annual subvention which would otherwise have been allocated to the local agency or school district.

GC §17615.7: Procedure Where Program is Modified

If a mandated program included in the State Mandates Apportionment System is modified or amended by the Legislature or by executive order, and the modification or amendment significantly affects the costs of the program, as determined by the commission, the program shall be removed from the State Mandate Apportionment System, and the payments reduced accordingly. Local entities or school districts may submit actual costs claims for a period of three years, after which the program may be considered for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System, pursuant to the provisions of Section 17615.4.

GC §17615.8: Review of Base Year Entitlement

(a) The commission shall establish a procedure for reviewing, upon request, any apportionment or base year entitlement of a local agency or school district. (b) Local agencies and school districts which request such a review shall maintain and provide those records and documentation as the commission or its designee determines are necessary for the commission or its designee to make the required determinations. With the exception of records required to verify base year entitlements, the records may not be used to adjust current or prior apportionments, but may be used to adjust future apportionments. (c) If the commission determines that an apportionment or base year entitlement for funding costs mandated by the state does not accurately reflect the costs incurred by the local agency or school district for all mandates upon which that apportionment is based, the commission shall direct the Controller to adjust the apportionment accordingly. For the purposes of this section, an apportionment or a base year entitlement does not accurately reflect the costs incurred by a local agency or school district if it falls short of reimbursing, or overreimburses, that local agency's or school district's actual costs by 20 percent or by one thousand dollars (\$1,000), whichever is less. (d) If the commission determines that an apportionment or base year entitlement for funding costs mandated by the state accurately reflects the costs incurred by the local agency or school district for all mandates upon which that apportionment is based, the commission may, in its discretion, direct the Controller to withhold, and, if so directed, the Controller shall withhold the costs of the commission's review from the next apportionment to the local agency or school district, if the commission review was requested by the local agency or school district.

GC §17615.9: Review of Programs Under SMAS

The commission shall periodically review programs funded under the State Mandate Apportionments System to evaluate the effectiveness or continued statewide need for each such mandate.

GC §17616: Audits and Verification by Controller

The Controller shall have the authority to do either or both of the following: (a) Audit the fiscal years comprising the base year entitlement no later than three years after the year in which the base year entitlement is established. The results of such audits shall be used to adjust the base year entitlements and any subsequent apportionments based on that entitlement, in addition to adjusting actual cost payments made for the base years audited. (b) Verify that any local agency or school district receiving funds pursuant to this article is providing the reimbursed activities.

GC §17617: Local Agency Payment

The total amount due to each city, county, city and county, and special district, for which the state has determined, as of June 30, 2005, that reimbursement is required under Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution, shall be appropriated for payment to these entities over a period of not more than five years, commencing with the Budget Act for the 2006-07 fiscal year and concluding with the Budget Act for the 2011-12 fiscal year.

FILING A CLAIM

RECEIVED December 16, 2013 **Commission on State Mandates**

1. Introduction

Government Code (GC) Sections 17500 through 17617 provide for the reimbursement of costs incurred by school districts (SD) for mandated cost programs as a result of any statute enacted after January 1, 1975, or any executive order implementing such statute which mandates a new program or higher level of service of an existing program.

A reimbursement claim is defined in Government Code (GC) Section 17522 as any claim filed with the State Controller's Office (SCO) by a SD for reimbursement of costs incurred for which an appropriation is made for the purpose of paying the claim. Actual claims for the 2008-09 fiscal year, will be accepted without penalty if postmarked or delivered on or before February 16, 2010. Ongoing reimbursement claims filed after the deadline will be reduced by a late penalty of 10%, not to exceed \$10,000. Amended claims filed after the filing deadline will be reduced by 10% of the increased amount not to exceed \$10,000 for the total claim. Initial reimbursement claims filed after the filing deadline will be reduced by a late penalty of 10% with no limitation. Claims filed after the accepted by the SCO.

A charter school is not eligible to file mandated cost claims under these programs because it is not defined as a school district pursuant to GC Section 17519. Accordingly, charter schools cannot be reimbursed for their costs by filing a claim or through a third party's claim such as a school district or superintendent of schools. The Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted the Charter School III Statement of Decision on May 25, 2006, which stated that a charter school is voluntarily participating in the charter program at issue and that a charter school is not a school district under GC Section 17519 and therefore is not eligible to claim reimbursement under GC Section 17560

SD's may use the indirect cost rates from the Restricted Indirect Cost Rates for K-12 Local Educational Agencies (LEA's) Five Year Listing issued by the California Department of Education (CDE), School Fiscal Services Division, for the fiscal year of the claim. Since this information is readily available online, there is no need for SD's to file supporting documentation for indirect costs with their claims. Additional information regarding indirect cost rates can be found in Section 2, Filing a Claim, page 9, *Indirect Costs*.

When a program has been reimbursed for three or more years, the Commission may approve the program for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS). For programs included in SMAS, the SCO determines the amount of each claimant's entitlement based on an average of three consecutive fiscal years of actual costs adjusted by any changes in the Implicit Price Deflator (IPD). Claimants with an established entitlement receive an annual apportionment adjusted by any changes in the implicit price deflator (IPD) and under certain circumstances, by any changes in workload. Claimants with an established entitlement no longer need to file claims for that program.

The SCO is authorized to make payments for costs of mandated programs from amounts appropriated by the State Budget Act, by the State Mandates Claims Fund, or by specific legislation. In the event the appropriation is insufficient to pay claims in full, claimants will receive prorated payments in proportion to the dollar amount of approved claims for the program. Balances of prorated payments will be made when supplementary funds become available.

The claiming instructions included in this manual are issued to help claimants prepare manual and/or electronic mandated cost claims, for submission to the SCO. These instructions are based on the State of California's statutes, regulations, and the parameters and guidelines (P's & G's) adopted by the Commission. Since each mandate is unique, it is important to refer to the P's and G's for each program for information relating to established policies and eligible reimbursable costs.

2. Electronic Filing: Local Government e-Claims (LGeC)

LGeC enables claimants and their consultants to securely prepare and submit mandated cost claims via the Internet. LGeC uses a series of data input screens to collect the information needed to prepare a claim and provides a Web service so claims can be uploaded in batch files. The system also incorporates an attachment feature so claimants can electronically attach supporting documentation if required.

In addition, it provides an easy and straightforward approach to the claiming process. Filing claims using LGeC eliminates the manual preparation and submission of paper claims by SD's and the receiving, processing, key entry, verification, and storage of the paper claims by the SCO. LGeC also provides mathematical checks and automated error detection to reduce erroneous and incomplete claims, provides the State with an electronic workflow process, and stores the claims in an electronic format. Making the change from paper claims to electronic claims reduces the manual handling of paper claims and decreases the costs incurred for postage, handling, and storage of claims filed.

In order to use the LGeC system you will need to obtain a user ID and password for each person who will access the LGeC system. To obtain a User ID and password you must file an application with the SCO. The application and instructions are available on the LGeC Web site located at http://www.sco.ca.gov/ard_lgec.html. Complete the application and other documents as requested and mail them to the SCO using the address provided in the instructions. The SCO will process the application within three business days and issue a User ID and password to each applicant.

In addition, you may want to subscribe to an email distribution list to automatically receive timely, comprehensive information regarding mandated cost claims, payments, guidelines, electronic claims, and other news and updates. You also will receive related audit reports and mandate information disseminated by other state agencies.

You can find more information about LGeC and the email distribution lists at http://www.sco.ca.gov/ard_lgec.html. This Web site provides access to the LGeC system, an application for User ID's and passwords, an instructional guide, frequently asked questions (FAQ's) and additional help files. Questions may be directed to LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, or you may call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729.

3. Types of Claims

Claimants may file a reimbursement claim for actual mandated costs incurred in the prior fiscal year. An entitlement claim may be filed for the purpose of establishing a base year entitlement amount for mandated programs included in SMAS. A claimant who has established a base year entitlement for a program, would receive an automatic annual payment which is reflective of the current costs for the program. All claims received by the SCO will be reviewed to verify actual costs. An adjustment of the claim will be made if the amount claimed is determined to be excessive, improper, or unreasonable.

A. Reimbursement Claim

A reimbursement claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed with the SCO by a School District for reimbursement of costs incurred for which an appropriation is made for paying the claim.

Initial reimbursement claims are first-time claims for reimbursement of costs for one or more prior fiscal year(s) of a program that was previously unfunded. Claims are due one hundred and twenty days from the date of issuance of the claiming instructions for the program by the SCO. The first statute that appropriates funds for the mandated program will specify the fiscal years for which costs are eligible for reimbursement. Annual ongoing reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15th following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred for the program.

B. Estimated Claims

Pursuant to AB 8, Chapter 6, Statutes of 2008, the option to file estimated claims has been eliminated. Therefore, estimated claims will not be accepted for reimbursement.

C. Entitlement Claim

An entitlement claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed by SD's with the SCO for the sole purpose of establishing or adjusting a base year entitlement for a mandated cost program that has been included in SMAS. An entitlement claim should not contain nonrecurring or initial start-up costs. There is no statutory deadline for the filing of entitlement claims. However, these claims should be filed by February 15th, following the third fiscal year used to develop the entitlement claim, to permit an orderly processing of claims. When the claims are approved and a base year entitlement amount is determined, the claimant will receive an apportionment reflective of the program's current year costs.

The automatic apportionment is determined by adjusting the claimant's base year entitlement for changes in the IPD of costs of goods and services to governmental agencies, as determined by the State Department of Finance. For programs approved by the Commission for inclusion in SMAS, the payment for each year succeeding the three year base period is adjusted according to any changes by both the IPD and average daily attendance (ADA).

The SCO will perform this computation for each claimant who has filed claims for three consecutive years. If a claimant has incurred costs for three consecutive years but has not filed a claim in each of those years, the claimant may file an entitlement claim, form FAM-43, to establish a base year entitlement. The form FAM-43 is included in the claiming instructions for SMAS programs. An entitlement claim does not result in the claimant being reimbursed for the costs incurred, but rather entitles the claimant to receive automatic payments from SMAS. Annual apportionments for programs included in the SMAS system are paid on or before November 30th of each year.

4. Minimum Claim Amount

For initial and annual claims, if the total costs for a given year do not exceed \$1,000 no reimbursement will be allowed except as otherwise allowed by GC Section 17564.

5. Filing Deadline for Claims

Pursuant to GC Section 17561(d) initial reimbursement claims (first time claims) for reimbursement of costs of a previously unfunded mandated program must be filed within one hundred and twenty days from the date the SCO issues the claiming instructions for the program. When paying a timely filed claim for initial reimbursement, the Controller may withhold twenty percent of the amount of the claim until the claim is audited to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs. Initial reimbursement claims filed after the filing deadline will be reduced by ten percent of the amount that would have been allowed had the claim been timely filed.

The Controller may withhold payment of any late claim for initial reimbursement until the next deadline for funded claims unless sufficient funds are available to pay the claim after all timely filed claims have been paid. All initial reimbursement claims for all fiscal years required to be filed on their initial filing date for a program will be considered as one claim for the purpose of computing any late claim penalty. In no case will a reimbursement claim be paid if submitted more than one year after the filing deadline specified in the Controller's claiming instructions on funded mandates.

Pursuant to GC Section 17560, annual reimbursement claims (recurring claims) for costs incurred during the previous fiscal year must be filed with the SCO and postmarked on or before February 15th following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. If the annual reimbursement claim is filed after the deadline, but within one year of the deadline, the approved claim must be reduced by a 10% late penalty, not to exceed \$10,000. Amended claims filed after the deadline will be reduced by 10% of the increased amount not to exceed \$10,000 for the total claim. Claims may not be filed more than one year after the deadline.

6. Payment of Claims

In order for the SCO to authorize payment of a claim, the Certification of Claim, form FAM-27, must be properly filled out, signed, and dated by the entity's authorized officer. When using the LGeC system, the logon ID and password of the authorized officer is used for the signature and is applied by the LGeC system when the claim is submitted. Pursuant to GC 17561(d), reimbursement claims are paid by October 15 or sixty days after the date the appropriation for the claim is effective, whichever is later. In the event the amount appropriated by the Legislature is insufficient to pay the approved amount in full for a program, claimants will receive a prorated payment in proportion to the amount of approved claims timely filed and on hand at the time of proration. A reasonable reimbursement methodology (RRM), which meets certain conditions specified in Government Code Section 17518.5, Subdivision (a), can be used as a formula for reimbursing SD's costs mandated by the State.

A claimant is entitled to receive accrued interest at the pooled money investment account rate if the payment was made more than 60 days after the claim filing deadline or the actual date of claim receipt, whichever is later. For an initial claim, interest begins to accrue when the payment is made more than one year after the adoption of the program's statewide cost estimate.

The SCO reports the amounts of insufficient appropriations to the State Department of Finance, the Chairperson of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, and the Chairperson of the respective committee in each House of the Legislature, in order to ensure appropriation of these funds in the Budget Act. If these funds cannot be appropriated on a timely basis in the Budget Act, this information is transmitted to the Commission who will include these amounts in its reports to assure that an appropriation sufficient to pay the claims is included in the next local government claims bill or other appropriation bills. Any balances remaining on these claims will be paid when supplementary funds become available.

Unless specified in the statutes, regulations, or P's & G's, the determination of allowable and unallowable costs for mandates is based on the P's & G's adopted by the Commission. The determination of allowable reimbursable mandated costs for unfunded mandates is made by the Commission. The SCO determines allowable reimbursable costs, subject to amendment by the Commission, for mandates funded by special legislation. Allowable costs are those direct and indirect costs, less applicable credits, considered eligible for reimbursement. In order for costs to be allowable and thus eligible for reimbursement, the costs must meet the following general criteria:

- 1. The cost is necessary and reasonable for proper and efficient administration of the mandate and not a general expense required to carry out the overall responsibilities of government.
- 2. The cost is allocable to a particular cost objective identified in the P's & G's.
- 3. The cost is net of any applicable credits that offset or reduce expenses of items allocable to the mandate.

The SCO has identified certain costs that should not be claimed as direct program costs unless specified as reimbursable under the program's P's & G's. These costs include, but are not limited to, subscriptions, depreciation, memberships, conferences, workshops, general education, and travel costs.

7. State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS)

Chapter 1534, Statutes of 1985, established SMAS, a method of paying certain mandated programs as apportionments. This method is utilized whenever a program has been approved for inclusion in SMAS by the Commission.

When a mandated program has been included in SMAS, the SCO will determine a base year entitlement amount for each SD that has submitted reimbursement claims (or entitlement claims) for three consecutive fiscal years. A base year entitlement amount is determined by averaging the approved reimbursement claims (or entitlement claims) for any three consecutive fiscal years. The amounts are first adjusted by any change in the IPD, which is applied separately to each year's

costs for the three years that comprise the base period. The base period means the three fiscal years immediately succeeding the Commission's approval.

Each SD with an established base year entitlement for the program will receive automatic annual payments from the SCO reflective of the program's current year costs. The apportionment amount is adjusted annually for any change in the IPD. If the mandated program was included in SMAS after January 1, 1988, the annual apportionment is adjusted for any change in both the IPD and ADA.

In the event a SD has incurred costs for three consecutive fiscal years but did not file a reimbursement claim in one or more of those fiscal years, the SD may file an entitlement claim for each of those missed years to establish a base year entitlement. An entitlement claim means any claim filed by a SD with the SCO for the sole purpose of establishing a base year entitlement. A base year entitlement may not include any nonrecurring or initial start-up costs.

Initial apportionments are made on an individual program basis. After the initial year, all apportionments are made by November 30th. The amount to be apportioned is the base year entitlement adjusted by annual changes in the IPD for the cost of goods and services to governmental agencies as determined by the State Department of Finance.

In the event the SD determines that the amount of apportionment does not accurately reflect costs incurred to comply with a mandate, the process of adjusting an established base year entitlement upon which the apportionment is based is set forth in GC Section 17615.8 and requires the approval of the Commission.

8. Direct Costs

A direct cost is a cost that can be identified specifically with a particular program or activity. Documentation to support direct costs must be kept on hand unless otherwise specified in the claiming instructions and made available to the SCO on request

It is the responsibility of the claimant to maintain documentation in the form of general and subsidiary ledgers, purchase orders, invoices, contracts, canceled warrants, equipment usage records, land deeds, receipts, employee time sheets, agency travel guidelines, inventory records, and other relevant documents to support claimed costs. The type of documentation necessary for each claim may differ with the type of mandate.

Costs typically classified as direct costs are:

(1) Employee Wages, Salaries, and Benefits

For each of the mandated activities performed, the claimant must list the names of the employees who worked on the mandate, their job classifications, hours worked on the mandate, and rate of pay. The claimant may use a productive hourly rate in-lieu of reporting actual compensation and benefits:

(a) **Productive Hourly Rate Options**

A SD may use one of the following methods to compute productive hourly rates:

- Actual annual productive hours for each employee;
- The weighted-average annual productive hours for each job title; or
- 1,800* annual productive hours for all employees.

If actual annual productive hours or weighted-average annual productive hours for each job title is chosen, the claimant must maintain documentation of how these hours were computed.

* 1,800 annual productive hours excludes the following employee time:

- Paid holidays;
- Vacation earned;

- o Sick leave taken;
- Informal time off;
- o Jury duty;
- o Military leave taken.

(b) Compute a Productive Hourly Rate

1. Compute a productive hourly rate for salaried employees to include actual benefit costs. The methodology for converting a salary to a productive hourly rate is to compute the employee's annual salary and benefits and divide by the annual productive hours.

Table 1: Productive Hourl	v Rate Annual Salar	v 🗕 Renefits Method
	y Rule, Annual Oular	y i Denenito metnoa

Formula:	Description:
[(EAS + Benefits) ÷ APH] = PHR	EAS = Employee's Annual Salary
	APH = Annual Productive Hours
[(\$26,000 + \$8,099)] ÷ 1,800 hrs = 18.94	PHR = Productive Hourly Rate

- As illustrated in Table 1, if an employee's compensation was \$26,000 and \$8,099 for annual salary and benefits, respectively, using the Salary + Benefits Method, the productive hourly rate would be \$18.94. To convert a biweekly salary to Annual Salary, multiply the biweekly salary by 26. To convert a monthly salary to Annual Salary, multiply the monthly salary by 12. Use the same methodology to convert other salary periods.
- 2. A claimant may also compute the productive hourly rate by using the Percent of Salary Method.

Table 2: Productive Hourly Rate, Percent of Salary Method

		,
Example:		
Step 1: Benefits as a Perc	ent of Salary	Step 2: Productive Hourly Rate
Retirement	15.00 %	Formula:
Social Security & Medicare	7.65	[(EAS x (1 + BR)) ÷ APH] = PHR
Health & Dental Insurance	5.25	
Workers Compensation	3.25	[(\$26,000 x (1.3115)) ÷ 1,800] = \$18.94
Total	31.15 %	
Description:		
EAS = Employee's Annual	Salary	APH = Annual Productive Hours
BR = Benefit Rate		PHR = Productive Hourly Rate

• As illustrated in Table 2, both methods produce the same productive hourly rate.

Reimbursement for personnel services includes, but is not limited to, compensation paid

for salaries, wages, and employee benefits. Employee benefits include employer's contributions for social security, pension plans, insurance, workers compensation insurance and similar payments. These benefits are eligible for reimbursement as long as they are distributed equitably to all activities. Whether these costs are allowable is based on the following presumptions:

- The amount of compensation is reasonable for the service rendered;
- The compensation paid and benefits received are appropriately authorized by the governing board;
- Amounts charged for personnel services are based on payroll documents that are supported by time and attendance or equivalent records for individual employees;
- The methods used to distribute personnel services should produce an equitable distribution of direct and indirect allowable costs.

For each of the employees included in the claim, the claimant must use reasonable rates and hours in computing the wage cost. If a person of a higher-level position performs an activity which normally would be performed by a lower-level position, reimbursement for time spent is allowable at the average salary range for the lower-level position. The salary rate of the person at a higher-level position may be claimed if it can be shown that it was more cost effective in comparison to the performance by a person at the lowerlevel position under normal circumstances and conditions. The number of hours charged to an activity should reflect the time expected to complete the activity under normal circumstances and conditions. The numbers of hours in excess of normal expected hours are not reimbursable.

(c) Calculating an Average Productive Hourly Rate

In those instances where the P's & G's allow a unit as a basis of claiming costs, the direct labor component of the unit cost should be expressed as an average productive hourly rate and can be determined as follows:

	<u>Time</u> Spent	Productive Hourly Rate	Total Cost by Employee	
Employee A	1.25 hrs	\$6.00	\$7.50	
Employee B	0.75 hrs	4.50	3.38	
Employee C	3.50 hrs	10.00	35.00	
Total	5.50 hrs		\$45.88	
Average Productive Hourly Rate is \$45.88 ÷ 5.50 hrs. = \$8.34				

Table 3: Calculating an Average Productive Hourly Rate

(d) Employer's Benefits Contribution

A SD has the option of claiming actual employer's benefit contributions or may compute an average benefit cost for the employee's job classification and claim it as a percentage of direct labor. The same time base should be used for both salary and benefits when computing a percentage. For example, if health and dental insurance payments are made annually, use an annual salary. After the percentage of salary for each benefit is computed, total them.

% of Salary
15.00%
7.65%
5.25%
0.75%
28.65%

(2) Materials and Supplies

Only actual expenses can be claimed for materials and supplies, which were acquired and consumed specifically for the purpose of a mandated program. The claimant must list the materials and supplies that were used to perform the mandated activity, the number of units consumed, the cost per unit, and the total dollar amount claimed. Materials and supplies in excess of reasonable quality, quantity, and cost are not reimbursable. Materials and supplies withdrawn from inventory and charged to the mandated activity must be based on a recognized method of pricing, consistently applied. Purchases must be claimed at the actual price after deducting discounts, rebates and allowances received by the SD.

(a) Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies

In those instances where the P's & G's suggest that a unit cost be developed for use as a basis of claiming costs mandated by the State, the materials and supplies component of the unit cost should be expressed as a unit cost of materials and supplies as shown in Table 1 or Table 2:

Supplies	<u>Cost Per Unit</u>	Amount of Supplies Used <u>Per Activity</u>	Unit Cost of Supplies <u>Per Activity</u>
Paper	0.02	4	\$0.08
Files	0.10	1	0.10
Envelopes	0.03	2	0.06
Photocopies	0.10	4	0.40
			<u>\$0.64</u>

Table 1: Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies

Table 2: Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies

Supplies	Supplies <u>Used</u>	Unit Cost of Supplies <u>Per Activity</u>
Paper (\$10.00 for 500 sheet ream)	250 Sheets	\$5.00
Files (\$2.50 for box of 25)	10 Folders	1.00
Envelopes (\$3.00 for box of 100)	50 Envelopes	1.50
Photocopies (\$0.05 per copy)	40 Copies	2.00
		\$9.50
If the number of reimbursable instances is per reimbursable instance ($$9.50 \div 25$).	25, then the unit cost of su	upplies is \$0.38

(3) Contract Services

The cost of contract services is allowable if the SD lacks the staff resources or necessary expertise, or it is economically feasible to hire a contractor to perform the mandated activity. The claimant must keep documentation on hand to support the name of the contractor, explain the reason for having to hire a contractor, describe the mandated activities performed, give the dates when the activities were performed, the number of hours spent performing the mandate, the hourly billing rate, and the total cost. The hourly billing rate must not exceed the rate specified in the P's & G's for the mandated program. The contractor's invoice or statement must include an itemized list of costs for activities performed.

(4) Equipment Rental Costs

Equipment purchases and leases (with an option to purchase) are not reimbursable as a direct cost unless specifically allowed by the P's & G's for the particular mandate. Equipment rentals used solely for the mandate are reimbursable to the extent that such costs do not exceed the retail purchase price of the equipment plus a finance charge. The claimant must maintain documentation to support the purpose and use of the equipment, the time period for which the equipment was rented and the total cost of the rental. If the equipment is used for purposes other than reimbursable activities, only the pro rata portion of the rental costs can be claimed.

(5) Capital Outlay

Capital outlay for land, buildings, equipment, furniture and fixtures may be claimed if the P's & G's specify them as allowable. If they are allowable, the P's & G's for the program will specify a basis for the reimbursement. If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for purposes other than reimbursable activities for a specific mandate, only the pro rata portion of the purchase price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed.

(6) Travel Expenses

Travel expenses are normally reimbursable in accordance with travel rules and regulations of the local jurisdiction. For some programs, however, the P's & G's may specify certain limitations on expenses, or that expenses can only be reimbursed in accordance with the Department of Personnel Administration (DPA) travel standards. When claiming travel expenses, the claimant must maintain documentation to support the purpose of the trip, the names and addresses of the persons incurring the expense, the date and time of departure and return, a description of each expense claimed, and the cost of transportation, number of private auto miles traveled, and the cost of tolls and parking. Receipts are required for charges over \$10.00.

9. Indirect Costs

Indirect costs are: (a) Incurred for a common or joint purpose benefiting more than one cost objective, and (b) not readily assignable to the cost objectives specifically benefited without effort disproportionate to the results achieved. Indirect costs can originate in the department performing the mandate or in departments that supply the department performing the mandate with goods, services, and facilities. To be allowable, a cost must be allocable to a particular cost objective. Indirect costs must be distributed to benefiting cost objectives on bases which produce an equitable result related to the benefits derived by the mandate.

School District's may use the indirect cost rate from the Restricted Indirect Cost rates for K-12 Local Education Agencies (LEA's) Five Year Listing issued by the California Department of Education (CDE), School Fiscal Services Division, for the fiscal year of costs. The amount of indirect costs the claimant is eligible to claim is computed by multiplying the rate by direct costs.

10. Time Study Guidelines

Background

Two methods are acceptable for documenting employee time charged to mandated cost programs: 1) Actual Time Reporting and 2) Time Study. These methods are described below. Application of time study results is restricted. As explained in the Time Study Results section below, the results may be projected forward a maximum of two years or applied retroactively to initial claims, currentyear claims, and late-filed claims, provided certain criteria are met.

Actual Time Reporting

Each program's P's and G's define reimbursable activities for the mandated cost program. When employees work on multiple activities, a distribution of their salaries or wages must be supported by personnel activity reports or equivalent documentation that meets the following standards:

- They must reflect an after-the-fact distribution of the actual activity of each employee;
- They must account for the total activity for which each employee is compensated;
- They must be prepared at least monthly and must coincide with one or more pay periods; and
- They must be signed by the employee.

Budget estimates or other distribution percentages determined before services are performed do not qualify as support for actual time reporting.

Time Study

In certain cases, a time study may be used as a substitute for continuous records of actual time spent on multiple activities and/or programs. A time study can be used for an activity when the task is repetitive in nature. Activities that require varying levels of effort are not appropriate for time studies.

Time Study Plan

The claimant must develop a plan before the time study is conducted. The claimant must retain the time study plan for audit purposes. The plan must identify the following:

- Time periods to be studied The plan must show that all time periods selected are representative of the fiscal year and that the results can be reasonably projected to approximate actual costs;
- Activities to be studied The time study must separately identify each reimbursable activity defined in the mandated program's P's and G's. If a reimbursable activity identifies separate and distinct sub-activities, these sub-activities also must be treated as individual activities;

For example, sub-activities (a) and (b) under reimbursable activity (1) of the Agency Fee Arrangements Program relate to salary deduction and payment of fair share and are not separate and distinct activities. It is not necessary to separately study these sub-activities.

- Process used to accomplish each reimbursable activity Use flowcharts or similar analytical tools and/or written desk procedures to describe the process followed to complete each activity;
- Employee universe The employee universe used in the time study must include all positions for which salaries and wages are to be allocated by means of the time study;
- Employee sample selection methodology The plan must show that employees selected are representative of the employee universe and that the results can be reasonably projected to approximate actual costs. In addition, the employee sample size should be proportional to the variation in time spent to perform a task. The sample size should be larger for tasks with significant time variations;
- Time increments to be recorded The time increments used should be sufficient to recognize the number of different activities performed and the dynamics of these responsibilities. Very large

increments (such as one hour or more) can be used for employees performing only a few functions that change very slowly over time. Small increments (a number of minutes) can be used for employees performing more short-term tasks.

Random-moment sampling is not an acceptable alternative to continuous time records for mandated cost claims. Random-moment sampling techniques are most applicable in situations where employees perform many different types of activities on a variety of programs with small time increments throughout the fiscal year.

Time Study Documentation

Time studies must:

- Be supported by time records that are completed when the activity occurs;
- Report activity on a daily basis;
- Be sufficiently detailed to reflect all mandated activities performed during a specific time period; and
- Coincide with one or more pay periods.

Time records must be signed by the employee and be supported by documentation that validates that the work was actually performed. As with actual time reporting, budget estimates or other distribution percentages determined before services are performed do not qualify as valid time studies.

Time Study Results

Claimants must summarize time study results to show how the time study supports the costs claimed for each activity. Any variation from the procedures identified in the original time study plan must be documented and explained. Current-year costs must be used to prepare a time study. Claimants may project time study results to no more than two subsequent fiscal years. A claimant also may apply time study results retroactively to initial claims, current-year claims, and late-filed claims.

When projecting time study results, the claimant must certify that no significant changes have occurred between years in either (1) the requirements of each mandated program activity; or (2) the processes and procedures used to accomplish the activity. For all years, the claimant must maintain documentation that shows that the mandated activity was actually performed. Time study results used to support claims are subject to the record-keeping requirements for those claims.

11. Offset Against State Mandated Claims

As noted previously, allowable costs are defined as those direct and indirect costs, less applicable credits, considered eligible for reimbursement. When all or part of the costs of a mandated program are specifically reimbursable from local assistance revenue sources (e.g., state, federal, foundation, etc.), only that portion of any increased cost payable from SD funds is eligible for reimbursement under the provisions of GC Section 17561.

Example 1:

As illustrated in Table 5, this example shows how the Offset Against State Mandated Claims is determined for SD receiving block grant revenues not based on a formula allocation. Program costs for each situation equals \$100,000.

	Program Costs	Actual Local Assistance Revenues	State Mandated Costs	Offset Against State Mandated Claims	Claimable Mandated Costs
1.	\$100,000	\$95,000	\$2,500	\$-0-	\$2,500
2.	100,000	97,000	2,500	-0-	2,500
3.	100,000	98,000	2,500	500	2,000
4.	100,000	100,000	2,500	2,500	-0-
5.	100,000 *	50,000	2,500	1,250	1,250
6.	100,000 *	49,000	2,500	250	2,250

* SD's share is \$50,000 of the program cost.

Numbers (1) through (4) in Table 5, show intended funding at 100% from local assistance revenue sources. Numbers (5) and (6) show cost sharing on a 50/50 basis with the district. In numbers (1) through (6), included in the program costs of \$100,000 are state mandated costs of \$2,500. The offset against state mandated claims are the amount of actual local assistance revenues, which exceeds the difference between program costs and state mandated costs. This offset cannot exceed the amount of state mandated costs.

In (1), local assistance revenues were less than expected. Local assistance funding was not in excess of the difference between program costs and state mandated costs. As a result, the offset against state mandated claims is zero and \$2,500 is claimable as mandated costs.

In (4), local assistance revenues were fully realized to cover the entire cost of the program, including the state mandated activity; therefore, the offset against state mandated claims is \$2,500, and claimable cost is \$0.

In (5), the district is sharing 50% of the project cost. Since local assistance revenues of \$50,000 were fully realized, the offset against state mandated claims is \$1,250.

In (6), local assistance revenues were less than the amount expended and the offset against state mandated claims is \$250. Therefore, the claimable mandated costs are \$2,250.

Example 2:

As illustrated in Table 6, this example shows how the offset against state mandated claims is determined for SD's receiving special project funds based on approved actual costs. Local assistance revenues for special projects must be applied proportionately to the approved costs.

Table 6:	Offset Against State Mandates, Example 2
----------	--

	Program Costs	Actual Local Assistance Revenues	State Mandated Costs	Offset Against State Mandated Claims	Claimable Mandated Costs
1.	\$100,000	\$100,000	\$2,500	\$2,500	\$-0-
2.	100,000 **	75,000	2,500	1,875	625
3.	100,000 **	45,000	1,500	1,125	375

** SD's share is \$25,000 of the program cost.

In (2), the entire program cost was approved. Since the local assistance revenue source covers

75% of the program cost, it also proportionately covered 75% of the \$2,500 state mandated costs, or \$1,875.

If in (3) local assistance revenues are less than the amount expected because only \$60,000 of the \$100,000 program costs were determined to be valid by the contracting agency, then a proportionate share of state mandated costs is likewise reduced to \$1,500. The offset against state mandated claims is \$1,125. Therefore, the claimable mandated costs are \$375.

Federal and State Funding Sources

State school fund apportionments and federal aid for education, which are based on ADA and are part of the general system of financing public schools as well as block grants which do not provide for specific reimbursement of costs (i.e. allocation formulas not tied to expenditures), should not be included as reimbursements from local assistance revenue sources.

12. Notice of Claim Adjustment

All claims submitted to the SCO are reviewed to determine if the claim was prepared in accordance with the claiming instructions. Claimants will receive a *Notice of Claim Adjustment* detailing any adjustments made by the SCO.

