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ITEM 3 
TEST CLAIM 

PROPOSED DECISION 
Penal Code Sections 13515.26; 13515.27; 13515.28; 13515.29; and 13515.295 
Statutes 2015, Chapter 468 (SB 11); and Statutes 2015, Chapter 469 (SB 29) 

Peace Officer Training:  Mental Health/Crisis Intervention 
17-TC-06 

Cites of Claremont and South Lake Tahoe, Claimants 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 

Overview 
This Test Claim alleges reimbursable state-mandated activities arising from Statutes 2015, 
chapter 468 (SB 11); and Statutes 2015, chapter 469 (SB 29).  These statutes require the 
Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) to establish, and for law 
enforcement Field Training Officers (FTOs) to take, training courses on law enforcement 
interaction with persons with mental illness or intellectual disability. 
Staff recommends that the Commission partially approve this Test Claim as specified below. 

Procedural History 
The claimants filed the Test Claim on May 10, 2018.  Commission staff issued the Notice of 
Complete Test Claim, Schedule for Comments, and, Notice of Tentative Hearing Date on 
September 26, 2018.  The Department of Finance (Finance) filed comments on the Test Claim on 
October 26, 2018.  The claimants did not file rebuttal comments.  Commission staff issued the 
Draft Proposed Decision on February 12, 2019.1  Claimants filed comments on the Draft 
Proposed Decision on March 4, 2019.2   

Commission Responsibilities 
Under article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution, local agencies and school districts 
are entitled to reimbursement for the costs of state-mandated new programs or higher levels of 
service.  In order for local government to be eligible for reimbursement, one or more similarly 
situated local agencies or school districts must file a test claim with the Commission.  “Test 
claim” means the first claim filed with the Commission alleging that a particular statue or 
executive order imposes costs mandated by the state.  Test claims function similarly to class 
actions and all members of the class have the opportunity to participate in the test claim process 
and all are bound by the final decision of the Commission for purposes of that test claim. 

                                                 
1 Exhibit C, Draft Proposed Decision. 
2 Exhibit D, Claimants’ Comments on the Draft Proposed Decision. 
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The Commission is the quasi-judicial body vested with exclusive authority to adjudicate disputes 
over the existence of state-mandated programs within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of 
the California Constitution and not apply it as an “equitable remedy to cure the perceived 
unfairness resulting from political decisions on funding priorities.”3 

Claims 
The following chart provides a brief summary of the claims and issues raised and staff’s 
recommendation. 

Issue Description Staff Recommendation 
Was the Test Claim timely 
filed? 

Government Code section 
17551 states that local agency 
and school district test claims 
must be filed “not later than 12 
months following the effective 
date of a statute or executive 
order, or within 12 months of 
incurring increased costs as a 
result of a statute or executive 
order, whichever is later.”4  
Section 1183.1(c) of the 
Commission’s regulations, in 
turn, defines “12 months” as 
365 days.5 

Timely filed - The test claim 
statutes became effective 
January 1, 2016.  The 
claimants allege they first 
incurred costs mandated by the 
state on May 23, 2017 and  
June 6, 2017, respectively.6  
The Test Claim was filed  
May 10, 2018, within 365 days 
of first incurring costs.  
Therefore, based on the date 
costs were first incurred, the 
Test Claim was timely filed in 
accordance with Government 
Code section 17551 and section 
1183.1(c) of the Commission’s 
regulations. 

Do Penal Code sections 
13515.26 and 13515.27, added 
by Statutes 2015, chapter 468; 
and section 13515.295, added 
by Statutes 2015, chapter 469, 
impose a reimbursable state-
mandated program? 

Penal Code sections 13515.26, 
13515.27, and 13515.295 
require POST to establish 
training courses, and to review 
and update the existing Field 
Training Program, with respect 
to how officers effectively 
address incidents involving 
persons with mental illness or 
intellectual disability. 

Deny - Penal Code sections 
13515.26, 13515.27, and 
13515.295 impose 
requirements on POST, a state 
agency, but do not impose any 
state-mandated activities on 
local government. 

                                                 
3 County of Sonoma v. Commission on State Mandates (2000) 84 Cal.App.4th 1264, 1281, citing 
City of San Jose v. State of California (1996) 45 Cal.App.4th 1802, 1817. 
4 Government Code section 17551(c). 
5 Title 2, California Code of Regulations, section 1183.1(c) (Register 2018, No. 9, eff.  
April 1, 2018.) 
6 Exhibit A, Test Claim, page 14. 
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Issue Description Staff Recommendation 
Does Penal Code section 
13515.29, added by Statutes 
2015, chapter 469, impose a 
reimbursable state-mandated 
program?  

Penal Code section 13515.29 
directs POST to establish and 
keep updated the field training 
officer course, which addresses 
how to interact with persons 
with mental illness or 
intellectual disability.  In 
response to Penal Code section 
13515.29, POST issued a 
bulletin stating that it “utilized 
subject matter experts to 
incorporate the 4 hours of crisis 
intervention behavioral health 
training into the FTO course, 
and that the FTO course will 
remain at 40 hours.7  And 
POST certified several entities, 
including community colleges, 
to present the FTO training.8   
Section 13515.29 also requires 
prospective FTOs to have four 
hours of training within the 
FTO course relating to “how to 
interact with persons with 
mental illness or intellectual 
disability.”  

Deny - Penal Code section 
13515.29 does not impose a 
new program or higher level of 
service on local government, or 
increased costs mandated by 
the state, in accordance with 
County of Los Angeles v. 
Commission on State Mandates 
(2003) 110 Cal.App.4th 1176.  
There is no requirement for the 
law enforcement employer to 
develop and present the course, 
and the total number of training 
hours in the existing FTO 
course remains the same. 

Does Penal Code section 
13515.28, added by Statutes 
2015, chapter 469, impose a 
reimbursable state-mandated 
program? 

Penal Code section 13515.28 
requires existing FTOs to have 
an additional eight hours of 
crisis intervention behavioral 
health training, to be completed 

Approve - In response to Penal 
Code section 13515.28, POST 
created an expanded course 
outline for the required eight-
hour training.9  In addition, 

                                                 
7 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on Law 
Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training 
(accessed on January 23, 2019), emphasis added. 
8 Exhibit E, California POST Course Catalog, list of certified presenters for the FTO program, 
https://catalog.post.ca.gov/PresenterCourseDescription.aspx?crs_no=31725&crs_title=FIELD+T
RAINING+OFFICER&numPresentations=17&pageId=10 (accessed on January 23, 2019). 
9 Exhibit E, “Regulation 1081 Minimum Standards for Legislatively Mandated Courses, Crisis 
Intervention Behavioral Health Training for Field Training Officers, Expanded Course Outline (8 
hours),” 
https://post.ca.gov/Portals/0/post_docs/resources/CIT/SB29_FTO_8HR_Course_ECO.pdf 
(accessed on January 23, 2019.)    

https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
https://catalog.post.ca.gov/PresenterCourseDescription.aspx?crs_no=31725&crs_title=FIELD+TRAINING+OFFICER&numPresentations=17&pageId=10
https://catalog.post.ca.gov/PresenterCourseDescription.aspx?crs_no=31725&crs_title=FIELD+TRAINING+OFFICER&numPresentations=17&pageId=10
https://post.ca.gov/Portals/0/post_docs/resources/CIT/SB29_FTO_8HR_Course_ECO.pdf
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Issue Description Staff Recommendation 
between January 1, 2017 and 
June 30, 2017, or within 180 
days of appointment as an 
FTO.   

POST issued a bulletin 
authorizing, but not requiring, 
agencies to present the course 
required by Penal Code section 
13515.28 using the POST 
outline.10  Therefore, 
presenting the course is not 
mandated by the state and to 
the extent that a local agency 
does so, it is based on its own 
discretionary decision and is 
not subject to subvention.  
However, section 13515.28 
imposes a reimbursable state-
mandated program for cities 
and counties, and those police 
protection districts that wholly 
supplant the law enforcement 
functions of the county within 
their jurisdiction pursuant to 
Government Code section 
53060.7, that are required to 
have a Field Training Program 
under California Code of 
Regulations, title 11, section 
1004 and have appointed or 
assigned FTOs for that 
program, to ensure that each 
FTO assigned or appointed 
prior to January 1, 2017 shall 
attend a one-time, eight hour 
training on crisis intervention 
and behavioral health before  
June 30, 2017; and to ensure 
that each FTO assigned or 
appointed after January 1, 2017 
shall attend a one-time, eight 
hour training on crisis 
intervention and behavioral 
health within 180 days of being 

                                                 
10 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on Law 
Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training 
(accessed on January 23, 2019), emphasis added. 

https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
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Issue Description Staff Recommendation 
assigned or appointed as an 
FTO. 
FTOs who have completed 40 
hours of crisis intervention and 
behavioral health training or 
who have completed eight 
hours of crisis intervention and 
behavioral health training in 
the past 24 months are exempt 
from these requirements. 

Staff Analysis 
A. The Test Claim Was Timely Filed. 

Government Code section 17551 states that test claims must be filed “not later than 12 months 
following the effective date of a statute or executive order, or within 12 months of incurring 
increased costs as a result of a statute or executive order, whichever is later.”11 
Section 1183.1(c) of the Commission’s regulations, in turn, defines “12 months” for purposes of 
filing a test claim as “365 days” and specifically provides: 

Except as provided in Government Code sections 17573 and 17574, any test 
claim or amendment filed with the Commission must be filed not later than 12 
months (365 days) following the effective date of a statute or executive order, or 
within 12 months (365 days) of first incurring increased costs as a result of a 
statute or executive order, whichever is later.12 

The test claim statutes became effective on January 1, 2016.  The claimants have filed evidence 
in the form of declarations and POST training records showing they first incurred costs under the 
test claim statutes on May 23, 2017 and June 6, 2017, respectively.13  The Test Claim was filed 
May 10, 2018, less than 365 days from the dates of first incurred costs.  Therefore, on the basis 
of the date costs were first incurred, the Test Claim was timely filed in accordance with 
Government Code section 17551 and Title 2, California Code of Regulations, section 1183.1(c). 

                                                 
11 Government Code section 17551(c). 
12 Title 2, California Code of Regulations, section 1183.1(c) (Register 2018, No. 9, eff.  
April 1, 2018.) 
13 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 20, 24, 48, 57-60 [Declaration of Deborah McIntryre, Finance 
Director and Chief Fiscal Officer for the City of Lake Tahoe; Declaration of Adam Pirrie, 
Finance Director and Chief Fiscal Officer for the City of Claremont; POST report of training 
dated May 23, 2017 for Officers Robertson and Spaeth of the City of Lake Tahoe; POST report 
of training dated June 6, 2017 for City of Claremont officers]. 
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B. Penal Code Sections 13515.26, 13515.27, and 13515.295 Impose Requirements on 
POST, a State Agency, But Do Not Impose Any State-Mandated Activities on Local 
Government. 

Penal Code section 13515.26 requires POST to review its training modules and course content 
“in the regular basic course relating to persons with mental illness, intellectual disability, or 
substance abuse disorder,” and identify areas where additional training is needed.14  POST shall 
then update its training “in consultation with appropriate community, local, and state 
organizations, and agencies that have expertise in the area of mental illness, intellectual 
disability, and substance abuse disorders…”15  The training “shall be presented within the 
existing hours allotted for the regular basic course.”16   
Section 13515.27 requires POST to establish a three-hour continuing training course for existing 
peace officers, relating to interacting with persons with mental illness.17  That course “shall be 
made available by the commission to each law enforcement officer with a rank of supervisor or 
below and who is assigned to patrol duties or to supervise officers who are assigned to patrol 
duties.”18  POST has established a course to comply with section 13515.27 that can be utilized 
for training and makes it clear that the course is “not mandatory for law enforcement.”19   
Penal Code section 13515.295 requires POST to “conduct a review and evaluation of the 
required competencies of the field training program,” especially with respect to how officers 
effectively address incidents involving persons with mental illness or intellectual disability, and 
to update the training accordingly.20   
There is nothing in the plain language of sections 13515.26, 13515.27, or 13515.295 that impose 
any express requirements on local government, and the claimants have made no argument and 
presented no evidence that these sections impose additional activities or costs.   
Accordingly, Penal Code sections 13515.26, 13515.27, and 13515.295 do not impose any state-
mandated activities on local government. 

                                                 
14 Penal Code section 13515.26(a) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468).  
15 Penal Code section 13515.26(b) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
16 Penal Code section 13515.26(d-e) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
17 Penal Code section 13515.27(a-b) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
18 Penal Code section 13515.27(c) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
19 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 11, Impact on Law 
Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/crisis-intervention-behavioral-health-training (accessed on 
January 18, 2019). 
20 Penal Code section 13515.295 (added, Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 

https://post.ca.gov/crisis-intervention-behavioral-health-training
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C. Penal Code Section 13515.29, Which Requires Prospective Field Training Officers 
(FTOs) to Receive Four Hours of Training as Part of the FTO Course That 
Addresses How to Interact with Persons with Mental Illness or Intellectual 
Disability, Does Not Mandate a New Program or Higher Level of Service or Result 
in Increased Costs Mandated by the State Since There Is No Requirement for the 
Law Enforcement Employer to Develop and Present the Course, and the Total 
Number of Training Hours in the FTO Course Remains the Same. 

POST regulations provide, with some exceptions, that “[a]ny department which employs peace 
officers and/or Level 1 Reserve peace officers shall have a POST-approved Field Training 
Program.”21  Each department’s Field Training Program is required to have Field Training 
Officers (FTOs) to train new officers before they can be assigned to general law enforcement 
uniformed patrol duties without direct and immediate supervision.22  And FTOs are required to 
first complete a POST-certified, 40-hour, Field Training Officer Course before they can provide 
the training to other officers.23 
The test claim statute added section 13515.29 to the Penal Code to require POST to establish and 
keep updated an FTO course “relating to competencies of the field training program and police 
training program that addresses how to interact with persons with mental illness or intellectual 
disability.”24  That course is required to be “at least four hours of classroom instruction and 
instructor-led active learning” and “[a]ll prospective field training officers shall complete the 
course…as part of the existing field training officer program.”25  This statute does not require 
local law enforcement employers to develop or present the training.   
Although the local law enforcement employer may incur costs for its prospective FTOs to attend 
the FTO course, staff finds that Penal Code section 13515.29 does not impose a new program or 
higher level of service, or result in increased costs mandated by the state.  The total number of 
hours required by the state for the existing FTO course did not increase as a result of the test 
claim statute.  The plain language of the statute requires the updated training to be “part of the 
existing field training officer program,” and POST has clarified that the FTO course remains at 
40 hours.  Thus, in accordance with County of Los Angeles II,26 the statute does not impose a 
new program or higher level of service, or result in increased costs mandated by the state. 

