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unanimously agrees that such a process is appropriate and feasible, i t  shall advise the Governor and the Legislature 
of the selected tool, and it shall post its decision on the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation's Internet Wcb 
site. Sixty days afier the decision is posted, the established process shall become efrective. 

(e) For purposes of this section,"eligible person" means a person who was convicted of an offense that req~lires him 
or her to register as a sex offender pursuant to Scction 290 and who has not been assessed with the SARA'TSO 
within the previous five years. 
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West's Annotated California Codes C~ul~entness 
Penal Code [Refs LY: Annos) 

Part 1. Of Crimes and Punishments 
'M --I illc' 9. Of Crimes Against the Person Involving Sexual Assault, and Crimes Against Public Decency and 
Good Morals [Refs 6L Annos) 

'El Chapter 5.5. Sex Offenders [L<cf's & ii1111os) 
+ tj 290.07. ~ iccessto scs offender records by persons authol-ir,tici lo adrnitristci- S,flZl\TI',"rO 

Notwithstanding any other provision of law, any person authorized by statute to administer the State Authorized 
Risk Assessment Tool for Sex Offenders and trained pursuant to Section 290.06 shall be granted access to all 
relevant records pertaining to a registered sex offender, including, but not limited to, criminal histories, sex offender 
registration records, police reports, probation and presentencing reports, judicial records and case iiles, juvenile 
records, psychological evaluations and psychiatric hospital reports, sexually violent predator treatment program 
reports, and records that have been sealed by the courts or the Department of Justice. Records and inforn~ation 
obtained under this section shall not be subject to the California Public Records Act, Chapter 3.5 (commencing with 
Secc~on6350-1ol'Di\lision 7 of Title I oS the Gcl\,cmnlcnt Code. 

(Added by S t a h  2006,c.  337 (S 13.1 12Y).;i6, cSf Sept .  20,2006,) 
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West's Annotated California Codes Currentness 
Penal Code {IieCs 'Yr. Annos) 

Part 1. Of Crimes and Punishments 
M 'I'llli. 9. Of Crimes Against the Person Involving Sexual Assault, and Crimes Against Public Decency and 
Good Morals (Refs & 1211110s) 

'Id ( 'hi~p~cr5.5 .  Sex Offenders [licfs & Anilc~d 
+ 3 290.08. Ketcnt io~~of registerccl scr  offender I-ccot-ds: time pel-iotl 

Every district attorney's office and the Deparlment of Justice shall retain records relating to a person convicted of an 
offense for which registration is required pursuant to ;i!lo11 2 0 0  for a period of 75 years after disposition of the 
case. 

(Added by St;:ts.2006, c.  337 (S.B.1128),$ 17, ell: Se171. 10,2006.) 
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West's Annotated California Codes Cun-entness 
Penal Code {fiefs cE: Annosf 

Part 1. Of Crimes and Punishments 
H I'ille 9. Of Crimes Against the Person Involving Sexual Assault, and Crimes Against Public Decency and 
Good Morals (liefs 6r Ailnos) 

'El C'haptcr 5 - 5 .  Sex Offenders [Refs 6r i111110?,) 

+ 3 290.46. Sex offender information mudc a\,ailable to public via InCerrret \Veh sitc; ollc,roing 
~rprlatcs; inforn~ation included arld restricted; offenses and offcilders included: tiotification; rnisuse 
of information; report to legislature 

(a)(l) On or before the dates specified in this section, the Department of Justice shall make available inforination 
concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to s-xti(x~290 to the public via an Internet Web site as 
specified in this section. The department shall update the Internet Web site on an ongoing basis. All inforination 
identifying the victim by name, birth date, address, or relationship to the registrant shall be excluded from the 
Internet Web site. The name or address of the person's employer and the listed person's criminal history other than 
the specific crimes for which the person is required to register shall not be included on the Internet Web site. The 
Internet Web site shall be translated into languages other than English as determined by the department. 

(2)(A) On or before July 1, 2010, the Department of Justice shall make available to the public, via an Intenlet Web 
site as specified in this section, as to any person described in subdivisions (b), (c), or (d), the following information: 

(i) The year of conviction of his or her most recent offense requiring registration pursuant to Ssc t!c :lC)(i.11; 

(ii) The year he or she was released from incarceration for that offense. 

(iii) Whether he or she was subsequently incarcerated for any other felony, if that fact is reported to the department. 
If the department has no information about a subsequent incarceration for any felony, that fact shall be noted on the 
Internet Web site. 

However, no year of conviction shall be made available to the public ui~less the department also is able to make 
available the corresponding year of release of incarceration for that offense, and the required notation regarding any 
subsequent felony. 

(B)(i) Any state facility that releases from incarceration a person who was incarcerated because of a crime for which 
he or she is required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Sck!<<~_n_-~~Q shall, within 30 days of release, provide the 
year of release for his or her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department of Justice in a manner and 
format approved by the departinent. 

(ii) Any state facility that releases a person who is required to register pursuant to Syc t1g1_3~)(!from incarceration 
whose incarceration was for a felony committed subsequently to the offense for which he or she is required to 
register shall, within 30 days of release, advise the Department of Justice of that fact. 
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(iii) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released froin incarceration a person who was ii~carcerated 
because of a criine for which he or she is required to register as a sex offender pursuant to s~:cjjc!g:Yi) shall provide 
the year of release for his or her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department of Justice in a illailner 
and format approved by the department. The information provided by the Departmeilt of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation shall be limited to information that is currently maintained in an electronic format. 

(iv) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released a person who is required to register pursuant to ' > C ~ ~ I I O I ~  

2')11 from incarceration whose incarceration was for a felony committed subsequently to the offense for which he or 
she is required to register shall advise the Department of Justice of that fact in a manner and forinat approved by the 
department. The illformation provided by the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation shall be limited to 
information that is currently maintained in an electronic format. 

(3) The State Department of Mental Health shall provide to the Department of Justice Sex Offender Tracking 
Program the names of all persons committed to its custody pursuant to Article 4 (commencing with Sqc , l~c~~ l - i ! i ~C iO)I?[' 
Clial~ter2, of Part 2 ol' Di~islol lhoi'thl: \Velhrc and I i i~l~tut~oilrCode, within 30 days of commitment, and shall 
provide the names of all of those persons released from its custody within five working days of release. 

(b)(l) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who has been convicted of the commission or the 
attempted commission of any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, paragraph (2), the Departineilt of 
Justice shall make available to the public via the Internet Web site his or her name and know11 aliases, a photograph, 
a physical description, including gender and race, date of birth, criminal history, prior adjudication as a sexually 
violent predator, the address at which the person resides, and any other information that the Department of Justice 
deems relevant, but not the information excluded pursuant to subdivision (a). 

(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses and offenders: 

(A) Sec~ioil307coinmitted with intent to violate Section 26 I , % ,  =.,288a, or 3'). 

(B) Section 309 committed with intent to violate Section 36 1, 386, 388, 288a, or m. 

(C) Pal-ajyapll(2)  or (0) of subdivisioil ( a )  o f  Scctioll261. 

(D) Section 264, l .  

(E) Section 26'). 

(F) Subdivisior& or (d) of Section 286. 

(G) Subdivisioui (a),(b),or (c) 01' Section 288, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(H) Subdivision (c) or [d) of  Section 2SSa. 

(I) Section 2883, provided that the offense is a felony 

(J) Scctio~i3884, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(K)Seclion 388.5. 
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(L) Subcl~\ ihioii (:I) or 11) C L ' S C ~ ~ I C ~ ~ I789. 

(M) Scctioii 255.7. 

(N) Any persoil who has ever been adjudicated a sexually violeilt predator, as defined in ' ~ c ~ ~ L ! o I I _ o O O ( I  L I I C0 1 '  

\b'clf;~rcand lii~t~(iltlons C'odtx. 

(c)(l) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who has been convicted of the cornrnission or the 
attempted commission of any of the offenses listed in paragraph (2), the Department of Justice shall make available 
to the public via the Intenlet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, a physical description, 
including gender and race, date of birth, criminal history, the cornnlunity of residence and ZIP Code in which the 
person resides or the county in which the person is registered as a transient, and any other illformation that the 
Department of Justice deeins relevant, but not the information excluded pursuant to subdivision (a). On or before 
July 1,  2006, the Department of Justice shall determine whether any person convicted of an offense listed in 
paragraph (2) also has one or more prior or subsequent convictions of an offense listed in subdivision (c) of Section 
290, and, for those persons, the Department of Justice shall make available to the public via the Internet Web site the 
address at which the person resides. However, the address at which the person resides shall not be disclosed until a 
determination is made that the person is, by virtue of his or her additional prior or subsequent convictioil of an 
offense listed in subdivision (c) of Section 290, subject to this subdivision. 

(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A) Seclion 220., except assault to commit mayhem. 

(B) Para~raph( I  I,(?), or (4)of subdivision (a )  oi' Section 261. 

(C) Paragraph (2) of subdi\.ision (b), or subdivision (I], 0, offSecti011 386.or ( 1 ) .  

(D) Paragraph (2) of subdivisioil (b), or si~bdivisiol~ (f ) ,  (gl,or ~ ~ L ' S c c ' i ~ o ~ i  2 8 8 3 ,  

(E) Subclivisioii (b), (d), (e), or (i) of Section 289. 

(d)(l) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who has been convicted of the com~nissioil or the 
attempted commission of any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, this subdivision, the Departrneilt or  
Justice shall make available to the public via the Internet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, 
a physical description, including gender and race, date of birth, criminal history, the comnlunity of residerice and 
ZIP Code in which the person resides or the county in which the person is registered as a transient, and any other 
information that the Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the information excluded pursuant to subdivision 
(a) or the address at which the person resides. 

(2) This subdivisioil shall apply to the following offenses and offenders: 

(A) Sirbctivision (kt) of Section 243.4, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(B) Section 366, provided that the offense is a felony 

(C) ~ e c t i o n2@k, provided that the offense is a felony. 

O 2008 Thomson ReutersIWest. No Claim to Orig. U.S, Govt. Works. 



- - --- 

West's Ani~.Cal.Penal Code 1;; 290.46 

(D) :;...!A(,!I2i>[?). 

(E) Scc~io11267. 

(F) SLILI~I\/P~IOIZ( c )  of Sectloll 288, provided that the offense is a misdemeanor. 

(G) Section 288.3, provided that the offense is a misdemeanor. 

(H) Secrto~z1 8 h 3 , provided that the offense is a misdemeanor. 

(I) S e c ~ i o n626.8 1 .  

(J) Section 647.6. 

(K) Scctio11 0.53~. 

(L) Any person required to register pursuant to Scclion 294based upon an out-of-state conviction, unless that person 
is excluded froin the Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (e). However, if the Department of Justice has 
determined that the out-of-state crime, if committed or attempted in this state, would have been punishable in this 
state as a crime described in subdi\iision (c) of Section 390, the person shall be placed on the Internet Web site as 
provided in subdivision (b) or (c), as applicable to the crime. 

(e)(l) If a person has been convicted of the commission or the attempted conmission of any of the offenses listed in 
this subdivision, and he or she has been convicted of no other offense listed in subdivision (b), (c), or (d) other than 
those listed in this subdivision, that person may file an application with the Department of Justice, on a forin 
approved by the department, for exclusion from the Internet Web site. If the department deterillines that the person 
meets the requirements of this subdivision, the department shall grant the exclusion and no inforination concerning 
the person shall be made available via the Internet Web site described in this section. He or she bears the burden of 
proving the facts that make him or her eligible for exclusion froin the Internet Web site. However, a persoil who has 
filed for or been granted an exclusion from the Internet Web site is not relieved of his or her duty to register as a sex 
offender pursuant to Section 290 nor from any otherwise applicable provision of law, 

(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A) A felony violation of subdivibiorl ( a )  of Sevtiotz 233.4. 

(B) Section 647.6, if the offense is a misdemeanor. 

(C)(i) An offense for which the offender successfully completed probation, provided that the offender submtts to the 
department a certified copy of a probation report, presentencing report, report prepared pursuant to &I ~ ~ L - ~ . ~ S S - ! ,or 
other official court document that clearly demonstrates that the offender was the victim's parent, stepparent, sibling, 
or grandparent and that the crime did not involve either oral copulation or penetration of the vagina or rectum of 
either the victim or the offender by the penis of the other or by any foreign object. 

(ii) An offense for which the offender is on probation at the time of his or her application, provided that the offender 
submits to the department a certified copy of a probation report, presentencing report, report prepared pursuant to 
Scc1io11288.1, or other official court document that clearly demonstrates that the offender was the victirn's parent, 
stepparent, sibling, or grandparent and that the crime did not involve either oral copulatioil or penetration of the 
vagina or rectum of either the victim or the offender by the penis of the other or by any foreign object. 
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(iii) IT, subsequent to his or her application, the offender commits a violation of probation resulting in his or her 
incarceration in couilty jail or state prison, his or her exclusion, or application for exclusion, rrorn the Intei-nel Web 
site shall be terminated. 

(iv) For the purposes of this subparagraph, "successfully completed probation" nleans that during the perlod of  
probatioil the offender neither received additional county jail or state prison time for a violatioil of probation nor was 
convicted of another offense resulting in a sentence to county jail or state prison. 

(3) If the department determines that a person who was granted an exclusioil under a ronner version of this 
subdivision would not qualify for an exclusion under the current version of this subdivision, the department shall 
rescind the exclusion, make a reasonable effort to provide notification to the person that the exclusion has been 
rescinded, and, no sooner thail 30 days after notification is attempted, make information about the offender available 
to the public on the Internet Web site as provided in this section. 

(4) Effective January 1, 2012, no person shall be excluded pursuant to this subdivision unless the offender has 
submitted to the department documentation sufficient for the department to determine that he or she has a 
SARATSO risk level of low or moderate-low. 

(f) The Department of Justice shall make a reasonable effort to provide notification to persons who have been 
convicted of the commission or attempted commission of an offense specified in subdivision (b), (c), or (d), that on 
or before July 1, 2005, the department is required to make information about specified sex offenders available to the 
public via an Internet Web site as specified in this section. The Department of Justice shall also make a reasonable 
effort to provide notice that some offenders are eligible to apply for exclusion from the Internet Web site. 

(g)(l) A designated law enforcement entity, as defined in .;ubdivision ( I )  of Scctik~i39Ll_35, may make available 
illformation concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Scctlrjn 3(!0 to the public via an Inlerne~ 
Web site as specified in paragraph (2). 

(2) The law enforcement entity may make available by way of an Internet Web site the informatioll described in 
subdivision (c) if it determines that the public disclosure of the information about a specific offendel- by way of' the 
entity's Internet Web site is necessary to ensure the public safety based upon illforillation available to \he entity 
concerning that specific offender. 

(3) The information that may be provided pursuant to this subdivision may include the inforination specified in 
subdivision ( b )  of Section 290.45. However, that offender's address may not be disclosed unless he or she is a persoil 
whose address is on the Department of Justice's Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (b) or (c). 

(h) For purposes of this section, "offense" includes the statutory predecessors of that offense, or ally offense 
committed in another jurisdiction that, if committed or attempted to be committed in this state, would have been 
punishable in this state as an offense listed in subdivision ( ~ ~ i ~ S S ~ c t l g n _ ~ 2 ~ j j j .  

(i) Notwithstanding 3 ~ ~ 1 0 1 1  disclosure of information pursuanl to this section 1s 0251.5 of' the Governmen[ C,'odt., 
not a waiver of exemptions under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Scct1011 07.;j(I_)of Title 1 of Di~rision 7 of the 
Government Code and does not affect other statutory restrictions on disclosure in other situations. 

(j)(l) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this section to commit a misdemeanor shall be subjecl 
to, in addition to any other penalty or fine imposed, a fine of not less than tell thousand dollars ($10,000) and not 
more than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000). 
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(2) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuailt to this section to coininit a felony shall be p~ruisl~ed, in 
addition and consecutive to any other punishment, by a five-year term of imprisonment in the state prison. 

(k) Any person who is required to register pursuant to Secttx~ti 290 who enters an Intenlet Web site established 
pursuant to this section shall be punished by a fine not exceeding one thousaild dollars ($1,000), iinprisotlment in a 
county jail for a period not to exceed six months, or by both that fine and imprisonment. 

(1)(1) A person is authorized to use information disclosed pursuant to this section only to protect a person at risk. 

(2) Except as autllorized under paragraph (1) or any other provisioil of law, use of ally infonnation that is disclosed 
pursuant to this section for purposes relating to any of the following is prohibited: 

(A) Health insurance. 

(B) Insurance. 

(C) Loans. 

(D) Credit. 

(E) Employment. 

(F) Education, scholarships, or fellowships. 

(G) Housing or accommodations. 

(H) Benefits, privileges, or services provided by any business establishment. 

(3) This sectioil shall not affect authorized access to, or use of, information pursuailt to, among othcr provisions, 
Sections 1 llO_F and 11 105.3, Scctioil 8808 of the 1:amily Cbch, Sc~t ious  777.5 and 14400 201. lllc I:!~!:g~cjd_C_c~c;, 
-Sections 1532 01and 1596.871 of'the I-lealth and Safety C:odc, and Scction 432.7 o f ~ h e  l,abor C'cscic. 


(4)(A) Any use of information disclosed pursuant to this section for purposes other than those provided by paragraph 

(1) or in violation of paragraph (2) shall make the user liable for the actual damages, and any amount that may be 
determined by a jury or a court sitting without a jury, not exceeding three times the amount of actual damage, and 
not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250), and attorney's fees, exemplary damages, or  a civil penalty not 
exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 

(B) Whenever there is reasonable cause to believe that any person or group of persons is engaged in a pattern or 
practice of misuse of the information available via an Internet Web site established pursuant to this section in 
violation of paragraph (2), the Attorney General, any district attorney, or city attorney, or any person aggrieved by 
the misuse is authorized to bring a civil action in the appropriate court requesting preventive relief, iilcluding an 
application for a permanent or temporary injunction, restraining order, or other order against the person or group of 
persons responsible for the pattern or practice of misuse. The foregoing remedies shall be illdependent of any other 
remedies or procedures that may be available to an aggrieved party under other provisions of law, including Part 2 
(commencing with Scctiotl43) of Division 1 of the Civil Code. 

(in) The public notification provisions of this section are applicable to every person described 111 this section, 
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to ; \ ) ( Iwithout regard to when his or her crimes were committed or his or her duty to register ~ L I ~ S L L ~ I I ~I I O I I  arose, 
and to every offense described in this section, regardless of when ~t was committed. 

(11) On or before July 1, 2006, and every year thereafter, the Department of Justice shall make a report to the 
Legislature concerning the operation of this section. 

(0) A designated law enforcement entity and its e~nployees shall be immune fronl liabilily for good fitilh conduct 
under this section. 

(p) The Attorney General, in collaboration with local law enforcement and others knowledgeable about sex 
offenders, shall develop strategies to assist rllembers of the public in understanding and using publicly available 
infor~nation about registered sex offenders to further public safety. These strategies may include, but are not limited 
to, a hotline for community inquiries, neighborhood and busiiless guidelines for how to respond to information 
posted on this Web site, and any other resource that promotes public education about these offenders. 

(Added by &~.;.2004, c. 741 (,4.13.488), h 1 ,  eK. Scp[ 2.4>2004. Amended by S ~ : ~ L J  2- 1 ;22(Oi.-c -231 ( , . \ . / ~ f ~ ~ ~ ~  
Stal\ 2005, c 733 (,4.B.1323). 9 7, efi: Oct. 7, 3005; Stilt\ 200(7L-g _ 137-LS 13 1-1 731. ? lcl c I ' ~')cj)l 2 0 .  3000; 
S~at\ .2006,c .  586 (A.B.l849) ,9 4.2, eff. Sept. 30, 2006; Srattc12_0()7_ L 5'') ( S  t 3 - 1  71').3 :& c.1l O C ~1 ? 2 ( ~ ( ~ 7 . )  

HISTORICAL AND STATUTORY NOTES 

2008 Main Volume 

Sections 2 to 5 of Stats.2004, c. 745 (A.B.488), provide: 

"SEC. 2. It is the intent of the Legislature that the Department of Justice continue to maximize all available 
resources to ensure the highest degree of accuracy in the sex registration database, and that the department assist 
local agencies in developing strategies to achieve that goal. 

"SEC. 3. The sum of six hundred fifty thousand dollars ($650,000) is hereby appropriated from the General Fund to 
the Department of Justice for the purpose of implementing this act. 

"SEC. 4. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to Section 6 of Article XI11 I3 of the California 
Constitution because the only costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school district will be incurred because 
this act creates a new crime or infraction, eliminates a crime or infraction, or changes the penalty for a crime or 
infraction, within the meaning of &tion 17556 or  the Govet~lnlent Code, or changes the definition of a crime 
within the meaning of Section 6 of Article XI11 B of the California Constitution. 

"SEC. 5. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or 
safety within the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into immediate effect. facts constituting 
the necessity are: 

"In order to ensure that members of the public have adequate information about [he identities and locations of sex 
offenders who may put them and their families at risk, it is necessary that this act take efi'ect immediately." 

Governor Schwarzenegger issued the following signing message regarding Stats.2004, c. 745 (A.B.488): 
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"To the Members of the California State Assembly: 

"I ail1 signing Assembly Bill 488. 

"This bill represents a good first step in providing the most valuable tool we call give to parctlts to protect their 
children froin sexual predators -- information. By providing sex offender information on the Internet, California will 
finally join the majority of other states that make this information accessible to parents and others. 

"That being said, we have a long way to go to make California a leader in protecting our children. I encourage the 
Legislature to work together next year to provide a more coinprehellsive measure that will ensure inore of the 
Megan's Law database is available to the public with information on their neighbors and neighborhood. 

"Sincerely, 

"Arnold Schwarzenegger" 

Stats.2005, c. 722 (A.B.1323), rewrote this section, which had read: 

"(a) On or before the dates specified in this section, the Department of Justice shall make availablc information 
concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Section 290 to the public via an Internet Web site as 
specified in this section. The department shall update the Web site on an ongoing basis. All information identifying 
the victim by name, birth date, address, or relationship to the registrant shall be excluded Froill the Web site, The 
name or address of the person's employer and the listed person's criminal history other than the specific crimes for 
which the person is required to register shall not be included on the Web site. The Web site shall be translated into 
languages other than English as determined by the department. 

"(b)(l) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who has been convicted of the comnlission or the 
attempted commission of any of the offenses listed in this subdivision or the statutory predecessors of any of lhese 
offenses, or any offense which, if committed or attempted to be committed in this state, would have been punishable 
as one or more of the offenses listed in this subdivision, the Department of Justice shall make available to the public 
via the Internet Web site his or her names and known aliases, a photograph, a physical description, including gender 
and race, date of birth, criminal history, the address at which the person resides, and any other information that the 
Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the information excluded pursuant to subdivision (a). 

"(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

"(A) Subdivision (b) of Section 207. 

"(B) Subdivision (b) of Section 209, except kidnapping to coinrnit robbery. 

"(C) Paragraph (2) or (6) of subdivision (a) of Section 26 1 . 

"(D) Section 264.1. 

"(E) Section 269. 

"(F) Subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 286. 

"(G) Subdivision (a), (b), or (c) of Section 288, provided that the offense is a felony 
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"(H) Subdivisioii (c) or (d) of Section 288a. 

"(I) Section 288.5. 

"(J) Subdivision (a) or (j)of Section 289. 

"(3) This subdivision shall also apply to any person who has ever beell adjudicated a sexually violent predalor as 
defined in Section 6600 ol'thc Welfnrc ant1 lnstitutioos C'c)&. 

"(c)(l) On or before July 1 ,  2005, with respect to a person who has been convicted of the coinmission or the 
attempted commissioil of any of the offeilses listed in paragraph (2) or the statutory predecessors of any of these 
offenses, or any offense which, if committed or attempted to be committed in this state, would have been punishable 
as one or more of the offenses listed in this subdivision, the Department of Justice shall make available to the public 
via the Internet Web site his or her names and known aliases, a photograph, a physical description, iilcluding gender 
and race, date of birth, criminal history, the community of residence and ZIP Code in which the person resides, and 
any other information that the Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the information excluded pursuant to 
subdivision (a). However, the address at which the person resides shall not be disclosed until a determination is 
made that the person is, by virtue of his or her additional prior or subsequent conviction of an offense listed in 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 290, subject to this subdivision. On or before July 1 ,  2006, the 
Department of Justice shall determine whether any person convicted of an offense listed in paragraph (2) also has 
one or more prior or subsequent convictions of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 290. 
and, for those persons, the Department of Justice shall make available to the public via the Internet Web site the 
address at which the person resides. 

"(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses, provided that the person has one or more prior or 
subsequent convictions of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 290: 

"(A) Section 220, except assault to commit mayhem. 

"(B) Paragraph (1), (3), or (4) of subdivision (a) of Section 26 1 .  

"(C) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), or subdivision (0 ,  (g), or (i), of Section 286. 

"(D) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), or subdivision (0 ,  (g), or (i), of Section 288a. 

"(E) Subdivision (b), (d), (e), or (i) of Section 289. 

"(d)(l) On or before July 1 ,  2005, with respect to a person who has been convicted of the coinmission or the 
attempted comnission of any of the offenses listed in this subdivision or the statutory predecessors of any of these 
offenses, or of any offense which, if committed or attempted to be conmitted in this state, would have been 
punishable as one or more of the offeiises listed in this subdivision, the Department of Justice shall make available 
to the public via the Internet Web site his or her names and h o w n  aliases, a photograph, a physical description, 
including gender and race, date of birth, crilllinal history, the community of residence and ZIP Code in which the 
person resides, and any other information that the Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the iilfornlation 
excluded pursuant to subdivision (a) or the address at which the person resides. 

"(2) This subdivision shall apply to the followiilg offenses: 
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"(A) Section 220, except assault to corninit mayhem, with no prior or subsequent con\liction of an offense listed in 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Sectioil290. 

"(B) Subdivision (a) of Section 243.4., provided that the offense is a felony. 

"(C) Paragraph ( I ) ,  (3), or (4) of subdivision (a) of Section 26 1, with no prior or subsequent conviction of an offense 
listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 290. 

"(D) Section 266, provided that the offense is a felony 

"(E) Section 266c, provided that the offense is a felony. 

"(F) Section 266j, 

"(G) Section 267. 

"(H) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), or subdivision (0 ,  (g), or (i), of Section 286, with no prior or subsequent 
conviction of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 290. 

"(I) Subdivision (c) of Section 288, provided that the offense is a misdemeanor. 

"(J) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), or subdivision (0 ,  (g), or (i), of Section 288a, with no prior or subsequeilt 
conviction of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 290. 

"(K) Subdivision (b), (d), (e), or (i) of Section 289, with no prior or subsequent conviction of an offense listed in 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 290. 

"(L) Section 617.6. 

"(e)(l) If a person has been convicted of the commission or the attempted conlnlission of ally of the offenses listed 
in this subdivision or the statutory predecessors of any of these offenses, or of any offense which, if coininitted or 
attempted to be committed in this state, would have been punishable as one or more of the offenses listed in this 
subdivision, and he or she has been convicted of no other offense listed in subdivision (b), (c), or (d) other than 
those listed in this subdivision, that person rnay file an application for exclusion from the Internet Web site with the 
Department of Justice. If the department determines that the person meets the requirements of this subdivision, the 
department shall grant the exclusioil and no information concerning him or her shall be made available via the 
Internet Web site described in this section. He or she bears the burden of proviilg the facts that make him or her 
eligible for exclusion from the Internet Web site. However, a person who has filed for or been granted an exclusion 
from the Internet Web site is not relieved of his or her duty to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 nor 
from any otherwise applicable provision of law. 

"(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

"(A) A felony violation of subdivision (a) of Section 243.4. 

"(B) Section 647.6, provided the offense is a misdemeanor 

"(C) An offense listed in subdivision (b), (c), or (d) if the offender is eligible for, granted, and successfully 
completes probation pursuant to S c c . ~ ~ o ~ ij l ( j 3  0 6 6  o('~IicI'_cn,li C:l?~kl. 
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"(0The Department of Justice shall inake a reasonable effort to provide notification to persons who have been 
coilvicted of the cominissioil or atterr~pted coinrnissioil of an offense specified in subdivision (b), (c), or (d), that on 
or before July 1,  2005, the department is required to inake illformation about hiin or her available to the public via 
an Internet Web site as specified in this section. The Departinent of Justice shall also rrlake a reasonable effo1-t to 
provide notice that he or she inay be eligible for exclusion from the Inteinet Web site if he or she may have been 
convicted of an offense for which exclusion is available pursuant to subdivision (e). 

"(g) Notwithstanding Sectloll 6254.5 of tllc Go\ernnlcnr LIo&, disclosure of information pursuailt to this section is 
not a waiver of exemptions under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Sect~on 0250) of Title 1 of Division 7 of the 
Government Code and does not affect other statutory restrictions on disclosure in other situations. 

"(h)(l) Any person who uses infonnation disclosed pursuant to the Internet Web site to commit a misdemeanor shall 
be subject to, in addition to any other penalty or fine irnposed, a fine of not less than ten thousand dollars ($10,000) 
and not more than fifty thousand dollars ($50,000). 

"(2) Any person who uses informatioil disclosed pursuant to the Internet Web site to commit a felony shall be 
punished, in addition and consecutive to any other punishment, by a five-year term of imprisonnlent in the state 
prison. 

"(i) Any persoil who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 who enters the Web site is punishable by a fine 
not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), imprisonment in a county jail for a period not to exceed six rnonths, or 
by both that fine and imprisonment. 

"(j)(l) A person is authorized to use illformation disclosed pursuant to this section only to protect a person at risk. 

"(2) Except as authorized under paragraph (1) or any other provision of law, use of any information that is disclosed 
pursuant to this section for purposes relating to any of the following is prohibited: 

"(A) Health insurance. 

"(B) Insurance. 

"(C) Loans. 

"(D) Credit. 

"(E) Employment, 

"(F) Education, scholarships, or fellowships. 

"(G) Housing or accommodations. 

"(H) Benefits, privileges, or sei-vices provided by any business establishment. 

"(3) This section shall not affect authorized access to, or use of, information pursuant to, ainoilg other provisions, 
Sections 11 105 and 11 105.3, >cc*l&)~r 111c I*;~nl~ly I_jn-~ncl:ll('odes,8808 01' "o t l c ,  $ C ~ I I O I I >  7 7 7 and 1 +40(j._2_-~111~ljc. 
Secc~ollh 1522.01 and 1506 87 I-clLchc I Salkjy CCocl~, tIlslc' [ - : ~ h o ~Icaltll IIILI and > C C ~ I L ) I I433 7oI ( _ c ) c I c .  
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"(4)(A) Any use of information disclosed pursuailt to this section for purposes other than those provided by 
paragraph (1) or in violation of paragraph (2) shall make the user liable for the actual damages, and any anlount that 
may be determined by a jury or a court sitting without a jury, not exceeding t h e e  times the anlount of actrial 
damage, and not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250), and attorney's fees, exemplary damages, or a civil 
penalty not exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 

"(B) Whenever there is reasonable cause to believe that any person or group of persons is engaged in a pattern or 
practice of misuse of the informatioil available via the Internet Web site in violation of paragraph (21, the Attoilley 
General, any district attorney, or city attorney, or any person aggrieved by the inisuse is authorized to bring a civil 
action in the appropriate court requesting preventive relief, including an application for a permanent or tenlporary 
injunction, restraining order, or other order against the person or group of persons responsible for the pattern or 
practice of misuse. The foregoing remedies shall be independent of any other remedies or procedures that may be 
available to an aggrieved party under other provisions of law, including Part 2 (commencing with Se_c_t%~.!xl_!) of 
Division 1 of the Civil Code. 

"(k) On or before July 1, 2006, and every year thereafter, the Department of Justice shall make a report to the 
Legislature concerning the operation of this section. 

"(1) The Department of Justice and its employees shall be immune from liability for good kith conduct under this 
section." 

Sections 12 to 15 of Stats.2005, c. 722 (A.B. 1323), provide: 

"SEC. 12. The Legislature finds and declares the following: 

"(a) The findings and declarations made by the Legislature in Section 1 of Chapter 908 of the Statutes of 1996, 
which enacted California's law relating to public notification regarding registered sex offenders, also apply to public 
ilotification made via the Internet Web site mandated by this section. 

"(b) Releasing the home addresses and other information pertaining to specified registered sex offenders is not 
intended to further punish them for their offenses, but to allow the public to be aware of their presence in the 
coimnunity and take appropriate and lawful safety precautions on behalf of themselves and their children. 

"(c) The notice concerning sex offender information required by Secliorl 2079,lOa or [lie C'iiril C:ode is not expected 
to change immediately upon the effective date ofthis act or immediately upon the notification to the Secretary of 
State pursuant to Section 290.47 of the Penal Code, as added by this act. It is expected that forms accompanying real 
estate transactions may reflect the notice in the prior law for a reasonable period following those dates. 

"SEC. 13. Section 3.5 of this bill incorporates amend~nents to yegjlon 39h)I_'I7~rcjlal ('oclc proposed by both this 
bill and AB 439 iStats.2005, c. 7041, It shall only become operative if (I)  both bills are enacted and become 
effective on or before January 1, 2006, but this bill becomes operative first, (2) each bill amends S;t'c_~igi-z!)bI!l:!l~~ 
l<gilal C'ocjc, and (3) this bill is enacted after AB 439 iStats.2005, c. 7041, in which case S c ~ g ~ ~ c , ! ~ _ ~ ~ l _ O - i ~ I ~ ! ~ c ~T'c_ll;~J 

("k,as amended by Section 3 of this bill, shall remain operative only until the operative date of AB 439 
iStats.2005, c. 7041, at which time Section 3.5 of this bill shall become operative. 

"SEC. 14. No reimbursement is required by this act pursuant to Section 6 of Article XI11 B of the Califoillia 
Constitution because the only costs that may be incurred by a local agency or school district will be incurred because 
this act creates a new crime or infraction, eliminates a crime or infraction, or changes the penalty for a crime or 
infraction, within the meaning of Sec:tii)~i 17556 of' t11e < i c > \  e G i e  Cbdc ,  or changes the definition of a crime 
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within the meaning of Sectioil6 of Article XI11 B of the California Constitution. 

"SEC. 15. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, llealth, or 
safety within the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into immediate effect. The facts constituting 
the necessity are: 

"111 order to assure that members of the public have adequate information about the identities and locations of sex 
offenders who may put them and their families at risk, it is necessary that this act take effect immediately." 

Section affected by two or more acts at the same session of the legislature, see <;!g.c~.r~rnc'rn~(_g_clg$_j'_lL!i. 

Stats.2006, c. 337 (S.B. 1 128), designated subd. (a) as subd. (a)(l) and added par. (2); in subd. (b)(l), inserted "prior 
adjudication as a sexually violent predator,"; in subd. (b)(2), redesignated subpar. (I) as (J), subpar. (J) as (L), and 
subpar. (K) as (M), and inserted subpars. (I) and (K); in subd. (d)(2), redesignated subpar. (G) as (I) and subpar. (H) 
as (K), and inserted subpars. (G), (H), and (J); in subd. (e)(2)(B), substituted "if' for "provided"; in subd. (e)(2)(C), 
in both clauses (i) and (ii), deleted "both of the following:" following "demonstrates", and incorporated items (I) and 
(11) into each clause by deleting the item number and inserting "that" and "and that" preceding "the"; in subd. (e), 
added pars. (3) and (4); and added subd. (p). 

Section 60 of Stats.2006, c. 337 (S.B.1128), provides: 

"SEC. 60. Section 19.5 of this bill incorporates amendments to Section 290.46 of the Penal Code proposed by both 
this bill and Assembly Bill 1849 [Stats.2006, c, 8861. It shall only become operative if (1) both bills are enacted and 
become effective on or before January 1, 2007, but this bill becomes operative first, (2) each bill amends Section 
290.46 of the Penal Code, and (3) this bill is enacted after Assembly Bill 1849 [Stats.2006, c. 8861, in which case 
Section 290.46 of the Penal Code, as amended by Section 19 of this bill, shall remain operative only until the 
operative date of Assembly Bill 1849 [Stats.2006, c. 8861, at which time Section 19.5 of this bill shall become 
operative." 

An amendment of this section by 19.5 of Stats.2006, c. 337 (S.B.1128), failed to become operative under the 
provisions of 5 60 of that Act. 

For short title of act, legislative findings and declarations, and appropriations, severability, cost reimbursement, and 
urgency effective provisions relating to Stats.2006, c. 337 (S .B.1 128), see Historical and Statutory Notes under 
( jo\e~-r~rncntCock 9 68152. 

Stats.2006, c. 886 (A.B.1849), in subd. (a), designated par. (1) and added par. (2); in subd. (b)(l), inserted "prior 
adjudication as a sexually violent predator,"; inserted. subpars. (I) and (M) and redesignated remaining 
subparagraphs; in subd. (d)(l), inserted subpars. (G) to (J) and redesignated the remaining subparagraph; in subd. 
(e)(2)(B), substituted "if' for "provided"; in subd. (e)(2)(C)(i) and (ii), deleted "both of the following:" following 
'Ldem~i l~ t ra t e~" ,and incorporated items (I) and (11) into each clause by deleting the item number and inserted "that" 
and "and that" preceding "the"; added pars. (3) and (4); and added subd. (p). 

Section 7 of Stats.2006, c. 886 (A.B.1849), provides: 

"SEC. 7. (a) Section 4.1 of this bill incorporates amendments to Section 290.46 of the Penal Code proposed by both 
this bill and AB 2712 [vetoed]. It shall only become operative if ( I )  both bills are enacted and become effective on 
or before January 1, 2007, but this bill becomes operative first, (2) each bill amends Section 290.46 of the Penal 
Code, and (3) SB 1 128 [c. 3371 is not enacted or as enacted does not amend that section, and (4) this bill is enacted 
after AB 27 12 [vetoed], in which case Section 290.46 of the Penal Code, as amended by Section 4 of this bill, shall 
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remain operative only until the operative date of AB 2712 [vetoed], at which time Sectioil 4.1 of this bill shall 
become operative and Sections 4.2 and 4.3 of this bill shall not become operative. 

"(b) Section 4.2 of this bill incorporates amendments to Section 290.46 of the Penal Code proposed by both this bill 
and SB 1128 [c. 3371. It shall oilly become operative if (1) both bills are enacted and becoine effective on or before 
January 1, 2007, (2) each bill amends Section 290.46 of the Penal Code, (3) AB 27 12 [vetoed] is not enacted or as 
enacted does not amend that section, and (4) this bill is enacted after SB 1128 [c. 3371 in which case Section 290.46 
of the Penal Code as amended by SB 1128 [c. 3371, shall remain operative only until the operative date of this bill, 
at which time Section 4.2 of this bill shall become operative, and Sections 4, 4.1, and 4.3 of this bill shall not 
become operative. 

"(c) Section 4.3 of this bill incorporates amendments to Sectioil 290.46 of the Penal Code proposed by this bill, AB 
2712 [vetoed], and SB 1128 [c, 3373. It shall only become operative if (1) all three bills are enacted and become 
effective on or before January 1 ,  2007, (2) all three bills amend Section 290.46 of the Penal Code, and (3) this bill is 
enacted after Al3 2712 [vetoed] and SB 1128 [c. 3371, in which case Section 290.46 of the Penal Code as amended 
by SB 1128 [c. 3371, shall remain operative only until the operative date of this bill, at which time Section 4.2 of this 
bill shall become operative and shall remain operative only until the operative date of AB 27 12 [vetoed], at which 
time Section 4.3 of this bill shall become operative, and Sections 4 and 4.1 of this bill shall not become operative." 

An amendment of this section by $ 5  4, 4.1 and 4.3 of Stats.2006, c. 886, failed to become operative ~lilder the 
provisions of $ 7 of that Act. 

Sections 8 to 11 of Stats.2006, c. 886 (A.B.1849), provide: 

"SEC. 8. If the Colnmission on State Mandates determines that this act contains costs mandated by the state, 
reimbursement to local agencies and school districts for those costs shall be made pursuant to Part 7 (commencing 
with S c c t ~ o n1.7500) of I I~ i . i s~on3 ol'Tiile 2 of tl-~c (;o\cl-nlger~t Code, 

"SEC. 9. This bill shall only become operative if Senate Bill 1128 [c. 3371 of the 2005-06 Regular Sessioil is also 
enacted and becomes effective on or before January 1, 2007. 

"SEC, LO. Sections 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6 of this act shall become operative only if Senate Bill No. 1178 [c. 3361 is also 
enacted and this act is enacted after Senate Bill 1178 [c. 3361. 

"SEC. 11. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or 
safety within the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into immediate effect. The facts constituting 
the ilecessity are: 

"In order to ensure the public safety of California families and their children and to ensure that the Megan's Law 
database provides adequate information about registered sex offenders living in California, it is necessary that this 
act take effect immediately." 

For executive order S-08-06, issued by Governor Schwarzenegger on May 15, 2006, relating to creation of a High 
Risk Sex Offender Task Force, see Historical and Statutory Notes under Penal (lock 5 3002. 

For executive order S-15-06 issued by Governor Schwarzenegger, see Historical and Statutory Notes under I,cla! 
Code 5 3003. 

Stats.2007, c. 579 (S.B.172), in subd. (a)(3), inserted "State"; in subd. (b)(2), inserted subpar. (J), and redesignated 
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the remaining subparagraphs as (K) to (N); in subd. (c)(l), substituled "subdivision (c)" I'or "paragraph (2) of 
subdivision (a)" in two places; in subd. (d)(l), inserted subpar, (H), redesignated he remaining subparagraphs as (I) 
lo (L), and in subd. (L), substituted "subdivision (c)" for "subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (a)"; and 
in subd. (h), substituted "subdivision (c)" for "subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subdivisioil (a)". 

For legislative intent and urgency effective provisions relating to Stats.2007, c. 579 (S.B. 172), see f-listorical and 
Statutory Notes under Pe11a1 l o d e  4 3 0 .  

CROSS REFERENCES 

Attorney General, generally, see Govcnlmen t Codg k13500 L'L 5cq. 

Community care facilities, registration as sex offender, disclosure by community care facility client, operator 

disclosure, see I-lcalth and Safety Codc $ 1533.01 .  

Department of Corrections, generally, see Pella l Code h 5000 e t h e y ,  

Department of Mental Health, generally, see Wcl fhre and I nh~itLgloi~s
C'odc 6 4000~~tscq-
Felonies, definition and penalties, see Penal Code $ fi 17 and IS. 
Lease or rental agreements for residential real property and contracts for sale of res~dential real property 
comprised of one to four dwelling units, notice about registered sex offenders, see C'ld Cndc 6 207c). I Oa. 
Misdemeanors, definition and penalties, see Penal Code $ k  17,!9and 1').3. 
Prevention of public funding of erectile dysfunction drugs for sex offenders, information disclosure, see !kn.uJ 
C'ode 200.02. 
Sex offender registration, compilation of information for specified offenses, " C ) 1 0 1 7  telephone number, income 
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BILL TEXT 

CHAPTER 579 

FILED WITH SECRETARY OF STATE OCTOBER 13, 2007 

APPROVED BY GOVERNOR OCTOBER 13, 2007 

PASSED THE SENATE SEPTEMBER 12, 2007 

PASSED THE ASSEMBLY SEPTEMBER 10, 2007 

AMENDED IN ASSEMBLY SEPTEMBER 7, 2007 

AMENDED IN ASSEMBLY SEPTEMBER 5, 2007 

AMENDED IN ASSEMBLY JUNE 28, 2007 

AMENDED IN ASSEMBLY JUNE 19, 2007 

AMENDED IN SENATE APRIL 19, 2007 


INTRODUCED BY Senator Alquist 

(Principal coauthor: Assembly Member Solorio) 


FEBRUARY 5, 2007 


An act to amend Sections 1522, 1568.09, 1569.17, and 1596.871 of 

the Health and Safety Code, and to amend Sections 289.5, 290.01, 

290.04, 290.05, 290.3, 290.46, 296.2, 311.11, 646.9, 801.1, 803, 

1202.7, 1417.8, 3000, 3000.07, 3004, 3060.6, 5054.1, and 5054.2 of, 

to amend and renumber Sections 288.3 and 3005 of, to add Sections 

290.001, 290.002, 290.003, 290.004, 290.005, 290.006, 290.007, 

290.008, 290.009, 290,010, 290.011, 290.012, 290.013, 290.014, 

290.015, 230.016, 290.017, 290.018, 290.019, 290.020, 290.021, 

290.022, and 290.023 to, and to repeal and add Section 290 to, the 

Penal Code, relating to sex offenders, and declaring the urgency 

thereof, to take effect immediately. 


LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST 


SB 172, Alquist. Crimes: sex offenders. 

Existing law provides for various penalty provisions related to 


sex offenders. 

This bill would make nonsubstantive, conforming changes to those 


provisions. The bill would make clarifying changes to provisions 

related to the risk assessment tool to be used to identify sex 

offenders, and would make related technical changes. 


Existing law requires persons who have been convicted of specified 

crimes, and other persons as required by a court, to register as a 

sex offender. Existing law sets forth the procedure for doing so. 


This bill would reorganize and renumber the provisions that set 

forth that procedure, and would make conforming technical changes in 

related provisions of law. 


This bill would incorporate additional changes in Section 1522 of 

the Health and Safety Code, proposed by SB 776, to be operative only 

if SB 776 and this bill are both chaptered and become effective on or 

before January 1, 2008, and this bill is chaptered last, 


This bill would incorporate additional changes in Section 646.9 of 
the Penal Code, proposed by AB 289, to be operative only if AB 289 
and this bill are both chaptered and become effective on or before 
January 1, 2008, and this bill is chaptered last. 

http:1568.09
http:1569.17
http:3000.07


This bill would declare that it is to take effect immediately as 

an urgency statute. 


THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS: 


SECTION 1. Section 1522 of the Health and Safety Code is amended 

to read: 


1522. The Legislature recognizes the need to generate timely and 

accurate positive fingerprint identification of applicants as a 

condition of issuing licenses, permits, or certificates of approval 

for persons to operate or provide direct care services in a community 

care facility, foster family home, or a certified family home of a 

licensed foster family agency. Therefore, the Legislature supports 

the use of the fingerprint live-scan technology, as identified in the 

long-range plan of the Department of Justice for fully automating 

the processing of fingerprints and other data by the year 1999, 

otherwise known as the California Crime Information Intelligence 

System (CAL-CII), to be used for applicant fingerprints. It is the 

intent of the Legislature in enacting this section to require the 

fingerprints of those individuals whose contact with community care 

clients may pose a risk to the clients1 health and safety. An 

individual shall be required to obtain either a criminal record 

clearance or a criminal record exemption from the State Department of 

Social Services before his or her initial presence in a community 

care facility. 


(a) (1) Before issuing a license or special permit to any person 

or persons to operate or manage a community care facility, the State 

Department of Social Services shall secure from an appropriate law 

enforcement agency a criminal record to determine whether the 

applicant or any other person specified in subdivision (b) has ever 

been convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation or 

arrested for any crime specified in Section 290 of the Penal Code, 

for violating Section 245 or 273.5, of the Penal Code, subdivision 

(b) of Section 273a of the Penal Code, or, prior to January 1, 1994, 

paragraph (2) of Section 273a of the Penal Code, or for any crime for 

which the department cannot grant an exemption if the person was 

convicted and the person has not been exonerated. 


(2) The criminal history information shall include the full 

criminal record, if any, of those persons, and subsequent arrest 

information pursuant to Section 11105.2 of the Penal Code. 


(3) Except during the 2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, and 

2007-08 fiscal years, neither the Department of Justice nor the State 

Department of Social Services may charge a fee for the 

fingerprinting of an applicant for a license or special permit to 

operate a facility providing nonmedical board, room, and care for six 

or less children or for obtaining a criminal record of the applicant 

pursuant to this section. 


(4) The following shall apply to the criminal record information: 

(A) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 

applicant, or any other person specified in subdivision (b), has been 
convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation, the 
application shall be denied, unless the director grants an exemption 
pursuant to subdivision (g) . 

(B) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 

applicant, or any other person specified in subdivision (b) is 

awaiting trial for a crime other than a minor traffic violation, the 




State Department of Social Services may cease processing the 

application until the conclusion of the trial. 


(C) If no criminal record information has been recorded, the 

Department of Justice shall provide the applicant and the State 

Department of Social Services with a statement of that fact. 


(D) If the State Department of Social Services finds after 

licensure that the licensee, or any other person specified in 

paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), has been convicted of a crime other 

than a minor traffic violation, the license may be revoked, unless 

the director grants an exemption pursuant to subdivision (g). 


(E) An applicant and any other person specified in subdivision (b) 
shall submit fingerprint images and related information to the 
Department of Justice for the purpose of searching the criminal 
records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in addition to the 
criminal records search required by this subdivision. If an applicant 
and all other persons described in subdivision (b) meet all of the 
conditions for licensure, except receipt of the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation's criminal offender record information search response 
for the applicant or any of the persons described in subdivision (b), 
the department may issue a license if the applicant and each person 
described in subdivision (b) has signed and submitted a statement 
that he or she has never been convicted of a crime in the United 
States, other than a traffic infraction, as defined in paragraph (1) 
of subdivision (a) of Section 42001 of the Vehicle Code. If, after 
licensure, the department determines that the licensee or any other 
person specified in subdivision (b) has a criminal record, the 
license may be revoked pursuant to Section 1550. The department may 
also suspend the license pending an administrative hearing pursuant 
to Section 1550.5. 

(F) The State Department of Social Services shall develop 

procedures to provide the individual's state and federal criminal 

history information with the written notification of his or her 

exemption denial or revocation based on the criminal record. Receipt 

of the criminal history information shall be optional on the part of 

the individual, as set forth in the agency's procedures. The 

procedure shall protect the confidentiality and privacy of the 

individual's record, and the criminal history information shall not 

be made available to the employer. 


(G)Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the department is 

authorized to provide an individual with a copy of his or her state 

or federal level criminal offender record information search response 

as provided to that department by the Department of Justice if the 

department has denied a criminal background clearance based on this 

information and the individual makes a written request to the 

department for a copy specifying an address to which it is to be 

sent. The state or federal level criminal offender record information 

search response shall not be modified or altered from its form or 

content as provided by the Department of Justice and shall be 

provided to the address specified by the individual in their written 

request. The department shall retain a copy of the individual's 

written request and the response and date provided. 


(b) (1) In addition to the applicant, this section shall be 

applicable to criminal convictions of the following persons: 


(A) Adults responsible for administration or direct supervision of 
staff . 

(B) Any person, other than a client, residing in the facility. 

(C) Any person who provides client assistance in dressing, 




grooming, bathing, or personal hygiene. Any nurse assistant or home 

health aide meeting the requirements of Section 1338.5 or 1736.6, 

respectively, who is not employed, retained, or contracted by the 

licensee, and who has been certified or recertified on or after July 

1, 1998, shall be deemed to meet the criminal record clearance 

requirements of this section. A certified nurse assistant and 

certified home health aide who will be providing client assistance 

and who falls under this exemption shall provide one copy of his or 

her current certification, prior to providing care, to the community 

care facility. The facility shall maintain the copy of the 

certification on file as long as care is being provided by the 

certified nurse assistant or certified home health aide at the 

facility. Nothing in this paragraph restricts the right of the 

department to exclude a certified nurse assistant or certified home 

health aide from a licensed community care facility pursuant to 

Section 1558. 


(D) Any staff person, volunteer, or employee who has contact with 

the clients. 


(E) If the applicant is a firm, partnership, association, or 

corporation, the chief executive officer or other person serving in 

like capacity. 


(I?) Additional officers of the governing body of the applicant, or 

other persons with a financial interest in the applicant, as 

determined necessary by the department by regulation, The criteria 

used in the development of these regulations shall be based on the 

person's capability to exercise substantial influence over the 

operation of the facility. 


(2) The following persons are exempt from the requirements 
applicable under paragraph (1) : 

(A) A medical professional as defined in department regulations 

who holds a valid license or certification from the person's 

governing California medical care regulatory entity and who is not 

employed, retained, or contracted by the licensee if all of the 

following apply: 


(i) The criminal record of the person has been cleared as a 

condition of licensure or certification by the person's governing 

California medical care regulatory entity. 


(ii) The person is providing time-limited specialized clinical 

care or services. 


(iii) The person is providing care or services within the person's 

scope of practice. 


(iv) The person is not a community care facility licensee or an 

employee of the facility. 


(B) A third-party repair person or similar retained contractor if 

all of the following apply: 


(i) The person is hired for a defined, time-limited job. 

(ii) The person is not left alone with clients. 

(iii) When clients are present in the room in which the 


repairperson or contractor is working, a staff person who has a 

criminal record clearance or exemption is also present. 


(C) Employees of a licensed home health agency and other members 

of licensed hospice interdisciplinary teams who have a contract with 

a client or resident of the facility and are in the facility at the 

request of that client or resident's legal decisionmaker. The 

exemption does not apply to a person who is a community care facility 

licensee or an employee of the facility. 


( D )  Clergy and other spiritual caregivers who are performing 



services in common areas of the community care facility or who are 

advising an individual client at the request of, or with the 

permission of, the client or legal decisionmaker, are exempt from 

fingerprint and criminal background check requirements imposed by 

community care licensing. This exemption does not apply to a person 

who is a community care licensee or employee of the facility. 


(E) Members of fraternal, service, or similar organizations who 

conduct group activities for clients if all of the following apply: 


(i) Members are not left alone with clients. 

(ii) Members do not transport clients off the facility premises. 

(iii) The same organization does not conduct group activities for 


clients more often than defined by the department's regulations. 

(3) In addition to the exemptions in paragraph ( 2 ) ,  the following 

persons in foster family homes, certified family homes, and small 
family homes are exempt from the requirements applicable under 
paragraph (1) : 

(A) Adult friends and family of the licensed or certified foster 

parent, who come into the home to visit for a length of time no 

longer than defined by the department in regulations, provided that 

the adult friends and family of the licensee are not left alone with 

the foster children. However, the licensee, acting as a reasonable 

and prudent parent, as defined in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of 

Section 362.04 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, may allow his 

or her adult friends and family to provide short-term care to the 

foster child and act as an appropriate occasional short-term 

babysitter for the child. 


(B) Parents of a foster child's friends when the foster child is 

visiting the friend's home and the friend, licensed or certified 

foster parent, or both are also present. However, the licensee, 

acting as a reasonable and prudent parent, may allow the parent of 

the foster child's friends to act as an appropriate short-term 

babysitter for the child without the friend being present. 


( C )  Individuals who are engaged by any licensed or certified 
foster parent to provide short-term care to the child for periods not 
to exceed 24 hours. Caregivers shall use a reasonable and prudent 
parent standard in selecting appropriate individuals to act as 
appropriate occasional short-term babysitters. 