13. Audit of Costs

Pursuant to GC Section 17558.5, Subdivision (b), the SCO may conduct a field review of any claim after it has been submitted to determine if costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and the claim was prepared in accordance with the SCO's claiming instructions and the P's & G's adopted by the Commission. If any adjustments are made to a claim, a Notice of Claim Adjustment specifying the claim activity adjusted, the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment, will be mailed within thirty days after payment of the claim.

14. Source Documents

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. These costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee records, or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification stating: "I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct" and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure Section 2015.5. Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

15. Claim Forms and Instructions

Unless you are filing electronically, a claimant may submit a computer generated report in substitution for Form-1 and Form-2, provided the format of the report and data fields contained within the report are identical to the claim forms included with these instructions. The claim forms provided with these instructions should be duplicated or printed from SCO's Web site and used by the claimant to file reimbursement claims. The SCO will revise the manual and claim forms as necessary.

A. Form-2, Activity Cost Detail

This form is used to segregate the direct costs by claim activity. In some mandates, specific reimbursable activities have been identified for each activity. The expenses reported on this form must be supported by the official financial records of the claimant. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained by the claimant unless required to be submitted with the claim and must be made available to the SCO on request.

B. Form-1, Claim Summary

This form is used to summarize direct costs by activity and compute allowable indirect costs for the mandate. The direct costs summarized on this form are derived from Form-2 and are carried forward to form FAM-27.

C. Form FAM-27, Claim for Payment

This form contains a certification that must be signed by an authorized officer of the SD's. All applicable information from Form-1 must be carried forward onto this form in order for the SCO to process the claim for payment. An original and one copy of the FAM-27 are required.

Claims should be rounded to the nearest dollar. Submit a signed original and one copy of form FAM-27, Claim for Payment. To expedite the payment process, please sign the FAM-27 with blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.

Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

If delivered by Other delivery services:

Office of the State Controller Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting P.O. Box 942850 Sacramento, CA 94250 Office of the State Controller Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting 3301 C Street, Suite 700 Sacramento, CA 95816

16. Retention of Claiming Instructions

The revised claiming instructions in this package have been arranged in alphabetical order by program name. This Manual should be retained for future reference, and the forms should be duplicated to meet your filing requirements. Annually, new or revised forms, instructions, and any other information claimants may need to file claims will be placed on the SCO's Web site located at www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html.

If you have any questions concerning mandated cost reimbursements, please write to us at the address listed for filing claims, or by e-mail to LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, or call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729.

17. Retention of Claim Records and Supporting Documentation

Pursuant to Government Code Section 17558.5, (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by SD's is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit will be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced.

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated an audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting documents must be made available to the SCO on request.

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER STATE MANDATED COST CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2008-03 NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY

APRIL 4, 2008

Revised September 5, 2009

In accordance with Government Code (GC) Section 17561, eligible claimants may submit claims to the State Controller's Office (SCO) for reimbursement of state mandated cost programs. The following are claiming instructions and forms that eligible claimants will use for filing claims for the Notification of Truancy (NOT) program. These claiming instructions are issued subsequent to adoption of the program's amended Parameters and Guidelines (P's & G's) by the Commission on State Mandates (Commission).

On January 31, 2008, the Commission adopted the attached amended P's and G's for NOT, which is effective July 1, 2006, and are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.

Limitations and Exceptions

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the operation of a mandate pursuant to Government Code Section 17581.5.

Eligible Claimants

Except for community colleges, any school district or county office of education as defined in GC Section 17519 that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim reimbursement.

Filing Deadlines

A. Reimbursement Claims

A reimbursement claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed with the SCO by a school district for reimbursement of costs incurred for which an appropriation is made for the purpose of paying the claim.

An actual claim may be filed by February 15 following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims for fiscal year 2008-09 will be accepted without penalty if postmarked or delivered on or before February 16, 2010. Claims filed more than one year after the deadline will not be accepted.

B. Late Penalty

1. Initial Claims

Late initial claims are assessed a late penalty of 10% of the total amount of the initial claims without limitation.

2. Annual Reimbursement Claims

Late annual reimbursement claims are assessed a late penalty of 10% of the claim amount; \$10,000 maximum penalty.

Minimum Claim Cost

GC Section 17564(a) provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to Sections 17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars (**\$1,000**), provided that a county superintendent of schools may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts within their county if the combined claim exceeds **\$1,000**, even if the individual school district's claim does not each exceed **\$1,000**. The county superintendent of schools will determine if the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school district. These combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools is the fiscal agent for the districts. A combined claim must show the individual claim costs for each eligible school district. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate must only be filed in the combined form unless a school district provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the county superintendent of schools and to the SCO at least one hundred and eighty days prior to the deadline for filing the claim.

Reimbursement of Claims

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, "I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct," and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure Section 2015.5.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

Audit of Costs

All claims submitted to the SCO are reviewed to determine if costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with SCO's claiming instructions and the P's & G's adopted by the Commission. If any adjustments are made to a claim, a Notice of Claim Adjustment specifying the activity adjusted, the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment, will be mailed within thirty days after payment of the claim.

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC Section 17558.5, Subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings.

Retention of Claiming Instructions

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years after the end of the calendar year in which the reimbursement claim was filed or last amended regardless of the year of costs incurred. When no funds were appropriated for initial claims at the time the claim was filed, supporting documents must be retained for three years from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be made available to the SCO on request.

Questions, or requests for hard copies of these instructions, should be faxed to LRSDAR at (916) 323-6527 or e-mailed to LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov or you may call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729. Future mandated costs claiming instructions and forms can be found on the Internet at www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html.

Address for Filing Claims

Claims should be rounded to the nearest dollar. Submit a signed original and a copy of form FAM-27, Claim for Payment, and all other forms. To expedite the payment process, please sign the form in blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.

Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

Office of the State Controller Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting P.O. Box 942850 Sacramento, CA 94250 If delivered by other delivery services:

Office of the State Controller Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting 3301 C Street, Suite 700 Sacramento, CA 95816
 Adopted:
 8/27/87

 Amended:
 7/28/88

 Amended:
 7/22/93

 Amended:
 1/31/08

AMENDMENTS TO PARAMETERS AND GUIDELINES AS DIRECTED BY THE LEGISLATURE

Statutes 2007, Chapter 69 (AB 1698)

Education Code Section 48260.5 Statutes 1983, Chapter 498 [Statutes 1994, Chapter 1023] [Statutes 1995, Chapter 19]

Notification of Truancy 07-PGA-01 (4133)

I. BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY OF MANDATE

Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, added Education Code Section 48260.5 which requires school districts, upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant, to notify the pupil's parent or guardian by first-class mail or other reasonable means of (1) the pupil's truancy; (2) that the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school; and (3) that parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subject to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with section 48290) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.

Additionally, the district must inform parents and guardians of (1) alternative educational programs available in the district, and (2) the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.

A truancy occurs when a student is absent from school without valid excuse three (3) full days in one school year, or is tardy or absent without valid excuse for more than any thirty (30)-minute period during the school day on n three (3) occasions in one school year, or any combination thereof. (Definition from Ed. Code, § 48260, as amended by Stats. 1994, ch. 1023 and Stats. 1995, ch. 19.)

Upon a student's initial classification as a truant, the school must perform the requirements mandated by Education Code section 48260.5 as enacted by Statutes 1983, chapter 498 and amended by Statutes 1994, chapter 1023, and Statutes 1995, chapter 19.

Board of Control Decision

On November 29, 1984, the State Board of Control determined that Education Code Section 48260.5, as added by Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, constitutes a state mandated program because it requires an increased level of service by requiring specified notifications be sent to the parents or guardians of pupils upon initial classification of truancy.

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines

The Legislature directed the Commission on State Mandates to revise the parameters and guidelines to modify the definition of truant and the required elements to be included in the initial truancy notifications to conform reimbursable activities to Statutes 1994, chapter 1023, and Statutes 1995, chapter 19, effective July 1, 2006. (Stats., 2007, ch. 69 (AB 1698).)

II. <u>ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS</u>

The claimants are all school districts and county offices of education of the state of California, except a community college district, as defined by Government Code Section 17519 (formerly Revenue and Taxation Code 2208.5), that incur increased costs as a result of implementing the program activities of Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

III. <u>PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT</u>

The amendments to the parameters and guidelines adopted on January 31, 2008 are effective July 1, 2006.

IV. <u>REIMBURSABLE COSTS</u>

A. Scope of Mandate

The eligible claimant shall be reimbursed for only those costs incurred for planning the notification process, revising district procedures, the printing and distribution of notification forms, and associated record keeping.

B. Reimbursable Activities

For each eligible school district the direct and indirect costs of labor, supplies, and services incurred for the following mandated program activities are reimbursable:

1. Planning and Preparation -- One-time

Planning the method of implementation, revising school district policies, and designing and printing the forms.

2. Notification process -- On-going

Identifying the truant pupils to receive the notification, preparing and distributing by first-class mail or other reasonable means the forms to parents/guardians, and associated recordkeeping to provide parents/guardians with the following required information upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant:

- a. That the pupil is truant.
- b. That the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school.
- c. That parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subjet to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with Section 48260) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.

- d. That alternative educational programs are available in the district.
- e. That the parent or guardian has the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.
- f. That the pupil may be subject to prosecution under Section 48264.
- g. That the pupil may be subject to suspension, restriction, or delay of the pupil's driving privileges pursuant to Section 13202.7 of the Vehicle Code.
- h. That it is recommended that the parent or guardian accompany the pupil to school and attend classes with the pupil for one day.
- C. Uniform Cost Allowance

Pursuant to Government Code section 17557, the Commission on State Mandates has adopted a uniform cost allowance for reimbursement in lieu of payment of total actual costs incurred. The uniform cost allowance is based on the number of initial notifications of truancy distributed pursuant to Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

For fiscal year 1992-93, the uniform cost allowance is \$10.21 per initial notification of truancy distributed. The cost allowance shall be adjusted each subsequent year by the Implicit Price Deflator.

D. Unique Costs

School districts incurring unique costs within the scope of the reimbursable mandated activities may submit a request to amend the parameters and guidelines to the Commission for the unique costs to be approved for reimbursement, Pursuant to Section 1185.3, Title 2, California Code of Regulations, such requests must be made by November 30 immediately following the fiscal year of the reimbursement claim in which reimbursement for the costs is requested.

V. <u>CLAIM PREPARATION</u>

Each claim for reimbursement pursuant to Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, must be timely filed and provide documentation in support of the reimbursement claimed for this mandated program.

A. Uniform Cost Allowance Reimbursement

Report the number of initial notifications of truancy distributed during the year. Do not include in that count the number of notifications or other contacts which may result from the initial notification to the parent or guardian.

B. Recognized Unique Costs

As of fiscal year 1992-93, the Commission has not identified any circumstances which would cause a school district to incur additional costs to implement this mandate which have not already been incorporated in the uniform cost allowance.

If and when the Commission recognizes any unique circumstances which can cause the school district to incur additional reasonable costs to implement this mandated program, these unique implementation costs will be reimbursed for specified fiscal years in addition to the uniform cost allowance.

School districts which incur these recognized unique costs will be required to support those actual costs in the following manner:

1. Narrative Statement of Unique Costs Incurred

Provide a detailed written explanation of the costs associated with the unique circumstances recognized by the Commission.

2. Employee Salaries and Benefits

Identify the employee(s) and their job classification, describe the mandated functions performed, and specify the actual number of hours devoted to each function, the productive hourly rate, and the related benefits. The staff time claimed must be supported by source documentation, such as time reports, however, the average number of hours devoted to each function may be claimed if supported by a documented time study.

3. Services and Supplies

Only expenditures which can be identified as a direct cost as a result of the mandated program can be claimed. List cost of materials which have been consumed or expended specifically for the purposes of this mandated program.

4. Allowable Overhead Costs

School districts must use the J-380 (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the California Department of Education. County offices of education must use the J-73A (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the State Department of Education.

VI. <u>SUPPORTING DATA</u>

For auditing purposes, documents must be kept on file for a period of 3 years from the date of final payment by the State Controller, unless otherwise specified by statute and be made available at the request of the State Controller or his agent.

A. Uniform Allowance Reimbursement

Documentation which indicates the total number of initial notifications of truancy distributed.

B. Reimbursement of Unique Costs

In addition to maintaining the **same** documentation as required for uniform cost allowance reimbursement, all costs claimed must be traceable to source documents **and/or** worksheets that show evidence of the validity of such **costs**.

VIII. OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND OTHER REIMBURSEMENT

Any offsetting savings the claimants experience as a direct result of this statute must be deducted from the uniform cost allowance and actual cost reimbursement for unique circumstances claimed. In addition, reimbursement for this mandated program received from any source, e.g., federal, state, etc., shall be identified and deducted from this claim.

IX. <u>REQUIRED CERTIFICATION</u>

An authorized representative of the claimant will be required to provide a certification of claim, as specified in the State Controller% claiming instructions, for those costs mandated by the state contained herein.

School Mandated Cost Manual

NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY			For State Controller Use	Only PROGRAM
			(19) Program Number 00048 (20) Date Filed (21) LRS Input	048
(01) Claimant Identification Number			Reimbursement Claim Data	
(02) Claimant Name			(22) FORM-1, (03)	
County of Location			(23) FORM-1, (04)	
Street Address or P.O. Box		Suite	(24) FORM-1, (06)	
City	State	Zip Code	(25) FORM-1, (07)	
		Type of Claim	(26)	
	(03)	(09) Reimbursement	(27)	
	(04)	(10) Combined	(28)	
	(05)	(11) Amended	(29)	
Fiscal Year of Cost	(06)	(12)	(30)	
Total Claimed Amount	(07)	(13)	(31)	
Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached Instructions)		(14)	(32)	
Less: Prior Claim Payment Received		(15)	(33)	
Net Claimed Amount		(16)	(34)	
Due from State	(08)	(17)	(35)	
Due to State		(18)	(36)	
(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM				
In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Section 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the school district county office of education to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjuthat I have not violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 of the Government Code.				nder penalty of perjury

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant(s) or payment(s) received, for reimbursement of costs claimed herein; claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program; and claimed amounts do not include charter school costs, either directly or through a third party. All offsetting savings and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source documentation currently maintained by the claimant.

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature of Authorized Officer		
	Date Signed	
	Telephone Number	
	E-mail Address	
Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory		
(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim	Telephone Number	
(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim	Telephone Number	
(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer		

State Controller's Office

PROGRAM		
048		

NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY Certification Claim Form Instructions for Form FAM-27

FORM FAM-27

- (01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller's Office.
- (02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, state, and zip code.
- (03) to (08) Leave blank.
- (09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement.
- (10) If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined.
- (11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended.
- (12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete a separate form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.
- (13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown in the attached Form-1 line (08). The total claimed amount must exceed \$1,000.
- (14) Reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15 of the following fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim is timely filed. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as follows:
 - Late Initial Claims: FAM-27 line(13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or
 - Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed \$10,000.
- (15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero.
- (16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13).
- (17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State.
- (18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State.
- (19) to (21) Leave blank.
- (22) to (36) Reimbursement Claim Data. Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., Form-1, (03), means the information is located on form Form-1, line (03). Enter the information on the same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% should be shown as 8. Completion of this data block will expedite the payment process.
- (37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency's authorized officer, and must type or print name, title, telephone number and E-mail address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original signed certification. (To expedite the payment process, please sign the form FAM-27 with blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.)
- (38) Enter the name, telephone number, and E-mail address of the agency contact person for the claim. If claim is prepared by external consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, telephone number, and e-mail address.

SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL, AND A COPY OF FORM FAM-27, WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO:

Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting P.O. Box 942850 Sacramento, CA 94250 Address, if delivered by other delivery service:

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting 3301 C Street, Suite 700 Sacramento, CA 95816

Program 048	NO	MANDATED COSTS NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY CLAIM SUMMARY		
(01) Claimant		(02)	Fiscal Year /	
Claim Statistics				
(03) Number of trua	nt notifications			
(04) Unit Cost		[\$17.74 for fiscal year 2008-09]		
(05) Total Costs		[Line (03) x line (04)]		
Cost Reduction				
(06) Less: Offsettir	g Savings			
(07) Less: Other R	eimbursements			
(08) Total Claimed	Amount	[Line (05) - {line (06) + line (07)}]		
			I	

Program	NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY	FORM
048	CLAIM SUMMARY Instructions	1

- (01) Enter the name of the claimant. If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A Form-1 should be completed for each department.
- (02) Enter the fiscal year of costs.
- (03) Enter the number of truant notifications that were sent during the fiscal year of claim, upon the students' initial classification of truancy.
- (04) The unit cost rate for fiscal year 08-09 is \$17.74 per initial notification. This unit cost rate will be updated annually in the Annual Revisions for Schools.
- (05) Multiply line (03), the number of truant notifications by line (04), the unit cost rate.
- (06) Less: Offsetting Savings. If applicable, enter the total savings experienced by the claimant as a direct result of this mandate. Submit a detailed schedule of savings with the claim.
- (07) Less: Other Reimbursements. If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, that reimbursed any portion of the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.
- (08) Total Claimed Amount. From Total Costs, line (05), subtract the sum of Offsetting Savings, line (06), and Other Reimbursements, line (07). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to form FAM-27, line (13) for the Reimbursement Claim.

A. STATE OF CALIFORNIA TRAVEL EXPENSE GUIDELINES

Travel Program Effective January 31, 2002

The travel reimbursement program continues to be subject to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requirements for an accountable plan. There are no flat rate reimbursements. All items are to be claimed for the actual amount of expense, up to the maximum allowed. If the provisions below do not require submission of a receipt for a given item of expense, it is the employee's responsibility to retain receipts and other records of the expense and have them available for audit.

Lodging and meals that are provided by the State, including hotel expenses, conference fees, or transportation costs such as airline tickets; or otherwise provided shall not be claimed for reimbursement.

Employees may be reimbursed for actual expenses for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and incidentals for each 24 hours of travel, as follows:

Breakfast	up to	\$6.00
Lunch	up to	10.00
Dinner	up to	18.00
Incidentals	up to	6.00

Incidental expenses include, but are not limited to, expenses for laundering and pressing of clothing and tips for services such as porters and baggage handlers. Incidentals do not include taxicab fares, lodging taxes, or the cost of telegrams or telephone calls.

Lodging

All lodging reimbursements require a receipt from a commercial lodging establishment such as a hotel, motel, bed and breakfast inn, or campground that caters to the general public. No lodging will be reimbursed without a valid receipt. Employees who stay with friends or relatives are not eligible for lodging reimbursement, but may claim their actual expenses for meals and incidentals.

Short-Term Travel

- **A.** For continuous short-term travel of more than 24 hours but less than 31 days, the employee will be reimbursed for actual costs up to the maximum for each meal, incidental, and lodging expense for each completed 24 hours of travel, beginning with the traveler's time of departure and return as follows:
 - 1. On the first day of travel at the beginning of a trip of more than 24 hours:

Trip begins at or before 6 a.m. - Breakfast may be claimed

Trip begins at or before 5 p.m. - Dinner may be claimed

2. On the fractional day of travel at the end of a trip of more than 24 hours:

Trip ends at or after 8 a.m. - Breakfast may be claimed

Trip ends at or after 2 p.m. - Lunch may be claimed

Trip ends at or after 7 p.m. - Dinner may be claimed

If the fractional day includes an overnight stay, receipted lodging may be claimed. No meal or lodging expenses may be claimed or reimbursed more than once on any given date or during any 24-hour period.

B. For continuous travel of less than 24 hours, the employee will be reimbursed for actual expenses, up to a maximum as follows:

Travel begins at or before 6 a.m. and ends at or after 9 a.m. - Breakfast may be claimed Travel begins at or before 4 p.m. and ends at or after 7 p.m. - Dinner may be claimed

If the trip extends overnight, receipted lodging may be claimed. No lunch or incidentals may be claimed on a trip of less than 24 hours.

Short-Term Travel Maximum Lodging Reimbursement Rate

- A. Statewide except as in (B) and (C) below, actual receipted lodging up to \$84 plus tax.
- **B.** When required to conduct state business and obtain lodging in the counties of Los Angeles and San Diego, reimbursement will be for actual receipted lodging, to a maximum of \$110 plus tax.
- **C.** When required to conduct state business and obtain lodging in the counties of Alameda, San Francisco, San Mateo, and Santa Clara, reimbursement will be for actual receipted lodging, to a maximum of \$140 plus tax.

Long-Term Travel

Actual expenses for long-term meals and receipted lodging will be reimbursed when the employee incurs expenses in one location comparable to those arising from the use of establishments catering to long-term visitors.

A. Full Long-Term Travel

To qualify for full long-term travel reimbursement, the employee on a long-term field assignment must meet the following criteria:

- a) The employee continues to maintain a permanent residence at the primary headquarters, and either,
- b) The permanent residence is occupied by the employee's dependents, or
- c) The permanent residence is maintained at a net expense to the employee exceeding \$200 per month.

The employee who is living at the long-term location may claim either:

- Reimbursement for actual individual expense, substantiated by receipts for lodging, water, sewer, gas, and electricity, up to a maximum of \$1,130 per calendar month while on the long-term assignment, and actual expenses up to \$10 for meals and incidentals, for each period of 12 to 24 hours and up to \$5 for actual meals and incidentals for each period of less than 12 hours at the long-term location, or
- 2. Long-term subsistence rates of \$24 for actual meals and incidentals, \$24 for receipted lodging for travel of 12 hours up to 24 hours, and either \$24 for actual meals or \$24 for receipted lodging for travel less than 12 hours when the employee incurs expenses in one location comparable to those arising from the use of establishments catering to long-term visitors.

B. Partial Long-Term Travel

An employee on long-term field assignment who does not maintain a separate residence in the headquarters area may claim long-term subsistence rates of up to \$12 for actual meals and incidentals and \$12 for receipted lodging for travel of 12 hours up to 24 hours at the long-term location, and either \$12 for actual meals or \$12 for receipted lodging for travel less than 12 hours at the long-term location.

Receipts

Receipts or vouchers shall be submitted for every item of expense of \$25 or more.

- a) Receipts are required for every item of transportation and business expense incurred as a result of conducting state business except for actual expenses as follows:
 - 1. Railroad and bus fares of less than \$25, when travel is wholly within the State of California.
 - 2. Street car, ferry fares, bridge and road tolls, local rapid transit system, taxi, shuttle, or hotel bus fares, and parking fees of \$10 or less for each continuous period of parking or each separate transportation expense noted in this item.
 - 3. Telephone, telegraph, tax, or other business charges related to state business of \$5 or less.
 - 4. In the absence of a receipt, reimbursement will be limited to the non-receipted amount above.
- b) Reimbursement will be claimed only for the actual and necessary expenses noted above. Regardless of the above exceptions, the approving officer may require additional certification and/or explanation in order to determine that an expense was actually and reasonably incurred. In the absence of a satisfactory explanation, the expense shall not be allowed.

Mileage

When an employee is authorized by his/her appointing authority or designee to operate a privately owned vehicle on state business, effective January 1, 2009, the employee will be allowed to claim and be reimbursed 55 cents per mile.

B. GOVERNMENT CODE SECTIONS 17500-17617

GC §17500: Legislative Findings and Declarations

The Legislature finds and declares that the existing system for reimbursing local agencies and school districts for the costs of state-mandated local programs has not provided for the effective determination of the state's responsibilities under Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. The Legislature finds and declares that the failure of the existing process to adequately and consistently resolve the complex legal questions involved in the determination of state-mandated costs has led to an increasing reliance by local agencies and school districts on the judiciary and, therefore, in order to relieve unnecessary congestion of the judicial system, it is necessary to create a mechanism which is capable of rendering sound quasi-judicial decisions and providing an effective means of resolving disputes over the existence of state-mandated local programs. It is the intent of the Legislature in enacting this part to provide for the implementation of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. Further, the Legislature intends that the Commission on State Mandates, as a quasi-judicial body, will act in a deliberative manner in accordance with the requirements of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution.

GC §17510: Construction of Part

Unless the context otherwise requires, the definitions contained in this chapter govern the construction of this part. The definition of a word applies to any variants thereof and the singular tense of a word includes the plural.

GC §17511: "City"

"City" means any city whether general law or charter, except a city and county.

GC §17512: "Commission"

"Commission" means the Commission on State Mandates.

GC §17513: "Cost Mandated by the Federal Government"

"Costs mandated by the federal government" means any increased costs incurred by a local agency or school district after January 1, 1973, in order to comply with the requirements of a federal statute or regulation. "Costs mandated by the federal government" includes costs resulting from enactment of a state law or regulation where failure to enact that law or regulation to meet specific federal program or service requirements imposed upon the state would result in substantial monetary penalties or loss of funds to public or private persons in the state whether the federal law was enacted before or after the enactment of the state law, regulation, or executive order. "Costs mandated by the federal government" does not include costs which are specifically reimbursed or funded by the federal or state government or programs or services which may be implemented at the option of the state, local agency, or school district.

GC §17514: "Costs Mandated by the State"

"Costs mandated by the state" means any increased costs which a local agency or school district is required to incur after July 1, 1980, as a result of any statute enacted on or after January 1, 1975, or any executive order implementing any statute enacted on or after January 1, 1975, which mandates a new program or higher level of service of an existing program within the meaning of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution.

GC §17515: "County"

"County" means any chartered or general law county. "County" includes a city and county.

GC §17516: "Executive Order"

"Executive order" means any order, plan, requirement, rule, or regulation issued by any of the following: (a) The Governor. (b) Any officer or official serving at the pleasure of the Governor. (c) Any agency, department, board, or commission of state government. "Executive order" does not include any order, plan, requirement, rule, or regulation issued by the State Water Resources Control Board or by any regional water quality control board pursuant to Division 7 (commencing with Section 13000) of the Water Code. It is the intent of the Legislature that the State Water Resources Control Board and regional water quality control boards will not adopt enforcement orders against publicly owned dischargers which mandate major waste water treatment facility construction costs unless federal financial assistance and state financial assistance pursuant to the Clean Water Bond Act of 1970 and 1974, is simultaneously made available. "Major" means either a new treatment facility or an addition to an existing facility, the cost of which is in excess of 20 percent of the cost of replacing the facility.

GC §17517.5: "Cost Savings authorized by the state"

"Cost savings authorized by the state" means any decreased costs that a local agency or school district realizes as a result of any statute enacted or any executive order adopted that permits or requires the discontinuance of or a reduction in the level of service of an existing program that was mandated before January 1, 1975.

GC §17518: "Local Agency"

"Local agency" means any city, county, special district, authority, or other political subdivision of the state.

GC §17518.5: "Reasonable Reimbursement Methodology"

(a) "Reasonable reimbursement methodology" means a formula for reimbursing local agencies and school districts for costs mandated by the state, as defined in Section 17514. (b) A reasonable reimbursement methodology shall be based on cost information from a representative sample of eligible claimants, information provided by associations of local agencies and school districts, or other projections of local costs. (c) A reasonable reimbursement methodology shall consider the variation in costs among local agencies and school districts to implement the mandate in a cost-efficient manner. (d) Whenever possible, a reasonable reimbursement methodology shall be based on general allocation formulas, uniform cost allowances, and other approximations of local costs mandated by the state, rather than detailed documentation of actual local costs. In cases when local agencies and school districts are projected to incur costs to implement a mandate over a period of more than one fiscal year, the determination of a reasonable reimbursement methodology may consider local costs and state reimbursements over a period of greater than one fiscal year, but not exceeding 10 years. (e) A reasonable reimbursement methodology may be developed by any of the following: (1) The Department of Finance. (2) The Controller. (3) An affected state agency. (4) A claimant. (5) An interested party.

GC §17519: "School District"

"School district" means any school district, community college district, or county superintendent of schools.

GC §17520: "Special District"

"Special district" means any agency of the state that performs governmental or proprietary functions within limited boundaries. "Special district" includes a county service area, a maintenance district or area, an improvement district or improvement zone, or any other zone or area. "Special district" does not include a city, a county, a school district, or a community college district. County free libraries established pursuant to Chapter 2 (commencing with Section 27151) of Division 20 of the Education Code, areas receiving county fire protection services pursuant to Section 25643 of the Government Code, and county road districts established pursuant to Chapter 7 (commencing with Section 1550) of Division 2 of the Streets and Highways Code shall be considered "special districts" for all purposes of this part.

GC §17521: "Test Claim"

"Test claim" means the first claim filed with the commission alleging that a particular statute or executive order imposes costs mandated by the state, and includes a claim filed pursuant to Section 17574.

GC §17521.5: "Legislatively Determined Mandate"

"Legislatively determined mandate" means the provisions of a statute or executive order that the Legislature, pursuant to Article 1.5, has declared by statute to be a mandate for which reimbursement is required by Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution.

GC §17522: Definitions

(a) "Initial reimbursement claim" means a claim filed with the Controller by a local agency or school district for costs to be reimbursed for the fiscal years specified in the first claiming instructions issued by the Controller pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 17558. (b) "Annual reimbursement claim" means a claim for actual costs incurred in a prior fiscal year filed with the Controller by a local agency or school district for which appropriations are made to the Controller for this purpose. (c) "Estimated reimbursement claim" means a claim filed with the Controller by a local agency or school district in conjunction with an initial reimbursement claim, annual reimbursement claim, or at other times, for estimated costs to be reimbursed during the current or future fiscal years, for which appropriations are made to the Controller for this purpose. (d) "Entitlement claim" means a claim filed by a local agency or school district with the Controller for the purpose of establishing or adjusting a base year entitlement. All entitlement claims are subject to Section 17616.

GC §17523: "Deflator"

"Deflator" means the Implicit Price Deflator for the Costs of Goods and Services to Governmental Agencies, as determined by the Department of Finance.

GC §17524: "Base Year Entitlement"

"Base year entitlement" means that amount determined to be the average for the approved reimbursement claims of each local agency or school district for the three preceding fiscal years adjusted by the change in the deflator. A base year entitlement shall not include any nonrecurring or initial startup costs incurred by a local agency or school district in any of those three fiscal years. For those mandates which become operative on January 1 of any year, the amount of the "approved reimbursement claim" for the first of the three years may be computed by annualizing the amount claimed for the six-month period of January through June in that first year, excluding nonrecurring or startup costs.

GC §17525: Members: Term and Per Diem for Specified Members

(a) There is hereby created the Commission on State Mandates, which shall consist of seven members as follows: (1) The Controller. (2) The Treasurer. (3) The Director of Finance. (4) The Director of the Office of Planning and Research. (5) A public member with experience in public finance, appointed by the Governor and approved by the Senate. (6) Two members from the following three categories appointed by the Governor and approved by the Senate, provided that no more than one member shall come from the same category: (A) A city council member. (B) A member of a county or city and county board of supervisors. (C) A governing board member of a school district as defined in Section 17519.
(b) Each member appointed pursuant to paragraph (5) or (6) of subdivision (a) shall be subject to both of the following: (1) The member shall serve for a term of four years subject to renewal. (2) The member shall receive per diem of one hundred dollars (\$100) for each day actually spent in the discharge of official duties and shall be reimbursed for any actual and necessary expenses incurred in connection with the performance of duties as a member of the commission.

GC §17526: Commission Meetings

(a) All meetings of the commission shall be open to the public, except that the commission may meet in executive session to consider the appointment or dismissal of officers or employees of the commission or to hear complaints or charges brought against a member, officer, or employee of the commission. (b) The commission shall meet at least once every two months. (c) The time and place of meetings may be set by resolution of the commission, by written petition of a majority of the members, or by written call of the chairperson. The chairperson may, for good cause, change the starting time or place, reschedule, or cancel any meeting.

GC §17527: Powers of Commission

In carrying out its duties and responsibilities, the commission shall have the following powers: (a) To examine any document, report, or data, including computer programs and data files, held by any local agency or school district. (b) To meet at times and places as it may deem proper. (c) As a body or, on the authorization of the commission, as a committee composed of one or more members, to hold hearings at any time and place it may deem proper. (d) Upon a majority vote of the commission, to issue subpoenas to compel the attendance of witnesses and the production of books, records, papers, accounts, reports, and documents. (e) To administer oaths. (f) To contract with other agencies or individuals, public or private, as it deems necessary, to provide or prepare services, facilities, studies, and reports to the commission as will assist it in carrying out its duties and responsibilities. (g) To adopt, promulgate, amend, and rescind rules and regulations, which shall not be subject to the review and approval of the Office of Administrative Law pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act provided for in Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 11340) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2. (h) To do any and all other actions necessary or convenient to enable it fully and adequately to perform its duties and to exercise the powers expressly granted to it.

GC §17528: Election of Officers

The members of the commission shall elect a chairperson and a vice chairperson of the commission.

GC §17529: Appointment of Attorney: Duties

The commission may appoint as attorney to the commission an attorney at law of this state, who shall hold office at the pleasure of the commission. The attorney shall represent and appear for the commission in all actions and proceedings involving any question under this part or under any order or act of the commission. The attorney shall advise the commission and each member of the commission, when so requested, in regard to all matters in connection with the powers and duties of the commission and the members thereof. The attorney shall generally perform all duties and services as attorney to the commission which the commission may require.