                                                 
21 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a) (Register 2015, No. 50). 
22 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a)(4).  
23 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(d); Exhibit E, PAM section D-13-4, 
Field Training, https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training (accessed on  
December 13, 2018). 
24 Penal Code section 13515.29(a) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
25 Penal Code section 13515.29(b)(c) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
26 County of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates 110 Cal.App.4th 1176, 1194-1195. 

https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
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D. Penal Code Section 13515.28, Which Requires Assigned or Appointed FTO’s to 
Receive an Additional Eight Hours of Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health 
Training to Better Train New Peace Officers on How to Effectively Interact with 
Persons with Mental Illness or Intellectual Disability, Imposes a Reimbursable 
State-Mandated Program on Eligible Local Agencies. 
1. Penal Code section 13515.28 imposes new FTO training requirements on local 

law enforcement agencies. 
Penal Code section 13515.28, enacted by Statutes 2015, chapter 469, requires assigned or 
appointed FTOs, except those specified FTOs who have previous similar training, to complete an 
additional eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training by a June 30, 2017 or 
within 180 days of being assigned or appointed as an FTO, in order to better train new peace 
officers on how to effectively interact with persons with mental illness or intellectual disability.  
Specifically, as relevant to this issue, section 13515.28 provides: 

(a)(1) The commission shall require the field training officers who provide 
instruction in the field training program to have at least eight hours of crisis 
intervention behavioral health . . . 
(2) If a field training officer has completed eight hours of crisis intervention 
behavioral health training within the past 24 months, or if a field training officer 
has completed 40 hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training, the 
requirement described in paragraph (1) shall not apply. 
[¶] . . .[¶] 
(c) Field training officers assigned or appointed before January 1, 2017, shall 
complete the crisis intervention behavioral health training by June 30, 2017. Field 
training officers assigned or appointed on or after January 1, 2017, shall complete 
the crisis intervention behavioral health training within 180 days of assignment or 
appointment. 

The claimants allege that section 13515.28 requires eight hours of repeated or continuing crisis 
intervention behavioral health training every 24 months.27  Finance interprets the test claim 
statute to require eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training only once per 
appointed or assigned FTO.28  In comments on the Draft Proposed Decision, the claimants state 
“We appreciate Commission staff’s clarification and legal analysis explaining that [section] 
13515.28…only requires each FTO to attend a one-time per employee eight-hour course, and not 
an additional eight-hour course after 24 months…”29  The claimants further state:  “If it is the 
State’s determination that field training officers are not mandated to attend any further training 
on this topic once they have attended a one-time, eight-hour segment, we are happy to comply 
with this interpretation and to avoid additional training and costs.”30 

                                                 
27 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 12-13. 
28 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, page 2. 
29 Exhibit D, Claimants’ Comments on the Draft Proposed Decision, page 1. 
30 Exhibit D, Claimants’ Comments on the Draft Proposed Decision, page 1. 
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Staff finds that eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training is required one time 
per employee providing training as an FTO, and not every 24 months as previously alleged by 
the claimants.  This interpretation is supported by the plain language of Penal Code section 
13515.28(a)(2), which exempts FTOs who have completed eight hours of crisis intervention 
behavioral health training within the past 24 months or have completed 40 hours of crisis 
intervention behavioral health training, the legislative history, and POST’s implementation of 
Statutes 2015, chapter 469. 
Although the requirements of section 13515.28 are expressly directed to the officers themselves, 
the requirements imposed on the officers fall on the local law enforcement agencies required by 
section 1004 of the POST regulations to have a Field Training Program.  The training of the 
officers occurs within the scope of employment and their appointment or assignment as an FTO 
by the employer.31  In addition, under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), which 
applies to local government employers, the employer is responsible for compensating the 
employee for job-related training time that is required and not voluntary.32 
However, these statutes do not require local law enforcement employers to develop or present 
the training.  In this case, the claimants utilized outside organizations to provide the training 
required by Penal Code section 13515.28; their officers attended training provided by California 
State Parks, Butte College Public Safety Training Center, South Bay Regional Training 
Consortium, Yolo County Sheriff’s Department, and Embassy Consulting Services.33   
Accordingly, Penal Code section 13515.28 imposes the following new requirements on local law 
enforcement agencies required to have a Field Training Program under California Code of 
Regulations, title 11, section 1004 and have appointed or assigned FTOs for that program:34 

• Ensure that each FTO assigned or appointed prior to January 1, 2017 shall attend a 
one-time, eight-hour training on crisis intervention and behavioral health before  
June 30, 2017. 

                                                 
31 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a), which states that “[a]ny department 
which employs peace officers and/or Level 1 Reserve peace officers shall have a POST-
approved Field Training Program.”  Section 1004(b) provides that a department that does not 
provide general law enforcement uniformed patrol services, or hires only lateral entry officers 
possessing a POST basic certificate and completed a similar POST approved Field Training 
Program may request an exemption. 
32 See Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, sections 785.27, 785.29; Garcia v. San Antonio 
Metropolitan Transit Authority et al. (1985) 469 U.S. 528. 
33 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 48-61. 
34 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a), states that “[a]ny department which 
employs peace officers and/or Level 1 Reserve peace officers shall have a POST-approved Field 
Training Program.”  Section 1004(b) states that a department that does not provide general law 
enforcement uniformed patrol services, or hires only lateral entry officers possessing a POST 
basic certificate and who have completed a similar POST approved Field Training Program may 
request an exemption and not comply with this requirement. 
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• Ensure that each FTO assigned or appointed after January 1, 2017 shall attend a one-
time, eight-hour training on crisis intervention and behavioral health within 180 days 
of being assigned or appointed as an FTO. 

FTOs who have completed 40 hours of crisis intervention and behavioral health training 
or who have completed eight hours of crisis intervention and behavioral health training in 
the past 24 months, are exempt from these requirements.  In addition, reimbursement is 
not required for the local law enforcement employer to develop or present the training 
since these activities are not mandated. 

2. The New Requirements of Penal Code Section 13515.28 Impose a State-
Mandated Program Only on City and County Law Enforcement Agencies, and 
Police Protection Districts That Wholly Supplant the Law Enforcement 
Functions of the County Within their Jurisdiction, That Are Required to Have a 
Field Training Program and Have Appointed or Assigned FTOs For That 
Program. 

The minimum training standards and rules for peace officers that are outlined in Penal Code 
sections 13510 et seq. (which includes section 13515.28) “shall apply to those cities, counties, 
cities and counties, and districts receiving state aid pursuant to this chapter . . . .”35  Participating 
agencies agree to abide by the standards established by POST and may apply to POST for state 
aid.36  Although this statutory language only requires local agencies to comply with the training 
standards as a condition of their participation in POST, the court in County of Los Angeles II held 
that POST training “for all practical purposes” is not voluntary.37   
However, the Third District Court of Appeal, in Department of Finance v. Commission on State 
Mandates (POBRA) held that school districts, community college districts, and special districts 
that are permitted, but not required, by state law to employ peace officers who supplement the 
general law enforcement units of cities and counties, are not legally compelled by state law to 
comply with the new requirements.38   Thus, the Court found, they were not eligible claimants 
entitled to reimbursement under article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution.39  
However, cities, counties, and special police protection districts that wholly supplant the law 
enforcement functions of the county within the jurisdiction of that district pursuant to 
Government Code section 53060.7), were found to be prima facie eligible for reimbursement 

                                                 
35 Penal Code section 13510(a). 
36 Penal Code sections 13522 and 13523. 
37 County of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates 110 Cal.App.4th 1176, 1194 [“POST 
certification is, for all practical purposes, not a ‘voluntary’ program and therefore the County 
must, in order to comply with [the test claim statute], add domestic violence training to its 
curriculum.”]. 
38 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 
1355, 1357 
39 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 
1355, 1357 
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because they have “as an ordinary, principal, and mandatory duty the provision of policing 
services within their territorial jurisdiction.”40 
Thus, only city and county law enforcement agencies, and those police protection districts that 
wholly supplant the law enforcement functions of the county within their jurisdiction pursuant to 
Government Code section 53060.7, are mandated by the state to comply with the new training 
requirements imposed by Penal Code sections 13515.28. 

3. The New Requirements Imposed by Penal Code Section 13515.28 Constitute a 
New Program or Higher Level of Service. 

The new training requirements for FTOs imposed by Penal Code section 13515.28 on local law 
enforcement agencies constitute a new program or higher level of service because they require 
additional training hours, carry out the governmental function of providing a service to the 
public, and impose unique requirements on local government that do not apply generally to all 
residents and entities in the state.  Section 13515.28 requires eight hours of training relating to 
crisis intervention behavioral health, and requires that training to be completed within a six 
month period (depending on when an FTO was appointed or assigned) in addition to existing 
training requirements imposed by law.  In addition, POST interprets Penal Code section 
13515.28 to require the development and implementation of an entirely new course of one-time 
training.41   
Moreover, Penal Code section 13515.28 carries out the governmental function of providing a 
service to the public, and imposes unique requirements on local government that do not apply 
generally to all residents and entities in the state.   
Based on the foregoing, staff finds that the additional training required by Penal Code sections 
13515.28 constitutes a new program or higher level of service.  

4. The Mandated Activities Result in Increased Costs Mandated by the State. 
For the mandated activities to constitute reimbursable state-mandated activities under article  
XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution, they must result in local agencies incurring 
increased costs mandated by the state.  Government Code section 17514 defines “costs mandated 
by the state” as any increased cost that a local agency or school district incurs as a result of any 
statute or executive order that mandates a new program or higher level of service. Government 
Code section 17564(a) further requires that no claim shall be made nor shall any payment be 
made unless the claim exceeds $1,000.  In addition, a finding of costs mandated by the state 
means that none of the exceptions in Government Code section 17556 apply to deny the claim. 
The claimants have alleged new costs incurred to comply with Penal Code section 13515.28, and 
have alleged that there are no ongoing offsetting revenues such as fee authority.  Specifically, the 
City of South Lake Tahoe alleges $11,150 in costs mandated by the state for fiscal year 2016-
2017, and projects $11,485 in fiscal year 2018-2019, for officers to attend the eight-hour training 
                                                 
40 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 1355, 1367-
1368 [emphasis added]. 
41 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on Law 
Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training 
(accessed on January 29, 2019). 

https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
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course required by section 13515.28.42  The City of Claremont alleges $2,981 net costs (after a 
one-time grant) for fiscal year 2016-2017, and projects $5,718 for fiscal year 2018-2019, without 
the grant, for its officers to attend the eight-hour training.  The claimants have submitted 
documentation of their officers’ time and tuition expenses to attend the required training, which 
are authenticated by declarations sworn under penalty of perjury.43  And, as discussed above, the 
training required by section 13515.28 is required only one time per FTO employee assigned or 
appointed; therefore some claimants may experience ongoing costs for new FTOs, but not for 
repeat training of FTOs that have already received the eight-hour training. 
Moreover, there is no evidence in the record or in the law that local agencies have received state 
aid from POST, or other additional revenue, sufficient to cover the costs of the new mandated 
activities pursuant to Government Code section 17556(e), or that the other exceptions to costs 
mandated by the state in section 17556 apply to deny this claim.  
Based on the foregoing, staff finds, pursuant to Government Code section 17514, that the new 
requirements mandated by Penal Code section 13515.28 result in increased costs mandated by 
the state.  In addition, any grants or other state funding that may be received by an eligible 
claimant will be identified in Parameters and Guidelines as offsetting revenue. 

Conclusion 
Based on the forgoing analysis, staff finds that Penal Code section 13515.28, as added by 
Statutes 2015, chapter 469, imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program for city and county 
law enforcement agencies, and those police protection districts that wholly supplant the law 
enforcement functions of the county within their jurisdiction pursuant to Government Code 
section 53060.7, that are required to have a Field Training Program under California Code of 
Regulations, title 11, section 1004 and have appointed or assigned FTOs for that program, to:44 

• Ensure that each FTO assigned or appointed prior to January 1, 2017 shall 
attend a one-time, eight-hour training on crisis intervention and behavioral 
health before June 30, 2017. 

• Ensure that each FTO assigned or appointed after January 1, 2017 shall attend 
a one-time, eight-hour training on crisis intervention and behavioral health 
within 180 days of being assigned or appointed as an FTO. 

FTOs who have completed 40 hours of crisis intervention and behavioral health training 
or who have completed eight hours of crisis intervention and behavioral health training in 

                                                 
42 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 13-15. 
43 See Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 47-55 [Cost Documentation for each Officer]; 20-27 
[Declarations]. 
44 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a), states that “[a]ny department which 
employs peace officers and/or Level 1 Reserve peace officers shall have a POST-approved Field 
Training Program.”  Section 1004(b) states that a department that does not provide general law 
enforcement uniformed patrol services, or hires only lateral entry officers possessing a POST 
basic certificate and who have completed a similar POST approved Field Training Program may 
request an exemption and not comply with this requirement. 
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the past 24 months, are exempt from these requirements.  In addition, reimbursement is 
not required for the local law enforcement employer to develop or present the training 
since these activities are not mandated. 