( 4 )  In addition to the exemptions specified in paragraph (2), the 
following persons in adult day care and adult day support centers are 
exempt from the requirements applicable under paragraph (1): 

(A) Unless contraindicated by the client's individualized program 

plan (IPP) or needs and service plan, a spouse, significant other, 

relative, or close friend of a client, or an attendant or a 

facilitator for a client with a developmental disability if the 

attendant or facilitator is not employed, retained, or contracted by 

the licensee. This exemption applies only if the person is visiting 

the client or providing direct care and supervision to the client. 


(B) A volunteer if all of the following applies: 

(i) The volunteer is supervised by the licensee or a facility 


employee with a criminal record clearance or exemption. 

(ii) The volunteer is never left alone with clients, 

(iii) The volunteer does not provide any client assistance with 


dressing, grooming, bathing, or personal hygiene other than washing 

of hands. 


(5) (A) In addition to the exemptions specified in paragraph ( 2 ) ,  
the following persons in adult residential and social rehabilitation 
facilities, unless contraindicated by the client's individualized 



program plan (IPP) or needs and services plan, are exempt from the 

requirements applicable under paragraph (1): a spouse, significant 

other, relative, or close friend of a client, or an attendant or a 

facilitator for a client with a developmental disability if the 

attendant or facilitator is not employed, retained, or contracted by 

the licensee. This exemption applies only if the person is visiting 

the client or providing direct care and supervision to that client. 


(B) Nothing in this subdivision shall prevent a licensee from 

requiring a criminal record clearance of any individual exempt from 

the requirements of this section, provided that the individual has 

client contact. 


(6)Any person similar to those described in this subdivision, as 

defined by the department in regulations. 


(c) (1)Subsequent to initial licensure, any person specified in 

subdivision (b) and not exempted from fingerprinting shall, as a 

condition to employment, residence, or presence in a community care 

facility, be fingerprinted and sign a declaration under penalty of 

perjury regarding any prior criminal convictions. The licensee shall 

submit fingerprint images and related information to the Department 

of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, through the 

Department of Justice, for a state and federal level criminal 

offender record information search, or to comply with paragraph (1) 

of subdivision (h), prior to the person's employment, residence, or 

initial presence in the community care facility. These fingerprint 

images and related information shall be sent by electronic 

transmission in a manner approved by the State Department of Social 

Services and the Department of Justice for the purpose of obtaining a 

permanent set of fingerprints, and shall be submitted to the 

Department of Justice by the licensee. A licensee's failure to submit 

fingerprints to the Department of Justice or to comply with 

paragraph (1) of subdivision (h), as required in this section, shall 

result in the citation of a deficiency and the immediate assessment 

of civil penalties in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per 

violation per day for a maximum of five days, unless the violation is 

a second or subsequent violation within a 12-month period in which 

case the civil penalties shall be in the amount of one hundred 

dollars ($100) per violation for a maximum of 30 days, and shall be 

grounds for disciplining the licensee pursuant to Section 1550. The 

department may assess civil penalties for continued violations as 

permitted by Section 1548. The fingerprint images and related 

information shall then be submitted to the Department of Justice for 

processing. Upon request of the licensee, who shall enclose a 

self-addressed stamped postcard for this purpose, the Department of 

Justice shall verify receipt of the fingerprints. 


(2) Within 14 calendar days of the receipt of the fingerprint 

images, the Department of Justice shall notify the State Department 

of Social Services of the criminal record information, as provided 

for in subdivision (a). If no criminal record information has been 

recorded, the Department of Justice shall provide the licensee and 

the State Department of Social Services with a statement of that fact 

within 14 calendar days of receipt of the fingerprint images. 

Documentation of the individual's clearance or exemption shall be 

maintained by the licensee and be available for inspection. If new 

fingerprint images are required for processing, the Department of 

Justice shall, within 14 calendar days from the date of receipt of 

the fingerprints, notify the licensee that the fingerprints were 

illegible, the Department of Justice shall notify the State 




Department of Social Services, as required by Section 1522.04, and 

shall also notify the licensee by mail, within 14 days of electronic 

transmission of the fingerprints to the Department of ~ustice, if the 

person has no criminal history recorded. A violation of the 

regulations adopted pursuant to Section 1522.04 shall result in the 

citation of a deficiency and an immediate assessment of civil 

penalties in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per violation 

per day for a maximum of five days, unless the violation is a second 

or subsequent violation within a 12-month period in which case the 

civil penalties shall be in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) 

per violation for a maximum of 30 days, and shall be grounds for 

disciplining the licensee pursuant to Section 1550. The department 

may assess civil penalties for continued violations as permitted by 

Section 1548. 


(3) Except for persons specified in paragraph (2) of subdivision 

(b), the licensee shall endeavor to ascertain the previous employment 
history of persons required to be fingerprinted under this 
subdivision. If it is determined by the State Department of Social 
Services, on the basis of the fingerprint images and related 
information submitted to the Department of Justice, that the person 
has been convicted of, or is awaiting trial for, a sex offense 
against a minor, or has been convicted for an offense specified in 
Section 243.4, 273a, 273d, 273g, or 368 of the Penal Code, or a 
felony, the State Department of Social Services shall notify the 
licensee to act immediately to terminate the person's employment, 
remove the person from the community care facility, or bar the person 
from entering the community care facility. The State Department of 
Social Services may subsequently grant an exemption pursuant to 
subdivision (g). If the conviction or arrest was for another crime, 
except a minor traffic violation, the licensee shall, upon 
notification by the State Department of Social Services, act 
immediately to either (A) terminate the person's employment, remove 
the person from the community care facility, or bar the person from 
entering the community care facility; or ( B )  seek an exemption 
pursuant to subdivision (g). The State Department of Social Services 
shall determine if the person shall be allowed to remain in the 
facility until a decision on the exemption is rendered. A licensee's 
failure to comply with the department's prohibition of employment, 
contact with clients, or presence in the facility as required by this 
paragraph shall be grounds for disciplining the licensee pursuant to 
Section 1550. 

(4)The department may issue an exemption on its own motion 

pursuant to subdivision (g) if the person's criminal history 

indicates that the person is of good character based on the age, 

seriousness, and frequency of the conviction or convictions. The 

department, in consultation with interested parties, shall develop 

regulations to establish the criteria to grant an exemption pursuant 

to this paragraph. 


(5) Concurrently with notifying the licensee pursuant to paragraph 

(3), the department shall notify the affected individual of his or 

her right to seek an exemption pursuant to subdivision (g). The 

individual may seek an exemption only if the licensee terminates the 

person's employment or removes the person from the facility after 

receiving notice from the department pursuant to paragraph (3). 


(d) (1) Before issuing a license, special permit, or certificate 

of approval to any person or persons to operate or manage a foster 

family home or certified family home as described in Section 1506, 
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the State Department of Social Services or other approving authority 

shall secure from an appropriate law enforcement agency a criminal 

record to determine whether the applicant or any person specified in 

subdivision (b) has ever been convicted of a crime other than a minor 

traffic violation or arrested for any crime specified in subdivision 

(c) of Section 290 of the Penal Code, for violating Section 245 or 

273.5, subdivision (b) of Section 273a or, prior to January 1, 1994, 

paragraph (2) of Section 273a of the Penal Code, or for any crime for 

which the department cannot grant an exemption if the person was 

convicted and the person has not been exonerated. 


(2)The criminal history information shall include the full 

criminal record, if any, of those persons. 


(3)Neither the Department of Justice nor the State Department of 

Social Services may charge a fee for the fingerprinting of an 

applicant for a license, special permit, or certificate of approval 

described in this subdivision. The record, if any, shall be taken 

into consideration when evaluating a prospective applicant. 


(4) The following shall apply to the criminal record information: 

(A) If the applicant or other persons specified in subdivision (b) 


have convictions that would make the applicant's home unfit as a 

foster family home or a certified family home, the license, special 

permit, or certificate of approval shall be denied. 


(B) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 

applicant, or any person specified in subdivision (b) is awaiting 

trial for a crime other than a minor traffic violation, the State 

Department of Social Services or other approving authority may cease 

processing the application until the conclusion of the trial. 


(C) For the purposes of this subdivision, a criminal record 

clearance provided under Section 8712 of the Family Code may be used 

by the department or other approving agency. 


(D) An applicant for a foster family home license or for 

certification as a family home, and any other person specified in 

subdivision (b), shall submit a set of fingerprint images and related 

information to the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation, through the Department of Justice, for a state and 

federal level criminal offender record information search, in 

addition to the criminal records search required by subdivision (a). 

If an applicant meets all other conditions for licensure, except 

receipt of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's criminal history 

information for the applicant and all persons described in 

subdivision (b), the department may issue a license, or the foster 

family agency may issue a certificate of approval, if the applicant, 

and each person described in subdivision (b), has signed and 

submitted a statement that he or she has never been convicted of a 

crime in the United States, other than a traffic infraction, as 

defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 42001 of the 

Vehicle Code. If, after licensure or certification, the department 

determines that the licensee, certified foster parent, or any person 

specified in subdivision (b) has a criminal record, the license may 

be revoked pursuant to Section 1550 and the certificate of approval 

revoked pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 1534. The department 

may also suspend the license pending an administrative hearing 

pursuant to Section 1550.5. 


(5)Any person specified in this subdivision shall, as a part of 

the application, be fingerprinted and sign a declaration under 

penalty of perjury regarding any prior criminal convictions or 

arrests for any crime against a child, spousal or cohabitant abuse 




or, any crime for which the department cannot grant an exemption if 

the person was convicted and shall submit these fingerprints to the 

licensing agency or other approving authority. 


(6) (A) The foster family agency shall obtain fingerprint images 

and related information from certified home applicants and from 

persons specified in subdivision (b) and shall submit them directly 

to the Department of Justice by electronic transmission in a manner 

approved by the State Department of Social Services and the 

Department of Justice. A foster family home licensee or foster family 

agency shall submit these fingerprint images and related information 

to the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation, through the Department of Justice, for a state and 

federal level criminal offender record information search, or to 

comply with paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) prior to the person's 

employment, residence, or initial presence in the foster family home 

or certified family home. A foster family agency's failure to submit 

fingerprint images and related information to the Department of 

Justice, or comply with paragraph (1) of subdivision (h), as required 

in this section, shall result in a citation of a deficiency, and the 

immediate civil penalties of one hundred dollars ($100) per 

violation per day for a maximum of five days, unless the violation is 

a second or subsequent violation within a 12-month period in which 

case the civil penalties shall be in the amount of one hundred 

dollars ($100) per violation for a maximum of 30 days, and shall be 

grounds for disciplining the licensee pursuant to Section 1550. A 

violation of the regulation adopted pursuant to Section 1522.04 shall 

result in the citation of a deficiency and an immediate assessment 

of civil penalties in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per 

violation per day for a maximum of five days, unless the violation is 

a second or subsequent violation within a 12-month period in which 

case the civil penalties shall be in the amount of one hundred 

dollars ($100) per violation for a maximum of 30 days, and shall be 

grounds for disciplining the foster family agency pursuant to Section 

1550. A licensee's failure to submit fingerprint images and related 

information to the Department of Justice, or comply with paragraph 

(-1) of subdivision (h), as required in this section, may result in 

the citation of a deficiency and 


immediate civil penalties of one hundred dollars ($100) 

per violation. A licensee's violation of regulations adopted pursuant 

to Section 1522.04 may result in the citation of a deficiency and an 

immediate assessment of civil penalties in the amount of one hundred 

dollars ($100) per violation. The State Department of Social 

Services may assess penalties for continued violations, as permitted 

by Section 1548. The fingerprint images shall then be submitted to 

the Department of Justice for processing. 


(B) Upon request of the licensee, who shall enclose a 

self-addressed envelope for this purpose, the Department of Justice 

shall verify receipt of the fingerprints. Within five working days of 

the receipt of the criminal record or information regarding criminal 

convictions from the Department of Justice, the department shall 

notify the applicant of any criminal arrests or convictions. If no 

arrests or convictions are recorded, the Department of Justice shall 

provide the foster family home licensee or the foster family agency 

with a statement of that fact concurrent with providing the 

information to the State Department of Social Services. 


(7) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 

applicant, or any other person specified in subdivision (b), has been 




convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation, the 
application shall be denied, unless the director grants an exemption 
pursuant to subdivision (g) . 

(8) If the State Department of Social Services finds after 
licensure or the granting of the certificate of approval that the 
licensee, certified foster parent, or any other person specified in 
paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), has been convicted of a crime other 
than a minor traffic violation, the license or certificate of 
approval may be revoked by the department or the foster family 
agency, whichever is applicable, unless the director grants an 
exemption pursuant to subdivision (g) . A licensee's failure to comply 
with the department's prohibition of employment, contact with 
clients, or presence in the facility as required by paragraph (3) of 
subdivision (c) shall be grounds for disciplining the licensee 
pursuant to Section 1550. 

(e) The State Department of Social Services may not use a record 

of arrest to deny, revoke, or terminate any application, license, 

employment, or residence unless the department investigates the 

incident and secures evidence, whether or not related to the incident 

of arrest, that is admissible in an administrative hearing to 

establish conduct by the person that may pose a risk to the health 

and safety of any person who is or may become a client. The State 

Department of Social Services is authorized to obtain any arrest or 

conviction records or reports from any law enforcement agency as 

necessary to the performance of its duties to inspect, license, and 

investigate community care facilities and individuals associated with 

a community care facility. 


(f) (1) For purposes of this section or any other provision of 

this chapter, a conviction means a plea or verdict of guilty or a 

conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Any action that the 

State Department of Social Services is permitted to take following 

the establishment of a conviction may be taken when the time for 

appeal has elapsed, when the judgment of conviction has been affirmed 

on appeal, or when an order granting probation is made suspending 

the imposition of sentence, notwithstanding a subsequent order 

pursuant to Sections 1203.4 and 1203.4a of the Penal Code permitting 

the person to withdraw his or her plea of guilty and to enter a plea 

of not guilty, or setting aside the verdict of guilty, or dismissing 

the accusation, information, or indictment. For purposes of this 

section or any other provision of this chapter, the record of a 

conviction, or a copy thereof certified by the clerk of the court or 

by a judge of the court in which the conviction occurred, shall be 

conclusive evidence of the conviction. For purposes of this section 

or any other provision of this chapter, the arrest disposition report 

certified by the Department of Justice, or documents admissible in a 

criminal action pursuant to Section 969b of the Penal Code, shall be 

prima facie evidence of the conviction, notwithstanding any other 

provision of law prohibiting the admission of these documents in a 

civil or administrative action. 


(2) For purposes of this section or any other provision of this 

chapter, the department shall consider criminal convictions from 

another state or federal court as if the criminal offense was 

committed in this state. 


(g) (1) After review of the record, the director may grant an 
exemption from disqualification for a license or special permit as 
specified in paragraphs (1) and (4) of subdivision (a) , or for a 
license, special permit, or certificate of approval as specified in 



paragraphs (4) and (5) of subdivision (d), or for employment, 
residence, or presence in a community care facility as specified in 
paragraphs (3), (4), and (5) of subdivision (c), if the director has 
substantial and convincing evidence to support a reasonable belief 
that the applicant and the person convicted of the crime, if other 
than the applicant, are of good character as to justify issuance of 
the license or special permit or granting an exemption for purposes 
of subdivision (c) . Except as otherwise provided in this subdivision, 
an exemption may not be granted pursuant to this subdivision if the 
conviction was for any of the following offenses: 

(A) (i) An offense specified in Section 220, 243.4, or 264.1, 

subdivision (a) of Section 273a or, prior to January 1, 1994, 

paragraph (1) of Section 273a, Section 273d, 288, or 289, subdivision 

(c) of Section 290, or Section 368 of the Penal Code, or was a 

conviction of another crime against an individual specified in 

subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 of the Penal Code. 


(ii) Notwithstanding clause (i), the director may grant an 
exemption regarding the conviction for an offense described in 
paragraph (I), (2) , (7), or (8) of subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 
of the Penal Code, if the employee or prospective employee has been 
rehabilitated as provided in Section 4852.03 of the Penal Code, has 
maintained the conduct required in Section 4852.05 of the Penal Code 
for at least 10 years, and has the recommendation of the district 
attorney representing the employee's county of residence, or if the 
employee or prospective employee has received a certificate of 
rehabilitation pursuant to Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 
4852.01) of Title 6 of Part 3 of the Penal Code. 

(B) A felony offense specified in Section 729 of the Business and 

Professions Code or Section 206 or 215, subdivision (a) of Section 

347, subdivision (b) of Section 417, or subdivision (a) of Section 

451 of the Penal Code. 


(2) The department may not prohibit a person from being employed 

or having contact with clients in a facility on the basis of a denied 

criminal record exemption request or arrest information unless the 

department complies with the requirements of Section 1558. 


(h) (1) For purposes of compliance with this section, the 

department may permit an individual to transfer a current criminal 

record clearance, as defined in subdivision (a), from one facility to 

another, as long as the criminal record clearance has been processed 

through a state licensing district office, and is being transferred 

to another facility licensed by a state licensing district office. 

The request shall be in writing to the State Department of Social 

Services, and shall include a copy of the person's driver's license 

or valid identification card issued by the Department of Motor 

Vehicles, or a valid photo identification issued by another state or 

the United States government if the person is not a California 

resident. Upon request of the licensee, who shall enclose a 

self-addressed envelope for this purpose, the State Department of 

Social Services shall verify whether the individual has a clearance 

that can be transferred. 


(2) The State Department of Social Services shall hold criminal 

record clearances in its active files for a minimum of two years 

after an employee is no longer employed at a licensed facility in 

order for the criminal record clearance to be transferred. 


(3) The following shall apply to a criminal record clearance or 

exemption from the department or a county office with 

department-delegated licensing authority: 




(A) A county office with department-delegated licensing authority 

may accept a clearance or exemption from the department. 


(B) The department may accept a clearance or exemption from any 

county office with department-delegated licensing authority. 


(C) A county office with department-delegated licensing authority 

may accept a clearance or exemption from any other county office with 

department-delegated licensing authority. 


(4) With respect to notifications issued by the Department of 

Justice pursuant to Section 11105.2 of the Penal Code concerning an 

individual whose criminal record clearance was originally processed 

by the department or a county office with department-delegated 

licensing authority, all of the following shall apply: 


(A) The Department of Justice shall process a request from the 

department or a county office with department-delegated licensing 

authority to receive the notice only if all of the following 

conditions are met: 


(i) The request shall be submitted to the Department of Justice by 

the agency to be substituted to receive the notification. 


(ii) The request shall be for the same applicant type as the type 

for which the original clearance was obtained. 


(iii) The request shall contain all prescribed data elements and 

format protocols pursuant to a written agreement between the 

department and the Department of Justice. 


( B )  (i) On or before January 7, 2005, the department shall notify 
the Department of Justice of all county offices that have 
department-delegated licensing authority. 

(ii) The department shall notify the Department of Justice within 

15 calendar days of the date on which a new county office receives 

department-delegated licensing authority or a county's delegated 

licensing authority is rescinded. 


( C )  The Department of Justice shall charge the department or a 
county office with department-delegated licensing authority a fee for 
each time a request to substitute the recipient agency is received 
for purposes of this paragraph. This fee shall not exceed the cost of 
providing the service. 

(i) The full criminal record obtained for purposes of this section 

may be used by the department or by a licensed adoption agency as a 

clearance required for adoption purposes. 


(j) If a licensee or facility is required by law to deny 

employment or to terminate employment of any employee based on 

written notification from the state department that the employee has 

a prior criminal conviction or is determined unsuitable for 

employment under Section 1558, the licensee or facility shall not 

incur civil liability or unemployment insurance liability as a result 

of that denial or termination. 


(k) The State Department of Social Services may charge a fee for 

the costs of processing electronic fingerprint images and related 

information. 


(1) Amendments to this section made in the 1999 portion of the 

1999-2000 Regular Session shall be implemented commencing 60 days 

after the effective date of the act amending this section in the 1999 

portion of the 1999-2000 Regular Session, except that those 

provisions for the submission of fingerprints for searching the 

records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation shall be implemented 

90 days after the effective date of that act. 

SEC. 1.5. Section 1522 of the Health and Safety Code is amended to 


read: 




1522. The Legislature recognizes the need to generate timely and 

accurate positive fingerprint identification of applicants as a 

condition of issuing licenses, permits, or certificates of approval 

for persons to operate or provide direct care services in a community 

care facility, foster family home, or a certified family home of a 

licensed foster family agency. Therefore, the Legislature supports 

the use of the fingerprint live-scan technology, as identified in the 

long-range plan of the Department of Justice for fully automating 

the processing of fingerprints and other data by the year 1999, 

otherwise known as the California Crime Information Intelligence 

System (CAL-CII), to be used for applicant fingerprints. It is the 

intent of the Legislature in enacting this section to require the 

fingerprints of those individuals whose contact with community care 

clients may pose a risk to the clients1 health and safety. An 

individual shall be required to obtain either a criminal record 

clearance or a criminal record exemption from the State Department of 

Social Services before his or her initial presence in a community 

care facility. 


(a) (1) Before issuing a license or special permit to any person 

or persons to operate or manage a community care facility, the State 

Department of Social Services shall secure from an appropriate law 

enforcement agency a criminal record to determine whether the 

applicant or any other person specified in subdivision (b) has ever 

been convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation or 

arrested for any crime specified in Section 290 of the Penal Code, 

for violating Section 245 or 273.5, of the Penal Code, subdivision 

(b) of Section 273a of the Penal Code, or, prior to January 1, 1994, 

paragraph (2) of Section 273a of the Penal Code, or for any crime for 

which the department cannot grant an exemption if the person was 

convicted and the person has not been exonerated. 


(2) The criminal history information shall include the full 

criminal record, if any, of those persons, and subsequent arrest 

information pursuant to Section 11105.2 of the Penal Code. 


(3) Except during the 2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, and 

2007-08 fiscal years, neither the Department of Justice nor the State 

Department of Social Services may charge a fee for the 

fingerprinting of an applicant for a license or special permit to 

operate a facility providing nonmedical board, room, and care for six 

or less children or for obtaining a criminal record of the applicant 

pursuant to this section. 


(4) The following shall apply to the criminal record information: 

(A) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 


applicant, or any other person specified in subdivision (b), has been 

convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation, the 

application shall be denied, unless the director grants an exemption 

pursuant to subdivision (g). 


(B) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 

applicant, or any other person specified in subdivision (b) is 

awaiting trial for a crime other than a minor traffic violation, the 

State Department of Social Services may cease processing the 

application until the conclusion of the trial. 


(C) If no criminal record information has been recorded, the 

Department of Justice shall provide the applicant and the State 

Department of Social Services with a statement of that fact. 


(D) If the State Department of Social Services finds after 

licensure that the licensee, or any other person specified in 

paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), has been convicted of a crime other 




than a minor traffic violation, the license may be revoked, unless 

the director grants an exemption pursuant to subdivision (9). 


(E) An applicant and any other person specified in subdivision (b) 

shall submit fingerprint images and related information to the 

Department of Justice for the purpose of searching the criminal 

records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in addition to the 

criminal records search required by this subdivision. If an applicant 

and all other persons described in subdivision (b) meet all of the 

conditions for licensure, except receipt of the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation's criminal offender record information search response 

for the applicant or any of the persons described in subdivision (b), 

the department may issue a license if the applicant and each person 

described in subdivision (b) has signed and submitted a statement 

that he or she has never been convicted of a crime in the United 

States, other than a traffic infraction, as defined in paragraph (1) 

of subdivision (a) of Section 42001 of the Vehicle Code. If, after 

licensure, the department determines that the licensee or any other 

person specified in subdivision (b) has a criminal record, the 

license may be revoked pursuant to Section 1550. The department may 

also suspend the license pending an administrative hearing pursuant 

to Section 1550.5. 


(F) The State Department of Social Services shall develop 

procedures to provide the individual's state and federal criminal 

history information with the written notification of his or her 

exemption denial or revocation based on the criminal record. Receipt 

of the criminal history information shall be optional on the part of 

the individual, as set forth in the agency's procedures. The 

procedure shall protect the confidentiality and privacy of the 

individual's record, and the criminal history information shall not 

be made available to the employer. 


( G )  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the department is 
authorized to provide an individual with a copy of his or her state 
or federal level criminal offender record information search response 
as provided to that department by the Department of Justice if the 
department has denied a criminal background clearance based on this 
information and the individual makes a written request to the 
department for a copy specifying an address to which it is to be 
sent. The state or federal level criminal offender record information 
search response shall not be modified or altered from its form or 
content as provided by the Department of Justice and shall be 
provided to the address specified by the individual in their written 
request. The department shall retain a copy of the individual's 
written request and the response and date provided. 

(b) (1) In addition to the applicant, this section shall be 

applicable to criminal convictions of the following persons: 


(A) Adults responsible for administration or direct supervision of 

staff. 


(B) Any person, other than a client, residing in the facility. 

(C)Any person who provides client assistance in dressing, 


grooming, bathing, or personal hygiene. Any nurse assistant or home 

health aide meeting the requirements of Section 1338.5 or 1736.6, 

respectively, who is not employed, retained, or contracted by the 

licensee, and who has been certified or recertified on or after July 

1, 1998, shall be deemed to meet the criminal record clearance 

requirements of this section, A certified nurse assistant and 

certified home health aide who will be providing client assistance 

and who falls under this exemption shall provide one copy of his or 




her current certification, prior to providing care, to the community 

care facility. The facility shall maintain the copy of the 

certification on file as long as care is being provided by the 

certified nurse assistant or certified home health aide at the 

facility. Nothing in this paragraph restricts the right of the 

department to exclude a certified nurse assistant or certified home 

health aide from a licensed community care facility pursuant to 

Section 1558. 


(D)Any staff person, volunteer, or employee who has contact with 

the clients. 


(E) If the applicant is a firm, partnership, association, or 

corporation, the chief executive officer or other person serving in 

like capacity. 


(F) Additional officers of the governing body of the applicant, or 

other persons with a financial interest in the applicant, as 

determined necessary by the department by regulation. The criteria 

used in the development of these regulations shall be based on the 

person's capability to exercise substantial influence over the 

operation of the facility. 


(2) The following persons are exempt from the requirements 
applicable under paragraph (1) : 

(A) A medical professional as defined in department regulations 

who holds a valid license or certification from the person's 

governing California medical care regulatory entity and who is not 

employed, retained, or contracted by the licensee if all of the 

following apply: 


(i) The criminal record of the person has been cleared as a 

condition of licensure or certification by the person's governing 

California medical care regulatory entity. 


(ii) The person is providing time-limited specialized clinical 

care or services. 


(iii) The person is providing care or services within the person's 

scope of practice. 


(iv) The person is not a community care facility licensee or an 

employee of the facility. 


( B )  A third-party repair person or similar retained contractor if 
all of the following apply: 

(i) The person is hired for a defined, time-limited job. 

(ii) The person is not left alone with clients. 

(iii) When clients are present in the room in which the 


repairperson or contractor is working, a staff person who has a 

criminal record clearance or exemption is also present. 


(C) Employees of a licensed home health agency and other members 

of licensed hospice interdisciplinary teams who have a contract with 

a client or resident of the facility and are in the facility at the 

request of that client or resident's legal decisionmaker. The 

exemption does not apply to a person who is a community care facility 

licensee or an employee of the facility. 


(D) Clergy and other spiritual caregivers who are performing 

services in common areas of the community care facility or who are 

advising an individual client at the request of, or with the 

permission of, the client or legal decisionmaker, are exempt from 

fingerprint and criminal background check requirements imposed by 

community care licensing. This exemption does not apply to a person 

who is a community care licensee or employee of the facility. 


(E) Members of fraternal, service, or similar organizations who 

conduct group activities for clients if all of the following apply: 




(i) Members are not left alone with clients. 

(ii) Members do not transport clients off the facility premises. 

(iii) The same organization does not conduct group activities for 


clients more often than defined by the department's regulations. 

(3) In addition to the exemptions in paragraph (2), the following 

persons in foster family homes, certified family homes, and small 
family homes are exempt from the requirements applicable under 
paragraph (1) : 

(A) Adult friends and family of the licensed or certified foster 

parent, who come into the home to visit for a length of time no 

longer than defined by the department in regulations, provided that 

the adult friends and family of the licensee are not left alone with 

the foster children. However, the licensee, acting as a reasonable 

and prudent parent, as defined in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of 

Section 362.04 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, may allow his 

or her adult friends and family to provide short-term care to the 

foster child and act as an appropriate occasional short-term 

babysitter for the child. 


(B) Parents of a foster child's friends when the foster child is 

visiting the friend's home and the friend, licensed or certified 

foster parent, or both are also present. However, the licensee, 

acting as a reasonable and prudent parent, may allow the parent of 

the foster child's friends to act as an appropriate short-term 

babysitter for the child without the friend being present. 


(C) Individuals who are engaged by any licensed or certified 

foster parent to provide short-term care to the child for periods not 

to exceed 24 hours. Caregivers shall use a reasonable and prudent 

parent standard in selecting appropriate individuals to act as 

appropriate occasional short-term babysitters. 


(4) In addition to the exemptions specified in paragraph (2), the 

following persons in adult day care and adult day support centers are 

exempt from the requirements applicable under paragraph (1): 


(A) Unless contraindicated by the client's individualized program 

plan (IPP) or needs and service plan, a spouse, significant other, 

relative, or close friend of a client, or an attendant or a 

facilitator for a client with a developmental disability if the 

attendant or facilitator is not employed, retained, or contracted by 

the licensee. This exemption applies only if the person is visiting 

the client or providing direct care and supervision to the client. 


(B) A volunteer if all of the following applies: 

(i) The volunteer is supervised by the licensee or a facility 


employee with a criminal record clearance or exemption. 

(ii) The volunteer is never left alone with clients. 

(iii) The volunteer does not provide any client assistance with 


dressing, grooming, bathing, or personal hygiene other than washing 

of hands. 


( 5 )  (A) In addition to the exemptions specified in paragraph ( 2 ) ,  

the following persons in adult residential and social rehabilitation 
facilities, unless contraindicated by the client's individualized 
program plan (IPP) or needs and services plan, are exempt from the 
requirements applicable under paragraph (1) : a spouse, significant 
other, relative, or close friend of a client, or an attendant or a 
facilitator for a client with a developmental disability if the 
attendant or facilitator is not employed, retained, or contracted by 
the licensee. This exemption applies only if the person is visiting 
the client or providing direct care and supervision to that client. 

( B )  Nothing in this subdivision shall prevent a licensee from 



requiring a criminal record clearance of any individual exempt from 

the requirements of this section, provided that the individual has 

client contact. 


(6)Any person similar to those described in this subdivision, as 

defined by the department in regulations. 


(c) (1) Subsequent to initial licensure, any person specified in 

subdivision (b) and not exempted from fingerprinting shall, as a 

condition to employment, residence, or presence in a community care 

facility, be fingerprinted and sign a declaration under penalty of 

perjury regarding any prior criminal convictions. The licensee shall 

submit fingerprint images and related information to the Department 

of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, through the 

Department of Justice, for a state and federal level criminal 

offender record information search, or to comply with paragraph (1) 

of subdivision (h), prior to the person's employment, residence, or 

initial presence in the community care facility. These fingerprint 

images and related information shall be sent by electronic 

transmission in a manner approved by the State 


Department of Social Services and the Department 

of Justice for the purpose of obtaining a permanent set of 

fingerprints, and shall be submitted to the Department of Justice by 

the licensee. A licensee's failure to submit fingerprints to the 

Department of Justice or to comply with paragraph (1) of subdivision 

(h), as required in this section, shall result in the citation of a 

deficiency and the immediate assessment of civil penalties in the 

amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per violation per day for a 

maximum of five days, unless the violation is a second or subsequent 

violation within a 12-month period in which case the civil penalties 

shall be in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per violation 

for a maximum of 30 days, and shall be grounds for disciplining the 

licensee pursuant to Section 1550. The department may assess civil 

penalties for continued violations as permitted by Section 1548. The 

fingerprint images and related information shall then be submitted to 

the Department of Justice for processing. Upon request of the 

licensee, who shall enclose a self-addressed stamped postcard for 

this purpose, the Department of Justice shall verify receipt of the 

fingerprints. 


(2) Within 14 calendar days of the receipt of the fingerprint 

images, the Department of Justice shall notify the State Department 

of Social Services of the criminal record information, as provided 

for in subdivision (a). If no criminal record information has been 

recorded, the Department of Justice shall provide the licensee and 

the State Department of Social Services with a statement of that fact 

within 14 calendar days of receipt of the fingerprint images. 

Documentation of the individual's clearance or exemption shall be 

maintained by the licensee and be available for inspection. If new 

fingerprint images are required for processing, the Department of 

Justice shall, within 14 calendar days from the date of receipt of 

the fingerprints, notify the licensee that the fingerprints were 

illegible, the Department of Justice shall notify the State 

Department of Social Services, as required by Section 1522.04, and 

shall also notify the licensee by mail, within 14 days of electronic 

transmission of the fingerprints to the Department of Justice, if the 

person has no criminal history recorded. A violation of the 

regulations adopted pursuant to Section 1522.04 shall result in the 

citation of a deficiency and an immediate assessment of civil 

penalties in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per violation 
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per day for a maximum of five days, unless the violation is a second 

or subsequent violation within a 12-month period in which case the 

civil penalties shall be in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) 

per violation for a maximum of 30 days, and shall be grounds for 

disciplining the licensee pursuant to Section 1550. The department 

may assess civil penalties for continued violations as permitted by 

Section 1548. 


(3) Except for persons specified in paragraph (2) of subdivision 

(b), the licensee shall endeavor to ascertain the previous employment 

history of persons required to be fingerprinted under this 

subdivision. If it is determined by the State Department of Social 

Services, on the basis of the fingerprint images and related 

information submitted to the Department of Justice, that the person 

has been convicted of, or is awaiting trial for, a sex offense 

against a minor, or has been convicted for an offense specified in 

Section 243.4, 273a, 273d, 273g, or 368 of the Penal Code, or a 

felony, the State Department of Social Services shall notify the 

licensee to act immediately to terminate the person's employment, 

remove the person from the community care facility, or bar the person 

from entering the community care facility. The State Department of 

Social Services may subsequently grant an exemption pursuant to 

subdivision (g). If the conviction or arrest was for another crime, 

except a minor traffic violation, the licensee shall, upon 

notification by the State Department of Social Services, act 

immediately to either (A) terminate the person's employment, remove 

the person from the community care facility, or bar the person from 

entering the community care facility; or (B) seek an exemption 

pursuant to subdivision (g). The State Department of Social Services 

shall determine if the person shall be allowed to remain in the 

facility until a decision on the exemption is rendered. A licensee's 

failure to comply with the department's prohibition of employment, 

contact with clients, or presence in the facility as required by this 

paragraph shall be grounds for disciplining the licensee pursuant to 

Section 1550. 


( 4 )  The department may issue an exemption on its own motion 
pursuant to subdivision (g) if the person's criminal history 
indicates that the person is of good character based on the age, 
seriousness, and frequency of the conviction or convictions. The 
department, in consultation with interested parties, shall develop 
regulations to establish the criteria to grant an exemption pursuant 
to this paragraph. 

(5) Concurrently with notifying the licensee pursuant to paragraph 

( 3 ) ,  the department shall notify the affected individual of his or 
her right to seek an exemption pursuant to subdivision (g). The 
individual may seek an exemption only if the licensee terminates the 
person's employment or removes the person from the facility after 
receiving notice from the department pursuant to paragraph (3). 

(d) (1) Before issuing a license, special permit, or certificate 

of approval to any person or persons to operate or manage a foster 

family home or certified family home as described in Section 1506, 

the State Department of Social Services or other approving authority 

shall secure from an appropriate law enforcement agency a criminal 

record to determine whether the applicant or any person specified in 

subdivision (b) has ever been convicted of a crime other than a minor 

traffic violation or arrested for any crime specified in subdivision 

(c) of Section 290 of the Penal Code, for violating Section 245 or 

273.5, subdivision (b) of Section 273a or, prior to January 1, 1994, 




paragraph (2) of Section 273a of the Penal Code, or for any crime for 

which the department cannot grant an exemption if the person was 

convicted and the person has not been exonerated. 


(2) The criminal history information shall include the full 

criminal record, if any, of those persons. 


(3) Neither the Department of Justice nor the State Department of 

Social Services may charge a fee for the fingerprinting of an 

applicant for a license, special permit, or certificate of approval 

described in this subdivision. The record, if any, shall be taken 

into consideration when evaluating a prospective applicant. 


(4) The following shall apply to the criminal record information: 

(A) If the applicant or other persons specified in subdivision (b) 


have convictions that would make the applicant's home unfit as a 

foster family home or a certified family home, the license, special 

permit, or certificate of approval shall be denied. 


( B )  If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 
applicant, or any person specified in subdivision (b) is awaiting 
trial for a crime other than a minor traffic violation, the State 
Department of Social Services or other approving authority may cease 
processing the application until the conclusion of the trial. 

(C) For the purposes of this subdivision, a criminal record 

clearance provided under Section 8712 of the Family Code may be used 

by the department or other approving agency. 


(D) An applicant for a foster family home license or for 

certification as a family home, and any other person specified in 

subdivision (b), shall submit a set of fingerprint images and related 

information to the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation, through the Department of Justice, for a state and 

federal level criminal offender record information search, in 

addition to the criminal records search required by subdivision (a). 

If an applicant meets all other conditions for licensure, except 

receipt of the Federal Bureau of Investigation's criminal history 

information for the applicant and all persons described in 

subdivision (b), the department may issue a license, or the foster 

family agency may issue a certificate of approval, if the applicant, 

and each person described in subdivision (b), has signed and 

submitted a statement that he or she has never been convicted of a 

crime in the United States, other than a traffic infraction, as 

defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 42001 of the 

Vehicle Code. If, after licensure or certification, the department 

determines that the licensee, certified foster parent, or any person 

specified in subdivision (b) has a criminal record, the license may 

be revoked pursuant to Section 1550 and the certificate of approval 

revoked pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 1534. The department 

may also suspend the license pending an administrative hearing 

pursuant to Section 1550.5. 


(5)Any person specified in this subdivision shall, as a part of 

the application, be fingerprinted and sign a declaration under 

penalty of perjury regarding any prior criminal convictions or 

arrests for any crime against a child, spousal or cohabitant abuse 

or, any crime for which the department cannot grant an exemption if 

the person was convicted and shall submit these fingerprints to the 

licensing agency or other approving authority. 


(6) (A) The foster family agency shall obtain fingerprint images. 

and related information from certified home applicants and from 

persons specified in subdivision (b) and shall submit them directly 

to the Department of Justice by electronic transmission in a manner 




approved by the State Department of Social Services and the 

Department of Justice. A foster family home licensee or foster family 

agency shall submit these fingerprint images and related information 

to the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation, through the Department of Justice, for a state and 

federal level criminal offender record information search, or to 

comply with paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) prior to the person's 

employment, residence, or initial presence in the foster family home 

or certified family home. A foster family agency's failure to submit 

fingerprint images and related information to the Department of 

Justice, or comply with paragraph (1) of subdivision (h), as required 

in this section, shall result in a citation of a deficiency, and the 

immediate civil penalties of one hundred dollars ($100) per 

violation per day for a maximum of five days, unless the violation is 

a second or subsequent violation within a 12-month period in which 

case the civil penalties shall be in the amount of one hundred 

dollars ($100) per violation for a maximum of 30 days, and shall be 

grounds for disciplining the licensee pursuant to Section 1550. A 

violation of the regulation adopted pursuant to Section 1522.04 shall 

result in the citation of a deficiency and an immediate assessment 

of civil penalties in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per 

violation per day for a maximum of five days, unless the violation is 

a second or subsequent violation within a 12-month period in which 

case the civil penalties shall be in the amount of one hundred 

dollars ($100) per violation for a maximum of 30 days, and shall be 

grounds for disciplining the foster family agency pursuant to Section 

1550. A licensee's failure to submit fingerprint images and related 

information to the Department of Justice, or comply with paragraph 

(1) of subdivision (h), as required in this section, may result in 

the citation of a deficiency and immediate civil penalties of one 

hundred dollars ($100) per violation. A licensee's violation of 

regulations adopted pursuant to Section 1522.04 may result in the 

citation of a deficiency and an immediate assessment of civil 

penalties in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per violation. 

The State Department of Social Services may assess penalties for 

continued violations, as permitted by Section 1548. The fingerprint 

images shall then be submitted to the Department of Justice for 

processing. 


( B )  Upon request of the licensee, who shall enclose a 
self-addressed envelope for this purpose, the Department of Justice 
shall verify receipt of the fingerprints. Within five working days of 
the receipt of the criminal record or information regarding criminal 
convictions from the Department of Justice, the department shall 
notify the applicant of any criminal arrests or convictions. If no 
arrests or convictions are recorded, the Department of Justice shall 
provide the foster family home licensee or the foster family agency 
with a statement of that fact concurrent with providing the 
information to the State Department of Social Services. 

(7) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 
applicant, or any other person specified in subdivision (b), has been 
convicted of a crime other than a minor traffic violation, the 
application shall be denied, unless the director grants an exemption 
pursuant to subdivision (g) . 

(8) If the State Department of Social Services finds after 

licensure or the granting of the certificate of approval that the 

licensee, certified foster parent, or any other person specified in 

paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), has been convicted of a crime other 




than a minor traffic violation, the license or certificate of 
approval may be revoked by the department or the foster family 
agency, whichever is applicable, unless the director grants an 
exemption pursuant to subdivision (g) . A licensee's failure to comply 
with the department's prohibition of employment, contact with 
clients, or presence in the facility as required by paragraph (3) of 
subdivision (c) shall be grounds for disciplining the licensee 
pursuant to Section 1550. 

(e) The State Department of Social Services may not use a record 

of arrest to deny, revoke, or terminate any application, license, 

employment, or residence unless the department investigates the 

incident and secures evidence, whether or not related to the incident 

of arrest, that is admissible in an administrative hearing to 

establish conduct by the person that may pose a risk to the health 

and safety of any person who is or may become a client. The State 

Department of Social Services is authorized to obtain any arrest or 

conviction records or reports from any law enforcement agency as 

necessary to the performance of its duties to inspect, license, and 

investigate community care facilities and individuals associated with 

a community care facility. 


(f) (1) For purposes of this section or any other provision of 

this chapter, a conviction means a plea or verdict of guilty or a 

conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Any action that the 

State Department of Social Services is permitted to take following 

the establishment of a conviction may be taken when the time for 

appeal has elapsed, when the judgment of conviction has been affirmed 

on appeal, or when an order granting probation is made suspending 

the imposition of sentence, notwithstanding a subsequent order 

pursuant to Sections 1203.4 and 1203.4a of the Penal Code permitting 

the person to withdraw his or her plea of guilty and to enter a plea 

of not guilty, or setting aside the verdict of guilty, or dismissing 

the accusation, information, or indictment. For purposes of this 

section or any other provision of this chapter, the record of a 

conviction, or a copy thereof certified by the clerk of the court or 

by a judge of the court in which the conviction occurred, shall be 

conclusive evidence of the conviction. For purposes of this section 

or any other provision of this chapter, the arrest disposition report 

certified by the Department of Justice, or documents admissible in a 

criminal action pursuant to Section 969b of the Penal Code, shall be 

prima facie evidence of the conviction, notwithstanding any other 

provision of law prohibiting the admission of these documents in a 

civil or administrative action. 


( 2 )  For purposes of this section or any other provision of this 
chapter, the department shall consider criminal convictions from 
another state or federal court as if the criminal offense was 
committed in this state. 

(g) (1) After review of the record, the director may grant an 
exemption from disqualification for a license or special permit as 
specified in paragraphs (1) and (4) of subdivision (a) , or for a 
license, special permit, or certificate of approval as specified in 
paragraphs (4) and (5) of subdivision (d), or for employment, 
residence, or presence in a community care facility as specified in 
paragraphs (3), (4), and (5) of subdivision (c) , if the director has 
substantial and convincing evidence to support a reasonable belief 
that the applicant and the person convicted of the crime, if other 
than the applicant, are of good character as to justify issuance of 
the license or special permit or granting an exemption for purposes 



of subdivision (c) . Except as otherwise provided in. this subdivision, 
an exemption may not be granted pursuant to this subdivision if the 
conviction was for any of the following offenses: 

(A) (i) An offense specified in Section 220, 243.4, or 264.1, 
subdivision (a) of Section 273a or, prior to January 1, 1994, 
paragraph (1) of Section 273a, Section 273d, 288, or 289, subdivision 
(c) of Section 290, or Section 368 of the Penal Code, or was a 

conviction of another crime against an individual specified in 

subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 of the Penal Code. 


(ii)Notwithstanding clause (i), the director may grant an 

exemption regarding the conviction for an offense described in 

paragraph (I), (2), (7), or (8) of subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 

of the Penal Code, if the employee or prospective employee has been 

rehabilitated as provided in Section 4852.03 of the Penal Code, has 

maintained the conduct required in Section 4852.05 of the Penal Code 

for at least 10 years, and has the recommendation of the district 

attorney representing the employee's county of residence, or if the 

employee or prospective employee has received a certificate of 

rehabilitation pursuant to Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 

4852.01) of Title 6 of Part 3 of the Penal Code. 


(B)A felony offense specified in Section 729 of the Business and 

Professions Code or Section 206 or 215, subdivision (a) of Section 

347, subdivision (b) of Section 417, or subdivision (a) of Section 

451 of the Penal Code. 


(2)The department may not prohibit a person from being employed 

or having contact with clients in a facility on the basis of a denied 

criminal record exemption request or arrest information unless the 

department complies with the requirements of Section 1558. 


(h) (1) For purposes of compliance with this section, the 

department may permit an individual to transfer a current criminal 

record clearance, as defined in subdivision (a), from one facility to 

another, as long as the criminal record clearance has been processed 

through a state licensing district office, and is being transferred 

to another facility licensed by a state licensing district office. 

The request shall be in writing to the State Department of Social 

Services, and shall include a copy of the person's driver's license 

or valid identification card issued by the Department of Motor 

Vehicles, or a valid photo identification issued by another state or 

the United States government if the person is not a California 

resident. Upon request of the licensee, who shall enclose a 

self-addressed envelope for this purpose, the State Department of 

Social Services shall verify whether the individual has a clearance 

that can be transferred. 


(2) The State Department of Social Services shall hold criminal 

record clearances in its active files for a minimum of two years 

after an employee is no longer employed at a licensed facility in 

order for the criminal record clearance to be transferred. 


(3) The following shall apply to a criminal record clearance or 

exemption from the department or a county office with 

department-delegated licensing authority: 


(A)A county office with department-delegated licensing authority 

may accept a clearance or exemption from the department. 


(B) The department may accept a clearance or exemption from any 

county office with department-delegated licensing authority. 


(C)A county office with department-delegated licensing authority 

may accept a clearance or exemption from any other county office with 

department-delegated licensing authority. 




(4)With respect to notifications issued by the Department of 

Justice pursuant to Section 11105.2 of the Penal Code concerning an 

individual whose criminal record clearance was originally processed 

by the department or a county office with department-delegated 

licensing authority, all of the following shall apply: 


(A) The Department of Justice shall process a request from the 

department or a county office with department-delegated licensing 

authority to receive the notice only if all of the following 

conditions are met: 


(i) The request shall be submitted to the Department of Justice by 

the agency to be substituted to receive the notification. 


(ii) The request shall be for the same applicant type as the type 

for which the original clearance was obtained. 


(iii)The request shall contain all prescribed data elements and 

format protocols pursuant to a written agreement between the 

department and the Department of Justice. 


( B )  (i) On or before January 7, 2005, the department shall notify 
the Department of Justice of all county offices that have 
department-delegated licensing authority. 

(ii) The department shall notify the Department of Justice within 

15 calendar days of the date on which a new county office receives 

department-delegated licensing authority or a county's delegated 

licensing authority is rescinded. 


(C) The Department of Justice shall charge the department, a 

county office with department-delegated licensing authority, or 

county child welfare agency with criminal record clearance and 

exemption authority, a fee for each time a request to substitute the 

recipient agency is received for purposes of this paragraph. This fee 

shall not exceed the cost of providing the service. 


(5) (A) A county child welfare agency with authority to secure 

clearances pursuant to Section 16504.5 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code and to grant exemptions pursuant to Section 361.4 

of the Welfare and Institutions Code may accept a clearance or 

exemption from another county with criminal record and exemption 

authority pursuant to these sections. 


(B)With respect to notifications issued by the Department of 

Justice pursuant to Section 11105.2 of the Penal Code concerning an 

individual whose criminal record clearance was originally processed 

by a county child welfare agency with criminal record clearance and 

exemption authority, the Department of Justice shall process a 

request from a county child welfare agency with criminal record and 

exemption authority to receive the notice only if all of the 

following conditions are met: 


(i) The request shall be submitted to the Department of Justice by 

the agency to be substituted to receive the notification. 


(ii) The request shall be for the same applicant type as the type 

for which the original clearance was obtained. 


(iii)The request shall contain all prescribed data elements and 

format protocols pursuant to a written agreement between the State 

Department of Social Services and the Department of Justice. 


(i) The full criminal record obtained for purposes of this section 

may be used by the department or by a licensed adoption agency as a 

clearance required for adoption purposes. 


(j) If a licensee or facility is required by law to deny 

employment or to terminate employment of any employee based on 

written notification from the state department that the employee has 

a prior criminal conviction or is determined unsuitable for 




employment under Section 1558, the licensee or facility shall not 

incur civil liability or unemployment insurance liability as a result 

of that denial or termination. 


(k) The State Department of Social Services may charge a fee for 

the costs of processing electronic fingerprint images and related 

information. 


(1) Amendments to this section made in the 1999 portion of the 

1999-2000 Regular Session shall be implemented commencing 60 days 

after the effective date of the act amending this section in the 1999 

portion of the 1999-2000 Regular Session, except that those 

provisions for the submission of fingerprints for searching the 

records of the Federal Bureau of Investigation shall be implemented 

90 days after the effective date of that act. 

SEC. 2. Section 1568.09 of the Health and Safety Code is amended 


to read: 

1568.09. It is the intent of the Legislature in enacting this 


section to require the electronic fingerprint images of those 

individuals whose contact with residents of residential care 

facilities for persons with a chronic, life-threatening illness may 

pose a risk to the residents' health and safety. 


It is the intent of the Legislature, in enacting this section, to 

require the electronic fingerprint images of those individuals whose 

contact with community care clients may pose a risk to the clients' 

health and safety. An individual shall be required to obtain either a 

criminal record clearance or a criminal record exemption from the 

State Department of Social Services before his or her initial 

presence in a residential care facility for persons with chronic, 

life-threatening illnesses. 


(a) (1) Before issuing a license to any person or persons to 

operate or manage a residential care facility, the department shall 

secure from an appropriate law enforcement agency a criminal record 

to determine whether the applicant or any other person specified in 

subdivision (b) has ever been convicted of a crime other than a minor 

traffic violation or arrested for any crime specified in subdivision 

(c) of Section 290 of the Penal Code, for violating Section 245 or 

273.5, subdivision (b) of Section 273a or, prior to January 1, 1994, 

paragraph (2) of Section 273a of the Penal Code, or for any crime for 

which the department cannot grant an exemption if the person was 

convicted and the person has not been exonerated. 


(2) The criminal history information shall include the full 

criminal record if any, of those persons, and subsequent arrest 

information pursuant to Section 11105.2 of the Penal Code. 


(3) The following shall apply to the criminal record information: 

(A) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 


applicant or any other person specified in subdivision (b) has been 

convicted of a crime, other than a minor traffic violation, 


the application shall be denied, 
unless the director grants an exemption pursuant to subdivision (f) . 

(B) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 

applicant, or any other person specified in subdivision (b) is 

awaiting trial for a crime other than a minor traffic violation, the 

State Department of Social Services may cease processing the 

application until the conclusion of the trial. 


(C) If no criminal record information has been recorded, the 

Department of Justice shall provide the applicant and the State 

Department of Social Services with a statement of that fact. 
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(D) If the State Department of Social Services finds after 

licensure that the licensee, or any other person specified in 

paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), has been convicted of a crime other 

than a minor traffic violation, the license may be revoked, unless 

the director grants an exemption pursuant to subdivision (f). 


( E )  An applicant and any other person specified in subdivision (b) 
shall submit fingerprint images and related information to the 
Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, 
through the Department of Justice, for a state and federal level 
criminal offender record information search, in addition to the 
search required by this subdivision. If an applicant meets all other 
conditions for licensure, except receipt of the Federal Bureau of 
Investigation's criminal history information for the applicant and 
persons listed in subdivision (b), the department may issue a license 
if the applicant and each person described by subdivision (b) has 
signed and submitted a statement that he or she has never been 
convicted of a crime in the United States, other than a traffic 
infraction as defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 
42001 of the Vehicle Code. If, after licensure, the department 
determines that the licensee or person specified in subdivision (b) 
has a criminal record, the license may be revoked pursuant to 
subdivision (a) of Section 1568.082. The department may also suspend 
the license pending an administrative hearing pursuant to subdivision 
(b) of Section 1568.082. 


(b) In addition to the applicant, the provisions of this section 

shall be applicable to criminal convictions of the following persons: 


(1) Adults responsible for administration or direct supervision of 

staff of the facility. 


(2) Any person, other than a resident, residing in the facility. 

(3) Any person who provides resident assistance in dressing, 


grooming, bathing, or personal hygiene. Any nurse assistant or home 

health aide meeting the requirements of Section 1338.5 or 1736.6, 

respectively, who is not employed, retained, or contracted by the 

licensee, and who has been certified or recertified on or after July 

1, 1998, shall be deemed to meet the criminal record clearance 

requirements of this section. A certified nurse assistant and 

certified home health aide who will be providing client assistance 

and who falls under this exemption shall provide one copy of his or 

her current certification, prior to providing care, to the 

residential care facility for persons with chronic, life-threatening 

illness. The facility shall maintain the copy of the certification on 

file as long as care is being provided by the certified nurse 

assistant or certified home health aide at the facility. Nothing in 

this paragraph restricts the right of the department to exclude a 

certified nurse assistant or certified home health aide from a 

licensed residential care facility for persons with chronic, 

life-threatening illness pursuant to Section 1568.092. 


(4) (A) Any staff person, volunteer, or employee who has contact 

with the residents. 


(B)A volunteer shall be exempt from the requirements of this 

subdivision if he or she is a relative, significant other, or close 

friend of a client receiving care in the facility and the volunteer 

does not provide direct care and supervision of residents. A 

volunteer who provides direct care and supervision shall be exempt if 

the volunteer is a resident's spouse, significant other, close 

friend, or family member and provides direct care and supervision to 




that resident only at the request of the resident. The department may 

define in regulations persons similar to those described in this 

subparagraph who may be exempt from the requirements of this 

subdivision. 