GC §17530: Appointment of Executive Director: Duties

The commission shall appoint an executive director, who shall be exempt from civil service and shall hold office at the pleasure of the commission. The executive director shall be responsible for the executive and administrative duties of the commission and shall organize, coordinate, supervise, and direct the operations and affairs of the commission and expedite all matters within the jurisdiction of the commission. The executive director shall keep a full and true record of all proceedings of the commission, issue all necessary process, writs, warrants, and notices, and perform other duties as the commission prescribes.

GC §17531: Authority of Executive Director to Employ Necessary Staff

The executive director may employ those officers, examiners, experts, statisticians, accountants, inspectors, clerks, and employees as the executive director deems necessary to carry out the provisions of this part or to perform the duties and exercise the powers conferred upon the commission by law.

GC §17532: Quorum: Investigations, Inquiries, and Hearing

A majority of the commissioners shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of any business, for the performance of any duty, or for the exercise of any power of the commission. Any investigation, inquiry, or hearing which the commission has power to undertake or to hold may be undertaken or held by or before any commissioner or commissioners designated for the purpose by the commission. The evidence in any investigation, inquiry, or hearing may be taken by the commissioner or commissioners to whom the investigation, inquiry, or hearing has been assigned or, in his or her or their behalf, by an examiner designated for that purpose. Every finding, opinion, and order made by the commissioner or commissioners so designated, pursuant to the investigation, inquiry, or hearing, when approved or confirmed by the commission and ordered filed in its office, shall be deemed to be the finding, opinion, and order of the commission.

GC §17533: Provisions not Applicable to Hearing by Commission

Notwithstanding Section 11425.10, Chapter 4.5 (commencing with Section 11400) of Part 1 of Division 3 does not apply to a hearing by the commission under this part.

GC §17550: Reimbursements of Local Agencies and Special Districts

Reimbursement of local agencies and school districts for costs mandated by the state shall be provided pursuant to this chapter.

GC §17551: Commission Hearing and Decision Upon Claims

(a) The commission, pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, shall hear and decide upon a claim by a local agency or school district that the local agency or school district is entitled to be reimbursed by the state for costs mandated by the state as required by Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (b) Except as provided in Sections 17573 and 17574, commission review of claims may be had pursuant to subdivision (a) only if the test claim is filed within the time limits specified in this section. (c) Local agency and school district test claims shall be filed not later than 12 months following the effective date of a statute or executive order, or within 12 months of incurring increased costs as a result of a statute or executive order, whichever is later. (d) The commission, pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, shall hear and decide upon a claim by a local agency or school district filed on or after January 1, 1985, that the Controller has incorrectly reduced payments to the local agency or school district pursuant to paragraph (2) of subdivision (d) of Section 17561.

GC §17552: Exclusivity of Procedure by Chapter

This chapter shall provide the sole and exclusive procedure by which a local agency or school district may claim reimbursement for costs mandated by the state as required by Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution.

GC §17553: Adoption of Procedure for Receiving Claims and Providing Hearings: Postponement of Hearings

(a) The commission shall adopt procedures for receiving claims filed pursuant to this article and Section 17574 for providing a hearing on those claims. The procedures shall do all of the following: (1) Provide for presentation of evidence by the claimant, the Department of Finance and any other affected department or agency, and any other interested person. (2) Ensure that a statewide cost estimate is adopted within 12 months after receipt of a test claim, when a determination is made by the commission that a mandate exists. This deadline may be extended for up to six months upon the request of either the claimant or the commission. (3) Permit the hearing of a claim to be postponed at the request of the claimant, without prejudice, until the next scheduled hearing. (b) All test claims shall be filed on a form prescribed by the commission and shall contain at least the following elements and documents: (1) A written narrative that identifies the specific sections of statutes or executive orders and the effective date and register number of regulations alleged to contain a mandate and shall include all of the following: (A) A detailed description of the new activities and costs that arise from the mandate. (B) A detailed description of existing activities and costs that are modified by the mandate. (C) The actual increased costs incurred by the claimant during the fiscal year for which the claim was filed to implement the alleged mandate. (D) The actual or estimated annual costs that will be incurred by the claimant to implement the alleged mandate during the fiscal year immediately following the fiscal year for which the claim was filed. (E) A statewide cost estimate of increased costs that all local agencies or school districts will incur to implement the alleged mandate during the fiscal year immediately following the fiscal year for which the claim was filed. (F) Identification of all of the following: (i) Dedicated state funds appropriated for this program. (ii) Dedicated federal funds appropriated for this program. (iii) Other non-local agency funds dedicated for this program. (iv) The local agency's general purpose funds for this program. (v) Fee authority to offset the costs of this program. (G) Identification of prior mandate determinations made by the Commission on State Mandates or a predecessor agency that may be related to the alleged mandate. (H) Identification of a legislatively determined mandate pursuant to Section 17573 that is on the same statute or executive order. (2) The written narrative shall be supported with declarations under penalty of perjury, based on the declarant's personal knowledge, information or belief, and signed by persons who are authorized and competent to do so, as follows: (A) Declarations of actual or estimated increased costs that will be incurred by the claimant to implement the alleged mandate. (B) Declarations identifying all local, state, or federal funds, or fee authority that may be used to offset the increased costs that will be incurred by the claimant to implement the alleged mandate, including direct and indirect costs, (C) Declarations describing new activities performed to implement specified provisions of the new statute or executive order alleged to impose a reimbursable state-mandated program. Specific references shall be made to chapters, articles, sections, or page numbers alleged to impose a reimbursable state-mandated program. (D) If applicable, declarations describing the period of reimbursement and payments received for full reimbursement of costs for a legislatively determined mandate pursuant to Section 17573, and the authority to file a test claim pursuant to paragraph (1) of Section 17574. (3) (A) The written narrative shall be supported with copies of all of the following: (i) The test claim statute that includes the bill number or executive order, alleged to impose or impact a mandate. (ii) Relevant portions of state constitutional provisions, federal statutes, and executive orders that may impact the alleged mandate. (iii) Administrative decisions and court decisions cited in the narrative. (B) State mandate determinations made by the Commission on State Mandates or a predecessor agency and published court decisions on state mandate determinations made by the Commission on State Mandates are exempt from this requirement. (4) A test claim shall be signed at the end of the document, under penalty of perjury by the claimant or its authorized representative, with the declaration that the test claim is true and complete to the best of the declarant's personal knowledge or information or belief. The date of signing, the declarant's title, address, telephone number, facsimile machine telephone number, and electronic mail address shall be included.

(c) If a completed test claim is not received by the commission within 30 calendar days from the date that an incomplete test claim was returned by the commission, the original test claim filing date may be disallowed, and a new test claim may be accepted on the same statute or executive order. (d) In addition, the commission shall determine whether an incorrect reduction claim is complete within 10 days after the date that the incorrect reduction claim is filed. If the commission determines that an incorrect reduction claim is not complete, the commission shall notify the local agency and school district that filed the claim stating the reasons that the claim is not complete. The local agency or school district shall have 30 days to complete the claim. The commission shall serve a copy of the complete incorrect reduction claim is delivered or mailed to file any rebuttal to an incorrect reduction claim. The failure of the Controller to file a rebuttal to an incorrect reduction claim shall not serve to delay the consideration of the claim by the commission.

GC §17554: Commission's Authority to Expedite Claim

With the agreement of all parties to the claim, the commission may waive the application of any procedural requirement imposed by this chapter or pursuant to Section 17553. The authority granted by this section includes the consolidation of claims and the shortening of time periods.

GC §17555: Date for Public Hearing: Test Claim Form and Procedure

(a) No later than 30 days after hearing and deciding upon a test claim pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17551, and determining the amount to be subvened to local agencies and school districts for reimbursement pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17557, the commission shall notify the appropriate Senate and Assembly policy and fiscal committees, the Legislative Analyst, the Department of Finance, and the Controller of that decision. (b) For purposes of this section, the "appropriate policy committee" means the policy committee that has jurisdiction over the subject matter of the statute, regulation, or executive order, and bills relating to that subject matter would have been heard.

GC §17556: Criteria for not Finding Costs Mandated by the State

The commission shall not find costs mandated by the state, as defined in Section 17514, in any claim submitted by a local agency or school district, if, after a hearing, the commission finds any one of the following: (a) The claim is submitted by a local agency or school district that requested legislative authority for that local agency or school district to implement the program specified in the statute, and that statute imposes costs upon that local agency or school district requesting the legislative authority. A resolution from the governing body or a letter from a delegated representative of the governing body of a local agency or school district that requests authorization for that local agency or school district to implement a given program shall constitute a request within the meaning of this subdivision. (b) The statute or executive order affirmed for the state a mandate that had been declared existing law or regulation by action of the courts. (c) The statute or executive order imposes a requirement that is mandated by a federal law or regulation and results in costs mandated by the federal government, unless the statute or executive order mandates costs that exceed the mandate in that federal law or regulation. This subdivision applies regardless of whether the federal law or regulation was enacted or adopted prior to or after the date on which the state statute or executive order was enacted or issued. (d) The local agency or school district has the authority to levy service charges, fees, or assessments sufficient to pay for the mandated program or increased level of service. (e) The statute, executive order, or an appropriation in a Budget Act or other bill provides for offsetting savings to local agencies or school districts that result in no net costs to the local agencies or school districts, or includes additional revenue that was specifically intended to fund the costs of the state mandate in an amount sufficient to fund the cost of the state mandate. (f) The statute or executive order imposes duties that are necessary to implement, reasonably within the scope of, or expressly included in, a ballot measure approved by the votes in a statewide or local election. This subdivision applies regardless of whether the statute or executive order was enacted or adopted before or after the date on which the ballot measure was approved by the voters. (g) The statute created a new crime or infraction, eliminated a

crime or infraction, or changed the penalty for a crime or infraction, but only for that portion of the statute relating directly to the enforcement of the crime or infraction.

GC §17557: Determination of Amount to be Subvened for Reimbursement: Parameters and Guidelines

(a) If the commission determines there are costs mandated by the state pursuant to Section 17551, it shall determine the amount to be subvened to local agencies and school districts for reimbursement. In so doing it shall adopt parameters and guidelines for reimbursement of any claims relating to the statute or executive order. The successful test claimants shall submit proposed parameters and guidelines within 30 days of adoption of a statement of decision on a test claim. At the request of a successful test claimant, the commission may provide for one or more extensions of this 30-day period at any time prior to its adoption of the parameters and guidelines. If proposed parameters and guidelines are not submitted within the 30-day period and the commission has not granted an extension, then the commission shall notify the test claimant that the amount of reimbursement the test claimant is entitled to for the first 12 months of incurred costs will be reduced by 20 percent, unless the test claimant can demonstrate to the commission why an extension of the 30-day period is justified. (b) In adopting parameters and guidelines, the commission may adopt a reasonable reimbursement methodology. (c) The parameters and guidelines adopted by the commission shall specify the fiscal years for which local agencies and school districts shall be reimbursed for costs incurred. However, the commission may not specify in the parameters and guidelines any fiscal year for which payment could be provided in the annual Budget Act. (d) A local agency, school district, or the state may file a written request with the commission to amend, modify, or supplement the parameters or guidelines. The commission may, after public notice and hearing, amend, modify, or supplement the parameters and guidelines. A parameters and guidelines amendment submitted within 90 days of the claiming deadline for initial claims, as specified in the claiming instructions pursuant to Section 17561, shall apply to all years eligible for reimbursement as defined in the original parameters and guidelines. A parameters and guidelines amendment filed more than 90 days after the claiming deadline for initial claims, as specified in the claiming instructions pursuant to Section 17561, and on or before the claiming deadline following a fiscal year, shall establish reimbursement eligibility for that fiscal year. (e) A test claim shall be submitted on or before June 30 following a fiscal year in order to establish eligibility for reimbursement for that fiscal year. The claimant may thereafter amend the test claim at any time, but before the test claim is set for a hearing, without affecting the original filing date as long as the amendment substantially relates to the original test claim. (f) In adopting parameters and guidelines, the commission shall consult with the Department of Finance, the affected state agency, the Controller, the fiscal and policy committees of the Assembly and Senate, the Legislative Analyst, and the claimants to consider a reasonable reimbursement methodology that balances accuracy with simplicity.

GC §17557.1: Statement of Decision on Test Claim

(a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this part within 30 days of the commission's adoption of a statement of decision on a test claim, the test claimant and the Department of Finance may notify the executive director of the commission in writing of their intent to follow the process described in this section to develop a reasonable reimbursement methodology and statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year for reimbursement of costs mandated by the state in accordance with the statement of decision. The letter of intent shall include the date on which the test claimant and the Department of Finance will submit a plan to ensure that costs from a representative sample of eligible local agency or school district claimants are considered in the development of a reasonable reimbursement methodology. (b) This plan shall also include all of the following information: (1) The date on which the test claimant and Department of Finance will submit to the executive director the draft reasonable reimbursement methodology. (2) The date on which the test claimant and Department of Finance will submit to the executive director the draft reasonable reimbursement methodology and proposed statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year. This date shall be no later than 180 days after the date the letter of intent is sent by the test claimant and Department of Finance to the executive

director. (c) At the request of the test claimant and Department of Finance, the executive director may provide for up to four extensions of this 180-day period. (d) The test claimant or Department of Finance may notify the executive director at any time that the claimant or Department of Finance no longer intends to develop a reasonable reimbursement methodology pursuant to this section. In this case, paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 17553 and Section 17557 shall apply to the test claim. Upon receipt of this notification, the executive director shall notify the test claimant of the duty to submit proposed parameters and guidelines within 30 days under subdivision (a) of Section 17557.

GC §17557.2: Broad Support Required; Joint Proposal Prior to Commission Hearing

(a) A reasonable reimbursement methodology developed pursuant to Section 17557.1 or a joint request for early termination of a reasonable reimbursement methodology shall have broad support from a wide range of local agencies or school districts. The test claimant and Department of Finance may demonstrate broad support from a wide range of local agencies or school districts in different ways including, but not limited to, obtaining endorsement by one or more statewide associations of local agencies or school districts and securing letters of approval from local agencies or school districts. (b) No later than 60 days before a commission hearing, the test claimant and Department of Finance shall submit to the commission joint proposal that shall include all of the following: (1) The draft reasonable reimbursement methodology. (2) The proposed statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year. (3) A description of the steps the test claimant and the Department of Finance undertook to determine the level of support by local agencies or school districts for the draft reasonable reimbursement methodology. (4) An agreement that the reasonable reimbursement methodology developed and approved under this section shall be in effect for a period of five years unless a different term is approved by the commission, or upon submission to the commission of a letter indicating the Department of Finance and test claimant's joint interest in early termination of the reasonable reimbursement methodology. (5) An agreement that, at the conclusion of the period established in paragraph (4), the Department of Finance and the test claimant will consider jointly whether amendments to the methodology are necessary. (c) The commission shall approve the draft reasonable reimbursement methodology if review of the information submitted pursuant to Section 17557.1 and subdivision (b) of this section demonstrates that the draft reasonable reimbursement methodology and statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year have been developed in accordance with Section 17557.1 and meet the requirements of subdivision (a). The commission thereafter shall adopt the proposed statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year. Statewide cost estimates adopted under this section shall be included in the report to the Legislature required under Section 17600 and shall be reported by the commission to the appropriate Senate and Assembly policy and fiscal committees, the Legislative Analyst, and the Department of Finance not later than 30 days after adoption. (d) Unless amendments are proposed pursuant to this subdivision, the reasonable reimbursement methodology approved by the commission pursuant to this section shall expire after either five years, any other term approved by the commission, or upon submission to the commission of a letter indication the Department of Finance's and test claimant's joint interest in early termination of the reasonable reimbursement methodology. (e) The commission shall approved a joint request for early termination of a reasonable reimbursement methodology if the request meets the requirements of subdivision (a). If the commission approves a joint request for early termination, the commission shall notify the test claimant of the duty to submit proposed parameters and guidelines to the commission pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17557. (f) At least one year before the expiration of a reasonable reimbursement methodology, the commission shall notify the Department of Finance and the test claimant that they may do one of the following: (1) Jointly propose amendments to the reasonable reimbursement methodology by submitting the information described in paragraphs (1), (3), and (4) of subdivision (b), and providing an estimate of the mandate's annual cost for the subsequent budget year. (2) Jointly propose that the reasonable reimbursement methodology remain in effect. (3) Allow the reasonable reimbursement methodology to expire and notify the commission that the test claimant will submit proposed parameters and guidelines to the commission pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17557 to replace the reasonable reimbursement methodology. (g) The commission shall either approve the continuation of the reasonable reimbursement methodology or approve the jointly proposed amendments to the reasonable reimbursement methodology if the

information submitted in accordance with paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) demonstrates that the proposed amendments were developed in accordance with Section 17557.1 and meet the requirements of subdivision (a) of this section.

GC §17558: Submission of Parameters and Guidelines to Controller: Transfer of Claims; Claiming Instructions

(a) The commission shall submit the adopted parameters and guidelines or a reasonable reimbursement methodology approved pursuant to Section 17557.2 to the Controller. As used in this chapter, a "reasonable reimbursement methodology" approved pursuant to Section 17557.2 includes all amendments to the reasonable reimbursement methodology. When the Legislature declares a legislatively determined mandate in accordance with Section 17573 in which claiming instructions are necessary, the Department of Finance shall notify the Controller. (b) Not later than 60 days after receiving the adopted parameters and guidelines, a reasonable reimbursement methodology from the commission, or notification from the Department of Finance, the Controller shall issue claiming instructions for each mandate that requires state reimbursement, to assist local agencies and school districts in claiming costs to be reimbursed. In preparing claiming instructions, the Controller shall request assistance from the Department of Finance and may request the assistance of other state agencies. The claiming instructions shall be derived from the test claim decision and the adopted parameters and guidelines, reasonable reimbursement methodology, or statute declaring a legislatively determined mandate. (c) The Controller shall, within 60 days after receiving adopted parameters and guidelines, an amended reasonable reimbursement methodology from the commission or other information necessitating a revision of the claiming instructions, prepare and issue revised claiming instructions for mandates that require state reimbursement that have been established by commission action pursuant to Section 17557. Section 17557.2 or after any decision or order of the commission pursuant to Section 17557.2, or after any action by the Legislature pursuant to Section 17573. In preparing revised claiming instructions, the Controller may request the assistance of other state agencies.

GC §17558.5: Reimbursement Claim: Audit; Remittance Advice and Other Notices of Payment

(a) A reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced. (b) The Controller may conduct a field review of any claim after the claim has been submitted, prior to the reimbursement of the claim. (c) The Controller shall notify the claimant in writing within 30 days after issuance of a remittance advice of any adjustment to a claim for reimbursement that results from an audit or review. The notification shall specify the claim components adjusted, the amounts adjusted, interest charges on claims adjusted to reduce the overall reimbursement to the local agency or school district, and the reason for the adjustment. Remittance advices and other notices of payment action shall not constitute notice of adjustment from an audit or review. (d) The interest rate charged by the Controller on reduced claims shall be set at the Pooled Money Investment Account rate and shall be imposed on the dollar amount of the overpaid claim from the time the claim was paid until overpayment is satisfied. (e) Nothing in this section shall be construed to limit the adjustment of payments when inaccuracies are determined to be the result of the intent to defraud, or when a delay in the completion of an audit is the result of willful acts by the claimant or inability to reach agreement on terms of final settlement.

GC §17558.6: Legislative Intent

It is the intent of the Legislature that the Commission on State Mandates review its process by which local agencies may appeal the reduction of reimbursement claims on the basis that the reduction is incorrect in order to provide for a more expeditious and less costly process.

GC §17559: Judicial Review

(a) The commission may order a reconsideration of all or part of a test claim or incorrect reduction claim on petition of any party. The power to order a reconsideration or amend a test claim decision shall expire 30 days after the statement of decision is delivered or mailed to the claimant. If additional time is needed to evaluate a petition for reconsideration filed prior to the expiration of the 30-day period, the commission may grant a stay of that expiration for no more than 30 days, solely for the purpose of considering the petition. If no action is taken on a petition within the time allowed for ordering reconsideration, the petition shall be deemed denied. (b) A claimant or the state may commence a proceeding in accordance with the provisions of Section 1094.5 of the Code of Civil Procedure to set aside a decision of the commission on the ground that the commission's decision is not supported by substantial evidence. The court may order the commission to hold another hearing regarding the claim and may direct the commission on what basis the claim is to receive a rehearing.

GC §17560: Deadlines for Filing Reimbursement Claims

Reimbursement for state-mandated costs may be claimed as follows: (a) A local agency or school district may, by February 15 following the fiscal year in which costs are incurred, file an annual reimbursement claim that details the costs actually incurred for that fiscal year. (b) In the event revised claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to subdivision (c) of Section 17558 between November 15 and February 15, a local agency or school district filing an annual reimbursement claim shall have 120 days following the issuance date of the revised claiming instructions to file a claim.

GC §17561: Reimbursement of Costs for State Mandated Programs

(a) The state shall reimburse each local agency and school district for all "costs mandated by the state." as defined in Section 17514 and for legislatively determined mandates in accordance with Section 17573. (b) (1) For the initial fiscal year during which these costs are incurred, reimbursement funds shall be provided as follows: (A) Any statute mandating these costs shall provide an appropriation therefor. (B) Any executive order mandating these costs shall be accompanied by a bill appropriating the funds therefor, or alternatively, an appropriation for these costs shall be included in the Budget Bill for the next succeeding fiscal year. The executive order shall cite that item of appropriation in the Budget Bill or that appropriation in any other bill that is intended to serve as the source from which the Controller may pay the claims of local agencies and school districts. (2) In subsequent fiscal years appropriations for these costs shall be included in the annual Governor's Budget and in the accompanying Budget Bill. In addition, appropriations to reimburse local agencies and school districts for continuing costs resulting from chaptered bills or executive orders for which claims have been awarded pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 17551 shall be included in the annual Governor's Budget and in the accompanying Budget Bill. (c) The amount appropriated to reimburse local agencies and school districts for costs mandated by the state shall be appropriated to the Controller for disbursement. (d) The Controller shall pay any eligible claim pursuant to this section by August 15 or 45 days after the date of the appropriation for the claim is effective, whichever is later. The Controller shall disburse reimbursement funds to local agencies or school districts if the costs of these mandates are not payable to state agencies, or to state agencies that would otherwise collect the costs of these mandates from local agencies or school districts in the form of fees, premiums, or payments. When disbursing reimbursement funds to local agencies or school districts, the Controller shall disburse them as follows: (1) For initial reimbursement claims, the Controller shall issue claiming instructions to the relevant local agencies and school districts pursuant to Section 17558. Issuance of the claiming instructions shall constitute a notice of the right of the local agencies and school districts to file reimbursement claims, based upon parameters and guidelines adopted by the commission, the

reasonable reimbursement methodology approved by the commission pursuant to Section 17557.2, or statutory declaration of a legislative determined and reimbursement methodology pursuant to Section 17573. (A) When claiming instructions are issued by the Controller pursuant to Section 17558 for each mandate determined pursuant to Section 17551 or 17573 that requires state reimbursement, each local agency or school district to which the mandate is applicable shall submit claims for initial fiscal year costs to the Controller within 120 days of the issuance date for the claiming instructions. (B) When the commission is requested to review the claiming instructions pursuant to Section 17571, each local agency or school district to which the mandate is applicable shall submit a claim for reimbursement within 120 days after the commission reviews the claiming instructions for reimbursement issued by the Controller. (C) If the local agency or school district does not submit a claim for reimbursement within the 120-day period, or submits a claim pursuant to revised claiming instructions, it may submit its claim for reimbursement as specified in Section 17560. The Controller shall pay these claims from the funds appropriated therefor, provided that the Controller (i) may audit the records of any local agency or school district to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs, the application of a reasonable reimbursement methodology, or application of a legislatively enacted reimbursement methodology under Section 17573, and (ii) may reduce any claim that the Controller determines is excessive or unreasonable. (2) In subsequent fiscal years each local agency or school district shall submit its claims as specified in Section 17560. The Controller shall pay these claims from funds appropriated therefor, provided that the Controller (A) may audit (i) the records of any local agency or school district to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs, (ii) the application of a reasonable reimbursement methodology, or (iii) application of a legislatively enacted reimbursement methodology under Section 17573.(B) may reduce any claim that the Controller determines is excessive or unreasonable, and (C) shall adjust the payment to correct for any underpayments or overpayments which occurred in previous fiscal years. (3) When paying a timely filed claim for initial reimbursement, the Controller shall withhold 20 percent of the amount of the claim until the claim is audited to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs. All initial reimbursement claims for all fiscal years required to be filed on their initial filing date for a state-mandated local program shall be considered as one claim for the purpose of computing any late claim penalty. Any claim for initial reimbursement filed after the filing deadline shall be reduced by 10 percent of the amount that would have been allowed had the claim been timely filed. The Controller may withhold payment of any late claim for initial reimbursement until the next deadline for funded claims unless sufficient funds are available to pay the claim after all timely filed claims have been paid. In no case may a reimbursement claim be paid if submitted more than one year after the filing deadline specified in the Controller's claiming instructions on funded mandates . (e) (1) Except as specified in paragraph (2), for the purposes of determining the state's payment obligation under paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the Constitution, a mandate that is "determined in a preceding fiscal year to be payable by the state" means any mandate for which the commission adopted a statewide cost estimate pursuant to this part during a previous fiscal year or that were identified as mandates by a predecessor agency to the commission, or that the Legislature declared by statute to be a legislatively determined mandate, unless the mandate has been repealed or otherwise eliminated. (2) If the commission adopts a statewide cost estimate for a mandate during the months of April, May, or June, the state's payment obligation under subdivision (b) of Section 6 of Article XIIIB shall commence one year after the time specified in paragraph (1).

GC §17561.5: Payment of Claim with Interest

The payment of an initial reimbursement claim by the Controller shall include accrued interest at the Pooled Money Investment Account rate, if the payment is being made more than 365 days after adoption of the statewide cost estimate for an initial claim or, in the case of payment of a subsequent claim relating to that same statute or executive order, if payment is being made more than 60 days after the filing deadline for, or the actual date of receipt of, the subsequent claim, whichever is later. In those instances, interest shall begin to accrue as of the 366th day after adoption of the statewide cost estimate for an initial claim and as of the 61st day after the filing deadline for, or actual date of receipt of, the subsequent claim, whichever is later.

GC §17561.6: Payment

A budget act item or appropriation pursuant to this part for reimbursement of claims shall include an amount necessary to reimburse any interest due pursuant to Section 17561.5.

GC §17562: Review of Costs of State-Mandated Local Programs

(a) The Legislature hereby finds and declares that the increasing revenue constraints on state and local government and the increasing costs of financing state-mandated local programs make evaluation of state-mandated local programs imperative. Accordingly, it is the intent of the Legislature to increase information regarding state mandates and establish a method for regularly reviewing the costs and benefits of state-mandated local programs. (b) The Controller shall submit a report to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee and fiscal committees by October 31 of each fiscal year beginning with the 2007-08 fiscal year. This report shall summarize, by state mandate, the total amount of claims paid per fiscal year and the amount, if any, of mandate deficiencies or surpluses. This report shall be made available in an electronic spreadsheet format. The report shall compare the annual cost of each mandate. In the preceding fiscal year to the amount determined to be payable by the state for that fiscal year. (2) The Controller shall submit a report to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, the applicable fiscal committees, and the Director of Finance by April 30 of each fiscal year. This report shall summarize, by state mandate, the total amount of unpaid claims by fiscal year that were submitted before April 1 of that fiscal year. The report shall also summarize any mandate deficiencies or surpluses. It shall be made available in an electronic spreadsheet, and shall be used for the purpose of determining the state's payment obligation under paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (c) After the commission submits its second semiannual report to the Legislature pursuant to Section 17600, the Legislative Analyst shall submit a report to the Joint Legislative Budget Committee and legislative fiscal committees on the mandates included in the commission's reports. The report shall make recommendations as to whether the mandate should be repealed, funded, suspended, or modified. (d) In its annual analysis of the Budget Bill and based on information provided pursuant to subdivision (b), the Legislative Analyst shall report total annual state costs for mandated programs and, as appropriate, provide and analysis of specific mandates and make recommendations on whether the mandate should be repealed, funded, suspended, or modified. (e) (1) A statewide association of local agencies or school districts or a Member of the Legislature may submit a proposal to the Legislature recommending the elimination or modification of a state-mandated local program. To make such a proposal, the association or member shall submit a letter to the Chairs of the Assembly Committee on Education or the Assembly Committee on Local Government, as the case may be, and the Senate Committee on Education or the Senate Committee on Local Government, as the case may be, specifying the mandate and the concerns and recommendations regarding the mandate. The association or member shall include in the proposal all information relevant to the conclusions. If the chairs of the committees desire additional analysis of the submitted proposal, the chairs may refer the proposal to the Legislative Analyst for review and comment. The chairs of the committees may refer up to a total of 10 of these proposals to the Legislative Analyst for review in any year. Referrals shall be submitted to the Legislative Analyst by December 1 of each year. (2) The Legislative Analyst shall review and report to the Legislature with regard to each proposal that is referred to the office pursuant to paragraph (1). The Legislative Analyst shall recommend that the Legislature adopt, reject, or modify the proposal. The report and recommendations shall be submitted annually to the Legislature by March 1 of the year subsequent to the year in which referrals are submitted to the Legislative Analyst. (3) The Department of Finance shall review all statutes enacted each year that contain provisions making inoperative Section 17561 or Section 17565 that have resulted in costs or revenue losses mandated by the state that were not identified when the statute was enacted. The review shall identify the costs or revenue losses involved in complying with the statutes. The Department of Finance shall also review all statutes enacted each year that may result in cost savings authorized by the state. The Department of Finance shall submit an annual report of the review required by this subdivision, together with the recommendations as it may deem appropriate, by December 1 of each year. (f) It is the intent of the Legislature that the Assembly Committee on Local Government and the Senate Committee on Local Government hold a joint hearing each year regarding the following: (1) The reports and recommendations submitted pursuant to subdivision (e). (2) The reports submitted pursuant to Sections

17570, 17600, and 17601. (3) Legislation to continue, eliminate, or modify any provision of law reviewed pursuant to this subdivision. The legislation may be by subject area or by year or years of enactment.

GC §17563: Use of Funds Received for Public Purpose

Any funds received by a local agency or school district pursuant to the provisions of this chapter may be used for any public purpose.

GC §17564: Filing of Claims: Threshold Amount

(a) No claim shall be made pursuant to Sections 17551, 17561, or 17573, nor shall any payment be made on claims submitted pursuant to Sections 17551 or 17561, or pursuant to a legislative determination under Section 17573, unless these claims exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000), provided that a county superintendent of schools or county may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts, direct service districts, or special districts within their county if the combined claim exceeds one thousand dollars (\$1,000) even if the individual school district's, direct service district's, or special district's claims do not each exceed one thousand dollars (\$1,000). The county superintendent of schools or the county shall determine if the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and shall be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school, direct service, or special district. These combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools or the county is the fiscal agent for the districts. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate shall only be filed in the combined form unless a school district, direct service district, or special district provides to the county superintendent of schools or county and to the Controller, at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim, a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim. (b) Claims for direct and indirect costs filed pursuant to Section 17561 shall be filed in the manner prescribed in the parameters and guidelines or reasonable reimbursement methodology and claiming instructions. (c) Claims for direct and indirect costs filed pursuant to a legislatively determined mandate pursuant to Section 17573 shall be filed and paid in the manner prescribed in the Budget Act or other bill, or claiming instructions, if applicable.

GC §17565: Reimbursement of Subsequently Mandated Costs

If a local agency or a school district, at its option, has been incurring costs which are subsequently mandated by the state, the state shall reimburse the local agency or school district for those costs incurred after the operative date of the mandate.

GC §17567: Insufficiency of Appropriation: Proration of Claims

In the event that the amount appropriated for reimbursement purposes pursuant to Section 17561 is not sufficient to pay all of the claims approved by the Controller, the Controller shall prorate claims in proportion to the dollar amount of approved claims timely filed and on hand at the time of proration. The Controller shall adjust prorated claims if supplementary funds are appropriated for this purpose. In the event that the Controller finds it necessary to prorate claims as provided by this section, the Controller shall immediately report this action to the Department of Finance, the Chairperson of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, and the Chairperson of the respective committee in each house of the Legislature which considers appropriations in order to assure appropriation of these funds in the Budget Act.

GC §17568: Payment of Claims Submitted After Deadline

If a local agency or school district submits an otherwise valid reimbursement claim to the Controller after the deadline specified in Section 17560, the Controller shall reduce the reimbursement claim in an amount equal to 10 percent of the amount which would have been allowed had the reimbursement claim been timely filed, provided that the amount of this reduction shall not exceed ten thousand dollars (\$10,000). In no case shall a reimbursement claim be paid which is submitted more than one year after

the deadline specified in Section 17560. Estimated claims which were filed by the deadline specified in that section shall be paid in full before payments are made on estimated claims filed after the deadline. In the event the amount appropriated to the Controller for reimbursement purposes is not sufficient to pay the estimated claims approved by the Controller, the Controller shall prorate those claims in proportion to the dollar amount of approved claims filed after the deadline and shall report to the commission or the Legislature in the same manner as described in Section 17566 in order to assure appropriation of funds sufficient to pay those claims.