 Staff Recommendation 
Staff recommends that the Commission adopt the Proposed Decision to partially approve the 
Test Claim and authorize staff to make any technical, non-substantive changes to the Proposed 
Decision following the hearing. 
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BEFORE THE 
COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

IN RE TEST CLAIM 
Penal Code Sections 13515.26; 13515.27; 
13515.28; 13515.29; and 13515.295 
Statutes 2015, Chapter 468 (SB 11); and 
Statutes 2015, Chapter 469 (SB 29) 
Filed on May 10, 2018 
Cities of Claremont and South Lake Tahoe, 
Claimants 

Case No.:  17-TC-06 
Peace Officer Training:  Mental Health/Crisis 
Intervention 
DECISION PURSUANT TO  
GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION 17500 
ET SEQ.; CALIFORNIA CODE OF 
REGULATIONS, TITLE 2, DIVISION 2, 
CHAPTER 2.5, ARTICLE 7. 
(Adopted May 24, 2019) 
 

DECISION 
The Commission in State Mandates (Commission) heard and decided this Test Claim during a 
regularly scheduled hearing on May 24, 2019.  [Witness list will be included in the adopted 
Decision.] 
The law applicable to the Commission’s determination of a reimbursable state-mandated 
program is article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution, Government Code sections 
17500 et seq., and related case law. 
The Commission [adopted/modified] the Proposed Decision to [approve/partially approve/deny] 
the Test Claim by a vote of [vote will be included in the adopted Decision], as follows: 

Member Vote 

Lee Adams, County Supervisor  

Mark Hariri, Representative of the State Treasurer  

Jeannie Lee, Representative of the Director of the Office of Planning and Research  

Sarah Olsen, Public Member  

Carmen Ramirez, City Council Member  

Yvette Stowers, Representative of the State Controller, Vice Chairperson  

Jacqueline Wong-Hernandez, Representative of the Director of the Department of 
Finance, Chairperson 
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Summary of the Findings 
This Test Claim addresses Statutes, 2015, chapters 468 and 469 (SB 11 and SB 29), which 
require the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) to establish, and for 
Field Training Officers (FTOs) to take, training courses on law enforcement interaction with 
persons with mental illness or intellectual disability. 
The Commission finds that the Test Claim is timely filed within 365 days of the date that the 
claimants first incurred costs.  
The Commission further finds that Penal Code sections 13515.26, 13515.27, and 13515.295 
impose requirements on POST, a state agency, but do not impose any state-mandated activities 
on local government. 
The Commission also finds that Penal Code section 13515.29, which requires prospective FTOs 
to receive four hours of training that addresses how to interact with persons with mental illness 
or intellectual disability as part of the existing FTO course, does not mandate a new program or 
higher level of service or result in increased costs mandated by the state since there is no 
requirement for the law enforcement employer to develop and present the course, and the total 
number of training hours in the existing FTO course remains the same. 
However, the Commission finds that Penal Code section 13515.28, as added by Statutes 2015, 
chapter 469, imposes a reimbursable state-mandated program for cities and counties, and those 
police protection districts that wholly supplant the law enforcement functions of the county 
within their jurisdiction pursuant to Government Code section 53060.7, that are required to have 
a Field Training Program under California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004 and have 
appointed or assigned FTOs for that program, to:45 

• Ensure that each FTO assigned or appointed prior to January 1, 2017 shall attend a 
one-time, eight-hour training on crisis intervention and behavioral health before  
June 30, 2017. 

• Ensure that each FTO assigned or appointed after January 1, 2017 shall attend a one-
time, eight-hour training on crisis intervention and behavioral health within 180 days 
of being assigned or appointed as an FTO. 

FTOs who have completed 40 hours of crisis intervention and behavioral health training 
or who have completed eight hours of crisis intervention and behavioral health training in 
the past 24 months, are exempt from these requirements.  In addition, reimbursement is 
not required for the local law enforcement employer to develop or present the training 
since these activities are not mandated. 

All other statutes and code sections pled, and claims for reimbursement asserted are denied.  

                                                 
45 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a), states that “[a]ny department which 
employs peace officers and/or Level 1 Reserve peace officers shall have a POST-approved Field 
Training Program.”  Section 1004(b) states that a department that does not provide general law 
enforcement uniformed patrol services, or hires only lateral entry officers possessing a POST 
basic certificate and who have completed a similar POST approved Field Training Program may 
request an exemption and not comply with this requirement. 
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COMMISSION FINDINGS 
I. Chronology 

01/01/2016 The effective date of the test claim statutes. 
05/23/2017 The date the City of Lake Tahoe first incurred costs.46 
06/06/2017 The date the City of Claremont first incurred costs.47 
05/10/2018 The claimants filed the Test Claim.48 
09/26/2018 Commission staff issued the Notice of Complete Test Claim, Schedule for 

Comments, and Notice of Tentative Hearing Date. 
10/26/2018 The Department of Finance (Finance) filed comments on the Test Claim.49 
02/12/2019 Commission staff issued the Draft Proposed Decision.50 
03/04/2019 The claimants filed comments on the Draft Proposed Decision.51 

II. Background 
This Test Claim addresses Statutes 2015, chapters 468 and 469, requiring the Commission on 
Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) to establish, and for Field Training Officers 
(FTOs) to take, training courses on law enforcement interaction with persons with mental illness 
or intellectual disability. 
POST was established by the Legislature in 1959 to set minimum selection and training 
standards for California law enforcement.52  POST consists of sheriffs and chiefs of police; rank 
and file officers; city and county elected officials; educators or trainers in criminal justice; two 
public members who are not peace officers; and the Attorney General as an ex officio member.53  
POST is charged with developing and implementing programs to increase the effectiveness of 
law enforcement, including training and education courses for officers.54  POST adopts 
minimum standards for physical and mental fitness, and minimum training standards, for peace 
                                                 
46 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 20, 47-55 [Declaration of Deborah McIntryre, Finance Director 
and Chief Fiscal Officer for the City of Lake Tahoe; POST report of training dated  
May 23, 2017 for Officers Robertson and Spaeth of the City of Lake Tahoe]. 
47 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 24, 56-60 [Declaration of Adam Pirrie, Finance Director and 
Chief Fiscal Officer for the City of Claremont; POST report of training dated June 6, 2017 for 
City of Claremont officers]. 
48 Exhibit A, Test Claim, page 1. 
49 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, page 1. 
50 Exhibit C, Draft Proposed Decision. 
51 Exhibit D, Claimants’ Comments on the Draft Proposed Decision. 
52 Penal Code section 13500 et seq.    
53 Penal Code section 13500(b-c) (Stats. 2007, ch. 409). 
54 Penal Code section 13503. 
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officers.55  The minimum training standards and rules “shall apply to those cities, counties, cities 
and counties, and districts receiving state aid pursuant to this chapter . . . .”56  Participating 
agencies agree to abide by the standards established by POST and may apply to POST for state 
aid.57  

A. Prior Law 
1. Training Requirements for all Peace Officers Performing General Law 

Enforcement Uniformed Patrol Duties 
Penal Code sections 832 and 13510, and California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1005 
(POST regulations) require every person described as a peace officer (except certain reserve 
officers, peace officers whose primary duties are investigative, coroners or deputy coroners, and 
jail deputies) to complete a regular basic training course certified by POST before being assigned 
duties, which include the exercise of peace officer powers.  Those powers include, but are not 
limited to, the power to make an arrest,58 to take a person into custody for mental health 
assessment and evaluation,59 and to serve and execute a search warrant.60  The regular basic 
course is described in detail in the POST Administrative Manual (PAM) Section D-1, with links 
to the content and curriculum.  The minimum hour requirement for basic training is currently set 
at 664 hours,61 and includes content such as “Leadership, Professionalism, and Ethics,” “Laws of 
Arrest,” “Search and Seizure,” “Investigative Report Writing,” and many other competencies.62   
Section 1005 of the POST regulations also requires, with exceptions, that every peace officer 
“following completion of the Regular Basic Course and before being assigned to perform general 
law enforcement uniformed patrol duties without direct and immediate supervision, shall 
complete a POST-approved Field Training Program.”  “General law enforcement duties” are 
defined in POST regulations as “duties which include the investigation of crime, patrol of a 
geographic area, responding to the full range of requests for police services, and performing any 
enforcement action on the full range of law violations.”63  
The Field Training Program is governed by section 1004 of the POST regulations, which 
provides that “[a]ny department which employs peace officers and/or Level 1 Reserve peace 
                                                 
55 Penal Code section 13510. 
56 Penal Code section 13510(a). 
57 Penal Code sections 13522 and 13523. 
58 Penal Code section 836. 
59 Welfare and Institutions Code section 5150. 
60 Penal Code sections 1523; 1530; 1532; 1534. 
61 Exhibit E, PAM section D-1-3 (d) Basic Training, RBC Standard Format-Training, Testing, 
and Hourly Requirements, https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-1-basic-training#d11 
(accessed on December 14, 2018). 
62 Exhibit E, Regular Basic Course Training Specifications, POST, https://post.ca.gov/regular-
basic-course-training-specifications (accessed on December 14, 2018). 
63 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1001. 

https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-1-basic-training#d11
https://post.ca.gov/regular-basic-course-training-specifications
https://post.ca.gov/regular-basic-course-training-specifications
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officers shall have a POST-approved Field Training Program.”64  A department “may request an 
exemption” from the Field Training Program if it only hires “lateral entry officers” who have 
completed the Regular Basic Course and completed a POST-approved Field Training Program, 
or “[t]he department does not provide general law enforcement uniformed patrol services.”  
Section 1004 further provides that the Field Training Program “shall be delivered over a 
minimum of 10 weeks,” and be based on the structured learning content specified in PAM, 
section D-13.65  The Field Training content requirements identified in PAM, section D-13 
include agency orientation (including standards and conduct), ethics, leadership, patrol 
procedures and vehicle operations, officer safety, report writing, California Codes and law, 
department policies, control of persons and prisoners, traffic, use of force, search and seizure, 
investigations and evidence, community relations, and conflict resolution.66 
In addition, all officers are required by regulation, once appointed, to complete 24 hours of 
continuing training every two years, including at least two hours of “communications training, 
either tactical or interpersonal,” and at least 12 hours of “perishable skills,” such as tactical 
driving, use of firearms, and “arrest and control.”67  Officers are also required to complete First 
Aid and CPR training every two years (at least eight hours);68 training on responding to 
Domestic Violence Complaints every two years (two hours);69 Racial Profiling training every 
five years (two hours);70 and annual refresher training on High Speed Vehicle Pursuit,71 Blood-
Borne Pathogen precautions,72 and Respiratory Protection Fitting.73   

2. Training Requirements for Field Training Officers 
Section 1004(a)(4) of the POST regulations requires that each department’s Field Training 
Program have Field Training Officers (FTOs) to train new officers before they can be assigned to 
general law enforcement uniformed patrol duties without direct and immediate supervision.  The 
FTOs must first have been awarded a POST Basic Certificate, have a minimum of one year 
general law enforcement uniformed patrol experience, have been selected based upon a 
department-specific selection process, and have met the requirements in section 1004(d).  

                                                 
64 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a) (Register 2015, No. 50). 
65 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a) (Register 2015, No. 50); Exhibit E, 
PAM section D-13, Field Training, https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training 
(accessed on December 13, 2018). 
66 Exhibit E, PAM section D-13, Field Training, https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-
field-training (accessed on December 13, 2018). 
67 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1005(d) (Register 2015, No. 50). 
68 Penal Code section 13518; California Code of Regulations, title 22, section 100022. 
69 Penal Code section 13519; California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1081. 
70 Penal Code section 13519.4; California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1081. 
71 Penal Code section 13519.8; California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1081. 
72 California Code of Regulations, title 8, section 5193. 
73 California Code of Regulations, title 8, section 5144. 

https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
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Section 1004(d) requires FTOs to complete a POST-certified Field Training Officer Course (40 
hours) and 24 hours of update training every three years, which may be satisfied by either 
completing “a POST-certified Field Training Officer Update Course,” or “24 hours of 
department-specific training in the field training topics contained in the Field Training Officer 
Update Course.”74 
Sections D-13-4 and D-13-6 of the PAM describe the minimum course requirements for the FTO 
course and FTO update course.  The FTO course is required to be a minimum of 40 hours, and to 
cover, for example:  “Teaching and Training Skills Development,” “Expectations and Roles of 
the FTO,” “Evaluation/Documentation,” “Driver Safety,” “Officer Safety,” “Intervention,” 
“Legal Issues and Liabilities,” “Competency Expectations,” and, “Trainee Termination.”75  An 
FTO Update Course, in order to be POST-certified, must be a minimum of 24 hours, and must 
include the following topics:  Review of Regular Basic Course Training; Legal Issues and 
Liabilities; Contemporary Learning Methods; Training/Teaching Skills Development; 
Leadership, Ethics, and Professionalism; Driver Safety; Remediation/Testing/Scenarios; Trainee 
Termination; Evaluation/Documentation; Teaching Skills/Demonstration Competency 
Expectations; and Additional Agency/Presenter-specific topics (which may include: Community 
Oriented Policing, Challenging Traits of Today’s Trainees, Report Writing for FTOs, Problem 
Solving for FTOs, Supervisory Skills Development, etc.).76  

B. Test Claim Statutes 
Statutes 2015, chapter 468 added sections 13515.26 and 13515.27 to the Penal Code, which 
address new requirements for the POST basic training course for peace officers, and new 
continuing training content for peace officers that POST was required to create and make 
available as an elective training course.77  The plain language of Penal Code sections 13515.26 
and 13515.27 is directed entirely to POST.  Section 13515.26 requires POST to “review the 
training module in the regular basic course relating to persons with mental illness, intellectual 
disability, or substance abuse disorder, and analyze existing training curricula in order to identify 
areas where additional training is needed…”78  “Upon identifying what additional training is 
needed,” section 13515.26 requires POST to “update the training in consultation with appropriate 
community, local, and state organizations, and agencies that have expertise in the area of mental 
illness, intellectual disability, and substance abuse disorders, and with appropriate consumer and 