(5) If the applicant is a firm, partnership, association, or 

corporation, the chief executive officer or other person serving in 

that capacity. 


(6) Additional officers of the governing body of the applicant, or 

other persons with a financial interest in the applicant, as 

determined necessary by the department by regulation. The criteria 

used in the development of these regulations shall be based on the 

person's capability to exercise substantial influence over the 

operation of the facility. 


(c) (1) (A) Subsequent to initial licensure, any person specified 

in subdivision (b) and not exempted from fingerprinting shall, as a 

condition to employment, residence, or presence in a residential care 

facility, be fingerprinted and sign a declaration under penalty of 

perjury regarding any prior criminal convictions. The licensee shall 

submit fingerprint images and related information to the Department 

of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, through the 

Department of Justice, for a state and federal level criminal 

offender record information search, or to comply with paragraph (I) 

of subdivision (g), prior to the person's employment, residence, or 

initial presence in the residential care facility. 


( B )  These fingerprint images and related information shall be 
electronically submitted to the Department of Justice in a manner 
approved by the State Department of Social Services and the 
Department of Justice, for the purpose of obtaining a permanent set 
of fingerprints. A licensee's failure to submit fingerprint images 
and related information to the Department of Justice, or to comply 
with paragraph (1) of subdivision (g), as required in this section, 
shall result in the citation of a deficiency and an immediate 
assessment of civil penalties in the amount of one hundred dollars 
($100) per violation per day for a maximum of five days, unless the 

violation is a second or subsequent violation within a 12-month 

period in which case the civil penalties shall be in the amount of 

one hundred dollars ($100) per violation for a maximum of 30 days, 

and shall be grounds for disciplining the licensee pursuant to 

Section 1568.082. The State Department of Social Services may assess 

civil penalties for continued violations as allowed in Section 

1568.0822. The fingerprint images and related information shall then 

be submitted to the Department of Justice for processing. The 

licensee shall maintain and make available for inspection 

documentation of the individual's clearance or exemption. 


(2)A violation of the regulations adopted pursuant to Section 

1522.04 shall result in the citation of a deficiency and an immediate 

assessment of civil penalties in the amount of one hundred dollars 

($100) per violation per day for a maximum of five days, unless the 

violation is a second or subsequent violation within a 12-month 

period in which case the civil penalties shall be in the amount of 

one hundred dollars ($100) per violation for a maximum of 30 days, 

and shall be grounds for disciplining the licensee pursuant to 

Section 1568.082. The department may assess civil penalties for 

continued violations as permitted by Section 1568.0822. 


(3) Within 14 calendar days of the receipt of the fingerprint 

images, the Department of Justice shall notify the State Department 

of Social Services of the criminal record information, as provided 




for in this subdivision. If no criminal record information has been 

recorded, the Department of Justice shall provide the licensee and 

the State Department of Social Services with a statement of that fact 

within 14 calendar days of receipt of the fingerprint images. If new 

fingerprint images are required for processing, the Department of 

Justice shall, within 14 calendar days from the date of receipt of 

the fingerprint images, notify the licensee that the fingerprint 

images were illegible. The Department of Justice shall notify the 

department, as required by Section 1522.04, and shall notify the 

licensee by mail within 14 days of electronic transmission of the 

fingerprint images to the Department of Justice, if the person has no 

criminal history record. 


(4) Except for persons specified in paragraph (2) of subdivision 

(b), the licensee shall endeavor to ascertain the previous employment 
history of persons required to be fingerprinted under this 
subdivision. If it is determined by the State Department of Social 
Services, on the basis of the fingerprint images submitted to the 
Department of Justice, that the person has been convicted of a sex 
offense against a minor, an offense specified in Section 243.4, 273a, 
273d, 273g, or 368 of the Penal Code, or a felony, the department 
shall notify the licensee to act immediately to terminate the person' 
s employment, remove the person from the residential care facility, 
or bar the person from entering the residential care facility. The 
department may subsequently grant an exemption pursuant to 
subdivision (f) . If the conviction was for another crime, except a 
minor traffic violation, the licensee shall, upon notification by the 
department, act immediately to either (1) terminate the person's 
employment, remove the person from the residential care facility, or 
bar the person from entering the residential care facility; or (2) 
seek an exemption pursuant to subdivision (f). The department shall 
determine if the person shall be allowed to remain in the facility 
until a decision on the exemption is rendered. A licensee's failure 
to comply with the department's prohibition of employment, contact 
with clients, or presence in the facility as required by this 
paragraph shall result in a citation of deficiency and an immediate 
assessment of civil penalties by the department against the licensee, 
in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per violation per day 
for a maximum of five days, unless the violation is a second or 
subsequent violation within a 12-month period in which case the civil 
penalties shall be in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per 
violation for a maximum of 30 days, and shall be grounds for 
disciplining the licensee pursuant to Section 1568.082. 

(5) The department may issue an exemption on its own motion 

pursuant to subdivision (f) if the person's criminal history 

indicates that the person is of good character based on the age, 

seriousness, and frequency of the conviction or convictions. The 

department, in consultation with interested parties, shall develop 

regulations to establish the criteria to grant an exemption pursuant 

to this paragraph. 


(6) Concurrently with notifying the licensee pursuant to paragraph 

(4), the department shall notify the affected individual of his or 

her right to seek an exemption pursuant to subdivision (f), The 

individual may seek an exemption only if the licensee terminates the 

person's employment or removes the person from the facility after 

receiving notice from the department pursuant to paragraph (4). 


(d) (1) For purposes of this section or any other provision of 

this chapter, a conviction means a plea or verdict of guilty or a 
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conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Any action that the 

department is permitted to take following the establishment of a 

conviction may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, when 

the judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal, or when an 

order granting probation is made suspending the imposition of the 

sentence, notwithstanding a subsequent order pursuant to Sections 

1203.4 and 1203.4a of the Penal Code permitting that person to 

withdraw his or her plea of guilty and to enter a plea of not guilty, 

setting aside the verdict of guilty, or dismissing the accusation, 

information, or indictment. For purposes of this chapter, the record 

of a conviction, or a copy thereof certified by the clerk of the 

court or by a judge of the court in which the conviction occurred, 

shall be conclusive evidence of the conviction. For purposes of this 

section or any other provision of this chapter, the arrest 

disposition report certified by the Department of Justice, or 

documents admissible in a criminal action pursuant to Section 969b of 

the Penal Code, shall be prima facie evidence of the conviction, 

notwithstanding any other provision of law prohibiting the admission 

of these documents in a civil or administrative action. 


(2) For purposes of this section or any other provision of this 

chapter, the department shall consider criminal convictions from 

another state or federal court as if the criminal offense was 

committed in this state. 


(e) The State Department of Social Services may not use a record 

of arrest to deny, revoke, or terminate any application, license, 

employment, or residence unless the department investigates the 

incident and secures evidence, whether or not related to the incident 

of arrest, that is admissible in an administrative hearing to 

establish conduct by the person that may pose a risk to the health 

and safety of any person who is or may become a client. The State 

Department of Social Services is authorized to obtain any arrest or 

conviction records or reports from any law enforcement agency as 

necessary to the performance of its duties to inspect, license, and 

investigate community care facilities and individuals associated with 

a community care facility. 


(f) (1) After review of the record, the director may grant an 
exemption from disqualification for a license as specified in 
paragraphs (1) and (4) of subdivision (a), or for employment, 
residence, or presence in a residential care facility as specified in 
paragraphs (4) , (5), and (6) of subdivision (c) if the director has 
substantial and convincing evidence to support a reasonable belief 
that the applicant and the person convicted of the crime, if other 
than the applicant, are of such good character as to justify issuance 
of the license or special permit or granting an exemption for 
purposes of subdivision (c). However, an exemption may not be granted 
pursuant to this subdivision if the conviction was for any of the 
following offenses: 

(A) An offense specified in Section 220, 243.4, or 264.1, 

subdivision (a) of Section 273a or, prior to January 1, 1994, 

paragraph (1) of Section 273a, Section 273d, 288, or 289, subdivision 

(c) of Section 290, or Section 368 of the Penal Code, or was a 

conviction of another crime against an individual specified in 

subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 of the Penal Code. 


(B) A felony offense specified in Section 729 of the Business and 

Professions Code or Section 206 or 215, subdivision (a) of Section 

347, subdivision (b) of Section 417, or subdivision (a) of Section 

451 of the Penal Code. 




(2) The department may not prohibit a person from being employed 

or having contact with clients in a facility on the basis of a denied 

criminal record exemption request or arrest information unless the 

department complies with the requirements of Section 1568.092. 


(g) (1) For purposes of compliance with this section, the 

department may permit an individual to transfer a current criminal 

record clearance, as defined in subdivision (a), from one facility to 

another, as long as the criminal record clearance has been processed 

through a state licensing district office, and is being transferred 

to another facility licensed by a state licensing district office. 

The request shall be in writing to the department, and shall include 

a copy of the person's driver's license or valid identification card 

issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, or a valid photo 

identification issued by another state or the United States 

government if the person is not a California resident. Upon request 

of the licensee, who shall enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope 

for this purpose, the department shall verify whether the individual 

has a clearance that can be transferred. 


(2) The State Department of Social Services shall hold criminal 

record clearances in its active files for a minimum of two years 

after an employee is no longer employed at a licensed facility in 

order for the criminal record clearance to be transferred. 


(h) If a licensee or facility is required by law to deny 

employment or to terminate employment of any employee based on 

written notification from the state department that the employee has 

a prior criminal conviction or is determined unsuitable for 

employment under Section 1568.092, the licensee or facility shall not 

incur civil liability or unemployment insurance liability as a 

result of that denial or termination. 


(i) (1) The Department of Justice shall charge a fee sufficient to 

cover its cost in providing services to comply with the 14-day 

requirement contained in subdivision (c) for provision to the 

department of criminal record information. 


(2) Paragraph (1) shall cease to be implemented when the 

department adopts emergency regulations pursuant to Section 1522.04, 

and shall become inoperative when permanent regulations are adopted 

under that section. 


( j )  Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the department may 
provide an individual with a copy of his or her state or federal 
level criminal offender record information search response as 
provided to that department by the Department of Justice if the 
department has denied a criminal background clearance based on this 
information and the individual makes a written request to the 
department for a copy specifying an address to which it is to be 
sent. The state or federal level criminal offender record information 
search response shall not be modified or altered from its form or 
content as provided by the Department of Justice and shall be 
provided to the address specified by the individual in his or her 
written request. The department shall retain a copy of the individual' 
s written request and the response and date provided. 
SEC. 3. Section 1569.17 of the Health and Safety Code is amended 


to read: 

1569.17. The Legislature recognizes the need to generate timely 


and accurate positive fingerprint identification of applicants as a 

condition of issuing licenses, permits, or certificates of approval 

for persons to operate or provide direct care services in a 

residential care facility for the elderly. It is the intent of the 
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Legislature in enacting this section to require the fingerprints of 

those individuals whose contact with clients of residential care 

facilities for the elderly may pose a risk to the clientsf health and 

safety. An individual shall be required to obtain either a criminal 

record clearance or a criminal record exemption from the State 

Department of Social Services before his or her initial presence in a 

residential care facility for the elderly. 


(a) (1) Before issuing a license to any person or persons to 

operate or manage a residential care facility for the elderly, the 

department shall secure from an appropriate law enforcement agency a 

criminal record to determine whether the applicant or any other 

person specified in subdivision (b) has ever been convicted of a 

crime other than a minor traffic violation or arrested for any crime 

specified in subdivision (c) of Section 290 of the Penal Code, for 

violating Section 245 or 273.5, subdivision (b) of Section 273a or, 

prior to January 1, 1994, paragraph (2) of Section 273a of the Penal 

Code, or for any crime for which the department cannot grant an 

exemption if the person was convicted and the person has not been 

exonerated. 


(2) The criminal history information shall include the full 

criminal record, if any, of those persons, and subsequent arrest 

information pursuant to Section 11105.2 of the Penal Code. 


(3) The following shall apply to the criminal record information: 

(A) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 

applicant or any other person specified in subdivision (b) has been 
convicted of a crime, other than a minor traffic violation, the 
application shall be denied, unless the director grants an exemption 
pursuant to subdivision ( f) . 

( B )  If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 
applicant, or any other person specified in subdivision (b) is 
awaiting trial for a crime other than a minor traffic violation, the 
State Department of Social Services may cease processing the 
application until the conclusion of the trial. 

(C) If no criminal record information has been recorded, the 

Department of Justice shall provide the applicant and the State 

Department of Social Services with a statement of that fact. 


(D) If the State Department of Social Services finds after 

licensure that the licensee, or any other person specified in 

paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), has been convicted of a crime other 

than a minor traffic violation, the license may be revoked, unless 

the director grants an exemption pursuant to subdivision (f). 


(E) An applicant and any other person specified in subdivision (b) 

shall submit fingerprint images and related information to the 

Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, 

through the Department of Justice, for a state and federal level 

criminal offender record information search, in addition to the 

search required by subdivision (a). If an applicant meets all other 

conditions for licensure, except receipt of the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation's criminal history information for the applicant and 

persons listed in subdivision (b), the department may issue a license 

if the applicant and each person described by subdivision (b) has 

signed and submitted a statement that he or she has never been 

convicted of a crime in the United States, other than a traffic 

infraction as defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 

42001 of the Vehicle Code. If, after licensure, the department 

determines that the licensee or person specified in subdivision (b) 

has a criminal record, the license may be revoked pursuant to Section 




1569.50. The department may also suspend the license pending an 

administrative hearing pursuant to Sections 1569.50 and 1569.51. 


(b) In addition to the applicant, the provisions of this section 

shall apply to criminal convictions of the following persons: 


(1) (A) Adults responsible for administration or direct 

supervision of staff. 


(B) Any person, other than a client, residing in the facility. 

Residents of unlicensed independent senior housing facilities that 

are located in contiguous buildings on the same property as a 

residential care facility for the elderly shall be exempt from these 

requirements. 


(C) Any person who provides client assistance in dressing, 

grooming, bathing, or personal hygiene. Any nurse assistant or home 

health aide meeting the requirements of Section 1338.5 or 1736.6, 

respectively, who is not employed, retained, or contracted by the 

licensee, and who has been certified or recertified on or after July 

1, 1998, shall be deemed to meet the criminal record clearance 

requirements of this section. A certified nurse assistant and 

certified home health aide who will be providing client assistance 

and who falls under this exemption shall provide one copy of his or 

her current certification, prior to providing care, to the 

residential care facility for the elderly. The facility shall 

maintain the copy of the certification on file as long as the care is 

being provided by the certified nurse assistant or certified home 

health aide at the facility. Nothing in this paragraph restricts the 

right of the department to exclude a certified nurse assistant or 

certified home health aide from a licensed residential care facility 

for the elderly pursuant to Section 1569.58. 


(D) Any staff person, volunteer, or employee who has contact with 

the clients. 


( E )  If the applicant is a firm, partnership, association, or 
corporation, the chief executive officer or other person serving in a 
similar capacity. 

( F )  Additional officers of the governing body of the applicant or 
other persons with a financial interest in the applicant, as 
determined necessary by the department by regulation. The criteria 
used in the development of these regulations shall be based on the 
person's capability to exercise substantial influence over the 
operation of the facility. 

(2) The following persons are exempt from requirements applicable 
under paragraph (1) : 

(A) A spouse, relative, significant other, or close friend of a 

client shall be exempt if this person is visiting the client or 

provides direct care and supervision to that client only. 


( B )  A volunteer to whom all of the following apply: 
(i) The volunteer is at the facility during normal waking hours. 

(ii) The volunteer is directly supervised by the licensee or a 


facility employee with a criminal record clearance or exemption. 

(iii) The volunteer spends no more than 16 hours per week at the 


facility. 

(iv) The volunteer does not provide clients with assistance in 


dressing, grooming, bathing, or personal hygiene. 

(v) The volunteer is not left alone with clients in care. 

(C) A third-party contractor retained by the facility if the 


contractor is not left alone with clients in care. 

(D) A third-party contractor or other business professional 


retained by a client and at the facility at the request or by 
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permission of that client. These individuals may not be left alone 

with other clients. 


(E) Licensed or certified medical professionals are exempt from 

fingerprint and criminal background check requirements imposed by 

community care licensing. This exemption does not apply to a person 

who is a community care facility licensee or an employee of the 

facility. 


(F) Employees of licensed home health agencies and members of 

licensed hospice interdisciplinary teams who have contact with a 

resident of a residential care facility at the request of the 

resident or resident's legal decisionmaker are exempt from 

fingerprint and criminal background check requirements imposed by 

community care licensing. This exemption does not apply to a person 

who is a community care facility licensee or an employee of the 

facility. 


( G )  Clergy and other spiritual caregivers who are performing 
services in common areas of the residential care facility, or who are 
advising an individual resident at the request of, or with 
permission of, the resident, are exempt from fingerprint and criminal 
background check requirements imposed by community care licensing. 
This exemption does not apply to a person who is a community care 
facility licensee or an employee of the facility. 

( H )  Any person similar to those described in this subdivision, as 
defined by the department in regulations. 

(I) Nothing in this paragraph shall prevent a licensee 

from requiring a criminal record clearance of any individual exempt 

from the requirements of this section, provided that the individual 

has client contact. 


(c) (1) (A) Subsequent to initial licensure, any person required 

to be fingerprinted pursuant to subdivision (b) shall, as a condition 

to employment, residence, or presence in a residential facility for 

the elderly, be fingerprinted and sign a declaration under penalty of 

perjury regarding any prior criminal convictions. The licensee shall 

submit these fingerprint images and related information to the 

Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, 

through the Department of Justice, for a state and federal level 

criminal offender record information search, or to comply with 

paragraph (1) of subdivision (g) prior to the person's employment, 

residence, or initial presence in the residential care facility for 

the elderly. 


(B) These fingerprint images and related information shall be 

electronically transmitted in a manner approved by the State 

Department of Social Services and the Department of Justice. A 

licensee's failure to submit fingerprint images and related 

information to the Department of Justice, or to comply with paragraph 

(1) of subdivision (g), as required in this section, shall result in 

the citation of a deficiency and an immediate assessment of civil 

penalties in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per violation 

per day for a maximum of five days, unless the violation is a second 

or subsequent violation within a 12-month period in which case the 

civil penalties shall be in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) 

per violation for a maximum of 30 days, and shall be grounds for 

disciplining the licensee pursuant to Section 1569.50. The State 

Department of Social Services may assess civil penalties for 

continued violations as permitted by Section 1569.49. The licensee 

shall then submit these fingerprint images to the State Department of 


http:1569.50
http:1569.49


Social Services for processing. ~ocumentation of the individual's 

clearance or exemption shall be maintained by the licensee and be 

available for inspection. The Department of Justice shall notify the 

department, as required by Section 1522.04, and notify the licensee 

by mail within 14 days of electronic transmission of the fingerprints 

to the Department of Justice, if the person has no criminal record. 

A violation of the regulations adopted pursuant to Section 1522.04 

shall result in the citation of a deficiency and an immediate 

assessment of civil penalties in the amount of one hundred dollars 

($100) per violation per day for a maximum of five days, unless the 

violation is a second or subsequent violation within a 12-month 

period in which case the civil penalties shall be in the amount of 

one hundred dollars ($100) per violation for a maximum of 30 days, 

and shall be grounds for disciplining the licensee pursuant to 

Section 1569.50. The department may assess civil penalties for 

continued violations as permitted by Section 1569.49. 


(2) Within 14 calendar days of the receipt of the fingerprint 

images, the Department of Justice shall notify the State Department 

of Social Services of the criminal record information, as provided 

for in this subdivision. If no criminal record information has been 

recorded, the Department of Justice shall provide the licensee and 

the State Department of Social Services with a statement of that fact 

within 14 calendar days of receipt of the fingerprint images. If new 

fingerprint images are required for processing, the Department of 

Justice shall, within 14 calendar days from the date of receipt of 

the fingerprint images, notify the licensee that the fingerprint 

images were illegible. 


(3) Except for persons specified in paragraph (2) of subdivision 

(b), the licensee shall endeavor to ascertain the previous employment 
history of persons required to be fingerprinted under this 
subdivision. If the State Department of Social Services determines, 
on the basis of the fingerprint images submitted to the Department of 
Justice, that the person has been convicted of a sex offense against 
a minor, an offense specified in Section 243.4, 273a, 273d, 273g, or 
368 of the Penal Code, or a felony, the State Department of Social 
Services shall notify the licensee in writing within 15 calendar days 
of the receipt of the notification from the Department of Justice to 
act immediately to terminate the person's employment, remove the 
person from the residential care facility for the elderly, or bar the 
person from entering the residential care facility for the elderly. 
The State Department of Social Services may subsequently grant an 
exemption pursuant to subdivision (f) . If the conviction was for 
another crime, except a minor traffic violation, the licensee shall, 
upon notification by the State Department of Social Services, act 
immediately to either (1) terminate the person's employment, remove 
the person from the residential care facility for the elderly, or bar 
the person from entering the residential care facility for the 
elderly or (2) seek an exemption pursuant to subdivision (f). The 
department shall determine if the person shall be allowed to remain 
in the facility until a decision on the exemption is rendered by the 
department. A licensee's failure to comply with the department's 
prohibition of employment, contact with clients, or presence in the 
facility as required by this paragraph shall result in a citation of 
deficiency and an immediate assessment of civil penalties by the 
department against the licensee, in the amount of one hundred dollars 
($100) per violation per day for a maximum of five days, unless the 

violation is a second or subsequent violation within a 12-month 
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period in which case the civil penalties shall be in the amount of 

one hundred dollars ($100) per violation for a maximum of 30 days, 

and shall be grounds for disciplining the licensee pursuant to 

Section 1569.50. 


(4) The department may issue an exemption on its own motion 

pursuant to subdivision (f) if the person's criminal history 

indicates that the person is of good character based on the age, 

seriousness, and frequency of the conviction or convictions. The 

department, in consultation with interested parties, shall develop 

regulations to establish the criteria to grant an exemption pursuant 

to this paragraph. 


(5) Concurrently with notifying the licensee pursuant to paragraph 

( 4 ) ,  the department shall notify the affected individual of his or 
her right to seek an exemption pursuant to subdivision (f) . The 
individual may seek an exemption only if the licensee terminates the 
person's employment or removes the person from the facility after 
receiving notice from the department pursuant to paragraph (4). 

(d) (1) For purposes of this section or any other provision of 

this chapter, a conviction means a plea or verdict of guilty or a 

conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Any action that the 

department is permitted to take following the establishment of a 

conviction may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, when 

the judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal or when an 

order granting probation is made suspending the imposition of the 

sentence, notwithstanding a subsequent order pursuant to the 

provisions of Sections 1203.4 and 1203.4a of the Penal Code 

permitting a person to withdraw his or her plea of guilty and to 

enter a plea of not guilty, or setting aside the verdict of guilty, 

or dismissing the accusation, information, or indictment. For 

purposes of this section or any other provision of this chapter, the 

record of a conviction, or a copy thereof certified by the clerk of 

the court or by a judge of the court in which the conviction 

occurred, shall be conclusive evidence of the conviction. For 

purposes of this section or any other provision of this chapter, the 

arrest disposition report certified by the Department of Justice or 

documents admissible in a criminal action pursuant to Section 969b of 

the Penal Code shall be prima facie evidence of the conviction, 

notwithstanding any other provision of law prohibiting the admission 

of these documents in a civil or administrative action. 


(2) For purposes of this section or any other provision of this 

chapter, the department shall consider criminal convictions from 

another state or federal court as if the criminal offense was 

committed in this state. 


(e) The State Department of Social Services may not use a record 

of arrest to deny, revoke, or terminate any application, license, 

employment, or residence unless the department investigates the 

incident and secures evidence, whether or not related to the incident 

of arrest, that is admissible in an administrative hearing to 

establish conduct by the person that may pose a risk to the health 

and safety of any person who is or may become a client. The State 

Department of Social Services is authorized to obtain any arrest or 

conviction records or reports from any law enforcement agency as 

necessary to the performance of its duties to inspect, license, and 

investigate community care facilities and individuals associated with 

a community care facility. 


(f) (1) After review of the record, the director may grant an 

exemption from disqualification for a license as specified in 


http:1569.50


paragraphs (1) and (4) of subdivision (a), or for employment, 
residence, or presence in a residential care facility for the elderly 
as specified in paragraphs (4) , (5), and (6) of subdivision (c) if 
the director has substantial and convincing evidence to support a 
reasonable belief that the applicant and the person convicted of the 
crime, if other than the applicant, are of such good character as to 
justify issuance of the license or special permit or granting an 
exemption for purposes of subdivision (c). However, an exemption may 
not be granted pursuant to this subdivision if the conviction was for 
any of the following offenses: 

(A) An offense specified in Section 220, 243.4, or 264.1, 

subdivision (a) of Section 273a or, prior to January 1, 1994, 

paragraph (1) of Section 273a, Section 273d, 288, or 289, subdivision 

(c) of Section 290, or Section 368 of the Penal Code, or was a 

conviction of another crime against an individual specified in 

subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 of the Penal Code. 


(B) A felony offense specified in Section 729 of the Business and 

Professions Code or Section 206 or 215, subdivision (a) of Section 

347, subdivision (b) of Section 417, or subdivision (a) of Section 

451 of the Penal Code. 


(2) The director shall notify in writing the licensee or the 

applicant of his or her decision within 60 days of receipt of all 

information from the applicant and other sources determined necessary 

by the director for the rendering of a decision pursuant to this 

subdivision. 


(3) The department may not prohibit a person from being employed 

or having contact with clients in a facility on the basis of a denied 

criminal record exemption request or arrest information unless the 

department complies with the requirements of Section 1569.58. 


(g) (1) For purposes of compliance with this section, the 

department may permit an individual to transfer a current criminal 

record clearance, as defined in subdivision (a), from one facility to 

another, as long as the criminal record clearance has been processed 

through a state licensing district office, and is being transferred 

to another facility licensed by a state licensing district office. 

The request shall be submitted in writing to the department, and 

shall include a copy of the person's driver's license or valid 

identification card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, or a 

valid photo identification issued by another state or the United 

States government if the person is not a California resident. Upon 

request of the licensee, who shall enclose a self-addressed stamped 

envelope for this purpose, the department shall verify whether the 

individual has a clearance that can be transferred. 


(2) The State Department of Social Services shall hold criminal 

record clearances in its active files for a minimum of two years 

after an employee is no longer employed at a licensed facility in 

order for the criminal record clearances to be transferred under this 

section. 


(h) If a licensee or facility is required by law to deny 

employment or to terminate employment of any employee based on 

written notification from the department that the employee has a 

prior criminal conviction or is determined unsuitable for employment 

under Section 1569.58, the licensee or facility shall not incur civil 

liability or unemployment insurance liability as a result of that 

denial or termination. 


(i) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the department may 

provide an individual with a copy of his or her state or federal 
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level criminal offender record information search response as 

provided to that department by the Department of ~ustice if the 

department has denied a criminal background clearance based on this 

information and the individual makes a written request to the 

department for a copy specifying an address to which it is to be 

sent. The state or federal level criminal offender record information 

search response shall not be modified or altered from its form or 

content as provided by the Department of ~ustice and shall be 

provided to the address specified by the individual in his or her 

written request. The department shall retain a copy of the individual' 

s written request and the response and date provided. 

SEC. 4. Section 1596.871 of the Health and Safety Code is amended 


to read: 

1596.871. The Legislature recognizes the need to generate timely 


and accurate positive fingerprint identification of applicants as a 

condition of issuing licenses, permits, or certificates of approval 

for persons to operate or provide direct care services in a child 

care center or family child care home. It is the intent of the 

Legislature in enacting this section to require the fingerprints of 

those individuals whose contact with child day care facility clients 

may pose a risk to the children's health and safety. An individual 

shall be required to obtain either a criminal record clearance or a 

criminal record exemption from the State Department of Social 

Services before his or her initial presence in a child day care 

facility. 


(a) (1) Before issuing a license or special permit to any person 

to operate or manage a day care facility, the department shall secure 

from an appropriate law enforcement agency a criminal record to 

determine whether the applicant or any other person specified in 

subdivision (b) has ever been convicted of a crime other than a minor 

traffic violation or arrested for any crime specified in subdivision 

(c) of Section 290 of the Penal Code, for violating Section 245 or 

273.5, subdivision (b) of Section 273a or, prior to January 1, 1994, 

paragraph (2) of Section 273a of the Penal Code, or for any crime for 

which the department cannot grant an exemption if the person was 

convicted and the person has not been exonerated. 


(2) The criminal history information shall include the full 

criminal record, if any, of those persons, and subsequent arrest 

information pursuant to Section 11105.2 of the Penal Code. 


(3) Except during the 2003-04, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, and 

2007-08 fiscal years, neither the Department of Justice nor the 

department may charge a fee for the fingerprinting of an applicant 

who will serve six or fewer children or any family day care applicant 

for a license, or for obtaining a criminal record of an applicant 

pursuant to this section. 


(4) The following shall apply to the criminal record information: 

(A) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 

applicant or any other person specified in subdivision (b) has been 
convicted of a crime, other than a minor traffic violation, the 
application shall be denied, unless the director grants an exemption 
pursuant to subdivision (f) . 

(B) If the State Department of Social Services finds that the 

applicant, or any other person specified in subdivision (b), is 

awaiting trial for a crime other than a minor traffic violation, the 

State Department of Social Services may cease processing the 

application until the conclusion of the trial. 


(C) If no criminal record information has been recorded, the 




Department of Justice shall provide the applicant and the State 

Department of Social Services with a statement of that fact. 


(D)If the State Department of Social Services finds after 

licensure that the licensee, or any other person specified in 

paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), has been convicted of a crime other 

than a minor traffic violation, the license may be revoked, unless 

the director grants an exemption pursuant to subdivision (f). 


(E) An applicant and any other person specified in subdivision (b) 

shall submit fingerprint images and related information to the 

Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, 

through the Department of Justice, for a state and federal level 

criminal offender record information search, in addition to the 

search required by subdivision (a). If an applicant meets all other 

conditions for licensure, except receipt of the Federal Bureau of 

Investigation's criminal history information for the applicant and 

persons listed in subdivision (b), the department may issue a license 

if the applicant and each person described by subdivision (b) has 

signed and submitted a statement that he or she has never been 

convicted of a crime in the United States, other than a traffic 

infraction as defined in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of Section 

42001 of the Vehicle Code. If, after licensure, the department 

determines that the licensee or person specified in subdivision (b) 

has a criminal record, the license may be revoked pursuant to Section 

1596.885. The department may also suspend the license pending an 

administrative hearing pursuant to Section 1596.886. 


(b) (1) In addition to the applicant, this section shall be 

applicable to criminal convictions of the following persons: 


(A)Adults responsible for administration or direct supervision of 

staff. 


( B )  Any person, other than a child, residing in the facility. 
(C)Any person who provides care and supervision to the children. 

(D)Any staff person, volunteer, or employee who has contact with 


the children. 

(i)A volunteer providing time-limited specialized services shall 


be exempt from the requirements of this subdivision if this person is 

directly supervised by the licensee or a facility employee with a 

criminal record clearance or exemption, the volunteer spends no more 

than 16 hours per week at the facility, and the volunteer is not left 

alone with children in care. 


(ii) A student enrolled or participating at an accredited 

educational institution shall be exempt from the requirements of this 

subdivision if the student is directly supervised by the licensee or 

a facility employee with a criminal record clearance or exemption, 

the facility has an agreement with the educational institution 

concerning the placement of the student, the student spends no more 

than 16 hours per week at the facility, and the student is not left 

alone with children in care. 


(iii)A volunteer who is a relative, legal guardian, or foster 

parent of a client in the facility shall be exempt from the 

requirements of this subdivision. 


(iv)A contracted repair person retained by the facility, if not 

left alone with children in care, shall be exempt from the 

requirements of this subdivision. 


(v)Any person similar to those described in this subdivision, as 

defined by the department in regulations. 


(E) If the applicant is a firm, partnership, association, or 

corporation, the chief executive officer, other person serving in 




like capacity, or a person designated by the chief executive officer 

as responsible for the operation of the facility, as designated by 

the applicant agency. 


(F) If the applicant is a local educational agency, the president 

of the governing board, the school district superintendent, or a 

person designated to administer the operation of the facility, as 

designated by the local educational agency. 


(G)~dditional officers of the governing body of the applicant, or 

other persons with a financial interest in the applicant, as 

determined necessary by the department by regulation. The criteria 

used in the development of these regulations shall be based on the 

person's capability to exercise substantial influence over the 

operation of the facility. 


(H)This section does not apply to employees of child care and 

development programs under contract with the State Department of 

Education who have completed a criminal record clearance as part of 

an application to the Commission on Teacher Credentialing, and who 

possess a current credential or permit issued by the commission, 

including employees of child care and development programs that serve 

both children subsidized under, and children not subsidized under, a 

State Department of Education contract. The Commission on Teacher 

Credentialing shall notify the department upon revocation of a 

current credential or permit issued to an employee of a child care 

and development program under contract with the State Department of 

Education. 


(I) This section does not apply to employees of a child care and 

development program operated by a school district, county office of 

education, or community college district under contract with the 

State Department of Education who have completed a criminal record 

clearance as a condition of employment. The school district, county 

office of education, or community college district upon receiving 

information that the status of an employee's criminal record 

clearance has changed shall submit that information to the 

department. 


(2) Nothing in this subdivision shall prevent a licensee from 

requiring a criminal record clearance of any individuals exempt from 

the requirements under this subdivision. 


(c) (1) (A) Subsequent to initial licensure, any person specified 

in subdivision (b) and not exempted from fingerprinting shall, as a 

condition to employment, residence, or presence in a child day care 

facility be fingerprinted and sign a declaration under penalty of 

perjury regarding any prior criminal conviction. The licensee shall 

submit fingerprint images and related information to the Department 

of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, through the 

Department of Justice, or to comply with paragraph (1) of subdivision 

(h), prior to the person's employment, residence, or initial 

presence in the child day care facility. 


(B) These fingerprint images for the purpose of obtaining a 

permanent set of fingerprints shall be electronically submitted to 

the Department of Justice in a manner approved by the State 

Department of Social Services and to the Department of Justice, or to 

comply with paragfaph (1) of subdivision (h), as required in this 

section, shall result in the citation of a deficiency, and an 

immediate assessment of civil penalties in the amount of one hundred 

dollars ($100) per violation per day for a maximum of five days, 

unless the violation is a second or subsequent violation within a 

12-month period in which case the civil penalties shall be in the 
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amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per violation for a maximum of 

30 days, and shall be grounds for disciplining the licensee pursuant 

to Section 1596.885 or Section 1596.886, The State Department of 

Social Services may assess civil penalties for continued violations 

permitted by Sections 1596.99 and 1597.62. The fingerprint images and 

related information shall then be submitted to the department for 

processing. Within 14 calendar days of the receipt of the fingerprint 

images, the Department of Justice shall notify the State Department 

of Social Services of the criminal record information, as provided in 

this subdivision. If no criminal record information has been 

recorded, the Department of Justice shall provide the licensee and 

the State Department of Social Services with a statement of that fact 

within 14 calendar days of receipt of the fingerprint images. If new 

fingerprint images are required for processing, the Department of 

Justice shall, within 14 calendar days from the date of receipt of 

the fingerprint images, notify the licensee that the fingerprints 

were illegible. 


(C) Documentation of the individual's clearance or exemption shall 

be maintained by the licensee, and shall be available for 

inspection. When live-scan technology is operational, as defined in 

Section 1522.04, the Department of Justice shall notify the 

department, as required by that section, and notify the licensee by 

mail within 14 days of electronic transmission of the fingerprints to 

the Department of Justice, if the person has no criminal record. Any 

violation of the regulations adopted pursuant to Section 1522.04 

shall result in the citation of a deficiency and an immediate 

assessment of civil penalties in the amount of one hundred dollars 

($100) per violation per day for a maximum of five days, unless the 

violation is a second or subsequent violation within a 12-month 

period in which case the civil penalties shall be in the amount of 

one hundred dollars ($100) per violation for a maximum of 30 days, 

and shall be grounds for disciplining the licensee pursuant to 

Section 1596.885 or Section 1596.886. The department may assess civil 

penalties for continued violations, as permitted by Sections 1596.99 

and 1597.62. 


(2) Except for persons specified in paragraph (2) of subdivision 

(b), the licensee shall endeavor to ascertain the previous employment 
history of persons required to be fingerprinted under this 
subdivision. If it is determined by the department, on the basis of 
fingerprints submitted to the Department of Justice, that the person 
has been convicted of a sex offense against a minor, an offense 
specified in Section 243.4, 273a, 273d, 273g, or 368 of the Penal 
Code, or a felony, the State Department of Social Services shall 
notify the licensee to act immediately to terminate the person's 
employment, remove the person from the child day care facility, or 
bar the person from entering the child day care facility. The 
department may subsequently grant an exemption pursuant to 
subdivision (f) . If the conviction was for another crime except a 
minor traffic violation, the licensee shall, upon notification by the 
State Department of Social Services, act immediately to either (1) 
terminate the person's employment, remove the person from the child 
day care facility, or bar the person from entering the child day care 
facility; or (2) seek an exemption pursuant to subdivision (f) . The 
department shall determine if the person shall be allowed to remain 
in the facility until a decision on the exemption is rendered. A 

licensee's failure to comply 

with the department's prohibition of employment, contact with 
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clients, or presence in the facility as required by this paragraph 

shall result in a citation of deficiency and an immediate assessment 

of civil penalties by the department against the licensee, in the 

amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per violation per day for a 

maximum of five days, unless the violation is a second or subsequent 

violation within a 12-month period in which case the civil penalties 

shall be in the amount of one hundred dollars ($100) per violation 

for a maximum of 30 days, and shall be grounds for disciplining the 

licensee pursuant to Section 1596.885 or 1596.886. 


(3) The department may issue an exemption on its own motion 

pursuant to subdivision (f) if the person's criminal history 

indicates that the person is of good character based on the age, 

seriousness, and frequency of the conviction or convictions. The 

department, in consultation with interested parties, shall develop 

regulations to establish the criteria to grant an exemption pursuant 

to this paragraph. 


(4) Concurrently with notifying the licensee pursuant to paragraph 

(3), the department shall notify the affected individual of his or 

her right to seek an exemption pursuant to subdivision (f). The 

individual may seek an exemption only if the licensee terminates the 

person's employment or removes the person from the facility after 

receiving notice from the department pursuant to paragraph (3). 


(d) (1) For purposes of this section or any other provision of 

this chapter, a conviction means a plea or verdict of guilty or a 

conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. Any action that the 

department is permitted to take following the establishment of a 

conviction may be taken when the time for appeal has elapsed, when 

the judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal, or when an 

order granting probation is made suspending the imposition of 

sentence, notwithstanding a subsequent order pursuant to Sections 

1203.4 and 1203.4a of the Penal Code permitting the person to 

withdraw his or her plea of guilty and to enter a plea of not guilty, 

or setting aside the verdict of guilty, or dismissing the 

accusation, information, or indictment. For purposes of this section 

or any other provision of this chapter, the record of a conviction, 

or a copy thereof certified by the clerk of the court or by a judge 

of the court in which the conviction occurred, shall be conclusive 

evidence of the conviction. For purposes of this section or any other 

provision of this chapter, the arrest disposition report certified 

by the Department of Justice, or documents admissible in a criminal 

action pursuant to Section 969b of the Penal Code, shall be prima 

facie evidence of conviction, notwithstanding any other provision of 

law prohibiting the admission of these documents in a civil or 

administrative action. 


(2) For purposes of this section or any other provision of this 

chapter, the department shall consider criminal convictions from 

another state or federal court as if the criminal offense was 

committed in this state. 


(e) The State Department of Social Services may not use a record 

of arrest to deny, revoke,- or terminate any application, license, 

employment, or residence unless the department investigates the 

incident and secures evidence, whether or not related to the incident 

of arrest, that is admissible in an administrative hearing to 

establish conduct by the person that may pose a risk to the health 

and safety of any person who is or may become a client. The State 

Department of Social Services is authorized to obtain any arrest or 

conviction records or reports from any law enforcement agency as 




necessary to the performance of its duties to inspect, license, and 

investigate community care facilities and individuals associated with 

a community care facility. 


(f) (1) After review of the record, the director may grant an 

exemption from disqualification for a license or special permit as 

specified in paragraphs (1) and (4) of subdivision (a), or for 

employment, residence, or presence in a child day care facility as 

specified in paragraphs (3), (4), and (5) of subdivision (c) if the 

director has substantial and convincing evidence to support a 

reasonable belief that the applicant and the person convicted of the 

crime, if other than the applicant, are of good character so as to 

justify issuance of the license or special permit or granting an 

exemption for purposes of subdivision (c). However, an exemption may 

not be granted pursuant to this subdivision if the conviction was for 

any of the following offenses: 


(A)An offense specified in Section 220, 243.4, or 264.1, 

subdivision (a) of Section 273a or, prior to January 1, 1994, 

paragraph (1) of Section 273a, Section 273d, 288, or 289, subdivision 

(c) of Section 290, or Section 368 of the Penal Code, or was a 

conviction of another crime against an individual specified in 

subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 of the Penal Code. 


(B)A felony offense specified in Section 729 of the Business and 

Professions Code or Section 206 or 215, subdivision (a) of Section 

347, subdivision (b) of Section 417, or subdivision (a) or (b) of 

Section 451 of the Penal Code. 


(2) The department may not prohibit a person from being employed 

or having contact with clients in a facility on the basis of a denied 

criminal record exemption request or arrest information unless the 

department complies with the requirements of Section 1596.8897. 


(g) Upon request of the licensee, who shall enclose a 

self-addressed stamped postcard for this purpose, the Department of 

Justice shall verify receipt of the fingerprint images. 


(h) (1) For the purposes of compliance with this section, the 

department may permit an individual to transfer a current criminal 

record clearance, as defined in subdivision (a), from one facility to 

another, as long as the criminal record clearance has been processed 

through a state licensing district office, and is being transferred 

to another facility licensed by a state licensing district office. 

The request shall be in writing to the department, and shall include 

a copy of the person's driver's license or valid identification card 

issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles, or a valid photo 

identification issued by another state or the United States 

government if the person is not a California resident. Upon request 

of the licensee, who shall enclose a self-addressed stamped envelope 

for this purpose, the department shall verify whether the individual 

has a clearance that can be transferred. 


(2) The State Department of Social Services shall hold criminal 

record clearances in its active files for a minimum of two years 

after an employee is no longer employed at a licensed facility in 

order for the criminal record clearances to be transferred. 


(3) The following shall apply to a criminal record clearance or 

exemption from the department or a county office with 

department-delegated licensing authority: 


(A) A county office with department-delegated licensing authority 

may accept a clearance or exemption from the department. 


(B) The department may accept a clearance or exemption from any 

county office with department-delegated licensing authority. 




(C) A county office with department-delegated licensing authority 

may accept a clearance or exemption from any other county office with 

department-delegated licensing authority. 


(4) With respect to notifications issued by the Department of 

Justice pursuant to Section 11105.2 of the Penal Code concerning an 

individual whose criminal record clearance was originally processed 

by the department or a county office with department-delegated 

licensing authority, all of the following shall apply: 


(A) The Department of Justice shall process a request from the 

department or a county office with department-delegated licensing 

authority to receive the notice, only if all of the following 

conditions are met: 


(i) The request shall be submitted to the Department of Justice by 

the agency to be substituted to receive the notification. 


(ii) The request shall be for the same applicant type as the type 

for which the original clearance was obtained. 


(iii) The request shall contain all prescribed data elements and 

format protocols pursuant to a written agreement between the 

department and the Department of Justice. 


( B )  (i) On or before January 7, 2005, the department shall notify 
the Department of Justice of all county offices that have 
department-delegated licensing authority. 

(ii) The department shall notify the Department of Justice within 

15 calendar days of the date on which a new county office receives 

department-delegated licensing authority or a county's delegated 

licensing authority is rescinded. 


(C) The Department of Justice shall charge the department or a 

county office with department-delegated licensing authority a fee for 

each time a request to substitute the recipient agency is received 

for purposes of this paragraph. This fee shall not exceed the cost of 

providing the service. 


(i) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, the department may 

provide an individual with a copy of his or her state or federal 

level criminal offender record information search response as 

provided to that department by the Department of Justice if the 

department has denied a criminal background clearance based on this 

information and the individual makes a written request to the 

department for a copy specifying an address to which it is to be 

sent. The state or federal level criminal offender record information 

search response shall not be modified or altered from its form or 

content as provided by the Department of Justice and shall be 

provided to the address specified by the individual in his or her 

written request. The department shall retain a copy of the individual' 

s written request and the response and date provided. 


SEC. 5. Section 288.3 of the Penal Code, as added by Section 7 of 

Chapter 337 of the Statutes of 2006, is amended and renumbered to 

read: 


288.4. (a) (1) Every person who, motivated by an unnatural or 

abnormal sexual interest in children, arranges a meeting with a minor 

or a person he or she believes to be a minor for the purpose of 

exposing his or her genitals or pubic or rectal area, having the 

child expose his or her genitals or pubic or rectal area, or engaging 

in lewd or lascivious behavior, shall be punished by a fine not 

exceeding five thousand dollars ($5,000), by imprisonment in a county 

jail not exceeding one year, or by both the fine and imprisonment. 


(2) Every person who violates this subdivision after a prior 

conviction for an offense listed in subdivision (c) of Section 290 




shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison. 

(b) Every person described in paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) who 


goes to the arranged meeting place at or about the arranged time, 

shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, 

or four years. 


(c) Nothing in this section shall preclude or prohibit prosecution 

under any other provision of law. 


SEC. 6. Section 289.5 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

289.5. (a) Every person who flees to this state with the intent 


to avoid prosecution for an offense which, if committed or attempted 

in this state, would have been punishable as one or more of the 

offenses described in subdivision (c) of Section 290, and who has 

been charged with that offense under the laws of the jurisdiction 

from which the person fled, is guilty of a misdemeanor. 


(b) Every person who flees to this state with the intent to avoid 

custody or confinement imposed for conviction of an offense under the 

laws of the jurisdiction from which the person fled, which offense, 

if committed or attempted in this state, would have been punishable 

as one or more of the offenses described in subdivision (c) of 

Section 290, is guilty of a misdemeanor. 


(c) No person shall be charged and prosecuted for an offense under 

this section unless the prosecutor has requested the other 

jurisdiction to extradite the person and the other jurisdiction has 

refused to do so. 


(d) Any person who is convicted of any felony sex offense 

described in subdivision (c) of Section 290, that is committed after 

fleeing to this state under the circumstances described in 

subdivision (a) or (b) of this section, shall, in addition and 

consecutive to the punishment for that conviction, receive an 

additional term of two years1 imprisonment. 

SEC. 7. Section 290 of the Penal Code is repealed. 

SEC. 8. Section 290 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290. (a) Sections 290 to 290.023, inclusive, shall be known and 


may be cited as the Sex Offender Registration Act. All references to 

"the Act" in those sections are to the Sex Offender Registration Act. 


(b) Every person described in subdivision (c), for the rest of his 

or her life while residing in California, or while attending school 

or working in California, as described in Sections 290.002 and 

290.01, shall be required to register with the chief of police of the 

city in which he or she is residing, or the sheriff of the county if 

he or she is residing in an unincorporated area or city that has no 

police department, and, additionally, with the chief of police of a 

campus of the University of California, the California State 

University, or community college if he or she is residing upon the 

campus or in any of its facilities, within five working days of 

coming into, or changing his or her residence within, any city, 

county, or city and county, or campus in which he or she temporarily 

resides, and shall be required to register thereafter in accordance 

with the Act. 


(c) The following persons shall be required to register: 

Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been or is hereafter 


convicted in any court in this state or in any federal or military 

court of a violation of Section 187 committed in the perpetration, or 

an attempt to perpetrate, rape or any act punishable under Section 

286, 288, 288a, or 289, Section 207 or 209 committed with intent to 

violate Section 261, 286, 288, 288a, or 289, Section 220, except 




assault to commit mayhem, Section 243.4, paragraph (I), (2), (3), 

(4), or (6) of subdivision (a) of Section 261, paragraph (1) of 

subdivision (a) of Section 262 involving the use of force or violence 

for which the person is sentenced to the state prison, Section 

264.1, 266, or 266c, subdivision (b) of Section 266h, subdivision (b) 

of Section 266i, Section 2663, 267, 269, 285, 286, 288, 288a, 288.3, 

288.4, 288.5, 288.7, 289, or 311.1, subdivision (b), (c), or (d) of 

Section 311.2, Section 311.3, 311.4, 311.10, 311.11, or 647.6, former 

Section 647a, subdivision (c) of Section 653f, subdivision 1 or 2 of 

Section 314, any offense involving lewd or lascivious conduct under 

Section 272, or any felony violation of Section 288.2; any statutory 

predecessor that includes all elements of one of the above-mentioned 

offenses; or any person who since that date has been or is hereafter 

convicted of the attempt or conspiracy to commit any of the 

above-mentioned offenses. 

SEC. 9. Section 290.001 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.001. Every person who has ever been adjudicated a sexually 


violent predator, as defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare and 

Institutions Code, shall register in accordance with the Act. 

SEC. 10. Section 290,002 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.002. Persons required to register in their state of residence 


who are out-of-state residents employed, or carrying on a vocation 

in California on a full-time or part-time basis, with or without 

compensation, for more than 14 days, or for an aggregate period 

exceeding 30 days in a calendar year, shall register in accordance 

with the Act. Persons described in the Act who are out-of-state 

residents enrolled in any educational institution in California, as 

defined in Section 22129 of the Education Code, on a full-time or 

part-time basis, shall register in accordance with the Act. The place 

where the out-of-state resident is located, for purposes of 

registration, shall be the place where the person is employed, 

carrying on a vocation, or attending school. The out-of-state 

resident subject to this section shall, in addition to the 

information required pursuant to Section 290.015, provide the 

registering authority with the name of his or her place of employment 

or the name of the school attended in California, and his or her 

address or location, in his or her state of residence. The 

registration requirement for persons subject to this section shall 

become operative on November 25, 2000. The terms "employed or carries 

on a vocation11 include employment whether or not financially 

compensated, volunteered, or performed for government or educational 

benefit. 

SEC. 11. Section 290.003 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.003. Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been or 


hereafter is released, discharged, or paroled from a penal 

institution where he or she was confined because of the commission or 

attempted commission of one of the offenses described in subdivision 

(c) of Section 290, shall register in accordance with the Act. 

SEC. 12. Section 290.004 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.004. Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been or 


hereafter is determined to be a mentally disordered sex offender 

under Article 1 (commencing with Section 6300) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 

of Division 6 of the Welfare and Institutions Code, or any person 

who has been found guilty in the guilt phase of a trial for an 

offense for which registration is required by this section but who 

has been found not guilty by reason of insanity in the sanity phase 

of the trial shall register in accordance with the Act. 




SEC. 13. Section 290.005 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.005. The following persons shall register in accordance with 


the Act: 

(a) Any person who, since July 1, 1944, has been, or is hereafter 


convicted in any other court, including any state, federal, or 

military court, of any offense that, if committed or attempted in 

this state, would have been punishable as one or more of the offenses 

described in subdivision (c) of Section 290, including offenses in 

which the person was a principal, as defined in Section 31. 


(b) Any person ordered by any other court, including any state, 

federal, or military court, to register as a sex offender for any 

offense, if the court found at the time of conviction or sentencing 

that the person committed the offense as a result of sexual 

compulsion or for purposes of sexual gratification. 


(c) Except as provided in subdivision (d), any person who would 

be required to register while residing in the state of conviction for 

a sex offense committed in that state. 


(d) Notwithstanding subdivision (c), a person convicted in another 

state of an offense similar to one of the following offenses who is 

required to register in the state of conviction shall not be required 

to register in California unless the out-of-state offense contains 

all of the elements of a registerable California offense described in 

subdivision (c) of Section 290: 


(1) Indecent exposure, pursuant to Section 314. 

(2) Unlawful sexual intercourse, pursuant to Section 261.5. 

(3) Incest, pursuant to Section 285. 

(4) Sodomy, pursuant to Section 286, or oral copulation, pursuant 


to Section 288a, provided that the offender notifies the Department 

of Justice that the sodomy or oral copulation conviction was for 

conduct between consenting adults, as described in Section 290.019, 

and the department is able, upon the exercise of reasonable 

diligence, to verify that fact. 


(5) Pimping, pursuant to Section 266h, or pandering, pursuant to 

Section 266i. 

SEC. 14. Section 290.006 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.006. Any person ordered by any court to register pursuant to 


the Act for any offense not included specifically in subdivision (c) 

of Section 290, shall so register, if the court finds at the time of 

conviction or sentencing that the person committed the offense as a 

result of sexual compulsion or for purposes of sexual gratification. 

The court shall state on the record the reasons for its findings and 

the reasons for requiring registration. 

SEC. 15. Section 290.007 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.007. Any person required to register pursuant to any 


provision of the Act shall register in accordance with the Act, 

regardless of whether the person's conviction has been dismissed 

pursuant to Section 1203.4, unless the person obtains a certificate 

of rehabilitation and is entitled to relief from registration 

pursuant to Section 290.5. 


SEC. 16. Section 290.008 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.008. (a) Any person who, on or after January 1, 1986, is 


discharged or paroled from the Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation to the custody of which he or she was committed after 

having been adjudicated a ward of the juvenile court pursuant to 

Section 602 of the Welfare and Institutions Code because of the 

commission or attempted commission of any offense described in 

subdivision (c) shall register in accordance with the Act. 




(b) Any person who is discharged or paroled from a facility in 

another state that is equivalent to the Division of Juvenile Justice, 

to the custody of which he or she was committed because of an 

offense which, if committed or attempted in this state, would have 

been punishable as one or more of the offenses described in 

subdivision (c) shall register in accordance with the Act. 


(c) Any person described in this section who committed an offense 

in violation of any of the following provisions shall be required to 

register pursuant to the Act: 


(1) Assault with intent to commit rape, sodomy, oral copulation, 

or any violation of Section 264.1, 288, or 289 under Section 220. 


(2) Any offense defined in paragraph (I), (2), (3), (4), or (6) of 

subdivision (a) of Section 261, Section 264.1, 266c, or 267, 

paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of, or subdivision (c) or (d) of, 

Section 286, Section 288 or 288.5, paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) 

of, or subdivision (c) or (d) of, Section 288a, subdivision (a) of 

Section 289, or Section 647.6. 


(3) A violation of Section 207 or 209 committed with the intent to 

violate Section 261, 286, 288, 288a, or 289. 