GC §17570: Annual Report to Legislature

The Legislative Analyst shall review each unfunded statutory or regulatory mandate for which claims have been approved by the Legislature pursuant to a claims bill during the preceding fiscal year. Any recommendations by the Legislative Analyst to eliminate or modify the mandates shall be contained in the annual analysis of the Budget Bill prepared by the Legislative Analyst.

GC §17571: Review and Modification of Claiming Instructions

The commission, upon request of a local agency or school district, shall review the claiming instructions issued by the Controller or any other authorized state agency for reimbursement of mandated costs. If the commission determines that the claiming instructions do not conform to the parameters and guidelines, the commission shall direct the Controller to modify the claiming instructions and the Controller shall modify the claiming instructions to conform to the parameters and guidelines as directed by the commission.

GC §17575: Review of Bills

When a bill is introduced in the Legislature, and each time a bill is amended, on and after January 1, 1985, the Legislative Counsel shall determine whether the bill mandates a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. The Legislative Counsel shall make this determination known in the digest of the bill and shall describe in the digest the basis for this determination. The determination by the Legislative Counsel shall not be binding on the commission in making its determination pursuant to Section 17555.

GC §17576: Determination of Bills by the Legislative Counsel

Whenever the Legislative Counsel determines that a bill will mandate a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIII B of the California Constitution, the Department of Finance shall prepare an estimate of the amount of reimbursement which will be required. This estimate shall be prepared for the respective committees of each house of the Legislature which consider taxation measures and appropriation measures and shall be prepared prior to any hearing on the bill by any such committee.

GC §17577: Amount of Estimates

The estimate required by Section 17576 shall be the amount estimated to be required during the first fiscal year of a bill's operation in order to reimburse local agencies and school districts for costs mandated by the state by the bill.

GC §17578: Amendment of Bills on Floor: Notification by Legislative Counsel

In the event that a bill is amended on the floor of either house, whether by adoption of the report of a conference committee or otherwise, in such a manner as to mandate a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution, the Legislative Counsel shall immediately inform, respectively, the Speaker of the Assembly and the President of the Senate of that fact. Notification from the Legislative Counsel shall be published in the journal of the respective houses of the Legislature.

GC §17579: Requirement for New Mandates to Specify Reimbursement Requirements: Appropriations

Any bill introduced or amended for which the Legislative Counsel has determined the bill will mandate a new program or higher level of service pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution shall contain a section specifying that reimbursement shall be made pursuant to this chapter or that the mandate is being disclaimed and the reason therefor.

GC §17581: Conditions for Exemption from Implementation of Statute or Executive Order

(a) No local agency shall be required to implement or give effect to any statute or executive order, or portion thereof, during any fiscal year and for the period immediately following that fiscal year for which the Budget Act has not been enacted for the subsequent fiscal year if all of the following apply: (1) The statute or executive order, or portion thereof, has been determined by the Legislature, the commission, or any court to mandate a new program or higher level of service requiring reimbursement of local agencies pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (2) The statute or executive order, or portion thereof, has been specifically identified by the Legislature in the Budget Act for the fiscal year as being one for which reimbursement is not provided for that fiscal year. For purposes of this paragraph, a mandate shall be considered to have been specifically identified by the Legislature only if it has been included within the schedule of reimbursable mandates shown in the Budget Act and it is specifically identified in the language of a provision of the item providing the appropriation for mandate reimbursements. (b) Within 30 days after enactment of the Budget Act, the Department of Finance shall notify local agencies of any statute or executive order, or portion thereof, for which operation of the mandate is suspended because reimbursement is not provided for that fiscal year pursuant to this section and Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (c) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, if a local agency elects to implement or give effect to a statute or executive order described in subdivision (a), the local agency may assess fees to persons or entities which benefit from the statute or executive order. Any fee assessed pursuant to this subdivision shall not exceed the costs reasonably borne by the local agency. (c) This section shall not apply to any state-mandated local program for the trial courts, as specified in Section 77203. (d) This section shall not apply to any state-mandated local program for which the reimbursement funding counts toward the minimum General Fund requirements of Section 8 of Article XVI of the Constitution.

GC §17581.5 Exemption from Provisions of School Bus Safety II Mandate and School Crimes Reporting II Mandate

(a) A school district may not be required to implement or give effect to the statutes, or portion thereof, identified in subdivision (b) during any fiscal year and for the period immediately following that fiscal year for which the Budget Act has not been enacted for the subsequent fiscal year if all of the following apply: (1) The statute or portion thereof, has been determined by the Legislature, the commission, or any court to mandate a new program or higher level of service requiring reimbursement of school districts pursuant to Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution. (2) The statute, or portion thereof, has been specifically identified by the Legislature in the Budget Act for the fiscal year as being one for which reimbursement is not provided for that fiscal year. For purposes of this paragraph, a mandate shall be considered to have been specifically identified by the Legislature only if it has been included within the schedule of reimbursable mandates shown in the Budget Act and it is specifically identified in the language of a provision of the item providing the appropriation for mandate reimbursements. (b) This section applies only to the following mandates: (1) The School Bus Safety I (CSM-4433) and II (97-TC-22) mandates (Chapter 642 of the Statutes of 1992; Chapter 831 of the Statutes of 1994; and Chapter 739 of the Statutes of 1997). (2) The School Crimes Reporting II mandate (97-TC-03; and Chapter 759 of the Statutes of 1992 and Chapter 410 of the Statutes of 1995). (3) Investment reports (96-358-02; and Chapter 783 of the Statutes of 1995 and Chapters 156 and 749 of the Statutes of 1996). (4) County treasury oversight committees (96-365-03; and Chapter 784 of the Statutes of 1995 and Chapter 156 of the Statutes of 1996).

GC §17600: Report on Number of Mandates and Their Costs

At least twice each calendar year the commission shall report to the Legislature on the number of mandates it has found pursuant to Article 1 (commencing with Section 17550) and the estimated statewide costs of these mandates. This report shall identify the statewide costs estimated for each mandate and the reasons for recommending reimbursement.

GC §17601: Report on Claims Denied

The commission shall report to the Legislature on January 15, 1986, and each January 15 thereafter, on the number of claims it denied during the preceding calendar year and the basis on which the particular claims were denied.

GC §17612: Local Government Claims Bills: Judicial Review of Funding Deletions

(a) Upon receipt of the report submitted by the commission pursuant to Section 17600, funding shall be provided in the subsequent Budget Act for costs incurred in prior years. No funding shall be provided for years in which a mandate is suspended. (b) The Legislature may amend, modify, or supplement the parameters and guidelines for mandates contained in the local government claims bill. If the Legislature amends, modifies, or supplements the parameters and guidelines, reasonable reimbursement methodology, and adopted statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year for mandates contained in the annual Budget Act. If the Legislature amends, modifies, or supplements the parameters and guidelines, reasonable reimbursement methodology, and adopted statewide estimate of costs for the initial claiming period and budget year for costs for the initial claiming period and budget year, it shall make a declaration in a separate legislation specifying the basis for the amendment, modification, or supplement. (c) If the Legislature deletes from a local government claims bill funding for a mandate, the local agency or school district may file in the Superior Court of the County of Sacramento an action in declaratory relief to declare the mandate unenforceable and enjoin its enforcement.

GC §17613: Authorization of Augmentation for Mandated Costs

(a) The Director of Finance may, upon receipt of any report submitted pursuant to Section 17567, authorize the augmentation of the amount available for expenditure to reimburse costs mandated by the state, as defined in Section 17514, as follows: (1) For augmentation of (A) any schedule in any item to reimburse costs mandated by the state in any budget act, or (B) the amount appropriated in a local government claims bill for reimbursement of the claims of local agencies, as defined by Section 17518, from the unencumbered balance of any other item to reimburse costs mandated by the state in that budget act or another budget act or in an appropriation for reimbursement of the claims of local agencies in another local government claims bill. (2) For augmentation of (A) any schedule in any budget act item, or (B) any amount appropriated in a local government claims bill, when either of these augmentations is for reimbursement of mandated claims of school districts, as defined in Section 17519, when the source of this augmentation is (A) the unencumbered balance of any other scheduled amount in that budget act or another budget act, or (B) an appropriation in another local government claims bill, when either of these appropriations is for reimbursement of mandate claims of school districts. This paragraph applies only to appropriations that are made for the purpose of meeting the minimum funding guarantee for educational programs pursuant to Section 8 of Article XVI of the California Constitution. (b) No authorization for an augmentation pursuant to this section may be made sooner than 30 days after the notification in writing of the necessity therefor to the chairperson of the committee in each house which considers appropriations and the chairperson of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, or not sooner than whatever lesser time as the chairperson of the joint committee, or his or her designee, may in each instance determine.

GC §17615: Legislative Findings and Intent

The Legislature finds and declares that the existing system for reimbursing local agencies and school districts for actual costs mandated by the state on an annual claim basis is time consuming,

cumbersome, and expensive at both the local and state levels. The Controller must process voluminous claims with all claims subject to a desk audit and selected claims also subject to a field audit. Local agencies are required to maintain extensive documentation of all claims in anticipation of such an audit. The volume of these records is substantial and will continue to grow with no relief in sight as new programs are mandated. The cost to local agencies and school districts for filing claims, and for maintaining documentation and responding to the Controller's audits is substantial. The current administrative cost to both state and local governments represents a significant expenditure of public funds with no apparent benefit to the taxpayers. It is the intent of the Legislature to streamline the reimbursement process for costs mandated by the state by creating a system of state mandate apportionments to fund the costs of certain programs mandated by the state.

GC §17615.1: Review of Programs for Inclusion in System

The commission shall establish a procedure for reviewing, upon request, mandated cost programs for which appropriations have been made by the Legislature for the 1982-83, 1983-84, and 1984-85 fiscal years, or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter. At the request of the Department of Finance, the Controller, or any local agency or school district receiving reimbursement for the mandated program, the commission shall review the mandated cost program to determine whether the program should be included in the State Mandates Apportionment System. If the costs of the state-mandated program, the commission shall direct the Controller to include the program in the State Mandates Apportionment System.

GC §17615.2: Calculation of Disbursement Amounts

(a) Notwithstanding Section 17561, after November 30, 1985, for those programs included in the State Mandates Apportionment System, after approval by the commission, there shall be disbursed by the Controller to each local agency and school district which has submitted a reimbursement claim for costs mandated by the state in the 1982-83, 1983-84, and the 1984-85 fiscal years, or any three consecutive fiscal years thereafter, an amount computed by averaging the approved reimbursement claims for this three-year period. The amount shall first be adjusted according to any changes in the deflator. The deflator shall be applied separately to each year's costs for the three years which comprise the base period. Funds for these purposes shall be available to the extent they are provided for in the Budget Act of 1985 and the Budget Act for any subsequent fiscal year thereafter. For purposes of this article, "base period" means the three fiscal years immediately succeeding the commission's approval. (b) When the Controller has made payment on claims prior to commission approval of the program for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System, the payment shall be adjusted in the next apportionment to the amount which would have been subvened to the local agency or school district for that fiscal year had the State Mandates Apportionment System been in effect at the time of the initial payment.

GC §17615.3: Annual Recalculation of Allocation

Notwithstanding Section 17561, by November 30, 1986, and by November 30 of each year thereafter, for those programs included in the State Mandates Apportionment System, the Controller shall recalculate each allocation for each local agency and school district for the 1985-86 fiscal year, by using the actual change in the deflator for that year. That recalculated allocation shall then be adjusted by the estimated change in the deflator for the 1986-87 fiscal year, and each fiscal year thereafter, to establish the allocation amount for the 1986-87 fiscal year, and each fiscal year thereafter. Additionally, for programs approved by the commission for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System on or after January 1, 1988, the allocation for each year succeeding the three-year base period shall be adjusted according to any changes in both the deflator and workload. The Controller shall then subvene that amount after adjusting it by any amount of overpayment or underpayment in the 1985-86 fiscal year, and each fiscal year thereafter, due to a discrepancy between the actual change and the estimated change in the deflator or workload. Funds for these purposes shall be available to the extent they are provided for in the Budget Act of 1986 and the Budget Act for any subsequent fiscal year thereafter. For purposes of this article, "workload" means, for school districts and county offices of

education, changes in the average daily attendance; for community colleges, changes in the number of full-time equivalent students; for cities and counties, changes in the population within their boundaries; and for special districts, changes in the population of the county in which the largest percentage of the district's population is located.

GC §17615.4: Procedure for Newly Mandated Program

(a) When a new mandate imposes costs that are funded either by legislation or in local government claims bills, local agencies and school districts may file reimbursement claims as required by Section 17561, for a minimum of three years after the initial funding of the new mandate. (b) After actual cost claims are submitted for three fiscal years against such a new mandate, the commission shall determine, upon request of the Controller or a local entity or school district receiving reimbursement for the program, whether the amount of the base year entitlement adjusted by changes in the deflator and workload accurately reflects the costs incurred by the local agency or school district. If the commission determines that the base year entitlement, as adjusted, does accurately reflect the costs of the program, the commission shall direct the Controller to include the program in the State Mandates Apportionment System. (c) The Controller's recommendations for each new mandate submitted for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System pursuant to this section are also subject to the audit provisions of Section 17616.

GC §17615.5: Procedure Where No Base Year Entitlement Has Been Established

(a) If any local agency or school district has an established base year entitlement which does not include costs for a particular mandate, that local agency or school district may submit reimbursement claims for a minimum of three consecutive years, adjusted pursuant to Section 17615.3 by changes in the deflator and workload, or entitlement claims covering a minimum of three consecutive years, after which time its base year entitlement may be adjusted by an amount necessary to fund the costs of that mandate. (b) If any local agency or school district has no base year entitlement, but wishes to begin claiming costs of one or more of the mandates included in the State Mandates Apportionment System, that local agency or school district may submit reimbursement claims for a minimum of three consecutive years, or entitlement claims covering the preceding three consecutive years, which shall be adjusted pursuant to Sections 17615.2 and 17615.3 by changes in the deflator and workload, after which time a base year entitlement may be established in an amount necessary to fund the costs of the mandate or mandates.

GC §17615.6: Procedure Where Program is No Longer Mandatory

If a local agency or school district realizes a decrease in the amount of costs incurred because a mandate is discontinued, or made permissive, the Controller shall determine the amount of the entitlement attributable to that mandate by determining the base year amount for that mandate for the local agency or school district plus the annual adjustments. This amount shall be subtracted from the annual subvention which would otherwise have been allocated to the local agency or school district.

GC §17615.7: Procedure Where Program is Modified

If a mandated program included in the State Mandates Apportionment System is modified or amended by the Legislature or by executive order, and the modification or amendment significantly affects the costs of the program, as determined by the commission, the program shall be removed from the State Mandate Apportionment System, and the payments reduced accordingly. Local entities or school districts may submit actual costs claims for a period of three years, after which the program may be considered for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System, pursuant to the provisions of Section 17615.4.

GC §17615.8: Review of Base Year Entitlement

(a) The commission shall establish a procedure for reviewing, upon request, any apportionment or base year entitlement of a local agency or school district. (b) Local agencies and school districts which request such a review shall maintain and provide those records and documentation as the commission or its designee determines are necessary for the commission or its designee to make the required determinations. With the exception of records required to verify base year entitlements, the records may not be used to adjust current or prior apportionments, but may be used to adjust future apportionments. (c) If the commission determines that an apportionment or base year entitlement for funding costs mandated by the state does not accurately reflect the costs incurred by the local agency or school district for all mandates upon which that apportionment is based, the commission shall direct the Controller to adjust the apportionment accordingly. For the purposes of this section, an apportionment or a base year entitlement does not accurately reflect the costs incurred by a local agency or school district if it falls short of reimbursing, or overreimburses, that local agency's or school district's actual costs by 20 percent or by one thousand dollars (\$1,000), whichever is less. (d) If the commission determines that an apportionment or base year entitlement for funding costs mandated by the state accurately reflects the costs incurred by the local agency or school district for all mandates upon which that apportionment is based, the commission may, in its discretion, direct the Controller to withhold, and, if so directed, the Controller shall withhold the costs of the commission's review from the next apportionment to the local agency or school district, if the commission review was requested by the local agency or school district.

GC §17615.9: Review of Programs Under SMAS

The commission shall periodically review programs funded under the State Mandate Apportionments System to evaluate the effectiveness or continued statewide need for each such mandate.

GC §17616: Audits and Verification by Controller

The Controller shall have the authority to do either or both of the following: (a) Audit the fiscal years comprising the base year entitlement no later than three years after the year in which the base year entitlement is established. The results of such audits shall be used to adjust the base year entitlements and any subsequent apportionments based on that entitlement, in addition to adjusting actual cost payments made for the base years audited. (b) Verify that any local agency or school district receiving funds pursuant to this article is providing the reimbursed activities.

GC §17617: Local Agency Payment

The total amount due to each city, county, city and county, and special district, for which the state has determined, as of June 30, 2005, that reimbursement is required under Section 6 of Article XIIIB of the California Constitution, shall be appropriated for payment to these entities over a period of not more than five years, commencing with the Budget Act for the 2006-07 fiscal year and concluding with the Budget Act for the 2011-12 fiscal year.

FILING A CLAIM

RECEIVED December 16, 2013 **Commission on State Mandates**

1. Introduction

Government Code (GC) Sections 17500 through 17617 provide for the reimbursement of costs incurred by school districts (SD) for mandated cost programs as a result of any statute enacted after January 1, 1975, or any executive order implementing such statute which mandates a new program or higher level of service of an existing program.

A reimbursement claim is defined in Government Code (GC) Section 17522 as any claim filed with the State Controller's Office (SCO) by a SD for reimbursement of costs incurred for which an appropriation is made for the purpose of paying the claim. Actual claims for the 2009-10 fiscal year, will be accepted without penalty if postmarked or delivered on or before **February 15, 2011**. Ongoing reimbursement claims filed after the deadline will be reduced by a late penalty of **10%**, **not to exceed \$10,000**. Amended claims filed after the filing deadline will be reduced by **10% of the increased amount not to exceed \$10,000** for the total claim. Initial reimbursement claims filed after the filing deadline will be reduced by a late penalty of **10% with no limitation**. Claims filed more than one year after the deadline will not be accepted by the SCO.

A charter school is not eligible to file mandated cost claims under these programs because it is not defined as a school district pursuant to GC Section 17519. Accordingly, charter schools cannot be reimbursed for their costs by filing a claim or through a third party's claim such as a school district or superintendent of schools. The Commission on State Mandates (Commission) adopted the Charter School III Statement of Decision on May 25, 2006, which stated that a charter school is voluntarily participating in the charter program at issue and that a charter school is not a school district under GC Section 17519 and therefore is not eligible to claim reimbursement under GC Section 17560

SD's may use the indirect cost rates from the Restricted Indirect Cost Rates for K-12 Local Educational Agencies (LEA's) Five Year Listing issued by the California Department of Education (CDE), School Fiscal Services Division, for the fiscal year of the claim. Since this information is readily available online, there is no need for SD's to file supporting documentation for indirect costs with their claims. Additional information regarding indirect cost rates can be found in Section 2, Filing a Claim, page 10, *Indirect Costs.*

When a program has been reimbursed for three or more years, the Commission may approve the program for inclusion in the State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS). For programs included in SMAS, the SCO determines the amount of each claimant's entitlement based on an average of three consecutive fiscal years of actual costs adjusted by any changes in the Implicit Price Deflator (IPD). Claimants with an established entitlement receive an annual apportionment adjusted by any changes in the implicit price deflator (IPD) and average daily attendance (ADA). Claimants with an established entitlement no longer need to file claims for that program.

The SCO is authorized to make payments for costs of mandated programs from amounts appropriated by the State Budget Act, by the State Mandates Claims Fund, or by specific legislation. In the event the appropriation is insufficient to pay claims in full, claimants will receive prorated payments in proportion to the dollar amount of approved claims for the program. Balances of prorated payments will be made when supplementary funds become available.

2. Electronic Filing: Local Government e-Claims (LGeC)

LGeC enables claimants and their consultants to securely prepare and submit mandated cost claims via the Internet. LGeC uses a series of data input screens to collect the information needed to prepare a claim and provides a Web service so claims can be uploaded in batch files. The system also incorporates an attachment feature so claimants can electronically attach supporting documentation if required.

The LGeC system provides an easy and straightforward approach to the claiming process. Filing claims using LGeC eliminates the manual preparation and submission of paper claims by SD's and the receiving, processing, key entry, verification, and storage of the paper claims by the SCO. LGeC also provides mathematical checks and automated error detection to reduce erroneous and incomplete claims, provides the State with an electronic workflow process, and stores the claims in an electronic format. Making the change from paper claims to electronic claims reduces the manual handling of paper claims and decreases the costs incurred for postage, handling, and storage of claims filed.

In order to use the LGeC system you will need to obtain a user ID and password for each person who will access the LGeC system. To obtain a User ID and password you must file an application with the SCO. The application and instructions are available on the LGeC Web site located at http://www.sco.ca.gov/ard_lgec.html. Complete the application and other documents as requested and mail them to the SCO using the address provided in the instructions. The SCO will process the application within three business days and issue a User ID and password to each applicant.

In addition, you may want to subscribe to an email distribution list to automatically receive timely, comprehensive information regarding mandated cost claims, payments, guidelines, electronic claims, and other news and updates. You also will receive related audit reports and mandate information provided by other state agencies.

You can find more information about LGeC and the email distribution lists at http://www.sco.ca.gov/ard_lgec.html. This Web site provides access to the LGeC system, an application for User ID's and passwords, an instructional guide, frequently asked questions (FAQ's) and additional help files. Questions may be directed to LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, or you may call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729.

3. Types of Claims

Claimants may file a reimbursement claim for actual mandated costs incurred in the prior fiscal year. An entitlement claim may be filed for the purpose of establishing a base year entitlement amount for mandated programs included in SMAS. A claimant who has established a base year entitlement for a program, would receive an automatic annual payment which is reflective of the current costs for the program.

All claims received by the SCO will be reviewed to verify actual costs. An adjustment of the claim will be made if the amount claimed is determined to be excessive, improper, or unreasonable.

A. Reimbursement Claim

Initial reimbursement claims are first-time claims for reimbursement of costs for one or more prior fiscal year(s) of a program that was previously unfunded. Claims are due one hundred and twenty days from the date of issuance of the claiming instructions for the program by the SCO. The first statute that appropriates funds for the mandated program will specify the fiscal years for which costs are eligible for reimbursement.

Annual ongoing reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15th following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred for the program. Claims for fiscal year 2009-10 will be accepted without late penalty if postmarked or delivered on before February 15th, 2011. Claims filed after the deadline will be reduced by a late penalty of 10%, not to exceed \$10,000. However, initial reimbursement claims will be reduced by a late penalty of 10% with no limitation. Amended claims filed after the deadline will be reduced by 10% of the increased amount not to exceed \$10,000 for the claim. Claims filed more than one year after the deadline will not be accepted for reimbursement.

B. Entitlement Claim

An entitlement claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed by SD's with the SCO for the sole purpose of establishing or adjusting a base year entitlement for a mandated cost

program that has been included in SMAS. An entitlement claim should not contain nonrecurring or initial start-up costs. There is no statutory deadline for the filing of entitlement claims. However, these claims should be filed by February 15th, following the third fiscal year used to develop the entitlement claim, to permit an orderly processing of claims. When the claims are approved and a base year entitlement amount is determined, the claimant will receive an apportionment reflective of the program's current year costs.

The automatic apportionment is determined by adjusting the claimant's base year entitlement for changes in the IPD of costs of goods and services to governmental agencies, as determined by the State Department of Finance. For programs approved by the Commission for inclusion in SMAS, the payment for each year succeeding the three year base period is adjusted according to any changes by both the IPD and average daily attendance (ADA).

The SCO will perform this computation for each claimant who has filed claims for three consecutive years. If a claimant has incurred costs for three consecutive years but has not filed a claim in each of those years, the claimant may file an entitlement claim, form FAM-43, to establish a base year entitlement. The form FAM-43 is included in the claiming instructions for SMAS programs. An entitlement claim does not result in the claimant being reimbursed for the costs incurred, but rather entitles the claimant to receive automatic payments from SMAS. Annual apportionments for programs included in the SMAS system are paid on or before November 30th of each year.

4. Minimum Claim Amount

For initial claims and annual claims filed on or after September 30, 2002, if the total costs for a given year do not exceed \$1,000, no reimbursement will be allowed except as otherwise allowed by GC Section 17564. Combined claims may be filed only when the county office of education (COE) is the fiscal agent for school districts. The COE will determine if the submission of a combined claim is economically feasible and will be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school district. A combined claim must show the individual claim costs for each eligible school district. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate must only be filed in the combined form unless a school district provides to the COE and to the Controller, at least 180 days prior to the deadline for filing the claim, a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim.

5. Filing Deadline for Claims

Pursuant to GC Section 17561(d) initial reimbursement claims (first time claims) for reimbursement of costs of a previously unfunded mandated program must be filed within one hundred and twenty days from the date the SCO issues the claiming instructions for the program. When paying a timely filed claim for initial reimbursement, the Controller may withhold twenty percent of the amount of the claim until the claim is audited to verify the actual amount of the mandated costs. Initial reimbursement claims filed after the filing deadline will be reduced by ten percent of the amount that would have been allowed had the claim been timely filed.

The Controller may withhold payment of any late claim for initial reimbursement until the next deadline for funded claims unless sufficient funds are available to pay the claim after all timely filed claims have been paid. All initial reimbursement claims for all fiscal years required to be filed on their initial filing date for a program will be considered as one claim for the purpose of computing any late claim penalty. In no case will a reimbursement claim be paid if submitted more than one year after the filing deadline specified in the Controller's claiming instructions on funded mandates.

Pursuant to GC Section 17560, annual reimbursement claims (recurring claims) for costs incurred during the previous fiscal year must be filed with the SCO and postmarked on or before February 15th following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. If the annual reimbursement claim is filed after the deadline, but within one year of the deadline, the approved claim must be reduced by a 10% late penalty, not to exceed \$10,000. Amended claims filed after the deadline will be reduced by 10% of the increased amount not to exceed \$10,000 for the total claim. Claims may not be filed more than one year after the deadline.

6. Payment of Claims

In order for the SCO to authorize payment of a claim, the Certification of Claim, form FAM-27, must be properly filled out, signed, and dated by the entity's authorized officer. When using the LGeC system, the logon ID and password of the authorized officer is used for the signature and is applied by the LGeC system when the claim is submitted. Pursuant to GC 17561(d), reimbursement claims are paid by October 15 or sixty days after the date the appropriation for the claim is effective, whichever is later. In the event the amount appropriated by the Legislature is insufficient to pay the approved amount in full for a program, claimants will receive a prorated payment in proportion to the amount of approved claims timely filed and on hand at the time of proration.

A claimant is entitled to receive accrued interest at the pooled money investment account rate if the payment was made more than 60 days after the claim filing deadline or the actual date of claim receipt, whichever is later. For an initial claim, interest begins to accrue when the payment is made more than one year after the adoption of the program's statewide cost estimate.

The SCO reports the amounts of insufficient appropriations to the State Department of Finance, the Chairperson of the Joint Legislative Budget Committee, and the Chairperson of the respective committee in each House of the Legislature, in order to ensure appropriation of these funds in the Budget Act. If these funds cannot be appropriated on a timely basis in the Budget Act, this information is transmitted to the Commission who will include these amounts in its reports to assure that an appropriation sufficient to pay the claims is included in the next local government claims bill or other appropriation bills. Any balances remaining on these claims will be paid when supplementary funds become available.

Unless specified in the statutes, regulations, or P's & G's, the determination of allowable and unallowable costs for mandates is based on the P's & G's adopted by the Commission. The determination of allowable reimbursable mandated costs for unfunded mandates is made by the Commission. The SCO determines allowable reimbursable costs, subject to amendment by the Commission, for mandates funded by special legislation. Allowable costs are those direct and indirect costs, less applicable credits, considered eligible for reimbursement. In order for costs to be allowable and thus eligible for reimbursement, the costs must meet the following general criteria:

- 1. The cost is necessary and reasonable for proper and efficient administration of the mandate and not a general expense required to carry out the overall responsibilities of government.
- 2. The cost is allocable to a particular cost objective identified in the P's & G's.
- 3. The cost is net of any applicable credits that offset or reduce expenses of items allocable to the mandate.

The SCO has identified certain costs that should not be claimed as direct program costs unless specified as reimbursable under the program's P's & G's. These costs include, but are not limited to, subscriptions, depreciation, memberships, conferences, workshops, general education, and travel costs.

7. State Mandates Apportionment System (SMAS)

Chapter 1534, Statutes of 1985, established SMAS, a method of paying certain mandated programs as apportionments. This method is utilized whenever a program has been approved for inclusion in SMAS by the Commission.

When a mandated program has been included in SMAS, the SCO will determine a base year entitlement amount for each SD that has submitted reimbursement claims (or entitlement claims) for three consecutive fiscal years. A base year entitlement amount is determined by averaging the approved reimbursement claims (or entitlement claims) for any three consecutive fiscal years. The amounts are first adjusted by any change in the IPD, which is applied separately to each year's costs for the three years that comprise the base period. The base period means the three fiscal years immediately succeeding the Commission's approval.

Each SD with an established base year entitlement for the program will receive automatic annual payments from the SCO reflective of the program's current year costs. The apportionment amount is adjusted annually for any change in the IPD. If the mandated program was included in SMAS after January 1, 1988, the annual apportionment is adjusted for any change in both the IPD and ADA.

In the event a SD has incurred costs for three consecutive fiscal years but did not file a reimbursement claim in one or more of those fiscal years, the SD may file an entitlement claim for each of those missed years to establish a base year entitlement. An entitlement claim means any claim filed by a SD with the SCO for the sole purpose of establishing a base year entitlement. A base year entitlement may not include any nonrecurring or initial start-up costs.

Initial apportionments are made on an individual program basis. After the initial year, all apportionments are made by November 30th. The amount to be apportioned is the base year entitlement adjusted by annual changes in the IPD for the cost of goods and services to governmental agencies as determined by the State Department of Finance.

In the event the SD determines that the amount of apportionment does not accurately reflect costs incurred to comply with a mandate, the process of adjusting an established base year entitlement upon which the apportionment is based is set forth in GC Section 17615.8 and requires the approval of the Commission.

The following programs are placed in SMAS:

Program Name	Chapter/Statute	Program Number
Expulsion of Pupil: Transcript Cost	1253/75	91
Immunization Records	1176/77	32

8. Direct Costs

A direct cost is a cost that can be identified specifically with a particular program or activity. Documentation to support direct costs must be kept on hand unless otherwise specified in the claiming instructions and made available to the SCO on request

It is the responsibility of the claimant to maintain documentation in the form of general and subsidiary ledgers, purchase orders, invoices, contracts, canceled warrants, equipment usage records, land deeds, receipts, employee time sheets, agency travel guidelines, inventory records, and other relevant documents to support claimed costs. The type of documentation necessary for each claim may differ with the type of mandate.

Costs typically classified as direct costs are:

(1) Employee Wages, Salaries, and Benefits

For each of the mandated activities performed, the claimant must list the names of the employees who worked on the mandate, their job classifications, hours worked on the mandate, and rate of pay. The claimant may use a productive hourly rate in-lieu of reporting actual compensation and benefits:

(a) **Productive Hourly Rate Options**

A SD may use one of the following methods to compute productive hourly rates:

- Actual annual productive hours for each employee;
- The weighted-average annual productive hours for each job title; or
- 1,800* annual productive hours for all employees.

If actual annual productive hours or weighted-average annual productive hours for each job title is chosen, the claimant must maintain documentation of how these hours were computed.

* 1,800 annual productive hours excludes the following employee time:

- Paid holidays;
- Vacation earned;
- Sick leave taken;
- Informal time off;
- Jury duty;
- Military leave taken.

(b) Compute a Productive Hourly Rate

1. Compute a productive hourly rate for salaried employees to include actual benefit costs. The methodology for converting a salary to a productive hourly rate is to compute the employee's annual salary and benefits and divide by the annual productive hours.

Table 1: Productive Hourly Rate, Annual Salary + Benefits Method

Formula:	Description:
[(EAS + Benefits) ÷ APH] = PHR	EAS = Employee's Annual Salary
	APH = Annual Productive Hours
[(\$26,000 + \$8,099)] ÷ 1,800 hrs = 18.94	PHR = Productive Hourly Rate

- As illustrated in Table 1, if an employee's compensation was \$26,000 and \$8,099 for annual salary and benefits, respectively, using the Salary + Benefits Method, the productive hourly rate would be \$18.94. To convert a biweekly salary to Annual Salary, multiply the biweekly salary by 26. To convert a monthly salary to Annual Salary, multiply the monthly salary by 12. Use the same methodology to convert other salary periods.
- 2. A claimant may also compute the productive hourly rate by using the Percent of Salary Method.