                                                 
74 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a; d) (Register 2015, No. 50); Exhibit E, 
PAM section D-13-4, Field Training, https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-
training (accessed on December 13, 2018). 
75 Exhibit E, PAM section D-13-4, Field Training, https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-
13-field-training (accessed on December 13, 2018). 
76 Exhibit E, PAM section D-13-3, Field Training, https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-
13-field-training (accessed on December 13, 2018). 
77 See, Exhibit A, Test Claim, page 29 (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
78 Penal Code section 13515.26(a) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 

https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
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family advocate groups.”79  The updated training “shall address issues related to stigma, shall be 
culturally relevant and appropriate, and shall include:” 

(1) Recognizing indicators of mental illness, intellectual disability, and substance 
use disorders. 
(2) Conflict resolution and deescalation techniques for potentially dangerous 
situations, 
(3) Use of force options and alternatives. 
(4) The perspective of individuals or families who have experiences with persons 
with mental illness, intellectual disability, and substance use disorders. 
(5) Mental health resources available to the first responders to events that involve 
mentally disabled persons.80 

Finally, section 13515.26 requires that the training “shall be at least 15 hours, and shall include 
training scenarios and facilitated learning activities…” and “shall be presented within the 
existing hours allotted for the regular basic course.”81  
Section 13515.27 requires POST to “establish and keep updated a classroom-based continuing 
training course…relating to behavioral health and law enforcement interaction with persons with 
mental illness, intellectual disability, and substance abuse disorders.”82  That course “shall be at 
least three consecutive hours…shall address issues related to stigma, be culturally relevant and 
appropriate, and shall include:” 

(1) The cause and nature of mental illness, intellectual disability, and substance 
use disorders. 
(2) Indicators of mental illness, intellectual disability, and substance use 
disorders. 
(3) Appropriate responses to a variety of situations involving persons with mental 
illness, intellectual disability, and substance use disorders. 
(4) Conflict resolution and deescalation techniques for potentially dangerous 
situations. 
(5) Appropriate language usage when interacting with potentially emotionally 
distressed persons. 
(6) Resources available to serve persons with mental illness or intellectual 
disability, 

                                                 
79 Penal Code section 13515.26(b) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
80 Penal Code section 13515.26(c) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
81 Penal Code section 13515.26(d-e) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
82 Penal Code section 13515.27(a) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
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(7) The perspective of individuals or families who have experiences with persons 
with mental illness, intellectual disability, and substance use disorders.83 

The course “shall be made available by [POST] to each law enforcement officer with a rank of 
supervisor or below and who is assigned to patrol duties or to supervise officers who are 
assigned to patrol duties.”  POST was required to implement this new course on or before 
August 1, 2016.84 
The other test claim statute pled is Statutes 2015, chapter 469, which added Penal Code sections 
13515.28, 13515.29, and 13515.295, relating to the Field Training Program.  Section 13515.28 
states that POST “shall require…[FTOs]…to have at least eight hours of crisis intervention 
behavioral health training to better train new peace officers on how to effectively interact with 
persons with mental illness or intellectual disability.”85  That eight-hour course “shall include 
classroom instruction and instructor-led active learning, such as scenario-based training, and 
shall be taught in segments that are at least four hours long.”86  However, if an FTO “has 
completed eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training within the past 24 months, 
or if [an FTO] has completed 40 hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training, the 
requirement…shall not apply.”87  The required training “shall address issues related to stigma, 
shall be culturally relevant and appropriate, and shall include all of the following topics:” 

(1) The cause and nature of mental illnesses and intellectual disabilities. 
(2) (A) How to identify indicators of mental illness, intellectual disability, and 
substance use disorders. 
(B) How to distinguish between mental illness, intellectual disability, and 
substance use disorders. 
(C) How to respond appropriately in a variety of situations involving persons with 
mental illness, intellectual disability, and substance use disorders. 
(3) Conflict resolution and deescalation techniques for potentially dangerous 
situations. 
(4) Appropriate language usage when interacting with potentially emotionally 
distressed persons. 
(5) Community and state resources available to serve persons with mental illness 
or intellectual disability, and how these resources can be best utilized by law 
enforcement. 

                                                 
83 Penal Code section 13515.27(b) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
84 Penal Code section 13515.27(c-d) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
85 Penal Code section 13515.28(a) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
86 Penal Code section 13515.28(a) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
87 Penal Code section 13515.28(a) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
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(6) The perspective of individuals or families who have experiences with persons 
with mental illness, intellectual disability, and substance use disorders.88 

FTOs “assigned or appointed before January 1, 2017 shall complete the crisis intervention 
behavioral health training by June 30, 2017,” while FTOs “assigned or appointed on or after 
January 1, 2017, shall complete the crisis intervention behavioral health training within 180 days 
of assignment or appointment.”89 
Section 13515.29 provides that POST “shall establish and keep updated a field training officer 
course relating to competencies of the field training program that addresses how to interact with 
persons with mental illness or intellectual disability.”90  That course “shall consist of at least four 
hours of classroom instruction and instructor-led active learning, such as scenario-based training, 
shall address issues related to stigma, and shall be culturally relevant and appropriate.”91  “All 
prospective [FTOs] shall complete the course…as part of the existing field training officer 
program.”92  POST is required to implement this section on or before August 1, 2016.93 
Section 13515.295 provides that POST “shall, by May 1, 2016, conduct a review and evaluation 
of the required competencies of the field training program and police training program to identify 
areas where additional training is necessary to better prepare law enforcement officers to 
effectively address incidents involving persons with a mental illness or intellectual disability.”94  
POST “shall update the training in consultation with appropriate community, local, and state 
organizations, and agencies that have expertise in the area of mental illness, intellectual 
disabilities, and substance abuse disorders, and with appropriate consumer and family advocate 
groups.”95  The training “shall address issues related to stigma, shall be culturally relevant and 
appropriate, and shall include all of the following topics:” 

(1) How to identify indicators of mental illness, intellectual disability, substance 
use disorders, neurological disorders, traumatic brain injury, post-traumatic stress 
disorder, and dementia. 
(2) Autism spectrum disorder. 
(3) Genetic disorders, including, but not limited to, Down syndrome. 
(4) Conflict resolution and deescalation techniques for potentially dangerous 
situations. 

                                                 
88 Penal Code section 13515.28(b) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
89 Penal Code section 13515.28(c) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
90 Penal Code section 13515.29(a) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
91 Penal Code section 13515.29(b) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
92 Penal Code section 13515.29(c) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
93 Penal Code section 13515.29(d) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
94 Penal Code section 13515.295(a) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
95 Penal Code section 13515.295(b) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
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(5) Alternatives to the use of force when interacting with potentially dangerous 
persons with mental illness or intellectual disabilities. 
(6) The perspective of individuals or families who have experiences with persons 
with mental illness, intellectual disability, and substance use disorders. 
(7) Involuntary holds. 
(8) Community and state resources available to serve persons with mental illness 
or intellectual disability, and how these resources can be best utilized by law 
enforcement.96 

C. POST’s Notice Issued in Response to the Test Claim Statutes 
In response to Statutes 2015, chapter 468, POST developed a three-hour continuing training 
course entitled “Police Response to People with Mental Illness, Intellectual Disabilities, and 
Substance Abuse Disorders.”97  POST states that officers attending this course can meet their 
perishable skills requirement for Communications, but the course itself is not mandatory.98 
POST responded to the requirements of Statutes 2015, chapter 469 by issuing the following 
notice: 

On October 3, 2015, Governor Brown, signed into law Senate Bill 29.  In brief, 
the resulting laws mandate mental health training for Field Training Officers 
(FTO) and an increase in hours in Learning Domain 37 of the Regular Basic 
Course.  This information is intended to facilitate an understanding of the new 
laws and how they will be implemented.  Please refer to the California Penal 
Code (PC) for a full description of each law. 

Field Training Officers shall have 8 hours of crisis intervention behavioral 
health training 
PC 13515.28(a)(1) 
Field Training Officers (FTO) will complete 8 hours of crisis intervention 
behavioral health training (CIT) as follows; 
• FTOs assigned or appointed on or before January 1, 2017 shall complete the 

training by June 30, 2017 
• FTOs assigned or appointed after January 1, 2017 shall complete the training 

within 180 days of assignment or appointment 
FTOs are exempted if they have attended;  

                                                 
96 Penal Code section 13515.295(c) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
97 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 11, Impact on Law 
Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/crisis-intervention-behavioral-health-training (accessed on 
January 18, 2019). 
98 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 11, Impact on Law 
Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/crisis-intervention-behavioral-health-training (accessed on 
January 18, 2019). 

https://post.ca.gov/crisis-intervention-behavioral-health-training
https://post.ca.gov/crisis-intervention-behavioral-health-training
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• a 40 hour CIT course or  
• an 8 hour or more CIT course since October 3, 2013, that meets the criteria 

enumerated in PC13515.28(a)(1)  
To assist agencies with PC 13515.28(a)(1), POST is offering the following 
resources and services; 
• An expanded course outline (ECO) (pdf) and hourly distribution (pdf) for a 

Mental Health Course that satisfies the 8 hour training requirement for FTOs.  
Agencies or training centers may utilize the ECO to deliver a course by 
certifying it through their Regional Consultant. 

• Mental health training course providers may request their course outline be 
reviewed by POST to ensure it meets the required criteria of PC 
13515.28(a)(1).  Please initiate this review through the appropriate POST 
Regional Consultant.  If the course does not meet the criteria of SB 29, 
providers will be advised what to include in the course to satisfy the 
requirements. 

Field Training Officers shall have 4 hours of crisis intervention behavioral 
health training as part of the Field Training Officer Course 
PC 13515.29(a) 
FTOs are required to have 4 hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training 
(in addition to the mandated 8 hours of training required by PC 13515(a)(1)) as 
part of the Field Training Officer Course.  POST has utilized subject matter 
experts to incorporate the 4 hours of CIT training into the FTO course. The FTO 
course will remain at 40 hours. 

Law Enforcement Agencies shall provide additional training in the Field 
Training Programs (FTP) or Police Training Programs (PTP) to better 
prepare law enforcement officers to effectively address incidents involving 
persons with a mental illness or intellectual disability. 
PC 13515.295 
In response to PC 13515.295, POST has reviewed existing programs and 
developed an additional competency 12.7.09 (Address Issues Related to Stigma) 
that must be added to all Field Training Programs and Police Training Program. 
Competency 12.7.09 (Address Issues Related to Stigma); 
• Must be added to all existing Field Training Programs (docx) or Police 

Training Programs (pdf), as an addendum, to include an attestation (doc) 
• Incorporated into any new program submitted to POST for approval.99 

                                                 
99 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on Law 
Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training 
(accessed on January 29, 2019). 

https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
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Accordingly, POST has interpreted Statutes 2015, chapter 469, which added Penal Code sections 
13515.28, 13515.29, and 13515.295, to require that all FTOs, unless exempt under section 
13515.28(a)(2),100 complete eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training by  
June 30, 2017, or within 180 days of appointment as an FTO;101 that the 40 hour FTO Course for 
prospective FTOs include four hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training, on or 
before August 1, 2016;102 and that pursuant to its review of existing training required by section 
13515.295, “an additional competency 12.7.09 (Address Issues Related to Stigma)…must be 
added to all Field Training Programs and Police Training Program.”103 

III. Positions of the Parties 
A. City of South Lake Tahoe and City of Claremont 

The claimants have pled, on the Test Claim form, both Statutes 2015, chapter 468, which added 
Penal Code sections 13515.26 and 13515.27; and Statutes 2015, chapter 469, which added 
sections 13515.28, 13515.28, and 13515.295.  However, claimants’ narrative and declarations 
only allege reimbursable costs and activities arising from Penal Code sections 13515.28 and 
13515.29.104 
Claimants alleged in the Test Claim that the test claim statutes require FTOs who provide 
instruction in the Field Training Program to have at least eight hours of crisis intervention 
behavioral health training every 24 months.105  However, in their comments on the Draft 
Proposed Decision, claimants acknowledge the conclusion in the Draft Proposed Decision that 
the eight-hour training required by section 13515.28 is required only once per employee:  “If it is 
the State’s determination that field training officers are not mandated to attend any further 
training on this topic once they have attended a one-time, eight-hour segment, we are happy to 

                                                 
100 Penal Code section 13515.28(a)(2) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469) [“If a field training officer has 
completed eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training within the past 24 months, 
or if a field training officer has completed 40 hours of crisis intervention behavioral health 
training, the requirement described in paragraph (1) shall not apply.”]. 
101 Penal Code section 13515.28 (Stats. 2015, ch. 469); Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention 
Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on Law Enforcement,” 
https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training (accessed on  
January 29, 2019). 
102 Penal Code section 13515.29 (Stats. 2015, ch. 469); Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention 
Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on Law Enforcement,” 
https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training (accessed on  
January 29, 2019). 
103 Penal Code section 13515.295 (Stats. 2015, ch. 469); Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention 
Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on Law Enforcement,” 
https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training (accessed on  
January 29, 2019). 
104 See Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 13-15; 20; 22; 24; 26. 
105 Exhibit A, Test Claim, page 10. 

https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
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comply with this interpretation and to avoid additional training and costs.”106  FTOs assigned or 
appointed before January 1, 2017 shall complete crisis intervention behavioral health training 
prior to June 30, 2017.  FTOs assigned or appointed after January 1, 2017 shall complete the 
crisis intervention behavioral health training within 180 days of assignment or appointment.107  
Prospective FTOs shall complete a four-hour course addressing how to interact with persons 
with mental illness or intellectual disability.108 
Claimants allege new mandated activities, including: 

1) Field Training Officers (FTOs) time and expense to attend the 8-hour 
mandated training sessions. Including: compensating of staff time to attend 
mandated sessions; compensating costs for backfilling positions (including 
overtime) during mandated training; travel expenses, instructor fees, facility 
costs, and training material. 