(d) Prior to discharge or parole from the Department of 

Corrections and Rehabilitation, any person who is subject to 

registration under this section shall be informed of the duty to 

register under the procedures set forth in the Act. Department 

officials shall transmit the required forms and information to the 

Department of Justice. 


(e) All records specifically relating to the registration in the 

custody of the Department of Justice, law enforcement agencies, and 

other agencies or public officials shall be destroyed when the person 

who is required to register has his or her records sealed under the 

procedures set forth in Section 781 of the Welfare and Institutions 

Code. This section shall not be construed as requiring the 

destruction of other criminal offender or juvenile records relating 

to the case that are maintained by the Department of Justice, law 

enforcement agencies, the juvenile court, or other agencies and 

public officials unless ordered by a court under Section 781 of the 

Welfare and Institutions Code. 

SEC. 17. Section 290.009 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.009. Any person required to register under the Act who is 


enrolled as a student or is an employee or carries on a vocation, 

with or without compensation, at an institution of higher learning in 

this state, shall register pursuant to the provisions of the Act. 

SEC. 18. Section 290.010 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.010. If the person who is registering has more than one 


residence address at which he or she regularly resides, he or she 

shall register in accordance with the Act in each of the 

jurisdictions in which he or she regularly resides, regardless of the 

number of days or nights spent there. If all of the addresses are 

within the same jurisdiction, the person shall provide the 

registering authority with all of the addresses where he or she 

regularly resides. 

SEC. 19. Section 290.011 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.011. Every person who is required to register pursuant to the 


Act who is living as a transient shall be required to register for 

the rest of his or her life as follows: 


(a) He or she shall register, or reregister if the person has 

previously registered, within five working days from release from 

incarceration, placement or commitment, or release on probation, 




pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 290, except that if the person 

previously registered as a transient less than 30 days from the date 

of his or her release from incarceration, he or she does not need to 

reregister as a transient until his or her next required 30-day 

update of registration. If a transient is not physically present in 

any one jurisdiction for five consecutive working days, he or she 

shall register in the jurisdiction in which he or she is physically 

present on the fifth working day following release, pursuant to 

subdivision (b) of Section 290. Beginning on or before the 30th day 

following initial registration upon release, a transient shall 

reregister no less than once every 30 days thereafter. A transient 

shall register with the chief of police of the city in which he or 

she is physically present within that 30-day period, or the sheriff 

of the county if he or she is physically present in an unincorporated 

area or city that has no police department, and additionally, with 

the chief of police of a campus of the University of California, the 

California State University, or community college if he or she is 

physically present upon the campus or in any of its facilities. A 

transient shall reregister no less than once every 30 days regardless 

of the length of time he or she has been physically present in the 

particular jurisdiction in which he or she reregisters. If a 

transient fails to reregister within any 30-day period, he or she may 

be prosecuted in any jurisdiction in which he or she is physically 

present. 


(b) A transient who moves to a residence shall have five working 

days within which to register at that address, in accordance with 

subdivision (b) of Section 290. A person registered at a residence 

address in accordance with that provision who becomes transient shall 

have five working days within which to reregister as a transient in 

accordance with subdivision (a). 


(c) Beginning on his or her first birthday following registration, 

a transient shall register annually, within five working days of his 

or her birthday, to update his 


or her registration with the entities described in 

subdivision (a). A transient shall register in whichever jurisdiction 

he or she is physically present on that date. At the 30-day updates 

and the annual update, a transient shall provide current information 

as required on the Department of Justice annual update form, 

including the information described in paragraphs (1) to (3), 

inclusive of subdivision (a) of Section 290.015, and the information 

specified in subdivision (d). 


(d) A transient shall, upon registration and reregistration, 

provide current information as required on the Department of Justice 

registration forms, and shall also list the places where he or she 

sleeps, eats, works, frequents, and engages in leisure activities. If 

a transient changes or adds to the places listed on the form during 

the 30-day ?eriod, he or she does not need to report the new place or 

places until the next required reregistration. 


(e) Failure to comply with the requirement of reregistering every 

30 days following initial registration pursuant to subdivision (a) 

shall be punished in accordance with subdivision (g) of Section 

290.018. Failure to comply with any other requirement of this section 

shall be punished in accordance with either subdivision (a) or (b) 

of Section 290.018. 


(f) A transient who moves out of state shall inform, in person, 

the chief of police in the city in which he or she is physically 

present, or the sheriff of the county if he or she is physically 




present in an unincorporated area or city that has no police 

department, within five working days, of his or her move out of 

state. The transient shall inform that registering agency of his or 

her planned destination, residence or transient location out of 

state, and any plans he or she has to return to California, if known. 

The law enforcement agency shall, within three days after receipt of 

this information, forward a copy of the change of location 

information to the Department of Justice. The department shall 

forward appropriate registration data to the law enforcement agency 

having local jurisdiction of the new place of residence or location. 


(g) For purposes of this section, "transient1' means a person who 

has no residence. uResidencell means one or more addresses at which a 

person regularly resides, regardless of the number of days or nights 

spent there, such as a shelter or structure that can be located by a 

street address, including, but not limited to, houses, apartment 

buildings, motels, hotels, homeless shelters, and recreational and 

other vehicles. 


(h) The transient registrant's duty to update his or her 

registration no less than every 30 days shall begin with his or her 

second transient update following the date this section became 

effective. 

SEC. 20. Section 290.012 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.012. (a) Beginning on his or her first birthday following 

registration or change of address, the person shall be required to 
register annually, within five working days of his or her birthday, 
to update his or her registration with the entities described in 
subdivision (b) of Section 290. At the annual update, the person 
shall provide current information as required on the Department of 
Justice annual update form, including the information described in 
paragraphs (1) to (3) , inclusive of subdivision (a) of Section 
290.015. The registering agency shall give the registrant a copy of 

the registration requirements from the Department of Justice form. 


(b) In addition, every person who has ever been adjudicated a 

sexually violent predator, as defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare 

and Institutions Code, shall, after his or her release from custody, 

verify his or her address no less than once every 90 days and place 

of employment, including the name and address of the employer, in a 

manner established by the Department of Justice. Every person who, as 

a sexually violent predator, is required to verify his or her 

registration every 90 days, shall be notified wherever he or she next 

registers of his or her increased registration obligations. This 

notice shall be provided in writing by the registering agency or 

agencies. Failure to receive this notice shall be a defense to the 

penalties prescribed in subdivision (f) of Section 290.018. 


(c) In addition, every person subject to the Act, while living as 

a transient in California shall update his or her registration at 

least every 30 days, in accordance with Section 290.011. 


(d) No entity shall require a person to pay a fee to register or 
update his or her registration pursuant to this section. The 
registering agency shall submit registrations, including annual 
updates or changes of address, directly into the Department of 
Justice Violent Crime Information Network (VCIN) . 
SEC. 21. Section 290.013 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.013. (a) Any person who was last registered at a residence 


address pursuant to the Act who changes his or her residence address, 

whether within the jurisdiction in which he or she is currently 

registered or to a new jurisdiction inside or outside the state, 




shall, in person, within five working days of the move, inform the 

law enforcement agency or agencies with which he or she last 

registered of the move, the new address or transient location, if 

known, and any plans he or she has to return to California. 


(b) If the person does not know the new residence address or 

location at the time of the move, the registrant shall, in person, 

within five working days of the move, inform the last registering 

agency or agencies that he or she is moving. The person shall later 

notify the last registering agency or agencies, in writing, sent by 

certified or registered mail, of the new address or location within 

five working days of moving into the new residence address or 

location, whether temporary or permanent. 


(c) The law enforcement agency or agencies shall, within three 

working days after receipt of this information, forward a copy of the 

change of address information to the Department of Justice. The 

Department of Justice shall forward appropriate registration data to 

the law enforcement agency or agencies having local jurisdiction of 

the new place of residence. 


(d) If the person's new address is in a Department of Corrections 

and Rehabilitation facility or state mental institution, an official 

of the place of incarceration, placement, or commitment shall, within 

90 days of receipt of the person, forward the registrant's change of 

address information to the Department of Justice. The agency need 

not provide a physical address for the registrant but shall indicate 

that he or she is serving a period of incarceration or commitment in 

a facility under the agency's jurisdiction. This subdivision shall 

apply to persons received in a department facility or state mental 

institution on or after January 1, 1999. The Department of Justice 

shall forward the change of address information to the agency with 

which the person last registered. 

SEC. 22. Section 290.014 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.014. If any person who is required to register pursuant to 


the Act changes his or her name, the person shall inform, in person, 

the law enforcement agency or agencies with which he or she is 

currently registered within five working days. The law enforcement 

agency or agencies shall forward a copy of this information to the 

Department of Justice within three working days of its receipt. 

SEC. 23. Section 290.015 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.015. (a) A person who is subject to the Act shall register, 


or reregister if the person has previously registered, upon release 

from incarceration, placement, commitment, or release on probation 

pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 290. This section shall not 

apply to a person who is incarcerated for less than 30 days if he or 

she has registered as required by the Act, he or she returns after 

incarceration to the last registered address, and the annual update 

of registration that is required to occur within five working days of 

his or her birthday, pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 290.012, 

did not fall within that incarceration period. The registration 

shall consist of all of the following: 


(1) A statement in writing signed by the person, giving 

information as shall be required by the Department of Justice and 

giving the name and address of the person's employer, and the address 

of the person's place of employment if that is different from the 

employer's main address. 


(2) The fingerprints and a current photograph of the person taken 

by the registering official. 


(3) The license plate number of any vehicle owned by, regularly 




driven by, or registered in the name of the person. 

(4) Notice to the person that, in addition to the requirements of 


the Act, he or she may have a duty to register in any other state 

where he or she may relocate. 


(5) Copies of adequate proof of residence, which shall be limited 

to a California driver's license, California identification card, 

recent rent or utility receipt, printed personalized checks or other 

recent banking documents showing that person's name and address, or 

any other information that the registering official believes is 

reliable. If the person has no residence and no reasonable 

expectation of obtaining a residence in the foreseeable future, the 

person shall so advise the registering official and shall sign a 

statement provided by the registering official stating that fact. 

Upon presentation of proof of residence to the registering official 

or a signed statement that the person has no residence, the person 

shall be allowed to register. If the person claims that he or she has 

a residence but does not have any proof of residence, he or she 

shall be allowed to register but shall furnish proof of residence 

within 30 days of the date he or she is allowed to register. 


(b) Within three days thereafter, the registering law enforcement 

agency or agencies shall forward the statement, fingerprints, 

photograph, and vehicle license plate number, if any, to the 

Department of Justice. 

SEC. 24. Section 290.016 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.016. (a) On or after January 1, 1998, upon incarceration, 


placement, or commitment, or prior to release on probation, any 

person who is required to register under the Act shall preregister. 

The preregistering official shall be the admitting officer at the 

place of incarceration, placement, or commitment, or the probation 

officer if the person is to be released on probation. The 

preregistration shall consist of all of the following: 


(1) A preregistration statement in writing, signed by the person, 

giving information that shall be required by the Department of 

Justice. 


(2) The fingerprints and a current photograph of the person. 

(3) Any person who is preregistered pursuant to this subdivision 


is required to be preregistered only once. 

(b) Within three days thereafter, the preregistering official 


shall forward the statement, fingerprints, photograph, and vehicle 

license plate number, if any, to the Department of Justice. 

SEC. 25. Section 290.017 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.017. (a) Any person who is released, discharged, or paroled 


from a jail, state or federal prison, school, road camp, or other 

institution where he or she was confined, who is required to register 

pursuant to the Act, shall, prior to discharge, parole, or release, 

be informed of his or her duty to register under the Act by the 

official in charge of the place of confinement or hospital, and the 

official shall require the person to read and sign any form that may 

be required by the Department of Justice, stating that the duty of 

the person to register under the Act has been explained to the 

person. The official in charge of the place of confinement or 

hospital shall obtain the address where the person expects to reside 

upon his or her discharge, parole, or release and shall report the 

address to the Department of Justice. The official shall at the same 

time forward a current photograph of the person to the Department of 

Justice. 


(b) The official in charge of the place of confinement or hospital 




shall give one copy of the form to the person and shall send one 

copy to the Department of Justice and one copy to the appropriate law 

enforcement agency or agencies having jurisdiction over the place 

the person expects to reside upon discharge, parole, or release. If 

the conviction that makes the person subject to the Act is a felony 

conviction, the official in charge shall, not later than 45 days 

prior to the scheduled release of the person, send one copy to the 

appropriate law enforcement agency or agencies having local 

jurisdiction where the person expects to reside upon discharge, 

parole, or release; one copy to the prosecuting agency that 

prosecuted the person; and one copy to the Department of Justice. The 

official in charge of the place of confinement or hospital shall 

retain one copy. 


(c) Any person who is required to register pursuant to the Act 

and who is released on probation, shall, prior to release or 

discharge, be informed of the duty to register under the Act by the 

probation department, and a probation officer shall require the 

person to read and sign any form that may be required by the 

Department of Justice, stating that the duty of the person to 

register has been explained to him or her. The probation officer 

shall obtain the address where the person expects to reside upon 

release or discharge and shall report within three days the address 

to the Department of Justice. The probation officer shall give one 

copy of the form to the person, send one copy to the Department of 

Justice, and forward one copy to the appropriate law enforcement 

agency or agencies having local jurisdiction where the person expects 

to reside upon his or her discharge, parole, or release. 


(d) Any person who is required to register pursuant to the Act and 

who is granted conditional release without supervised probation, or 

discharged upon payment of a fine, shall, prior to release or 

discharge, be informed of the duty to register under the Act in open 

court by the court in which the person has been convicted, and the 

court shall require the person to read and sign any form that may be 

required by the Department of Justice, stating that the duty of the 

person to register has been explained to him or her. If the court 

finds that it is in the interest of the efficiency of the court, the 

court may assign the bailiff to require the person to read and sign 

forms under the Act. The court shall obtain the address where the 

person expects to reside upon release or discharge and shall report 

within three days the address to the Department of Justice. The court 

shall give one copy of the form to the person, send one copy to the 

Department of Justice, and forward one copy to the appropriate law 

enforcement agency or agencies having local jurisdiction where the 

person expects to reside upon his or her discharge, parole, or 

release. 

SEC. 26. Section 290.018 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.018. (a) Any person who is required to register under the Act 


based on a misdemeanor conviction or juvenile adjudication who 

willfully violates any requirement of the Act is guilty of a 

misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding 

one year. 


(b) Except as provided in subdivisions (f), (h), and (j), any 

person who is required to register under the Act based on a felony 

conviction or juvenile adjudication who willfully violates any 

requirement of the Act or who has a prior conviction or juvenile 

adjudication for the offense of failing to register under the Act and 

who subsequently and willfully violates any requirement of the Act 




is guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the 

state prison for 16 months, or two or three years. 


(c) If probation is granted or if the imposition or execution of 

sentence is suspended, it shall be a condition of the probation or 

suspension that the person serve at least 90 days in a county jail. 

The penalty described in subdivision (b) or this subdivision shall 

apply whether or not the person has been released on parole or has 

been discharged from parole. 


(d) Any person determined to be a mentally disordered sex offender 

or who has been found guilty in the guilt phase of trial for an 

offense for which registration is required under the Act, but who has 

been found not guilty by reason of insanity in the sanity phase of 

the trial, or who has had a petition sustained in a juvenile 

adjudication for an offense for which registration is required 

pursuant to Section 290.008, but who has been found not guilty by 

reason of insanity, who willfully violates any requirement of the Act 

is guilty of a misdemeanor and shall be punished by imprisonment in 

a county jail not exceeding one year. For any second or subsequent 

willful violation of any requirement of the Act, the person is guilty 

of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state 

prison for 16 months, or two or three years. 


(e) If, after discharge from parole, the person is convicted of a 

felony or suffers a juvenile adjudication as specified in this act, 

he or she shall be required to complete parole of at least one year, 

in addition to any other punishment imposed under this section. A 

person convicted of a felony as specified in this section may be 

granted probation only in the unusual case where the interests of 

justice would best be served. When probation is granted under this 

act, the court shall specify on the record and shall enter into the 

minutes the circumstances indicating that the interests of justice 

would best be served by the disposition. 


(f)Any person who has ever been adjudicated a sexually violent 

predator, as defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare and Institutions 

Code, and who fails to verify his or her registration every 90 days 

as required pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 290.012, shall be 

punished by imprisonment in the state prison, or in a county jail not 

exceeding one year. 


(g) Except as otherwise provided in subdivision (f), any person 
who is required to register or reregister pursuant to Section 290.011 
and willfully fails to comply with the requirement that he or she 
reregister no less than every 30 days is guilty of a misdemeanor and 
shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail for at least 30 
days, but not exceeding six months. A person who willfully fails to 
comply with the requirement that he or she reregister no less than 
every 30 days shall not be charged with this violation more often 
than once for a failure to register in any period of 90 days. Any 
person who willfully commits a third or subsequent violation of the 
requirements of Section 290.011 that he or she reregister no less 
than every 30 days shall be punished in accordance with either 
subdivision (a) or (b) . 

(h) Any person who fails to provide proof of residence as required 

by paragraph (5) of subdivision (a) of Section 290.015, regardless 

of the offense upon which the duty to register is based, is guilty of 

a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not 

exceeding six months. 


(i) Any person who is required to register under the Act who 

willfully violates any requirement of the Act is guilty of a 




continuing offense as to each requirement he or she violated. 

(j) In addition to any other penalty imposed under this section, 


the failure to provide information required on registration and 

reregistration forms of the Department of Justice, or the provision 

of false information, is a crime punishable by imprisonment in a 

county jail for a period not exceeding one year. 


(k) Whenever any person is released on parole or probation and is 

required to register under the Act but fails to do so within the time 

prescribed, the parole authority or the court, as the case may be, 

shall order the parole or probation of the person revoked. For 

purposes of this subdivision, "parole authority" has the same meaning 

as described in Section 3000. 

SEC. 27. Section 290.019 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.019. (a) Notwithstanding any other section in the Act, a 


person who was convicted before January 1, 1976, under subdivision 

(a) of Section 286, or Section 288a, shall not be required to 

register pursuant to the Act for that conviction if the conviction 

was for conduct between consenting adults that was decriminalized by 

Chapter 71 of the Statutes of 1975 or Chapter 1139 of the Statutes of 

1976. The Department of Justice shall remove that person from the 

Sex Offender Registry, and the person is discharged from his or her 

duty to register pursuant to either of the following procedures: 


(1) The person submits to the Department of Justice official 

documentary evidence, including court records or police reports, that 

demonstrate that the person's conviction pursuant to either of those 

sections was for conduct between consenting adults that was 

decriminalized. 


(2) The person submits to the department a declaration stating 

that the person's conviction pursuant to either of those sections was 

for consensual conduct between adults that has been decriminalized. 

The declaration shall be confidential and not a public record, and 

shall include the person's name, address, telephone number, date of 

birth, and a summary of the circumstances leading to the conviction, 

including the date of the conviction and county of the occurrence. 


(b) The department shall determine whether the person's conviction 

was for conduct between consensual adults that has been 

decriminalized. If the conviction was for consensual conduct between 

adults that has been decriminalized, and the person has no other 

offenses for which he or she is required to register pursuant to the 

Act, the department shall, within 60 days of receipt of those 

documents, notify the person that he or she is relieved of the duty 

to register, and shall notify the local law enforcement agency with 

which the person is registered that he or she has been relieved of 

the duty to register. The local law enforcement agency shall remove 

the person's registration from its files within 30 days of receipt of 

notification. If the documentary or other evidence submitted is 

insufficient to establish the person's claim, the department shall, 

within 60 days of receipt of those documents, notify the person that 

his or her claim cannot be established, and that the person shall 

continue to register pursuant to the Act. The department shall 

provide, upon the person's request, any information relied upon by 

the department in making its determination that the person shall 

continue to register pursuant to the Act. Any person whose claim has 

been denied by the department pursuant to this subdivision may 

petition the court to appeal the department's denial of the person's 

claim. 

SEC. 28. Section 290.020 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 




290.020. In any case in which a person who would be required to 

register pursuant to the Act for a felony conviction is to be 

temporarily sent outside the institution where he or she is confined 

on any assignment within a city or county including firefighting, 

disaster control, or of whatever nature the assignment may be, the 

local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the place or 

places where the assignment shall occur shall be notified within a 

reasonable time prior to removal from the institution. This section 

shall not apply to any person who is temporarily released under guard 

from the institution where he or she is confined. 

SEC. 29. Section 290.021 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.021. Except as otherwise provided by law, the statements, 


photographs, and fingerprints required by the Act shall not be open 

to inspection by the public or by any person other than a regularly 

employed peace officer or other law enforcement officer. 

SEC. 30. Section 290.022 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.022. On or before July 1, 2010, the Department of Justice 


shall renovate the VCIN to do the following: 

(1) Correct all software deficiencies affecting data integrity and 


include designated data fields for all mandated sex offender data. 

(2) Consolidate and simplify program logic, thereby increasing 


system performance and reducing system maintenance costs. 

(3) Provide all necessary data storage, processing, and search 


capabilities. 

(4) Provide law enforcement agencies with fu1lrInternet access to 


all sex offender data and photos. 

( 5 )  Incorporate a flexible design structure to readily meet future 

demands for enhanced system functionality, including public Internet 
access to sex offender information pursuant to Section 290.46. 
SEC. 31. Section 290.023 is added to the Penal Code, to read: 

290.023. The registration provisions of the Act are applicable to 


every person described in the Act, without regard to when his or her 

crime or crimes were committed or his or her duty to register 

pursuant to the Act arose, and to every offense described in the Act, 

regardless of when it was committed. 

SEC. 32. Section 290.01 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

290.01. (a) (1) Commencing October 28, 2002, every person 


required to register pursuant to Sections 290 to 290.009, inclusive', 

of the Sex Offender Registration Act who is enrolled as a student of 

any university, college, community college, or other institution of 

higher learning, or is, with or without compensation, a full-time or 

part-time employee of that university, college, community college, or 

other institution of higher learning, or is carrying on a vocation 

at the university, college, community college, or other institution 

of higher learning, for more than 14 days, or for an aggregate period 

exceeding 30 days in a calendar year, shall, in addition to the 

registration required by the Sex Offender Registration Act, register 

with the campus police department within five working days of 

commencing enrollment or employment at that university, college, 

community college, or other institution of higher learning, on a form 

as may be required by the Department of Justice. The terms "employed 

or carries on a vocationH include employment whether or not 

financially compensated, volunteered, or performed for government or 

educational benefit. The registrant shall also notify the campus 

police department within five working days of ceasing to be enrolled 

or employed, or ceasing to carry on a vocation, at the university, 

college, community college, or other institution of higher learning. 




(2) For purposes of this section, a campus police department is a 

police department of the University of California, California State 

University, or California Community College, established pursuant 


to Section 72330, 89560, 

or 92600 of the Education Code, or is a police department staffed 

with deputized or appointed personnel with peace officer status as 

provided in Section 830.6 of the Penal Code and is the law 

enforcement agency with the primary responsibility for investigating 

crimes occurring on the college or university campus on which it is 

located. 


(b) If the university, college, community college, or other 

institution of higher learning has no campus police department, the 

registrant shall instead register pursuant to subdivision (a) with 

the police of the city in which the campus is located or the sheriff 

of the county in which the campus is located if the campus is located 

in an unincorporated area or in a city that has no police 

department, on a form as may be required by the Department of 

Justice. The requirements of subdivisions (a) and (b) are in addition 

to the requirements of the Sex Offender Registration Act. 


(c) A first violation of this section is a misdemeanor punishable 

by a fine not to exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000). A second 

violation of this section is a misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment 

in a county jail for not more than six months, by a fine not to 

exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that imprisonment 

and fine. A third or subsequent violation of this section is a 

misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not more 

than one year, by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars ($1,000), 

or by both that imprisonment and fine. 


(d) (1) (A) The following information regarding a registered sex 

offender on campus as to whom information shall not be made available 

to the public via the Internet Web site as provided in Section 

290.46 may be released to members of the campus community by any 
campus police department or, if the university, college, community 
college, or other institution of higher learning has no police 
department, the police department or sheriff's department with 
jurisdiction over the campus, and any employees of those agencies, as 
required by Section 1092(f)(l)(I) of Title 20 of the United States 
Code : 

(i) The offender's full name. 

(ii) The offender's known aliases. 

(iii) The offender's gender. 

(iv) The offender's race. 

(v) The offender's physical description. 

(vi) The offender's photograph. 

(vii) The offender's date of birth. 

(viii) Crimes resulting in registration under Section 290. 

(ix) The date of last registration or reregistration. 

(B) The authority provided in this subdivision is in addition to 


the authority of a peace officer or law enforcement agency to provide 

information about a registered sex offender pursuant to Section 

290.45, and exists notwithstanding Section 290.021 or any other 

provision of law. 


(2) Any law enforcement entity and employees of any law 

enforcement entity listed in paragraph (1) shall be immune from civil 

or criminal liability for good faith conduct under this subdivision. 


(3) Nothing in this subdivision shall be construed to authorize 




campus police departments or, if the university, college, community 

college, or other institution has no police department, the police 

department or sheriff's department with jurisdiction over the campus, 

to make disclosures about registrants intended to reach persons 

beyond the campus community. 


(4) (A) Before being provided any information by an agency 

pursuant to this subdivision, a member of the campus community who 

requests that information shall sign a statement, on a form provided 

by the Department of Justice, stating that he or she is not a 

registered sex offender, that he or she understands the purpose of 

the release of information is to allow members of the campus 

community to protect themselves and their children from sex 

offenders, and that he or she understands it is unlawful to use 

information obtained pursuant to this subdivision to commit a crime 

against any registrant or to engage in illegal discrimination or 

harassment of any registrant. The signed statement shall be 

maintained in a file in the agency's office for a minimum of five 

years. 


( B )  A n  agency disseminating printed information pursuant to this 
subdivision shall maintain records of the means and dates of 
dissemination for a minimum of five years. 

(5) For purposes of this subdivision, "campus community" means 

those persons present at, and those persons regularly frequenting, 

any place associated with an institution of higher education, 

including campuses; administrative and educational offices; 

laboratories; satellite facilities owned or utilized by the 

institution for educational instruction, business, or institutional 

events; and public areas contiguous to any campus or facility that 

are regularly frequented by students, employees, or volunteers of the 

campus. 


SEC. 33. Section 290.04 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

290.04. (a) (1) The sex offender risk assessment tools authorized 


by this section for use with selected populations shall be known, 

with respect to each population, as the State-Authorized Risk 

Assessment Tool for Sex Offenders (SARATSO). If a SARATSO has not 

been selected for a given population pursuant to this section, no 

duty to administer the SARATSO elsewhere in this code shall apply 

with respect to that population. Every person required to register as 

a sex offender shall be subject to assessment with the SARATSO as 

set forth in this section and elsewhere in this code. 


(2) A representative of the State Department of Mental Health, in 

consultation with a representative of the Department of Corrections 

and Rehabilitation and a representative of the Attorney General's 

office, shall comprise the SARATSO Review Committee. The purpose of 

the committee, which shall be staffed by the State Department of 

Mental Health, shall be to ensure that the SARATSO reflects the most 

reliable, objective and well-established protocols for predicting sex 

offender risk of recidivism, has been scientifically validated and 

cross validated, and is, or is reasonably likely to be, widely 

accepted by the courts. The committee shall consult with experts in 

the fields of risk assessment and the use of actuarial instruments in 

predicting sex offender risk, sex offending, sex offender treatment, 

mental health, and law, as it deems appropriate. 


(b) (1) Commencing January 1, 2007, the SARATSO for adult males 

required to register as sex offenders shall be the STATIC-99 risk 

assessment scale. 


(2) On or before January 1, 2008, the SARATSO Review Committee 




shall determine whether the STATIC-99 should be supplemented with an 

actuarial instrument that measures dynamic risk factors or whether 

the STATIC-99 should be replaced as the SARATSO with a different risk 

assessment tool. If the committee unanimously agrees on changes to 

be made to the SARATSO, it shall advise the Governor and the 

Legislature of the changes, and the State Department of Mental Health 

shall post the decision on its Internet Web site. Sixty days after 

the decision is posted, the selected tool shall become the SARATSO 

for adult males. 


(c) On or before July 1, 2007, the SARATSO Review Committee shall 

research risk assessment tools for adult females required to register 

as sex offenders. If the committee unanimously agrees on an 

appropriate risk assessment tool to be used to assess this 

population, it shall advise the Governor and the Legislature of the 

selected tool, and the State Department of Mental Health shall post 

the decision on its Internet Web site. Sixty days after the decision 

is posted, the selected tool shall become the SARATSO for adult 

females. 


(d) On or before July 1, 2007, the SARATSO Review Committee shall 

research risk assessment tools for male juveniles required to 

register as sex offenders, If the committee unanimously agrees on an 

appropriate risk assessment tool to be used to assess this 

population, it shall advise the Governor and the Legislature of the 

selected tool, and the State Department of Mental Health shall post 

the decision on its Internet Web site. Sixty days after the decision 

is posted, the selected tool shall become the SARATSO for male 

juveniles. 


(e)On or before July 1, 2007, the SARATSO Review Committee shall 

research risk assessment tools for female juveniles required to 

register as sex offenders. If the committee unanimously agrees on an 

appropriate risk assessment tool to be used to assess this 

population, it shall advise the Governor and the Legislature of the 

selected tool, and the State Department of Mental Health shall post 

the decision on its Internet Web site. Sixty days after the decision 

is posted, the selected tool shall become the SARATSO for female 

juveniles. 


(f) The committee shall periodically evaluate the SARATSO for each 

specified population. If the committee unanimously agrees on a 

change to the SARATSO for any population, it shall advise the 

Governor and the Legislature of the selected tool, and the State 

Department of Mental Health shall post the decision on its Internet 

Web site. Sixty days after the decision is posted, the selected tool 

shall become the SARATSO for that population. 


(g) The committee shall perform other functions consistent with 

the provisions of this act or as may be otherwise required by law, 

including, but not limited to, defining tiers of risk based on the 

SARATSO. The committee shall be immune from liability for good faith 

conduct under this act. 


SEC. 34. Section 290.05 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

290.05. (a) The SARATSO Training Committee shall be comprised of 


a representative of the State Department of Mental Health, a 

representative of the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, a 

representative of the Attorney General's Office, and a 

representative of the Chief Probation Officers of California. 


(b) On or before January 1, 2008, the SARATSO Training Committee, 

in consultation with the Corrections Standards Authority and the 

Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training, shall develop a 




training program for persons authorized by this code to administer 

the SARATSO, as set forth in Section 290.04. 


(c) (1) The Department of Corrections and ~ehabilitation shall be 

responsible for overseeing the training of persons who will 

administer the SARATSO pursuant to paragraph (1) or (2) of 

subdivision (a) of Section 290.06. 


(2) The State Department of Mental Health shall be responsible for 

overseeing the training of persons who will administer the SARATSO 

pursuant to paragraph (3) of subdivision (a) of Section 290.06. 


(3) The Correction Standards Authority shall be responsible for 

developing standards for the training of persons who will administer 

the SARATSO pursuant to paragraph (4) or (5) of subdivision (a) of 

Section 290.06. 


(4) The Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training shall 

be responsible for developing standards for the training of persons 

who will administer the SARATSO pursuant to subdivision (c) of 

Section 290.06. 


(d) The training shall be conducted by experts in the field of 

risk assessment and the use of actuarial instruments in predicting 

sex offender risk. Subject to requirements established by the 

committee, the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation, the 

State Department of Mental Health, probation departments, and 

authorized local law enforcement agencies shall designate key persons 

within their organizations to attend training and, as authorized by 

the department, to train others within their organizations designated 

to perform risk assessments as required or authorized by law. Any 

person who administers the SARATSO shall receive training no less 

frequently than every two years. 


(e) The SARATSO may be performed for purposes authorized by 

statute only by persons trained pursuant to this section. 


SEC. 35. Section 290.3 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

290.3. (a) Every person who is convicted of any offense specified 


in subdivision (c) of Section 290 shall, in addition to any 

imprisonment or fine, or both, imposed for commission of the 

underlying offense, be punished by a fine of three hundred dollars 

($300) upon the first conviction or a fine of five hundred dollars 

($500) upon the second and each subsequent conviction, unless the 

court determines that the defendant does not have the ability to pay 

the fine. 


An amount equal to all fines collected pursuant to this 

subdivision during the preceding month upon conviction of, or upon 

the forfeiture of bail by, any person arrested for, or convicted of, 

committing an offense specified in subdivision (c) of Section 290, 

shall be transferred once a month by the county treasurer to the 

Controller for deposit in the General Fund. Moneys deposited in the 

General Fund pursuant to this subdivision shall be transferred by the 

Controller as provided in subdivision (b). 


(b) Except as provided in subdivision (d), out of the moneys 

deposited pursuant to subdivision (a) as a result of second and 

subsequent convictions of Section 290, one-third shall first be 

transferred to the Department of Justice Sexual Habitual Offender 

Fund, as provided in paragraph (1) of this subdivision. Out of the 

remainder of all moneys deposited pursuant to subdivision (a), 50 

percent shall be transferred to the Department of Justice Sexual 

Habitual Offender Fund, as provided in paragraph (I), 25 percent 

shall be transferred to the Department of Justice DNA Testing Fund, 

as provided in paragraph (2), and 25 percent shall be allocated 




equally to counties that maintain a local DNA testing laboratory, as 

provided in paragraph (3). 


(1) Those moneys so designated shall be transferred to the 

Department of Justice Sexual Habitual Offender Fund created pursuant 

to paragraph (5) of subdivision (b) of Section 11170 and, when 

appropriated by the Legislature, shall be used for the purposes of 

Chapter 9.5 (commencing with Section 13885) and Chapter 10 

(commencing with Section 13890) of Title 6 of Part 4 for the purpose 

of monitoring, apprehending, and prosecuting sexual habitual 

offenders. 


(2) Those moneys so designated shall be directed to the Department 

of Justice and transferred to the Department of Justice DNA Testing 

Fund, which is hereby created, for the exclusive purpose of testing 

deoxyribonucleic acid (DNA) samples for law enforcement purposes. The 

moneys in that fund shall be available for expenditure upon 

appropriation by the Legislature. 


(3) Those moneys so designated shall be allocated equally and 

distributed quarterly to counties that maintain a local DNA testing 

laboratory. Before making any allocations under this paragraph, the 

Controller shall deduct the estimated costs that will be incurred to 

set up and administer the payment of these funds to the counties. Any 

funds allocated to a county pursuant to this paragraph shall be used 

by that county for the exclusive purpose of testing DNA samples for 

law enforcement purposes. 


(c) Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, the 
Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation may collect a fine 
imposed pursuant to this section from a person convicted of a 
violation of any offense listed in subdivision (c) of Section 290, 
that results in incarceration in a facility under the jurisdiction of 
the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation. All moneys 
collected by the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation under 
this subdivision shall be transferred, once a month, to the 
Controller for deposit in the General Fund, as provided in 
subdivision (a), for transfer by the Controller, as provided in 
subdivision (b) . 

(d) An amount equal to one hundred dollars ($100) for every fine 

imposed pursuant to subdivision (a) in excess of one hundred dollars 

($100) shall be transferred to the Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation to defray the cost of the global positioning system 

used to monitor sex offender parolees. 


SEC. 36. Section 290.46 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

290.46. (a) (1) On or before the dates specified in this section, 


the Department of Justice shall make available information 

concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Section 

290 to the public via an Internet Web site as specified in this 

section. The department shall update the Internet Web site on an 

ongoing basis. All information identifying the victim by name, birth 

date, address, or relationship to the registrant shall be excluded 

from the Internet Web site. The name or address of the person's 

employer and the listed person's criminal history other than the 

specific crimes for which the person is required to register shall 

not be included on the Internet Web site. The Internet Web site shall 

be translated into languages other than English as determined by the 

department. 


(2) (A) On or before July 1, 2010, the Department of Justice shall 

make available to the public, via an Internet Web site as specified 

in this section, as to any person described in subdivisions (b), (c), 




or (d), the following information: 

(i) The year of conviction of his or her most recent offense 


requiring registration pursuant to Section 290. 

(ii) The year he or she was released from incarceration for that 

offense. 
(iii) Whether he or she was subsequently incarcerated for any 


other felony, if that fact is reported to the department. If the 

department has no information about a subsequent incarceration for 

any felony, that fact shall be noted on the Internet Web site. 


However, no year of conviction shall be made available to the 

public unless the department also is able to make available the 

corresponding year of release of incarceration for that offense, and 

the required notation regarding any subsequent felony. 


( B )  (i) Any state facility that releases from incarceration a 
person who was incarcerated because of a crime for which he or she is 
required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 
shall, within 30 days of release, provide the year of release for his 
or her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department 
of Justice in a manner and format approved by the department. 

(ii) Any state facility that releases a person who is required to 

register pursuant to Section 290 from incarceration whose 

incarceration was for a felony committed subsequently to the offense 

for which he or she is required to register shall, within 30 days of 

release, advise the Department of Justice of that fact. 


(iii) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released 

from incarceration a person who was incarcerated because of a crime 

for which he or she is required to register as a sex offender 

pursuant to Section 290 shall provide the year of release for his or 

her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department of 

Justice in a manner and format approved by the department. The 

information provided by the Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation shall be limited to information that is currently 

maintained in an electronic format. 


(iv) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released a 

person who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 from 

incarceration whose incarceration was for a felony committedb 

subsequently to the offense for which he or she is required to 

register shall advise the Department of Justice of that fact in a 

manner and format approved by the department. The information 

provided by the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation shall be 

limited to information that is currently maintained in an electronic 

format. 


(3) The State Department of Mental Health shall provide to the 
Department of Justice Sex Offender Tracking Program the names of all 
persons committed to its custody pursuant to Article 4 (commencing 
with Section 6600) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of Division 6 of the 
Welfare and Institutions Code, within 30 days of commitment, and 
shall provide the names of all of those persons released from its 
custody within five working days of release. 

(b) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 

has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, paragraph (2), 

the Department of Justice shall make available to the public via the 

Internet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, a 

physical description, including gender and race, date of birth, 

criminal history, prior adjudication as a sexually violent predator, 

the address at which the person resides, and any other information 




that the Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the 

information excluded pursuant to subdivision (a). 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses and 

offenders: 


(A) Section 207 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 

288, 288a, or 289. 


(B) Section 209 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 

288, 288a, or 289. 


(C) Paragraph (2) or (6) of subdivision (a) of Section 261. 

(D) Section 264.1. 

(E) Section 269. 

( F )  Subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 286. 
(G)Subdivision (a) , (b), or (c) of Section 288, provided that the 

offense is a felony. 
(H)Subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 288a. 

(I) Section 288.3, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(J) Section 288.4, provided that the offense is a felony. 

( K )  Section 288.5. 
( L )  Subdivision (a) or (j) of Section 289. 
(M) Section 288.7. 

( N )  Any person who has ever been adjudicated a sexually violent 

predator, as defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare and Institutions 
Code. 

(c) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 

has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in paragraph (2), the Department of 

Justice shall make available to the public via the Internet Web site 

his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, a physical 

description, including gender and race, date of birth, criminal 

history, the community of residence and ZIP Code in which the person 

resides or the county in which the person is registered as a 

transient, and any other information that the Department of Justice 

deems relevant, but not the information excluded pursuant to 

subdivision (a). On or before July 1, 2006, the Department of Justice 

shall determine whether any person convicted of an offense listed in 

paragraph (2) also has one or more prior or subsequent convictions 

of an offense listed in subdivision (c) of Section 290, and, for 

those persons, the Department of Justice shall make available to the 

public via the Internet Web site the address at which the person 

resides. However, the address at which the person resides shall not 

be disclosed until a determination is made that the person is, by 

virtue of his or her additional prior or subsequent conviction of an 

offense listed in subdivision (c) of Section 290, subject to this 

subdivision. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A) Section 220, except assault to commit mayhem. 

(B) Paragraph (1) , (3), or (4) of subdivision (a) of Section 261. 
(C) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), or subdivision (f), (g), or 


(i), of Section 286. 

(D) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) , or subdivision (f) , (9), or 


(i), of Section 288a. 

(E) Subdivision (b) , (d), (e), or (i) of Section 289. 
(d) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 


has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, this 

subdivision, the Department of Justice shall make available to the 

public via the Internet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a 




photograph, a physical description, including gender and race, date 

of birth, criminal history, the community of residence and ZIP Code 

in which the person resides or the county in which the person is 

registered as a transient, and any other information that the 

Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the information 

excluded pursuant to subdivision (a) or the address at which the 

person resides. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses and 

offenders: 


(A) Subdivision (a) of Section 243.4, provided that the offense is 

a felony. 


(B) Section 266, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(C) Section 266c, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(D) Section 2663. 

( E )  Section 267. 
(F) Subdivision (c) of Section 288, provided that the offense is a 


misdemeanor. 

(G)Section 288.3, provided that the offense is a misdemeanor. 

( H )  Section 288.4, provided that the offense is a misdemeanor. 
(I) Section 626.81. 

(J) Section 647.6. 

(K) Section 653c. 

(L)Any person required to register pursuant to Section 290 based 

upon an out-of-state conviction, unless that person is excluded from 
the Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (e). However, if the 
Department of Justice has determined that the out-of-state crime, if 
committed or attempted in this state, would have been punishable in 
this state as a crime described in subdivision (c) of Section 290, 
the person shall be placed on the Internet Web site as provided in 
subdivision (b) or (c) , as applicable to the crime. 

(e) (1) If a person has been convicted of the commission or the 

attempted commission of any of the offenses listed in this 

subdivision, and he or she has been convicted of no other offense 

listed in subdivision (b), (c), or (d) other than those listed in 

this subdivision, that person may file an application with the 

Department of Justice, on a form approved by the department, for 

exclusion from the Internet Web site. If the department determines 

that the person meets the requirements of this subdivision, the 

department shall grant the exclusion and no information concerning 

the person shall be made available via the Internet Web site 

described in this section. He or she bears the burden of proving the 

facts that make him or her eligible for exclusion from the Internet 

Web site. However, a person who has filed for or been granted an 

exclusion from the Internet Web site is not relieved of his or her 

duty to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 nor from 

any otherwise applicable provision of law. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A) A felony violation of subdivision (a) of Section 243.4. 

(B) Section 647.6, if the offense is a misdemeanor. 

(C) (i) An offense for which the offender successfully completed 


probation, provided that the offender submits to the department a 

certified copy of a probation report, presentencing report, report 

prepared pursuant to Section 288.1, or other official court document 

that clearly demonstrates that the offender was the victim's parent, 

stepparent, sibling, or grandparent and that the crime did not 

involve either oral copulation or penetration of the vagina or rectum 

of either the victim or the offender by the penis of 




the other or by any foreign object. 

(ii) An offense for which the offender is on probation at the time 


of his or her application, provided that the offender submits to the 

department a certified copy of a probation report, presentencing 

report, report prepared pursuant to section 288.1, or other official 

court document that clearly demonstrates that the offender was the 

victim's parent, stepparent, sibling, or grandparent and that the 

crime did not involve either oral copulation or penetration of the 

vagina or rectum of either the victim or the offender by the penis of 

the other or by any foreign object. 


(iii) If, subsequent to his or her application, the offender 

commits a violation of probation resulting in his or her 

incarceration in county jail or state prison, his or her exclusion, 

or application for exclusion, from the Internet Web site shall be 

terminated. 


(iv) For the purposes of this subparagraph, successfully 

completed probationn means that during the period of probation the 

offender neither received additional county jail or state prison time 

for a violation of probation nor was convicted of another offense 

resulting in a sentence to county jail or state prison. 


(3) If the department determines that a person who was granted an 

exclusion under a former version of this subdivision would not 

qualify for an exclusion under the current version of this 

subdivision, the department shall rescind the exclusion, make a 

reasonable effort to provide notification to the person that the 

exclusion has been rescinded, and, no sooner than 30 days after 

notification is attempted, make information about the offender 

available to the public on the Internet Web site as provided in this 

section. 


(4) Effective January 1, 2012, no person shall be excluded 

pursuant to this subdivision unless the offender has submitted to the 

department documentation sufficient for the department to determine 

that he or she has a SARATSO risk level of low or moderate-low. 


(f) The Department of Justice shall make a reasonable effort to 
provide notification to persons who have been convicted of the 
commission or attempted commission of an offense specified in 
subdivision (b) , (c), or (d) , that on or before July 1, 2005, the 
department is required to make information about specified sex 
offenders available to the public via an Internet Web site as 
specified in this section. The Department of Justice shall also make 
a reasonable effort to provide notice that some offenders are 
eligible to apply for exclusion from the Internet Web site. 

(g) (1) A designated law enforcement entity, as defined in 

subdivision (f) of Section 290.45, may make available information 

concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Section 

290 to the public via an Internet Web site as specified in paragraph 

(2). 


(2) The law enforcement entity may make available by way of an 

Internet Web site the information described in subdivision (c) if it 

determines that the public disclosure of the information about a 

specific offender by way of the entity's Internet Web site is 

necessary to ensure the public safety based upon information 

available to the entity concerning that specific offender. 


(3) The information that may be provided pursuant to this 

subdivision may include the information specified in subdivision (b) 

of Section 290.45. However, that offender's address may not be 

disclosed unless he or she is a person whose address is on the 




Department of Justice's Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (b) 

or (c). 


(h) For purposes of this section, uoffensel' includes the statutory 

predecessors of that offense, or any offense committed in another 

jurisdiction that, if committed or attempted to be committed in this 

state, would have been punishable in this state as an offense listed 

in subdivision (c) of Section 290. 


(i) Notwithstanding Section 6254.5 of the Government Code, 

disclosure of information pursuant to this section is not a waiver of 

exemptions under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 6250) of Title 

1 of Division 7 of the Government Code and does not affect other 

statutory restrictions on disclosure in other situations. 


( j )  (1) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this 
section to commit a misdemeanor shall be subject to, in addition to 
any other penalty or fine imposed, a fine of not less than ten 
thousand dollars ($10,000) and not more than fifty thousand dollars 
($50,000). 

(2) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this 

section to commit a felony shall be punished, in addition and 

consecutive to any other punishment, by a five-year term of 

imprisonment in the state prison. 


(k) Any person who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 

who enters an Internet Web site established pursuant to this section 

shall be punished by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars 

($1,000), imprisonment in a county jail for a period not to exceed 

six months, or by both that fine and imprisonment. 


(1) (1) A person is authorized to use information disclosed 

pursuant to this section only to protect a person at risk. 


(2) Except as authorized under paragraph (1) or any other 

provision of law, use of any information that is disclosed pursuant 

to this section for purposes relating to any of the following is 

prohibited: 


(A) Health insurance. 

( B )  Insurance. 
(C) Loans. 

(D) Credit. 

(E) Employment. 

(F) Education, scholarships, or fellowships. 

(G) Housing or accommodations. 

( H )  Benefits, privileges, or services provided by any business 

establishment. 
(3) This section shall not affect authorized access to, or use of, 


information pursuant to, among other provisions, Sections 11105 and 

11105.3, Section 8808 of the Family Code, Sections 777.5 and 14409.2 

of the Financial Code, Sections 1522.01 and 1596.871 of the Health 

and Safety Code, and Section 432.7 of the Labor Code. 


(4) (A) Any use of information disclosed pursuant to this section 

for purposes other than those provided by paragraph (1) or in 

violation of paragraph (2) shall make the user liable for the actual 

damages, and any amount that may be determined by a jury or a court 

sitting without a jury, not exceeding three times the amount of 

actual damage, and not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250), 

and attorney's fees, exemplary damages, or a civil penalty not 

exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 


( B )  Whenever there is reasonable cause to believe that any person 
or group of persons is engaged in a pattern or practice of misuse of 
the information available via an Internet Web site established 



pursuant to this section in violation of paragraph (2), the Attorney 

General, any district attorney, or city attorney, or any person 

aggrieved by the misuse is authorized to bring a civil action in the 

appropriate court requesting preventive relief, including an 

application for a permanent or temporary injunction, restraining 

order, or other order against the person or group of persons 

responsible for the pattern or practice of misuse. The foregoing 

remedies shall be independent of any other remedies or procedures 

that may be available to an aggrieved party under other provisions of 

law, including Part 2 (commencing with Section 43) of Division 1 of 

the Civil Code. 


(m) The public notification provisions of this section are 

applicable to every person described in this section, without regard 

to when his or her crimes were committed or his or her duty to 

register pursuant to Section 290 arose, and to every offense 

described in this section, regardless of when it was committed. 


(n) On or before July 1, 2006, and every year thereafter, the 

Department of Justice shall make a report to the Legislature 

concerning the operation of this section. 


(0) A designated law enforcement entity and its employees shall be 

immune from liability for good faith conduct under this section. 


(p) The Attorney General, in collaboration with local law 

enforcement and others knowledgeable about sex offenders, shall 

develop strategies to assist members of the public in understanding 

and using publicly available information about registered sex 

offenders to further public safety. These strategies may include, but 

are not limited to, a hotline for community inquiries, neighborhood 

and business guidelines for how to respond to information posted on 

this Web site, and any other resource that promotes public education 

about these offenders. 

SEC. 37. Section 296.2 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

296.2. (a) Whenever the DNA Laboratory of the Department of 


Justice notifies the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation or 

any law enforcement agency that a biological specimen or sample, or 

print impression is not usable for any reason, the person who 

provided the original specimen, sample, or print impression shall 

submit to collection of additional specimens, samples, or print 

impressions. The Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation or 

other responsible law enforcement agency shall collect additional 

specimens, samples, and print impressions from these persons as 

necessary to fulfill the requirements of this chapter, and transmit 

these specimens, samples, and print impressions to the appropriate 

agencies of the Department of Justice. 


(b) If a person, including any juvenile, is convicted of, pleads 

guilty or no contest to, is found not guilty by reason of insanity 

of, or is adjudged a ward of the court under Section 602 of the 

Welfare and Institutions Code for committing, any of the offenses 

described in subdivision (a) of Section 296, and has given a blood 

specimen or other biological sample or samples to law enforcement for 

any purpose, the DNA Laboratory of the Department of Justice is 

authorized to analyze the blood specimen and other biological sample 

or samples for forensic identification markers, including DNA 

markers, and to include the DNA and forensic identification profiles 

from these specimens and samples in the state's DNA and forensic 

identification databank and databases. 


This subdivision applies whether or not the blood specimen or 

other biological sample originally was collected from the sexual or 




violent offender pursuant to the databank and database program, and 

whether or not the crime committed predated the enactment of the 

state's DNA and forensic identification databank program, or any 

amendments thereto. This subdivision does not relieve a person 

convicted of a crime described in subdivision (a) of Section 296, or 

otherwise subject to this chapter, from the requirement to give blood 

specimens, saliva samples, and thumb and palm print impressions for 

the DNA and forensic identification databank and database program as 

described in this chapter. 


(c) Any person who is required to register under the Sex Offender 

Registration Act who has not provided the specimens, samples, and 

print impressions described in this chapter for any reason including 

the release of the person prior to the enactment of the state's DNA 

and forensic identification database and databank program, an 

oversight or error, or because of the transfer of the person from 

another state, the person, as an additional requirement of 

registration or of updating his or her annual registration pursuant 

to the Sex Offender Registration Act shall give specimens, samples, 

and print impressions as described in this chapter for inclusion in 

the state's DNA and forensic identification database and databank, 


At the time the person registers or updates his or her 

.registration, he or she shall receive an appointment designating a 

time and place for the collection of the specimens, samples, and 

print impressions described in this chapter, if he or she has not 

already complied with the provisions of this chapter. 


As specified in the appointment, the person shall report to a 

county jail facility in the county where he or she resides or is 

temporarily located to have specimens, samples, and print impressions 

collected pursuant to this chapter or other facility approved by the 

Department of Justice for this collection. The specimens, samples, 

and print impressions shall be collected in accordance with 

subdivision (f) of Section 295. 


If, prior to the time of the annual registration update, a person 

is notified by the Department of Justice, a probation or parole 

officer, other law enforcement officer, or officer of the court, that 

he or she is subject to this chapter, then the person shall provide 

the specimens, samples, and print impressions required by this 

chapter within 10 calendar days of the notification at a county jail 

facility or other facility approved by the department for this 

collection. 

SEC. 38. Section 311.11 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

311.11. (a) Every person who knowingly possesses or controls any 


matter, representation of information, data, or image, including, but 

not limited to, any film, filmstrip, photograph, negative, slide, 

photocopy, videotape, video laser disc, computer hardware, computer 

software, computer floppy disc, data storage media, CD-ROM, or 

computer-generated equipment or any other computer-generated image 

that contains or incorporates in any manner, any film or filmstrip, 

the production of which involves the use of a person under the age of 

18 years, knowing that the matter depicts a person under the age of 

18 years personally engaging in or simulating sexual conduct, as 

defined in subdivision (d) of Section 311.4, is guilty of a felony 

and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison, or a 

county jail for up to one year, or by a fine not exceeding two 

thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500), or by both the fine and 

imprisonment. 


(b) Every person who commits a violation of subdivision (a), and 




who has been previously convicted of a violation of this section, an 

offense requiring registration under the Sex Offender Registration 

Act, or an attempt to commit any of the above-mentioned offenses, is 

guilty of a felony and shall be punished by imprisonment in the state 

prison for two, four, or six years. 


(c) It is not necessary to prove that the matter is obscene in 

order to establish a violation of this section. 


(d) This section does not apply to drawings, figurines, statues, 

or any film rated by the Motion Picture Association of America, nor 

does it apply to live or recorded telephone messages when 

transmitted, disseminated, or distributed as part of a commercial 

transaction. 

SEC. 39. Section 646.9 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

646.9. (a) Any person who willfully, maliciously, and repeatedly 


follows or willfully and maliciously harasses another person and who 

makes a credible threat with the intent to place that person in 

reasonable fear for his or her safety, or the safety of his or her 

immediate family is guilty of the crime of stalking, punishable by 

imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year, or by a 

fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that 

fine and imprisonment, or by imprisonment in the state prison. 


(b) Any person who violates subdivision (a) when there is a 

temporary restraining order, injunction, or any other court order in 

effect prohibiting the behavior described in subdivision (a) against 

the same party, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison 

for two, three, or four years, 


(c) (1) Every person who, after having been convicted of a felony 

under Section 273.5, 273.6, or 422, commits a violation of 

subdivision (a) shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail 

for not more than one year, or by a fine of not more than one 

thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment, or 

by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or five years. 


(2) Every person who, after having been convicted of a felony 

under subdivision (a), commits a violation of this section shall be 

punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or five 

years. 


(d) In addition to the penalties provided in this section, the 

sentencing court may order a person convicted of a felony under this 

section to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290.006. 