Table 2: Productive Hourly Rate, Percent of Salary Method

Example:		
Step 1: Benefits as a Percent of Salary		Step 2: Productive Hourly Rate
Retirement	15.00 %	Formula:
Social Security & Medicare	7.65	[(EAS x (1 + BR)) ÷ APH] = PHR
Health & Dental Insurance	5.25	
Workers Compensation	3.25	[(\$26,000 x (1.3115)) ÷ 1,800] = \$18.94
Total	31.15 %	
Description:		
EAS = Employee's Annual Salary		APH = Annual Productive Hours
BR = Benefit Rate		PHR = Productive Hourly Rate

• As illustrated in Table 2, both methods produce the same productive hourly rate.

Reimbursement for personnel services includes, but is not limited to, compensation paid for salaries, wages, and employee benefits. Employee benefits include employer's contributions for social security, pension plans, insurance, workers compensation insurance and similar payments. These benefits are eligible for reimbursement as long as they are distributed equitably to all activities. Whether these costs are allowable is based on the following presumptions:

- The amount of compensation is reasonable for the service rendered;
- The compensation paid and benefits received are appropriately authorized by the governing board;
- Amounts charged for personnel services are based on payroll documents that are supported by time and attendance or equivalent records for individual employees;
- The methods used to distribute personnel services should produce an equitable distribution of direct and indirect allowable costs.

For each of the employees included in the claim, the claimant must use reasonable rates and hours in computing the wage cost. If a person of a higher-level position performs an activity which normally would be performed by a lower-level position, reimbursement for time spent is allowable at the average salary range for the lower-level position. The salary rate of the person at a higher-level position may be claimed if it can be shown that it was more cost effective in comparison to the performance by a person at the lowerlevel position under normal circumstances and conditions. The number of hours charged to an activity should reflect the time expected to complete the activity under normal circumstances and conditions. The numbers of hours in excess of normal expected hours are not reimbursable.

(c) Calculating an Average Productive Hourly Rate

In those instances where the P's & G's allow a unit as a basis of claiming costs, the direct labor component of the unit cost should be expressed as an average productive hourly rate and can be determined as follows:

	<u>Time</u> Spent	Productive <u>Hourly Rate</u>	Total Cost by Employee
Employee A	1.25 hrs	\$6.00	\$7.50
Employee B	0.75 hrs	4.50	3.38
Employee C	3.50 hrs	10.00	35.00
Total	5.50 hrs		\$45.88
Average Product	ive Hourly Rate is \$	45.88 ÷ 5.50 hrs. = \$8.3	4

Table 3: Calculating an Average Productive Hourly Rate

(d) Employer's Benefits Contribution

A SD has the option of claiming actual employer's benefit contributions or may compute an average benefit cost for the employee's job classification and claim it as a percentage of direct labor. The same time base should be used for both salary and benefits when computing a percentage. For example, if health and dental insurance payments are made annually, use an annual salary. After the percentage of salary for each benefit is computed, total them. For example:

Employer's Contribution	% of Salary
Retirement	15.00%
Social Security	7.65%
Health and Dental Insurance	5.25%
Worker's Compensation	0.75%
Total	28.65%

(2) Materials and Supplies

Only actual expenses can be claimed for materials and supplies, which were acquired and consumed specifically for the purpose of a mandated program. The claimant must list the materials and supplies that were used to perform the mandated activity, the number of units consumed, the cost per unit, and the total dollar amount claimed. Materials and supplies in excess of reasonable quality, quantity, and cost are not reimbursable. Materials and supplies withdrawn from inventory and charged to the mandated activity must be based on a recognized method of pricing, consistently applied. Purchases must be claimed at the actual price after deducting discounts, rebates and allowances received by the SD.

(a) Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies

In those instances where the P's & G's suggest that a unit cost be developed for use as a basis of claiming costs mandated by the State, the materials and supplies component of the unit cost should be expressed as a unit cost of materials and supplies as shown in Table 1 or Table 2:

Supplies	<u>Cost Per Unit</u>	Amount of Supplies Used <u>Per Activity</u>	Unit Cost of Supplies <u>Per Activity</u>
Paper	0.02	4	\$0.08
Files	0.10	1	0.10
Envelopes	0.03	2	0.06
Photocopies	0.10	4	0.40
			<u>\$0.64</u>

Table 1: Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies

Table 2: Calculating a Unit Cost for Materials and Supplies

Supplies	Supplies <u>Used</u>	Unit Cost of Supplies <u>Per Activity</u>
Paper (\$10.00 for 500 sheet ream) Files (\$2.50 for box of 25) Envelopes (\$3.00 for box of 100)	250 Sheets 10 Folders 50 Envelopes	\$5.00 1.00 1.50
Photocopies (\$0.05 per copy) If the number of reimbursable instances is 2 per reimbursable instance (\$9.50 ÷ 25).	40 Copies 25, then the unit cost of su	2.00 \$9.50 upplies is \$0.38

(3) Contract Services

The cost of contract services is allowable if the SD lacks the staff resources or necessary expertise, or it is economically feasible to hire a contractor to perform the mandated activity. The claimant must keep documentation on hand to support the name of the contractor, explain the reason for having to hire a contractor, describe the mandated activities performed, give the dates when the activities were performed, the number of hours spent performing the mandate, the hourly billing rate, and the total cost. The hourly billing rate must not exceed the rate specified in the P's & G's for the mandated program. The contractor's invoice or statement must include an itemized list of costs for activities performed.

(4) Equipment Rental Costs

Equipment purchases and leases (with an option to purchase) are not reimbursable as a direct cost unless specifically allowed by the P's & G's for the particular mandate. Equipment rentals used solely for the mandate are reimbursable to the extent that such costs do not exceed the retail purchase price of the equipment plus a finance charge. The claimant must maintain documentation to support the purpose and use of the equipment, the time period for which the equipment was rented and the total cost of the rental. If the equipment is used for purposes other than reimbursable activities, only the pro rata portion of the rental costs can be claimed.

(5) Capital Outlay

Capital outlay for land, buildings, equipment, furniture and fixtures may be claimed if the P's & G's specify them as allowable. If they are allowable, the P's & G's for the program will specify a basis for the reimbursement. If the fixed asset or equipment is also used for purposes other than reimbursable activities for a specific mandate, only the pro rata portion of the purchase price used to implement the reimbursable activities can be claimed.

(6) Travel Expenses

Travel expenses are normally reimbursable in accordance with travel rules and regulations of the local jurisdiction. For some programs, however, the P's & G's may specify certain limitations on expenses, or that expenses can only be reimbursed in accordance with the Department of Personnel Administration (DPA) travel standards. When claiming travel expenses, the claimant must maintain documentation to support the purpose of the trip, the names and addresses of the persons incurring the expense, the date and time of departure and return, a description of each expense claimed, and the cost of transportation, number of private auto miles traveled, and the cost of tolls and parking. Receipts are required for charges over \$10.00.

9. Indirect Costs

Indirect costs are: (a) Incurred for a common or joint purpose benefiting more than one cost objective, and (b) not readily assignable to the cost objectives specifically benefited without effort disproportionate to the results achieved. Indirect costs can originate in the department performing the mandate or in departments that supply the department performing the mandate with goods, services, and facilities. To be allowable, a cost must be allocable to a particular cost objective. Indirect costs must be distributed to benefiting cost objectives on bases which produce an equitable result related to the benefits derived by the mandate.

School District's may use the indirect cost rate from the Restricted Indirect Cost rates for K-12 Local Education Agencies (LEA's) Five Year Listing issued by the California Department of Education (CDE), School Fiscal Services Division, for the fiscal year of costs. The amount of indirect costs the claimant is eligible to claim is computed by multiplying the rate by direct costs.

10. Time Study Guidelines

Background

Two methods are acceptable for documenting employee time charged to mandated cost programs: 1) Actual Time Reporting and 2) Time Study. These methods are described below. Application of time study results is restricted. As explained in the Time Study Results section below, the results may be projected forward a maximum of two years or applied retroactively to initial claims, current-year claims, and late-filed claims, provided certain criteria are met.

Actual Time Reporting

Each program's P's and G's define reimbursable activities for the mandated cost program. When employees work on multiple activities, a distribution of their salaries or wages must be supported by personnel activity reports or equivalent documentation that meets the following standards:

- They must reflect an after-the-fact distribution of the actual activity of each employee;
- They must account for the total activity for which each employee is compensated;
- They must be prepared at least monthly and must coincide with one or more pay periods; and
- They must be signed by the employee.

Budget estimates or other distribution percentages determined before services are performed do not qualify as support for actual time reporting.

Time Study

In certain cases, a time study may be used as a substitute for continuous records of actual time spent on multiple activities and/or programs. A time study can be used for an activity when the task is repetitive in nature. Activities that require varying levels of effort are not appropriate for time studies.

Time Study Plan

The claimant must develop a plan before the time study is conducted. The claimant must retain the time study plan for audit purposes. The plan must identify the following:

- Time periods to be studied The plan must show that all time periods selected are representative of the fiscal year and that the results can be reasonably projected to approximate actual costs;
- Activities to be studied The time study must separately identify each reimbursable activity defined in the mandated program's P's and G's. If a reimbursable activity identifies separate and distinct sub-activities, these sub-activities also must be treated as individual activities;

For example, sub-activities (a) and (b) under reimbursable activity (1) of the Agency Fee Arrangements Program relate to salary deduction and payment of fair share and are not separate and distinct activities. It is not necessary to separately study these sub-activities.

- Process used to accomplish each reimbursable activity Use flowcharts or similar analytical tools and/or written desk procedures to describe the process followed to complete each activity;
- Employee universe The employee universe used in the time study must include all positions for which salaries and wages are to be allocated by means of the time study;
- Employee sample selection methodology The plan must show that employees selected are representative of the employee universe and that the results can be reasonably projected to approximate actual costs. In addition, the employee sample size should be proportional to the variation in time spent to perform a task. The sample size should be larger for tasks with significant time variations;
- Time increments to be recorded The time increments used should be sufficient to recognize the

number of different activities performed and the dynamics of these responsibilities. Very large increments (such as one hour or more) can be used for employees performing only a few functions that change very slowly over time. Small increments (a number of minutes) can be used for employees performing more short-term tasks.

Random-moment sampling is not an acceptable alternative to continuous time records for mandated cost claims. Random-moment sampling techniques are most applicable in situations where employees perform many different types of activities on a variety of programs with small time increments throughout the fiscal year.

Time Study Documentation

Time studies must:

- Be supported by time records that are completed when the activity occurs;
- · Report activity on a daily basis;
- Be sufficiently detailed to reflect all mandated activities performed during a specific time period; and
- Coincide with one or more pay periods.

Time records must be signed by the employee and be supported by documentation that validates that the work was actually performed. As with actual time reporting, budget estimates or other distribution percentages determined before services are performed do not qualify as valid time studies.

Time Study Results

Claimants must summarize time study results to show how the time study supports the costs claimed for each activity. Any variation from the procedures identified in the original time study plan must be documented and explained. Current-year costs must be used to prepare a time study. Claimants may project time study results to no more than two subsequent fiscal years. A claimant also may apply time study results retroactively to initial claims, current-year claims, and late-filed claims.

When projecting time study results, the claimant must certify that no significant changes have occurred between years in either (1) the requirements of each mandated program activity; or (2) the processes and procedures used to accomplish the activity. For all years, the claimant must maintain documentation that shows that the mandated activity was actually performed. Time study results used to support claims are subject to the record-keeping requirements for those claims.

11. Offsets Against State Mandated Claims

As noted previously, allowable costs are defined as those direct and indirect costs, less applicable credits, considered eligible for reimbursement. When all or part of the costs of a mandated program are specifically reimbursable from local assistance revenue sources (e.g., state, federal, foundation, etc.), only that portion of any increased cost payable from SD funds is eligible for reimbursement under the provisions of GC Section 17561.

A. Example 1:

As illustrated in Table 5, this example shows how the Offset Against State Mandated Claims is determined for SD receiving block grant revenues not based on a formula allocation. Program costs for each situation equals \$100,000.

	Program Costs	Actual Local Assistance Revenues	State Mandated Costs	Offset Against State Mandated Claims	Claimable Mandated Costs
1.	\$100,000	\$95,000	\$2,500	\$-0-	\$2,500
2.	100,000	97,000	2,500	-0-	2,500
3.	100,000	98,000	2,500	500	2,000
4.	100,000	100,000	2,500	2,500	-0-
5.	100,000 *	50,000	2,500	1,250	1,250
6.	100,000 *	49,000	2,500	250	2,250

Table 5: Offset Against State Mandates, Example 1

* SD's share is \$50,000 of the program cost.

Numbers (1) through (4) in Table 5, show intended funding at 100% from local assistance revenue sources. Numbers (5) and (6) show cost sharing on a 50/50 basis with the district. In numbers (1) through (6), included in the program costs of \$100,000 are state mandated costs of \$2,500. The offset against state mandated claims are the amount of actual local assistance revenues, which exceeds the difference between program costs and state mandated costs. This offset cannot exceed the amount of state mandated costs.

In (1), local assistance revenues were less than expected. Local assistance funding was not in excess of the difference between program costs and state mandated costs. As a result, the offset against state mandated claims is zero and \$2,500 is claimable as mandated costs.

In (4), local assistance revenues were fully realized to cover the entire cost of the program, including the state mandated activity; therefore, the offset against state mandated claims is \$2,500, and claimable cost is \$0.

In (5), the district is sharing 50% of the project cost. Since local assistance revenues of \$50,000 were fully realized, the offset against state mandated claims is \$1,250.

In (6), local assistance revenues were less than the amount expended and the offset against state mandated claims is \$250. Therefore, the claimable mandated costs are \$2,250.

B. Example 2:

As illustrated in Table 6, this example shows how the offset against state mandated claims is determined for SD's receiving special project funds based on approved actual costs. Local assistance revenues for special projects must be applied proportionately to the approved costs.

	Program Costs	Actual Local Assistance Revenues	State Mandated Costs	Offset Against State Mandated Claims	Claimable Mandated Costs
1.	\$100,000	\$100,000	\$2,500	\$2,500	\$-0-
2.	100,000 **	75,000	2,500	1,875	625
3.	100,000 **	45,000	1,500	1,125	375

Table 6: Offset Against State Mandates, Example 2

** SD's share is \$25,000 of the program cost.

In (2), the entire program cost was approved. Since the local assistance revenue source covers 75% of the program cost, it also proportionately covered 75% of the \$2,500 state mandated costs, or \$1,875.

If in (3) local assistance revenues are less than the amount expected because only \$60,000 of the \$100,000 program costs were determined to be valid by the contracting agency, then a proportionate share of state mandated costs is likewise reduced to \$1,500. The offset against state mandated claims is \$1,125. Therefore, the claimable mandated costs are \$375.

Federal and State Funding Sources

State school fund apportionments and federal aid for education, which are based on ADA and are part of the general system of financing public schools as well as block grants which do not provide for specific reimbursement of costs (i.e. allocation formulas not tied to expenditures), should not be included as reimbursements from local assistance revenue sources.

12. Notice of Claim Adjustment

All claims submitted to the SCO are reviewed to determine if the claim was prepared in accordance with the claiming instructions. Claimants will receive a *Notice of Claim Adjustment* detailing any adjustment made by the SCO.

13. Audit of Costs

Pursuant to GC Section 17558.5, Subdivision (b), the SCO may conduct a field review of any claim after it has been submitted to determine if costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and the claim was prepared in accordance with the SCO's claiming instructions and the

P's & G's adopted by the Commission. If any adjustments are made to a claim, a Notice of Claim Adjustment specifying the claim activity adjusted, the amount adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment, will be mailed within thirty days after payment of the claim.

14. Source Documents

Costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee records, or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification stating: "I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct" and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure Section 2015.5. Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

15. Claim Forms and Instructions

Unless you are filing electronically, a claimant may submit a computer generated report in substitution for Form-1 and Form-2, provided the format of the report and data fields contained within the report are identical to the claim forms included with these instructions. The claim forms provided with these instructions should be duplicated or printed from SCO's Web site and used by the claimant to file reimbursement claims. The SCO will revise the manual and claim forms as necessary.

A. Form-2, Activity Cost Detail

This form is used to segregate the direct costs by claim activity. In some mandates, specific reimbursable activities have been identified for each activity. The expenses reported on this form must be supported by the official financial records of the claimant. All documents used to

support the reimbursable activities must be retained by the claimant unless required to be submitted with the claim and must be made available to the SCO on request.

B. Form-1, Claim Summary

This form is used to summarize direct costs by activity and compute allowable indirect costs for the mandate. The direct costs summarized on this form are derived from Form-2 and are carried forward to form FAM-27.

C. Form FAM-27, Claim for Payment

This form contains a certification that must be signed by an authorized officer of the SD's. All applicable information from Form-1 must be carried forward onto this form in order for the SCO to process the claim for payment. An original and one copy of the FAM-27 are required.

Submit a signed original and one copy of form FAM-27, Claim for Payment. To expedite the payment process, please sign the FAM-27 with blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.

Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

Office of the State Controller Attn.: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting P. O. Box 942850 Sacramento, CA 94250 If delivered by Other delivery services:

Office of the State Controller Attn: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting 3301 C Street, Suite 700 Sacramento, CA 95816

16. Retention of Claiming Instructions

The revised claiming instructions in this package have been arranged in alphabetical order by program name. This Manual should be retained for future reference, and the forms should be duplicated to meet your filing requirements. Annually, new or revised forms, instructions, and any other information claimants may need to file claims will be placed on the SCO's Web site located at www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html.

If you have any questions concerning mandated cost reimbursements, please write to us at the address listed for filing claims, or by e-mail to LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov, or call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729.

17. Retention of Claim Records and Supporting Documentation

Pursuant to Government Code Section 17558.5, (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by SD's is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit will commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit will be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit was commenced.

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated an audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings. Supporting documents must be made available to the SCO on request.



JOHN CHIANG California State Controller Division of Accounting and Reporting

February 15, 2011

TO: COUNTY SUPERINTENDENTS OF SCHOOLS SUPERINTENDENTS OF SCHOOL DISTRICTS

RE: Notification of Truancy, Program 48 Rate Change for 2009-10 Fiscal Year

The claiming instructions for the Notification of Truancy mandate reimbursement program contains a unit cost rate to calculate the reimbursement amount. The unit cost rate included on Form 1 of the claiming instructions for the 2009-10 fiscal year was erroneously calculated as \$17.66 and posted to the State Controller's web site in December of 2010. The Form 1 was amended with the correct rate of \$17.87 and was re-posted on February 7, 2011.

If a claim has already been filed for fiscal year 2009-10 using the erroneous rate, the claim will be adjusted by the State Controller's Office to reflect the increase and a copy will be mailed to you. If you did not file a 2009-10 claim due to the inability to meet the \$1,001 threshold, but are now able to meet it, you may file a claim until March 15, 2011; no late penalty will be imposed. The updated forms for this program are now available online at the SCO's web site: http://www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost_claim_instruct.html.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Questions regarding this program may be e-mailed to <u>LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov</u> or you may call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729.

Sincerely,

(Original Signed By)

JILL KANEMASU, Chief Bureau of Payments

JL/AL/tb

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER STATE MANDATED COST CLAIMING INSTRUCTIONS NO. 2008-03 NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY

APRIL 4, 2008

Revised October 15, 2010

In accordance with Government Code (GC) Section 17561, eligible claimants may submit claims to the State Controller's Office (SCO) for reimbursement of state mandated cost programs. The following are claiming instructions and forms that eligible claimants will use for filing claims for the Notification of Truancy (NOT) program. These claiming instructions are issued subsequent to adoption of the program's amended Parameters and Guidelines (P's & G's) by the Commission on State Mandates (Commission).

On January 31, 2008, the Commission adopted the attached amended P's and G's for NOT, which is effective July 1, 2006, and are included as an integral part of the claiming instructions.

Limitations and Exceptions

There will be no reimbursement for any period in which the Legislature has suspended the operation of a mandate pursuant to Government Code Section 17581.5.

Eligible Claimants

Except for community colleges, any school district or county office of education as defined in GC Section 17519 that incurs increased costs as a result of this mandate is eligible to claim reimbursement.

Filing Deadlines

A. Reimbursement Claims

A reimbursement claim is defined in GC Section 17522 as any claim filed with the SCO by a school district for reimbursement of costs incurred for which an appropriation is made for the purpose of paying the claim.

An actual claim may be filed by February 15 following the fiscal year in which costs were incurred. Claims for fiscal year 2009-10 will be accepted without penalty if postmarked or delivered on or before February 15, 2011. Claims filed more than one year after the deadline will not be accepted.

B. Late Penalty

1. Initial Claims

Late initial claims are assessed a late penalty of 10% of the total amount of the initial claims without limitation.

2. Annual Reimbursement Claims

Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15 of the following fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims will be reduced by a late penalty.

Late annual reimbursement claims are assessed a late penalty of 10% of the claim amount; \$10,000 maximum penalty.

Minimum Claim Cost

GC Section 17564(a) provides that no claim may be filed pursuant to Sections 17551 and 17561, unless such a claim exceeds one thousand dollars (**\$1,000**), provided that a county superintendent of schools may submit a combined claim on behalf of school districts within their county if the combined claim exceeds **\$1,000**, even if the individual school district's claim does not each exceed **\$1,000**. The county superintendent of schools will determine if the submission of the combined claim is economically feasible and be responsible for disbursing the funds to each school district. These combined claims may be filed only when the county superintendent of schools is the fiscal agent for the districts. A combined claim must show the individual claim costs for each eligible school district. All subsequent claims based upon the same mandate must only be filed in the combined form unless a school district provides a written notice of its intent to file a separate claim to the county superintendent of schools and to the SCO at least one hundred and eighty days prior to the deadline for filing the claim.

Reimbursement of Claims

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, "I certify (or declare) under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct," and must further comply with the requirements of Code of Civil Procedure Section 2015.5.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, these documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

Audit of Costs

All claims submitted to the SCO are reviewed to determine if costs are related to the mandate, are reasonable and not excessive, and if the claim was prepared in accordance with SCO's claiming instructions and the P's & G's adopted by the Commission. If any adjustments are made to a claim, a Notice of Claim Adjustment specifying the activity adjusted, the amount

adjusted, and the reason for the adjustment, will be mailed within thirty days after payment of the claim.

On-site audits will be conducted by the SCO as deemed necessary. Pursuant to GC Section 17558.5, Subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a claimant is subject to audit by the SCO no later than three years after the date the actual reimbursement claim was filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds were appropriated or no payment was made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim was filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim.

All documents used to support the reimbursable activities must be retained during the period subject to audit. If an audit has been initiated by the Controller during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings.

Retention of Claim Documentation

All documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for a period of three years after the end of the calendar year in which the reimbursement claim was filed or last amended regardless of the year of costs incurred. If no funds were appropriated for initial claims at the time the claim was filed, supporting documents must be retained for three years from the date of initial payment of the claim. Therefore, all documentation to support actual costs claimed must be retained for the same period, and must be made available to the SCO on request.

Address for Filing Claims

Submit a signed original and a copy of form FAM-27, Claim for Payment, and all other forms and supporting documents. To expedite the payment process, please sign the form in blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.

Use the following mailing addresses:

If delivered by U.S. Postal Service:	If delivered by other delivery services:
Office of the State Controller	Office of the State Controller
Attn: Local Reimbursements Section	Attn: Local Reimbursements Section
Division of Accounting and Reporting	Division of Accounting and Reporting
P.O. Box 942850	3301 C Street, Suite 700
Sacramento, CA 94250	Sacramento, CA 95816

Mandated costs claiming instructions and forms are available online at the SCO's Web site: **www.sco.ca.gov/ard_mancost.html.** If you have any questions, call the Local Reimbursements Section at (916) 324-5729 or e-mail **LRSDAR@sco.ca.gov**.

Adopted: 8/27/87 Amended: 7/28/88 Amended: 7/22/93 Amended: 1/31/08 Amended: 5/27/10

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines as Directed by the Legislature

Statutes 2007, Chapter 69 (AB 1698)

Education Code Section 48260.5

Statutes 1983, Chapter 498

Statutes 1994, Chapter 1023

Statutes 1995, Chapter 19

Notification of Truancy 05-PGA-56 (07-PGA-01; 4133)

Effective Date: Beginning with Claims Filed for the July 1, 2006 – June 30, 2007 Period of Reimbursement

I. BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY OF MANDATE

Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, added Education Code Section 48260.5 which requires school districts, upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant, to notify the pupil's parent or guardian by first-class mail or other reasonable means of (1) the pupil's truancy; (2) that the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school; and (3) that parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subject to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with section 48290) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.

Additionally, the district must inform parents and guardians of (1) alternative educational programs available in the district, and (2) the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.

A truancy occurs when a student is absent from school without valid excuse three (3) full days in one school year, or is tardy or absent without valid excuse for more than any thirty (30)-minute period during the school day on n three (3) occasions in one school year, or any combination thereof. (Definition from Ed. Code, § 48260, as amended by Stats. 1994, ch. 1023 and Stats. 1995, ch. 19.)

Upon a student's initial classification as a truant, the school must perform the requirements mandated by Education Code section 48260.5 as enacted by Statutes 1983, chapter 498 and amended by Statutes 1994, chapter 1023, and Statutes 1995, chapter 19.

Board of Control Decision

On November 29, 1984, the State Board of Control determined that Education Code Section 48260.5, as added by Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, constitutes a

state mandated program because it requires an increased level of service by requiring specified notifications be sent to the parents or guardians of pupils upon initial classification of truancy.

Amendment to Parameters and Guidelines

The Legislature directed the Commission on State Mandates to revise the parameters and guidelines to modify the definition of truant and the required elements to be included in the initial truancy notifications to conform reimbursable activities to Statutes 1994, chapter 1023, and Statutes 1995, chapter 19, effective July 1, 2006. (Stats., 2007, ch. 69 (AB 1698).)

II. <u>ELIGIBLE CLAIMANTS</u>

The claimants are all school districts and county offices of education of the state of California, except a community college district, as defined by Government Code Section 17519 (formerly Revenue and Taxation Code 2208.5), that incur increased costs as a result of implementing the program activities of Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

III. <u>PERIOD OF REIMBURSEMENT</u>

The amendments to the parameters and guidelines adopted on January 31, 2008 are effective July 1, 2006.

IV. <u>REIMBURSABLE COSTS</u>

To be eligible for mandated cost reimbursement for any fiscal year, only actual costs may be claimed. Actual costs are those costs actually incurred to implement the mandated activities. Actual costs must be traceable and supported by source documents that show the validity of such costs, when they were incurred, and their relationship to the reimbursable activities. A source document is a document created at or near the same time the actual cost was incurred for the event or activity in question. Source documents may include, but are not limited to, employee time records or time logs, sign-in sheets, invoices, and receipts.

Evidence corroborating the source documents may include, but is not limited to, worksheets, cost allocation reports (system generated), purchase orders, contracts, agendas, training packets, and declarations. Declarations must include a certification or declaration stating, "I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct based upon personal knowledge." Evidence corroborating the source documents may include data relevant to the reimbursable activities otherwise in compliance with local, state, and federal government requirements. However, corroborating documents cannot be substituted for source documents.

The claimant is only allowed to claim and be reimbursed for increased costs for reimbursable activities identified below. Increased cost is limited to the cost of an activity that the claimant is required to incur as a result of the mandate.

A. Scope of Mandate

The eligible claimant shall be reimbursed for only those costs incurred for planning the notification process, revising district procedures, the printing and distribution of notification forms, and associated record keeping.

B. Reimbursable Activities

For each eligible school district the direct and indirect costs of labor, supplies, and services incurred for the following mandated program activities are reimbursable:

1. Planning and Preparation -- One-time

Planning the method of implementation, revising school district policies, and designing and printing the forms.

2. Notification process -- On-going

Identifying the truant pupils to receive the notification, preparing and distributing by first-class mail or other reasonable means the forms to parents/guardians, and associated recordkeeping to provide parents/guardians with the following required information upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant:

- a. That the pupil is truant.
- b. That the parent or guardian is obligated to compel the attendance of the pupil at school.
- c. That parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subjet to prosecution pursuant to Article 6 (commencing with Section 48260) of Chapter 2 of Part 27.
- d. That alternative educational programs are available in the district.
- e. That the parent or guardian has the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.
- f. That the pupil may be subject to prosecution under Section 48264.
- g. That the pupil may be subject to suspension, restriction, or delay of the pupil's driving privileges pursuant to Section 13202.7 of the Vehicle Code.
- h. That it is recommended that the parent or guardian accompany the pupil to school and attend classes with the pupil for one day.

C. Uniform Cost Allowance

Pursuant to Government Code section 17557, the Commission on State Mandates has adopted a uniform cost allowance for reimbursement in lieu of payment of total actual costs incurred. The uniform cost allowance is based on the number of initial notifications of truancy distributed pursuant to Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983.

For fiscal year 1992-93, the uniform cost allowance is \$10.21 per initial notification of truancy distributed. The cost allowance shall be adjusted each subsequent year by the Implicit Price Deflator.

D. Unique Costs

School districts incurring unique costs within the scope of the reimbursable mandated activities may submit a request to amend the parameters and guidelines to the Commission for the unique costs to be approved for reimbursement, Pursuant to Section 1185.3, Title 2, California Code of Regulations, such requests must be made by November 30 immediately following the fiscal year of the reimbursement claim in which reimbursement for the costs is requested.

V. <u>CLAIM PREPARATION</u>

Each claim for reimbursement pursuant to Education Code Section 48260.5, Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, must be timely filed and provide documentation in support of the reimbursement claimed for this mandated program.

A. Uniform Cost Allowance Reimbursement

Report the number of initial notifications of truancy distributed during the year. Do not include in that count the number of notifications or other contacts which may result from the initial notification to the parent or guardian. The agency must maintain documentation that indicates the total number of initial notifications of truancy distributed.

B. Recognized Unique Costs

As of fiscal year 1992-93, the Commission has not identified any circumstances which would cause a school district to incur additional costs to implement this mandate which have not already been incorporated in the uniform cost allowance.

If and when the Commission recognizes any unique circumstances which can cause the school district to incur additional reasonable costs to implement this mandated program, these unique implementation costs will be reimbursed for specified fiscal years in addition to the uniform cost allowance.

School districts which incur these recognized unique costs will be required to support those actual costs in the following manner:

1. Narrative Statement of Unique Costs Incurred

Provide a detailed written explanation of the costs associated with the unique circumstances recognized by the Commission.

2. Employee Salaries and Benefits

Identify the employee(s) and their job classification, describe the mandated functions performed, and specify the actual number of hours devoted to each function, the productive hourly rate, and the related benefits. The staff time claimed must be supported by source documentation, such as time reports, however, the average number of hours devoted to each function may be claimed if supported by a documented time study.

3. Services and Supplies

Only expenditures which can be identified as a direct cost as a result of the mandated program can be claimed. List cost of materials which have been consumed or expended specifically for the purposes of this mandated program.

4. Allowable Overhead Costs

School districts must use the J-380 (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the California Department of Education. County offices of education must use the J-73A (or subsequent replacement) non-restrictive indirect cost rate provisionally approved by the State Department of Education.

VI. <u>RECORD RETENTION</u>

Pursuant to Government Code section 17558.5, subdivision (a), a reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter¹ is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced. All documents used to support the reimbursable activities, as described in Section V, must be retained during the period subject to audit. If the Controller has initiated an audit during the period subject to audit, the retention period is extended until the ultimate resolution of any audit findings.

For auditing purposes, documents must be kept on file for a period of 3 years from the date of final payment by the State Controller, unless otherwise specified by statute and be made available at the request of the State Controller or his agent.

A. Uniform Allowance Reimbursement

Documentation which indicates the total number of initial notifications of truancy distributed.

B. Reimbursement of Unique Costs

In addition to maintaining the **same** documentation as required for uniform cost allowance reimbursement, all costs claimed must be traceable to source documents **and/or** worksheets that show evidence of the validity of such **costs**.

VIII. OFFSETTING SAVINGS AND OTHER REIMBURSEMENT

Any offsetting savings the claimants experience as a direct result of this statute must be deducted from the uniform cost allowance and actual cost reimbursement for unique circumstances claimed. In addition, reimbursement for this mandated

¹ This refers to Title 2, division 4, part 7, chapter 4 of the Government Code.

program received from any source, e.g., federal, state, etc., shall be identified and deducted from this claim.

IX. <u>REQUIRED CERTIFICATION</u>

An authorized representative of the claimant will be required to provide a certification of claim, as specified in the State Controller% claiming instructions, for those costs mandated by the state contained herein.

State Controller's Office

School Mandated Cost Manual

NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY			For State Controller Use	Only	PROGRAM
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT			(19) Program Number 00048(20) Date Filed(21) LRS Input		048
(01) Claimant Identification Number			Reimbursement	t Claim I	Data
(02) Claimant Name			(22) FORM-1, (03)		
County of Location			(23) FORM-1, (04)		
Street Address or P.O. Box		Suite	(24) FORM-1, (06)		
City	State	Zip Code	(25) FORM-1, (07)		
		Type of Claim	(26)		
	(03)	(09) Reimbursement	(27)		
	(04)	(10) Combined	(28)		
	(05)	(11) Amended	(29)		
Fiscal Year of Cost	(06)	(12)	(30)		
Total Claimed Amount	(07)	(13)	(31)		
Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attac	hed Instructions)	(14)	(32)		
Less: Prior Claim Payment Receiv	ed	(15)	(33)		
Net Claimed Amount		(16)	(34)		
Due from State	(08)	(17)	(35)		
Due to State (18)		(36)			
(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIN	1	·			

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Sections 17560 and 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the school district or county office of education to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not violated any of the provisions of Article 4, Chapter 1 of Division 4 of Title 1 of the Government Code.