2) FTOs time and expense to repeat the mandated 8-hour training after every 24 
months (unless a field training officer has completed 40 hours of crisis 
intervention behavioral training). Including: compensating of staff time to 
attend mandated sessions; compensating costs for backfilling positions 
(including overtime) during mandated training, if required by the department; 
travel expenses, instructor fees, facility costs, and training material.109 

The City of South Lake Tahoe alleges it incurred $11,150 to implement the alleged mandate in 
fiscal year 2016-2017.  The City does not project costs for fiscal year 2017-2018, but expects 
similar costs in 2018-2019.110 
The City of Claremont alleges that it incurred $2,981 to implement the alleged mandate in fiscal 
year 2016-2017, after receiving a one-time grant for direct staff costs and the trainer course fees.  
The City alleges the net costs after the grant include benefits costs for the officers attending the 
training and indirect costs.  The City does not project costs for fiscal year 2017-2018, but 
projects $5,890 in mandated costs in fiscal year 2018-2019.111 
The claimants argue that the requirements are new; that they are unique to government and carry 
out a state policy to provide a service to the public, and are therefore a new program or higher 
level of service; and that the activities are not mandated by any federal law or voter-approved 
ballot measure.  Neither claimant anticipates non-local funds in the future.112 

                                                 
106 Exhibit C, Claimants’ Comments on the Draft Proposed Decision. 
107 Exhibit A, Test Claim, page 10. 
108 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 12-13. 
109 Exhibit A, Test Claim, page 13. 
110 Exhibit A, Test Claim, page 14. 
111 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 14-15. 
112 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 17-18. 
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B. Department of Finance 
Finance acknowledges that section 13515.28 appears to impose new state-mandated 
requirements on cities and counties, but asserts that the requirement is one-time, rather than an 
ongoing mandate:   

Contrary to what appears to be Claimants’ contention, SB 29 does not require 
FTOs to receive eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training every 
24 months.  SB 29 actually requires FTOs to receive this training only once.  
Furthermore, FTOs serving on January 1, 2017, were exempt from the SB 29 
training if they completed either eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral 
health training within the previous 24 months, or 40 hours of such training at any 
time prior to January 1, 2017.113 

Finance continues:  “Based on Claimants’ characterization of the test claim legislation, Finance 
is concerned the required costs may be significantly overstated.”114  Finance concludes that “the 
Commission should require Claimants to address these points as the analysis of the claim 
proceeds.”115 

IV. Discussion 
Article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution provides in relevant part the following: 

Whenever the Legislature or any state agency mandates a new program or higher 
level of service on any local government, the state shall provide a subvention of 
funds to reimburse such local government for the costs of such programs or 
increased level of service… 

The purpose of article XIII B, section 6 is to “preclude the state from shifting financial 
responsibility for carrying out governmental functions to local agencies, which are ‘ill equipped’ 
to assume increased financial responsibilities because of the taxing and spending limitations that 
articles XIII A and XIII B impose.”116  Thus, the subvention requirement of section 6 is “directed 
to state-mandated increases in the services provided by [local government] …”117 
Reimbursement under article XIII B, section 6 is required when the following elements are met: 

1. A state statute or executive order requires or “mandates” local agencies or school 
districts to perform an activity.118 

2. The mandated activity constitutes a “program” that either: 
a. Carries out the governmental function of providing a service to the public; or 

                                                 
113 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, page 2. 
114 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, page 2. 
115 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, page 2. 
116 County of San Diego v. State of California (1997) 15 Cal.4th 68, 81. 
117 County of Los Angeles v. State of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56. 
118 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 874. 
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b. Imposes unique requirements on local agencies or school districts and does 
not apply generally to all residents and entities in the state.119 

3. The mandated activity is new when compared with the legal requirements in 
effect immediately before the enactment of the test claim statute or executive 
order and it increases the level of service provided to the public.120 

4. The mandated activity results in the local agency or school district incurring 
increased costs, within the meaning of section 17514.  Increased costs, however, 
are not reimbursable if an exception identified in Government Code section 17556 
applies to the activity.121 

The Commission is vested with the exclusive authority to adjudicate disputes over the existence 
of state-mandated programs within the meaning of article XIII B, section 6 of the California 
Constitution.122  The determination whether a statute or executive order imposes a reimbursable 
state-mandated program is a question of law.123  In making its decisions, the Commission must 
strictly construe article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution, and not apply it as an 
“equitable remedy to cure the perceived unfairness resulting from political decisions on funding 
priorities.”124 

A. The Test Claim Was Timely Filed. 
Government Code section 17551 states that test claims must be filed “not later than 12 months 
following the effective date of a statute or executive order, or within 12 months of incurring 
increased costs as a result of a statute or executive order, whichever is later.”125 
Section 1183.1(c) of the Commission’s regulations, in turn, defines “12 months” for purposes of 
filing a test claim as “365 days” and specifically provides: 

Except as provided in Government Code sections 17573 and 17574, any test 
claim or amendment filed with the Commission must be filed not later than 12 
months (365 days) following the effective date of a statute or executive order, or 

                                                 
119 San Diego Unified School Dist. v. Commission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 
874-875 (reaffirming the test set out in County of Los Angeles (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56). 
120 San Diego Unified School Dist. (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 874-875, 878; Lucia Mar Unified 
School District v. Honig (1988) 44 Cal3d 830, 835. 
121 County of Fresno v. State of California (1991) 53 Cal.3d 482, 487; County of Sonoma v. 
Commission on State Mandates (2000) 84 Cal.App.4th 1265, 1284; Government Code sections 
17514 and 17556. 
122 Kinlaw v. State of California (1991) 53 Cal.3d 482, 487. 
123 County of San Diego v. State of California (1997) 15 Cal.4th 68, 109. 
124 County of Sonoma v. Commission on State Mandates (2000) 84 Cal.App.4th 1265, 1280 
[citing City of San Jose v. State of California (1996) 45 Cal.App.4th 1802, 1817]. 
125 Government Code section 17551(c). 
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within 12 months (365 days) of first incurring increased costs as a result of a 
statute or executive order, whichever is later.126 

The test claim statutes were enacted October 3, 2015, effective January 1, 2016.  A timely-filed 
test claim on the basis of the effective date of the test claim statutes therefore had to be filed no 
later than January 1, 2017.  This Test Claim was filed May 10, 2018 and is therefore not timely 
on that basis. 
However, the claimants have filed evidence in the form of declarations and POST training 
records showing they first incurred costs under the test claim statutes on May 23, 2017 and  
June 6, 2017, respectively.127  The Test Claim was filed May 10, 2018, within 365 days of first 
incurring costs.  Therefore, based on the date costs were first incurred, the Test Claim was timely 
filed in accordance with Government Code section 17551 and Title 2, California Code of 
Regulations, section 1183.1(c). 

B. Penal Code Sections 13515.26, 13515.27, and 13515.295 Impose Requirements on 
POST, a State Agency, But Do Not Impose Any State-Mandated Activities on 
Local Government. 

Penal Code sections 13515.26, 13515.27, and 13515.295 are addressed to POST, a state entity, 
and do not impose any requirements on local government. 
Section 13515.26 requires POST to review its training modules and course content “in the 
regular basic course relating to persons with mental illness, intellectual disability, or substance 
abuse disorder,” and identify areas where additional training is needed.128  POST shall then 
update its training “in consultation with appropriate community, local, and state organizations, 
and agencies that have expertise in the area of mental illness, intellectual disability, and 
substance abuse disorders…”129  The training “shall be at least 15 hours,” including training 
scenarios and activities “relating to law enforcement interaction with persons with mental illness, 
intellectual disability, and substance abuse disorders,” and “shall be presented within the existing 
hours allotted for the regular basic course.”130   
Nothing in the plain language of section 13515.26 requires the local government employer to 
perform any activities.  The regular basic course is a requirement for persons seeking peace 
officer status, but does not require the local government employer that hires an officer to pay for 

                                                 
126 Title 2, California Code of Regulations, section 1183.1(c) (Register 2018, No. 9, eff.  
April 1, 2018.) 
127 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 20, 24, 48, 57-60 [Declaration of Deborah McIntryre, Finance 
Director and Chief Fiscal Officer for the City of Lake Tahoe; Declaration of Adam Pirrie, 
Finance Director and Chief Fiscal Officer for the City of Claremont; POST report of training 
dated May 23, 2017 for Officers Robertson and Spaeth of the City of Lake Tahoe; POST report 
of training dated June 6, 2017 for City of Claremont officers]. 
128 Penal Code section 13515.26(a) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468).  
129 Penal Code section 13515.26(b) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
130 Penal Code section 13515.26(d-e) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
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the training or otherwise provide the training.131  Specifically, Penal Code section 832 requires 
“every person described in this chapter as a peace officer” to satisfactorily complete an 
introductory course of training prescribed by POST before they can exercise the powers of a 
peace officer.  Any “person” completing the basic training course "who does not become 
employed as a peace officer" within three years is required to pass an examination developed or 
approved by POST.132  POST is authorized to charge a fee for the basic training examination to 
each "applicant" who is not sponsored or employed by a local law enforcement agency.133  In 
addition, the Legislature has instructed POST to permit the required training to be conducted by 
any institution approved by POST, which includes community colleges.134  Thus, the 
requirement to take basic training is on the person, and not on the local government employer. 
Section 13515.27 requires POST to establish a continuing training course for existing peace 
officers, of “at least three consecutive hours,” which “may include training scenarios and 
facilitated learning activities, shall address issues related to stigma, shall be culturally relevant 
and appropriate, and shall include” other specified topics such as the causes and nature of mental 
illness; indicators of mental illness, disability, or substance abuse; appropriate responses; conflict 
resolution and de-escalation; appropriate language when interacting with potentially emotionally 
distressed persons; resources available for persons with mental illness or intellectual disability; 
and perspectives of individuals or families who have experiences with persons with mental 
illness, intellectual disability, and substance abuse disorders.135  That course “shall be made 
available by the commission to each law enforcement officer with a rank of supervisor or below 
and who is assigned to patrol duties or to supervise officers who are assigned to patrol duties.”136  
Section 13515.27 requires POST to create a new training course and to make it available to 
peace officers, but does not require officers to take the course, or require the local government 
employer to provide or pay for the new course.  POST has established a course to comply with 
section 13515.27 that can be utilized for training and makes it clear that the course is “not 
mandatory for law enforcement.”137   
Penal Code section 13515.295 is similarly directed only to POST.  Section 13515.295 requires 
POST to “conduct a review and evaluation of the required competencies of the field training 
program,” especially with respect to how officers effectively address incidents involving persons 
with mental illness or intellectual disability, and to update the training accordingly.138  There is 
                                                 
131 See Penal Code section 832; 13510; 13511. 
132 Penal Code section 832(e). 
133 Penal Code section 832(g). 
134 Penal Code section 13511; Exhibit E, POST’s List of Basic Training Academies, 
https://post.ca.gov/basic-training-academies (accessed on January 18, 2019). 
135 Penal Code section 13515.27(a-b) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
136 Penal Code section 13515.27(c) (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
137 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 11, Impact on Law 
Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/crisis-intervention-behavioral-health-training (accessed on 
January 18, 2019). 
138 Penal Code section 13515.295 (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 

https://post.ca.gov/basic-training-academies
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nothing in the plain language of section 13515.295 that imposes any express requirements on 
local government, and the claimants have made no argument and presented no evidence that 
section 13515.295 imposes additional activities or costs.  As noted above, POST implemented 
the requirement in 13515.295 by adding, after review, “an additional competency 12.7.09 
(Address Issues Related to Stigma)” to “all Field Training Programs and Police Training 
Program.”139  The POST competency 12.7.09 has not been pled in this test claim.   
Moreover, the claimants, in their Test Claim narrative and declarations, have not alleged that 
Penal Code sections 13515.26, 13515.27, and 13515.295 impose any new state-mandated 
activities or costs on local government.   
Accordingly, Penal Code sections 13515.26, 13515.27, and 13515.295 do not impose any state-
mandated activities on local government. 

C. Penal Code Section 13515.29, Which Requires Prospective FTOs to Receive Four 
Hours of Training as Part of the FTO Course That Addresses How to Interact 
with Persons with Mental Illness or Intellectual Disability, Does Not Mandate a 
New Program or Higher Level of Service or Result in Increased Costs Mandated 
by the State Since There Is No Requirement for the Law Enforcement Employer 
to Develop and Present the Course, and the Total Number of Training Hours in 
the FTO Course Remains the Same. 

POST regulations require, with some exceptions, that every peace officer “following completion 
of the Regular Basic Course and before being assigned to perform general law enforcement 
uniformed patrol duties without direct and immediate supervision, to complete a POST-approved 
Field Training Program.”140  POST regulations further provide, with some exceptions, that 
“[a]ny department which employs peace officers and/or Level 1 Reserve peace officers shall 
have a POST-approved Field Training Program.”141  Each department’s Field Training Program 
is required to have Field Training Officers (FTOs) to train new officers before they can be 
assigned to general law enforcement uniformed patrol duties without direct and immediate 
supervision.142  And FTOs are required to first complete a POST-certified, 40-hour, Field 
Training Officer Course before they can provide the training to other officers.143 
Statutes 2015, chapter 469 added section 13515.29 to the Penal Code to require POST to 
establish and keep updated an FTO course “relating to competencies of the field training 
program and police training program that addresses how to interact with persons with mental 

                                                 
139 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on Law 
Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training 
(accessed on January 29, 2019), page 2. 
140 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1005. 
141 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a) (Register 2015, No. 50). 
142 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a)(4).  
143 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(d); Exhibit E, PAM section D-13-4, 
Field Training, https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training (accessed on  
December 13, 2018). 

https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
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illness or intellectual disability.”144  That course is required to be “at least four hours of 
classroom instruction and instructor-led active learning” and “[a]ll prospective field training 
officers shall complete the course…as part of the existing field training officer program.”145   
This statute does not require local law enforcement employers to develop the training.  Rather, 
Penal Code section 13515.29 directs POST to establish and keep updated the field training 
officer course, which addresses how to interact with persons with mental illness or intellectual 
disability.  In response to Penal Code section 13515.29, POST issued the following bulletin 
stating that it “utilized subject matter experts to incorporate the 4 hours of crisis intervention 
behavioral health training into the FTO course, and that the FTO course will remain at 40 
hours:146 

PC 13515.29(a)  
FTOs are required to have 4 hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training 
(in addition to the mandated 8 hours of training required by PC 13515(a)(1)) as 
part of the Field Training Officer Course.  POST has utilized subject matter 
experts to incorporate the 4 hours of CIT training into the FTO course.  The FTO 
course will remain at 40 hours.147 

And POST has certified several entities, including community colleges, to present the FTO 
training.148  Thus, the local agency employer is not required by state law to present the FTO 
course. 
Although the local law enforcement employer may incur costs for its prospective FTOs to attend 
the FTO course, the Commission finds that Penal Code section 13515.29 does not impose a new 
program or higher level of service, or result in increased costs mandated by the state since the 
total number hours required by the state for the existing FTO course did not increase as a result 
of the test claim statute.  The plain language of the statute requires the updated training to be 
“part of the existing field training officer program,” and POST has clarified that the FTO course 
remains at 40 hours.   