(e) For the purposes of this section, "harassesff means engages in 

a knowing and willful course of conduct directed at a specific person 

that seriously alarms, annoys, torments, or terrorizes the person, 

and that serves no legitimate purpose. 


(f) For the purposes of this section, "course of conductN means 

two or more acts occurring over a period of time, however short, 

evidencing a continuity of purpose. Constitutionally protected 

activity is not included within the meaning of "course of conduct," 


(g) For the purposes of this section, "credible threat1' means a 

verbal or written threat, including that performed through the use of 

an electronic communication device, or a threat implied by a pattern 

of conduct or a combination of verbal, written, or electronically 

communicated statements and conduct, made with the intent to place 

the person that is the target of the threat in reasonable fear for 

his or her safety or the safety of his or her family, and made with 

the apparent ability to carry out the threat so as to cause the 

person who is the target of the threat to reasonably fear for his or 

her safety or the safety of his or her family. It is not necessary to 




prove that the defendant had the intent to actually carry out the 

threat. The present incarceration of a person making the threat shall 

not be a bar to prosecution under this section. Constitutionally 

protected activity is not included within the meaning of "credible 

threat.It 


(h) For purposes of this section, the term I1electronic 

communication device1( includes, but is not limited to, telephones, 

cellular phones, computers, video recorders, fax machines, or pagers. 

"Electronic comm~nication~~ 
has the same meaning as the term defined 

in Subsection 12 of Section 2510 of Title 18 of the United States 

Code. 


(i) This section shall not apply to conduct that occurs during 

labor picketing. 


(j) If probation is granted, or the execution or imposition of a 

sentence is suspended, for any person convicted under this section, 

it shall be a condition of probation that the person participate in 

counseling, as designated by the court. However, the court, upon a 

showing of good cause, may find that the counseling requirement shall 

not be imposed. 


(k) The sentencing court also shall consider issuing an order 

restraining the defendant from any contact with the victim, that may 

be valid for up to 10 years, as determined by the court. It is the 

intent of the Legislature that the length of any restraining order be 

based upon the seriousness of the facts before the court, the 

probability of future violations, and the safety of the victim and 

his or her immediate family. 


( )  For purposes of this section, "immediate familyu means any 
spouse, parent, child, any person related by consanguinity or 
affinity within the second degree, or any other person who regularly 
resides in the household, or who, within the prior six months, 
regularly resided in the household. 

(m) The court shall consider whether the defendant would benefit 

from treatment pursuant to Section 2684. If it is determined to be 

appropriate, the court shall recommend that the Department of 

Corrections and Rehabilitation make a certification as provided in 

Section 2684. Upon the certification, the defendant shall be 

evaluated and transferred to the appropriate hospital for treatment 

pursuant to Section 2684. 


SEC. 39.5. Section 646.9 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

646.9. (a) Any person who willfully, maliciously, and repeatedly 


follows or willfully and maliciously harasses another person and who 

makes a credible threat with the intent to place that person in 

reasonable fear for his or her safety, or the safety of his or her 

immediate family is guilty of the crime of stalking, punishable by 

imprisonment in a county jail for not more than one year, or by a 

fine of not more than one thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that 

fine and imprisonment, or by imprisonment in the state prison. 


(b) Any person who violates subdivision (a) when there is a 

temporary restraining order, injunction, or any other court order in 

effect prohibiting the behavior described in subdivision (a) against 

the same party, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison 

for two, three, or four years. 


(c) (1) Every person who, after having been convicted of a felony 

under Section 273.5, 273.6, or 422, commits a violation of 

subdivision (a) shall be punished by imprisonment in a county jail 

for not more than one year, or by a fine of not more than one 

thousand dollars ($1,000), or by both that fine and imprisonment, or 




by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or five years. 

(2) Every person who, after having been convicted of a felony 


under subdivision (a), commits a violation of this section shall be 

punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, or five 

years. 


(d) In addition to the penalties provided in this section, the 

sentencing court may order a person convicted of a felony under this 

section to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290.006. 


(e) For the purposes of this section, llharassesll 
means engages in 

a knowing and willful course of conduct directed at a specific person 

that seriously alarms, annoys, torments, or terrorizes the person, 

and that serves no legitimate purpose. 


(f) For the purposes of this section, llcourse of conductu means 

two or more acts occurring over a period of time, however short, 

evidencing a continuity of purpose. Constitutionally protected 

activity is not included within the meaning of "course of c~nduct.~~ 


(g) For the purposes of this section, Itcredible threat" means a 

verbal or written threat, including that performed through the use of 

an electronic communication device, or a threat implied by a pattern 

of conduct or a combination of verbal, written, or electronically 

communicated statements and conduct, made with the intent to place 

the person that is the target of the threat in reasonable fear for 

his or her safety or the safety of his or her family, and made with 

the apparent ability to carry out the threat so as to cause the 

person who is the target of the threat to reasonably fear for his or 

her safety or the safety of his or her family. It is not necessary to 

prove that the defendant had the intent to actually carry out the 

threat. The present incarceration of a person making the threat shall 

not be a bar to prosecution under this section. Constitutionally 

protected activity is not included within the meaning of "credible 

threat. 


(h) For purposes of this section, the term llelectronic 

communication deviceu includes, but is not limited to, telephones, 

cellular phones, computers, video recorders, fax machines, or pagers. 

"Electronic communication^ has the same meaning as the term defined 

in Subsection 12 of Section 2510 of Title 18 of the United States 

Code. 


(i) This section shall not apply to conduct that occurs during 

labor picketing. 


(j) If probation is granted, or the execution or imposition of a 

sentence is suspended, for any person convicted under this section, 

it shall be a condition of probation that the person participate in 

counseling, as designated by the court. However, the court, upon a 

showing of good cause, may find that the counseling requirement shall 

not be imposed. 


(k) (1) The sentencing court also shall consider issuing an order 

restraining the defendant from any contact with the victim, that may 

be valid for up to 10 years, as determined by the court. It is the 

intent of the Legislature that the length of any restraining order be 

based upon the seriousness of the facts before the court, the 

probability of future violations, and the safety of the victim and 

his or her immediate family. 


(2) This protective order may be issued by the court whether the 

defendant is sentenced to state prison, county jail, or if imposition 

of sentence is suspended and the defendant is placed on probation. 


( )  For purposes of this section, "immediate familyM means any 
spouse, parent, child, any person related by consanguinity or 



affinity within the second degree, or any other person who regularly 

resides in the household, or who, within the prior six months, 

regularly resided in the household. 


(m) The court shall consider whether the defendant would benefit 

from treatment pursuant to Section 2684. If it is determined to be 

appropriate, the court shall recommend that the Department of 

Corrections and Rehabilitation make a certification as provided in 

Section 2684. Upon the certification, the defendant shall be 

evaluated and transferred to the appropriate hospital for treatment 

pursuant to Section 2684. 

SEC. 40. Section 801.1 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

801.1. (a) Notwithstanding any other limitation of time described 


in this chapter, prosecution for a felony offense described in 

Section 261, 286, 288, 288.5, 288a, or 289, or Section 289.5, as 

enacted by Chapter 293 of the Statutes of 1991 relating to 

penetration by an unknown object, that is alleged to have been 

committed when the victim was under the age of 18 years, may be 

commenced any time prior to the victim's 28th birthday. 


(b)Notwithstanding any other limitation of time described in this 

chapter, if subdivision (a) does not apply, prosecution for a felony 

offense described in subdivision (c) of Section 290 shall be 

commenced within 10 years after commission of the offense. 

SEC. 41. Section 803 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

803. (a) Except as provided in this section, a limitation of time 


prescribed in this chapter is not tolled or extended for any reason. 


(b) No time during which prosecution of the same person for the 

same conduct is pending in a court of this state is a part of a 

limitation of time prescribed in this chapter. 


(c)A limitation of time prescribed in this chapter does not 
commence to run until the discovery of an offense described in this 
subdivision. This subdivision applies to an offense punishable by 
imprisonment in the state prison, a material element of which is 
fraud or breach of a fiduciary obligation, the commission of the 
crimes of theft or embezzlement upon an elder or dependent adult, or 
the basis of which is misconduct in office by a public officer, 
employee, or appointee, including, but not limited to, the following 
offenses: 

(1) Grand theft of any type, forgery, falsification of public 

records, or acceptance of a bribe by a public official or a public 

employee. 


(2)A violation of Section 72, 118, 118a, 132, 134, or 186.10. 

(3) A violation of Section 25540, of any type, or Section 25541 of 


the Corporations Code. 

(4)A violation of Section 1090 or 27443 of the 


Government Code. 

(5) Felony welfare fraud or Medi-Cal fraud in violation of Section 


11483 or 14107 of the Welfare and Institutions Code. 

(6) Felony insurance fraud in violation of Section 548 or 550 of 


this code or former Section 1871.1, or Section 1871.4, of the 

Insurance Code. 


(7)A violation of Section 580, 581, 582, 583, or 584 of the 

Business and Professions Code. 


(8)A violation of Section 22430 of the Business and Professions 

Code. 


(9)A violation of Section 10690 of the Health and Safety Code. 

(10)A violation of Section 529a. 




(11) A violation of subdivision (d) or (e) of Section 368. 

(d) If the defendant is out of the state when or after the offense 


is committed, the prosecution may be commenced as provided in 

Section 804 within the limitations of time prescribed by this 

chapter, and no time up to a maximum of three years during which the 

defendant is not within the state shall be a part of those 

limitations. 


(e) A limitation of time prescribed in this chapter does not 

commence to run until the offense has been discovered, or could have 

reasonably been discovered, with regard to offenses under Division 7 

(commencing with Section 13000) of the Water Code, under Chapter 6.5 

(commencing with Section 25100) of, Chapter 6.7 (commencing with 

Section 25280) of, or Chapter 6.8 (commencing with Section 25300) of, 

Division 20 of, or Part 4 (commencing with Section 41500) of 

Division 26 of, the Health and Safety Code, or under Section 386, or 

offenses under Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 2000) of Division 2 

of, Chapter 9 (commencing with Section 4000) of Division 2 of, 

Section 6126 of, Chapter 10 (commencing with Section 7301) of 

Division 3 of, or Chapter 19.5 (commencing with Section 22440) of 

Division 8 of, the Business and Professions Code. 


(f) (1) Notwithstanding any other limitation of time described in 

this chapter, a criminal complaint may be filed within one year of 

the date of a report to a California law enforcement agency by a 

person of any age alleging that he or she, while under the age of 18 

years, was the victim of a crime described in Section 261, 286, 288, 

288a, 288.5, or 289, or Section 289.5, as enacted by Chapter 293 of 

the Statutes of 1991 relating to penetration by an unknown object. 


(2) This subdivision applies only if all of the following occur: 

(A) The limitation period specified in Section 800, 801, or 801.1, 


whichever is later, has expired. 

(B) The crime involved substantial sexual conduct, as described in 


subdivision (b) of Section 1203.066, excluding masturbation that is 

not mutual. 


(C) There is independent evidence that corroborates the victim's 

allegation. If the victim was 21 years of age or older at the time of 

the report, the independent evidence shall clearly and convincingly 

corroborate the victim's allegation. 


(3) No evidence may be used to corroborate the victim's allegation 

that otherwise would be inadmissible during trial. Independent 

evidence does not include the opinions of mental health 

professionals. 


(4) (A) In a criminal investigation involving any of the crimes 

listed in paragraph (1) committed against a child, when the 

applicable limitations period has not expired, that period shall be 

tolled from the time a party initiates litigation challenging a grand 

jury subpoena until the end of the litigation, including any 

associated writ or appellate proceeding, or until the final 

disclosure of evidence to the investigating or prosecuting agency, if 

that disclosure is ordered pursuant to the subpoena after the 

litigation. 


(B) Nothing in this subdivision affects the definition or 

applicability of any evidentiary privilege. 


(C) This subdivision shall not apply where a court finds that the 

grand jury subpoena was issued or caused to be issued in bad faith. 


(g) (1) Notwithstanding any other limitation of time described in 

this chapter, a criminal complaint may be filed within one year of 

the date on which the identity of the suspect is conclusively 




established by DNA testing, if both of the following conditions are 

met : 

(A) The crime is one that is described in subdivision (c) of 

Section 290. 


(B) The offense was committed prior to January 1, 2001, and 

biological evidence collected in connection with the offense is 

analyzed for DNA type no later than January 1, 2004, or the offense 

was committed on or after January 1, 2001, and biological evidence 

collected in connection with the offense is analyzed for DNA type no 

later than two years from the date of the offense. 


(2) For purposes of this section, "DNAl1 means deoxyribonucleic 

acid. 


(h) For any crime, the proof of which depends substantially upon 

evidence that was seized under a warrant, but which is unavailable to 

the prosecuting authority under the procedures described in People 

v. Superior Court (Laff) (2001) 25 Cal.4th 703, People v. Superior 
Court (Bauman & Rose) (1995) 37 Cal.App.4th 1757, or subdivision (c) 
of Section 1524, relating to claims of evidentiary privilege or 
attorney work product, the limitation of time prescribed in this 
chapter shall be tolled from the time of the seizure until final 
disclosure of the evidence to the prosecuting authority. Nothing in 
this section otherwise affects the definition or applicability of any 
evidentiary privilege or attorney work product. 
SEC. 42. Section 1202.7 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

1202.7. The Legislature finds and declares that the provision of 


probation services is an essential element in the administration of 

criminal justice. The safety of the public, which shall be a primary 

goal through the enforcement of court-ordered conditions of 

probation; the nature of the offense; the interests of justice, 

including punishment, reintegration of the offender into the 

community, and enforcement of conditions of probation; the loss to 

the victim; and the needs of the defendant shall be the primary 

considerations in the granting of probation. It is the intent of the 

Legislature that efforts be made with respect to persons who are 

subject to Section 290.011 who are on probation to engage them in 

treatment. 

SEC. 43. Section 1417.8 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

1417.8. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this chapter, 


the court shall direct that any photograph of any minor that has been 

found by the court to be harmful matter, as defined in Section 313, 

and introduced or filed as an exhibit in any criminal proceeding 

specified in subdivision (b) be handled as follows: 


(1) Prior to the final determination of the action or proceeding, 

the photograph shall be available only to the parties or to a person 

named in a court order to receive the photograph, 


(2) After the final determination of the action or proceeding, the 

photograph shall be preserved with the permanent record maintained 

by the clerk of the court. The photograph may be disposed of or 

destroyed after preservation through any appropriate photographic or 

electronic medium. If the photograph is disposed of, it shall be 

rendered unidentifiable before the disposal. No person shall have 

access to the photograph unless that person has been named in a court 

order to receive the photograph. Any copy, negative, reprint, or 

other duplication of the photograph in the possession of the state, a 

state agency, the defendant, or an agent of the defendant, shall be 

delivered to the clerk of the court for disposal whether or not the 

defendant was convicted of the offense. 




(b) The procedure provided by subdivision (a) shall apply to 

actions listed under subdivision (c) of Section 290, and to acts 

under the following provisions: 


(1) Section 261.5. 

(2) Section 272. 

(3) Chapter 7.5 (commencing with section 311) of ~itle 9 of Part 


1. 

(4) Chapter 7.6 (commencing with Section 313) of Title 9 of Part 


1. 

(c) For the purposes of this section, I1photographl1 means any 


photographic image contained in a digital format or on any chemical, 

mechanical, magnetic, or electronic medium. 


SEC. 44. Section 3000 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

3000. (a) (1) The Legislature finds and declares that the period 


immediately following incarceration is critical to successful 

reintegration of the offender into society and to positive 

citizenship. It is in the interest of public safety for the state to 

provide for the supervision of and surveillance of parolees, 

including the judicious use of revocation actions, and to provide 

educational, vocational, family and personal counseling necessary to 

assist parolees in the transition between imprisonment and discharge. 

A sentence pursuant to Section 1168 or 1170 shall include a period 

of parole, unless waived, as provided in this section. 


(2) The Legislature finds and declares that it is not the intent 

of this section to diminish resources allocated to the Department of 

Corrections and Rehabilitation for parole functions for which the 

department is responsible. It is also not the intent of this section 

to diminish the resources allocated to the Board of Parole Hearings 

to execute its duties with respect to parole functions for which the 

board is responsible. 


(3)The Legislature finds and declares that diligent effort must 

be made to ensure that parolees are held accountable for their 

criminal behavior, including, but not limited to, the satisfaction of 

restitution fines and orders. 


(4) The parole period of any person found to be a sexually violent 

predator shall be tolled until that person is found to no longer be 

a sexually violent predator, at which time the period of parole, or 

any remaining portion thereof, shall begin to run. 


(b)Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary in Article 3 

(commencing with Section 3040) of this chapter, the following shall 
apply : 

(1)At the expiration of a term of imprisonment of one year and 
one day, or a term of imprisonment imposed pursuant to Section 1170 
or at the expiration of a term reduced pursuant to Section 2931 or 
2933, if applicable, the inmate shall be released on parole for a 
period not exceeding three years, except that any inmate sentenced 
for an offense specified in paragraph (3), ( 4 ) ,  (5), (6), (ll), (16), 
or (18) of subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 shall be released on 
parole for a period not exceeding five years, unless in either case 
the parole authority for good cause waives parole and discharges the 
inmate from the custody of the department. 

(2) In the case of any inmate sentenced under Section 1168, the 

period of parole shall not exceed five years in the case of an inmate 

imprisoned for any offense other than first or second degree murder 

for which the inmate has received a life sentence, and shall not 

exceed three years in the case of any other inmate, unless in either 

case the parole authority for good cause waives parole and discharges 




the inmate from custody of the department. This subdivision shall 

also be applicable to inmates who committed crimes prior to July 1, 

1977, to the extent specified in Section 1170.2. 


(3) Notwithstanding paragraphs (1) and (2), in the case of any 

offense for which the inmate has received a life sentence pursuant to 

Section 667.61 or 667.71, the period of parole shall be 10 years. 


(4) The parole authority shall consider the request of any inmate 

regarding the length of his or her parole and the conditions thereof. 


(5) Upon successful completion of parole, or at the end of the 

maximum statutory period of parole specified for the inmate under 

paragraph (I), (2), or (3), as the case may be, whichever is earlier, 

the inmate shall be discharged from custody. The date of the maximum 

statutory period of parole under this subdivision and paragraphs 

(I), (2), and (3) shall be computed from the date of initial parole 

and shall be a period chronologically determined. Time during which 

parole is suspended because the prisoner has absconded or has been 

returned to custody as a parole violator shall not be credited toward 

any period of parole unless the prisoner is found not guilty of the 

parole violation. However, the period of parole is subject to the 

following: 


(A) Except as provided in Section 3064, in no case may a prisoner 

subject to three years on parole be retained under parole supervision 

or in custody for a period longer than four years from the date of 

his or her initial parole. 


(B) Except as provided in Section 3064, in no case may a prisoner 

subject to five years on parole be retained under parole supervision 

or in custody for a period longer than seven years from the date of 

his or her initial parole. 


(C) Except as provided in Section 3064, in no case may a prisoner 

subject to 10 years on parole be retained under parole supervision or 

in custody for a period longer than 15 years from the date of his or 

her initial parole. 


(6) The Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation shall meet 

with each inmate at least 30 days prior to his or her good time 

release date and shall provide, under guidelines specified by the 

parole authority, the conditions of parole and the length of parole 

up to the maximum period of time provided by law. The inmate has the 

right to reconsideration of the length of parole and conditions 

thereof by the parole authority. The Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation or the Board of Parole Hearings may impose as a 

condition of parole that a prisoner make payments on the prisoner's 

outstanding restitution fines or orders imposed pursuant to 

subdivision (a) or (c) of Section 13967 of the Government Code, as 

operative prior to September 28, 1994, or subdivision (b) or (f) of 

Section 1202.4. 


(7) For purposes of this chapter, the Board of Parole Hearings 

shall be considered the parole authority. 


(8) The sole authority to issue warrants for the return to actual 

custody of any state prisoner released on parole rests with the Board 

of Parole Hearings, except for any escaped state prisoner or any 

state prisoner released prior to his or her scheduled release date 

who should be returned to custody, and Section 3060 shall apply. 


(9) It is the intent of the Legislature that efforts be made with 

respect to persons who are subject to Section 290,011 who are on 

parole to engage them in treatment. 


SEC. 45. Section 3000.07 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 




3000.07. (a) Every inmate who has been convicted for any felony 

violation of a "registerable sex offense" described in subdivision 

(c) of Section 290 or any attempt to commit any of the 

above-mentioned offenses and who is committed to prison and released 

on parole pursuant to Section 3000 or 3000.1 shall be monitored by a 

global positioning system for the term of his or her parole, or for 

the duration or any remaining part thereof, whichever period of time 

is less. 


(b) Any inmate released on parole pursuant to this section shall 

be required to pay for the costs associated with the monitoring by a 

global positioning system. However, the Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation shall waive any or all of that payment upon a finding 

of an inability to pay. The department shall consider any remaining 

amounts the inmate has been ordered to pay in fines, assessments and 

restitution fines, fees, and orders, and shall give priority to the 

payment of those items before requiring that the inmate pay for the 

global positioning monitoring. No inmate shall be denied parole on 

the basis of his or her inability to pay for those monitoring costs. 

SEC. 46. Section 3004 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

3004. (a) Notwithstanding any other law, the parole authority may 


require, as a condition of release on parole or reinstatement on 

parole, or as an intermediate sanction in lieu of return to prison, 

that an inmate or parolee agree in writing to the use of electronic 

monitoring or supervising devices for the purpose of helping to 

verify his or her compliance with all other conditions of parole. The 

devices shall not be used to eavesdrop or record any conversation, 

except a conversation between the parolee and the agent supervising 

the parolee which is to be used solely for the purposes of voice 

identification. 


(b) Every inmate who has been convicted for any felony violation 

of a "registerable sex offensen described in subdivision (c) of 

Section 290 or any attempt to commit any of the above-mentioned 

offenses and who is committed to prison and released on parole 

pursuant to Section 3000 or 3000.1 shall be monitored by a global 

positioning system for life. 


(c) Any inmate released on parole pursuant to this section shall 

be required to pay for the costs associated with the monitoring by a 

global positioning system. However, the Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation shall waive any or all of that payment upon a finding 

of an inability to pay. The department shall consider any remaining 

amounts the inmate has been ordered to pay in fines, assessments and 

restitution fines, fees, and orders, and shall give priority to the 

payment of those items before requiring that the inmate pay for the 

global positioning monitoring. 


SEC. 47. Section 3005 of the Penal Code is amended and renumbered 

to read: 


3008. (a) The Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation shall 

ensure that all parolees under active supervision who are deemed to 

pose a high risk to the public of committing sex crimes, as 

determined by the State-Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex 

Offenders (SARATSO), as set forth in Sections 290.04 to 290.06, 

inclusive, are placed on intensive and specialized parole supervision 

and are required to report frequently to designated parole officers. 

The department may place any other parolee convicted of an offense 

that requires him or her to register as a sex offender pursuant to 

Section 290 who is on active supervision on intensive and specialized 

supervision and require him or her to report frequently to 
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designated parole officers. 

(b) The department shall develop and, at the discretion of the 


secretary, and subject to an appropriation of the necessary funds, 

may implement a plan for the implementation of relapse prevention 

treatment programs, and the provision of other services deemed 

necessary by the department, in conjunction with intensive and 

specialized parole supervision, to reduce the recidivism of sex 

offenders. 


(c) The department shall develop control and containment 

programming for sex offenders who have been deemed to pose a high 

risk to the public of committing a sex crime, as determined by the 

SARATSO, and shall require participation in appropriate programming 

as a condition of parole. 

SEC. 48. Section 3060.6 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

3060.6. Notwithstanding any other provision of law, on or after 


January 1, 2001, whenever any paroled person is returned to custody 

or has his or her parole revoked for conduct described in subdivision 

(c) of Section 290, the parole authority shall report the 

circumstances that were the basis for the return to custody or 

revocation of parole to the law enforcement agency and the district 

attorney that has primary jurisdiction over the community in which 

the circumstances occurred and to the Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation. Upon the release of the paroled person, the 

Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation shall inform the law 

enforcement agency and the district attorney that has primary 

jurisdiction over the community in which the circumstances occurred 

and, if different, the county in which the person is paroled or 

discharged, of the circumstances that were the basis for the return 

to custody or revocation of parole. 


SEC. 49. Section 5054.1 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

5054.1. The Secretary of the Department of Corrections and 


~ehabilitation has full power to order returned to custody any person 

under the secretary's jurisdiction. The written order of the 

secretary shall be sufficient warrant for any peace officer to return 

to actual custody any escaped state prisoner or any state prisoner 

released prior to his or her scheduled release date who should be 

returned to custody. All peace officers shall execute an order as 

otherwise provided by law. 


SEC. 50. Section 5054.2 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

5054.2, Whenever a person is incarcerated in a state prison for 


violating section 261, 264.1, 266c, 285, 286, 288, 288a, 288.5, or 

289, and the victim of one or more of those offenses is a child under 

the age of 18 years, the Secretary of the Department of Corrections 

and Rehabilitation shall protect the interest of that child victim by 

prohibiting visitation between the incarcerated person and the child 

victim pursuant to Section 1202.05. The secretary shall allow 

visitation only when the juvenile court, pursuant to Section 362.6 of 

the Welfare and Institutions Code, finds that visitation between the 

incarcerated person and his or her child victim is in the best 

interests of the child victim. 


SEC. 51. (a) Section 1.5 of this bill incorporates amendments to 

Section 1522 of the Health and Safety Code proposed by both this bill 

and SB 776. It shall only become operative if (1) both bills are 

enacted and become effective on or before January 1, 2008, (2) each 

bill amends Section 1522 of the Health and Safety Code, and (3) this 

bill is enacted after SB 776, in which case Section 1522 of the 
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Health and Safety Code, as amended by Section 1 of this bill, shall 

remain operative only until the operative date of SB 776, at which 

time Section 1.5 of this bill shall become operative. 


(b) Section 39.5 of this bill incorporates amendments to Section 

646.9 of the Penal Code proposed by both this bill and AB 289. It 

shall only become operative if (1) both bills are enacted and become 

effective on or before January 1, 2008, (2) each bill amends Section 

646.9 of the Penal Code, and (3) this bill is enacted after AB 289, 
in which case Section 646.9 of the Penal Code, as amended by Section 
39 of this bill, shall remain operative only until the operative date 
of AB 289, at which time Section 39.5 of this bill shall become 
operative. 

SEC. 52. It is the intent of the Legislature that any reference to 

Section 290 of the Penal Code that appears in any other provision of 

a bill enacted during the 2007-08 Regular Session be construed to 

refer to a corresponding provision of Section 290 of the Penal Code 

as renumbered by this act. 


SEC. 53. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the 

immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within 

the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into 

immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are: 


In order to ensure that conforming changes are made to laws 

relating to sex offenders, it is necessary that this act take effect 

immediately. 
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SEX OFFENDERS 


HISTORY 


Source: Author 


Prior Legislation: SB 1128 (~lquist) - Ch. 337, Stats. 2006 

Support: California State Sheriffs' Association; California 

Probation, Parole and Correctional Association; 


Peace 

Officers Research Association of California 


0pposition:None known 


KEY ISSUE 


SHOULD SPECIFIED TECHNICAL AND CLARIFYING AMENDMENTS BE MADE 
TO THE 

SEX OFFENDER PUNISHMENT, CONTROL AND CONTAINMENT ACT OF 2006 
(SB 

1128 [ALQUIST] , CH. 337, STATS. 2006) ? 

PURPOSE 


The purpose of this bill is to make technical and clarifying 

changes to the Sex Offender Punishment, Control and 


Containment 

Act of 2006 (SB 1128 [~lquist]), as specified. 
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Existing law , through the enactment of SB 1128 (Alquist, 
Ch. 


337, Stats. 2006), the Sex Offender Punishment, Control and 

Containment Act, provides that many if not most convicted sex 

offenders must be evaluated for risk. (See, Pen. Code 

290.04.) This Act enacted many additional provisions 


concerning 

sex offenders, as specified. 


This bill makes largely technical changes, corrections and 

conforming changes to sections that were added to the law or 

amended by SB 1128 and Proposition 83, as approved by the 


voters 

in the November 2006 General Election. 


Existing law contains two related, yet separate and 

distinct, 


sections concerning contacting or arranging a meeting with a 

minor for purposes of engaging in sexual conduct. These 

provisions were added to the law by SB 1128 and Proposition 


(Pen. Code 288.3.) 


This bill assigns a new section number - 288.4 - to the new 
crime defined in SB 1128 of the 2006 legislative session. 

This bill corrects numerous cross-references to include new 

section number 288.4. 


This bill makes numerous corrections to statutory references 

to 


the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation. 


This bill makes non-substantive, grammatical and composition 

corrections to statutory provisions. 


RECEIVERSHIP/OVERCROWDING CRISIS AGGRAVATION ("ROCA") 

IMPLICATIONS 


California currently faces an extraordinary and severe prison 


http:290.04.)


and jail overcrowding crisis. California's prison capacity 


nearly exhausted as prisons today are being operated with a 


(More) 


(Alquist) 
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significant level of overcrowding. In addition, California's 

jails likewise are significantly overcrowded. Twenty 


California 

counties are operating under jail population caps. According 


to 

the State Sheriffs1 Association, "counties are currently 

releasing 18,000 pre and post-sentenced inmates every month 


and 

many counties are so overcrowded they do not accept 


misdemeanor 
bookings in any form, . . . .I1 In January of this year the 
Legislative Analyst's office summarized the trajectory of 
California's inmate population over the last two decades: 

During the past 20 years, jail and prison 

populations have increased significantly. County 

jail populations have increased by about 66 

percent over that period, an amount that has been 

limited by court-ordered population caps. The 

prison population has grown even more dramatically 

during that period, tripling since the 

mid-1980s. 


The level of overcrowding, and the impact of the population 

crisis on the day-to-day prison operations, is staggering: 


As of December 31, 2006, the California Department 
of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) was 
estimated to have 173,100 inmates in the state 
prison system, based on CDCR1s fall 2006 
population projections. However, . . . the 
department only operates or contracts for a total 
of 156,500 permanent bed capacity (not including 



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -  

out-of-state beds, . . . ) ,  resulting in a 
shortfall of about 16,600 prison beds relative to 
the inmate population. The most significant bed 
shortfalls are for Level I, 11, and IV inmates, as 

Analysis of the 2007-08 Budget Bill: Judicial and Criminal 

Justice, Legislative Analyst's Office (February 21, 2007). 

Memorandum from CSSA President Gary Penrod to Governor, 


February 14, 2007. 

California's Criminal Justice System: A Primer. 


Legislative Analyst's Office (January 2007). 
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well as at reception centers. As a result of the 

bed deficits, CDCR houses about 10 percent of the 

inmate population in temporary beds, such as in 

dayrooms and gyms. In addition, many inmates are 

housed in facilities designed for different 

security levels. For example, there are currently 

about 6,000 high security (Level IV) inmates 

housed in beds designed for Level I11 inmates. 


. . . (S)ignificant overcrowding has both 
operational and fiscal consequences. Overcrowding 
and the use of temporary beds create security 
concerns, particularly for medium- and 
high-security inmates. Gyms and dayrooms are not 
designed to provide security coverage as well as 
in permanent housing units, and overcrowding can 
contribute to inmate unrest, disturbances, and 
assaults. This can result in additional state 
costs for medical treatment, workers1 
compensation, and staff overtime. In addition, 
overcrowding can limit the ability of prisons to 
provide rehabilitative, health care, and other 
types of programs because prisons were not 
designed with sufficient space to provide these 
services to the increased population. The 
difficulty in providing inmate programs and 
services is exacerbated by the use of program 
space to house inmates. Also, to the extent that 



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -  

inmate unrest is caused by overcrowding, 

rehabilitation programs and other services can be 

disrupted by the resulting lockdowns. 


As a result of numerous lawsuits, the state has entered into 

several consent decrees agreeing to improve conditions in the 

state's prisons. As these cases have continued over the past 

several years, prison conditions nonetheless have failed to 

improve and, over the last year, the scrutiny of the federal 

courts over California's prisons has intensified. 


Analysis 2007-08 Budget Bill, supra, fn. 1. 
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In February of 2006, the federal court appointed a receiver 


take over the direct management and operation of the prison 
medical health care delivery system from the state. Motions 
filed in December of 2006 are now pending before three 

federal 
court judges in which plaintiffs are seeking a court-ordered 
limit on the prison population pursuant to the federal Prison 
Litigation Reform Act. Medical, mental health and dental 

care 
programs at CDCR each are "currently under varying levels of 
federal court supervision based on court rulings that the 

state 
has failed to provide inmates with adequate care as required 
under the Eighth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution. The 

courts 
found key deficiencies in the state's correctional programs, 
including: (1) an inadequate number of staff to deliver 

health 
care services, (2) an inadequate amount of clinical space 

within 
prisons, (3) failures to follow nationally recognized health 
care guidelines for treating inmate-patients, and (4) poor 
coordination between health care staff and custody staff." 



- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -  

(More) 


Primer, supra, fn. 4. 




This bill does not appear to aggravate 
overcrowding crisis outlined above. 

the prison and jail 

COMMENTS 

1. Need for This Bill 

According to the author: 

SB 1128 (Alquist), Chapter 337, Statutes of 2006, 
made numerous changes to the laws concerning sex 
crimes and related provisions. The law enacted a 
system of evaluations for sex offenders for risk. 
The bill increased penalties for the most dangerous 
sex offenders. The bill defined a new crime that 
can be applied against pedophiles who attempt to use 
the Internet to induce children to engage in sexual 
conduct. 

This bill makes technical changes and corrects 
numerous statutory references to SB 1128. For 
example, under existing law, two sections with the 
same number exist that apply to persons who attempt 
to use the Internet to lure children to have sex. 
Both of these sections are valid and enforceable. 
However, the existence of two separate sections with 
the same number is confusing. This bill corrects 
that confusion by denominating the child luring 
section created by SB 1128 of 2006 as Penal Code 
Section 288.4. 

Distinct 
2. Correcting Duplicative Numbering of Two Separate and 

Laws on Child Luring 

288.3. 

with 

As noted in the author's statement, existing law includes two 
separate and distinct sections in the Penal Code numbered 

Each section addresses luring children over the Internet for 
sexual purposes. Each section is valid and enforceable. 
However, the existence of two separate and distinct crimes 

(More) 
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the same Penal Code section number could be very confusing 

for 


the courts, practitioners, law enforcement, corrections 

personnel and the courts. Significant time and effort could 


be 

required to determine which crime a defendant convicted of a 

violation of Section 288.3 committed. 


Section 288.3, as defined in SB 1128 of 2006, specifically 

includes a provision allowing the use of law enforcement 

ustingsllin which a law enforcement officer poses as a child 


in 

communications with adults who are trying lure children 


over 

the Internet to engage in sex. This provision is renumbered 

Penal Code Section 288.4 by this bill. 


Section 288.3 as defined in Proposition 83 of the November 

2006 


election is drafted such that the person contacted by an 

adult 


defendant must be proved to have been a child. This 

provision 


shall remain as Penal Code Section 288.3. Cross-references 

throughout the Penal Code have been corrected in this bill to 

reflect the renumbering. 


SHOULD THE TWO PENAL CODE PROVISIONS REGARDING CHILD LURING 

THAT 


CURRENTLY CONTAIN THE SAME PENAL CODE SECTION BE RENUMBERED 

TO 


AVOID CONFUSION? 


3. Additional Corrections 


The bill contains a number of technical changes. These 

changes 


are also non-substantive. For example, numerous references 


the Department of Corrections are corrected to reflect the 

new 

name of the agency - the Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation. Penal Code Section 3005 was renumbered as 

3008 

to avoid confusion with a repealed section of that same 


number. 


SHOULD NUMEROUS NON-SUBSTANTIVE CORRECTIONS IN SEX OFFENSE 




STATUTES BE MADE? 
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UNFINISHED BUSINESS 


Bill No: SB 172 
Author: Alquist (D) 
Amended: 9/7/07 
Vote : 27 - Urgency 

SENATE PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE : 5-0, 4/24/07 
AYES: Romero, Cogdill, Cedillo, Margett, Ridley-Thomas 

SENATE FLOOR : 38-0, 5/7/07 
AYES: Aanestad, Ackerman, Alquist, Ashburn, Battin, 


Calderon, Cedillo, Cogdill, Corbett, Correa, Cox, Denham, 

Ducheny, Dutton, Florez, Harman, Hollingsworth, Kehoe, 

Kuehl, Lowenthal, Machado, Maldonado, Margett, 

McClintock, Migden, Negrete McLeod, Oropeza, Padilla, 

Perata, Ridley-Thomas, Romero, Runner, Scott, Steinberg, 

Torlakson, Vincent, Wyland, Yee 


NO VOTE RECORDED: Simitian, Wiggins 


ASSEMBLY FLOOR : 76-0, 9/10/07 - See last page for vote 

SUBJECT : Sex offenders 

SOURCE : Author 

DIGEST : This bill makes technical and clarifying changes 
to the Sex Offender Punishment, Control and Containment Act 
of 2006. 

Assembly Amendments (1) make clarifying changes to 

provisions related to the risk assessment tool to be used 


CONTINUED 
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to identify sex offenders, and make related technical 

changes, and (2) deleted technical changes made to Section 

290.3 of the Penal Code. 


ANALYSIS : Existing law provides for various penalty 
provisions related to sex offenders. 

his bill makes nonsubstantive, conforming changes to those 

provisions. This bill makes clarifying changes to 

provisions related to the risk assessment tool to be used 

to identify sex offenders, and makes related technical 

changes. 


Existing law requires persons who have been convicted of 

specified crimes, and other persons as required by a court, 

to register as a sex offender. Existing law sets forth the 

procedure for doing so. 


This bill reorganizes and renumbers the provisions that set 

forth that procedure, and makes conforming technical 

changes in related provisions of law. 


This bill incorporates additional changes in Section 1522 

of the Health and Safety Code, proposed by SB 776, to be 

operative only if SB 776 and this bill are both chaptered 

and become effective on or before January 1, 2008, and this 

bill is chaptered last. 


This bill incorporates additional changes in Section 646.9 
of the Penal Code, proposed by AB 289, to be operative only 
if AB 289 and this bill are both chaptered and become 
effective on or before January 1, 2008, and this bill is 
chaptered last. 

Prior Legislation 


SB 1128 (Alquist), Chapter 337, Statutes of 2006, which 

passed the Senate on 8/31/06 (40-0). 


FISCAL EFFECT : Appropriation: No Fiscal Com.: No 
Local: No 

SUPPORT : (Verified 9/7/07) 
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California state Sheriffs1 Association 

California Probation, Parole and Correctional Association 

Peace Officers Research Association of California 


ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT : According to the author's office, 
SB 1128 (Alquist), Chapter 337, Statutes of 2006, made 
numerous changes to the laws concerning sex crimes and 
related provisions. The law enacted a system of 
evaluations for sex offenders for risk. The bill increased 
penalties for the most dangerous sex offenders. The bill 
defined a new crime that can be applied against pedophiles 
who attempt to use the Internet to induce children to 
engage in sexual conduct. 

his bill makes technical changes and corrects numerous 

statutory references to SB 1128. For example, under 

existing law, two sections with the same number exist that 

apply to persons who attempt to use the Internet to lure 

children to have sex. Both of these sections are valid and 

enforceable. However, the existence of two separate 

sections with the same number is confusing. This bill 

corrects that confusion by denominating the child luring 

section created by SB 1128 of 2006 as Penal Code Section 

288.4. 


ASSEMBLY FLOOR : 

AYES: Adams, Aghazarian, Anderson, Arambula, Bass, Beall, 
Benoit, Berg, Berryhill, Blakeslee, Brownley, Caballero, 
Charles Calderon, Carter, Cook, Coto, Davis, De La Torre, 
De Leon, DeSaulnier, DeVore, Duvall, Dymally, Emmerson, 
Eng, Evans, Feuer , Fuentes, Fuller, Gaines , Galgiani, 
Garcia, Garrick, Hayashi, Hernandez, Horton, Houston, 
Huff, Huffman, Jeffries, Jones, Karnette, Keene, 
Krekorian, La Malfa, Laird, Leno, Levine, Lieber, Lieu, 
Ma, Maze, Mendoza, Mullin, Nakanishi, Nava, Niello, 
Parra, Plescia, Portantino, Price, Sharon Runner, Ruskin, 
Salas, Saldana, Silva, Smyth, Solorio, Spitzer, Swanson, 
Torrico, Tran, Villines, Walters, Wolk, Nunez 

NO VOTE RECORDED: Hancock, Soto, Strickland, Vacancy 


RJG:nl 9/11/07 Senate Floor Analyses 
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SUPPORT/OPPOSITION: SEE ABOVE 


* * * *  END * * * *  
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SENATE THIRD READING 

SB 172 (Alquist) 

As Amended September 7, 2007 

2/3 vote. Urgency 


SENATE VOTE :38-0 


PUBLIC SAFETY 6-0 

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  


I~~es:(~olorio, I IAghazarian, 

I I~nderson, I 
I 1~e La Torre, Ma, I 
I (portantino
I - - - - - + - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - + - - - - + - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - l  
I I I I I 
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .  

SUMMARY : Renumbers a provision of law related to communicating 
with a person under the age of 18 with the intent to commit a 
specified sex offense, as specified. Specifically, this bill : 

1)Provides the State Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex 

Offenders (SARATSO) Review Committee shall research assessment 

tools for female juvenile offenders, as specified, and if one 

is agreed upon, SARATSO shall advise the Governor and the 

Legislature of the selected tool and the Department of Mental 

Health (DMH) shall post the decision on its Web site. Sixty 

days after the decision is posted, the selected tool shall 

become the SARATSO for female juvenile offenders. 


2)States the SARATSO Training Committee shall be comprised of a 

chief probation officer selected by the Chief Probation 

Officers of California, a representative of DMH, and a 

representative of the Attorney General's Office, 


3)Requires the Training Committee to consult with the 

Corrections Standards Authority and the Commission on Peace 

Officer Standards and Training to develop a training program, 

as specified for persons to administer the SARATSO, as 

specified. 


4)Double-joins this bill with SB 766 (Vincent) and AB 289 

(Spitzer) to avoid chaptering problems. 
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5)Re-organizes and renumbers provisions of law relating to sex 

offender registration requirements that were contained in AB 

1706 (Committee on Public Safety). 


6) Makes other non-substantive corrections and technical changes. 


EXISTING LAW 


1)States every person who, motivated by an unnatural or abnormal 

sexual interest in children, arranges a meeting with a minor 

or a person he/she believes to be a minor for the purpose of 

exposing his/her genitals or pubic or rectal area, having the 

child expose his/her genitals or pubic or rectal area, or 

engaging in lewd or lascivious behavior, shall be punished by 

a fine not exceeding $5,000; by imprisonment in a county jail 

not exceeding one year; or, by both the fine and imprisonment. 


2)Provides that every person who violates existing law after a 

prior conviction for a registered sex offense shall be 

punished by imprisonment in the state prison. 


3)States every person described in existing law who goes to the 

arranged meeting place at or about the arranged time, shall be 

punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, 

or four years, 


4)States every person who contacts or communicates with a minor, 

or attempts to contact or communicate with a minor, who knows 

or reasonably should know that the person is a minor, with 

intent to commit a specified sex offense involving the minor 

shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for the 

term prescribed for an attempt to commit the intended offense. 


5)Defines Ifcontacts or communicates withf1 as direct and indirect 

contact or communication that may be achieved personally or by 

use of an agent or agency, any print medium, any postal 

service, a common carrier or communication common carrier, any 

electronic communications system, or any telecommunications, 

wire, computer, or radio communications device or system. 


FISCAL EFFECT : None 
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COMMENTS : According to the author, "This bill will make 
technical changes and corrections to statutes added or amended 
by the Sex Offender Punishment, Control and Containment Act of 
2006, enacted by SB 1128 (Alquist), Chapter 337, Statutes of 
2006, and Proposition 83, Jessica's Law, as approved by the 
voters in the November 2006 General Election. The law now 
contains two Penal Code Section 288.3 (one added by SB 1128 and 
one added by Proposition 83), each of which applies to persons 
who use the Internet to lure children to have sex, and each of 
which is valid and enforceable. This bill will renumber one of 
those sections as 'Penal Code Section 288.4' and correct 
cross-references to include the new Penal Code Section 288.4. 

"In addition, this bill will make changes to a new risk 
assessment system established by SB 1128. SB 1128 'create[d] a 
standardized, statewide system to identify, assess, monitor and 
contain known sex offenders . . . , I SB 1128 identified an 
actuarial risk assessment tool for adult males, and it 
established the SARATSO Review Committee to research and 
identify risk assessment tools for females and juveniles. Upon 
the unanimous recommendation of multiple experts on sex offender 
risk assessment tools, the SARATSO Review Committee has 
requested several amendments to the statute that directs them to 
identify tools to clarify ambiguities and to permit them to 
exercise their authority in what they believe was the manner 
intended by SB 1128. For example, according to the expert, 
requiring multiple cross-validations of a tool (as opposed to 
one cross-validation) is not necessary to ensure its integrity 
but will result in delays of selecting a tool for juveniles and 
women of approximately six years. 

"Likewise, according to the experts, requiring that any tool be 

'widely accepted by the courts1 is not necessary to ensure its 

integrity; the committee should be able to rely on risk 

assessment experts who have testified in court about lesser 

tools that have been widely accepted and who, as experts, 

believe that a newer tool is reasonably likely to be wildly 

accepted by the courts. And, again, requiring wide acceptance 

by the courts will result in significant delays in selecting any 

risk assessment tool. This bill will add a chief probation 

officer as a member of the committee that will establish 

training standards a training schedule for those persons who 

will administer the risk assessment tools. 


Please see the policy committee analysis for full discussion of 




this bill. 
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Date of Hearing: July 3, 2007 
Counsel : Kimberly A. Horiuchi 

ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC SAFETY 

Jose Solorio, Chair 


SB 172 (Alquist) - As Amended: June 28, 2007 

SUMMARY : Renumbers a provision of law related to communicating 
with a person under the age of 18 with the intent to commit a 
specified sex offense, as specified. Specifically, this bill : 

1)Provides the State Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex 

Offenders (SARATSO) Review Committee shall research assessment 

tools for female juvenile offenders, as specified, and if one 

is agreed upon, SARATSO shall advise the Governor and the 

Legislature of the selected tool and the Department of Mental 

Health (DMH) shall post the decision on its Web site. Sixty 

days after the decision is posted, the selected tool shall 

become the SARATSO for female juvenile offenders. 


2)States the SARATSO Training Committee shall be comprised of a 

chief probation officer selected by the Chief Probation 

Officers of California, a representative of DMH, and a 

representative of the Attorney General's Office. 


3)Requires the Training Committee to consult with the 

Corrections Standards Authority and the Commission on Peace 

Officer Standards and Training to develop a training program, 

as specified for persons to administer the SARATSO, as 

specified. 


4)Makes other non-substantive corrections and technical changes. 


EXISTING LAW 


1)States every person who, motivated by an unnatural or abnormal 

sexual interest in children, arranges a meeting with a minor 

or a person he or she believes to be a minor for the purpose 

of exposing his or her genitals or pubic or rectal area, 

having the child expose his or her genitals or pubic or rectal 

area, or engaging in lewd or lascivious behavior, shall be 
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punished by a fine not exceeding $5,000; by imprisonment in a 
county jail not exceeding one year; or by both the fine and 
imprisonment. [Penal Code Section 288.3 (a) (1 1 . I  

2)Provides that every person who violates existing law after a 
prior conviction for a registered sex offense shall be 
punished by imprisonment in the state prison. [Penal Code 
Section 288.3 (a) (2) . I  

3)States every person described in existing law who goes to the 
arranged meeting place at or about the arranged time, shall be 
punished by imprisonment in the state prison for two, three, 
or four years. [Penal Code Section 288.3 (b) . I  

4)States every person who contacts or communicates with a minor, 
or attempts to contact or communicate with a minor, who knows 
or reasonably should know that the person is a minor, with 
intent to commit a specified sex offense involving the minor 
shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for the 
term prescribed for an attempt to commit the intended offense. 
[Penal Code Section 288.3 (a) . I  

5)Defines "contacts or communicates with" as direct and indirect 
contact or communication that may be achieved personally or by 
use of an agent or agency, any print medium, any postal 
service, a common carrier or communication common carrier, any 
electronic communications system, or any telecommunications, 
wire, computer, or radio communications device or system. 
[Penal Code Section 288.3 (b) . ] 

FISCAL EFFECT : Unknown 

COMMENTS : 

l)Authorls Statement : According to the author, "This bill will 
make technical changes and corrections to statutes added or 
amended by the Sex Offender Punishment, Control and 
Containment Act of 2006, enacted by SB 1128 (Alquist), Chapter 
337, Statutes of 2006, and Proposition 83, Jessica's Law, as 
approved by the voters in the November 2006 General Election. 
The law now contains two Penal Code Section 288.3 (one added 
by SB 1128 and one added by Proposition 83), each of which 
applies to persons who use the Internet to lure children to 
have sex, and each of which is valid and enforceable. This 
bill will renumber one of those sections as 'Penal Code 
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Section 288.4' and correct cross-references to include the new 

Penal Code Section 288.4. 


"In addition, this bill will make changes to a new risk 
assessment system established by SB 1128. SB 1128 'create[dI 
a standardized, statewide system to identify, assess, monitor 
and contain known sex offenders . . . . I [Penal Code Section 
290.46(b).] SB 1128 identified an actuarial risk assessment 
tool for adult males, and it established the SARATSO Review 
Committee to research and identify risk assessment tools for 
females and juveniles. (Penal Code Section 290.04.) Upon the 
unanimous recommendation of multiple experts on sex offender 
risk assessment tools, the SARATSO Review Committee has 
requested several amendments to the statute that directs them 
to identify tools to clarify ambiguities and to permit them to 
exercise their authority in what they believe was the manner 
intended by SB 1128. For example, according to the expert, 
requiring multiple cross-validations of a tool (as opposed to 
one cross-validation) is not necessary to ensure its integrity 
but will result in delays of selecting a tool for juveniles 
and women of approximately six years. 

"Likewise, according to the experts, requiring that any tool be 

'widely accepted by the courts' is not necessary to ensure its 

integrity; the committee should be able to rely on risk 

assessment experts who have testified in court about lesser 

tools that have been widely accepted and who, as experts, 

believe that a newer tool is reasonably likely to be wildly 

accepted by the courts. And, again, requiring wide acceptance 

by the courts will result in significant delays in selecting 

any risk assessment tool. This bill will add a chief 

probation officer as a member of the committee that will 

establish training standards a training schedule for those 

persons who will administer the risk assessment tools. 


2)Background : This bill remedies chaptering problems arising 
from the enactment of both SB 1128 and Proposition 83 
(Jessica's Law) passed by the voters on November 7, 2006. SB 
1128 provided that for any person who, motivated by an 
unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in children, arranges a 
meeting with a minor for specified sexual purposes shall be 
sentenced to up to one year in the county jail. Any person 
who goes to a specified meeting place with the above mentioned 
intent is guilty of a felony and shall be sentenced to a term 
of two, three or four years. Proposition 83 created a new 

http:290.04.)
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Penal Code Section 288.3 that punished any person who contacts 

or communicates with a minor with the intent to commit a 

specified sex offense as if he or she attempted to commit a 

specified sex offense. Hence, both versions of Penal Code 

Section 288.3 are currently existing law. This bill renumbers 

the version enacted by SB 1128 as Penal Code Section 288.4. 


3)Prior Legislation : SB 1128 (Alquist), Chapter 337, Statutes 
of 2006, among other things, punishes any person who, 
motivated by an unnatural or abnormal sexual interest in 
children, arranges a meeting with a minor or a person he or 
she believes to be a minor for the purpose of exposing his or 
her genitals or pubic or rectal area, having the child expose 
his or her genitals or pubic or rectal area, or engaging in 
lewd or lascivious behavior, by a fine not exceeding 5,000; by 
imprisonment in a county jail not exceeding one year; or by 
both the fine and imprisonment. 

4)Arguments in Support : According to the Office of Attorney 
General , "[SB 1721, as amended, will renumber a code section 
applicable to person who use the Internet to lure children to 
have sex so as to avoid duplicate section numbers; correct 
statutory references to the Department of Corrections and 
Rehabilitation at the request of the statutorily created 
SARATSO Review Committee and, upon unanimous recommendation of 
experts consulted by the Committee, make changes to the 
criteria considered by the Committee in selecting risk 
assessment tools; and add a chief probation officer as a 
member of the Committee that will establish training standards 
and a training schedule for those person who will administer 
the risk assessment tool." 

REGISTERED SUPPORT / OPPOSITION : 

Support 


California Probation, Parole and Correctional Association 

California State Sheriffs1 Association 

Office of the Attorney General 

Police Officers Research Association of California 


Opposition 


None 
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An act to amend Sections 290.46, 1202.8, and 3004 of, and to 
repeal Sections 290.04. 290.05, and 290.06 of, the Penal Code, 
relating to sex offenders, and declaring the urgency thereof, to take 
effect immediately. 

LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL'S DIGEST 


AB 1849, Leslie Sex offenders. 
Existing law requires the Department of Justice to make 


information concerning certain persons who are required to register 

as sex offenders available to the public via an Internet Web site, 

including the offender's criminal history. 


This bill would also require that on or before July 1, 2010, the 

year of the conviction of the offender's last sexual offense, the 

year of release from incarceration for that offense, and whether he 

or she was subsequently incarcerated for any other felony, be posted 

on the Internet Web site, as specified. This bill would also require 

any state facility that releases a sex offender to provide the year 

of conviction and year of release for his or her most recent offense 

requiring registration as a sex offender to the department, or that 

releases a person who is required to register as a sex offender from 

incarceration whose incarceration was for a felony committed 

subsequently to the offense for which he or she is required to 

register to advise the department, as specified. 


Senate Bill No, 1178 proposes to enact provisions requiring 

certain offenders to be assessed with the State Authorized Risk 

Assessment Tool for Sex Offenders for purposes of parole and 

probation. 




This bill would further revise those provisions to, among other 

things, make certain requirements applicable commencing January 1, 

2009, to become operative only if SB 1178 is also enacted and this 

bill is enacted last. 


This bill would incorporate additional changes in Section 290.46 

of the Penal Code proposed by AB 2712 and SB 1128 contingent upon the 

prior enactment of one or both of those bills. 


This bill would provide that it shall only become operative if SB 

1128 is enacted. 

This bill would declare that it is to take effect immediately as an 


urgency statute. 


THE PEOPLE OF THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA DO ENACT AS FOLLOWS: 


SECTION 1. Section 290.04 of the Penal Code, as added by Senate 

Bill No. 1178, is repealed. 