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant(s) or payment(s) received, for reimbursement of costs claimed herein; claimed costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program; and claimed amounts do not include charter school costs, either directly or through a third party. All offsetting savings and reimbursements set forth in the parameters and guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source documentation currently maintained by the claimant.

The amount for this reimbursement is hereby claimed from the State for payment of actual costs set forth on the attached statements.

I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature of Authorized Officer	
	Date Signed
	Telephone Number
	E-mail Address
Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory	
(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim	Telephone Number
(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim	Telephone Number
(38) Name of Agency Contact Person for Claim Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer	

State Controller's Office

School Mandated Cost Manual

048

NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY CLAIM FOR PAYMENT INSTRUCTIONS



- (01) Enter the claimant identification number assigned by the State Controller's Office.
- (02) Enter claimant official name, county of location, street or postal office box address, city, state, and zip code.
- (03) to (08) Leave blank.
- (09) If filing a reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (09) Reimbursement.
- (10) If filing a combined reimbursement claim on behalf of districts within the county, enter an "X" in the box on line (10) Combined.
- (11) If filing an amended reimbursement claim, enter an "X" in the box on line (11) Amended.
- (12) Enter the fiscal year for which actual costs are being claimed. If actual costs for more than one fiscal year are being claimed, complete a separate form FAM-27 for each fiscal year.
- (13) Enter the amount of the reimbursement claim as shown in the attached Form-1 line (08). The total claimed amount must exceed \$1,000.
- (14) Initial claims must be filed as specified in the claiming instructions. Annual reimbursement claims must be filed by February 15 of the following fiscal year in which costs were incurred or the claims must be reduced by a late penalty. Enter zero if the claim is timely filed. Otherwise, enter the penalty amount as a result of the calculation formula as follows:
 - Late Initial Claims: FAM-27 line(13) multiplied by 10%, without limitation; or
 - Late Annual Reimbursement Claims: FAM-27, line (13) multiplied by 10%, late penalty not to exceed \$10,000.
- (15) Enter the amount of payment, if any, received for the claim. If no payment was received, enter zero.
- (16) Enter the net claimed amount by subtracting the sum of lines (14) and (15) from line (13).
- (17) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is positive, enter that amount on line (17), Due from State.
- (18) If line (16), Net Claimed Amount, is negative, enter that amount on line (18), Due to State.
- (19) to (21) Leave blank.
- (22) to (36) Reimbursement Claim Data. Bring forward the cost information as specified on the left-hand column of lines (22) through (36) for the reimbursement claim, e.g., Form-1, (03), means the information is located on form Form-1, line (03). Enter the information on the same line but in the right-hand column. Cost information should be rounded to the nearest dollar, i.e., no cents. Indirect costs percentage should be shown as a whole number and without the percent symbol, i.e., 7.548% should be shown as 8. Completion of this data block will expedite the payment process.
- (37) Read the statement of Certification of Claim. The claim must be dated, signed by the agency's authorized officer, and must type or print name, title, telephone number and E-mail address. Claims cannot be paid unless accompanied by an original signed certification. (To expedite the payment process, please sign the form FAM-27 with blue ink, and attach a copy of the form FAM-27 to the top of the claim package.)
- (38) Enter the name, telephone number, and E-mail address of the agency contact person for the claim. If claim is prepared by external consultant, type or print the name of the consulting firm, telephone number, and e-mail address.

SUBMIT A SIGNED ORIGINAL, AND A COPY OF FORM FAM-27, WITH ALL OTHER FORMS TO:

Address, if delivered by U.S. Postal Service:

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting P.O. Box 942850 Sacramento, CA 94250 Address, if delivered by other delivery service:

OFFICE OF THE STATE CONTROLLER ATTN: Local Reimbursements Section Division of Accounting and Reporting 3301 C Street, Suite 700 Sacramento, CA 95816

program 048		NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY CLAIM SUMMARY	FORM
(01) Claimant		(02)	Fiscal Year
			/
Claim Statisti	CS		
(03) Number o	f initial truant notifications		
(04) Unit Cost		[\$17.87 for fiscal year 2009-10]	
(05) Total Cos	ts	[Line (03) x line (04)]	
Cost Reduction	on		
(06) Less: Off	setting Savings		
(07) Less: Oth	ner Reimbursements		
(08) Total Clai	med Amount	[Line (05) - {line (06) + line (07)}]	

PROGRAM	NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY	FORM
048	CLAIM SUMMARY	
040	INSTRUCTIONS	

- (01) Enter the name of the claimant. If more than one department has incurred costs for this mandate, give the name of each department. A Form-1 should be completed for each department.
- (02) Enter the fiscal year of costs.
- (03) Enter the number of initial truant notifications that were sent during the fiscal year of claim, upon the students' initial classification of truancy.
- (04) The unit cost rate for fiscal year 2009-10 is \$17.87 per initial notification. This unit cost rate will be updated annually in the Annual Revisions for Schools.
- (05) Multiply line (03), the number of truant notifications by line (04), the unit cost rate.
- (06) Less: Offsetting Savings. If applicable, enter the total savings experienced by the claimant as a direct result of this mandate. Submit a detailed schedule of savings with the claim.
- (07) Less: Other Reimbursements. If applicable, enter the amount of other reimbursements received from any source including, but not limited to, service fees collected, federal funds, and other state funds, that reimbursed any portion of the mandated cost program. Submit a schedule detailing the reimbursement sources and amounts.
- (08) Total Claimed Amount. From Total Costs, line (05), subtract the sum of Offsetting Savings, line (06), and Other Reimbursements, line (07). Enter the remainder on this line and carry the amount forward to form FAM-27, line (13) for the Reimbursement Claim.

DEPARTMENT OF PERSONNEL ADMINISTRATION RULES

Moving and Relocation Expenses

Effective January 1, 2010

599.714.1 Scope

(a) Whenever a permanent state officer or employee is required by any appointing power because of a change in assignment promotion or other reason related to his/her duties, to change his/her place of residence, such officer, agent or employee shall receive reimbursement of his/her actual and necessary moving and relocation expenses incurred by him/her both before and after and by reason of such change of residence, subject to the provisions and limitations of this article.

(b) For the purposes of this article, a move occurs on the official reporting date to the new headquarters, and when a change in residence is reasonable to be required. Relocation shall be paid, when the following conditions are met:

(1) The officer's or employees officially designated headquarters is changed for the advantage of the State, which includes the following:

(A) A promotion offered by any appointing authority, not including those movements that the employee could make through transfer, reinstatement, or reemployment eligibility; or

(B) An involuntary transfer initiated by and at the discretion of the appointing authority,

(C) Any involuntary transfer required to affect a mandatory reinstatement following:

- (I) Termination of a career executive or exempt appointment
- (II) Leave of absence
- (III) Rejection from probation

(D) Any involuntary transfer required to affect a mandatory reinstatement following the expiration or involuntary termination of a temporary appointment, limited term appointment, or training and development assignment when:

(I) the employee did not relocate to accept the appointment or assignment, or

(II) the employee did relocate, at State expense, to accept the appointment or assignment

(2) The move must be a minimum of 50 miles plus the number of miles between the old residence and the old headquarters.

(3) Relocations that meet the above criteria will be fully reimbursed to the extent and limitations in this article.

(c) A change of residence is not deemed reasonable to be required for voluntary transfers or permissive reinstatements, with or without a salary increase, in response to general requests which specify that moving and relocation expenses will not be paid, or for any non-promotional transfer which is primarily for the benefit of the officer or employee.

(d) When an appointment does not meet the criteria in (a) and (b) the appointing power may, at his/her discretion, determine in advance that it is in the best interest of the State to reimburse all or part of the actual reasonable and necessary relocation expenses provided in this article as an incentive to recruit employees to positions that are designated by the appointing power as difficult to fill or because of outstanding qualifications of the appointee, or due to unusual and unavoidable hardship to the employee by reason of the change of residence.

(1) Relocations that meet this criteria shall be reimbursed only for the items in this article specifically authorized by the appointing power, and may be subject to further limitations designated by the appointing power.

(2) Upon determination that any reimbursement will be made, the appointing power shall:

(A) Determine which provisions will apply to the relocation and establish any additional limitations to those provisions such as dollar limits, weight limits, or time limits.

(B) Notify the employee in writing, of specific allowable reimbursements prior to the move.

(e) Requirements and limitations specified in this article may not be waived or exceeded by the appointing power.

(f) Unauthorized relocation expenses and relocation expenses incurred prior to receipt of a written notice of allowable relocation expenses are the responsibility of the employee.

599.715.1 Reimbursement for Miscellaneous Expenses-Excluded Employees

An officer or employee who is required to change his/her place of residence according to Section 599.714.1 may receive reimbursement for up to \$200 for miscellaneous expenses upon submittal of documentation of the payment of all such expenses and certification that the expenses were related to dissolution to the old household and/or the establishment of a new household and were not otherwise reimbursed.

(a) Reimbursement for the installation and/or connection of appliances or antennas purchased after the change of residence shall be allowed provided no claim is made for installation and/or connection of a similar item in the movement of household goods, and installation and/or connection occurs within sixty days of the establishment of a new residence.

(b) Deposits are not reimbursable.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference: Section 19841, Government Code.

599.716.1 Reimbursement for Sale of a Residence

(a) Whenever an officer or employee is required, as defined in <u>Section 599.714</u>, to change his/her officially designated headquarter and such change requires the settlement of a lease on the employee's old residence, the officer or employee shall receive the actual and necessary costs of settlement of the unexpired lease to a maximum of one year.

(b) Reimbursement shall not be allow if it is determined that the officer or employee knew or reasonably should have known that a transfer according to <u>Section 599.714</u> was imminent before entering into a lease agreement.

(c) Claims for settlement of a lease shall be documented and itemized and submitted within six months following the new reporting date except that the Director of the Department of Personnel Administration may grant an extension of not more than three months upon receipt of evidence warranting such extension prior to the expiration of the six-months period.

(1) The claim may be a signed agreement between the officer or employee and the lessor or it may be made unilaterally by the officer or employee.

(2) In no event shall the final settlement by the State exceed one year's rent nor shall it include any costs, deposits or fees.

599.717.1 Settlement of a Lease-Excluded Employee

(a) Whenever an officer or employee is required, as defined by <u>Section 599.714.1</u>(a) to change his/her place of residence and such change requires the settlement of a lease on the employee's old residence, the officer or employee shall receive the actual and necessary cost of settlement of the unexpired lease to a maximum of one year. In no event shall the lease settlement include any costs, deposits or fees.

(1) Reimbursement shall not be allowed if it is determined that the officer or employee knew or reasonably should have known that a transfer according to <u>Section 599.714.1</u> was imminent before entering into a lease agreement.

(2) Claims for settlement of a lease shall include a lease agreement signed by both the employee and the lessor, and shall be itemized and submitted within nine months following the new reporting date.

(b) If an employee is required under 599.714.1(a) to change his/her place of residence and such notice to the employee is insufficient to provide the employee the notice period required by a month to month rental agreement, reimbursement may be claimed for the number of days penalty paid by the employee to a maximum of 30 calendar days.

(1) Reimbursement shall not be allowed for days that the employee failed to notify the landlord after notification by the employer of the reassignments.

(2) Claims shall be accompanied by a copy of the rental agreement, an itemized receipt for the penalty and the name and address of the individual or company to which the rental penalty has been paid.

(c) No reimbursement shall be made for forfeiture of cleaning or security deposits, or for repair, replacement, or damages of rental property.

599.718.1 Expenses for Moving Household Effects

(a) For the purpose of these regulations, household or personal effects include items such as furniture, clothing, musical instruments, household appliances, food, and other items that are usual or necessary for the maintenance of one household.

(b) Household effects shall not include items connected to a for profit business, items from another household, items that are permanently affixed to the property being vacated or items that would normally be discarded or recycled.

(c) At the discretion of the appointing power, other items may be considered household effects based on a consideration of the estimated cost of the move and a review of the items listed on the inventory. Expenses related to moving items other than those described in (a) that have not been approved by the appointing power shall be the responsibility of the employee.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code, Reference: Section 19841.

599.719.1 Reimbursement for Moving Household Effects

Reimbursement shall be allowed for the cost of moving an employee's effects either via commercial household goods carrier or by the employee. Reimbursements under this rule shall not exceed the cost of moving the employee's household goods from the old residence to the new headquarters plus 50 miles unless the appointing authority determines that a longer move is in the best interest of the State. Any additional expense associated with an interstate or intercountry move shall be approved in advance by the appointing power. No reimbursement will be allowed for the hiring of casual labor.

(a) When the employee retains a commercial mover, reimbursement for actual and necessary expenses incurred by a commercial mover under this article for the packing, insurance, one pickup, transportation, storage-in-transit (not including warehouse handling charges except when required by interstate tariffs), one delivery, unpacking, and installation at the new location of an employee's household effects shall be allowed subject to the following:

(1) Weight of household effects for which expenses may be reimbursed shall not exceed 5,000 kilograms (11,000 pounds).

(2) Duration of storage-in-transit for which charges may be reimbursed shall not exceed 60 calendar days unless a longer period of storage is approved in advance by the appointing authority based on hardship to the employee.

(3) Rates at which reimbursement is allowed shall not exceed the minimum rates, at the minimum declared valuation, established by the California Public Utilities Commission for household goods carriers, unless a higher rate is approved by the Department of General Services.

(4) Cost of insurance for which reimbursement is allowed shall not exceed the cost of insurance coverage at \$2.00 valuation for each pound of household effects shipped by household goods carrier.

(5) Claims for exceptions to the 11,000 pounds statutory limit will be considered by the appointing authority up to a maximum of 23,000 pounds, only when it has been determined that every reasonable effort had been made to conform to the limit. Exceptions to the number of pick-ups and deliveries may be made by the appointing power when it is reasonably necessary and in the best interest of the state.

(b) When the employee does not retain a commercial mover, reimbursement shall be allowed as follows for expenses related to the movement by the employee of his/her household effects in a truck or trailer.

(1) Rental of a truck or trailer from a commercial establishment. When not included in the truck rental rate, the cost of gasoline, rental of furniture, dolly, packing cartons and protective pads will be reimbursed. If the total costs exceed \$1,000 the claim must be accompanied by at least one written commercial rate quote. Reimbursement will be made at the rate (including gasoline) which results in the lowest cost; or

(2) Mileage reimbursement at the rates provided in Section or 599.631.1 (b) for noncommercial privately owned motor vehicles used in transporting the employee's household effects.

(3) Reimbursement for more than one trip by the method described in (b)(1) or (2) above may be allowed if the employee's agency has determined that the total cost would be less than the cost of movement by a commercial household goods carrier.

(c) If household goods are moved exclusively in the employee's personal vehicle, reimbursement for mileage may be claimed at the State mileage rate. No other mileage or moving expense shall be allowed.

(d) All claims for the reimbursement of the movement of household goods require receipts. Unless an exception is granted by the appointing authority, claims shall be submitted no later than 2 years and 60 days from the effective date of appointment or 15 days prior to voluntary separation, whichever is first.

599.720.1 Reimbursement for Movement of a Mobile Home

For the movement of a mobile home, which contains the household effects of an officer or employee, and has served as the employee's residence at the previous location at the time of notification of relocation, reimbursement will be allowed as follows:

(a) Where transportation of the trailer coach is by a commercial mobile home transporter and receipts are submitted:

(1) For tolls, taxes, charges, fees, or permits fixed by the State or local authority required for the transportation or assembly or trailer coaches actually incurred by the employee.

(2) Charges for disassembly and assembly of the trailer, including but not limited to, disassembly and assembly of trailer, skirt, awnings, porch, the trailer coach itself, and other miscellaneous documented, itemized expenses related to the dissolution of the old household and/or the establishment of the new household, up to \$2,500 unless an exception is approved by the appointing power.

(3) Reimbursement will be allowed for the actual cost supported by voucher and installation of wheels and axles necessary to comply with the requirements of Chapter 5, Article 1 of the California Vehicle Code.

(4) Three competitive bids shall be obtained and reimbursement will be approved at the lowest bid. Based on information documenting the attempt to obtain three bids as provided by the employee, the appointing power may waive the three-bid requirement.

(5) Reimbursement received under this section precludes any additional reimbursement for miscellaneous expenses under Section 599.715.1.

(6) Movement of the trailer coach at rates exceeding the minimum rates established by the California Public Utilities Commission for mobile home transporters:

(7) Charges at P. U. C. minimum rates to obtain permits identified above:

(8) Storage-in-transit for up to 60 calendar days at P. U. C. minimum rates, unless an extension is approved by the appointing authority.

(b) Where transportation of the coach is by an employee, expenses may be claimed for a one-way trip by submitting gasoline receipts.

(c) Reimbursement will not be allowed for :

(1) Purchase of parts and materials except for those items necessary to comply with the minimum requirements of the California Administrative Code, Title 25, Chapter 5.

(2) Repairs including tires and tubes, and breakdown in transit.

(3) Costs associated with maintenance or repair of the trailer coach.

(4) Costs for separate shipment of household goods carrier unless that is determined to be the most economical method of transport.

(5) Costs associated with the movement or handling of permanent structures.

(d) All claims related to the movement of a trailer coach and the household goods therein require receipts and shall be submitted no later than 2 years and 60 days from the effective date of appointment, or 15 days prior to the voluntary separation, whichever is first. No extension will be granted.

599.722.1 Relocation Subsistence Reimbursement and Mileage

(a) If eligible under Section 599.714(a), an officer or employee shall be reimbursed for actual lodging, supported by a receipt, and meal and incidental expenses in accordance with and not to exceed the rate established in Section 599.619(a)(1) and (2), while locating a permanent residence at the new location. Employees who do not furnish receipts for lodging may be reimbursed for noncommercial meals and noncommercial lodging in accordance with 599.619(b). A permanent residence is typically an abode that is purchased, or rented on a monthly basis, of a type that provides long-term living accommodations, where any utilities are hooked up (gas, electric, cable, phone), and mail is delivered.

(1) Reimbursement may be claimed for up to 60 days, except an extension of up to 30 days may be granted when the Appointing power has determined in advance that the delay of change of residence is a result of unusual and unavoidable circumstances that are beyond the control of the officer or employee. The maximum reimbursement to be received by said officer, or employee shall not exceed the equivalent dollar amount of 60 days of full meals, incidentals, and receipted lodging.

(2) Interruptions in relocation caused by sick leave, vacation or other authorized leaves of absence shall be reimbursable at the option of the employee providing the employee remains at the new location and is actively seeking a permanent residence.

(3) The relocation subsistence reimbursement shall terminate immediately upon establishment of a permanent residence. The appointing power shall determine when a permanent residence has been established.

(4) Partial days shall count as full days for the purpose of computing the 60-day period.

(b) Upon approval of the Appointing Power, meals and/or lodging expenses, for up to fourteen days, arising from trips to the new location for the sole purpose of locating housing shall be reimbursed in accordance with Section 599.619(a)(1) and (2), or 599.619(c)(1) or 599.619(d). Claims for reimbursement of meals/lodging expenses in this item are limited to those incurred after receipt of formal written authorization for relocation and prior to the effective date of appointment.

The period claimed should be included in the computation of the 60-day relocation period.

(c) Reimbursement for travel from the old residence to the new headquarters may be claimed one way one time and shall not exceed the mileage rate allowed in 599.631(a).

Note: Authority cited: Section 3539.5, Government Code. Reference: Section 19841, Government Code.

599.724.1 Payment of Claims for Moving and Relocation Expenses

(a) The Department of Personnel Administration shall be responsible for prescribing any specific procedures necessary for effective and economical operation of this article. Claims shall be made on authorized forms, scheduled in the normal manner and submitted through regular channels to the State Controller for payment. All claims must be substantiated by invoices, receipts, or other evidence for each item claimed.

(b) Agencies may contract directly with the carrier for movement of household effects of officers and employees at state expense, subject to the same restrictions as if the shipment was arranged by the officer or employee and reimbursed by the State.

(c) If the change in residence results in the salary of the officer or employee being paid by a different appointing power, all allowable moving and relocation expenses shall be paid by the new appointing power except where the old appointing power agrees to pay all or part of the expenses allowable under this Article.

(d) Each department shall be responsible for insuring that upon notice to the employee of an impending move a copy of these rules shall be given to the officer or employee.

(e) When exceptions have been granted by an appointing authority, the written justification of those exceptions shall be maintained with the applicable claims.

599.619 Reimbursement for Meals and Lodging

The employee on travel status shall be reimbursed actual expenses for receipted lodging, and for meals and incidentals as provided in this section, unless directed to travel under the provision of 599.624.1. Lodging and/or meals provided by the State or included in hotel expenses or conference fees, or in transportation costs such as airline tickets, or otherwise provided shall not be claimed for reimbursement. Snacks and continental breakfasts, such as rolls, juice and coffee, are not considered to be meals. The circumstances of travel will determine the rate allowed.

(a) Short-term Travel. Reimbursement for short-term subsistence will be authorized only when the traveler incurs expenses arising from the use of reasonable, moderately priced commercial lodging and meal establishments, such as hotels, motels, bed and breakfast inns, campgrounds, restaurants, cafes, diners, etc., that cater to the general public. Employees who stay with friends or relatives may claim meals only in accordance with the rates and time frames set forth below. Lodging receipts are required. The short-term rate is intended for trips of such duration that weekly or monthly rates are not obtainable and will be discontinued after the 30th consecutive day assigned to one location unless an extension has been previously documented and approved by the appointing power. In extending short-term travel, the appointing power shall consider the expected remaining length of travel assignment.

(1) In computing reimbursement for continuous short-term travel of more than 24 hours and less than 31 consecutive days, the employee will be reimbursed for actual costs up to the maximum allowed for each meal, incidental, and lodging expense for each complete 24 hours of travel, beginning with the traveler's time of departure and return, as follows:

(A) On the first day of travel on a trip of 24 hours or more:

Trip begins at or before 6am:	breakfast may be claimed on the first day
Trip begins at or before 11am:	lunch may be claimed on the first day
Trip begins at or before 5pm:	dinner may be claimed on the first day
(B) On the fractional day of travel at the end of the	trip of more than 24 hours:
Trip ends at 8 am:	breakfast may be claimed
Trip ends at or after 2pm:	lunch may be claimed

Trip ends at or after 7pm: dinner may be claimed

If the fractional day includes an overnight stay, receipted lodging may be claimed. No meal or lodging expense may be claimed or reimbursed more than once on any given date or during any 24-hour period.

(C) Reimbursement shall be for actual expenses, subject to the following maximum rates:

Meals:

Breakfast	\$ 6.00
Lunch	\$10.00
Dinner	\$18.00
Incidentals	\$ 6.00

Receipts for meals must be maintained by the employee as substantiation that the amount claimed was not in excess of the amount of actual expense. The term incidentals includes but is not limited to expenses for laundry, cleaning and pressing of clothing, and fees and tips for services, such as for porters and baggage carriers. It does not include taxicab fares, lodging taxes or the costs of telegrams or telephone calls.

Lodging

Statewide, with receipts. Actual up to \$84.00 plus tax

When employees are required to do business and obtain lodging in the Counties of Los Angeles and San Diego and an actual lodging up to \$110.00 plus tax.

When employees are required to do business and obtain lodging in the Counties of Alameda, San Francisco, San Mateo and Santa Clara, actual lodging up to \$140.00 plus tax.

If lodging receipts are not submitted, reimbursement will be for actual expenses for meals/incidentals only at the rates and time frames set forth in this section.

(2) In computing reimbursement for continuous travel of less than 24 hours, actual expenses, up to the maximums in (C) above, will be reimbursed for breakfast and/or dinner and/or lodging in accordance with the following time frames:

Travel begins at or before 6 a.m. and ends at or after 9 a.m.: Breakfast may be claimed

Travel begins at or before 4 p.m. and ends at or after 7 p.m.: Dinner may be claimed

If the trip of less than 24 hours includes an overnight stay, receipted lodging may be claimed.

No lunch or incidentals may be reimbursed on travel of less than 24 hours.

(b) Long-term Travel. Reimbursement for long-term meals and receipted lodging will be authorized when the traveler incurs expenses in one location comparable to those arising from the use of commercial establishments catering to the long-term visitor. Meals and/or lodging provided by the State shall not be claimed for reimbursement. With approval of the appointing power and upon meeting the criteria in (3) below, an employee on long-term field assignment who is living at the long-term location may claim either:

(1) \$24.00 for meals and incidentals and up to \$24.00 for receipted lodging for travel of 12 hours up to 24 hours; either \$24.00 for meals or up to \$24.00 for receipted lodging for travel less than 12 hours, or

(2) Reimbursement for actual individual expense, substantiated by receipts for lodging, utility, gas, and electricity, up to a maximum of \$1,130.00 per calendar month while on a long term assignment, and \$10.00 for incidentals, without receipts, for each period of 12 to 24 hours; \$5.00 for meals and incidentals for periods of less than 12 hours at the long term location.

(3) To claim expenses under either (1) or (2) above, the employee must meet the following criteria:

(A) The employee continues to maintain a permanent residence at the primary headquarters and

(B) The permanent residence is occupied by the employee's dependents, or

(C) The permanent residence is maintained at a net expense to the employee exceeding \$200 per month.

(D) The employee must submit substantiating evidence of these conditions to the appointing power in accordance with its requirements.

(4) Employees who do not meet the criteria to claim (1) or (2) above may claim \$12.00 for meals and incidentals and \$12.00 for receipted lodging for every 12 to 24 hours at the long term location; \$12.00 for meals or \$12.00 receipted lodging for periods of less than 12 hours at the long term location.

(5) With the approval of the appointing power, the reimbursement of long term lodging may continue when the employee is away from the long term location on short term business travel or other absences from the location as approved by the appointing authority.

(c) Out-of-State Travel. Out-of-State travel is any kind of travel outside the State of California for the purpose of conducting business outside the State of California. For short-term out-of-state travel, employees will be reimbursed for actual lodging expenses, supported by receipt, and will be reimbursed for meal and incidental expenses as defined in section <u>599.619(a)</u>. Failure to furnish lodging receipts will limit reimbursement to meals only at the rates specified in (a). Long-term out-of-

state travel will be reimbursed according to <u>Section 599.619(c)</u>.

(d) Out-of-Country Travel. For short-term out-of-country travel, employees will be reimbursed for actual lodging expenses, supported by a receipt, and will be reimbursed for actual meal and incidental expenses subject to maximum rates in accordance with the published Government meal and incidental rates for foreign travel for the dates of travel. Failure to furnish lodging receipts will limit reimbursement to meals only in accordance with the published Government meals and incidental rates for foreign travel. Long-term out-of-country travel will be reimbursed according to <u>Section 599.619(a)</u> through (c).

(e) Exceptions to reimburse in excess of the maximum lodging rate cited in (a) of this rule may be granted by the Appointing Power only in an emergency, or when there is no lodging available at the State maximum rate or when it is cost effective. The Appointing Power shall document the reasons for each exception and shall keep this documentation on file for three calendar years from the date of the exception.

NOTE: Authority cited; sections 3539.5, 19815.4(d), 19816 and 19820, Government Code. Reference:

Sections 3527(b) and 11030, Government Code.

599.631 TRANSPORTATION BY PRIVATELY OWNED AUTOMOBILE

(a) Where the employee is authorized to use a privately owned automobile on official state business the reimbursement rate shall be up to 50 cents per mile. Claims for reimbursement for private vehicle expenses must include the vehicle license number and the name of each state officer, employee, or board, commission, or authority, member transported on the trip. No reimbursement of transportation expense shall be allowed any passenger in any vehicle operated by another state officer, employee, or member.

(1) Expenses arriving from travel between home and headquarters or garage shall not be allowed, except as provided in 599.626(d)(2) or 599.626.1(c), regardless of the employee's normal mode of transportation.

(2) When a trip is commenced or terminated at a claimant's home on a regularly scheduled work day, the distance traveled shall be computed from either his or her residence or headquarters, whichever shall result in the lesser distance except as provided in 599.626.1(c).

(3) However, if the employee commences or terminates travel on a regularly scheduled day off, mileage may be computed from his or her residence.

(b) Where the employee's use of a privately owned automobile is authorized for travel to or from a common carrier terminal, and the automobile is not parked at the terminal during the period of travel, the employee may claim double the number of miles between the terminal and the employee's headquarters of residence, whichever is less, at a rate defined in section 599.631(a), while the employee occupies the automobile for the distance between the terminal and his or her residence or headquarters. If the employee commences or terminates travel one hour before or after his/her regularly scheduled work day, or on a regularly scheduled day off, mileage may be computed from his/her residence.

(c) All ferry, bridge, or toll charges while on state business will be allowed with any required receipts.

(d) All necessary parking charges while on state business will be allowed, with any required receipts, for:

(1) Day parking on trips away from the headquarters office and employee's primary residence.

(2) Overnight parking on trips away from the headquarters and employee's primary residence, except that parking shall not be claimed if expense-free overnight parking is available.

(3) Day parking adjacent to either headquarters office, a temporary job site, or training site, but only if the employee had other reimbursable private or state automobile expenses for the same day. An employee may not prorate weekly or monthly parking fees.

(e) Gasoline, maintenance, and automobile repair expenses will not be allowed.

(f) The mileage reimbursement rates include the cost of maintaining liability insurance at the minimum amount prescribed by a law and collection insurance sufficient to cover the reasonable value of the automobile, less a deductible. When a privately owned automobile operated by a state officer, agent, or employee is damaged by collision or is otherwise accidentally damaged, reimbursement for repair or the deductible to a maximum of \$500.00 will be allowed if:

(1) The damage occurred while the automobile was used on official business by permission or authorization of the employing agency; and

(2) The automobile was damaged through no fault of the state officer, agent, or employee; and

(3) The amount claimed is an actual loss to the state officer, agent, or employee, and is not recoverable directly from or through the insurance coverage of any party involved in the accident; and

(4) The loss claimed does not result from a decision of a state officer, agent, or employee not to maintain collision coverage; and

(5) The claim is processed in accordance with the procedures prescribed by the Department of Personnel Administration.

(g) Specialized Vehicles. An employee with a physical disability who must operate a motor vehicle on official state business and who can operate only specially equipped or modified vehicles may claim a rate of 34 cents per mile without certification and up to 37 cents per mile with certification. Where travel is authorized to and from a common carrier terminal, as specified in section 599.631(b) the employee may compute the mileage as defined in Section 599.631(b). Supervisors approving these claims must determine the employee's need for the use of such vehicles.

AUTHORIZED RELOCATION EXPENSES

<u>Per Diem</u> - Employees may claim up to 60 days while at the new location until a new permanent residence is found. Specific per diem allowance for excluded employee are attached. Extensions of the per diem may be granted by the Department of Personnel Administration if the employee suffers unusual hardship. Requests for extensions must be submitted to the Relocation Liaison, on a Std. 256 prior to the expiration of the 60 day period. The Relocation Liaison will review the Std. 256 for completeness then forward to the Department of Personnel Administration.

<u>Shipment of Household Goods</u> - The State will pay for the packing, transportation, insurance, storage-intransit, unpacking and installation of employee's household effects. The employer will issue the relocating employee a "Moving Service Authorization" which the employee will give to any licensed mover. The Moving Service Authorization authorizes the mover to bill the State directly. There is no actual dollar limitation, (the State only pays minimum tariff rates), however there is an 11,000 pound weight limit. If the mover estimates the weight of the household goods to be more than 11,000 pounds, the employee should immediately submit a Std. 256 with the mover's estimate to the Relocation Liaison. The Department of Personnel Administration may approve excess weight provided the employee requests the exception in advance of the actual move.

The State will <u>not</u> pay for the shipment of the following prohibited items:

Automobiles other motor vehicles farm tractor, implements and equipment trailers with or without other property boats all animals, livestock, or pets belongings which are not the property of the immediate family of the officer or employee belongings related to commercial enterprises engaged in by the officer or employee firewood, fuels bricks, sand ceramic wall tile wire fence or other building materials wastepaper and rags.

<u>Storage in Transit</u> - The State will pay for the storage of household goods for up to 60 days. Storage is limited to 11,000 pounds of household goods unless the excess weight has been previously approved by DPA. The storage company should bill the State directly using the authorization of the Moving Service Authorization. Miscellaneous items taken out of storage prior to the moving company delivering all household goods is not reimbursable and must be paid by the employee.

<u>Sale of Residence</u> - The State will pay for certain costs associated with the sale of the employee's dwelling which was his/her residence at the time of notification of the transfer.

Reimbursable costs are:

Brokerage Commission, Escrow fees, Title insurance, Prepayment penalties, Local taxes, charges or fees required to consummate the sale. Miscellaneous sellers costs up to \$200.00.