                                                 
144 Penal Code section 13515.29(a) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
145 Penal Code section 13515.29(b)(c) (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
146 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention and Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on 
Law Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training 
(accessed on January 23, 2019), emphasis added. 
147 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention and Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on 
Law Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training 
(accessed on January 29, 2019), emphasis added. 
148 Exhibit E, California POST Course Catalog, list of certified presenters for the FTO program, 
https://catalog.post.ca.gov/PresenterCourseDescription.aspx?crs_no=31725&crs_title=FIELD+T
RAINING+OFFICER&numPresentations=17&pageId=10 (accessed on January 23, 2019). 

https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
https://catalog.post.ca.gov/PresenterCourseDescription.aspx?crs_no=31725&crs_title=FIELD+TRAINING+OFFICER&numPresentations=17&pageId=10
https://catalog.post.ca.gov/PresenterCourseDescription.aspx?crs_no=31725&crs_title=FIELD+TRAINING+OFFICER&numPresentations=17&pageId=10
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In this respect, the requirements of section 13515.29 are similar to those in the statute at issue in 
County of Los Angeles II.149  In that case, the County sought reimbursement for updated 
domestic violence training for peace officers, required to be completed every two years by Penal 
Code section 13519(e).150  The test claim statute stated that the training “shall be funded from 
existing resources” and further stated the Legislature’s intent “not to increase the annual training 
costs of local government.”151  The Test Claim alleged that although POST bore the cost of 
producing two-hour telecourses on domestic violence, POST did not provide for any local law 
enforcement salary reimbursement for attendance at the training, and thus the County sought 
reimbursement for those costs.152  The Commission found in the test claim proceedings that 
POST allows flexibility for local law enforcement agencies to choose training to meet their 
needs, and that the two-hour training could be fit into the existing 24 hours of POST-required 
training every two years and, thus, there were no increased costs mandated by the state.153  The 
County disagreed, arguing that it could not simply eliminate another training course to make 
room for domestic violence training without incurring costs.154  The court concluded that even 
though the County would “lose some flexibility” in selecting training requirements for its 
officers, the statute did not mandate a higher level of service, or shift costs from the state to the 
local governments, or impose increased costs mandated by the state because the total number of 
training hours could remain the same: 

Based upon principles discernable from the cases discussed, we find that in the 
instant case, the legislation does not mandate a “higher level of service.”  In the 
case of an existing program, an increase in existing costs does not result in a 
reimbursement requirement.  Indeed, “costs” for purposes of Constitution article 
XIII B, section 6 does not equal every increase in a locality’s budget resulting 
from compliance with a new state directive. Rather, the state must be attempting 
to divest itself of its responsibility to provide fiscal support for a program, or 
forcing a new program on a locality for which it is ill-equipped to allocate 
funding. 
. . . .  POST training and certification is ongoing and extensive, and local law 
enforcement agencies may chose [sic] from a menu of course offerings to fulfill 
the 24-hour requirement.  Adding domestic violence training obviously may 
displace other courses from the menu, or require the adding of courses.  Officer 
downtime will be incurred.  However, merely by adding a course requirement to 
POST’s certification, the state has not shifted from itself to the County the 
burdens of state government.  Rather, it has directed local law enforcement 

                                                 
149 County of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates (2003) 110 Cal.App.4th 1176 
(County of Los Angeles II). 
150 The requirement is now in Penal Code section 13519(g). 
151 County of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates 110 Cal.App.4th 1176, 1179. 
152 County of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates 110 Cal.App.4th 1176, 1181. 
153 County of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates 110 Cal.App.4th 1176, 1181, 1184. 
154 County of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates 110 Cal.App.4th 1176, 1181, 1187. 
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agencies to reallocate their training resources in a certain manner by mandating 
the inclusion of domestic violence training. 
. . . . Every increase in cost that results from a new state directive does not 
automatically result in a valid subvention claim where, as here, the directive can 
be complied with by a minimal reallocation of resources within the entity seeking 
reimbursement.  Thus, while there may be a mandate, there are no increased costs 
mandated by Penal Code section 13519.155   

As was the case in County of Los Angeles II, local agencies in this case will not incur any 
additional costs for prospective FTOs to attend four hours of training required by section 
13515.29.  The training is part of the existing 40-hour FTO course that all prospective FTOs are 
required to take.  Thus, the total number of training hours required by the state remains the same. 
Accordingly, Penal Code section 13515.29 does not mandate a new program or higher level of 
service or result in increased costs mandated by the state. 

D. Penal Code Section 13515.28, Which Requires Assigned or Appointed FTO’s to 
Receive an Additional Eight Hours of Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health 
Training to Better Train New Peace Officers on How to Effectively Interact with 
Persons with Mental Illness or Intellectual Disability, Imposes a Reimbursable 
State-Mandated Program on City and County Law Enforcement Agencies, and 
Police Protection Districts That Wholly Supplant the Law Enforcement 
Functions of the County Within their Jurisdiction. 
1. Penal Code section 13515.28 imposes new FTO training requirements on 

local law enforcement agencies. 
As indicated in the section above, before a law enforcement agency can assign or appoint a peace 
officer as an FTO to provide field training to other officers, the peace officer is required to first 
complete a POST-certified, 40-hour, Field Training Officer Course.156    
Penal Code section 13515.28, enacted by Statutes 2015, chapter 469, now requires assigned or 
appointed FTOs, except those specified FTOs who have previous similar training, to complete an 
additional eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training by a date certain, in order 
to better train new peace officers on how to effectively interact with persons with mental illness 
or intellectual disability.  Section 13515.28 states the following: 

(a)(1) The commission shall require the field training officers who provide 
instruction in the field training program to have at least eight hours of crisis 
intervention behavioral health training to better train new peace officers on how to 
effectively interact with persons with mental illness or intellectual disability. This 
course shall include classroom instruction and instructor-led active learning, such 

                                                 
155 County of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates 110 Cal.App.4th 1176, 1194-1195. 
156 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(d); Exhibit E, PAM section D-13-4, 
Field Training, https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training (accessed on  
December 13, 2018). 

https://post.ca.gov/commission-procedure-d-13-field-training
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as scenario-based training, and shall be taught in segments that are at least four 
hours long. 
(2) If a field training officer has completed eight hours of crisis intervention 
behavioral health training within the past 24 months, or if a field training officer 
has completed 40 hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training, the 
requirement described in paragraph (1) shall not apply. 
(b) The crisis intervention behavioral health training shall address issues relating 
to stigma, shall be culturally relevant and appropriate, and shall include all of the 
following topics: 
(1) The cause and nature of mental illnesses and intellectual disabilities. 
(2)(A) How to identify indicators of mental illness, intellectual disability, and 
substance use disorders. 
(B) How to distinguish between mental illness, intellectual disability, and 
substance use disorders. 
(C) How to respond appropriately in a variety of situations involving persons with 
mental illness, intellectual disability, and substance use disorders. 
(3) Conflict resolution and deescalation techniques for potentially dangerous 
situations. 
(4) Appropriate language usage when interacting with potentially emotionally 
distressed persons. 
(5) Community and state resources available to serve persons with mental illness 
or intellectual disability, and how these resources can be best utilized by law 
enforcement. 
(6) The perspective of individuals or families who have experiences with persons 
with mental illness, intellectual disability, and substance use disorders. 
(c) Field training officers assigned or appointed before January 1, 2017, shall 
complete the crisis intervention behavioral health training by June 30, 2017. Field 
training officers assigned or appointed on or after January 1, 2017, shall complete 
the crisis intervention behavioral health training within 180 days of assignment or 
appointment. 
(d) This section does not prevent an agency from requiring its field training 
officers to complete additional hours of crisis intervention behavioral health 
training or requiring its field training officers to complete that training earlier than 
as required by this section.157 

The claimants alleged in their Test Claim that section 13515.28 requires eight hours of repeated 
or continuing crisis intervention behavioral health training every 24 months.158  Finance 

                                                 
157 Penal Code section 13515.28 (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
158 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 12-13. 
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interprets the test claim statute to require eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral health 
training only once per appointed or assigned FTO.159  The claimants concede this issue in their 
comments on the Draft Proposed Decision.160 
The Commission finds that eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral health training is 
required one time per employee providing training as an FTO, and not every 24 months as 
alleged by the claimant.  This interpretation is supported by the plain language of Penal Code 
section 13515.28, the legislative history of SB 29, and POST’s implementation of the test claim 
statute. 
First, nothing in the plain language of Penal Code section 13515.28 suggests the training must be 
repeated every 24 months, as the claimants suggested in the Test Claim.  Unlike Penal Code 
section 13515.27, which expressly provides for a separate three-hour “continuing training 
course” on similar subject matter,161 the Legislature did not use that language in Penal Code 
section 13515.28.  Instead, Penal Code section 13515.28(c) requires the training to be completed 
by June 30, 2017 for FTO’s assigned or appointed before January 1, 2017 or within 180 days of 
assignment or appointment for FTOs assigned thereafter, rather than incorporated into FTOs’ 
normal continuing training hours.  As discussed in the Background, all peace officers are 
required to have at least 24 hours of continuing training every two years, at least 12 hours of 
which must relate to “perishable skills,” and at least two hours of which must relate to 
communication skills.162  In addition, FTOs are required to have at least 24 hours of “update 
training” every three years, relating to the assignment as an FTO.  In accordance with the 
regulations, the updated training for FTOs can be satisfied either by completing a POST-certified 
“Field Training Officer Update Course,” or “Completing 24 hours of department-specific 
training in the field training topics contained in the Field Training Officer Update Course.”163  
The Legislature is presumed to be aware of the state of the law,164 and rather than direct POST to 
include crisis intervention behavioral health training within the continuing training requirements 
for all peace officers, or in the Field Training Officer Update Course specifically, Penal Code 
section 13515.28 instead articulates a specific training requirement (eight hours of crisis 
intervention for FTOs) and a specific time frame in which it must be completed (before June 30, 
2017 for existing FTOs, and within 180 days for FTOs assigned after January 1, 2017).165  
Section 13515.28(d) further states that “[t]his section does not prevent an agency from requiring 
its field training officers to complete additional hours of crisis intervention behavioral health 
training.”  Thus, the plain language of section 13515.28 requires eight hours of crisis 
intervention behavioral health training one time per officer appointed or assigned as an FTO.  

                                                 
159 Exhibit B, Finance’s Comments on the Test Claim, page 2. 
160 Exhibit D, Claimants’ Comments on the Draft Proposed Decision, page 1. 
161 Penal Code section 13515.27 (Stats. 2015, ch. 468). 
162 See California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1005(d)(4) (Register 2015, No. 50). 
163 See California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(d)(1) (Register 2015, No. 50). 
164 Arthur Andersen v. Superior Court (1998) 67 Cal.App.4th 1481, 1500.  
165 Penal Code section 13515.28 (Stats. 2015, ch. 469). 
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The statute allows training in addition to the required eight hours, but does not require training 
every 24 months as previously alleged by the claimants.166 
The legislative history further supports this interpretation.  The Senate Third Reading analysis of 
Senate Bill 29, as amended August 31, 2015, states the following: 

1) Requires field training officers who provide instruction in the field training 
program to have at least eight hours of crisis intervention behavioral health 
training to better train new peace officers to effectively interact with persons with 
mental illness or intellectual disability.  Training should be taught segments that 
are at least four hours long. 
2) Excludes a field training officer who has completed eight hours of crisis 
intervention behavioral health training within the past 24 months, or 40 hours of 
crisis intervention behavioral health training, from the training requirement. 
3) Specifies that field training officers assigned or appointed before January 1, 
2017, shall complete the crisis intervention behavioral health training by June 30, 
2017.  Field training officers assigned or appointed on or after January 1, 2017, 
shall complete the crisis intervention course within 180 days of assignment or 
appointment.167 

Nothing in the bill analyses suggests that the training must be repeated.168  The bill analyses 
further state, in terms of fiscal effects: 

1) Reimbursable state mandated costs in the $2.57 million (General Fund) range 
initially and $600,000 ongoing to backfill for officers participating in the training. 
There are currently 482 cities and 58 counties in California. To the extent local 
agency expenditures qualify as a reimbursable state mandate, agencies could 
claim reimbursement of those costs for missed work hours for all field training 
officers in training.169 

Accordingly, the bill analysis suggests that the test claim statute could have significant initial 
costs, but much smaller ongoing costs; nothing in the plain language suggests that this training is 
required to be repeated by FTOs, and the legislative history indicates that the initial costs, to send 
all or nearly all existing FTOs to the eight hour training, are projected to be much larger than the 
ongoing costs to “backfill” as new FTOs are appointed or assigned.  If the intent of the 
Legislature is an eight-hour training that must be repeated, there is no reason that projected initial 
costs would be so far out of proportion to projected ongoing costs.  