SEC. 2. Section 290.05 of the Penal Code, as added by Senate Bill 


No. 1178, is repealed. 

SEC. 3, Section 290.06 of the Penal Code, as added by Senate Bill 


No. 1178, is repealed. 

SEC. 4. Section 290.46 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

290.46. (a) (1) On or before the dates specified in this section, 


the Department of Justice shall make available information 

concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Section 

290 to the public via an Internet Web site as specified in this 

section. The department shall update the Internet Web site on an 

ongoing basis. All information identifying the victim by name, birth 

date, address, or relationship to the registrant shall be excluded 

from the Internet Web site. The name or address of the person's 

employer and the listed person's criminal history other than the 

specific crimes for which the person is required to register shall 

not be included on the Internet Web site. The Internet Web site shall 

be translated into languages other than English as determined by the 

department. 


(2) (A) On or before July 1, 2010, the Department of Justice shall 

make available to the public, via an Internet Web site as specified 

in this section, as to any person described in subdivisions (b), (c), 

or (d), the following information: 


(i) The year of conviction of his or her most recent offense 

requiring registration pursuant to Section 290. 


(ii) The year he or she was released from incarceration for that 
offense . 

(iii) Whether he or she was subsequently incarcerated for any 

other felony, if that fact is reported to the department. If the 

department has no information about a subsequent incarceration for 

any felony, that fact shall be noted on the Internet Web site. 


However, no year of conviction shall be made available to the 

public unless the department also is able to make available the 

corresponding year of release of incarceration for that offense, and 

the required notation regarding any subsequent felony. 


( B )  (i) Any state facility that releases from incarceration a 
person who was incarcerated because of a crime for which he or she is 
required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 
shall, within 30 days of release, provide the year of release for his 
or her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department 



of ~ustice in a manner and format approved by the department. 

(ii) Any state facility that releases a person who is required to 


register pursuant to Section 290 from incarceration whose 

incarceration was for a felony committed subsequently to the offense 

for which he or she is required to register shall, within 30 days of 

release, advise the Department of Justice of that fact. 


(iii) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released 

from incarceration a person who was incarcerated because of a crime 

for which he or she is required to register as a sex offender 

pursuant to Section 290 shall provide the year of release for his or 

her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department of 

Justice in a manner and format approved by the department. The 

information provided by the Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation shall be limited to information that is currently 

maintained in an electronic format. 


(iv) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released a 

person who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 from 

incarceration whose incarceration was for a felony committed 

subsequently to the offense for which he or she is required to 

register shall advise the Department of Justice of that fact in a 

manner and format approved by the department. The information 

provided by the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation shall be 

limited to information that is currently maintained in an electronic 

format. 


(b) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 

has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, paragraph (2), 

the Department of Justice shall make available to the public via the 

Internet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, a 

physical description, including gender and race, date of birth, 

criminal history, the address at which the person resides, and any 

other information that the Department of Justice deems relevant, but 

not the information excluded pursuant to subdivision (a). 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses and 

offenders: 


(A) Section 207 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 

288, 288a, or 289. 


(B) Section 209 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 

288, 288a, or 289. 


(C) Paragraph (2) or (6) of subdivision (a) of Section 261. 

(D) Section 264.1. 

( E )  Section 269. 
( F )  Subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 286. 
( G )  Subdivision (a), (b), or (c) of Section 288, provided that the 

offense is a felony. 
(H) Subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 288a. 

(I) Section 288.5. 

(J) Subdivision (a) or (j) of Section 289. 

(K) Any person who has ever been adjudicated a sexually violent 


predator as defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare and Institutions 

Code. 


(c) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 

has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in paragraph (2), the Department of 

Justice shall make available to the public via the Internet Web site 

his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, a physical 

description, including gender and race, date of birth, criminal 




history, the community of residence and ZIP Code in which the person 

resides or the county in which the person is registered as a 

transient, and any other information that the Department of Justice 

deems relevant, but not the information excluded pursuant to 

subdivision (a). On or before July 1, 2006, the Department of Justice 

shall determine whether any person convicted of an offense listed in 

paragraph (2) also has one or more prior or subsequent convictions 

of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 

290, and, for those persons, the Department of Justice shall make 

available to the public via the Internet Web site the address at 

which the person resides. However, the address at which the person 

resides shall not be disclosed until a determination is made that the 

person is, by virtue of his or her additional prior or subsequent 

conviction of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) 

of Section 290, subject to this subdivision. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A) Section 220, except assault to commit mayhem. 

(B) Paragraph (1) , (3), or (4) of subdivision (a) of Section 261. 

(C) Paragraph (2)of subdivision (b), or subdivision (f), (g), or 

(i), of Section 286. 

(D) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) , or subdivision (f ) , (g), or 
(i), of Section 288a. 

(E) Subdivision (b) , (d), (e), or (i) of Section 289. 
(d) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 


has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, this 

subdivision, the Department of Justice shall make available to the 

public via the Internet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a 

photograph, a physical description, including gender and race, date 

of birth, criminal history, the community of residence and ZIP Code 

in which the person resides or the county in which the person is 

registered as a transient, and any other information that the 

Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the information 

excluded pursuant to subdivision (a) or the address at which the 

person resides. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses and 

offenders: 


(A) Subdivision (a) of Section 243.4, provided that the offense is 

a felony. 


(B) Section 266, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(C) Section 266c, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(D) Section 2661. 

(E) Section 267. 

(F) Subdivision (c) of Section 288, provided that the offense is a 


misdemeanor. 

( G )  Section 647.6. 
(H)Any person required to register pursuant to Section 290 based 


upon an out-of-state conviction, unless that person is excluded from 

the Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (e). However, if the 

Department of Justice has determined that the out-of-state crime, if 

committed or attempted in this state, would have been punishable in 

this state as a crime described in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) 

of subdivision (a) of Section 290, the person shall be placed on the 

Internet Web site as provided in subdivision (b) or (c), as 

applicable to the crime. 


(e) (1) If a person has been convicted of the commission or the 




attempted commission of any of the offenses listed in this 

subdivision, and he or she has been convicted of no other offense 

listed in subdivision (b), (c), or (d) other than those listed in 

this subdivision, that person may file an application with the 

Department of Justice, on a form approved by the department, for 

exclusion from the Internet Web site. If the department determines 

that the person meets the requirements of this subdivision, the 

department shall grant the exclusion and no information concerning 

the person shall be made available via the Internet Web site 

described in this section. He or she bears the burden of proving the 

facts that make him or her eligible for exclusion from the Internet 

Web site. However, a person who has filed for or been granted an 

exclusion from the Internet Web site is not relieved of his or her 

duty to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 nor from 

any otherwise applicable provision of law. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A) A felony violation of subdivision (a) of Section 243.4. 

(B) Section 647.6, provided the offense is a misdemeanor. 

(C) (i) An offense for which the offender successfully completed 


probation, provided that the offender submits to the department a 

certified copy of a probation report, presentencing report, report 

prepared pursuant to Section 288.1, or other official court document 

that clearly demonstrates both of the following: 


(I) The offender was the victim's parent, stepparent, sibling, or 

grandparent. 


(11) The crime did not involve either oral copulation or 

penetration of the vagina or rectum of either the victim or the 

offender by the penis of the other or by any foreign object. 


(ii) An offense for which the offender is on probation at the time 

of his or her application, provided that the offender submits to the 

department a certified copy of a probation report, presentencing 

report, report prepared pursuant to Section 288.1, or other official 

court document that clearly demonstrates both of the following: 


(I) The offender was the victim's parent, stepparent, sibling, or 

grandparent. 


(11) The crime did not involve either oral copulation or 

penetration of the vagina or rectum of either the victim or the 

offender by the penis of the other or by any foreign object. 


(iii) If, subsequent to his or her application, the offender 

commits a violation of probation resulting in his or her 

incarceration in county jail or state prison, his or her exclusion, 

or application for exclusion, from the Internet Web site shall be 

terminated. 


(iv) For the purposes of this subparagraph, nsuccessfully 

completed probationu means that during the period of probation the 

offender neither received additional county jail or state prison time 

for a violation of probation nor was convicted of another offense 

resulting in a sentence to county jail or state prison. 


(f) The Department of Justice shall make a reasonable effort to 

provide notification to persons who have been convicted of the 

commission or attempted commission of an offense specified in 

subdivision (b), (c), or (d), that on or before July 1, 2005, the 

department is required to make information about specified sex 

offenders available to the public via an Internet Web site as 

specified in this section. The Department of Justice shall also make 

a reasonable effort to provide notice that some offenders are 

eligible to apply for exclusion from the Internet Web site. 




(g) (1) A designated law enforcement entity, as defined in 

subdivision (f) of Section 290.45, may make available information 

concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Section 

290 to the public via an Internet Web site as specified in paragraph 

(2). 


(2) The law enforcement entity may make available by way of an 

Internet Web site the information described in subdivision (c) if it 

determines that the public disclosure of the information about a 

specific offender by way of the entity's Internet Web site is 

necessary to ensure the public safety based upon information 

available to the entity concerning that specific offender. 


(3)The information that may be provided pursuant to this 
subdivision may include the information specified in subdivision (b) 
of Section 290.45. However, that offender's address may not be 
disclosed unless he or she is a person whose address is on the 
Department of Justice's Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (b) 
or (c) . 

(h) For purposes of this section, "offenseu includes the statutory 

predecessors of that offense, or any offense committed in another 

jurisdiction that, if committed or attempted to be committed in this 

state, would have been punishable in this state as an offense listed 

in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 

290. 


(i)Notwithstanding Section 6254.5 of the Government Code, 

disclosure of information pursuant to this section is not a waiver of 

exemptions under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 6250) of Title 

1 of Division 7 of the Government Code and does not affect other 

statutory restrictions on disclosure in other situations. 


(j) (1) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this 

section to commit a misdemeanor shall be subject to, in addition to 

any other penalty or fine imposed, a fine of not less than ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000) and not more than fifty thousand dollars 

($50,000), 

(2)Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this 

section to commit a felony shall be punished, in addition and 

consecutive to any other punishment, by a five-year term of 

imprisonment in the state prison. 


(k)Any person who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 

who enters an Internet Web site established pursuant to this section 

shall be punished by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars 

($1,000), imprisonment in a county jail for a period not to exceed 

six months, or by both that fine and imprisonment. 


(1) (1) A person is authorized to use information disclosed 

pursuant to this section only to protect a person at risk. 


(2)Except as authorized under paragraph (1) or any other 

provision of law, use of any information that is disclosed pursuant 

to this section for purposes relating to any of the following is 

prohibited: 


(A) Health insurance. 

(B) Insurance. 

(C) Loans. 

(D) Credit. 

(E) Employment. 

(F) Education, scholarships, or fellowships. 

(G) Housing or accommodations. 

(H) Benefits, privileges, or services provided by any business 


establishment. 




(3) This section shall not affect authorized access to, or use of, 

information pursuant to, among other provisions, Sections 11105 and 

11105.3, Section 8808 of the Family Code, Sections 777.5 and 14409.2 

of the Financial Code, Sections 1522.01 and 1596.871 of the Health 

and Safety Code, and Section 432.7 of the Labor Code. 


(4) (A) Any use of information disclosed pursuant to this section 

for purposes other than those provided by paragraph (1) or in 

violation of paragraph (2) shall make the user liable for the actual 

damages, and any amount that may be determined by a jury or a court 

sitting without a jury, not exceeding three times the amount of 

actual damage, and not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($2501, 

and attorney's fees, exemplary damages, or a civil penalty not 

exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 


( B )  Whenever there is reasonable cause to believe that any person 
or group of persons is engaged in a pattern or practice of misuse of 
the information available via an Internet Web site established 
pursuant to this section in violation of paragraph (2), the Attorney 
General, any district attorney, or city attorney, or any person 
aggrieved by the misuse is authorized to bring a civil action in the 
appropriate court requesting preventive relief, including an 
application for a permanent or temporary injunction, restraining 
order, or other order against the person or group of persons 
responsible for the pattern or practice of misuse. The foregoing 
remedies shall be independent of any other remedies or procedures 
that may be available to an aggrieved party under other provisions of 
law, including Part 2 (commencing with Section 43) of ~ivision 1 of 
the Civil Code. 

(m) The public notification provisions of this section are 

applicable to every person described in this section, without regard 

to when his or her crimes were committed or his or her duty to 

register pursuant to Section 290 arose, and to every offense 

described in this section, regardless of when it was committed. 


(n) On or before July 1, 2006, and every year thereafter, the 

Department of Justice shall make a report to the Legislature 

concerning the operation of this section. 


(0) A designated law enforcement entity and its employees shall be 

immune from liability for good faith conduct under this section. 

SEC. 4.1. Section 290.46 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

290.46. (a) (1) On or before the dates specified in this section, 


the Department of Justice shall make available information 

concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Section 

290 to the public via an Internet Web site as specified in this 

section. The department shall update the Internet Web site on an 

ongoing basis. All information identifying the victim by name, birth 

date, address, or relationship to the registrant shall be excluded 

from the Internet Web site. The name or address of the person's 

employer and the listed person's criminal history other than the 

specific crimes for which the person is required to register shall 

not be included on the Internet Web site. The Internet Web site shall 

be translated into languages other than English as determined by the 

department. 


(2) (A) On or before July 1, 2010, the Department of Justice shall 
make available to the public, via an Internet Web site as specified 
in this section, as to any person described in subdivisions (b), (c), 
or (d) , the following information: 

(i) The year of conviction of his or her most recent offense 

requiring registration pursuant to Section 290. 




(ii) The year he or she was released from incarceration for that 
offense . 

(iii) Whether he or she was subsequently incarcerated for any 

other felony, if that fact is reported to the department. If the 

department has no information about a subsequent incarceration for 

any felony, that fact shall be noted on the Internet Web site. 


However, no year of conviction shall be made available to the 

public unless the department also is able to make available the 

corresponding year of release of incarceration for that offense, and 

the required notation regarding any subsequent felony. 


(B) (i) Any state facility that releases from incarceration a 

person who was incarcerated because of a crime for which he or she is 

required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 

shall, within 30 days of release, provide the year of release for his 

or her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department 

of Justice in a manner and format approved by the department. 


(ii) Any state facility that releases a person who is required to 

register pursuant to Section 290 from incarceration whose 

incarceration was for a felony committed subsequently to the offense 

for which he or she is required to register shall, within 30 days of 

release, advise the Department of Justice of that fact. 


(iii) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released 

from incarceration a person who was incarcerated because of a crime 

for which he or she is required to register as a sex offender 

pursuant to Section 290 shall provide the year of release for his or 

her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department of 

Justice in a manner and format approved by the department. The 

information provided by the Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation shall be limited to information that is currently 

maintained in an electronic format. 


(iv) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released a 

person who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 from 

incarceration whose incarceration was for a felony committed 

subsequently to the offense for which he or she is required to 

register shall advise the Department of Justice of that fact in a 

manner and format approved by the department. The information 

provided by the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation shall be 

limited to information that is currently maintained in an electronic 

format. 


(b) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 

has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, paragraph (2), 

the Department of Justice shall make available to the public via the 

Internet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, a 

physical description, including gender and race, date of birth, 

criminal history, the address at which the person resides, and any 

other information that the Department of Justice deems relevant, but 

not the information excluded pursuant to subdivision (a). 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses and 

offenders: 


(A) Section 207 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 

288, 288a, or 289. 


( B )  Section 209 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 
288, 288a, or 289. 

(C) Paragraph (2) or (6) of subdivision (a) of Section 261. 

(D) Section 264.1. 

(E) Section 269. 




(F) Subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 286. 

(G) Subdivision (a), (b), or (c) of Section 288, provided that the 


offense is a felony. 

(H) Subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 288a. 

(I) Section 288.5. 

(J) Subdivision (a) or (j) of Section 289. 

(K) Any person who has ever been adjudicated a sexually violent 


predator as defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare and Institutions 

Code. 


(c) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 

has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in paragraph (2), the Department of 

Justice shall make available to the public via the Internet Web site 

his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, a physical 

description, including gender and race, date of birth, criminal 

history, the community of residence and ZIP Code in which the person 

resides or the county in which the person is registered as a 

transient, and any other information that the Department of Justice 

deems relevant, but not the information excluded pursuant to 

subdivision (a). On or before July 1, 2006, the Department of Justice 

shall determine whether any person convicted of an offense listed in 

paragraph (2) also has one or more prior or subsequent convictions 

of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 

290, and, for those persons, the Department of Justice shall make 

available to the public via the Internet Web site the address at 

which the person resides. However, the address at which the person 

resides shall not be disclosed until a determination is made that the 

person is, by virtue of his or her additional prior or subsequent 

conviction of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) 

of Section 290, subject to this subdivision. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A) Section 220, except assault to commit mayhem. 

( B )  Paragraph (I), (3), or (4) of subdivision (a) of Section 261. 

( C )  Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) , or subdivision (f) , (g), or 
(i), of Section 286. 

( D )  Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), or subdivision (f), (g), or 

(i), of Section 288a. 


( E )  Subdivision (b), (d), (e), or (i) of Section 289. 
(d) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 


has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, this 

subdivision, the Department of Justice shall make available to the 

public via the Internet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a 

photograph, a physical description, including gender and race, date 

of birth, criminal history, the community of residence and ZIP Code 

in which the person resides or the county in which the person is 

registered as a transient, and any other information that the 

Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the information 

excluded pursuant to subdivision (a) or the address at which the 

person resides. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses and 

offenders: 


(A) Subdivision (a) of Section 243.4, provided that the offense is 

a felony. 


( B )  Section 266, provided that the offense is a felony. 
(C) Section 266c, provided that the offense is a felony. 




(D) Section 266j. 

( E )  Section 267. 
(F) Subdivision (c) of Section 288, provided that the offense is a 


misdemeanor. 

( G )  Section 647.6. 
(H)Any person required to register pursuant to Section 290 based 


upon an out-of-state conviction, unless that person is excluded from 

the Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (e). However, if the 

Department of Justice has determined that the out-of-state crime, if 

committed or attempted in this state, would have been punishable in 

this state as a crime described in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) 

of subdivision (a) of Section 290, the person shall be placed on the 

Internet Web site as provided in subdivision (b) or (c), as 

applicable to the crime. 


(e) (1) If a person has been convicted of the commission or the 

attempted commission of any of the offenses listed in this 

subdivision, and he or she has been convicted of no other offense 

listed in subdivision (b), (c), or (d) other than those listed in 

this subdivision, that person may file an application with the 

Department of Justice, on a form approved by the department, for 

exclusion from the Internet Web site. If the department determines 

that the person meets the requirements of this 


subdivision, the department shall grant the 

exclusion and no information concerning the person shall be made 

available via the Internet Web site described in this section. He or 

she bears the burden of proving the facts that make him or her 

eligible for exclusion from the Internet Web site. However, a person 

who has filed for or been granted an exclusion from the Internet Web 

site is not relieved of his or her duty to register as a sex offender 

pursuant to Section 290 nor from any otherwise applicable provision 

of law. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A)A felony violation of subdivision (a) of Section 243.4. 

(B) Section 647.6, provided the offense is a misdemeanor. 

( C )  (i) An offense for which the offender successfully completed 

probation, provided that the offender submits to the department a 
certified copy of a probation report, presentencing report, report 
prepared pursuant to Section 288.1, or other official court document 
that clearly demonstrates both of the following: 

(I) The offender was the victim's parent, stepparent, sibling, or 

grandparent. 


(11) The crime did not involve either oral copulation or 

penetration of the vagina or rectum of either the victim or the 

offender by the penis of the other or by any foreign object. 


(ii) An offense for which the offender is on probation at the time 

of his or her application, provided that the offender submits to the 

department a certified copy of a probation report, presentencing 

report, report prepared pursuant to Section 288.1, or other official 

court document that clearly demonstrates both of the following: 


(I)The offender was the victim's parent, stepparent, sibling, or 

grandparent. 


(11) The crime did not involve either oral copulation or 

penetration of the vagina or rectum of either the victim or the 

offender by the penis of the other or by any foreign object. 


(iii) If, subsequent to his or her application, the offender 

commits a violation of probation resulting in his or her 

incarceration in county jail or state prison, his or her exclusion, 




or application for exclusion, from the Internet Web site shall be 
terminated. 

(iv) For the purposes of this subparagraph, usuccessfully 
completed probationu means that during the period of probation the 
offender neither received additional county jail or state prison time 
for a violation of probation nor was convicted of another offense 
resulting in a sentence to county jail or state prison. 

(f) The Department of Justice shall make a reasonable effort to 
provide notification to persons who have been convicted of the 
commission or attempted commission of an offense specified in 
subdivision (b), (c),or (d),that on or before July 1, 2005, the 
department is required to make information about specified sex 
offenders available to the public via an Internet Web site as 
specified in this section. The Department of Justice shall also make 
a reasonable effort to provide notice that some offenders are 
eligible to apply for exclusion from the Internet Web site. 

(g) (1) A designated law enforcement entity, as defined in 
subdivision (f) of Section 290.45, may make available information 
concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Section 
290 to the public via an Internet Web site as specified in paragraph 
(2) 

(2) The law enforcement entity may make available by way of an 
Internet Web site the information described in subdivision (c) if it 
determines that the public disclosure of the information about a 
specific offender by way of the entity's Internet Web site is 
necessary to ensure the public safety based upon information 
available to the entity concerning that specific offender. 

(3) The information that may be provided pursuant to this 
subdivision may include the information specified in subdivision (b) 
of Section 290.45, However, that offender's address may not be 
disclosed unless he or she is a person whose address is on the 
Department of Justice's Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (b) 
or (c). 

(h) For purposes of this section, "offense" includes the statutory 
predecessors of that offense, or any offense committed in another 
jurisdiction that, if committed or attempted to be committed in this 
state, would have been punishable in this state as an offense listed 
in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 
290. 

(i) Notwithstanding Section 6254.5 of the Government Code, 
disclosure of information pursuant to this section is not a waiver of 
exemptions under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 6250) of Title 
1 of Division 7 of the Government Code and does not affect other 
statutory restrictions on disclosure in other situations. 

(j) (1) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this 
section to commit a misdemeanor shall be subject to, in addition to 
any other penalty or fine imposed, a fine of not less than ten 
thousand dollars ($10,000)and not more than fifty thousand dollars 
($50,000). 

(2) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this 
section to commit a felony shall be punished, in addition and 
consecutive to any other punishment, by a five-year term of 
imprisonment in the state prison. 

(k) Any person who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 
who enters an Internet Web site established pursuant to this section 
shall be punished by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars 
($1,000),imprisonment in a county jail for a period not to exceed 



six months, or by both that fine and imprisonment. 

(1) (1) A person is authorized to use information disclosed 


pursuant to this section only to protect a person at risk. This 

authorization does not create a duty to use the information. 


(2) Except as authorized under paragraph (1) or any other 

provision of law, use of any information that is disclosed pursuant 

to this section for purposes relating to any of the following is 

prohibited: 


(A) Health insurance. 

( B ) Insurance. 
(C) Loans. 

(D) Credit. 

(E) Employment. 

(F) Education, scholarships, or fellowships. 

( G )  Housing or accommodations. 
(H) Benefits, privileges, or services provided by any business 


establishment. 

(3) This section shall not affect authorized access to, or use of, 


information pursuant to, among other provisions, Sections 11105 and 

11105.3, Section 8808 of the Family Code, Sections 777.5 and 14409.2 

of the Financial Code, Sections 1522.01 and 1596.871 of the Health 

and Safety Code, and Section 432.7 of the Labor Code. 


(4) (A) Any use of information disclosed pursuant to this section 

for purposes other than those provided by paragraph (1) or in 

violation of paragraph (2) shall make the user liable for the actual 

damages, and any amount that may be determined by a jury or a court 

sitting without a jury, not exceeding three times the amount of 

actual damage, and not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250), 

and attorney's fees, exemplary damages, or a civil penalty not 

exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 


(B) Whenever there is reasonable cause to believe that any person 

or group of persons is engaged in a pattern or practice of misuse of 

the information available via an Internet Web site established 

pursuant to this section in violation of paragraph (2), the Attorney 

General, any district attorney, or city attorney, or any person 

aggrieved by the misuse is authorized to bring a civil action in the 

appropriate court requesting preventive relief, including an 

application for a permanent or temporary injunction, restraining 

order, or other order against the person or group of persons 

responsible for the pattern or practice of misuse. The foregoing 

remedies shall be independent of any other remedies or procedures 

that may be available to an aggrieved party under other provisions of 

law, including Part 2 (commencing with Section 43) of Division 1 of 

the Civil Code. 


(m) The public notification provisions of this section are 

applicable to every person described in this section, without regard 

to when his or her crimes were committed or his or her duty to 

register pursuant to Section 290 arose, and to every offense 

described in this section, regardless of when it was committed. 


(n) On or before July 1, 2006, and every year thereafter, the 

Department of Justice shall make a report to the Legislature 

concerning the operation of this section. 


(0) A designated law enforcement entity and its employees shall be 

immune from liability for good faith conduct under this section. 

SEC. 4.2. Section 290.46 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

290.46. (a) (1) On or before the dates specified in this section, 


the Department of Justice shall make available information 




concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Section 

290 to the public via an Internet Web site as specified in this 

section. The department shall update the Internet Web site on an 

ongoing basis. All information identifying the victim by name, birth 

date, address, or relationship to the registrant shall be excluded 

from the Internet Web site. The name or address of the person's 

employer and the listed person's criminal history other than the 

specific crimes for which the person is required to register shall 

not be included on the Internet Web site. The Internet Web site shall 

be translated into languages other than English as determined by the 

department. 


(2) (A) On or before July 1, 2010, the Department of Justice shall 

make available to the public, via an Internet Web site as specified 

in this section, as to any person described in subdivisions (b), (c), 

or (d), the following information: 


(i) The year of conviction of his or her most recent offense 

requiring registration pursuant to Section 290. 


(ii) The year he or she was released from incarceration for that 

offense. 


(iii) Whether he or she was subsequently incarcerated for any 

other felony, if that fact is reported to the department. If the 

department has no information about a subsequent incarceration for 

any felony, that fact shall be noted on the Internet Web site. 


However, no year of conviction shall be made available to the 

public unless the department also is able to make available the 

corresponding year of release of incarceration for that offense, and 

the required notation regarding any subsequent felony. 


( B )  (i) Any state facility that releases from incarceration a 
person who was incarcerated because of a crime for which he or she is 
required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 
shall, within 30 days of release, provide the year of release for his 
or her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department 
of Justice in a manner and format approved by the department. 

(ii) Any state facility that releases a person who is required to 

register pursuant to Section 290 from incarceration whose 

incarceration was for a felony committed subsequently to the offense 

for which he or she is required to register shall, within 30 days of 

release, advise the Department of Justice of that fact. 


(iii) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released 

from incarceration a person who was incarcerated because of a crime 

for which he or she is required to register as a sex offender 

pursuant to Section 290 shall provide the year of release for his or 

her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department of 

Justice in a manner and format approved by the department. The 

information provided by the Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation shall be limited to information that is currently 

maintained in an electronic format. 


(iv) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released a 

person who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 from 

incarceration whose incarceration was for a felony committed 

subsequently to the offense for which he or she is required to 

register shall advise the Department of Justice of that fact in a 

manner and format approved by the department. The information 

provided by the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation shall be 

limited to information that is currently maintained in an electronic 

format. 


(3) The Department of Mental Health shall provide to the 




Department of Justice Sex Offender ÿ racking Program the names of all 

persons committed to its custody pursuant to Article 4 (commencing 

with Section 6600) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of Division 6 of the 

Welfare and Institutions Code, within 30 days of commitment, and 

shall provide the names of all of those persons released from its 

custody within five working days of release. 


(b) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 

has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, paragraph (2), 

the Department of Justice shall make available to the public via the 

Internet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, a 

physical description, including gender and race, date of birth, 

criminal history, prior adjudication as a sexually violent predator, 

the address at which the person resides, and any other information 

that the Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the 

information excluded pursuant to subdivision (a). 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses and 

offenders: 


(A) Section 207 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 

288, 288a, or 289. 


(B) Section 209 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 

288, 288a, or 289. 


(C) Paragraph (2) or (6)of subdivision (a) of Section 261. 

(D)Section 264 .l. 

( E )  Section 269. 
( F )  Subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 286. 
( G )  Subdivision (a), (b), or (c) of Section 288, provided that the 

offense is a felony. 
( H )  Subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 288a. 
(I)Section 288.3, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(J) Section 288.5. 

(K) Subdivision (a) or (j)of Section 289. 

( L )  Section 288.7. 
(M) Any person who has ever been adjudicated a sexually violent 


predator as defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare and Institutions 

Code. 


(c) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 

has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in paragraph (2), the Department of 

Justice shall make available to the public via the Internet Web site 

his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, a physical 

description, including gender and race, date of birth, criminal 

history, the community of residence and 'ZIP Code in which the person 

resides or the county in which the person is registered as a 

transient, and any other information that the Department of Justice 

deems relevant, but not the information excluded pursuant to 

subdivision (a). On or before July 1, 2006, the Department of Justice 

shall determine whether any person convicted of an offense listed in 

paragraph (2) also has one or more prior or subsequent convictions 

of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 

290, and, for those persons, the Department of Justice shall make 

available to the public via the Internet Web site the address at 

which the person resides. However, the address at which the person 

resides shall not be disclosed until a determination is made that the 

person is, by virtue of his or her additional prior or subsequent 

conviction of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) 

of Section 290, subject to this subdivision. 




(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A) Section 220, except assault to commit mayhem. 

(B) Paragraph (I), (3), or (4) of subdivision (a) of Section 261. 


(C) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) , or subdivision (f) , (g), or 
(i), of Section 286. 

(D) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b), or subdivision (f), (g), or 

(i), of Section 288a. 


(E) subdivision (b) , (d), (e), or (i) of Section 289. 
(d) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 


has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, this 

subdivision, the Department of Justice shall make available to the 

public via the Internet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a 

photograph, a physical description, including gender and race, date 

of birth, criminal history, the community of residence and ZIP Code 

in which the person resides or the county in which the person is 

registered as a transient, and any other information that the 

Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the information 

excluded pursuant to subdivision (a) or the address at which the 

person resides. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses and 

offenders: 


(A) Subdivision (a) of Section 243.4, provided that the offense is 

a felony. 


( B )  Section 266, provided that the offense is a felony, 
(C) Section 266c, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(D) Section 2663. 

( E )  Section 267. 
( F )  Subdivision (c) of Section 288, provided that the offense is a 

misdemeanor. 
( G )  Section 288.3, provided that,the offense is a misdemeanor. 
( H )  Section 626.81. 
(I) Section 647.6. 

(J) Section 653c. 

( K )  Any person required to register pursuant to Section 290 based 

upon an out-of-state conviction, unless that person is excluded from 
the Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (e) . However, if the 
Department of Justice has determined that the out-of-state crime, if 
committed or attempted in this state, would have been punishable in 
this state as a crime described in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) 
of subdivision (a) of Section 290, the person shall be placed on the 
Internet Web site as provided in subdivision (b) or (c), as 
applicable to the crime. 

(e) (1) If a person has been convicted of the commission or the 

attempted commission of any of the offenses listed in this 

subdivision, and he or she has been convicted of no other offense 

listed in subdivision (b), (c), or (d) other than those listed in 

this subdivision, that person may file an application with the 

Department of Justice, on a form approved by the department, for 

exclusion from the Internet Web site. If the department determines 

that the person meets the requirements of this subdivision, the 

department shall grant the exclusion and no information concerning 

the person shall be made available via the Internet Web site 

described in this section. He or she bears the burden of proving the 

facts that make him or her eligible for exclusion from the Internet 

Web site. However, a person who has filed for or been granted an 




exclusion from the Internet Web site is not relieved of his or her 

duty to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 nor from 

any otherwise applicable provision of law. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A)A felony violation of subdivision (a) of Section 243.4. 

(B) Section 647.6, if the offense is a misdemeanor. 

(C) (i) An offense for which the offender successfully completed 


probation, provided that the offender submits to the department a 

certified copy of a probation report, presentencing report, report 

prepared pursuant to Section 288.1, or other official court document 

that clearly demonstrates that the offender was the victim's parent, 

stepparent, sibling, or grandparent and that the crime did not 

involve either oral copulation or penetration of the vagina or rectum 

of either the victim or the offender by the penis of the other or by 

any foreign object. 


(ii) An offense for which the offender is on probation at the time 

of his or her application, provided that the offender submits to the 

department a certified copy of a probation report, presentencing 

report, report prepared pursuant to Section 288.1, or other official 

court document that clearly demonstrates that the offender was the 

victim's parent, stepparent, sibling, or grandparent and that the 

crime did not involve either oral copulation or penetration of the 

vagina or rectum of either the victim or the offender by the penis of 

the other or by any foreign object. 


(iii) If, subsequent to his or her application, the offender 

commits a violation of probation resulting in his or her 

incarceration in county jail or state prison, his or her exclusion, 

or application for exclusion, from the Internet Web site shall be 

terminated. 


(iv) For the purposes of this subparagraph, ~lsuccessfully 

completed probationn means that during the period of probation the 

offender neither received additional county jail or state prison time 

for a violation of probation nor was convicted of another offense 

resulting in a sentence to county jail or state prison. 


(3) If the department determines that a person who was granted an 

exclusion under a former version of this subdivision would not 

qualify for an exclusion under the current version of this 

subdivision, the department shall rescind the exclusion, make a 

reasonable effort to provide notification to the person that the 

exclusion has been rescinded, and, no sooner than 30 days after 

notification is attempted, make information about the offender 

available to the public on the Internet Web site as provided in this 

section. 


(4) Effective January 1, 2012, no person shall be excluded 

pursuant to this subdivision unless the offender has submitted to the 

department documentation sufficient for the department to determine 

that he or she has a SARATSO risk level of low or moderate-low. 


(f) The Department of Justice shall make a reasonable effort to 
provide notification to persons who have been convicted of the 
commission or attempted commission of an offense specified in 
subdivision (b) , (c), or (d) , that on or before July 1, 2005, the 
department is required to make information about specified sex 
offenders available to the public via an Internet Web site as 
specified in this section. The Department of Justice shall also make 
a reasonable effort to provide notice that some offenders are 
eligible to apply for exclusion from the Internet Web site. 

(g) (1) A designated law enforcement entity, as defined in 




subdivision (f) of Section 290.45, may make available information 

concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Section 

290 to the public via an Internet Web site as specified in paragraph 

( 2 ) .  

(2) The law enforcement entity may make available by way of an 

Internet Web site the information described in subdivision (c) if it 

determines that the public disclosure of the information about a 

specific offender by way of the entity's Internet Web site is 

necessary to ensure the public safety based upon information 

available to the entity concerning that specific offender. 


(3) The information that may be provided pursuant to this 
subdivision may include the information specified in subdivision (b) 
of Section 290.45. However, that offender's address may not be 
disclosed unless he or she is a person whose address is on the 
Department of Justice's Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (b) 
or (c) . 

(h) For purposes of this section, Ifoffensen includes the statutory 

predecessors of that offense, or any offense committed in another 

jurisdiction that, if committed or attempted to be committed in this 

state, would have been punishable in this state as an offense listed 

in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 

290. 


(i) Notwithstanding Section 6254.5 of the Government Code, 

disclosure of information pursuant to this section is not a waiver of 

exemptions under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 6250) of Title 

1 of Division 7 of the Government Code and does not affect other 

statutory restrictions on disclosure in other situations. 


(j) (1) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this 

section to commit a misdemeanor shall be subject to, in addition to 

any other penalty or fine imposed, a fine of not less than ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000) and not more than fifty thousand dollars 

($50, 000) . 

(2) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this 

section to commit a felony shall be punished, in addition and 

consecutive to any other punishment, by a five-year term of 

imprisonment in the state prison. 


(k) Any person who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 

who enters an Internet Web site established pursuant to this section 

shall be punished by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars 

($1,000), imprisonment in a county jail for a period not to exceed 

six months, or by both that fine and imprisonment. 


(1) (1) A person is authorized to use information disclosed 

pursuant to this section only to protect a person at risk, 


(2) Except as authorized under paragraph (1) or any other 

provision of law, use of any information that is disclosed pursuant 

to this section for purposes relating to any of the following is 

prohibited: 


(A) Health insurance. 

(B) Insurance. 
( C )  Loans. 
(D) Credit. 

(E) Employment. 

(F) Education, scholarships, or fellowships. 

(G) Housing or accommodations. 

( H )  Benefits, privileges, or services provided by any business 

establishment. 
(3) This section shall not affect authorized access to, or use of, 




information pursuant to, among other provisions, sections 11105 and 

11105.3, Section 8808 of the Family Code, Sections 777.5 and 14409.2 

of the Financial Code, Sections 1522.01 and 1596.871 of the ~ealth 

and Safety Code, and Section 432.7 of the Labor Code. 


(4) (A) Any use of information disclosed pursuant to this section 

for purposes other than those provided by paragraph (1) or in 

violation of paragraph (2) shall make the user liable for the actual 

damages, and any amount that may be determined by a jury or a court 

sitting without a jury, not exceeding three times the amount of 

actual damage, and not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($2501, 

and attorney's fees, exemplary damages, or a civil penalty not 

exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 


(B) Whenever there is reasonable cause to believe that any person 

or group of persons is engaged in a pattern or practice of misuse of 

the information available via an Internet Web site established 

pursuant to this section in violation of paragraph (2), the Attorney 

General, any district attorney, or city attorney, or any person 

aggrieved by the misuse is authorized to bring a civil action in the 

appropriate court requesting preventive relief, including an 

application for a permanent or temporary injunction, restraining 

order, or other order against the person or group of persons 

responsible for the pattern or practice of misuse. The foregoing 

remedies shall be independent of any other remedies or procedures 

that may be available to an aggrieved party under other provisions of 

law, including Part 2 (commencing with Section 43) of Division 1 of 


the Civil Code. 

(m)The public notification provisions of this section are 


applicable to every person described in this section, without regard 

to when his or her crimes were committed or his or her duty to 

register pursuant to Section 290 arose, and to every offense 

described in this section, regardless of when it was committed. 


(n) On or before July 1, 2006, and every year thereafter, the 

Department of Justice shall make a report to the Legislature 

concerning the operation of this section. 


(01 A designated law enforcement entity and its employees shall be 

immune from liability for good faith conduct under this section. 


(p) The Attorney General, in collaboration with local law 

enforcement and others knowledgeable about sex offenders, shall 

develop strategies to assist members of the public in understanding 

and using publicly available information about registered sex 

offenders to further public safety. These strategies may include, but 

are not limited to, a hotline for community inquiries, neighborhood 

and business guidelines for how to respond to information posted on 

this Web site, and any other resource that promotes public education 

about these offenders. 

SEC. 4.3. Section 290.46 of the Penal Code is amended to read: 

290.46. (a) (1)On or before the dates specified in this section, 


the Department of Justice shall make available information 

concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Section 

290 to the public via an Internet Web site as specified in this 

section. The department shall update the Internet Web site on an 

ongoing basis. All information identifying the victim by name, birth 

date, address, or relationship to the registrant shall be excluded 

from the Internet Web site. The name or address of the person's 

employer and the listed person's criminal history other than the 

specific crimes for which the person is required to register shall 

not be included on the Internet Web site. The Internet Web site shall 




be translated into languages other than ~nglish as determined by the 

department. 


(2) (A) On or before July 1, 2010, the Department of Justice shall 

make available to the public, via an Internet Web site as specified 

in this section, as to any person described in subdivisions (b), (c), 

or (d), the following information: 


(i) The year of conviction of his or her most recent offense 

requiring registration pursuant to Section 290. 


(ii) The year he or she was released from incarceration for that 

offense. 


(iii) Whether he or she was subsequently incarcerated for any 

other felony, if that fact is reported to the department. If the 

department has no information about a subsequent incarceration for 

any felony, that fact shall be noted on the Internet Web site. 


However, no year of conviction shall be made available to the 

public unless the department also is able to make available the 

corresponding year of release of incarceration for that offense, and 

the required notation regarding any subsequent felony. 


( B )  (i) Any state facility that releases from incarceration a 
person who was incarcerated because of a crime for which he or she is 
required to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 
shall, within 30 days of release, provide the year of release for his 
or her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department 
of Justice in a manner and format approved by the department. 

(ii)Any state facility that releases a person who is required to 

register pursuant to Section 290 from incarceration whose 

incarceration was for a felony committed subsequently to the offense 

for which he or she is required to register shall, within 30 days of 

release, advise the Department of Justice of that fact. 


(iii) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released 

from incarceration a person who was incarcerated because of a crime 

for which he or she is required to register as a sex offender 

pursuant to Section 290 shall provide the year of release for his or 

her most recent offense requiring registration to the Department of 

Justice in a manner and format approved by the department. The 

information provided by the Department of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation shall be limited to information that is currently 

maintained in an electronic format. 


(iv) Any state facility that, prior to January 1, 2007, released a 

person who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 from 

incarceration whose incarceration was for a felony committed 

subsequently to the offense for which he or she is required to 

register shall advise the Department of Justice of that fact in a 

manner and format approved by the department. The information 

provided by the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation shall be 

limited to information that is currently maintained in an electronic 

format. 


(3) The Department of Mental Health shall provide to the 

Department of Justice Sex Offender Tracking Program the names of all 

persons committed to its custody pursuant to Article 4 (commencing 

with Section 6600) of Chapter 2 of Part 2 of Division 6 of the 

Welfare and Institutions Code, within 30 days of commitment, and 

shall provide the names of all of those persons released from its 

custody within five working days of release. 


(b) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 

has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, paragraph (2), 




the Department of Justice shall make available to the public via the 

Internet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, a 

physical description, including gender and race, date of birth, 

criminal history, prior adjudication as a sexually violent predator, 

the address at which the person resides, and any other information 

that the Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the 

information excluded pursuant to subdivision (a). 


(2) his subdivision shall apply to the following offenses and 

offenders: 


(A)Section 207 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 

288, 288a, or 289. 


(B) Section 209 committed with intent to violate Section 261, 286, 

288, 288a, or 289. 


(C) Paragraph (2) or (6) of subdivision (a) of Section 261. 

(D)Section 264.1. 

(E) Section 269. 

(F) Subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 286. 

(G) Subdivision (a) , (b), or (c) of Section 288, provided that the 

offense is a felony. 
(H) Subdivision (c) or (d) of Section 288a. 

(I) Section 288.3, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(J) Section 288.5. 

(K) Subdivision (a) or (j) of Section 289. 

( L )  Section 288.7. 
( M )  Any person who has ever been adjudicated a sexually violent 


predator as defined in Section 6600 of the Welfare and Institutions 

Code. 


(c) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 

has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in paragraph (2), the Department of 

Justice shall make available to the public via the Internet Web site 

his or her name and known aliases, a photograph, a physical 

description, including gender and race, date of birth, criminal 

history, the community of residence and ZIP Code in which the person 

resides or the county in which the person is registered as a 

transient, and any other information that the Department of Justice 

deems relevant, but not the information excluded pursuant to 

subdivision (a). On or before July 1, 2006, the Department of Justice 

shall determine whether any person convicted of an offense listed in 

paragraph (2) also has one or more prior or subsequent convictions 

of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 

290, and, for those persons, the Department of Justice shall make 

available to the public via the Internet Web site the address at 

which the person resides. However, the address at which the person 

resides shall not be disclosed until a determination is made that the 

person is, by virtue of his or her additional prior or subsequent 

conviction of an offense listed in paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) 

of Section 290, subject to this subdivision. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A) Section 220, except assault to commit mayhem. 

(B) Paragraph (I), ( 3 ) ,  or (4) of subdivision (a) of Section 261. 

(C) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) , or subdivision (f) , (g), or 
(i), of Section 286. 

(D) Paragraph (2) of subdivision (b) , or subdivision ( f), (g), or 
(i), of Section 288a. 

( E l  Subdivision (b), (d), (e), or (i) of Section 289. 



(d) (1) On or before July 1, 2005, with respect to a person who 

has been convicted of the commission or the attempted commission of 

any of the offenses listed in, or who is described in, this 

subdivision, the Department of Justice shall make available to the 

public via the Internet Web site his or her name and known aliases, a 

photograph, a physical description, including gender and race, date 

of birth, criminal history, the community of residence and ZIP Code 

in which the person resides or the county in which the person is 

registered as a transient, and any other information that the 

Department of Justice deems relevant, but not the information 

excluded pursuant to subdivision (a) or the address at which the 

person resides. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses and 

offenders: 


(A) Subdivision (a) of Section 243.4, provided that the offense is 

a felony. 


(B) Section 266, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(C) Section 266c, provided that the offense is a felony. 

(D) Section 2663. 

( E )  Section 267. 
( F )  Subdivision (c) of Section 288, provided that the offense is a 

misdemeanor. 
(G) Section 288.3, provided that the offense is a misdemeanor. 

(H) Section 626.81. 

(I) Section 647.6. 

(J) Section 653c. 

( K )  Any person required to register pursuant to Section 290 based 

upon an out-of-state conviction, unless that person is excluded from 
the Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (e). However, if the 
Department of Justice has determined that the out-of-state crime, if 
committed or attempted in this state, would have been punishable in 
this state as a crime described in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) 
of subdivision (a) of Section 290, the person shall be placed on the 
Internet Web site as provided in subdivision (b) or (c), as 
applicable to the crime. 

(e) (1) If a person has been convicted of the commission or the 

attempted commission of any of the offenses listed in this 

subdivision, and he or she has been convicted of no other offense 

listed in subdivision (b), (c), or (d) other than those listed in 

this subdivision, that person may file an application with the 

Department of Justice, on a form approved by the department, for 

exclusion from the Internet Web site. If the department determines 

that the person meets the requirements of this subdivision, the 

department shall grant the exclusion and no information concerning 

the person shall be made available via the Internet Web site 

described in this section. He or she bears the burden of proving the 

facts that make him or her eligible for exclusion from the Internet 

Web site. However, a person who has filed for or been granted an 

exclusion from the Internet Web site is not relieved of his or her 

duty to register as a sex offender pursuant to Section 290 nor from 

any otherwise applicable provision of law. 


(2) This subdivision shall apply to the following offenses: 

(A)A felony violation of subdivision (a) of Section 243.4. 

(B) Section 647.6, if the offense is a misdemeanor. 

( C )  (i) An offense for which the offender successfully completed 

probation, provided that the offender submits to the department a 
certified copy of a probation report, presentencing report, report 



prepared pursuant to Section 288.1, or other official court document 

that clearly demonstrates that the offender was the victim's parent, 

stepparent, sibling, or grandparent and that the crime did not 

involve either oral copulation or penetration of the vagina or rectum 

of either the victim or the offender by the penis of the other or by 

any foreign object. 


(ii) An offense for which the offender is on probation at the time 

of his or her application, provided that the offender submits to the 

department a certified copy of a probation report, presentencing 

report, report prepared pursuant to Section 288.1, or other official 

court document that clearly demonstrates that the offender was the 

victim's parent, stepparent, sibling, or grandparent and that the 

crime did not involve either oral copulation or penetration of the 

vagina or rectum of either the victim or the offender by the penis of 

the other or by any foreign object. 


(iii) If, subsequent to his or her application, the offender 

commits a violation of probation resulting in his or her 

incarceration in county jail or state prison, his or her exclusion, 

or application for exclusion, from the Internet Web site shall be 

terminated. 


(iv) For the purposes of this subparagraph, usuccessfully 

completed probationu means that during the period of probation the 

offender neither received additional county jail or state prison time 

for a violation of probation nor was convicted of another offense 

resulting in a sentence to county jail or state prison. 


(3) If the department determines that a person who was granted an 

exclusion under a former version of this subdivision would not 

qualify for an exclusion under the current version of this 

subdivision, the department shall rescind the exclusion, make a 

reasonable effort to provide notification to the person that the 

exclusion has been rescinded, and, no sooner than 30 days after 

notification is attempted, make information about the offender 

available to the public on the Internet Web site as provided in this 

section. 


(4) Effective January 1, 2012, no person shall be excluded 

pursuant to this subdivision unless the offender has submitted to the 

department documentation sufficient for the department to determine 

that he or she has a SARATSO risk level of low or moderate-low. 


(f) The Department of Justice shall make a reasonable effort to 
provide notification to persons who have been convicted of the 
commission or attempted commission of an offense specified in 
subdivision (b) , (c), or (d), that on or before July 1, 2005, the 
department is required to make information about specified sex 
offenders available to the public via an Internet Web site as 
specified in this section. The Department of Justice shall also make 
a reasonable effort to provide notice that some offenders are 
eligible to apply for exclusion from the Internet Web site. 

(g) (1)A designated law enforcement entity, as defined in 

subdivision (f) of Section 290.45, may make available information 

concerning persons who are required to register pursuant to Section 

290 to the public via an Internet Web site as specified in paragraph 

(2). 


(2) The law enforcement entity may make available by way of an 

Internet Web site the information described in subdivision (c) if it 

determines that the public disclosure of the information about a 

specific offender by way of the entity's Internet Web site is 

necessary to ensure the public safety based upon information 




available to the entity concerning that specific offender. 

(3) The information that may be provided pursuant to this 


subdivision may include the information specified in subdivision (b) 

of Section 290.45. However, that offender's address may not be 

disclosed unless he or she is a person whose address is on the 

Department of Justice's Internet Web site pursuant to subdivision (b) 

or (c). 


(h) For purposes of this section, "offense" includes the statutory 

predecessors of that offense, or any offense committed in another 

jurisdiction that, if committed or attempted to be committed in this 

state, would have been punishable in this state as an offense listed 

in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 

290. 


(i)Notwithstanding Section 6254.5 of the Government Code, 

disclosure of information pursuant to this section is not a waiver of 

exemptions under Chapter 3.5 (commencing with Section 6250) of Title 

1 of Division 7 of the Government Code and does not affect other 

statutory restrictions on disclosure in other situations. 


(j) (1) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this 

section to commit a misdemeanor shall be subject to, in addition to 

any other penalty or fine imposed, a fine of not less than ten 

thousand dollars ($10,000) and not more than fifty thousand dollars 

($50,000). 

(2) Any person who uses information disclosed pursuant to this 

section to commit a felony shall be punished, in addition and 

consecutive to any other punishment, by a five-year term of 

imprisonment in the state prison. 


(k)Any person who is required to register pursuant to Section 290 

who enters an Internet Web site established pursuant to this section 

shall be punished by a fine not exceeding one thousand dollars 

($1,000), imprisonment in a county jail for a period not to exceed 

six months, or by both that fine and imprisonment. 


(1) (1) A person is authorized to use information disclosed 

pursuant to this section only to protect a person at risk. This 

authorization does not create a duty to use the information. 


(2) Except as authorized under paragraph (1) or any other 

provision of law, use of any information that is disclosed pursuant 

to this section for purposes relating to any of the following is 

prohibited: 


(A) Health insurance. 

(B) Insurance. 

(C) Loans. 

( D )  Credit. 
(E) Employment. 
(F)Education, scholarships, or fellowships. 

(GI Housing or accommodations. 

(H) Benefits, privileges, or services provided by any business 


establishment. 

(3)This section shall not affect authorized access to, or use of, 


information pursuant to, among other provisions, Sections 11105 and 

11105.3, Section 8808 of the Family Code, Sections 777.5 and 14409.2 

of the Financial Code, Sections 1522.01 and 1596.871 of the Health 

and Safety Code, and Section 432.7 of the Labor Code. 


(4) (A) Any use of information disclosed pursuant to this section 
for purposes other than those provided by paragraph (1) or in 
violation of paragraph ( 2 )  shall make the user liable for the actual 
damages, and any amount that may be determined by a jury or a court 



sitting without a jury, not exceeding three times the amount of 

actual damage, and not less than two hundred fifty dollars ($250), 

and attorney's fees, exemplary damages, or a civil penalty not 

exceeding twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000). 


(B) Whenever there is reasonable cause to believe that any person 

or group of persons is engaged in a pattern or practice of misuse of 

the information available via an Internet Web site established 

pursuant to this section in violation of paragraph (2), the Attorney 

General, any district attorney, or city attorney, or any person 

aggrieved by the misuse is authorized to bring a civil action in the 

appropriate court requesting preventive relief, including an 

application for a permanent or temporary injunction, restraining 

order, or other order against the person or group of persons 

responsible for the pattern or practice of misuse. The foregoing 

remedies shall be independent of any other remedies or procedures 

that may be available to an aggrieved party under other provisions of 

law, including Part 2 (commencing with Section 43) of Division 1 of 

the Civil Code. 


(m) The public notification provisions of this section are 

applicable to every person described in this section, without regard 

to when his or her crimes were committed or his or her duty to 

register pursuant to Section 290 arose, and to every offense 

described in this section, regardless of when it was committed. 


(n) On or before July 1, 2006, and every year thereafter, the 

Department of Justice shall make a report to the Legislature 

concerning the operation of this section. 


(0) A designated law enforcement entity and its employees shall be 

immune from liability for good faith conduct under this section. 


(p) The Attorney General, in collaboration with local law 

enforcement and others knowledgeable about sex offenders, shall 

develop strategies to assist members of the public in understanding 

and using publicly available information about registered sex 

offenders to further public safety. These strategies may include, but 

are not limited to, a hotline for community inquiries, neighborhood 

and business guidelines for how to respond to information posted on 

this Web site, and any other resource that promotes public education 

about these offenders. 

SEC. 5. Section 1202.8 of the Penal Code, as amended by Senate 


Bill No. 1178, is amended to read: 

1202.8. (a) Persons placed on probation by a court shall be under 


the supervision of the county probation officer who shall determine 

both the level and type of supervision consistent with the 

court-ordered conditions of probation. 


(b) Commencing January 1, 2009, every person who has been assessed 

with the State Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex Offenders 

(SARATSO) pursuant to Sections 290.04 to 290.06, inclusive, and who 

has a SARATSO risk level of high shall be continuously electronically 

monitored while on probation, unless the court determines that such 

monitoring is unnecessary for a particular person. The monitoring 

device used for these purposes shall be identified as one that 

employs the latest available proven effective monitoring technology. 

Nothing in this section prohibits probation authorities from using 

electronic monitoring technology pursuant to any other provision of 

law. 


(c) Within 30 days of a court making an order to provide 

restitution to a victim or to the Restitution Fund, the probation 

officer shall establish an account into which any restitution 




payments that are not deposited into the Restitution Fund shall be 

deposited. 


(d) Beginning January 1, 2009, and every two years thereafter, 

each probation department shall report to the Corrections Standard 

Authority all relevant statistics and relevant information regarding 

on the effectiveness of continuous electronic monitoring of offenders 

pursuant to subdivision (b). The report shall include the costs of 

monitoring and the recidivism rates of those persons who have been 

monitored. The Corrections Standard Authority shall compile the 

reports and submit a single report to the Legislature and the 

Governor every two years through 2017. 