Nonreimbursable Costs are:

Seller's Points, Property tax, Repair work and re-inspection fees.

Excluded employees have two years from the reporting date at the new headquarters to submit a claim for

reimbursement of seller's costs. There is no extension of the time limit for Non-represented employees.

<u>Settlement of a Lease</u> - The State will pay for the settlement of a lease which was entered into prior to notification of the transfer. Claims for payment of the lease settlement must be submitted within 9 months from the reporting date at the new headquarters.

<u>Movement of a Trailer Coach</u> - The State will pay for the actual cost of transporting the mobile home to the new location plus up to \$2,500 for disassembly and assembly of the trailer. Request for reimbursement in excess of \$2,500 must be submitted to DPA on a Std. 256 prior to the move; approval will only be given for the lowest of three bids. Household goods must be shipped in the mobile home unless DPA approves a separate shipment.

<u>Miscellaneous</u> - There is a \$200.00 miscellaneous allowance with documentation and certification, which is intended to assist the employee in establishing the new household. This allowance should be used to pay utility installation fees, appliance hook-up fees and the like. It is appropriate to use this allowance for cable hook-up. This allowance may not be used to satisfy deposit requirements. The allowance may not be claimed if moving a mobile home; hook-up, etc., are included in the mobile home set-up charge.

<u>Mileage</u> - The employee may be reimbursed 50 cents per mile for one vehicle to make one-way trip between the old residence and the new residence effective January 1, 2010. Anything over locating cents is considered taxable income.

Private car mileage for the purpose of locating housing at the new location is not reimbursable.

EXPENSES INCURRED PRIOR TO THE OFFICIAL TRANSFER CANNOT BE CLAIMED.

Exhibit D

SAN JUAN UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT

Audit Report

NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY PROGRAM

Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983; Chapter 1023, Statutes of 1994; Chapter 19, Statutes of 1995; and Chapter 69, Statutes of 2007

July 1, 2006, through June 30, 2010



JOHN CHIANG California State Controller

November 2011



JOHN CHIANG California State Controller

November 30, 2011

Lucinda Luttgen, President Board of Education San Juan Unified School District 3738 Walnut Avenue Carmichael, CA 95608-0477

Dear Ms. Luttgen:

The State Controller's Office audited the costs claimed by the San Juan Unified School District for the legislatively mandated Notification of Truancy Program (Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983; Chapter 1023, Statutes of 1994; Chapter 19, Statutes of 1995; and Chapter 69, Statutes of 2007) for the period of July 1, 2006, through June 30, 2010.

The district claimed \$1,192,046 for the mandated program. Our audit disclosed that \$1,086,513 is allowable and \$105,533 is unallowable. The costs are unallowable because the district claimed non-reimbursable initial truancy notifications. The State paid the district \$180,790. The State will pay allowable costs claimed that exceed the amount paid, totaling \$905,723, contingent upon available appropriations.

If you disagree with the audit finding, you may file an Incorrect Reduction Claim (IRC) with the Commission on State Mandates (CSM). The IRC must be filed within three years following the date that we notify you of a claim reduction. You may obtain IRC information at the CSM's Web site at www.csm.ca.gov/docs/IRCForm.pdf.

If you have any questions, please contact Jim L. Spano, Chief, Mandated Cost Audits Bureau, at (916) 323-5849.

Sincerely,

Original signed by

JEFFREY V. BROWNFIELD Chief, Division of Audits

JVB/vb

Lucinda Luttgen, President

November 30, 2011

cc: Glynn Thompson, Interim Superintendent San Juan Unified School District Kent Stephens, Chief Financial Officer San Juan Unified School District Fil Duldulao, Director of Accounting Services San Juan Unified School District David W. Gordon, Superintendent of Schools Sacramento County Office of Education Scott Hannan, Director School Fiscal Services Division California Department of Education Carol Bingham, Director **Fiscal Policy Division** California Department of Education Thomas Todd, Principal Program Budget Analyst Education Systems Unit Department of Finance Jay Lal, Manager Division of Accounting and Reporting State Controller's Office

Contents

Audit Report

Summary	1
Background	1
Objective, Scope, and Methodology	2
Conclusion	2
Views of Responsible Official	3
Restricted Use	3
Schedule 1—Summary of Program Costs	4
Finding and Recommendation	5
Attachment—District's Response to Draft Audit Report	

Summary

Background

Audit Report

The State Controller's Office (SCO) audited the costs claimed by the San Juan Unified School District for the legislatively mandated Notification of Truancy Program (Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983; Chapter 1023, Statutes of 1994; Chapter 19, Statutes of 1995; and Chapter 69, Statutes of 2007) for the period of July 1, 2006, through June 30, 2010.

The district claimed \$1,192,046 for the mandated program. Our audit disclosed that \$1,086,513 is allowable and \$105,533 is unallowable. The costs are unallowable because the district claimed non-reimbursable initial truancy notifications. The State paid the district \$180,790. The State will pay allowable costs claimed that exceed the amount paid, totaling \$905,723, contingent upon available appropriations.

Education Code section 48260.5 (added by Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983) originally required school districts, upon a pupil's initial classification as a truant, to notify the pupil's parent or guardian by firstclass mail or other reasonable means that: (1) the pupil is truant; (2) parents or guardians are obligated to compel the pupil's attendance at school; (3) parents or guardians who fail to meet this obligation may be guilty of an infraction and subject to prosecution; (4) alternative educational programs are available in the district; and (5) they have the right to meet with appropriate school personnel to discuss solutions to the pupil's truancy.

Chapter 1023, Statutes of 1994, amended Education Code section 48260.5 to additionally require school districts to notify the pupil's parent or guardian that (1) the pupil may be subject to prosecution; (2) the pupil may be subject to suspension, restriction, or delay of the pupil's driving privilege; and (3) it is recommended that the parent or guardian accompany the pupil to school and attend classes with the pupil for one day.

Chapter 1023, Statutes of 1994, and Chapter 19, Statutes of 1995, amended Education Code section 48260 and renumbered it to section 48260, subdivision (a), stating that a pupil is truant when he or she is absent from school without valid excuse three full days in one school year or is tardy or absent for more than any 30-minute period during the school day without a valid excuse on three occasions in one school year, or any combination thereof.

On November 29, 1984, the State Board of Control (now the CSM) determined that Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983, imposed a state mandate upon school districts reimbursable under Government Code section 17561.

The parameters and guidelines establish the state mandate and define reimbursement criteria. The CSM adopted parameters and guidelines on August 27, 1987, and amended them on July 22, 1993, and January 31, 2008. In compliance with Government Code section 17558, the SCO issues claiming instructions to assist local agencies and schools districts in claiming mandated program reimbursable costs.

Objective, Scope, and Methodology We conducted the audit to determine whether costs claimed represent increased costs resulting from the Notification of Truancy Program for the period of July 1, 2006, through June 30, 2010.

Our audit scope included, but was not limited to, determining whether costs claimed were supported by appropriate source documents, were not funded by another source, and were not unreasonable and/or excessive.

We conducted this performance audit under the authority of Government Code sections 12410, 17558.5, and 17561. We did not audit the district's financial statements. We conducted the audit in accordance with generally accepted government auditing standards. Those standards require that we plan and perform the audit to obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to provide a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our audit objectives. We believe that the evidence obtained provides a reasonable basis for our findings and conclusions based on our audit objectives.

We limited our review of the district's internal controls to gaining an understanding of the transaction flow and claim preparation process as necessary to develop appropriate auditing procedures.

We asked the district's representative to submit a written representation letter regarding the district's accounting procedures, financial records, and mandated cost claiming procedures as recommended by generally accepted government auditing standards. However, the district declined our request.

Our audit disclosed an instance of noncompliance with the requirements outlined above. This instance is described in the accompanying Summary of Program Costs (Schedule 1) and in the Finding and Recommendation section of this report.

For the audit period, the San Juan Unified School District claimed \$1,192,046 for costs of the Notification of Truancy Program. Our audit disclosed that \$1,086,513 is allowable and \$105,533 is unallowable. The State paid the district \$180,790. The State will pay allowable costs claimed that exceed the amount paid, totaling \$905,723, contingent upon available appropriations.

Conclusion

Views of Responsible Official	We issued a draft audit report on October 25, 2011. Kent Steph Chief Financial Officer, responded by letter dated November 2, 2 (Attachment), disagreeing with the audit results. This final audit re- includes the district's response.			
Restricted Use	This report is solely for the information and use of the San Juan Unified School District, the Sacramento County Office of Education, the California Department of Education, the California Department of Finance, and the SCO; it is not intended to be and should not be used by anyone other than these specified parties. This restriction is not intended to limit distribution of this report, which is a matter of public record.			
	Original signed by			
	JEFFREY V. BROWNFIELD Chief, Division of Audits			
	November 30, 2011			

Schedule 1— Summary of Program Costs July 1, 2006, through June 30, 2010

Cost Elements	Actual Costs Claimed	Allowable per Audit	Audit Adjustment ¹
July 1, 2006, through June 30, 2007			
Number of initial truancy notifications Uniform cost allowance	18,020 × \$16.15	15,927 × \$16.15	(2,093) × \$16.15
Total program costs ² Less amount paid by the State	<u>\$ 291,023</u>	257,221 (54,550)	\$ (33,802)
Allowable costs claimed in excess of (less than) amount paid		\$202,671	
July 1, 2007, through June 30, 2008			
Number of initial truancy notifications Uniform cost allowance	17,534 × \$17.28	16,177 × \$17.28	(1,357) × \$17.28
Total program costs ² Less amount paid by the State	<u>\$ 302,988</u>	279,539 (9)	<u>\$ (23,449)</u>
Allowable costs claimed in excess of (less than) amount paid		\$ 279,530	
July 1, 2008, through June 30, 2009			
Number of initial truancy notifications Uniform cost allowance	16,382 × \$17.74	14,851 × \$17.74	(1,531) × \$17.74
Total program costs ² Less amount paid by the State	<u>\$ 290,617</u>	263,457 (65,849)	<u>\$ (27,160)</u>
Allowable costs claimed in excess of (less than) amount paid		<u>\$ 197,608</u>	
July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2010			
Number of initial truancy notifications Uniform cost allowance	17,203 × \$17.87	16,021 × \$17.87	(1,182) × \$17.87
Total program costs ² Less amount paid by the State	<u>\$ 307,418</u>	286,296 (60,382)	\$ (21,122)
Allowable costs claimed in excess of (less than) amount paid		\$ 225,914	
Summary: July 1, 2006, through June 30, 2010			
Total program costs Less amount paid by the State Allowable costs claimed in excess of (less than) amount paid	<u>\$ 1,192,046</u>	\$ 1,086,513 (180,790) \$ 905,723	<u>\$ (105,533)</u>

¹ See the Finding and Recommendation section.

² Calculation differences due to rounding.

Finding and Recommendation

FINDING— Non-reimbursable initial truancy notifications The district claimed non-reimbursable initial truancy notifications totaling \$105,533. The district claimed initial truancy notifications that it distributed for students whose attendance records did not identify the required number of unexcused absences or tardiness occurrences to be classified as truant under the mandated program.

For each fiscal year, we selected a statistical sample of initial truancy notifications based on a 95% confidence level, a precision rate of +/-8%, and an expected error rate of 50%. We chose our statistical sample from the population of initial truancy notifications that the district claimed. We used statistical samples so that we could project each sample's results to the applicable population. The district used either daily attendance accounting or period attendance accounting, depending on the student's grade level. Therefore, we stratified each fiscal year's population into two groups.

The district's attendance records show that some of its initial truancy notifications claimed are non-reimbursable for the following reasons:

- Students accumulated fewer than three unexcused absences or tardiness occurrences while between ages 6 and 18.
- Students accumulated fewer than three total unexcused absences or tardiness occurrences during the school year.

The following table summarizes the non-reimbursable initial truancy notifications identified in our statistical samples:

	Fiscal Year			
	2006-07	2007-08	2008-09	2009-10
Number of unexcused absences and tardiness occurrences accumulated during the school year:				
Daily attendance accounting:				
Fewer than three while between				
ages 6 and 18	(20)	(16)	(22)	(1)
Fewer than three total	(6)	(3)	(2)	(2)_
Unallowable initial truancy notifications, daily attendance accounting	(26)	(19)	(24)	(3)
Period attendance accounting: Fewer than three while between				
ages 6 and 18	(9)	(5)	(4)	(9)
Fewer than three total			(1)	(5)
Unallowable initial truancy notifications,				
period attendance accounting	(9)	(5)	(5)	(14)

The following table summarizes the audit adjustment based on the number of unallowable initial truancy notifications identified for each group sampled:

8 1	Fiscal Year				
	2006-07	2007-08	2008-09	2009-10	Total
Daily attendance accounting: Number of unallowable initial truancy notifications from statistical sample	(26)	(19)	(24)	(3)	
Statistical sample size	÷ 148	<u>+ 147</u>	÷ 147	÷ 146	
Unallowable percentage Population sampled	(17.57)% × 8,680	(12.93)% × 8,001	(16.33)% × 7,545	(2.05)% × 6,006	
Extrapolated number of unallowable initial truancy notifications Uniform cost allowance Unallowable costs, daily attendance accounting ¹	(1,525) × \$16.15 \$ (24,629)	(1,035) × \$17.28 \$ (17,885)	(1,232) × \$17.74 \$ (21,856)		\$ (66,568)
Period attendance accounting: Number of unallowable initial truancy notifications from statistical sample Statistical sample size Unallowable percentage Population sampled Extrapolated number of unallowable initial truancy	(9) \div 148 (6.08)% \times 9,340	(5) \div 148 (3.38)% \times 9,533	(5) ÷ 148 (3.38)% × 8,837	(14) ÷ 148 (9.46)% × 11,197	
notifications Uniform cost allowance	(568) × \$16.15	(322) × \$17.28	(299) × \$17.74	(1,059) × \$17.87	
Unallowable costs, period attendance accounting ¹	<u>\$ (9,173)</u>	<u>\$ (5,564)</u>	<u>\$ (5,304)</u>	\$ (18,924)	(38,965)
Audit adjustment	<u>\$ (33,802)</u>	\$ (23,449)	\$ (27,160)	<u>\$ (21,122)</u>	<u>\$ (105,533)</u>

¹ Calculation difference due to rounding.

Education Code section 48260, subdivision (a), as amended in 1994 states:

Any pupil subject to compulsory full-time education or to compulsory continuation education [emphasis added] who is absent from school without valid excuse three full days in one school year or tardy or absent for more than any 30-minute period during the schoolday [sic] without a valid excuse on three occasions in one school year, or any combination thereof, is a truant...

Education Code section 48200 states that children between the ages of 6 and 18 are subject to compulsory full-time education. Therefore, student absences that occur before the student's 6^{th} birthday or after the student's 18^{th} birthday are not relevant when determining whether a student is a truant.

The program's parameters and guidelines state:

A truancy occurs when a student is absent from school without valid excuse three (3) full days in one school year, or is tardy or absent without valid excuse for more than any thirty (30)-minute period during the school day on three (3) occasions in one school year, or any combination thereof.

Recommendation

We recommend that the district claim initial truancy notifications only for those students who meet the truancy definition provided in the parameters and guidelines.

District's Response

Audit by sampling

... Annual sample sizes of 146 to 148 notifications were selected each for elementary and secondary schools, for a total of 1,180 notifications for the four years. Based on the claimed number of notifications for the four years (69,139), it appears the sample size is approximately 1.7%. The results from this review of less than two-percent of the total number of notices were extrapolated to the sample universe and the claims were adjusted based on the extrapolation.

The draft audit report has cited no statutory or regulatory authority to allow the Controller to reduce claimed reimbursement based on an extrapolation of a statistical sample. The Controller does not assert that the claimed costs were excessive or unreasonable, which is the only mandated cost audit standard in Government Code Section 17561, subdivision (d) (2). It would, therefore, appear that the entire findings are based upon the wrong standard for review.

Aside from the legal basis for sampling, there are potential factual problems with the sample students selected. The ultimate risk for extrapolating findings from a sample is that the conclusions obtained from the sample may not be representative of the universe. That is, the errors perceived from the sample do not occur at the same rate in the universe. That is what may have occurred in this audit...

Number of absences required

Of the 1,180 notifications sampled, 19 were deemed unallowable because the students had only three *documented* absences during the school year. The District believes it properly complied with state law and issued truancy notifications after three absences but has been unable to locate the requested supporting documentation, and therefore will concede this adjustment based on insufficient documentation.

Age of student

Of the 1,180 notifications sampled, 86 were deemed unallowable because the student was not between the ages of 6 and 18 years and therefore outside the scope of the compulsory attendance law (Education Code Section 48200). However, the District has distinct statutory duties to enroll some children who are five years old by December 2 of the year of enrollment as well as continue to enroll special education students through age 21. To the extent that these particular circumstances occur for any of the sampled students, the disallowance is without legal authority and the sampled student is statistically not representative of the universe....

SCO's Comment

Our finding and recommendation is unchanged. The district did not provide additional documentation to refute the audit findings. We have the following comments on the district's response:

Audit by Sampling

The district concludes that the SCO based its audit finding on the "wrong standard for review" and that the SCO may reduce only those claims that it determines to be excessive or unreasonable. We disagree. Government Code section 17558.5 requires the district to file a reimbursement claim for *actual* mandate-related costs. Government Code section 17561, subdivision (d)(2), allows the SCO to audit the district's records to verify *actual* mandate-related costs. In addition, Government Code section 12410 states, "The Controller shall audit all claims against the state, and may audit the disbursement of any state money, for correctness, legality, and for sufficient provisions of law for payment."

The SCO did, in fact, conclude that the district's claim was excessive. "Excessive" is defined as "exceeding what is usual, *proper*, *necessary* [emphasis added], or normal."¹ The district's mandated cost claims exceeded the proper amount based on the reimbursable costs that the parameters and guidelines identify.

The SCO conducted its audit according to generally accepted government auditing standards (*Government Auditing Standards*, issued by the U.S. Government Accountability Office, July 2007). *Government Auditing Standards*, section 1.03 states, "The professional standards and guidance contained in this document... provide a framework for conducting high quality government audits and attestation engagements with competence, integrity, objectivity, and independence." Generally accepted government auditing standards require the auditor to obtain sufficient, appropriate evidence to provide a reasonable basis for the findings and conclusions. The standards recognize statistical sampling as an acceptable method to provide sufficient, appropriate evidence.

The district alleges that this audit *may have potential* factual problems with the sample and conclusions that *may not* be representative of the universe. The district provided no specific, factual documentation to support its allegations.

Number of Absences Required

The district states, "...19 [notifications] were deemed unallowable because the students had only three *documented* absences during the school year...." Although the district conceded this portion of the audit adjustment, the district's comment is factually inaccurate. From the statistical samples, we identified 19 unallowable notifications because the district documented *fewer than* three unexcused absences or tardiness occurrences during the school year.

¹ Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary, Tenth Edition, 2001.

Age of Student

	The district does not distinguish between its statutory responsibility to enroll students versus its responsibility to issue initial truancy notification letters. Although the district might be obligated to enroll students younger than age 6 or older than age 17, those students are not subject to compulsory attendance requirements. Therefore, for initial truancy notification purposes, it is irrelevant whether students are absent when they are younger than age 6 or older than age 17.
OTHER ISSUES	The district's response included other comments related to the mandated cost claims. The district's comments and SCO's responses are presented below.
Statute of limitations	District's Response
	The District asserts that the audit of the FY 2006-07 annual reimbursement claim commenced after the time limitation for audit had passed
	The annual reimbursement claim for FY 2006-07 is subject to this version of Section 17558.5 [Statutes of 2004, Chapter 890, Section 18] because the claim was filed on February 14, 2008. The entrance conference was conducted on February 15, 2011, which is more than three years after the date the annual claim was filed as well as more than three years after the date of first payment (\$54,550) on this annual claim which occurred on March 12, 2007.
	SCO's Comment
	Our finding and recommendation is unchanged. The district infers that the audit did not commence until the entrance conference date of February 15, 2011. We disagree.
	The SCO initiated the audit on January 24, 2011, by telephone call to Michael Dencavage, the district's former Chief Financial Officer. On the same date, we requested supporting documentation from the district and the district responded that it was retrieving the requested documentation. Therefore, the SCO initiated the audit within three years of the date that the district filed its claim.
Management	District's Response
representation letter	The District will not be providing the requested written management representation letter
	SCO's Comment
	Our finding and recommendation is unchanged. We modified our audit report to disclose that the district declined to provide the written representation letter that is recommended by generally accepted government auditing standards.

Public records request

District's Response

The District requests that the Controller provide the District any and all written instructions, memorandums, or other writings in effect and applicable during the claiming period relevant to the findings, and specifically, the Controller's legal authority to use statistical sampling to adjust claims and to disallow notices sent to students whose attendance is otherwise required by law....

SCO's Comment

The SCO responded to the district's request by separate letter dated November 7, 2011.

The district's request is misleading. The district infers that all unallowable initial truancy notifications were notifications "sent to students whose attendance is otherwise required by law."

Of the 105 unallowable notifications identified in our statistical sample results, only 19 notifications are applicable to students whose absences occurred during periods when their attendance was required by law. The district sent the remaining notifications for students who accumulated absences during periods that the students' attendance was not mandatory pursuant to Education Code section 48200.

Attachment— District's Response to Draft Audit Report



San Juan Unified School District

Budget Services 3738 Wahnut Ave., Carmichael, CA 95608 P. O. Box 477, Carmichael, CA 95609-0477 Telephone (916) 971-7678 $\not\subset$ Fax (916) 971-7255 Internet Web Site: www.sanjuan.edu

Glynn Thompson, Interim Superintendent of Schools

CERTIFIED MAIL - RETURN RECEIPT REQUESTED

November 2, 2011

Jim L. Spano, Chief Mandated Cost Audits Bureau Division of Audits State Controller's Office P.O. Box 942850 Sacramento, CA 94250-5874

Re: Chapter 498, Statutes of 1983 Notification of Truancy Fiscal Years: 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, and 2009-10 San Juan Unified School District

Dear Mr. Spano:

This letter is the response of the San Juan Unified School District to the letter from Jeffrey V. Brownfield, Chief, Division of Audits, dated October 25, 2011, that transmitted the draft audit report of the District's Notification of Truancy mandate annual reimbursement claims for the period of July 1, 2006 through June 30, 2010.

The findings involve legal issues that are the subject of several incorrect reduction claims, including two filed by this District, still pending hearing by the Commission on State Mandates, and cannot be resolved for this audit without the findings from the Commission. Therefore, the District will be filing an incorrect reduction from this audit to preserve its rights.

Finding - Non-reimbursable initial truancy notifications

The District claimed \$1,192,046 for the four fiscal years that are the subject of this audit. The draft audit report concludes that \$105,533 is not allowable for the audit period.

Audit by sampling

The draft audit report states that this finding is based on a statistical sample of truancy notifications actually examined for the four fiscal years. Annual sample sizes of 146 to

148 notifications were selected each for elementary and secondary schools, for a total of 1,180 notifications for the four years. Based on the claimed number of notifications for the four years (69,139), it appears the sample size is approximately 1.7%. The results from this review of less than two-percent of the total number of notices were extrapolated to the sample universe and the claims were adjusted based on the extrapolation.

The draft audit report has cited no statutory or regulatory authority to allow the Controller to reduce claimed reimbursement based on an extrapolation of a statistical sample. The Controller does not assert that the claimed costs were excessive or unreasonable, which is the only mandated cost audit standard in Government Code Section 17561, subdivision (d) (2). It would, therefore, appear that the entire findings are based upon the wrong standard for review.

Aside from the legal basis for sampling, there are potential factual problems with the sample students selected. The ultimate risk for extrapolating findings from a sample is that the conclusions obtained from the sample may not be representative of the universe. That is, the errors perceived from the sample do not occur at the same rate in the universe. That is what may have occurred in this audit.

This issue is the subject of appeals pending decision by the Commission on State Mandates.

Number of absences required

Of the 1,180 notifications sampled, 19 were deemed unallowable because the students had only three *documented* absences during the school year. The District believes it properly complied with state law and issued truancy notifications after three absences but has been unable to locate the requested supporting documentation, and therefore will concede this adjustment based on insufficient documentation.

Age of student

Of the 1,180 notifications sampled, 86 were deemed unallowable because the student was not between the ages of 6 and 18 years and therefore outside the scope of the compulsory attendance law (Education Code Section 48200). However, the District has distinct statutory duties to enroll some children who are five years old by December 2 of the year of enrollment as well as continue to enroll special education students through age 21. To the extent that these particular circumstances occur for any of the sampled students, the disallowance is without legal authority and the sampled student is statistically not representative of the universe.

This issue is the subject of appeals pending decision by the Commission on State Mandates.

Statute of Limitations

This is not an audit finding. The District asserts that the audit of the FY 2006-07 annual reimbursement claim commenced after the time limitation for audit had passed. Statutes of 2004, Chapter 890, Section 18, operative January 1, 2005 amended Section 17558.5, subdivision (a), to state:

A reimbursement claim for actual costs filed by a local agency or school district pursuant to this chapter is subject to the initiation of an audit by the Controller no later than three years after the date that the actual reimbursement claim is filed or last amended, whichever is later. However, if no funds are appropriated or no payment is made to a claimant for the program for the fiscal year for which the claim is filed, the time for the Controller to initiate an audit shall commence to run from the date of initial payment of the claim. In any case, an audit shall be completed not later than two years after the date that the audit is commenced.

The annual reimbursement claim for FY 2006-07 is subject to this version of Section 17558.5 because the claim was filed on February 14, 2008. The entrance conference was conducted on February 15, 2011, which is more than three years after the date the annual claim was filed as well as more than three years after the date of first payment (\$54,550) on this annual claim which occurred on March 12, 2007.

Management Representation Letter

The District will not be providing the requested written management representation letter since it could be construed as a waiver of future appeal rights. The District did respond verbally to questions from the auditor related to internal control procedures, to the apparent satisfaction of the auditor since there are no audit findings stated for those issues.

Public Records Request

The District requests that the Controller provide the District any and all written instructions, memorandums, or other writings in effect and applicable during the claiming period relevant to the findings, and specifically, the Controller's legal authority to use statistical sampling to adjust claims and to disallow notices sent to students whose attendance is otherwise required by law.

Government Code section 6253, subdivision (c), requires the state agency that is the subject of the request, within ten days from receipt of a request for a copy of records, to determine whether the request, in whole or in part, seeks copies of disclosable public records in your possession and promptly notify the requesting party of that determination and the reasons therefore. Also, as required, when so notifying the District please state the estimated date and time when the records will be made available.

Sincerely,

Kent Stephens, Chief Financial Officer San Juan Unified School District

State Controller's Office Division of Audits Post Office Box 942850 Sacramento, CA 94250-5874

http://www.sco.ca.gov

S11-MCC-014

Exhibit E



A Publication of the New York State Society of CPAs

Sear

distanti di Perspectives CONTENTS In Focus Accounting & Auditing Taxation Finance Management Responsibilities & Leadership Technology Advertising SES! Classifieds Media Kit 332 Contact Info Masthead Contact lite Editors INTERACT Reader Servic Subscribe Mission Submitten

Statistical Sampling Revisited

By Neal B. Hitzig

Backgroun

Auditing standards are undergoing revision in the wake of recent, massive audit failures. Legislative

and regulatory bodies are focusing

substantive audit testing procedure.

more critically on auditors than ever before. Yet,

contemplated revisions to auditing standards leave untouched ambiguities and unresolved issues that have

reduced the effectiveness of the authoritative literature for decades. One of the longest-standing issues concerns

the role and appropriateness of statistical sampling as a

Throughout the 1960s and '70s, the largest accounting

firms devoted extensive resources to the development

and implementation of statistical sampling procedures.

The firms wrote new policies and guidance, developed

time-sharing and batch computer programs, and trained

specialized staff. Monetary unit sampling was developed

and became a widespread audit tool. The AICPA issued

published Statistical Auditing, by Donald M. Roberts.

Statement on Auditing Procedure (SAP) 54 and

≥K E-mail Story

😂 Print Story



May 2004 Issue

Regulation of Profession:

Interstate Compact

20 Questions onTrust, Medicaid, Insurance, and Transfers

Accounting for Stock Op

Government Procuremen Basics

More This Issue | Past Iss

Then, in 1980, the Auditing Standards Board (ASB) issued SAS 39, *Audit Sampling* (AU 350). Members of the Statistical Sampling Subcommittee that wrote SAS 39, which included this author, expected that the imposition of risk, materiality, and selection requirements would further establish statistical sampling as a principal audit testing procedure. In fact, the opposite has occurred, largely because the ASB gave nonstatistical sampling equal evidentiary weight.

Substantive Tests

Substantive tests are intended to detect and estimate misstatement in accounts and classes of transactions. The authoritative literature recognizes two types of substantive tests: tests of details, and analytical procedures. Except in those cases where complete enumeration of an accounting population is feasible (as in certain computer-assisted auditing techniques), the audit sample is a principal approach to performing the test of details.

Many auditors apply sampling to test controls, despite concerns that such applications may not reveal the information that an auditor seeks. For example, the initialing of documents does not mean that the documents are correct (if that is what initialing purports to signify); it means only that the documents were initialed. Similarly, the fact than an invoice is correctly priced does not mean that a price-checking control functioned properly, because the invoice may have been properly priced in the first place. These examples demonstrate why testing preventive controls with tests of details may not inform the auditor that the subject controls are functioning as intended.

On the other hand, evidence of monetary misstatement in a transaction or account is clear-cut evidence of the absence or malfunction of a control. This is why many auditors view tests of details as being most useful when performed as substantive tests.

Nonstatistical Sampling

AU 350 does not provide a definition of nonstatistical sampling. It states only that "[t]here are two approaches to audit sampling: nonstatistical and statistical" (AU 350.03). The AICPA's Audit Guide, *Audit Sampling*, provides the following definition:

> Any sampling procedure that does not measure the risk is a nonstatistical sampling procedure. Even though the auditor rigorously selects a random sample, the sampling procedure is a nonstatistical sampling application if the auditor does not make a statistical evaluation of the sample results. (AAG-SAM 2.18)

This statement establishes that an auditor may label a sampling technique "nonstatistical" without regard to the manner of sample selection. Thus, even though the Audit Guide acknowledges the well-known ability of statistical sampling to measure sampling risk, it nevertheless sanctions an auditor's decision to ignore available statistical theory and rely instead on judgment or intuition in interpreting the results of a sampling procedure. In short, the guide gives guesswork equal status with measurability. Such a view is potentially hazardous, because the auditor is permitted to ignore facts that are readily discernable to any practitioner, or legal adversary, who is knowledgeable in the application of statistical methodology.

Why would an auditor prefer nonstatistical sampling, knowing of the availability of objective statistical procedures? Various reasons, restated in the 2001 edition of the Audit Guide, have been cited as the impediments: the cost of training, the cost of sample selection, the cost of sample evaluation. With the passage of time, these reasons have become progressively weaker. Mandatory continuing professional education is now a reality, so there should be little reason for auditors not to advance their skills in sampling techniques. As to the implementation costs associated with the selection and evaluation of random samples, the ready availability of computers and off-the-shelf software has greatly mitigated, if not eliminated, these factors as relevant considerations.

In short, a nonstatistical sample is selected by the exercise of judgment, and not by chance. Haphazard, judgmental, and purposive sampling are some of the terms that describe a nonstatistical sample.

Statistical Sampling

AU 350 and the Audit Guide approach statistical sampling in a roundabout way. The Audit Guide states:

Statistical sampling helps the auditor (1) design an efficient sample, (2) measure the sufficiency of the evidential matter obtained, and (3) quantitatively evaluate the sample results.

Statistical sampling uses the laws of probability to measure sampling risk. (AAG-SAM 2.17)

Although the foregoing statements are correct, they do not define statistical sampling per se.

Statistical sampling is probability sampling. In probability sampling, every item in the population under audit has a known chance of selection. The decision as to which items in the population are to be selected is left to the laws of chance, not to judgment. The most common probability sampling methods in auditing are equal probability (such as simple random and systematic sampling) and sampling with probability proportional to size (such as monetary unit sampling).

The prominent feature of statistical sampling is its ability to measure risk. The measurement instrument is the confidence interval, which gives a calculated range of values for the estimated amount of misstatement in a population. The measurability of statistical sampling distinguishes it from so-called judgment sampling, where the decision as to the items selected for examination is left to the judgment of the auditor. Statistical sampling is a measurement tool. When applied in a substantive test of details, it measures misstatement in an account or class of transactions. Its ability to measure arises from the selection method used, which is probability sampling. Lawyers, judges, and statisticians have explicitly recognized these features of statistical sampling. The Special Committee on Empirical Data in Decision Making, Recommendation on Pretrial Proceeding in Cases with Voluminous Data, made the following statement (see Appendix F, in Fienberg, S.E., ed., The Evolving Role of Statistical Assessments as Evidence in the Courts, 1989):

> [W]hen a survey is based on probability sampling, the probabilities or risks of sampling misstatements of various sizes can be calculated. This requires the application of *appropriate* statistical formulas. Assessments of sampling misstatement are very often expressed in terms of a standard misstatement. This is a *universally* accepted measure of the margin of error in a survey result that is attributable to sampling.