                                                 
166 See Exhibit D, Claimants’ Comments on the Draft Proposed Decision [Claimants 
acknowledge and concede this conclusion]. 
167 Exhibit A, Test Claim, page 35 [Senate Third Reading Analysis of SB 29, as amended August 
31, 2015, p. 1] 
168 See also, Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 39-40 [Senate Unfinished Business Analysis of SB 29, 
as amended August 31, 2015].  
169 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 38; 45 [Senate Third Reading, p. 4; Senate Unfinished Business 
Analysis of SB 29, as amended August 31, 2015, p. 7]. 
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Finally, POST interprets section 13515.28 as imposing a one-time training requirement per FTO 
as follows: 

Field Training Officers (FTO) will complete 8 hours of crisis intervention 
behavioral health training (CIT) as follows; 

• FTOs assigned or appointed on or before January 1, 2017 shall complete 
the training by June 30, 2017 

• FTOs assigned or appointed after January 1, 2017 shall complete the 
training within 180 days of assignment or appointment 

FTOs are exempted if they have attended; 

• a 40 hour CIT course or 

• an 8 hour or more CIT course since October 3, 2013, that meets the 
criteria enumerated in PC13515.28(a)(1)170 

POST is the agency charged with implementing the statute and its interpretation has been 
adopted within POST regulations,171 and thus, its interpretation is entitled to great weight.172 
Therefore, Penal Code section 13515.28 requires each FTO assigned or appointed before  
January 1, 2017 to have one-time crisis intervention behavioral health training (to consist of at 
least eight hours of training that includes the topics required by section 13515.28(b)) by  
June 30, 2017, and each FTO assigned or appointed after January 1, 2017 is required to have the 
same one-time training within 180 days.  Nothing in the test claim statute indicates that the eight-
hour crisis intervention training called for in section 13515.28(a) must be repeated every 24 
months, as the claimants suggest.173 
Although the requirements of section 13515.28 are expressly directed to the officers themselves, 
the requirements imposed on the officers fall on the local law enforcement agencies required by 
section 1004 of the POST regulations to have a Field Training Program.  The training of the 
officers occurs within the scope of employment and their appointment or assignment as an FTO 
by the employer.174  In addition, under the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), which 

                                                 
170 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on Law 
Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training 
(accessed on January 29, 2019). 
171 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(d)(3). 
172 Yamaha Corp. of America v. State Board of Equalization (1998) 19 Cal.4th 1, 12-13. 
173 See, e.g. Exhibit A, Test Claim, page 20 [Declaration of Deborah McIntyre, Finance Director 
for the City of South Lake Tahoe (asserting that the test claim statutes require FTO crisis 
intervention behavioral health training to be repeated every 24 months)]. 
174 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a), which states that “[a]ny department 
which employs peace officers and/or Level 1 Reserve peace officers shall have a POST-
approved Field Training Program.”  Section 1004(b) provides that a department that does not 
provide general law enforcement uniformed patrol services, or hires only lateral entry officers 

https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
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applies to local government employers, the employer is responsible for compensating the 
employee for job-related training time that is required and not voluntary.175   
However, Penal Code section 13515.28 does not require local law enforcement employers to 
develop or present the training.  Rather, Penal Code sections 13515.29 and 13515.295 direct 
POST to establish, review, and keep updated the field training officer course, which addresses 
how to interact with persons with mental illness or intellectual disability.  In response to Penal 
Code section 13515.28, POST created an expanded course outline for the required eight-hour 
training.176  In addition, POST issued a bulletin allowing agencies to present the course required 
by Penal Code section 13515.28 using the POST outline as follows: 

Senate Bill 29 (SB29) requires Field Training Officers who are instructors for the 
field training program to have at least 8 hours of crisis intervention behavioral 
health training.  Agencies may certify this expanded course outline (ECO) (pdf) 
and hourly distribution (pdf) through their Regional Consultant to present an 8 
hour behavioral health course that satisfies the 8 hour training requirements for 
FTOs.177 

In this case, the claimants utilized outside organizations to provide the training required by Penal 
Code section 13515.28; their officers attended training provided by California State Parks, Butte 
College Public Safety Training Center, South Bay Regional Training Consortium, Yolo County 
Sheriff’s Department, and Embassy Consulting Services.178   
Accordingly, Penal Code section 13515.28 imposes the following new requirements on local law 
enforcement agencies required to have a Field Training Program under California Code of 
Regulations, title 11, section 1004 and have appointed or assigned FTOs for that program:179 

                                                 
possessing a POST basic certificate and completed a similar POST approved Field Training 
Program may request an exemption. 
175 See Code of Federal Regulations, title 29, sections 785.27, 785.29; Garcia v. San Antonio 
Metropolitan Transit Authority et al. (1985) 469 U.S. 528. 
176 Exhibit E, “Regulation 1081 Minimum Standards for Legislatively Mandated Courses, Crisis 
Intervention Behavioral Health Training for Field Training Officers, Expanded Course Outline (8 
hours),” 
https://post.ca.gov/Portals/0/post_docs/resources/CIT/SB29_FTO_8HR_Course_ECO.pdf 
(accessed on January 23, 2019).    
177 Exhibit E, “Crisis Intervention Behavioral Health Training, Senate Bill 29, Impact on Law 
Enforcement,” https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training 
(accessed on January 29, 2019), emphasis added. 
178 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 48-61. 
179 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a), states that “[a]ny department which 
employs peace officers and/or Level 1 Reserve peace officers shall have a POST-approved Field 
Training Program.”  Section 1004(b) states that a department that does not provide general law 
enforcement uniformed patrol services, or hires only lateral entry officers possessing a POST 

https://post.ca.gov/Portals/0/post_docs/resources/CIT/SB29_FTO_8HR_Course_ECO.pdf
https://post.ca.gov/FTO-Crisis-Intervention-Behavioral-Health-Training
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• Ensure that each FTO assigned or appointed prior to January 1, 2017 shall attend a 
one-time, eight-hour training on crisis intervention and behavioral health before June 
30, 2017.  (Penal Code section 13515.28, Statutes 2015, chapter 469.) 

• Ensure that each FTO assigned or appointed after January 1, 2017 shall attend a one-
time, eight-hour training on crisis intervention and behavioral health within 180 days 
of being assigned or appointed as an FTO.  Penal Code section 13515.28, Statutes 
2015, chapter 469.) 

FTOs who have completed 40 hours of crisis intervention and behavioral health training 
or who have completed eight hours of crisis intervention and behavioral health training in 
the past 24 months, are exempt from these requirements.  In addition, reimbursement is 
not required for the local law enforcement employer to develop or present the training 
since these activities are not mandated. 

2. The New Requirements of Penal Code Section 13515.28 Are Mandated by the 
State Only on City and County Law Enforcement Agencies, and Police 
Protection Districts That Wholly Supplant the Law Enforcement Functions 
of the County Within their Jurisdiction, That Are Required to Have a Field 
Training Program and Have Appointed or Assigned FTOs for that Program. 

As indicated in the Background, the minimum training standards and rules for peace officers that 
are outlined in Penal Code sections 13510 et seq. (which includes section 13515.28) “shall apply 
to those cities, counties, cities and counties, and districts receiving state aid pursuant to this 
chapter . . . .”180  Participating agencies agree to abide by the standards established by POST and 
may apply to POST for state aid.181  Although this statutory language only requires local 
agencies to comply with the training standards as a condition of their participation in POST, the 
court in County of Los Angeles II held that POST training “for all practical purposes” is not 
voluntary.182  Like the facts in County of Los Angeles II, this case also addresses peace officer 
training required by state law.  Thus, the holding in County of Los Angeles II applies in this case.   
However, the Third District Court of Appeal, in Department of Finance v. Commission on State 
Mandates (POBRA) held that school districts, community college districts, and special districts 
that are permitted by statute, but not required by state law, to employ peace officers who 
supplement the general law enforcement units of cities and counties, are not legally compelled by 
state law to comply with the new requirements and, thus, were not eligible claimants entitled to 

                                                 
basic certificate and who have completed a similar POST approved Field Training Program may 
request an exemption and not comply with this requirement. 
180 Penal Code section 13510(a). 
181 Penal Code sections 13522 and 13523. 
182 County of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates 110 Cal.App.4th 1176, 1194 
[“POST certification is, for all practical purposes, not a ‘voluntary’ program and therefore the 
County must, in order to comply with [the test claim statute], add domestic violence training to 
its curriculum.”]. 
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reimbursement under article XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution.183  The other law 
enforcement agencies at issue in the POBRA case (cities, counties, and special police protection 
districts that wholly supplant the law enforcement functions of the county within the jurisdiction 
of that district pursuant to Government Code section 53060.7), were found to be prima facie 
eligible for reimbursement because they have “as an ordinary, principal, and mandatory duty the 
provision of policing services within their territorial jurisdiction.”  The court stated the 
following: 

The Commission notes that Carmel Valley Fire Protection Dist. v. State 
characterizes police protection as one of “the most essential and basic functions of 
local government.”  (Carmel Valley Fire Protection Dist. v. State, supra, 190 
Cal.App.3d at p. 537, 234 Cal.Rptr. 795, quoting Verreos v. City and County of 
San Francisco (1976) 63 Cal.App.3d 86, 107, 133 Cal.Rptr. 649.)  However, that 
characterization is in the context of cities, counties, and districts that have as an 
ordinary, principal, and mandatory duty the provision of policing services within 
their territorial jurisdiction.  A fire protection district perforce must hire 
firefighters to supply that protection. 
Thus, as to cities, counties, and such districts, new statutory duties that increase 
the costs of such services are prima facie reimbursable.  This is true, 
notwithstanding a potential argument that such a local government's decision is 
voluntary in part, as to the number of personnel it hires.  (See San Diego Unified 
School Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th at p. 888, 16 Cal.Rptr.3d 466, 94 P.3d 589.)  A 
school district, for example, has an analogous basic and mandatory duty to 
educate students.  In the course of carrying out that duty, some “discretionary” 
expulsions will necessarily occur.  (Id. at p. 887, fn. 22, 16 Cal.Rptr.3d 466, 94 
P.3d 589.)  Accordingly, San Diego Unified School Dist. suggests additional costs 
of “discretionary” expulsions should not be considered voluntary.  Where, as a 
practical matter, it is inevitable that certain actions will occur in the 
administration of a mandatory program, costs attendant to those actions cannot 
fairly and reasonably be characterized as voluntary under the rationale of City of 
Merced.  (See San Diego Unified School Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th at pp. 887-888, 
16 Cal.Rptr.3d 466, 94 P.3d 589.) 
However, the districts in issue are authorized, but not required, to provide their 
own peace officers and do not have provision of police protection as an essential 
and basic function.  It is not essential unless there is a showing that, as a practical 
matter, exercising the authority to hire peace officers is the only reasonable means 
to carry out their core mandatory functions.  As there is no such showing in the 
record, the Commission erred in finding that POBRA constitutes a state-mandated 

                                                 
183 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (POBRA) (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 
1355, 1357 
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program for school districts and the special districts identified in Government 
Code section 3301.184 

Thus, only city and county law enforcement agencies, and those police protection districts that 
wholly supplant the law enforcement functions of the county within their jurisdiction pursuant to 
Government Code section 53060.7, are mandated by the state to comply with the new training 
requirements imposed by Penal Code sections 13515.28. 

3. The New Requirements Imposed by Penal Code Section 13515.28 Constitute 
a New Program or Higher Level of Service. 

State mandate reimbursement is not required for any and all costs that might be incurred by local 
government as an incident of a change in law or regulation.  Alleged costs must be mandated by 
the state, and must constitute a new program or higher level of service, within the meaning of 
article XIII B, section 6.  The California Supreme Court explained in County of Los Angeles v. 
State of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46: 

Looking at the language of section 6 then, it seems clear that by itself the term 
“higher level of service” is meaningless.  It must be read in conjunction with the 
predecessor phrase “new program” to give it meaning.  Thus read, it is apparent 
that the subvention requirement for increased or higher level of service is directed 
to state mandated increases in the services provided by local agencies in existing 
“programs.”  But the term “program” itself is not defined in article XIII B.  What 
programs then did the electorate have in mind when section 6 was adopted?  We 
conclude that the drafters and the electorate had in mind the commonly 
understood meanings of the term – programs that carry out the governmental 
function of providing services to the public, or laws which, to implement a state 
policy, impose unique requirements on local governments and do not apply 
generally to all residents and entities in the state.185  

Here, section 13515.28 requires an additional eight hours of training relating to crisis 
intervention behavioral health, and requires that training to be completed within a six-month 
period (depending on when an FTO was appointed or assigned).  This training is above and 
beyond existing training requirements imposed by law.  In addition, POST interprets Penal Code 
section 13515.28 to require the development and implementation of an entirely new course of 
one-time training.   
Further, Penal Code section 13515.28 carries out the governmental function of providing a 
service to the public, and imposes unique requirements on local government that do not apply 
generally to all residents and entities in the state.  The Senate Floor Analysis  for the bill that 
added section 13515.28 states that “[p]eople with mental illnesses or intellectual disabilities are 
involved in nearly half of all police shootings…[t]he bill responds to the public’s demand to 
increase safety by mandating stronger evidence-based behavioral health training that has proven 
to reduce volatile confrontations between police officers and people with mental illnesses or 

                                                 
184 Department of Finance v. Commission on State Mandates (2009) 170 Cal.App.4th 1355, 
1367-1368 [emphasis added]. 
185 County of Los Angeles v. State of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56. 
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intellectual disabilities.”186  Thus, the additional training is required pursuant to a state policy 
that peace officers should be trained to interact with persons with mental illness or intellectual 
disability and deescalate such situations non-violently.  
Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds that the additional eight hours of training required 
by Penal Code section 13515.28 constitutes a new program or higher level of service.  