SEC. 6. Section 3004 of the Penal Code, as amended by Senate Bill 

No. 1178, is amended to read: 


3004. (a) Notwithstanding any other law, the parole authority may 

require, as a condition of release on parole or reinstatement on 

parole, or as an intermediate sanction in lieu of return to prison, 

that an inmate or parolee agree in writing to the use of electronic 

monitoring or supervising devices for the purpose of helping to 

verify his or her compliance with all other conditions of parole. The 

devices shall not be used to eavesdrop or record any conversation, 

except a conversation between the parolee and the agent supervising 

the parolee which is to be used solely for the purposes of voice 

identification. 


(b) Commencing January 1, 2009, every person who has been assessed 

with the State Authorized Risk Assessment Tool for Sex Offenders 

(SARATSO) pursuant to Sections 290.04 to 290.06, inclusive, and who 

has a SARATSO risk level of high shall be continuously electronically 

monitored while on parole, unless the department determines that 

such monitoring is unnecessary for a particular person, The 

monitoring device used for these purposes shall be identified as one 

that employs the latest available proven effective monitoring 

technology. Nothing in this section prohibits parole authorities from 

using electronic monitoring technology pursuant to any other 

provision of law. 


(c) Beginning January 1, 2009, and every two years thereafter 

through 2017, the Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation shall 

report to the Legislature and to the Governor all relevant statistics 

and relevant information regarding the effectiveness of continuous 

electronic monitoring of offenders pursuant to subdivision (b). The 

report shall include the costs of monitoring and the recidivism rates 

of those persons who have been monitored. 


SEC. 7. (a) Section 4.1 of this bill incorporates amendments to 
Section 290.46 of the Penal Code proposed by both this bill and AB 
2712. It shall only become operative if (1) both bills are enacted 
and become effective on or before January 1, 2007, but this bill 
becomes operative first, (2) each bill amends Section 290.46 of the 
Penal Code, and (3) SB 1128 is not enacted or as enacted does not 
amend that section, and (4) this bill is enacted after AB 2712, in 
which case Section 290.46 of the Penal Code, as amended by Section 4 
of this bill, shall remain operative only until the operative date of 
AB 2712, at which time Section 4.1 of this bill shall become 
operative and Sections 4.2 and 4.3 of this bill shall not become 
operative. 

(b) Section 4.2 of this bill incorporates amendments to Section 

290.46 of the Penal Code proposed by both this bill and SB 1128. It 

shall only become operative if (1) both bills are enacted and become 

effective on or before January 1, 2007, (2) each bill amends Section 




290.46 of the Penal Code, (3) AB 2712 is not enacted or as enacted 

does not amend that section, and (4) this bill is enacted after SB 

1128 in which case Section 290.46 of the Penal Code as amended by SB 

1128, shall remain operative only until the operative date of this 

bill, at which time Section 4.2 of this bill shall become operative, 

and Sections 4, 4.1, and 4.3 of this bill shall not become operative. 


(c) Section 4.3 of this bill incorporates amendments to Section 

290.46 of the Penal Code proposed by this bill, AB 2712, and SB 1128. 

It shall only become operative if (1) all three bills are enacted 

and become effective on or before January 1, 2007, (2) all three 

bills amend section 290.46 of the Penal Code, and (3) this bill is 

enacted after AB 2712 and SB 1128, in which case Section 290.46 of 

the Penal Code as amended by SB 1128, shall remain operative only 

until the operative date of this bill, at which time Section 4.2 of 

this bill shall become operative and shall remain operative only 

until the operative date of AB 2712, at which time Section 4.3 of 

this bill shall become operative, and Sections 4 and 4.1 of this bill 

shall not become operative. 

SEC. 8. If the Commission on State Mandates determines that this 


act contains costs mandated by the state, reimbursement to local 

agencies and school districts for those costs shall be made pursuant 


to Part 7 (commencing 

with Section 17500) of Division 4 of Title 2 of the Government Code. 


SEC. 9. This bill shall only become operative if Senate Bill 1128 

of the 2005-06 Regular Session is also enacted and becomes effective 

on or before January 1, 2007. 

SEC. 10. Sections 1, 2, 3, 5, and 6 of this act shall become 


operative only if Senate Bill No. 1178 is also enacted and this act 

is enacted after Senate Bill 1178. 

SEC. 11. This act is an urgency statute necessary for the 


immediate preservation of the public peace, health, or safety within 

the meaning of Article IV of the Constitution and shall go into 

immediate effect. The facts constituting the necessity are: 


In order to ensure the public safety of California families and 

their children and to ensure that the Megan's Law database provides 

adequate information about registered sex offenders living in 

California, it is necessary that this act take effect immediately. 
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THIRD READING 


Bill No: AB 1849 

Author: Leslie (R), et a1 

Amended: 8/30/06 in Senate 

Vote: 27 - Urgency 


SENATE PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE : 2-2, 6/20/06 (FAIL) 
AYES: Poochigian, Margett 
NOES: Migden, Romero 
NO VOTE RECORDED: Cedillo, Perata 

SENATE PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE : 5-0, 6/27/06 
AYES: Migden, Cedillo, Margett, Perata, Romero 
NO VOTE RECORDED: Poochigian 

SENATE APPROPRIATIONS COMMITTEE : 13-0, 8/17/06 
AYES: Murray, Aanestad, Alarcon, Alquist, Ashburn, Battin, 


Dutton, Escutia, Florez, Ortiz, Poochigian, Romero, 

Torlakson 


ASSEMBLY FLOOR : 80-0, 5/31/06 - See last page for vote 

SUBJECT : Registered sex offenders: disclosure of 
conviction and 

release dates 

SOURCE : Author 

DIGEST : This bill requires the Department of Justice 
(DOJ) to include the year the registrant was released from 
incarceration on the Megans Law web site on or before July 

CONTINUED 
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1, 2010, as specified. 


Senate Floor Amendments of 8/30/06 clarify and narrow the 

information required to be provide to DOJ from the 

Department of corrections and Rehabilitation to require 

year of release from custody information only, as 

specified. This bill additionally removes language from 

the bill distinguishing information about an event that 

occurred prior to 1978. 


Senate Floor Amendments of 8/29/06 (1) exclude local 

detention facilities from this bill, (2) require state 

facilities to provide the information if it is "readily 

accessible t the facility1' and is currently maintained in 

an electronic format, as specified, (3) add an urgency 

clause, and (4) make additional technical revisions. 


Senate Floor Amendments of 8/24/06 add double-jointing 

language. 


ANALYSIS : Existing law requires DOJ to make information 
concerning certain persons who are required to register as 
sex offenders available to the public via an Internet web 
site, including the offender's criminal history. 

This bill also requires that on or before July 1, 2010, the 

year of release for the offender's last sexual offense, and 

whether he/she was subsequently 

incarcerated for any other felony, be posted on the 

Internet web site, as specified. This bill also requires 

any state facility that releases a sex offender to provide 

the year of release for his/her most recent offense 

requiring registration as a sex offender to DOJ. The 

information provided by the California Department of 

Corrections and Rehabilitation shall be limited to 

information that is currently maintained in an electronic 

format. 


This bill is double-jointed with SB 1128 (Alquist) and AB 
2712 (Leno) . 

FISCAL EFFECT : Appropriation: No Fiscal Com.: Yes 
Local: Yes 
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According to the Senate Appropriations Committee: 


Fiscal Impact (in thousands) 


Ma] or Provisions 2006-07 2007-08 2008-09 Fund 


Megan's Law changes Multimillion dollar costs 

beginning General 


in 2010-11 


The DOJ projects total costs in excess of $10 million over 

the first three years to fund 25 analyst, technician and 

programmer positions, several consultants to develop and 

test programs, and purchase equipment for increased 

storage. Ongoing costs after the first three years of 

development are complete are estimated at $760,000 to cover 

the expenses of five positions and ongoing maintenance. 


SUPPORT : (Verified 8/30/06) 

California Association of Health Facilities 

California Coalition Against Sexual Assault 

California District Attorney's Association 

California Peace Officers' Association 

California Police Activities League 

California Police Chiefs' Association 

California State Sheriff's Association 

Los Angeles County District Attorney's Office 

Los Angeles County Sheriff 

Office of the Attorney General 

Taxpayers for Improving Public Safety 


OPPOSITION : (Verified 8/29/06) 

California Sexual Assault Investigators Association 


ARGUMENTS IN SUPPORT : The author states that "Adding the 
year of conviction and release from incarceration to the 
DOJ's web site will help the public determine the relative 
danger of registered sex offenders.I1 

ARGUMENTS IN OPPOSITION ; The California Sexual Assault 
Investigators Association, which opposes this bill, argues 
this additional information will provide a false sense of 
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security: 


"Based on our experience in the field dealing with both 

sex offenders as well as their victims, we view the 

listing of the date of conviction on the Megan's Law 

database as potentially decreasing public safety. 

Specifically, we believe that when the public views the 

database online, they will get a false sense of 

security in some situations by assigning a level of 

risk to an offender based on these dates. Simply 

because a conviction for a sex offense occurred a long 

time ago, is not a good indicator of an offender's 

dangerousness to the public. 


I1?(I)t is difficult to predict an offender's likelihood 

to reoffend; it is especially difficult for someone 

without the experience and the benefit of all the 

information about the offender. For example, 

statistics show that many sex offenses go unreported 

and therefore an old conviction date may lead one to 

believe the person no longer poses a risk but in some 

cases may still be offending. The opposite could also 

be the case. 


ASSEMBLY FLOOR : 

AYES: ~ghazarian, Arambula, Baca, Bass, Benoit, Berg, 

Bermudez, Blakeslee, Bogh, Calderon, Canciamilla, Chan, 

Chavez, Chu, Cogdill, Cohn, Coto, Daucher, De La Torre, 

DeVore, Dymally, Emmerson, Evans, Frommer, Garcia, 

Goldberg, Hancock, Harman, Haynes, Jerome Horton, Shirley 

Horton, Houston, Huff, Jones, Karnette, Keene, Klehs, 

Koretz, La Malfa, La Suer, Laird, Leno, Leslie, Levine, 

Lieber, Lieu, Liu, Matthews, Maze, McCarthy, Montanez, 

Mountjoy, Mullin, Nakanishi, Nation, Nava, Negrete 

McLeod, Niello, Oropeza, Parra, Pavley, Plescia, Richman, 

Ridley-Thomas, Sharon Runner, Ruskin, Saldana, Salinas, 

Spitzer, Strickland, Torrico, Tran, Umberg, Vargas, 

Villines, Walters, Wolk, Wyland, Yee, Nunez 


RJG:mel 8/30/06 Senate Floor Analyses 


SUPPORT/OPPOSITION: SEE ABOVE 


AB 1849 

Page 






AB 1849 Assembly Bill - Bill Analysis 
BILL ANALYSIS 

AB 1849 


Page 1 


CONCURRENCE IN SENATE AMENDMENTS 

kB 1849 (Leslie) 

As Amended August 30, 2006 

2/3 vote. Urgency 


IASSEMBLY: 180-0 1 (May 31, 2006) ISENATE: 140-0 I (August 30, I 
I 

I I I I I 12006) I 

Original Committee Reference: PUB. S. 

SUMMARY : Requires that on or before July 1, 2010, the 
Department of Justice (DOJ) shall add specified additional 
information to the Megan's Law database of specified sex 
offenders publicly available on the Internet. 

The Senate amendments : 

llRequire that the year of conviction and the year of release 

from incarceration for the offender's last sexual offense, and 

whether the offender was subsequently incarcerated for nay 

other felony be posted on the Internet website, as spec!-fied. 


2)Require any state or local facility that releases a sex 

offender to provide the year of release for the offender's 

most recent offense requiring registration as a sex offender 

to DOJ. 


3)Require any state or local facility that releases a person 

required to register as a sex offender registrant from 

incarceration for a felony committed after the sex offense for 

which he or she is required to register to advise DOJ within 

30 days of release, of that fact. 


4)Require any state or local facility that, prior to January 1, 

2007, released a sex offender registrant from incarceration 

for a felony committed after the sex offense to advise DOJ of 

that fact, as specified. 


5)Require DOJ to note on the 1nterne.t website the fact that DOJ 

has no information about any subsequent felony, if DOJ has no 

such information. 


6)Add chaptering amendments to avoid chaptering 3ut AB 2712 
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(Leno), SB 1128 (Alquist) and SB 1178 (~peier). 


7)Add an urgency clause. 


EXISTING LAW 


1)Establishes a tiered system of public notification via the 

Internet of the location of registered sex offenders, with 

specific home addresses provided for some offenses and only 

the community of residence or zip code for other offenses. 


2)States that if a sex offender registrant was last registered 

at a residence address and changes his or her residence, 

either within California or out of state, shall notify, in 

person, the last registering agency or agencies that he or she 

is moving within five working days of the move, and of the new 

address, if known, or transient location, and any plans to 

return to California. 


3)Provides that if the person does not know the new residence 

address at the time of the move, the registrant shall notify, 

in person, the last registering agency, within five days of 

the move, that he or she is moving. Further requires the 

registrant to later notify the last registering agency, in 

writing, sent by certified or registered mail, of the new 

address or location, within five working days of moving into 

the new residence or location. 


4)States that the use of any of the information on the Megan's 

Law Web site shall not be used for purposes related to health 

insurance; insurance; loans; credit; employment; education, 

scholarships, or fellowships; housing or accommodations; or, 

benefits, privileges or services provided by any business 

establishment. 


AS PASSED BY THE ASSEMBLY , this bill: 

1)Required that the year of the conviction for the most recent 

crime requiring registration be posted on the Internet. 


2)Required that the year of release from incarceration for the 

registrant's most recent crime requiring registration be 

posted on the Internet. 


3)Provided that the DOJ shall not provide the year of conviction 
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unless DOJ is also able to make available the year of release 

from incarceration. 


4)Required state or local facilities that release registered sex 

offenders from incarceration to provide to DOJ the year of 

conviction and the year of release from incarceration, as 

specified. 


5)Required any state or local facility that, prior to January 1, 

2007, released registered sex offenders from incarceration to 

provide to DOJ the year of conviction and the year of release 

from incarceration, as specified. 


FISCAL EFFECT : DOJ projects total costs in excess of $10 
million over the first three years to fund 25 analyst, 
technician and programmer positions, several consultants to 
develop and test programs, and purchase equipment for increased 
storage. On-going costs after the first three years of 
development are complete are estimated at $760,000 to cover the 
expenses of five positions and ongoing maintenance. 

COMMENTS : According to the author: "The Megan's Law database 
lacks crucial elements that I believe are necessary to allow 
parents to gain a full perspective of sex offenders living in 
their neighborhoods. This bill would greatly enhance the 
database, make it more useful for Californians." 

Please see the policy committee analysis for full discussion of 

this bill. 


Analysis Prepared by : Kathleen Ragan / PUB. S. / (916) 
319-3744 FN : 

0017721 
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Senate Appropriations Committee Fiscal Summary 

Senator Kevin Murray, Chairman 


1849 (Leslie) 


Hearing Date: 8/17/06 Amended: 8/7/06 

Consultant: Nora Lynn Policy Vote: Public Safety 5-0 


BILL SUMMARY : 

AB 1849 requires the Department of Justice (DOJ) to include 

additional information about registered sex offenders as 

specified on its Megan's Law website by July 1, 2010. 


Fiscal Impact (in thousands) 


Major Provisions 2006-07 2007-08 Fund 


Megan's Law changes Multimillion-dollar costs 

beginningGenera1 


in 2010-11; see staff comments 


STAFF COMMENTS: SUSPENSE FILE 


Current law requires DOJ to include a sex registrant's name, 

known aliases, a photograph, a physical description, gender, 

race, date of birth, criminal history, and any other information 

the department deems relevant unless specifically excluded by 

statute. 


AB 1849 requires the website to show the year of the sex 

offender's most recent offense requiring sex offender 

registration; the year the registrant was released from 

incarceration for that crime; and if the registrant was 

subsequently incarcerated for any other felony if that fact has 

been reported to the department and, if not, that fact noted on 

the website. 


DOJ projects total costs in excess of $10 million over the first 

three years to fund 25 analyst, technician and programmer 

positions, several consultants to develop and test programs, and 

purchase equipment for increased storage. On-going costs after 




the first three years of development are complete are estimated 

at $760,000 to cover the expenses of five positions and ongoing 

maintenance. 
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ASSEMBLY THIRD READING 

AB 1849 (Leslie) 

As Amended May 26, 2006 

Majority vote 


PUBLIC SAFETY 6-0 APPROPRIATIONS 

(vote not 


available) 


I Ayes : I Leno, La Suer, Cohn, I 
( ~ymally, Goldberg, 
] ~pitzer I I) - - - - - + - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - + - - - - + - - I 

I I I I 
SUMMARY : Requires that on or before July 1, 2010, the 

Department of Justice (DOJ) to add specified additional 
information to the Megan's Law database of specified sex 
offenders publicly available on the Internet. Specifically, 
this bill : 

1)Requires that the year of the conviction for the most recent 

crime requiring registration be posted on the Internet. 


2)Requires that the year of release from incarceration for the 

registrant's most recent crime requiring registration be 

posted on the Internet. 


3)Provides that the DOJ shall not provide the year of conviction 

unless DOJ is also able to make available the year of release 

from incarceration. 


4)~equires state or local facilities that release registered sex 

offenders from incarceration to provide to DOJ the year of 

conviction and the year of release from incarceration, as 

specified. 


5)Requires any state or local facility that, prior to January 1, 

2007, released registered sex offenders from incarceration to 

provide to DOJ the year of conviction and the year of release 

from incarceration, as specified. 


EXISTING LAW : 

I 


I 


I 
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1)Establishes a tiered system of public notification via the 

Internet of the location of registered sex offenders, with 

specific home addresses provided for some offenses and only 

the community of residence or zip code for other offenses. 


2)Provides that the Internet Web site shall identify the 

following information about registered sex offenders: 


a) Name and known aliases; 


b) A photograph; 


C) A physical description, including gender and race; 


d) Criminal history, as specified; and, 


e) Home address or community of residence and zip code, 

depending upon the offense requiring registration. 


3)States that if a sex offender registrant was last registered 

at a residence address and changes his or her residence, 

either within California or out of state, shall notify, in 

person, the last registering agency or agencies that he or she 

is moving within five working days of the move, and of the new 

address, if known, or transient location, and any plans to 

return to California. 


4)Provides that if the person does not know the new residence 

address at the time of the move, the registrant shall notify, 

in person, the last registering agency, within five days of 

the move, that he or she is moving. Further requires the 

registrant to later notify the last registering agency, in 

writing, sent by certified or registered mail, of the new 

address or location, within five working days of moving into 

the new residence or location. 


5)States that the use of any of the information on the Internet 

Megan's Law Web site shall not be used for purposes related to 

health insurance; insurance; loans; credit; employment; 

education, scholarships, or fellowships; housing or 

accommodations; or benefits, privileges or services provided 

by any business establishment. 


FISCAL EFFECT : According to the Assembly Appropriations 
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Committee, significant one-time and annual General Fund costs, 

in the range of $2 million for several years, to create an 

information system by which DOJ can extract current and accurate 

inmate release date information from CDCR and from local jails. 

Ongoing costs, once a system is operational, would likely be in 

the $300,000 range. Local costs to provide DOJ the appropriate 

information would be state-reimbursable. 


COMMENTS : According to the author: "The Megan's Law database 
lacks crucial elements that I believe are necessary to allow 
parents to gain a full perspective of sex offenders living in 
their neighborhoods. This bill would greatly enhance the 
database, make it more useful for Californians." 

Please see the policy committee analysis for full discussion of 

this bill. 


Analysis Prepared by : Kathleen Ragan / PUB. S. / (916) 
319-3744 

FN: 0015015 
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Date of Hearing: April 5, 2006 


ASSEMBLY COMMITTEE ON APPROPRIATIONS 

Judy Chu, Chair 


AB 1849 (Leslie) - As Amended: March 15, 2006 

Policy Committee: Public 

SafetyVote: 6-0 


Urgency: No State Mandated Local Program : 
No Reimbursable: No 

SUMMARY 


This bill requires the Department of Justice (DOJ) to include on 

its registered sex offender web site the conviction dates for 

crimes requiring registration and the date the sex offender was 

released from jail or prison for those offenses. 


FISCAL EFFECT 


1)Significant annual GF costs - in the range of $8 million - to 
renovate DOJ's Violent Crime Information Network (VCIN) to 
enable it to handle the additional information. 

2)Significant one-time and annual GF costs, in the range of $2 

million for several years, to create an information system by 

which DOJ can extract current and accurate inmate release date 

information from the Departnent of Corrections and 

Rehabilitation (COCR) and from local jails. Ongoing costs, 

once a system is operational, would likely be in the $300,000 

range. Local costs to provide DOJ the appropriate information 

would be state-reimbursable. 


COMMENTS 


1)Rationale . The author contends adding conviction and 
incarceration release dates to the DOJ's web site will help 
the public determine the relative danger of registered sex 
offenders. 

Proponents contend that while the type of crime is included on 

the web site, there is no reference to the date the individual 

committed the crime or when he or she was released from prison 
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or jail. Adding such references will help web site users 

better assess the threat an individual may pose. 


2)Current law requires the web site to include the following 

information: 


a) Name and known aliases. 

b) Photograph. 

C) Physical description, including gender and race, 

d) Criminal history (generally the specific offense for 

which registration is required). 


e) Home address or community of residence and zip code, 

depending upon the offense. 


3)Practical/~echnical Concerns . DOJ, while not opposed to adding 
this information to the web site, states it has neither the 
funds nor the ability to accurately include this information. 
DOJ states that its Violent Crime Information Network (VCIN), 
the infrastructure behind the registered sex offender website 
cannot accommodate the increased fields and information this 
bill proposes to add. VCIN is undergoing a four-year, $9 
million renovation ($1.8 million is included in the 2005-06 
budget and $1.9 million is proposed in the 2006-07 budget) 
that would enable the system to handle this information. 

The capacity of VCIN to handle additional information, 

however, is not the only issue. DOJ notes that incarceration 

release date information is simply not readily available, 

particularly for the tens of thousands of sex offenders 

convicted before 1990, as there is no requirement - or system 

- for the CDCR or local jails to provide release dates. 

Also of concern is the requirement that DOJ post "the date of 
the commission of the crime; the year of the conviction " 
would be more appropriate and manageable, while providing the 
same degree of public safety. 

To acknowledge current fiscal and information limitations, it 

may be appropriate to amend the bill to add an effective 

deadline date for provision of the new information, such as 

the 2009-10 budget year. 


4)Related Legislation . AB 437 (Parra) was similar to this 

measure, but was chaptered out last year. AB 437 passed off of 

this committee's Suspense File unanimously and received no 
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dissenting votes in the Assembly or the Senate. 


Unlike AB 1849, however, AB 437 required DOJ to include the 

dates of offense and release only when funding for this 

purpose is available and only when DOJ has access to complete 

information, neither of which is currently the case. This 

provision was deleted in the Assembly Public Safety Committee 

hearing on AB 1849. 


SB 1128 (Alquist), pending in the Senate, requires DOJ to 

upgrade the VCIN, to an extent that would allow for the 

additional fields proposed by this measure, and similar to the 

DOJ renovation underway, by January 2010. 


Analysis Preparedby : Geoff Long /APPR. / (916) 319-2081 
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West's Annotated California Codes C ' L I ~ - C I ~ I I I C S ~  
Penal Code fl<t.G & Anno$)  

Part 2. Of Criminal Procedure (Rci'c Si. Ar~nlN 
'EJ ritlz 8. Of Judgment and Execution 

'Id Chapter 1 .  The Judgment (liccs & ill~nos) 
+ 3 1203. PI-obation; conclitionaI sentence; proh;ltiol~ officer invesli~atiolr, r.ep!br-t, a 1 4  
recomnlendations; rest i tr~tiol~fine; court deterrninatio~~; rrlisclclneanor co1i\~ic1ioii: J ~ ~ I ' S O I ~ S  

ineligible for probation; I-eleast. to anothcr state; finaucial c~alriat ion t.ega~.cliilg resstitrrtio~l 

(a) As used in this code, "probation" means the suspension of the iinposition or execution of a sentence and the 
order of conditional and revocable release in the cominunity under the supervision of a probation officer. As used in 
this code, "conditional sentence" means the suspension of the imposition or execution of a sentence and the order of 
revocable release in the coinnlunity subject to conditions established by the court without the supervisioil of a 
probation officer. It is the intent of the Legislature that both conditional sentence and probation are authorized 
whenever probation is authorized in any code as a sentencing option for infractions or n~isdenleanors. 

(b)(l) Except as provided in subdivision (j),if a person is convicted of a felony and is eligible for probation, before 
judgment is pronounced, the court shall immediately refer the matter to a probation officer to investigate and reporl 
to the court, at a specified time, upon the circumstances surrounding the crime and the prior history and record of the 
person, which inay be coilsidered either in aggravation or mitigation of the punishment. 

(2)(A) The probation officer shall immediately investigate and inake a written report to the court oC his or her 
findings and recommendations, including his or her recomn~endations as to the granting or denying of probation and 
the conditions of probation, if granted. 

(B) Pursuant to Sccl~on 828 of tlle 'CZ,'t.lFa-e i111ii Il~xriru~io~i1s the probation officer shall include in his or her CCJCIC, 
report any information gathered by a law enforcement agency relating to the taking of the defendant into custody as 
a ~ninor, which shall be considered for purposes of determining whether adjudications of commissions of cri~nes as a 
juvenile warrant a finding that there are circumstances in aggravation pursuant to SCJ@.II- I I70 or to deny probation. 

(C) If the person was convicted of an offense that requires him or her to register as a sex offender pursuailt 10 
Scctlon 2911, the probation officer's report shall include the results of the State-Authorized Risk Assessillcnt Tool for 
Sex Offenders (SARATSO) administered pursuant to S<cp(~rl i790.04to 2L3j-05, inclusive, if applicable. 

(D) The probation officer shall also include in the report his or her recomlnendation of both of the following: 

(i) The amouilt the defendailt should be required to pay as a restitution fine pursuant to ~ l ~ _ d l ~ l \ r o r !  C;<L '_I IOII~ l ~ j - _ o !  

--1202 4. 

(ii) Whether the court shall require, as a condition of probation, restitution to the victim or to the Restitution Fund 
and the amount thereof. 

O 2008 Thoillson ReutersIWest. No Claim to Orig. U.S. Govt. Worlts. 
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(E) The report shall be made available to the court and the prosecuting and defeiense attorneys at least five days, or 
upon request of the defendant or prosecuting attorney nine days, prior to the time fixed by the court for the heariilg 
and determination of the report, and shall be filed with the clerk of the court as a record in the case at the tiine of the 
hearing. The time within which the report shall be made available and filed may be waived by written stipulation of 
the prosecuting and defense attorneys that is filed with the court or an oral stipulation in open court that is made and 
entered upon the illinutes of the court. 

(3) At a tiine fixed by the court, the court shall hear and determine the application, if one has been made, or, in any 
case, the suitability of probation in the particular case. At the hearing, the court shall coilsider any report of the 
probation officer, including the results of the SARATSO, if applicable, and shall make a statement that it has 
considered the report, which shall be Gled with the clerk of the coui-t as a record in the case. If the court determines 
that there are circumstances in mitigation of the punishment prescribed by law or that the ends of justice would be 
served by granting probation to the person, it may place the person on probation. If probation is denied, the clerk of 
the court shall immediately send a copy of the report to the Department of Corrections and liehabilitation at the 
prison or other institution to which the person is delivered. 

(4) The preparation of the report or the consideration of the report by the court may be waived only by a written 
stipulation of the prosecuting and defense attorneys that is filed with the court or an oral stipulation in open court 
that is made and entered upon the minutes of the court, except that there shall be no waiver unless the court consents 
thereto. However, if the defendant is ultimately sentenced and committed to the state prison, a probation report shall 
be completed pursuant to Section 1 2 0 3 ~ .  

(c) If a defendant is not represented by an attorney, the court shall order the probation officer who makes the 
probatioil report to discuss its contents with the defendant. 

(d) If a person is convicted of a misdemeanor, the court inay either refer the matter to the probatioil officer for an 
investigation and a report or summarily pronounce a conditional sentence. If the person was convicted of an offense 
that requires him or her to register as a sex offender pursuant to S - ~ C L - ~ ~ I I390,the court shall refer the matter to the 
probation officer for the pui-pose of obtaining a report on the results of the State-Authorized liisk Assessinent Tool 
for Sex Offenders administered pursuant to Sec~~cuts290. 04 to 290.06, inclusive, if applicable, which the court shall 
consider. If the case is not referred to the probation officer, in sentencing the person, the court may consider any 
inforinatioil concerning the person that could have been included in a probation report. The court shall inforin the 
person of the information to be considered and permit him or her to answer or controvert the information. For this 
purpose, upon the request of the person, the court shall grant a continuance before the judgment is pronounced. 

(e) Except in unusual cases where the interests of justice would best be served if the person is granted probation, 
probation shall not be granted to any of the following persons: 

(1) Unless the person had a lawful right to carry a deadly weapon, other than a firearm, at the time of the 
perpetration of the criine or his or her arrest, any person who has been convicted of arson, robbery, carjacking, 
burglary, burglary with explosives, rape with force or violence, torture, aggravated mayhem, murder, attempt to 
commit murder, trainwrecking, kidnapping, escape from the state prison, or a conspiracy to commit one or more of 
those crimes and who was armed with the weapon at either of those times. 

(2) Any person who used, or attempted to use, a deadly weapon upon a human being in connection with the 
perpetration of the criine of which he or she has been convicted. 

(3) Any person who willfully inflicted great bodily injury or torture in the perpetration of the criine of which he or 
she has been convicted. 

O 2008 Thomson ReutersIWest. No Claim to Orig. U.S. Govt. Works. 
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(4) Any person who has been previously convicted twice in this state of a felony or in any other place or a public 
ofrense which, if cominitted in this state, would have been punishable as a felony. 

(5) Unless the persoil has never been previously convicted once in this state of a felony or in ally other place of a 
public offense which, if coinrnitted in this state, would have been punishable as a felony, any person who has been 
convicted of burglary with explosives, rape with force or violence, torture, aggravated mayhem, murder, atteinpt to 
commit murder, trainwrecltiilg, extortion, kidnapping, escape from the state prison, a violation o r  >icc.trgn -280, 3S8, 
-2 8 8 2 ,  or 388 5 ,  or a conspiracy to commit one or more of those crimes. 

(6) Any person who has been previously convicted once in this state of a felony or in any other place of a public 
offense which, if committed in this state, would have been punishable as a felony, if he or she committed any of the 
following acts: 

(A) Unless the person had a lawful right to carry a deadly weapon at the time of the perpetration of the previous 
crime or his or her arrest for the previous crime, he or she was armed with a weapon at either of those times. 

(B) The person used, or attempted to use, a deadly weapon upon a human being in connection with the perpetration 
of the previous crime. 

(C) The person willfully inflicted great bodily injury or torture in the perpetration of the previous crime. 

(7) Any public official or peace officer of this state or any city, county, or other political subdivision who, in the 
discharge of the duties of his or her public office or employment, accepted or gave or offered to accept or give any 
bribe, embezzled public money, or was guilty of extortion. 

(8) Any person who knowingly furnishes or gives away phencyclidine. 

(9) Any person who intentionally inilicted great bodily injury in the commission of arson under subd i~ ision (21) ott 
Scctiorl 45 1 or who intentionally set fire to, burned, or caused the burning of, an inhabited structure or inhabited 
property in violation of subdivisioll (b) o1'Sectloii 45 I .  

(10) Any person who, in the commission of a felony, inflicts great bodily injury or causes the death of a human 
being by the discharge of a firearm from or at an occupied motor vehicle proceeding on a public street or highway. 

(1 I)  Any person who possesses a short-barreled rifle or a short-barreled shotgun under Section 12020, a machinegun 
under Seclion 13210, or a silencer under Section 12520. 

(12) Any person who is convicted of violating Section S 10 1 o i '~hc  \Yc'lSal-e and Ins(itutions COLIC. 

(13) Any person who is described in paragraph (31or (3 )ofsi~bdi\'ision( r r )  of Section 12072. 

(f) When probation is granted in a case which comes within subdivision (e), the court shall specify on the record and 
shall enter on the minutes the circumstances indicating that the interests of justice would best be served by that 
disposition. 

(g) If a person is not ellgible for probation, the judge shall refer the matter to the probation officer for an 
investigatioil of the facts relevant to determination of the amount of a restitution fine pursuant to >~th~Il\'j~~i~i (1,1_~)!!' 
' . ,cc t~o~~1201 -1_ in all cases where the determination is applicable. The judge, in his or her discretion, may direct the 

O 2008 Thomson Reuters/West. No Claim to Orig. U.S. Govt. Works. 
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probatioil officer to investigate all facts relevant to the sentencing of the person. Upon that referral, the probatioil 
officer shall iinnlediately investigate the circumstances surrounding the crime and the prior record and history of the 
person and make a written report to the court of his or her findings. The findings shall include a recommendation of  
the amount of the restitution fine as provided in subdivis~on (h)ofSci't~clr!_!F()_L:j. 

(11) If a defendant is convicted of a felony and a probation report is prepared pursuant to subdivision (b) or (g), the 
probation officer may obtain and include in the report a statement of the commeilts of the victim concerning the 
offense. The court may direct the probation officer not to obtain a statement if the victim has in fact testified at ally 
of the court proceedings concerning the offense. 

(i) No probationer shall be released to enter another state unless his or her case has been referred to the 
Administrator of the Interstate Probation and Parole Compacts, pursuant to the Uniform Act for Out-of-State 
Probationer or Parolee Supervision (Article 3 (commencing with Scclion l.l_!W.z) of Chapter 2 of Title 1 of Part 4) 
and the probationer has reimbursed the county that has jurisdiction over his or her probation case the reasonable 
costs of processing his or her request for interstate compact supervision. The amount and method of reimbursement 
shall be in accordance with Section 1203.I b. 

u) In any court where a county financial evaluation officer is available, in addition to rel'erring the matter to the 
probation officer, the court may order the defendant to appear before the county financial evaluation officer for a 
financial evaluation of the defendant's ability to pay restitution, in which case the county financial evaluation officer 
shall report his or her findings regarding restitution and other court-related costs to the probation officer on the 
question of the defendant's ability to pay those costs. 

Any order made pursuant to this subdivision may be enforced as a violation of the terms and conditions of probation 
upon willful failure to pay and at the discretion of the court, may be enforced in the same manner as a judgment in a 
civil action, if any balance remains unpaid at the end of the defendant's probationary period. 

(k) Probation shall not be granted to, nor shall the execution of, or imposition of sentence be suspended for, any 
person who is convicted of a violent felony, as defined in subclii.rsion ( c ) 01' Scclio~i007,5, or a serious felony, as 
defined in subcliv~sion (c) of Sec~ion 1193.7, and who was on probation for a felony offense at the time of the 
commission of the new felony offense. 

CRED IT(S) 

(Enacted 1872, Amended by Stats.1903, c. 34, p. 34, Ij 1; Stats.1905, c. 166, p. 162, 9 1; Stats.1909, c. 232, p, 357, Ij 
1; Stats.1911, c. 381, p, 689, 5 1; Stats.1913, c. 137, p. 221, $ 1; Stats.1917, c, 732, p. 1409, 5 1; Stats.1919, c. 604, 
p. 1244, # 1; Stats.1921, c. 752, p. 1296, 4 1; Stats.1923, c. 144, p. 291, 5 1; Stats.1927, c. 770, p. 1493, 9 1; 
Stats.1929, c. 737, p. 1384, 9 1; Stats.1931, c. 786, p, 1633, 5 1;  Stats.1935, c. 604, p. 1706, 1; Stats.1945, c. 765, 
p. 1448, 5 1; Stats.1947, c. 1178, p. 2660, $ 2; Stats.1949, c. 1329, p. 2324, 5 1; Stats.1951, c. 1438, p. 3396, Ij 1; 
Stats. 1955, c. 309, p. 761, 5 2; Stats. 1957, c. 385, p. 1218, $ 1; Stats.1957, c. 2054, p. 3648, Ij 1; Stats. 1965, c. 1720, 
p. 3867, Ij 1; Stats.1968, c. 101, p. 311, 5 1; Stats.1969, c. 522, p. 1134, 4 2; Stats.1971, c. 706, p. 1367, $ 1; 
Stats.1975, c. 1004, p. 2354, 5 1; Stats.1977, c. 162, p. 629, 5 2, eff. June 29, 1977, operative July 1, 1977; 
Stats.1977, c. 165, p. 653, 5 20, eff. June 29, 1977, operative July 1, 1977; Stats.1977, c. 1122, p. 3599, 4; 
Stats.1977, c. 1123, p. 3605, 5 5; Stats.1978, c. 581, p, 2000, # 1; Stats.1978, c. 1262, p. 4097, 4 2; Stats. 1979, c. 
1174, p. 4583, 5 2; Stats.1979, c. 1175, p. 4593, 9 2; Stats.1981, c. 1076, 1; Stats.1982, c. 247, 5 1, eff. June 9, 
1982; Stats.1982, c. 1282, p. 4743, 5 2; Stats.1983, c. 932, 9 2; Stats.1983, c. 1063, 1; Stats.1984, c. 1340, $ 3; 
Stats.1985, c. 1485, Ij 3; S~ats.1087, c 134, 9 1 1 ,  efl.. Jul?, 7, 1987; Sfats. 1987, o 838, 6 71; S l r r t b  19S7-lc. 1 1  ! 5 . - ~ - 2 ~  
~l'f'SL'I~L.3 6  1gS7; Stats 1957, c 1379, 2, efS, Sept. 29, 1287; Stats 198C),-936, 4 I ;  Stat<. IC)89, c 1402. k-115 ;  
Stat, ICIOJ, c. 59 (S.13.399), 3 13; Stats. 1993, c 010 1,L\.lj!l-~_l:3Adl_Il_(&l_373 (A.E3.306), $-I;Stats 1993, c 1 .  
10C)3; $tats 1993, c .  010 (A.13.6). 15.3, cff'. Ocr 1 ,  1993, operative Jan. 1 ,  1994; S t a t ~ .1993. L 6 I 1  ( S  I3  (70).3 lJJ, 
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cf't. Oct. I ,  1093, c .  61 1 (S.B.60). j-(j95, operative Jan, 1 ,  1994; Sr:l~\!9c)-!. 1 - 1 01903; S I ~ I S .  20.3. cl'f' Oct-
1.4 [3 3001 1, 3 lf??; S t ~ i t ~ .  1!)9'1-?~L. ! h ~I d \ S.>k,c--1994. c. 23 ( A . l j . m ,  3 2 ;  SLlk,.1994, c. 451 (~'dj.?470!. 2 2 ;  >t;!l\ 

c_ -30( A  13 I-+ 1 )  9 1; Stats.1993-94, lsl Eu,Scs<, c. 33 ( S  IjJ!)2-b-2; Stat>. 1997-y-j. l b i  ~-\ -SL->\, L \> ($-lj 3 0 ,  2 
--2.5; Slab 1W5,  c .  3 13 (A.B.317), 5 7, eff. Aup. 3, 1995; S ~ a t b .1906, c 123 ( A  B.2376_),_9 1 ;  , tab 19%): (;__ 'LC, 
[!\.t3.893). $ I; Stati;.3006, c 337 (S.R. 1 128). 6 35, efl'. Sept. 20. 2006.) 

OFFICIAL FORMS 

2004 Main Volume 

<Mandatory and optional Forms adopted and approved by the Judicial Council are set oul in West's 
California Judicial Council Forms Pamphlet.> 

HISTORICAL AND STATUTORY NOTES 

2008 Electronic Update 

2006 Legislation 

Stats.2006, c. 337, in subd. (b)(2), inserted subpar. (C) and redesignated former subpars. (C) and (D) as subpars. (D) 
and (E), and in subpar. (E), in the first sentence, deleted a comma preceding and inserted a comma following "nine 
days"; in subd. (b)(3), inserted, in the second sentence, ", including the results of the SARATSO, if applicable," and 
a comma following "the report", and in the fourth sentence, "and Rehabilitation"; in subd. (d), inserted the second 
sentence; and in subd. (e)(l I), inserted "machinegun". 

For short title of act, legislative findings and declarations, and appropriations, severability, cost reimbursemenl, and 
urgency effective provisions relating to Stats.2006, c. 337 (S.B. 1 128), see Historical and Statutory Notes under 
Govemmznt Code 8 68153. 

2004 Main Volume 

As enacted in 1872, the section read: 

"After a plea or verdict of guilty, where a discretion is conferred upon the Court, as to the extent of the punishment, 
the Court, upon the oral suggestion of either party that there are circumstances which inay be properly taken illlo 
view either in aggravation or mitigation of the punishment may, in its discretion, hear the same summarily, at a 
specified time, and upon such notice to the adverse party as it may direct." 

The 1903 amendment rewrote the section to read: 

"After plea or verdict of guilty, where discretion is conferred upon the court as to the extent of the punishment, the 
court, upon oral suggestions of either party that there are circumstances which may properly be taken into view, 
either in aggravation or mitigation of the punishment, may, in its discretion, hear the same summarily at a specified 
time and upon such notice to the adverse party as it inay direct. At such specified time, if it shall appear by the 
record furnished by the probation officer, or otherwise, and from the circumstances, of any person over the age of 
sixteen years so having plead guilty or having been convicted of the crime, that there are circumstances in mitigation 
of the punishment, or that the ends of justice will be subserved thereby, the court shall have power, in its discrel.ion, 
to place the defendant upon probation in the manner following: 

O 2008 Thomson ReutersIWest. No Claim to Orig. U.S. Govt. Works. 



West's Ann.Cal.Pena1 Code 5 1203 Page 6-514-

"1. The court, judge or justice thereof, may suspend the imposing of sentence and inay direct that such suspeilsioil 
may continue for such period of time, not exceeding the maximum possible term of such sentence, and upon such 
terms and conditions as it shall determine, and shall place such person on probation, under the charge and 
supervision of the probation officer of said court during such suspension. 

"2. If the judgment is to pay a fine, and that the defendant be imprisoned until it be paid the court, judge, or justice, 
upon imposing sentence, may direct that the execution of the sentence of imprisonment be suspended for such 
period of time, not exceeding the maximuin possible term of such sentence, and on such terins as it shall determine, 
and shall place the defendant on probation, under the charge and supervision of the probation officer during such 
suspension, to the end that he may be given the opportunity to pay the fine; provided, however, that upon the 
payment of the fine being made, judgment shall be satisfied and the probation cease. 

"3. At ally time during the probationary term of the person released on probation, in accordance with the provisions 
of this section, any probation officer may, without warrant, or other process, at any time until the final disposition of 
the case, rearrest any person so placed in his care and bring him before the court, or the court may, in his discretion, 
issue a warrant for the rearrest of any such person and may thereupon revoke and terminate such probation, if the 
interest of justice so requires, and if the court, in its judgment, shall have reason to believe from the report of the 
probation officer, or otherwise, that the person so placed upon probation is violating the conditions of his probation, 
or engaging in criminal practices, or has become abandoned to improper associates, or a vicious life. Upoil such 
revocation and termination, the court may, if the sentence has been suspended, pronounce judgment at any time after 
the said suspension of the sentence within the longest period for which the defendant might have been sentenced, but 
if the judgment has been pronounced and the execution thereof has been suspended, the court may revoke such 
suspension, whereupon the judgment shall be in full force and effect, and the person shall be delivered over to the 
proper officer to serve his sentence. 

"4. The court shall have power at any time during the term of probation to revoke or modify its order of suspension 
of imposition or execution of sentence. It may, at any time, when the ends of justice will be subserved thereby, and 
when the good conduct and reform of the person so held on probation shall warrant it, terminate the period of 
probation and discharge the person so held, and in all cases, if the court has not seen fit to revoke the order of 
probation and impose sentence or pronounce judgment, the defendant shall, at the end of the term of probation, be 
by the court discharged." 

The 1905 amendment, in the introductory paragraph, rewrote the second sentence to read: "In sucl~ cases and after 
the case of the defendant has been investigated by the probation officer and a written report filed of record 111 the 
court in accordance with this statute, and in accordance with W C L I C ~ ~ ~1 3 I 01' t h_c_L'~g~tc.CI \ I I. l ' ro~c~lclr0 1  i,', the coui-t 
shall have power in its discretion to place the defendant upon probation in the manner following, if it shall appear to 
the judge, by such report so furnished by the probation officer or otherwise, as to any such defendant over the age of 
sixteen years so having pleaded guilty or having been convicted of crime, that there are circun~stances in mitigation 
of punishment or that the ends of justice and the interest of society and the reform of the defendant will be subserved 
thereby, viz:". 

At the end of subd. 1, the amendment added provision for placing the defendant under the charge and supervision of 
the probation officer of the court of another county. 

In subd. 3, the former first sentence was divided into two sentences, the second of which contained new provisioils 
for a recoilmendation by the probation officer. Added considerations were the interest of society or the reforin of 
the defendant. In the former second sentence, which became the third sentence, there was added at the end thereof a 
provision excluding time during which execution of judgment was suspended from consideration as part of the tern1 
of imprisonment. 
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The 1909 amendment deleted the changes which had been made in 1905 and restored the section to read as i t  did in 
1903 except that the amendinent added a new subd. 5, dealing with change of plea and reading as follows: "5. Every 
defendant who has fulfilled the conditions of his probation for the entire period thereof, or who shall have been 
discharged from probation prior to the termination of the period thereof, shall at any time prior to the expiration of 
the maxiinuin period of punishment for the offense of which he has been convicted, dating froill said discharge from 
probation or said termination of said period of probation, be permitted by the court to withdraw his plea of guilty 
and enter a plea of not guilty; or, if he has been convicted after a plea of not guilty, the coui-t shall set aside the 
verdict of guilty and the court shall thereupon dismiss the accusation or inforination against such defendant who 
shall thereafter be released from all penalties and disabilities resulting from the offense or crime of which he has 
been convicted." 

The 191 1 amendment, in the introductory paragraph, provided that upon the oral suggestions of either party, "or of 
its own motion," that there are circumstances, etc., the court may in its discretion "refer the same to the probation 
officer, directing said probation officer to investigate, and to report, recommending either for or against release upon 
probation, at a specified time, and the court shall" hear the same summarily at "such specified times", instead of "a 
specified time", etc. In the second sentence, it was provided, that if it shall appear "from the report", instead of "by 
the record", furnished, etc., and reference was made to any person over the age of "eighteen (1 8) years", instead of 
"sixteen years". 

In subd. 1, the 191 1 ainendment gave the court, etc., authority to suspend the imposing, "or the execution" of 
sentence, etc., upon such terms and conditions as it shall determine, "which terms and conditions may include, in the 
discretion of the court, the requirement of bonds, for the appearance of the person released upon probation before 
the court, at any time that the court may require such appearance in the investigation of any alleged violation of said 
terms and conditions of probation, and such bonds may be at any time by the court exonerated without affecting any 
of the other terms or conditions of such probation; and in case of such suspension of iinposition or execution of 
sentence, the court" shall place such person on probation etc., "or under the charge and supervision of the probation 
ofi-icer of the county in which such probationer is by the court permitted to reside". 

In subd. 3, in the second sentence, the court was authorized to pronounce judgment "after the said suspeilsion of the 
sentence for any time", instead of "at any time after the said suspension of sentence", within the longest period, etc. 

In subd. 5, it was provided that "in either case" the court shall thereupon dismiss the accusation, etc. 

The 19 1 1 amendment also added subds. 6 to 10 as follows: 

"6. The same probation officers and assistant probation officers and deputy probation officers shall serve under this 
act as are appointed under the act known at the juvenile court law, and entitled "An act concerning dependent and 
delinquent minor children, providing for their care, custody, and maintenance until twenty-one years of age; 
providing for their commitment to the Whittier State School and the Preston State School of Industry, and the 
manner of such commitment and release therefrom, establishing a probation committee and probation officers to 
deal with such children, and fvting the salaries of probation officers; providing for detention homes for said 
children; providing for the punishment of persons responsible for, or contributing to, the dependency or delinquency 
of children; and giving to the superior court jurisdiction of such offenses, and repealing inconsistent acts," approved 
March 8, 1909, or under any laws amending or superseding the same. 

"7. Such probation officers shall serve under this act whenever required to do so by any court having original 
jurisdiction of criminal actions in this state. 

"8. At the time of the plea or verdict of guilty of any crime of any person over eighteen years of age, the probation 
officer of the county of the jurisdiction of said crime shall, when so directed by the court, inquire into [he 

O 2008 Thomson ReutersIWest. No Claim to Orig. U.S. Govt. Works. 



West's Ann.Cal.Pena1 Code 5 1203 

antecedents, character, history, family environment, and ofrense of such person, and must repoi? the same to the 
court, and file his report in writing in the records of said court. His report shall contain his recoillinendation for or 
against the release of such person on probation. If any such person shall be released on probation and committed to 
the care of the probation officer, such officer shall keep a complete and accurate record in suitable books or other 
form in writing, of the history of the case in court, and of the name of the probation officer, and his acts in 
connection with said case; also the age, sex, nativity, residence, education, habits of temperance, whether nlarried or 
single, and the conduct, employment, and occupation, and parents' occupation, and condition of such persoil so 
committed to his care during the term of such probation and the result of such probation, Such record of such 
probation officer shall be and constitute a part of the records of the court, and shall at all tiines be open to the 
inspection of the court, or of any person appointed by the court for that purpose, as well as of all magistrates, and the 
chief of police, or other head of the police, unless otherwise ordered by the court. Said books of record shall be 
furnished for the use of said probation officer of said county, and shall be paid for out of the county treasury. 

"9. The probation officer shall hrnish to each person who has been released on probation, and committed to his 
care, a written statement of the terms and conditions of his probation, unless such statement has been furnished by 
the court, and shall report to the court, judge or justice, releasing such person upon probation, any violation or 
breach of the terms and conditions imposed by such court on the person placed in his care. 

"10. Such probation officer shall have, as to the person so committed to the care of said probation orficer, the 
powers of a peace officer." 

The 1913 amendment, in subd. 1, added at the end of the first sentence a proviso fixing the maximum period of 
suspension of sentence at two years and the maximum possible term of sentence at less than two years. 'The 
amendment added a new sentence authorizing suspension of sentence for five years for a violation of $ $  270 or 
270a. The provision, which had been added in 19 1 1, relating to the placing of a defendant under the supervision of a 
probation officer of another county was deleted and the subject matter was covered by new subd. 7. 

Former subd. 7, which had been added in 19 1 1, was omitted and a new subd. 7 was added, reading: "7. Whenever 
any person is released upon probation under the provisions of this act, the case may be transferred to any court of the 
same rank in ally other county, or city and county, of this state in which such person resides, or to which such person 
may remove, and such court shall thereupon commit such person to the care and custody of the probatioil officer of 
the county, or city and county, to which such person has been transferred; such court shall thereafter have entire 
jurisdiction over such case, with like power to make transfer whenever to such court suc11 transfei- may seein 
proper." 

The 19 13 amendment also added subd. 8a reading: 

"Every probation officer, within 15 days after the 30th day of June, and within 15 days arter the 3 1st day of 
December, of each year, shall make in writing and file as a public document with the county clerk a report to the 
superior court of the county or city and county in which such probation officer is appointed to serve, and shall 
furnish a copy of such report to each judge in said county or city and county who has released any person on 
probation who at the time of such report remains on probation; and a further copy to the secretary or the state board 
of charities and corrections. Such report shall state, without giving names, the exact number of persons, segregating 
male and female, and segregating misdemeanors and felonies, who have been released on probation to such 
probation officer, as such number exists, deducting all cases of expiration, discharge, dismissal, and restoration of 
rights, on said 30th day of June and said 3 1st day of December; and such report shall further segregate such persons 
as having been released on probation, as the case may be, in 1903, 1904, 1905, and so on, up to and including the 
calendar year in which such report is made and filed." 

The 191 7 amendment provided lettered subdivisions instead of numbered subdivisions, the subdivisions followed in 
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the same chronological order, except that a new subd. (g), relating to the adult probation board was ad.d.ed. I11 subd. 
(d), the court was given added authority to discharge a probatioiler but was restricted by a provisioil that "no such 
order shall be made without written notice first given by the coui-t or the clerk thereof to the proper probatioil offjcer 
of the intention to revoke or modify its order". 

In subd. (f), formerly subd. 6, reference was made to a more recent enactment of the juvenile court law and an 
exception was added in the case of offenses committed in counties and cities and counties of the second class and 
counties of the third class. 

The 1919 amendment made a series of technical changes. 

The 1921 amendment revised subd. (g) to make it applicable in any city and county and in any county having a 
population of more than 300,000 and not operating under a freeholder's charter, instead of in couilties and cities and 
counties in the second class. 

The 1923 amendment, in the introductory paragraph, referred to the "conviction" by plea or verdict of guilty "of a 
public offense" where discretion is conferred upon the court "or any board or coinmissioil or other authority" as to 
the extent of the punishment. Other references were made to "board or cormnission or other authority", instead of 
merely to the court. The vital amendment of the introductory paragraph was the addition of the proviso excluding 
from the benefits of the section cases of murder, robbery, burglary, rape by force and violence, or where in the 
perpetration of such crimes a deadly weapon is used. 

The 1927 amendment, in the introductory paragraph, changed the proviso excluding certain persons from benefits 
under the section to exclude any defendant who at the time of the perpetration of the crime or at the time of his arrest 
was armed with a deadly weapon (unless at the time he had a lawful right to carry the same), and to exclude one 
who used or attempted to use a deadly weapon in connection with the perpetration of the crime, one who in the 
perpetration of the crime inflicted great bodily injury or torture, one who is unable to satisfy the court that he had 
never been previously convicted of a felony, and any public official or employee who in the discharge of his duties 
accepts or gives or offers to accept or give a bribe or embezzles public money or is guilty of extortion. 

The 1927 amendment extensively revised the rest of the section. It returned to the use of numbered subdivisions. 
The section vastly enlarged the power of the court with respect to punishment which could be imposed as a 
condition of the probation, permitting imprisonment in the county jail, a fine, or both, or neither, to provide for 
reparation, or to provide for placement in a county road camp or farm, etc. The provision was inserted that in the 
event of a violation of probation, time spent in jail or other detention under the conditions of probation should be 
credited against his sentence. 

A series of technical amendments were made to the provisions relating to adult probation officers. 

The 1929 amendment, in the introductory paragraph, gave the court authority to summarily deny probation, and it 
provided that "if probation is not denied, the court must immediately", instead of "or in its discretion the court may", 
refer the matter to the probation officer. 