This illuminating report should serve to alert auditors to the growing use of statistically based evidence in litigation and, by implication, to the risks they face should they ignore the information contained in samples.

The implication is clear: Ignore the formulas applicable to the results of a probability sample and rely instead on intuition at your own risk. Some auditors believe that they must calculate a sample size beforehand for an audit sample to be statistical. This is incorrect. Any probability sample can be subjected to evaluation by application of the laws of probability, however arbitrary the choice of sample size. Failure to calculate beforehand usually results in samples that are either too large or too small for the auditor's objectives. They are, nevertheless, statistical.

Statistical and nonstatistical sampling methods are defined in terms of the method by which a sample is selected, not in terms of a decision by the auditor not to apply statistical methods, even to a random sample.

When Is Statistical Sampling Appropriate?

Statistical sampling is appropriate whenever an auditor wishes to draw a conclusion about a population without performing an examination of all the items composing that population. Moreover, statistical sampling is appropriate when the auditor has no prior knowledge as to which specific items in a population are misstated.

An important concern that affects the sampling decision is the practicability of selecting a probability sample. If files are computerized and 100% verification cannot be performed by computer-assisted audit techniques, then probability sampling is most likely to be the practical approach. If files are not computerized and the population is large (as a rough rule of thumb, a large population has more than 500 items), then probability sampling may still be practicable. If a population of manual records is maintained in numerical order, a computer application may be used to select random numbers that identify the items to be selected, even items at multiple locations. The items are then located by hand. If the population is not maintained in numerical order, then systematic selection (select every kth item after a random start) may be performed. Systematic selection is one of the easiest procedures to apply, although proper application requires counting through the population. Although many caution that systematic selection is subject to bias because a key characteristic of the population under examination may coincide with the selection interval, in more than 30 years of practice, the author has never observed this to be even a remote practical concern.

Statistical sampling is appropriate for both routine and nonroutine accounting processes. In a test of purchase transactions, for example, the auditor may employ statistical sampling to test for misstatement in account distribution. An auditor may also apply statistical sampling to a population of securities positions for a large broker-dealer with thousands of positions, to test valuation and existence assertions.

Sampling Risk

AU 350 states "[s]ampling risk arises from the possibility that, when a test ... is restricted to a sample, the auditor's conclusions may be different from the conclusions he would reach if the test were applied in the same way to all items in the [population]." (AU 350.10) AU 350 also identified two aspects of sampling risk:

> The risk of incorrect acceptance is the risk that the sample supports the conclusion that the recorded account balance is not materially misstated when it is materially misstated.

The risk of incorrect rejection is the risk that the sample supports the conclusion that the recorded balance is materially misstated when it is not materially misstated. (AU 350.12)

In practice, it is convenient to think of the foregoing in terms of detection risk and estimation risk, respectively.

Detection risk is the chance that a sample will fail to detect misstatement that actually exceeds the auditor's specified maximum tolerable amount. "Detection" refers to the decision rule that an auditor applies to decide whether a misstatement is tolerable under the circumstances. A commonly employed rule is the comparison of the calculated upper confidence limit of misstatement with the specified maximum tolerable amount. In SAS 39 terms, the upper confidence limit is the projected misstatement plus the allowance for sampling risk. If the calculated limit is greater than the maximum tolerable amount, the auditor decides that misstatement may exceed the tolerable amount. Otherwise, the auditor decides that misstatement, if it exists, is tolerable. If a properly designed sample discloses no misstatements, the auditor may then decide that misstatement in the population under audit does not exceed the maximum tolerable amount.

Detection risk is principally a planning concept. The auditor specifies it beforehand and uses it as one of the factors that determines the appropriate extent of testing reflected in the sample size.

If misstatements are detected, on the other hand, the estimation risk becomes the key risk under consideration. Estimation risk is the chance that the actual amount of misstatement will not be within the calculated confidence interval. SAS 39 is dismissive of this risk, which it labels the risk of incorrect rejection, as being merely an efficiency issue. AU 350.12 states:

> [I]f the auditor's evaluation leads him to the initial erroneous conclusion that a balance is materially misstated when it is not, the application of additional audit procedures and consideration of other audit evidence would ordinarily lead the auditor to the correct conclusion.

This is misleading. An auditor does not know that his conclusion is incorrect; only that the evidence suggests that the population may be materially misstated. Frequently, this is sufficient for action, and no further audit evidence is needed, even if it were practicable to extend testing or to apply alternate procedures. More seriously, AU 350.12 invites the auditor to disregard the results of an unfavorable sample outcome and subordinate it to other, contradictory evidence whose reliability may be less than that of the sample.

Moreover, if the results of an audit sample are sufficiently precise, they may provide the basis for the proposal of an adjusting journal entry by the auditor. In such a case, the appropriate risk consideration is that the adjustment is materially correct. The calculated confidence interval provides the basis for that assessment. Estimation risk is the complement of the confidence level.

Statistical Sampling and Audit Decisions

The auditor uses a sample to decide whether misstatement exists and whether it may exceed the tolerable misstatement. This is the essence of the detection objective of a substantive test of details. While is it possible to design a sample to control for both the detection and estimation risk, audit samples often are designed only with the detection objective in mind. Nonetheless, if a properly selected random sample has disclosed misstatement, that sample can always be used to obtain a confidence interval on the amount of misstatement, regardless of the planning decisions and the consequent sample size.

For convenience, interval estimates may be classified into six basic categories, each of which is informative in its own way as to the extent of misstatement in the population. The possibilities are discussed below in terms of tolerable misstatement (TM), which is \$600,000 in the examples, the lower confidence limit (LCL) on the estimated misstatement, and the upper confidence limit (UCL) on the estimated misstatement. The projected misstatement (that is, point estimate) is not needed, as the following examples will show. More importantly, the projected misstatement could be misleading. A projection (or point estimate) is merely one outcome in a sample space. Its principal function is to be locator for the confidence interval. It provides no information as to its margin of error. For example, 10 missstatements of \$100 each will yield the same point estimate as one \$1,000 misstatement, but the latter's margin of error is greater.

Example 1. If neither confidence limit exceeds the tolerable misstatement and \$0 is included within the confidence interval, then the auditor would decide that misstatement, if present, is no greater than tolerable misstatement. This case suggests that the amount of misstatement might also be trivial. (See the Exhibit, Figure 1.)

This is the most favorable outcome. This outcome can arise even if misstatements are detected. For example, many misstatements of very small magnitude might yield such a confidence interval. The auditor would conclude that net misstatement, if it exists, does not exceed \$200,000 of understatement or \$400,000 of overstatement. Because neither amount exceeds \$600,000, the auditor may conclude that misstatement is tolerable. Because \$0 is within the confidence interval, it is possible that net misstatement may be \$0.

Except for situations where the sample discloses no misstatement, this case does not apply when the auditor is performing tests of overstatement, such as for the existence or the lower of cost or market.

Example 2. If neither confidence limit exceeds the

tolerable misstatement and \$0 is outside the confidence interval, then the auditor would decide that the population is misstated, but the amount of misstatement is no greater than the tolerable misstatement. (See the <u>Exhibit</u>, Figure 2.)

This is similar to Example 1, except that the sample evidence indicates some misstatement. That is, the auditor may be confident that the population is overstated by at least \$150,000, but not by more than \$400,000.

Example 3. This case is the same as above, except that one of the confidence limits exceeds the tolerable misstatement. The auditor would conclude that the population is misstated and that the total misstatement may be greater than the tolerable misstatement, but it also may be less. The auditor cannot accept the population as being fairly stated on the sample evidence provided. (See the Exhibit, Figure 3.)

This situation arises when the disclosed misstatements exceed the auditor's expectation. This can occur in a sample even though the actual population misstatement is as expected. In fact, if the actual population misstatement is equal to the amount expected by the auditor and used to determine sample size, then there is roughly a 50% chance that the sample's projected misstatement will be greater than the expected misstatement. In the context of AU 350's approach to interpretation of results, this outcome would imply that the risk of intolerable misstatement is greater than the level specified by the auditor as the risk of incorrect acceptance.

This is a common outcome of audit samples. It is the outcome to be expected if the difference between the actual (but unknown) misstatement and tolerable misstatement is less than the precision of the sample estimate.

Extending the audit sample in such a circumstance often only confirms the initial finding, albeit more precisely, because the range of the confidence interval decreases as the sample size increases. In this case, an adjusting journal entry might be proposed. Whether a possible adjustment would be passed over is a question that would await the completion of the audit.

Example 4. In this case, just one of the confidence limits

exceeds the tolerable misstatement, but the lower limit is negative and the upper limit is positive. The results indicate that the population may be overstated by as much as \$800,000 (greater than the tolerable misstatement) or it may be understated by as much as \$300,000 (less than the tolerable misstatement). The net misstatement could also be \$0. Nevertheless, because one of the limits exceeds tolerable misstatement, the auditor may not conclude that the population is fairly stated. (See the Exhibit, Figure 4.)

This outcome can be the result of either the projected misstatement exceeding expectation or the variability of the misstatements in the sample being larger than planned. This situation is common to inventory valuation tests, such as price tests, where large, offsetting misstatements are disclosed. The result strongly suggests significant weakness in controls.

Example 5. In this case, the confidence limits are positive and negative and both exceed the tolerable misstatement. The interval ranges from \$800,000 of understatement to \$800,000 of overstatement. The misstatement may exceed the tolerable amount or it may be trivial. In this case, the sample results are too imprecise for an audit decision at the specified confidence level. (See the <u>Exhibit</u>, Figure 5.)

As in Example 4, of which Example 5 is a more extreme example, this result is not uncommon to tests of inventory valuation, where misstatements are more numerous than anticipated and vary greatly as to magnitude and can be both under- and overstated. While the results are not sufficiently precise for an audit adjustment (in fact, no adjustment may be needed), results such as these demonstrate that accounting controls, if they exist, are ineffective. In addition, the result questions whether sufficient evidence has been obtained.

Example 6. If both confidence limits are positive (or both negative) and both exceed the tolerable misstatement, then the auditor would decide that misstatement indeed exceeds the tolerable amount. In this case, where the overstatement may range from \$800,000 to \$1,600,000, an adjusting journal entry would be likely. (See the Exhibit, Figure 6.)

Statistical Sampling and Audit Actions

The auditor has three courses of action when a misstatement is discovered:

- Waive the misstatement
- Do more work
- Propose an adjusting journal entry.

The question of whether the sample evidence is sufficient for an audit conclusion about the population depends upon the size of the confidence interval and the amount of tolerable misstatement. If the length of the interval (from LCL to UCL) is less than twice the tolerable misstatement, then there is some materially correct value within the interval. The auditor's objective is not to estimate the amount of misstatement with pinpoint precision. If an adjustment is to be made, the auditor should be able to propose an amount that will reduce any remaining misstatement to an amount that is no greater than the tolerable misstatement.

Given the risk level specified by the auditor when evaluating the sample, an adjusting journal entry (AJE) can be proposed that reduces the misstatement in the population to an amount that is no greater than the tolerable misstatement. Suppose that a 90% confidence interval yields a lower limit of \$800,000 and an upper limit of \$1,600,000, and that the tolerable misstatement is \$600,000. The range of the interval (\$800,000) is less than two times the tolerable misstatement. Exhibit Figure 7 shows that a materially correct AJE can be booked within a range of values from \$1 million to \$1,400,000. In other words, any value within the confidence interval would be a tolerably correct AJE if both confidence limits are within the tolerable misstatement of the proposed adjustment. The risk would be no greater than the specified estimation risk.

Examination of Figure 7 should make it evident why two-sided interval estimation is important in cases where adjusting journal entries are being considered. Auditing literature has, in recent years, focused exclusively on the upper confidence limit of misstatement (that is, the confidence limit further from zero). Such a focus does not provide adequate basis for proposing sufficiently correct adjustments. By looking at only the upper limit, the auditor could inadvertently propose too large an adjustment, turning a case that was intolerably overstated into one that is intolerably understated. Only by reference to the lower confidence limit can the auditor avoid such an outcome. The Audit Guide is not clear regarding the foregoing, providing only a one-sentence approach to audit adjustments (AAG-SAM 7.36).

Does Statistical Sampling Undermine Auditor Judgment?

Many auditors continue to resist applying statistical sampling. In addition to objections to the cost of training, the cost of sample selection, and the cost of sample evaluation, some auditors have expressed concern that statistical sampling impedes auditor judgment. This assertion is no truer than the assertion that laboratory biopsy is an impediment to a physician's exercise of judgment. Auditor judgment is essential in several key respects: in deciding tolerable misstatement, in choosing the method for selecting the sample, in analyzing and assessing the population's characteristics (such as the expected misstatement and variability of misstatement amounts), in deciding the appropriate risk level, and in deciding the method of estimation. If the auditor suspects that some population categories are more likely to contain misstatement, a sampling plan to accommodate such judgments can be devised.

Judgment is not applied in the random selection process, which is left to the operation of the laws of chance, and in the construction of the confidence interval after the sample results are available.

The ASB and the Public Company Accounting Oversight Board should provide explicit recognition of the superiority of statistical sampling in situations where the auditor has no specific knowledge as to the location and amounts of individual misstatements in an accounting population. The recently published Audit Guide, which "includes increased coverage of nonstatistical audit sampling," is a step in the wrong direction. It is time for the profession to acknowledge that audit sampling is a decision tool that calls for the application of objective, defensible techniques, not guesswork.

Neal B. Hitzig, PhD, CPA, is professor of accounting and information systems at Queens College (CUNY). He is a member of the Auditing Standards and Procedures Committee of the NYSSCPA and a retired partner of Ernst & Young.

Home | Contact | Subscribe | Advertise | Archives | NYSSCPA

The CPA Journal is broadly recognized as an outstanding, technical-refereed publication aimed at public practitioners, manageter other accounting professionals. It is edited by CPAs for CPAs. Our goal is to provide CPAs and other accounting professional and news to enable them to be successful accountants, managers, and executives in today's practice environments.

©2006 The CPA Journal. Legal Notices

Exhibit F

State Controller's Office

School Mandated Cost Manual

	CLAIM FOR PAYMENT Pursuant to Government Code Section 17561 NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY			(19) Program Number 0004 (20) Date Filed / (21) LRS Input / /	8
L	(01) Claimant Identification Num \$34085	iber		Reimbursement Cla	aim Data
A B	(02) Claimant Name SAN JUAN UNIFIE	D SD		(22) NOT-1, (03)	18,020
E L	County of Location SACRAMENTO			(23)	
H E	Street Address or P.O. Box 3738 WALINUT AVE		Suite	(24)	
R E	City CARMICHAEL	State CA	Zip Code 95609-0477	(25)	
	Type of Claim	Estimated Claim	Reimbursement Claim	(26)	
		(03) Estimated X	(09) Reimbursement X	(27)	
		(04) Combined	(10) Combined	(28)	
		(05) Amended	(11) Amended	(29)	
	Fiscal Year of Cost	(06) 2007 2008	(12) 2006 2007	(30)	
	Total Claimed Amount	(07) \$ 291,023	(13) \$ 291,023	(31)	
	Less: 10% Late Penalt	ty, not to exceed \$10,000	(14)	(32)	
	Less: Prior Claim Payment ReceivedNet Claimed AmountDue from State(08) \$ 291,023		(15)	(33)	
			(16) \$ 291,023	(34)	
			(17) \$ 291,023	(35)	
	Due to State		(18)	(36)	

(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM

In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Section 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the school district to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not violated any of the provisions of Government Code Sections 1090 to 1098, inclusive.

I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant or payment received, for reimbursement of costs claimed herein; and such costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting savings and reimbursements set forth in the Parameters and Guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source documentation currently maintained by the claimant.

The amounts for this Estimated Claim and/or Reimbursement Claim are hereby claimed from the State for payment of estimated and/or actual costs set forth on the attached statements. I certify under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct.

Signature of Authorized Officer RA.

MICHAEL G. DENCAVAGE

Date

2 - 14 - 2008

CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER

Type or Print Name	Tille		
(38) Name of Contact Person for Claim	Telephone Number	(916)669-0888	Ext.
School Innovations & Advocacy	E-mail Address	scohelp@sia-us.com	

Form FAM-27 (Revised 9/03)

tate Controller's Office	School Manda	ted Cost Manual		
(01) Claimant:	(02) Type of Claim:	Fiscal Year:		
\$34085	Reimbursement X	2006 / 2007		
SAN JUAN UNIFIED SD	Estimated			
Claim Statistics				
(03) Number of truant notifications		18,020		
Cost				
(04) Unit Cost per an initial truancy notificati	ion [\$16.15 for the 2006/07 fiscal year]	16.15		
(05) Total Costs:	[Line (03) x line(04)]	291,023		
Cost Reduction				
(06) Less: Offsetting Savings, if applicat	ple			
(07) Less: Other Reimbursements, if ap	plicable			
(08) Total Claimed Amount:	{Line(05) - [Line(06) + line(07)]}	291,023		
Revised 09/06				

ŧ

ate Controller's Office				Cost Manual
	ED COSTS			FORM
	ON OF TRUAN	CY		NOT-1A
CLAIM	SUMMARY			
01) Clamant:		(02) Type of Claim:	– Fis	cal Year:
334085	1		X 200)6 / 2007
SAN JUAN UNIFIED SD		Estimated		
Claim Statistics				
03) For each school in the district, enter the n	umber of Notificatio	ons		
(a)				(b)
Name of School				Notifications
DISTRICT OFFICE	• • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •			18,02
		-		
	····			
				18,0

,

State Controller's Office

۴.,

School	Mandated	Cost M	anual

	CLAIM FOR PAYMENT		Forstale Controller Used		
	Pursuant to Government Code Section 17561			(19) Program Number 000	
	NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY			(20) Date Filed /	/_ 10/2483
				(21) LRS input / /	
L	(01) Claimant Identification Nun S34085	1ber		Reimbursement Cl	aim Data
A B	(02) Claimant Name SAN JUAN UNIFIL			(22) NOT-1, (03)	17,534
EL	County of Location SACRAMENTO			(23)	
H E	Street Address or P.O. Box 3738 WALNUT AVE		Suite	(24)	
RE	City CARMICHAEL	State CA	Zip Code 95609-0477	(25)	
i	Type of Claim	Estimated Claim	Reimbursement Clai	m ⁽²⁶⁾	
		(03) Estimated	(09) Reimbursement	(27)	
		(04) Combined	(10) Combined	(28)	
		(05) Amended	(11) Amended	(29)	
	Fiscal Year of Cost	(06) /	(12) 2007 / 2001	3 (30)	
	Total Claimed Amount	(07)	(13) \$ 302,988	(31)	
	Less: 10% Late Penalt	y, not to exceed \$10,000	(14)	(32)	
	Less: Prior Claim Pay	/ment Received	(15)	(33)	
	Net Claimed Amount		(16) \$ 302,988	(34)	ļ
	Due from State	(08)	(17) \$ 302,988	(35)	
	Due to State		(18)	(36)	
	(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM In accordance with the provisions of Government Code Section 17561, I certify that I am the officer authorized by the school district to file mandated cost claims with the State of California for this program, and certify under penalty of perjury that I have not violated any of the provisions of Government Code Sections 1090 to 1098, inclusive.				
	I further certify that there was no application other than from the claimant, nor any grant or payment received, for reimbursement of costs claimed herein; and such costs are for a new program or increased level of services of an existing program. All offsetting savings and reimbursements set forth in the Parameters and Guidelines are identified, and all costs claimed are supported by source documentation currently maintained by the claimant.				
		nated Claim and/or Reimburser ne attached statements. I certify act.			
	Signature of Authorized O		Date		
	MITIX				

Millee & Dencavage		2-11-2009	
MICHAEL G. DENCAVAGE	ASSOC	IATE SUPERINTENDENT/CBO	
Type or Print Name	Title		
(38) Name of Conlact Person for Claim	Telephone Number	(916)669-0888	Ext.
School Innovations & Advocacy	E-mail Address	scohelp@sia-us.com	

Form FAM-27 (Revised 9/03)

.

N48 CL		
(01) Claimant: 534085 SAN JUAN UNIFIED SD	(02) Type of Claim: Reimbursement X Estimated	Fiscal Year:
Claim Statistics		
(03) Number of truant notifications		17,534
Cost		
(04) Unit Cost per an initial truancy notification	[\$17.28 for the 2007/08 fiscal year]	17.28
(05) Total Costs:	[Line (03) x line(04)]	302,988
Cost Reduction		·
(06) Less: Offsetting Savings, if applicable		
(07) Less: Other Reimbursements, if application	able	
(08) Total Claimed Amount:	{Line(05) - [Line(06) + Ilne(07)]}	302,988

\$. . .

MANDA	ATED COSTS	FORM
	TION OF TRUANCY	NOT-1A
	I SUMMARY	
(01) Clamant:		cal Year:
S34085 SAN JUAN UNIFIED SD	Reimbursement X 20 Estimated	07 / 2008
Claim Statistics		
(03) For each school in the district, enter the	number of Notifications	
(a)		(d)
Name of School		Notification
DISTRICT OFFICE	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	17,
		17,

State Controller's Office

. ,

÷

Sabool Mandated Cast Manual

				School Manu	ateu Cost Manual
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT Pursuant to Government Code Section 17561			(19) Program Number 00048		
NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY		(20) Date File (21) LRS Inp	ed//. ut //.	- 048	
(01) Claimant Identification Number \$34085				Reimbursement Claim Data	
(02) Claimant Name SAN JUAN UNIFIED SD			(22) FORM-1, (0	3)	16,382
County of Location		······································	(23) FORM-1, (0	4)	17.74
SACRAMENTO Street Address or P.O. Box	- 	Sulte	(24) FORM-1, (0	IG)	0
3738 WALNUT AVE.	Slate	Zip Code	(25) FORM-1, (0		0
CARMICHAEL	CA	95608-0477	(26)		
	(03)	Type of Claim (09) Reimbursement			
		(10) Combined	(28)		
	(05) 101 102 103 103 103 103 103 103 103 103 103 103	(11) Amended	[
Fiscal Year of Cost		(12) 2008 , 200			<u></u>
Total Claimed Amount		(13) \$ 290,617	(31)		
Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to a	Itached instructions)	(14)	(32)		
Less: Prior Claim Payment Re		(15)	(33)		<u></u>
Net Claimed Amount		(16) \$ 290,617	(34)		
Due from State	(08)	(17) \$ 290,617	(35)		······································
Due to State		(18)	(36)		
(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM In accordance with the provisions of 0 county office of education to file many that I have not violated any of the pro- l further certify that there was no app of costs claimed herein; claimed cost amounts do not include charter school forth in the parameters and guideline by the claimant.	dated cost claims with wislons of Article 4, C lication other than from a are for a new progra ol costs, either directly	I the State of California for hapter 1 of Division 4 of Ti In the claimant, nor any gra am or increased level of se or through a third party. A	this program, and c le 1 of the Governm Int(s) or payment(s) rvices of an existing Il offsetting savings	ertify under per nent Code.) received, for re program; and and reimburse	alty of perjury simbursement claimed ments set
The amount for this reimbursement Is	•				d statements.
l certify under penalty of perjury unde	er the laws of the State	e of California that the fore	going is true and co	rrect.	
Signature of Authorized Officer	20		Date Signed	2-10	2-2010
Michael	Denea	1 age	- Telephone Number	(916) 971-723	8
		E-Mail Address	mdencavage	9sanjuan.edu	
Type or Print Name and Tille of Authorized	l Signatory				
(38) Name of Contact Person for Claim			Telephone Number	(916) 971-723	8
MICHAEL DENCAVAGE / ASSOCI	ATE SUPERINTEND	ENT/CBO	E-mail Address	mdencavage	Øsanjuan.edu
Name of Consulling Firm / Claim Prepare	er		Telephone Number	(916)	669-0888
School Innovations &	Advocacy		E-mail Address	scohelp	@sia-us.com
Form FAM-27 (Revised 09/09)			· · · ·	

.

.

MANDATED COSTS 04.8 NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY CLAIM SUMMARY		FORM 1
(01) Claimant:	(02)	Fiscal Year:
S34085 SAN JUAN UNIFIED SD		2008 / 2009
	· · · · · ·	
Claim Statistics		16,382
(03) Number of truant notifications		20,302
	notification [\$17.74 for fiscal year 2008-09]	17.7
	notification [\$17.74 for fiscal year 2008-09] [Line (03) x line(04)]	17.7
(04) Unit Cost per an initial truancy		17.7
(04) Unit Cost per an initial truancy		17.7
(04) Unit Cost per an initial truancy (05) Total Costs:		17.7
(05) Total Costs:	[Line (03) x line(04)]	

.

-

State Controller's Office

ſ <u> </u>			Stronger Directory and the strong of the second strong	STATES AND
CLAIM FOR PAYMENT Pursuant to Government Code Section 17561		Eor State Controller Use C	Program	
		(19) Program Number 0004		
NOTIFICATION OF TRUANCY		(20) Date Filed /	/_ 028	
			(21) LRS input / /	
(01) Claimant Identification Number \$34085		Reimbursement Claim Data		
(02) Claimant Name	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·		(22) FORM-1, (03)	17,203
SAN JUAN UNIFIED SD				17,203
County of Location			(23) FORM-1, (04)	17.66
SACRAMENTO				
Street Address or P.O. Box		Suite	(24) FORM-1, (06)	0
3738 WALNUT AVENUE	State	Zip Code		
CARMICHAEL	CA	95608-0477	(25) FORM-1, (07)	0
		Type of Claim	(26)	
	(03)	(09) Reimbursement	(27)	
	(04)	(10) Combined	(28)	
	(05)	(11) Amended	(29)	
Fiscal Year of Cost	(06)	(12) 2009 2010	(30)	
Total Claimed Amount	(07)	(13) \$ 303,805	(31)	
Less: 10% Late Penalty (refer to attached instructions) (14)		(14)	(32)	
Less: Prior Claim Payment F	Received	(15)	(33)	
Net Claimed Amount		(16) \$ 303,805	(34)	
Due from State	(08)	(17) \$ 303,805	(35)	
Due to State		(18)	(36)	
(37) CERTIFICATION OF CLAIM				<u></u>
In accordance with the provisions district to file mandated cost claim violated any of the provisions of Al	s with the State of Call	fornia for this program, and co	ertify under penalty of perjury	thorized by the school / that I have not
I further certify that there was no a costs claimed herein; claimed cost do not include charter school costs parameters and guidelines are ide claimant.	ts are for a new progra s, either directly or thro	m or increased level of servic ugh a third party. All offsettin	es of an existing program; ar g savings and reimbursemer	nd claimed amounts hts set forth in the
The amount for this reimbursemer	t is hereby claimed fro	m the State for payment of a	ctual costs set forth on the at	tached statements.
I certify under penalty of perjury u	nder the laws of the St	ate of California that the foreg	oing is true and correct.	
Signature of Authorized Officer	~			
DA. A AL	λ	Dat	e Signed Z- I	14-2011

car MICHAEL DENCAVAGE / ASSOCIATE SUPERINTENDENT/CBO

Type or Print Name and Title of Authorized Signatory

(38) Name of Contact Person for Claim

MICHAEL DENCAVAGE / ASSOCIATE SUPERINTENDENT/CBO

Name of Consulting Firm / Claim Preparer

School Innovations & Advocacy

(916) 971-7238 Telephone Number mdencavage@sanjuan.edu E-Mail Address (916) 971-7238 Telephone Number mdencavage@sanjuan.edu E-mail Address (916)669-0888 Telephone Number scohelp@sia-us.com E-mail Address

Date Signed

Form FAM-27 (Revised 10/10)

Program 048		
(01) Claimant: S34085 SAN JUAN UNIFIED SD	(02)	Fiscal Year: 2009 / 2010
Claim Statistics		
(03) Number of truant notification	ons	17,203
	uancy notification [\$17.66 for fiscal year 2009-10]	17.6
(05) Total Costs:	[Line (03) x line(04)]	303,80
Cost Reduction		
(06) Less: Offsetting Savir	ngs	
(07) Less: Other Reimburg		
(08) Total Claimed Amount:	{Line(05) - [Line(06) + line(07)]}	303,805

Revised 10/10

MANDATED NOTIFICATION CLAIM SUI	OF TRUANCY	FORM NOT-1A
(01) Clamant: S34085 SAN JUAN UNIFIED SD	(02) Type of Claim: Fis Reimbursement X 200 Estimated 200	cal Year: 09 / <u>2010</u>
Claim Statistics		
(03) For each school in the district, enter the numb	er of Notifications	
(a)		(d)
Name of School		Notifications
DISTRICT OFFICE		17,20
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
Chapter 498/83		17 , 20 New 9/9

DECLARATION OF SERVICE BY EMAIL

I, the undersigned, declare as follows:

I am a resident of the County of Solano and I am over the age of 18 years, and not a party to the within action. My place of employment is 980 Ninth Street, Suite 300, Sacramento, California 95814.

On December 18, 2013, I served the:

Incorrect Reduction Claim Filing; and Notice of Complete Filing and Schedule for Comments Incorrect Reduction Claim *Notification of Truancy*, 13-904133-I-11 Education Code Sections 48260 and 48260.5 Statutes 1983, Chapter 498 Fiscal Years: 2006-2007, 2007-2008, 2008-2009, and 2009-2010 San Juan Unified School District, Claimant

by making it available on the Commission's website and providing notice of how to locate it to the email addresses provided on the attached mailing list.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the State of California that the foregoing is true and correct, and that this declaration was executed on December 18, 2013 at Sacramento, California.

alit

Heidi J. Palchik Commission on State Mandates 980 Ninth Street, Suite 300 Sacramento, CA 95814 (916) 323-3562

COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES

Mailing List

Last Updated: 12/17/13

Claim Number: 13-904133-I-11

Matter: Notification of Truancy

Claimant(s): San Juan Unified School District

TO ALL PARTIES, INTERES TED PARTIES, AND INTERES TED PERSONS:

Each commission mailing list is continuously updated as requests are received to include or remove any party or person on the mailing list. A current mailing list is provided with commission correspondence, and a copy of the current mailing list is available upon request at any time. Except as provided otherwise by commission rule, when a party or interested party files any written material with the commission concerning a claim, it shall simultaneously serve a copy of the written material on the parties and interested parties to the claim identified on the mailing list provided by the commission. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, § 1181.2.)

Socorro Aquino, State Controller's Office Division of Audits, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816 Phone: (916) 322-7522 SAquino@sco.ca.gov

Marieta Delfin, *State Controller's Office* Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816 Phone: (916) 323-0706 mdelfin@sco.ca.gov

Chris Ferguson, Department of Finance Education Systems Unit, 915 L Street, 7th Floor, 915 L Street, 7th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone: (916) 445-3274 Chris.Ferguson@dof.ca.gov

Susan Geanacou, Department of Finance 915 L Street, Suite 1280, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone: (916) 445-3274 susan.geanacou@dof.ca.gov

Ed Hanson, Department of Finance

Education Systems Unit, 915 L Street, 7th Floor, 915 L Street, 7th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone: (916) 445-0328 ed.hanson@dof.ca.gov

Jill Kanemasu, State Controller's Office Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816 Phone: (916) 322-9891 jkanemasu@sco.ca.gov

Jay Lal, *State Controller's Office (B-08)* Division of Accounting & Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816 Phone: (916) 324-0256 JLal@sco.ca.gov

Kathleen Lynch, Department of Finance (A-15) 915 L Street, Suite 1280, 17th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone: (916) 445-3274 kathleen.lynch@dof.ca.gov

Yazmin Meza, Department of Finance 915 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone: (916) 445-0328 Yazmin.meza@dof.ca.gov

Keith Nezaam, Department of Finance 915 L Street, 8th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone: (916) 445-8913 Keith.Nezaam@dof.ca.gov

Andy Nichols, Nichols Consulting 1857 44th Street, Sacramento, CA 95819 Phone: (916) 455-3939 andy@nichols-consulting.com

Christian Osmena, Department of Finance 915 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone: (916) 445-0328 christian.osmena@dof.ca.gov

Keith Petersen, SixTen & Associates Claimant Representative P.O. Box 340430, Sacramento, CA 95834-0430 Phone: (916) 419-7093 kbpsixten@aol.com

Sandra Reynolds, *Reynolds Consulting Group,Inc.* P.O. Box 894059, Temecula, CA 92589 Phone: (951) 303-3034 sandrareynolds_30@msn.com

Nicolas Schweizer, Department of Finance Education Systems Unit, 915 L Street, 7th Floor, 915 L Street, 7th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814 Phone: (916) 445-0328 nicolas.schweizer@dof.ca.gov

David Scribner, *Max8550* 2200 Sunrise Boulevard, Suite 240, Gold River, CA 95670 Phone: (916) 852-8970 dscribner@max8550.com

Jim Spano, Chief, Mandated Cost Audits Bureau, State Controller's Office

Division of Audits, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816 Phone: (916) 323-5849 jspano@sco.ca.gov

Dennis Speciale, *State Controller's Office* Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816 Phone: (916) 324-0254 DSpeciale@sco.ca.gov

Kent Stephens, San Juan Unified School District 3738 Walnut Avenue, Carmichael, CA 95609 Phone: (916) 971-7238 kent.stephens@sanjuan.edu