Hearing: January 19, 1995 Claim: CSM-4403 Staff: Steve Zimmerman g:\sfz\stolvnot\scecalc.wpd

STATEWIDE COST ESTIMATE CALCULATION

Vehicle Code Section 10500 Chapter 337, Statutes of 1990

Stolen Vehicle Notification

Mandate Background

Chapter 337, Statutes of 1990, amended Vehicle Code section 10500 to require that, within 48 hours of being notified of the recovery of a stolen vehicle (excluding weekends and holidays), the original reporting law enforcement agency must now notify the reporting party of the location and condition of the recovered vehicle. This expands previously existing requirements, and is a reimbursable state mandated program to the extent that it does so.

Reimbursable Costs

A Scope of Mandate

Law enforcement agencies which originate a stolen vehicle report shall be reimbursed for the increased costs of notifying the party that reported the vehicle stolen of its recovery and the location and condition of the vehicle. The costs which are reimbursable are limited by the following requirements:

- 1. The original reporting law enforcement agency shall not be the same agency that recovers the vehicle, except as noted in Item 2 below.
- 2. When the reporting party is not the owner of the vehicle, the original reporting agency and the recovering agency may be the same.
- B. Reimbursable Activities

For each eligible claimant, the following is reimbursable:

The cost of notifying the reporting party, by telephone or in writing, of the location and the condition of the recovered vehicle.

Methodology and Data

In developing this statewide cost estimate, claimant obtained information on the numbers of recovered stolen vehicles from a statewide database (the Uniform Crime Report) maintained by the Department of Justice (DOJ). Since the DOJ is responsible for collecting statistical information on recovered stolen vehicles from all California law enforcement agencies, the numbers provided by

DOJ represent 100 percent of California's total population of recovered stolen vehicles for the times periods indicated.

Staff also received unit cost estimate information from claimant. The estimated unit costs of \$2.50 to \$2.75 per notification call were based on the claimant's surveyed costs of roughly \$30 to \$33 per hour for a Dispatcher/Station Clerk position in Los Angeles and San Bernardino counties, as indicated. The parameters and guidelines adopted by the Commission provide that each contact may take up to ten minutes to complete. For purposes of this estimate, staff took the midpoint of the range and assumed that each contact would take five minutes to complete. The cost per call is therefore the hourly rate divided by 12.

The reimbursement period for this mandate begins January 1, 1990.

Assumptions and Calculations

- 1. The hourly costs shown by the claimant from the survey of Los Angeles and San Bernardino counties are indicative of hourly costs reimbursable under the parameters and guidelines.
- 2. The costs experienced for providing these mandated program activities are similar for all eligible jurisdictions in the state.
- 3. The statewide cost estimate was calculated solely upon the unit cost estimate supplied by the claimant and the numbers of recovered stolen vehicles reported by DOJ in the Uniform Crime Report because it was determined that this was the most practical method of computing the estimated statewide cost of the mandated program.
- 4. The numbers of recovered stolen vehicles shown in the Uniform Crime Report have been adjusted downwards by 15 percent, at the suggestion of the claimant and with the concurrence of the staff, to allow for jurisdictions which may not file reimbursement claims.
- 5. The statewide costs are calculated as follows:

Fiscal Year	Recovery Count	Cost Per Call	Total Costs
1-91 to 6-91	34,303	\$2.500	\$85,757
1991-92	79,767	\$2.583	\$187,981
1992-93	100,189	\$2.667	\$267,170
1993-94	79,209	\$2.750	\$217,825
1994-95	83,000	\$2.750	\$228,250
1995-96	83,000	\$2.750	\$228,250
Totals			\$1,215,232

5. Because the reported costs are prior to audit and based on estimates, the statewide cost estimate of \$1,215,232 has been rounded to \$1,215,000.