4. The New Requirements Mandated by Penal Code section 13515.28 Result in 
Increased Costs Mandated by the State. 

For the mandated activities to constitute reimbursable state-mandated activities under article  
XIII B, section 6 of the California Constitution, they must result in local agencies incurring 
increased costs mandated by the state.  Government Code section 17514 defines “costs mandated 
by the state” as any increased cost that a local agency or school district incurs as a result of any 
statute or executive order that mandates a new program or higher level of service. Government 
Code section 17564(a) further requires that no claim shall be made nor shall any payment be 
made unless the claim exceeds $1,000.  In addition, a finding of costs mandated by the state 
means that none of the exceptions in Government Code section 17556 apply to deny the claim. 
The claimants have alleged new costs incurred to comply with Penal Code section 13515.28, and 
have alleged that there are no ongoing offsetting revenues.  Specifically, the City of South Lake 
Tahoe alleges $11,150 in costs mandated by the state for fiscal year 2016-2017, and projects 
$11,485 in fiscal year 2018-2019, for officers to attend the eight hour training course required by 
section 13515.28.187  The City of Claremont alleges $2,981 net costs (after a one-time grant) for 
fiscal year 2016-2017, and projects $5,718 for fiscal year 2018-2019, without the grant, for its 
officers to attend the eight-hour training.  The claimants have submitted documentation of their 
officers’ time and tuition expenses to attend the required training, which are authenticated by 
declarations sworn under penalty of perjury.188  And, as discussed above, the training required by 
section 13515.28 is required only one time per FTO employee assigned or appointed; therefore 
some claimants may experience recurring costs when new FTOs are assigned, but not ongoing 
costs for FTOs who have already completed the required eight-hour training.   
Moreover, there is no evidence in the record or in the law that local agencies have received any 
state aid from POST, or other additional revenue, sufficient to cover the costs of the new 
mandated activities pursuant to Government Code section 17556(e), or that the other exceptions 
to costs mandated by the state in section 17556 apply to deny this claim.  
Based on the foregoing, the Commission finds, pursuant to Government Code section 17514, that 
the new requirements mandated by Penal Code section 13515.28 result in increased costs 
mandated by the state.  In addition, any grants or other state funding that may be received by an 
eligible claimant will be identified in Parameters and Guidelines as offsetting revenue. 

                                                 
186 See, Exhibit A, Test Claim, page 38 [Senate Third Reading Analysis of SB 29, as amended 
August 31, 2015, p. 4]. 
187 Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 13-15. 
188 See Exhibit A, Test Claim, pages 47-55 [Cost Documentation for Each Officer]; 20-27 
[Declarations]. 
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V. Conclusion 
Based on the foregoing analysis, the Commission partially approves this Test Claim and finds 
that Penal Code section 13515.28, as added by Statutes 2015, chapter 469, imposes a 
reimbursable state-mandated program for city and county law enforcement agencies, and those 
police protection districts that wholly supplant the law enforcement functions of the county 
within their jurisdiction pursuant to Government Code section 53060.7, that are required to have 
a Field Training Program under California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004 and have 
appointed or assigned FTOs for that program, to:189 

• Ensure that each FTO assigned or appointed prior to January 1, 2017 shall attend a 
one-time, eight-hour training on crisis intervention and behavioral health before  
June 30, 2017.  (Penal Code section 13515.28, Stats 2015, ch. 469.) 

• Ensure that each FTO assigned or appointed after January 1, 2017 shall attend a one-
time, eight-hour training on crisis intervention and behavioral health within 180 days 
of being assigned or appointed as an FTO.  (Penal Code section 13515.28, Stats 2015, 
ch. 469.) 

FTOs who have completed 40 hours of crisis intervention and behavioral health training 
or who have completed eight hours of crisis intervention and behavioral health training in 
the past 24 months, are exempt from these requirements.  In addition, reimbursement is 
not required for the local law enforcement employer to develop or present the training 
since these activities are not mandated. 

All other statutes and code sections pled, and claims for reimbursement asserted are denied. 

                                                 
189 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1004(a), states that “[a]ny department which 
employs peace officers and/or Level 1 Reserve peace officers shall have a POST-approved Field 
Training Program.”  Section 1004(b) states that a department that does not provide general law 
enforcement uniformed patrol services, or hires only lateral entry officers possessing a POST 
basic certificate and who have completed a similar POST approved Field Training Program may 
request an exemption and not comply with this requirement. 
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COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES

Mailing List
Last Updated: 3/22/19

Claim Number: 17-TC-06

Matter: Peace Officer Training: Mental Health/Crisis Intervention

Claimant: Cities of Claremont and South Lake Tahoe

TO ALL PARTIES, INTERESTED PARTIES, AND INTERESTED PERSONS:
Each commission mailing list is continuously updated as requests are received to include or remove any
party or person on the mailing list. A current mailing list is provided with commission correspondence, and
a copy of the current mailing list is available upon request at any time. Except as provided otherwise by
commission rule, when a party or interested party files any written material with the commission
concerning a claim, it shall simultaneously serve a copy of the written material on the parties and interested
parties to the claim identified on the mailing list provided by the commission. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, §
1181.3.)

Manny Alvarez Jr., Executive Director, Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training
 860 Stillwater Road, Suite 100, West Sacramento, CA 95605

 Phone: (916) 227-3909
 Manny.Alvarez@post.ca.gov

Socorro Aquino, State Controller's Office
 Division of Audits, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816

 Phone: (916) 322-7522
 SAquino@sco.ca.gov

Harmeet Barkschat, Mandate Resource Services,LLC
 5325 Elkhorn Blvd. #307, Sacramento, CA 95842

 Phone: (916) 727-1350
 harmeet@calsdrc.com

Lacey Baysinger, State Controller's Office
 Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816

 Phone: (916) 324-0254
 lbaysinger@sco.ca.gov

Cindy Black, City Clerk, City of St. Helena
 1480 Main Street, St. Helena, CA 94574

 Phone: (707) 968-2742
 ctzafopoulos@cityofsthelena.org

Allan Burdick, 
7525 Myrtle Vista Avenue, Sacramento, CA 95831

 Phone: (916) 203-3608
 allanburdick@gmail.com

J. Bradley Burgess, MGT of America
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895 La Sierra Drive, Sacramento, CA 95864
 Phone: (916)595-2646

 Bburgess@mgtamer.com
Evelyn Calderon-Yee, Bureau Chief, State Controller's Office

 Local Government Programs and Services, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
 Phone: (916) 324-5919

 ECalderonYee@sco.ca.gov
Gwendolyn Carlos, State Controller's Office

 Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
 Phone: (916) 323-0706

 gcarlos@sco.ca.gov
Daniel Carrigg, Deputy Executive Director/Legislative Director, League of California Cities

 1400 K Street, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95814
 Phone: (916) 658-8222

 Dcarrigg@cacities.org
Annette Chinn, Cost Recovery Systems,Inc.

 Claimant Representative
 705-2 East Bidwell Street, #294, Folsom, CA 95630

 Phone: (916) 939-7901
 achinncrs@aol.com

Carolyn Chu, Senior Fiscal and Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office
 925 L Street, Suite 1000, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 319-8326
 Carolyn.Chu@lao.ca.gov

Michael Coleman, Coleman Advisory Services
 2217 Isle Royale Lane, Davis, CA 95616

 Phone: (530) 758-3952
 coleman@muni1.com

Anita Dagan, Manager, Local Reimbursement Section, State Controller's Office
 Local Government Programs and Services Division, Bureau of Payments, 3301 C Street, Suite 740,

Sacramento, CA 95816
 Phone: (916) 324-4112
 Adagan@sco.ca.gov

Donna Ferebee, Department of Finance
 915 L Street, Suite 1280, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 445-3274
 donna.ferebee@dof.ca.gov

Susan Geanacou, Department of Finance 
915 L Street, Suite 1280, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 445-3274
 susan.geanacou@dof.ca.gov

Dillon Gibbons, Legislative Representative, California Special Districts Association
 1112 I Street Bridge, Suite 200, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 442-7887
 dillong@csda.net

Jim Grottkau, Bureau Chief, Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training
 Basic Training, 860 Stillwater Road, Suite 100, West Sacramento, CA 95605
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Phone: (916) 227-3909
 Jim.Grottkau@post.ca.gov

Heather Halsey, Executive Director, Commission on State Mandates
 980 9th Street, Suite 300, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 323-3562
 heather.halsey@csm.ca.gov

Sunny Han, Project Manager, City of Huntington Beach
 2000 Main Street, Huntington Beach, CA 92648

 Phone: (714) 536-5907
 Sunny.han@surfcity-hb.org

Chris Hill, Principal Program Budget Analyst, Department of Finance
 Local Government Unit, 915 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 445-3274
 Chris.Hill@dof.ca.gov

Edward Jewik, County of Los Angeles 
 Auditor-Controller's Office, 500 W. Temple Street, Room 603, Los Angeles, CA 90012

 Phone: (213) 974-8564
 ejewik@auditor.lacounty.gov

Matt Jones, Commission on State Mandates
 980 9th Street, Suite 300, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 323-3562
 matt.jones@csm.ca.gov

Anita Kerezsi, AK & Company
 2425 Golden Hill Road, Suite 106, Paso Robles, CA 93446

 Phone: (805) 239-7994
 akcompanysb90@gmail.com

Lisa Kurokawa, Bureau Chief for Audits, State Controller's Office
 Compliance Audits Bureau, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816

 Phone: (916) 327-3138
 lkurokawa@sco.ca.gov

Erika Li, Program Budget Manager, Department of Finance
 915 L Street, 10th Floor, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 445-3274
 erika.li@dof.ca.gov

Jill Magee, Program Analyst, Commission on State Mandates
 980 9th Street, Suite 300, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 323-3562
 Jill.Magee@csm.ca.gov

Debbie McIntyre, Finance Director, City of South Lake Tahoe
 Claimant Contact

 1901 Airport Road, South Lake Tahoe, CA 96150-7004
 Phone: (530) 542-7402

 DMcIntyre@cityofslt.us
Jane McPherson, Financial Services Director, City of Oceanside

 300 North Coast Highway, Oceanside, CA 92054
 Phone: (760) 435-3055

 JmcPherson@oceansideca.org
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Michelle Mendoza, MAXIMUS
 17310 Red Hill Avenue, Suite 340, Irvine, CA 95403

 Phone: (949) 440-0845
 michellemendoza@maximus.com

Meredith Miller, Director of SB90 Services, MAXIMUS
 3130 Kilgore Road, Suite 400, Rancho Cordova, CA 95670

 Phone: (972) 490-9990
 meredithcmiller@maximus.com

Lourdes Morales, Senior Fiscal and Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office
 925 L Street, Suite 1000, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 319-8320
 Lourdes.Morales@LAO.CA.GOV

Andy Nichols, Nichols Consulting
 1857 44th Street, Sacramento, CA 95819

 Phone: (916) 455-3939
 andy@nichols-consulting.com

Arthur Palkowitz, Artiano Shinoff
 2488 Historic Decatur Road, Suite 200, San Diego, CA 92106

 Phone: (619) 232-3122
 apalkowitz@as7law.com

Johnnie Pina, Legislative Policy Analyst, League of Cities
 1400 K Street, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 658-8214
 jpina@cacities.org

Adam Pirrie, Finance Director, City of Claremont
 Claimant Contact

 207 Harvard Ave, Claremont, CA 91711
 Phone: (909) 399-5356

 apirrie@ci.claremont.ca.us
Jai Prasad, County of San Bernardino

 Office of Auditor-Controller, 222 West Hospitality Lane, 4th Floor, San Bernardino, CA 92415-0018
 Phone: (909) 386-8854

 jai.prasad@atc.sbcounty.gov
Mark Rewolinski, MAXIMUS

 808 Moorefield Park Drive, Suite 205, Richmond, VA 23236
 Phone: (949) 440-0845

 markrewolinski@maximus.com
Brian Rutledge, Budget Analyst, Department of Finance

 Local Government Unit, 915 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
 Phone: (916) 445-3274

 Brian.Rutledge@dof.ca.gov
Theresa Schweitzer, City of Newport Beach

 100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
 Phone: (949) 644-3140

 tschweitzer@newportbeachca.gov
Camille Shelton, Chief Legal Counsel, Commission on State Mandates

 980 9th Street, Suite 300, Sacramento, CA 95814
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Phone: (916) 323-3562
 camille.shelton@csm.ca.gov

Carla Shelton, Commission on State Mandates
 980 9th Street, Suite 300, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 323-3562
 carla.shelton@csm.ca.gov

Natalie Sidarous, Chief, State Controller's Office
 Local Government Programs and Services Division, 3301 C Street, Suite 740, Sacramento, CA

95816
 Phone: 916-445-8717

 NSidarous@sco.ca.gov
Michelle Skaggs Lawrence, City Manager, City of Oceanside

 300 North Coast Highway, Oceanside, CA 92054
 Phone: (760) 435-3055

 citymanager@oceansideca.org
Jim Spano, Chief, Mandated Cost Audits Bureau, State Controller's Office

 Division of Audits, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
 Phone: (916) 323-5849

 jspano@sco.ca.gov
Dennis Speciale, State Controller's Office

 Division of Accounting and Reporting, 3301 C Street, Suite 700, Sacramento, CA 95816
 Phone: (916) 324-0254

 DSpeciale@sco.ca.gov
Joe Stephenshaw, Director, Senate Budget & Fiscal Review Committee

 California State Senate, State Capitol Room 5019, Sacramento, CA 95814
 Phone: (916) 651-4103

 Joe.Stephenshaw@sen.ca.gov
Derk Symons, Staff Finance Budget Analyst, Department of Finance

 Local Government Unit, 915 L Street, Sacramento, CA 95814
 Phone: (916) 445-3274

 Derk.Symons@dof.ca.gov
Jolene Tollenaar, MGT of America

 2251 Harvard Street, Suite 134, Sacramento, CA 95815
 Phone: (916) 243-8913

 jolenetollenaar@gmail.com
Evelyn Tseng, City of Newport Beach

 100 Civic Center Drive, Newport Beach, CA 92660
 Phone: (949) 644-3127

 etseng@newportbeachca.gov
Brian Uhler, Principal Fiscal & Policy Analyst, Legislative Analyst's Office

 925 L Street, Suite 1000, Sacramento, CA 95814
 Phone: (916) 319-8328

 Brian.Uhler@LAO.CA.GOV
Renee Wellhouse, David Wellhouse & Associates, Inc. 

 3609 Bradshaw Road, H-382, Sacramento, CA 95927
 Phone: (916) 797-4883

 dwa-renee@surewest.net
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Patrick Whitnell, General Counsel, League of California Cities
 1400 K Street, Suite 400, Sacramento, CA 95814

 Phone: (916) 658-8281
 pwhitnell@cacities.org

Hasmik Yaghobyan, County of Los Angeles
 Auditor-Controller's Office, 500 W. Temple Street, Room 603, Los Angeles, CA 90012

 Phone: (213) 974-9653
 hyaghobyan@auditor.lacounty.gov
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