The 1931 amendment, in the introductory paragraph, provided for the denial of probation to any defendant "who 
shall have been convicted of robbery, burglary, burglary with explosives, rape with force or violence, arson, murder, 
assault with intent to commit murder, attempt to commit murder, grand theft, train wrecking, feloniously receiving 
stole11 goods, felonious assault with a deadly weapon, kidnaping, mayhem, escape from a state prison, conspiracy to 
commit any one or more of the aforementioned felonies, or any of the aforementioned felonies, and" who at the time 
of the perpetration of said crime "or any of them" or at the time of his arrest was armed, etc. Among others excluded 
were any public official 01- "peace officer", instead of "employee", of the state, country, etc. 
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The 1935 amendment rewrote the section to read as follows: 

"After the conviction by plea or verdict of guilty of a public offense in cases where discretion is conferred on the 
court or any board or coinrnissioil or other authority as to the extent of the punishnent the court, upoil applicatioil o r  
the defendant or of [he people or upon its own motion, may summarily deny probation, or at a time fixed may hear 
and determine in the presence of the defendant the matter of probation of the defendant and the conditions of such 
probation, if granted; if probation is not denied, the court must immediately refer the matter to the probation officer 
to investigate and to report to the court at a specified time, upon the circumstances surrounding the crime and 
concerning the defendant and his prior record, which may be taken into consideration either in aggravation or 
mitigation of punishment; the probation officer must thereupon make an investigation of circumstailces sun-ounding 
the crime and the prior record and history of the defendant and make a written report to the court of the facts found 
upon such investigation and must accompany said report with his written recommendations as to the granting or 
withholding of probation to the defendant and as to the conditions of probation if it shall be granted and the report 
and recommendations must be filed with the clerk of the court as a record in the case. At such time or times fixed by 
the court, the court must hear and determine such application and in connection therewith must consider any report 
of the probation officer, and must make a statement that it has considered such report which must be filed with the 
clerk of the court as a record in the case. And if it shall determine that there are circun~stances in mitigation of 
punishment prescribed by law, or that the ends of justice would be subserved by granting probation to the defendant, 
the court shall have power in its discretion to place the defendant on probatioil as hereinafter provided; if probation 
is denied, the clerk of the court must forthwith send a copy of the report and recommendations to the Board of 
Prison Directors; further provided, however, that probation shall not be granted to any defendant who shall have 
been convicted of robbery, burglary, burglary with explosives, rape with force or violence, arson, murder, assault 
with intent to coinrnit murder, attempt to commit murder, grand theft, train wrecking, feloniously receiving stolen 
goods, felonious assault with a deadly weapon, kidnapping, mayhem, escape from a State prison, conspiracy to 
commit any one or more of the aforementioned felonies, or any of the aforementioned felonies, and who at the time 
of the perpetration of said crime or any of them or at the time of his arrest was armed with a deadly weapon (unless 
at the time he had a lawful right to carry the same), nor to a defendant who used or attempted to use a deadly 
weapon in connection with the perpetration of the crime of which he was convicted, nor to one who in the 
perpetration of the crime of which he was convicted inflicted great bodily injury or torture, nor to any defendant 
unless the court shall be satisfied that he has never in any place been previously convicted o r  a felony, nor to any 
public official or peace officer of the State, county, city, city and county, or other political subdivision who, in the 
discharge of the duties of his public officer or employment, accepted or gave or offered to accept or give any bribe 
or embezzled public money or was guilty of extortion." 

The 1935 act, in addition to rewriting the section, to consist primarily of subject matter foi-rnerly contained i11 the 
introductory paragraph, added new 5 5  1203.1 to 1203.12 which embraced the subject matter formerly contained in 
subds. 1 to 13. 

The 1945 amendment, in the list of offenses for which probation cannot be granted, omitted "grand theft" and 
"feloniously receiving stolen goods." Following the reference in such list to conspiracy to commit any one or more 
of the aforementioned felonies, the amendment deleted the additional phrase "or any of the aforen~ei~tioned 
felonies". 

The amendment changed the exclusion of one unable to satisfy the court that he had never "in any place" been 
previously convicted of a felony to exclude a defendant unless the court shall be satisfied that he has never been 
previously convicted of a felony "in this State nor convicted in any other place of a public offense which would have 
been a felony if committed in this State". 

The 1947 amendment, at the beginning of the section, referred to a public offense "not amounting to a felony"; later 
it provided if probation is not denied, "and in every felony case in which the defendant is eligible to probation before 

O 2008 Thomson ReutersIWest. No Claim to Orig. U.S. Govt. Works. 



-519-
West's Ann.Cal.Pena1 Code $ 1203 Page 11 

any judgment is pronounced and whether or not an application for probation has been made," ille caul-t [nust 
immediately refer the matter to the probation officer, etc. It was provided that the probation officer's repor1 inay be 
considered either in aggravation or mitigation of puilishrnent "in those cases in which the defelendant is not cligible 
for probation, the judge may in his discretion refer the matter to the probation officer for an investigation of the fact 
relevant to sentence". It was provided that if probation is denied the clerk of the court must sign a copy oi'the report 
and recomineildations to the "Department of Corrections at the prison or other institution to which the defendant is 
delivered". 

At the end of the section, the amendment added "No probationer shall be released to enter another state of the 
United States, unless and until his case has been referred to the California Administrator, Interstate Parole 
Compacts, pursuant to the Uniform Act for Out-of-State Parolee Supervision". 

The 1949 amendment, in the list of offenses for which probation could not be granted, deleted felonious assault with 
a deadly weapon and mayhem. The amendment also prohibited probation to one who at the time of the perpetration 
of the crime or at the time of his arrest was "himself' armed with a deadly weapon. With reference to use of a 
deadly weapon, the amendment inserted the qualifying phrase "upon a human being". After providing that probation 
shall not be granted to certain defendants, the amendment continued, nor to one who in the perpetration of the crime 
of which he was convicted "wilfully" inflict a great bodily injury or torture, nor to any defendant "unless the court 
shall be satisfied that he has not been twice previously convicted of felony in this State nor twice previously 
convicted in any other place or places of public offenses which would have been felonies if committed in this State; 
nor to any defendant convicted of the crime of robbery, burglary of the first degree, burglary with explosives, rape 
with force or violence, arson, murder, attempt to commit murder, assault with intent to commit murder, train 
wrecking, extortion, ludnaping, escape from a state prison, violation of $ $  286, 288 or 288a of this code, or 
conspiracy to commit any one or more of the aforesaid felonies," unless the court shall be satisfied that he has never 
been previously convicted of a felony in this State nor previously convicted in any other place of a public offense 
which would have been a felony if convicted in the State; "nor to any defendant unless the court shall be satisfied 
that he has never been previously convicted of a felony in this State nor convicted in any other place of a public, 
offense which would have been a felony if committed in this State and at the time of the perpetration of said 
previous offense or at the time of his arrest for said previous offense he was himself anned with a deadly weapon 
(unless at the time he had a lawfUl right to carry the same) or he personally used or attempted to use a deadly 
weapon upon a human being in connection with the perpetration of said previous offense or in the perpetration of 
said previous offense he wilfully inflicted great bodily injury or torture". 

The 195 1 amendment divided the former first sentence into four sentences, divided the former single paragraph into 
two paragraphs, and added a third paragraph, which read: 

"In those cases in which the defendant is not eligible for probation, the judge may in his discretioil refer the matter 
to the probation officer for an investigation of the facts relevant to sentence. The probation officer must thereupon 
make an investigation of circumstances surrounding the crime and the prior record and history of the defendant and 
make a written report to the court of the facts found upon such investigation." 

Reference was made to felony cases in which the defendant is eligible "for", instead of "to", probation and the 
amendment deleted the following language: 

"In every misdemeanor case, the court may, at its option refer the matter to the probation officer for investigation 
and report or summarily deny probation or summarily grant probation". 

The proviso of the former third sentence became the first sentence of the second paragraph. 

The 1955 amendment substituted in the last sentence of the second paragraph the words "Interstate Probation and 
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Parole Compacts, pursuailt to the Uniform Act for Out-of-State Probatioiler and Parolee Supelvision", for the words 
"Interstate Parole Compacts, pursuant to the Uniform Act for Out-of-State Parolee Supervision." 

The 1957 aitlendments rewrote the fourth sentence and added the fifth sentence of the first paragraph. These 
sentences then read: "The report and recominendations must be made available to the court and the prosecuting and 
defense attorneys at least two days prior to the time fixed by the court for the hearing and determination of such 
report and must be filed with the clerk of the court as a record in the case at the time of said hearing. By written 
stipulation of the prosecuting attorney and the defense attorney, filed with the court, or by oral stipulatio~l in ope11 
court made and entered upon the minutes of the court, the time within which the report and recommendations illlist 
be made available and filed, under the preceding provisions of this section, inay be waived". 

The 1957 amendments deleted robbery, burglary and arson from those crimes which, if committed, would affect the 
granting of probation and added the following provisions: 

"In every misdemeanor case, the court may, at its option refer the matter to the probatioil officer for investigatioil 
and report or summarily deny probation or summarily grant probation. 

"The Legislature hereby expresses the policy of the people of the State of California to be that, except in unusual 
cases where the interest of justice demands a departure from the declared policy, no judge shall grant probation to 
ally person who shall have been convicted of robbery, burglary or arson, and who at the time of the perpetration of 
said crime or any of them or at the time of his arrest was himself armed with a deadly weapon (unless at the time he 
had a lawhl right to carry the same), nor to a defendant who used or attempted to use a deadly weapon upon a 
human being in connection with the perpetration of the crime of which he was convicted, nor to one who in the 
perpetration of the crime of which he was convicted wilfully inflicted great bodily injury or torture, nor to any such 
person unless the court shall be satisfied that he has never been previously convicted of a felony in this State nor 
previously convicted in any other place of a public offense which would have been a feloily if coinmitted in this 
State." 

The 1965 amendment inserted the phrase "Except as hereafter provided in this section" preceding provisions 
limiting the granting of probation where specified crimes were permitted and inserted the following paragraph: 

"In unusual cases, otherwise subject to the preceding paragraph, in which the interests of justice would best be 
served thereby, the judge may, with the concurrence of the district attorney, grant probation." 

The 1968 amendment added the followiilg provisions: 

"If a misdemeanor case is not referred to the probation officer, the court in sentencing the defendant may considei- 
any information concerning the defendant, his prior record, and the circu.instances surrounding the criine that could 
have been included in a probation report. The court shall inform the defendant of the information coilsidered and 
permit the defendant to answer or controvert such information. For this purpose the court upon request of the 
defendant shall grant a continuance before pronouncing sentence." 

The 1969 amendment provided that the report of the probation officer had to be inade available to the court and 
attorneys at least two days "or, upon the request of the defendant, five days" prior to the time fixed for hearing and 
determination of such report; changed the spelling of the word "kidnapping" in two places; and added the following: 

"With respect to a defendant who is not represented by an attorney, the court shall order the probation officer ivho 
makes a probation report pursuant to this section to discuss its contents with the defendant." 

Section 4 of Stats. 1969, c. 522, p. 1137, provided: 
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"'The Legislature, by this act, does not intend that the preparation or subinission of probation reports bc accelerated 
in relation to present law and practice. It is the intention of the Legislature that the courts exercise their discrctioii in 
fixing dates for pronouncing judgments five or more days after all the interested parties have received copies of 
probation reports so that such parties have adequate time to evaluate such reports." 

The 1971 amendment rewrote the section, which previously read: 

"After the conviction by plea or verdict of guilty of a public offense not amounting to a felony, in cases where 
discretion in conferred on the court or any board or comnission or other authority as to the extent of the punishment, 
the court, upon application of the defendant or of the people or upon its own motion, nlay summarily deny 
probation, or at a time fixed may hear and determine in the presence of the defendant the matter of probatlon of the 
defendant and the conditions of such probation, if granted. If probation is not denied, and in every felony case in 
which the defendant is eligible for probation, before ally judgment is pronounced, and whether or not an application 
for probation has been made, the court must immediately refer the matter to the probation officer to iilvestigate and 
to report to the court, at a specified time, upon the circumstances surrounding the crime and coiiceining the 
defendant and his prior record, which may be taken into consideration either in aggravation or initigat~on of 
punishment. The probation officer must thereupon make an investigation of the circumstailces surroiinding the crime 
and of the prior record and history of the defendant, must make a written report to the court of the facts found upon 
such investigation, and must accompany said report with his written reconmlendations, including his 
recommendations as to the granting or withholding of probation to the defendant and as to the conditioils of 
probation if it shall be granted. The report and recommendations must be made available to the court and the 
prosecuting and defense attorneys at least two days or, upon the request of the defendant, five days prior to the time 
fixed by the court for the hearing and determination of such report and must be filed with the clerk of the court as a 
record in the case at the time of said hearing. By written stipulation of the prosecuting attonley and the defense 
attorney, filed with the court, or by oral stipulation in open court made and entered upon the m~nutes of the court, 
the time within which the report and recommendations must be made available and filed, under- the preceding 
provisions of this section, may be waived. At the time or times fixed by the court, the court rni~st hear and deterinine 
such application, if one has been made, or in any case the suitability of probation in the particular case, alid In 
coilnection therewith must consider any report of the probation officer, and must make a statement that l t  has 
considered such report which must be filed with the clerk of the court as a record in the case. If [he court shall 
determine that there are circumstances in mitigation of punishment prescribed by law, or that the ends of justice 
would be subserved by granting probation to the defendant, the court shall have power in its discretion to place the 
defendant on probation as hereinafter provided; if probation is denied, the clerk of the court must forthwith send a 
copy of the report and recommendations to the Department of Corrections at the prison or other institution to which 
the defendant is delivered. 

"With respect to a defendant who is not represented by an attorney, the court shall order the probation officer who 
makes a probation report pursuant to this section to discuss its contents with the defendant. 

"In every misdemeanor case, the court may, at its option refer the matter to the probation officer for insestigation 
and report or summarily deny probation or summarily grant probation. If a misdemeanor case is not referred to the 
probation officer, the court in sentencing the defendant may consider any information concenling the defendant, his 
prior record, and the circumstances surrounding the crime that could have been included in a probatlon report. The 
court shall inform the defendant of the information considered and permit the defendant to answer or controvert such 
information. For this purpose the court upon request of the defendant shall grant a continuance before pronouncing 
sentence. 

"The Legislature hereby expresses the policy of the people of the State of California to be that, except in unusual 
cases where the interest of justice demands a departure from the declared policy, no judge shall grant probation to 
any person who shall have been convicted of robbery, burglary or arson, and who at the time of the perpetration of 
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said crime or any of them or at the time of his arrest was himself armed with a deadly weapon (unless at the time he 
had a lawful right to carry the same), nor to a defendant who used or attempted to use a deadly weapon up011 a 
human being in connection with the perpetration of the crime of which he was convicted, nor to oilc wl~o it1 the 
perpetration of the criine of which he was convicted willfully inflicted great bodily illjury or torture, nor to any such 
person unless the court shall be satisfied that he has never been previously convicted of a felony in this state nor 
previously convicted in any other place of a public offense which would have been a felony if coinn~itted in this 
state. 

"Except as hereafter provided in this section, probation shall not be granted to any person who shall have beell 
convicted of burglary with explosives, rape with force or violence, rnurdcr, assault with intent to commit murder, 
attempt to commit murder, train wrecking, kidnapping, escape from a state prison, conspiracy to commit any one or 
more of the aforementioned felonies, and who at the time of the perpetration of said crime or any of them or at the 
time of his arrest was himself armed with a deadly weapon (unless at the time he had a lawful right to cai-ry to 
same), nor to a defendant who used or attempted to use a deadly weapon upon a human being in connectioil with the 
perpetration of the crime of which he was convicted, nor to one who in the perpetration of the criine of which he was 
convicted willfully inflicted great bodily injury or torture, nor to any defendant unless the court shall be satisfied that 
he has not been twice previously convicted of felony in this state nor twice previously convicted in any other place 
or places of public offenses which would have been felonies if committed in this state; nor to any defeildant 
convicted of the crime of burglary with explosives, rape with force or violence, murder, attempt to commit murder, 
assault with intent to commit murder, train wrecking, extortion, kidnapping escape froin a state prison, violation of 
Sections 286, 288 or 288a of this code, or conspiracy to commit any one or inore of the aforesaid felonies, unless the 
court shall be satisfied that he has never been previously convicted of a felony in this state nor previously coilvicted 
in any other place of a public offense which would have been a felony if committed in this state; nor to any 
defendant unless the court shall be satisfied that he has never been previously convicted of a felony in this state nor 
convicted in any other place of a public offense which would have been a felony if committed in this state and at the 
time of the perpetration of said previous offense or at the time of his ai-rest for said previous offeilse he was himself 
armed with a deadly weapon (unless at the time he had a lawful right to carry the same) or he personally used or 
attempted to use a deadly weapon upon a human being in connection with the perpetration of said previous offense 
or in the perpetration of said previous offense he willfully inflicted great bodily injury or torture; nor to any public 
official or peace officer of the state, county, city, city and county, or other political subdivision who, in the discharge 
of the duties of his public office or employment, accepted or gave or offered to accept or give any bribe or 
embezzled public money or was guilty of extortion. 

"In unusual cases, otherwise subject to the preceding paragraph, in which the interests of justice would best be 
served thereby, the judge may, with the concurrence of the district attorney, grant probation. 

"1'40 probationer shall be released to enter another state of the United States, unless and until his case has been 
referred to the California Administrator, Interstate Probation and Parole Compacts, pursuant to the Uniform Act for 
Out-of-State Probationer and Parolee Supervision. 

"In those cases in which the defendant is not eligible for probation, the judge inay in his discretion refer the matter 
to the probation officer for an investigation of the facts relevant to sentence. The probation officer must thereupon 
make an investigation of circumstances surrounding the crime and the prior record and history of the defendant and 
make a written report to the court of the facts found upon such investigation." 

Supervisory responsibilities over persons convicted of misdemeanors and infractions, see Historical and Statutory 
Notes under Penal Code b 1303b. 

Amendment of this section by Ij 2 of Stats. 1971, c. 706, p. 1372, failed to become operative under the provisions of 
rj 3 of that Act. 
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The 1975 ainendment rewrote subds. (d) and (e) [now subds. (e) and (01, which previously read: 

"(d) Except in unusual cases where the interests of justice demand a departure, probation shall not be granted to any 
of the following persons: 

"(1) Unless he had a lawful right to carry a deadly weapon at the time of the perpetration of the crime or his arrest, 
any person who has been convicted of robbery, burglary, or arson and was armed with such weapon at either of such 
times. 

"(2) Any person who has been previously convicted once in this state of a felony or in any other place of a public 
offense which, if committed in this state, would have been punishable as a felony. 

"(e) Except in unusual cases where the interests of justice would best be served if the person is granted probation 
and where the district attorney concurs, probation shall not be granted to ally of the following persons: 

"(1) Unless he had a lawful right to carry a deadly weapon at the time of the perpetration of the crime or his arrest, 
any person who has been convicted of burglary with explosives, rape with force or violence, murder, assault with 
intent to commit murder, attempt to commit murder, train wrecking, ludnapping, escape from the state prison, or a 
conspiracy to commit one or more of such crimes and was armed with such weapon at either of such times. 

"(2) Any person who used or attempted to use a deadly weapon upon a human being in coilnectioil with the 
perpetration of the crime of which he has been convicted. 

"(3) Any person who willfully inflicted great bodily injury or torture in the perpetration of the crime of which he has 
been convicted. 

"(4) Any person who has been previously convicted twice in this state of a felony or in any other place of a public 
offense which, if committed in this state, would have been punishable as a felony. 

"(5) Unless he has never been previously convicted once in this state of a felony or in any other place of a public 
offense which, if committed in this state, would have been punishable as a felony, any persoil who has been 
convicted of burglary with explosives, rape with force or violence, murder, attempt to commit murder, assault with 
intent to commit murder, train wrecking, extortion, kidnapping, escape from the state prison, a violation of Section 
286, 288, or 288a, or a conspiracy to commit one or more of such crimes. 

"(6) Any person who has been previously convicted once in this state of a felony or in any other place of a public 
offense which, if committed in this state, would have been punishable as a felony, if he committed any of the 
following acts: 

"(i) Unless he had a lawful right to carry a deadly weapon at the time of the perpetration of such previous crime or 
his arrest for such previous crime, he was armed with such weapon at either of such times. 

"(ii) He used or attempted to use a deadly weapon upoil a human being in connection with the perpetration of such 
previous crime. 

"(iii) He willfUlly inflicted great bodily injury or torture in [he perpetration of such previous crime. 

"(7) Any public official or peace officer of this state or any city, county, or other political subdivision who, in the 
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discharge of the duties of his public office or employment, accepted or gave or offered to accept or give any bribe, 
embezzled public money, or was guilty of extortion." 

The 1977 amendments inserted, what are now the forth and fifth seiltences of subd, (b) and substituted "nine" days 
for "two days or, upon the request of the person, five days" as the time in which the probation report shall be made 
available prior to the time fixed by the court for the hearing and determinatioil of the report. 

The 1978 amendments deleted from what is now subd. (e)(2) "other than a firearin" following "deadly weapon"; 
inserted in what is now subd. (0the requirement that the circumstances be specified on the record and entered on the 
minutes; and added what is now subd. (h). 

Amendment of this section be $ 1 of Stats. 1978, c. 58 1 ,  p. 2000, and by rj 1 of Stats. 1978, c. 1262, p. 4094, failed to 
become operative under the terms of $ 3 of c. 1262. 

The 1979 amendments added subd. (a) and relettered fornler subds. (a) to (h) as (b) to (i); in subd. (b), sixth 
sentence, substituted "defense attorney" for "defense attorneys"; in subd. (e) added para. (8); in subd. ( f )  substituted 
a reference to subd. (e) in place of a reference to subd. (d); and in subd. (h) substituted a reference to subds. "(a) or 
(g)" in place of "(a) or ( f ) " .  

Amendment of this section by $ $  2 and 2.5 of Stats. 1979, c. 1174, p. 4583, and by 5 1 of Stats.1979, c. 1175, p. 
4603, failed to become operative under the provisioils of $ 5 of Stats.1979, c. 1174 and $ 3 of Stats. 1979, c. 1175. 

The 1981 amendment inserted the third sentence in subd. (b). 

Amendment of this section by $ 2 of Stats. 198 1, c. 1076, failed to become operative under the provisions of tj 4 of 
that Act. 

The 1982 amendment rewrote subd. (a) which had read: 

"(a) As used in this code, "probation" shall mean the suspension of the in~position or execution of a sentence and the 
order of conditional and revocable release in the con~inunity. Except as otherwise provided in this code, persons 
placed on probation by the court shall be under the supervision of the probatioil officer." 

The 1982 amendment added "under the supervision of the probation officer" in first sentence, deleted former second 
sentence which read: "Except as otherwise provided in this code, persons placed on probation by the court shall be 
under the supervision of the probation officer" and added second and third sentences of subd. (a); made pronouns 
applicable to both sexes throughout section; substituted "pronounce a conditional sentence" for "grant or deny 
probation" in first sentence, and substituted "such information" for "the information" in third sentence of subd. (d); 
substituted "furnishes or gives away" for "manufactures" and deleted former second and third sentences which 
required statement of reasons for order of grant of probation and allowed reversal of order for probation on appeal if 
no substantial basis in record existed for the reasons in par. (8) of subd. (e); and substituted reference to subdivision 
"(b)" for "(a)" in first sentence of subd. (h). 

The 1983 amendment added paragraph (9) to subd. (e). 

Amendment of this section by $ 3 of Stats. 1983, c. 932, failed to become operative under the provisions of $ 6 of 
that Act. 

The 1984 amendment substituted, in the fourth seiltence of subd. (b), "recoinn~endation of the amount the defendant 
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should be required to pay as a restitution fine" for "detenllination of whelher the defcndallt is a person who 1s 
required to pay a fii'ine"; substituted, in the fifth sentence of subd, (b), "a recoininendation as to" for "for the court's 
consideration" and "Restitution Fund" for "Indemnity Fund ~fassistailce has been granted to the victinl pursuant to 
Article 1 (commencing with Sccllon 139591 ol'C:liap~c~5 _ I ~ L I : ~ ~ J  I -1 01 L!L<-( 1!)\3!!11111'!11 _C_J!(!L',4 c > l ' 1 ) 1 >  jy~ul ic1I1 IIILJ 
a reconl~nendation thereof, and if so, the amount thereof, and the means and manner of payment"; substituted 
subdivision designations (e)(6)(A) to (C) for subdivision designations (e)(6)(i) to (iii); rewrote the first and second 
(formerly the first) sentences of subd. (g), which previously read: "If a person is not eligible for probation, the judge 
may, in his or her discretion, refer the matter to the probation officer for an investigation of the facts relevant to the 
sentencing of the person."; added the fourth sentence to subd. (g); and made nonsubstailtive grammatical changes. 

The 1985 amendment added "Except as provided in subdivision (j)," to the beginning of subd. (b); substituted "his 
or her arrest" for "his arrest" in subd. (e)(6)(A); and added subd. (j). 

Stats.1987, c. 134, tj 11, substituted, in subd. (h), "the probation officer may obtain and include in the report" for 
"the probation officer shall obtain and include in such report". 

Section 170 of Stats. 1987, c. 828, provides: 

"Sec. 170. Any section of any act enacted by the Legislature during the 1987 calendar year, which takes effect on or 
before January 1, 1988, and which amends or amends and renumbers any section of the codes, as proposed to be 
amended by this act, other than the amendments to S e c L I O I ~ \  24 I ,  1203, and 303.055 or I 11c I)ct~al_I CYr)&: proposed by 
this act, shall prevail over this act, whether that act is enacted prior to or subsequent to this act." 

Stats.1987, c. 1155, 5 2 added subd, (e)(10); and substituted, in subd. (h), "shall obtain and include in such report" 
for "may obtain and include in the report". 

The 1987 amendment of this section by c. 1155 explicitly amended the 1987 amendment of this section by c. 134. 

Amendment of this section by tj 3 of Stats. 1987, c. 1155, failed to become operative under the provisions of 9 4 of 
that Act. 

Section 1 of Stats. 1987, c. 1155, provides: 

"The Legislature finds and declares all of the following: 

"(a) That it is the right of every person to be secure and protected from the terrorizing activities of violent 
individuals. 

"(b) That the freedom of law-abiding persons to travel upon Califonlia's public highways and freeways without fear 
of intimidation, unreasonable restriction, and endangerment of their own personal safety fi-om violent acts is a basic 
human right that must be upheld and protected. 

"(c) That a safe and secure highway and freeway system is a vital component in the continuance of California's 
strong economic life and provides the primary means on which millions of Californians depend to travel to and from 
their workplaces and on which millions of visitors to California depend to travel to those places of interest which 
have drawn thein to our state. 

"(d) That, in the summer of 1987, the frequency of violent assaults upon law-abiding inotorists on California's 
public highways and freeways has increased significantly so that, in a two-month period between mid-June and mid- 
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August of 1987, there were close to 60 incidents of violence on our highways and freeways, in which four people 
were killed, 19 people injured, and hundreds more were placed in nloi-tal danger. 

"(e) That these violent incidents of terror, in many cases, are designed to intimidate, not just specific motorists who 
sonlehow gain the ire of these assailants, but the general driving public as well. 

"(f)That these acts of ten-or can and do disrupt the safe operation of the public highway and freeway system and 
endanger not only the lives of intended victims but the lives of other innocent nlotorists and bystanders when panic 
strikes the immediate area. 

"(g) That the potential for great bodily injury and death goes far beyond the immediate action, since the behavior of 
the assailant and the reactions of terrorized motorists can lead to mass conhsion and traffic calamities. 

"(h) That these freeway terrorists must be adequately punished for the crime they commit against not only inllocent 
individuals but the safety and well-being of the entire motoring public; and that California's highways and freeways 
must be ridded of this violent element." 

Stats. 1987, c. 1379, $ 2, incorporated the amendment by c. 1155; changed the period prior to the hearing by which 
the probation report must be made available to the court and prosecuting and defense attorneys from at least nine 
days to at least five days, or upon request of the defendant or prosecuting attorney, nine days; and deleted, from 
subd. (e)(l) and (5), "assault with intent to commit murder". 

The 1987 amendment of this section by c. 1379 explicitly amended the 1987 amendment of this section by c. 134. 

Under the provisions of $ 3 of Stats. 1987, c. 1379, the 1987 amendments of this section by c. 1155 and c. 1379 were 
given effect and incorporated in the form set forth in $ 2 of c. 1379, with the section as amended by c. 1155 
remaining operative only until the operative date of c. 1379. An amendment of this section by $ 1 of Stats. 1987, c. 
1379, failed to become operative under the provisions of $ 3 of that Act. 

The 1989 amendment inserted reference to $ 288.5 in subd. (e)(5); substituted, in subd. (e)(6)(A), "armed with a 
weapon" for "armed with such weapon"; added subd. (e)(l l)  relating to possession of short-barreled rifle or 
shotgun, machine gun, or silencer; and made nonsubstantive changes throughout the section. 

Legislative findings and intent relating to Stats.1989, c. 1402, and severability of that act, see Historical Note under 
E \  id. ('. '782, 

Under the provisions of $ 13.7 of Stats. 1989, c. 1402, the 1989 amendments of this section by c. 936 and c, 1402 
were given effect and incorporated in the form set forth in $ 1 1.5 of c. 1402. An amendment of this section by $ 11 
of Stats. 1989, c. 1402, failed to become operative under the provisions of 13.7 of that Act. 

Amendment of this section by # 1.5 of Stats.1989, c. 936, failed to become operative under the provisions of Cj 4 of 
that Act. 

The 1993 amendment by c. 6 1 1, $ 20, in subd. (e)(l), inserted "carjacking", and inserted "deadly"; and made 
nonsubstantive changes throughout. 

The 1993 amendinent by c. 6 11, $ 20.3, in subd. (e)(l 1), inserted "machine gun"; in subd. (h), in the firs1 sentence, 
substituted "may" for "shall"; in subd. (i), inserted "and the probationer has reimbursed the county that has 
jurisdictioil over his or her probation case the reasonable cost of processing his or her request for interstate compact 
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supervision", and inserted the second sentence relating to alnount in method of reimbursement, 

1.1 LjojSection affected by two or more acts at the same session of the legislature, see i~~jci![-! . '<~~lc~.O&OF_. 

Under the provisions of # 53 of Stats.1993, c. 61 1, the 1993 amendments of this section by c. 273 and c. 61 1 were 
given effect and incorporated in the form set forth in 5 20 of c. 6 1 1, operative until Jan. 1, 1994, then in the form set 
forth in $ 20.3 of c. 61 1. Amendments of this section by $5  20.5, and 20.7 of Stats.1993, c, 61 1, failed to become 
operative under the provisions of $ 53 of that Act. 

Under the provisions of # 48 of Stats.1993, c. 610, the 1993 amendments of this section by c. 273 and c. 610 were 
given effect and incorporated in the form set forth in 5 18 of c. 610, operative until Jan. 1, 1994, then in the form set 
forth in $ 18.3 of c. 610. Amendments of this section by $ 8  18.5 and 18.7 of Stats. 1993, c. 610, failed to become 
operative under the provisions of # 48 of that Act. 

Legislative findings, declarations and intent relating to Stats. 1993, c. 59 (S.B.443), see Historical and Statutory 
Notes under I_di~cation Code $ 45452. 

The 1994 amendment by # 2.5 of c. 33, in subd. (a), substituted "means" for "shall mean" in two places; in subd. (b), 
inserted par. and subpar. designations; in subd. (e)(l), inserted "torture, aggravated mayhem" following "rape with 
force or violence,", inserted "who" following "one or more of those crimes and" and substituted "the" for "a deadly" 
preceding "weapon"; in subd. (e)(5), inserted "torture, aggravated mayhem," following "rape with force or 
violence"; inserted subds. (e)(12) and (e)(13), relating to persons convicted of violating U?clf;nrl: and I~ns t i t~~ t io~~s  
Codc 4 8 101 and persons described in Pella1 Code 8 12072; and made nonsubstantive changes throughout the 
section. 

Section 13 of Stats. 1993-94, 1st Ex.Sess., c. 33 (S.B.36), provides: 

"Section 2.5 of this bill incorporates amendments to Section 1203 of the Penal Code proposed by both this bill and 
AB 141 [c. 301 of the 1993-94 First Extraordinary Session. It shall only become operative if (1) both bills are 
enacted and become effective, (2) each bill amends Section 1203 of the Penal Code, and (3) this bill is enacted after 
AB 14 1. In which case, one of the following alternatives shall be applicable: 

"(a) If this bill becomes operative before AB 141, Section 2 of this bill shall be operative until the operative date of 
AB 14 1, at which time Section 2.5 of this bill shall become operative. 

"(b) If this bill becomes operative after AB 1.11,Section 1203 of the Penal Code, as amended by AB 141, shall 
remain operative only until the operative date of this bill, at which time Section 2.5 of this bill shall become 
operative, and Section 2 of this bill shall not become operative [c. 30 and c. 33 are both effective Nov. 30, 19941." 

Subordination of legislation by Stats. 1994, c. 146 (A.B.360 I), see Historical and Statutory Notes under I3ttlnc-; 311~i 

t'~.ol'css~o~is-- C'odo 2 166. 

Stats. 1994 Cal. 45 1 (A.B.2470), was both approved by the Governor and filed with the Secretary of State on Sept. 9, 
1994. Stats.1993-94, 1st Ex.Sess., c. 33 (S.B.36), was both approved by the Governor and filed with the Secretary of 
State on Sept. 2 1, 1994. 

Amendment of this section by $ $  2, 3 and 4 of Stats.1993-94, 1st Ex.Sess., c. 30 (A.B.141), failed to become 
operative under the provisions of 6 7 of that Act. 
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Section affected by two or more acts at the same session of [he legislature, see ( ~ q y c ~  -b ' ) 0 0 5IllncriJ C o d ~  

The text of 9 1203 as amended by Stats. 1994, c. 45 1 (A.B.2470), 5 2 read: 

"(a) As used in this code, 'probation' ineans the suspension of the imposition or execution of a sentence and the 
order of conditional and revocable release in the community under the supervision of a probation officer. As used in 
this code, 'conditional sentence' means the suspension of the imposition or execution of a sentence and the order of 
revocable release in the commu~lity subject to the conditions established by the court without the supervision of the 
probatioil officer. It is the intent of the Legislature that both conditional sentence and probation are authorized 
whenever probation is authorized in any code as a sentencing option for infractions or misdemeanors. 

"(b) Except as provided in subdivision Cj), if a person is convicted of a felony and is eligible for probation, before 
judgment is pronounced, the court shall immediately refer the matter to a probation officer to investigate and report 
to the court, at a specified time, upon the circumstances surrounding the crime and the prior history and record of the 
person, which may be considered either in aggravation or mitigation of the punishment. The probation officer shall 
imned~ately investigate and make a written report to the court of his or her findings and recommendations, 
including his or her recommendations as to the granting or denying of probation and the conditions of probation, if 
granted. Pursuant to Section 828 01' the W c l f  re and Trlstitutions Code, the probation officer shall include in his or 
her report any information gathered by a law enforcement agency relating to the taking of the defendant into custody 
as a minor, which shall be considered for purposes of determining whether adjudications of commissions of crimes 
as a juvenile warrant a finding that there are circumstances in aggravation pursuant to Section 1170 or to deny 
probation. The probation officer shall also include in the report his or her recommendation of the amount the 
defendant should be required to pay as a restitution fine pursuant to bcc11011 1 -39h7 01' 1 1 1 ~  ( - ' ~ ~ i ! ~ ~ .Go: cji~i~ic~ir_ The 
probation officer shall also include in his or her report a reconlrnendation as to whether the court shall require, as a 
coildition of probation, restitution to the victim or to the Restitution Fund, The repoi-t shall be made available to the 
court and the prosecuting and defense attorneys at least five days, or, upoil request of the defendant or prosecuting 
attorney, nine days, prior to the time fixed by the court for the hearing and determination of the report, and shall be 
filed with the clerk of the court as a record in the case at the time of the hearing. The time within which the report 
shall be made available and filed may be waived by written stipulation of the prosecuting and defense attorneys 
which is filed wilh the court or an oral stipulation in open court whlch is made and entered upon the minutes of the 
court. At a time fixed by the court, the court shall hear and determine the application, if one has been made, or, in 
any case, the suitability of probation in the particular case. At the hearing, the court shall consider any report of the 
probatio~l officer and shall make a statement that it has considered the report which shall be filed with the clerk of 
the court as a record in the case. If the court determines that there are circumstances in mitigation of the punishment 
prescribed by law or that the ends of justice would be served by granting probation to the person, i t  may place the 
person on probation. If probation is denied, the clerk of the court shall immediately send a copy of the report to the 
Department of Corrections at the prison or other institution to which the person is delivered. 

"(c) If a defendant is not represented by an attorney, the court shall order the probation officer who nlaltes the 
probatio~l report to discuss its contents with the defendant. 

"(d) If a person is convicted of a misdemeanor, the court may either refer the matter to the probation officer for an 
investigation and a repoi-t or summarily pronounce a conditional sentence. If the case is not referred to the probation 
officer, in sentencing the person, the court may consider any information concerning the persoil which could have 
been included in a probation report. The court shall inform the person of the information to be considered and permit 
him or her to ailswer or controvert the information. For this purpose, upon the request of the person, the court shall 
grant a continuance before the judgment is pronounced. 

"(e) Except in unusual cases where the interests of justice would best be served if the person is granted probation, 
pl-obation shall not be granted to any of the following persons: 
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"(1) Unless the person had a lawful right to cany a deadly weapon, other than a firearm, at the tiiue of the 
perpetration of the crime or his or her arrest, any person who has been convicted of arson, robbery, carjacking, 
burglary, burglary with explosives, rape with force or violence, murder, attempt to commit murder, trainwrecking, 
kidnapping, escape from the state prison, or a conspiracy to commit one or more of those crimes and who was armed 
with the weapon at either of those times. 

"(2) Any person who used, or attempted to use, a deadly weapon upon a human being in connection with the 
perpetration of the crime of which he or she has been convicted. 

"(3) Any person who willfblly inflicted great bodily injury or torture in the perpetration of the crime of which he or 
she has been convicted. 

"(4) Any person who has been previously convicted twice in this state of a felony or in any other place of a public 
offense which, if committed in this state, would have been punishable as a felony. 

"(5) Unless the person has never been previously convicted once in this state of a felony or in any other place of a 
public offense which, if committed in this state, would have been punishable as a felony, any person who has been 
convicted of burglary with explosives, rape with force or violence, murder, attempt to commit murder, 
trainwrecking, extortion, ktdnapping, escape from the state prison, a violation of Section 286, 288, 288a, or 288.5, or 
a conspiracy to commit one or more of those crimes. 

"(6) Any person who has been previously convicted once in this state of a felony or in any other place of a public 
offense which, if committed in .this state, would have been punishable as a felony, if he or she committed any of the 
following acts: 

"(A) Unless the person had a lawful right to carry a deadly weapon at the time of the perpetration of the previous 
crime or his or her arrest for the previous crime, he or she was armed with a weapon at either of those times. 

"(B) The person used, or attempted to use, a deadly weapon upon a human being in connection with the perpetration 
of the previous crime. 

"(C) The person willfblly inflicted great bodily injury or torture in the perpetration of the previous critne. 

"(7) Any public official or peace officer of this state or any city, county, or other political subdivision who, in the 
discharge of the duties of his or her public office or employment, accepted or gave or offered to accept or give any 
bribe, embezzled public money, or was guilty of extortion. 

"(8) Any person who knowingly furnishes or gives away phencyclidine. 

"(9) Any person who intentionally inflicted great bodily injury in the commission of arson under subdivision (a) of 
Section 45 1 or who intentionally set fire to, burned, or caused the burning of, an inhabited structure or inhabited 
property in violation of subdivision (b) of Section 45 1. 

"(10) Any person who, in the comlnission of a felony, inflicts great bodily injury or causes the death of a huinan 
being by the discharge of a firearm from or at an occupied motor vehicle proceediilg on a public street or highway. 

"(1 1) Any person who possesses a short-barreled rifle or a short-barreled shotgun under Section 12020, a machine 
gun under Section 12220, or a silencer under Section 12520. 
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"(1 2) Any person who is convicted of violating Section 8 I 0I__~~l_lIi_C'c.I'fiirc~ i111cl 11111 I 111t ~ ~ ~ ~ _ ( ~ o d c .  

"(13) Any person who is described in para rap11 ('2) ('3)oS ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ > g - & j - - g l ~ ~ ~ g g ~ j01- <jj:~-!.uj.j~-~., 

"(0When probatioil is granted in a case which comes within subdivision (e), the court shall specify on the record 
and shall enter on the minutes the circumstances indicating that the interests of justice would best be served by that 
disposition. 

"(g) If a person is not eligible for probation, the judge shall refer the matter to the probation officer for an 
investigation of the facts relevant to determination of the amount of a restitution fine pursuant to S~~!I~~!J_~_~(~~:'(21 

thc Govenlrne~ilCode in all cases where the determination is applicable. The judge, in his or her discretion, may 
direct the probation officer to investigate all facts relevant to the sentencing of the person. Upon that referral, the 
probation officer shall immediately investigate the circumstances surrounding the crime and the prior record and 
history of the person and make a written report to the court of his or her findings, The findings shall include a 
recommendation of the amount of the restitution fine as provided in SCL'IIC>II C>&!g,13967 c)ii tI7c (io\?c1l i~r~cni .  

"(h) If a defendant is convicted of a felony and a probation report is prepared pursuant to subdivision (b) or (g), the 
probation officer may obtain and include in the report a statement of the comments of the victim concerning the 
offense. The court may direct the probation officer not to obtain a statement if the victim has in fact testified at any 
of the court proceedings concerning the offense. 

"(i) No probationer shall be released to enter another state unless his or her case has been referred to the 
Administrator, Interstate Probation and Parole Compacts, pursuant to the Uniform Act for Out-of-State Probationer 
or Parolee Supervision (Article 3 (commencing with Section 11 175) of Chapter 2 of Title I of Part 4) and the 
probationer has reimbursed the county that has jurisdictioil over his or her probation case the reasonable costs of 
processing his or her request for interstate compact supervision. The amount and method of reimburse~nent shall be 
in accordance with Section 1203.1 b. 

"6)In any court where a county financial evaluation officer is available, in addition to referring the matter to the 
probation officer, the court may order the defendant to appear before the county financial evaluatioil officer for a 
financial evaluation of the defendant's ability to pay restitution, in which case the county financial evaluation officer 
shall report his or her findings regarding restitution and other court-related costs to the probation officer on the 
question of the defendant's ability to pay those costs. 

"Any order made pursuant to this subdivision may be enforced as a violation of the terms and conditions of 
probation upon willful failure to pay and at the discretion of the court and as stated in the order, may be enforced in 
the same manner as a judgment in a civil action, if any balance remains unpaid at the end of the defendant's 
probationary period." 

The 1994 amendment by c. 45 1 added subd. (e)(12) relating to violation of 8 1 L, I 01. thc Wcl i:;lr->d_jI:\( i { L I  r I ( ? I ~ \  
('odc; and added subd. (e)(13) relating to persons described in $ 13072; and made nonsubstantive changes 
tl~oughout. 

Contingent operation of Stats.1994, c. 451 (A.B.2470), see Historical and Statutory Notes under b : i l  ('& 2 
I S [ l  2,. 

Legislative intent of A.B.482 (Stats. 1994, c. 23), contained in letter to Assembly Daily Journal, see Historical and 
Statutory Notes under I'enal Code $ 12020. 
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Govenlor's signature message regarding Stats.1994, c. 23 (A.B.482), see Historical and Statutory Notes under e<rlgl 

(soclc 3 I 3020. 

The 1995 amendment, in subd. (c)(i) relating to the report of the probation, substituted "subdivision (b) of Section 
1202.4" for "Section 13967 of [lie ~ o v e r n m e n ~  Code"; in subd. (c)(ii) added "and the amount thereof'; in subd. (g), 
relating to situations where the person is not eligible for probation, substituted "subdivision (b) of Section 1202.4" 
for "Seclion 13067 of the Go~.ernn~ent Code" in two places; and in the final paragraph relating to enforcemeilt of 
orders, following "discretion of the court" deleted "and as stated in the order". 

The 1996 amendinent by c. 123 in subd. (b)(2)(D), made nonsubstantive changes; and added subd. (b)(4), relating to 
waiver of preparation or consideratioil of the probation report. 

The 1996 amendment by c. 719 added subd. (k) prohibiting probation to persons convicted of specified violeilt or 
serious felonies committed while on probation for a felony offense. 

The 1996 amendment of this section by c. 7 19 explicitly amended the 1996 amendinent of this section by c. 123. 

Section affected by two or more acts at the same session of the legislature, see Go~rcrnri~cnt Code $ 9005.. 

CROSS REFERENCES 

Confinement as condition of probation or otherwise, see Penal Code $ 19.3. 

Controlled substance violations, denial of probation, see Hea It11 and Safety Cc~dc' B I 1370. 

County financial evaluation officer, see Government Code 4 37750 et hcq. 

Defendant's ability to pay cost of legal assistance, hearing, see I'enal C'odc 8 987.8 I .  

Department of Corrections, generally, see I'enal Code 8 5000 el seq. 

Destructive devices, denial of probation following conviction, see Penal Cod?-$ 13Y I .  

Determinate sentencing law, determination of presentence custody time credit, rules for criminal cases in the 

Superior Court, see Califonlia Rules of Coui-t, Rulc 4.472. 

Determination of presentence custody time credit, see Ca1ifc~rnii-i Rules of Court, Iiulc 4.3 10. 

Effect of amendment of section by two or more acts at the same session of the legislature, see ( j o ~ ~ l - ~ l l l ~ a  

-Cc)Lle # 9005. 

Employment assistance for discharged prisoners, see Penal Code 3 50@. 

Escape, see Pcnal Code 5 4530 el heel. 

Felonies, definition and penalties, see Pcilal Code $ $  17 and 18. 

Jurisdiction on appeal, see Penal Code $ 1765. 

Juvenile Court Law, 

Probation commission, see Welhre and Institutions Coclc $ 340 ct seq. 

Probation officers, see Welfare :]lid Inst ~tutions Code $270 ct sccl. 

Medical licensees, transmittal of probation reports to licensing board, see 13~isiness and Prol'csy~o~ij
C'_cuJc_2 
803.6. 

Misdemeanors, definition and penalties, see Peilal Code $5  17, ]and 1C).3. 

Multiple offenses, punishment on conviction, see Penal Code $ 669. 

Non-capital felony, plea of guilty or nolo contendere, see Penal Code # 859a. 

Paroles, see Wal Code 3 3040 et seq. 

Petty theft, prior conviction, see I'enal Code 666. 

Previous conviction, see I'enal Code $9  666 et sea, L)6c)ct x q . ,  102_5. 


Prior foreign conviction, see Pcnnl C'oclc 3 668. 

Review, see I'znal Code &$ 1337 et wcl.,  1359, 1409. 
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Supervision of probation, see I'ctia I Code I 2 1 5 .  
Suspension of physician's license on granting of probation, see I ~ ! I I C ' ~ \  ~ . I L I ~ _ ~ ) ~ ~ ~ C ' > ~ I O I ~ \ '172 116,-223%<'cxli~ 
Victims of sex offense, request that name not become matter of public record, disclosure of vlclims' nainc or 
address, see Penal Codc 393. 
Youth Authority, see Welktre and Instilulio~~s 1700 cl seqCode 

CODE OF REGULATIONS REFERENCES 

Director of corrections, computation of time and pre-prison credit, see 1 5 Cal. Cocle 01' ICcg2. 4 3 J7L!. 

LAW REVIEW AND JOURNAL COMMENTARIES 

Adult probation law. 2 Ca1.St.B.J. 49 (1927). 

Alien criminals: sentencing considerations. Stephen H. Legomsky, 15 San Diego L.Rev. 105 (1 977). 

Arson, exhaustive consideration of the crime in California. Earl C. Bolton, 22 S.Cal.L.Rev. 22 1 (1949). 

Background and general effect of 1957 amendments. 32 Ca1.St.B.J. 612(1957). 

Burglary, exhaustive survey of development of the law of burglary and examination of various elements of the 
crime. 25 S.Cal.L.Rev. 75 (1941). 


California supreme court survey; A review of decisions: December 1982-March 1983. 1 1 Pepp.L.Rev. 187 (1 983). 


California supreme court survey a review of decisions: July 1982-November 1982. 10 Pepp.L.Rev. 835 (1 983). 


Computing a determinate sentence: New math hits the courts, 5 1 Ca1.St.B.J. 604 (1976). 


Consenting adult homosexuals; Trial and post-trial disposition. 13 UCLA L.Rev. 763 (1966). 


Construction of "convicted"; effect of probation. 27 S.Cal.L.Rev. 327 (1954). 


Contraception or incarceration: Wllal's wronE with this picture'! .loan Callahan, 7 Stan. L. & Pol'v ltev. 67 ( I 905-

1W6). 

Crinlinal practice in municipal court, probation. Evelle J. Younger, 29 Los Angeles B.Bul1. 23 (1953). 

Criminal procedure; probation costs--detet.iiiin~ztio~~c~iidt'f-k~ida~il'sa17ilit>!i~~o~~i1y. I<~~i:lili~ar..A. .l!k!~i~es 27 1)ac.I...I .  66i 
( 1996). 

Decriminalization of convicted: Plea for representation. Rodney R. Jones, 13 San Diego L.Rev. 804 (1976). 

Denial of probation. 21 Hastings L.J. 1008 (1970). 


Do the different approaches to business and official records found in the CEC and FRE tell the whole story?: 

I!.Y~- thc difircnces, exposing the expansive h e x a v  cxception.lllddeil in gci1c'rill applicabilitv pt-cvrl>lon.;. aild 

-clut'hl~oninr!t l~c  efficacy of unified evidcntiary rules in civil and cl-imlnal cases Mynla S.Kaecler, 36 Sw. U I*.K _ L ~  
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Domestic relations; domestic violence crimes. Edward A. Bauer and Kelly A. Ryan, 34 l'at..l,.S SO9 ( IC)931, 


Effects of recent legislation on the California juvenile justice system. 17 U,S.F.L.Rev. 705 (1983). 


Eligibility of defendant for probation. 27 Ca1.St.B.J. 335 (1952). 


~ L I L V  _Cl_(.'oa~c\,~ ~ 1 j . S _ ] . _Ending chronic homelessness in Anlerica's major c~t~ei--*I ~ I C1 ~ i 4 1 1 c es~stc31ns' fFobe_r~ I . 
Itcv 427 (3007). 


Enjoining the constitution: the use of public nuisance abateillent ~iljunctions agaiilsl ~rrbail street gan,cs. Plallhc\i, 

Micltle Werdegai-, 5 1 Stan.L.Rev. 409 (1999). 


Exclusionary rules inapplicable to parole revocation proceedings. 7 San Diego L.Rev. 140 (1970). 

Expanding the role of the victim in a criminal action: An overview of issues and problems. Josephine Gittler, 11 

Pepp.L.Rev. 1 17 (1984). 


Expungement of records of arrest and conviction from general public access. 3 Cal.W.L.liev. 121 (1967). 


Juvenile court dispositional alternatives: Imposing a defense duty. John L. Roche, 27 Santa Clara L,Rev. 279 (1987). 


Lawyer's role in the administration of probation and parole. Richard A. Chapell, 48 A.B.A.J. 742 (1962). 


Lost in probation: Coiltrasting the treat~llent of pi-obationarv search acreciilc~its 111 CC:il11i~rniLi con^-t.;.
i111d fccleral 
Marc R. l.ewis, 5 1 UCI_A L. Re\,. 1703 (2004). 

Meaningful right to counsel on sentencing. Richard H. Kuh, 57 A.B.A.J. 1096 (197 1). 

Monetary remedies for the tictilnc of crii~lc: Assessing t l luolc  of the c;nn~ii~al illan * r  !:larlalld.3() \J<'[./\co~~r th .  
I..Rcv. 52  ( 1983). 

Parolees no lollgel- walk followinn serious felonies--i~~carce~-atio11inandatory. Michacl ,T D~aponde.29 Mc(jcc>i-~c 
I-,Rev. 552 (1998). 

Physician's license, suspension for unprofessional conduct after superior court discharged physiciai~ from probation 
and dismissed accusations against him. 2 Stan.1...Liev. 32.1 ( 1040). 

Power of courts to suspend sentence or stay execution. 4 Cal.L.Rev. 144 (1916). 

Power to grant probation after commencement of service of sentence. 42 A.B.A.J. 156 (1956). 

Probation, 

Quiet revolution. Richard J. Hanscom, 50 Ca1.St.B.J. 182 (1 975). 

State-wide. 1 1 Ca1.St.B.J. 138 (1936). 

Work of the 1943 legislature. 17 S.Cal.L.Rev. 1 (1943). 
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Probation and sentence. Evelle J. Younger, 38 Los Angeles B.Bul1. 334 (1963). 

Probation in California. 50 Cal.L,Rev. 65 1 (1962). 

Prosecutor's role in sentencing: Advocate or informant. 20 UCLA L.Rev. 1379 (1973). 

Reform in probation matters, suggestions. 12 Ca1.St.B. J. 257 (1 937). 

Reliability of information in sentencing. 64 A.B.A.J. 759 (1978). 

Review of Selected 1989 California Legislation. 21 Pac.L.J. 412, 458 (1990). 

Review of Selected 1993 California Legislation. 25 I'ac I ..I -jlj L1.934). 

Review of Selected 2005 California Legislation (Chapter 484: From home d e ~ e n t ~ c ~ i ~  tllw~~_cori!jA I?%.!to (;IJS ['ijtl 

1;ichar. 37 IvlcGeorge L. Rcv. 281 ('3006). 


Revocation of conditional liberty. 28 S.Cal.L.Rev. 158 (1 955). 


Role of appellate courts in mandatory sentencing schemes. Lany I. Palmer, 26 UCLA L.Rev. 753 (1979). 


Seiltencing of cl-iininals in California. 13 Stan.I,,Rev. 330 ( 1963. 


Sentencing under the proposed California criminal code. 19 UCLA L.Rev. 526 (1 972). 


Separation the criminal from the delinquent: Due process in certification procedure. 40 S.Cal.L.Rev. 158 (1967). 


Soviet law, cond.itiona1 judgment and probations. 4 S.Cal.L.Rev. 358, 372 (1931). 


Submission to search and seizure: Is it a valid condition of probation? 2 U.West L.A.L.Rev. 120. 


"Turn em loose": Toward a flexible corrections system. (1969) 42 S.Cal,L.Rev. 682 (1969). 


Twelve steps, you're out (of prison): ail evaluation of "ano~~\~inous  as alternative sc'~ltcncg.;-_l-~~Iii~t~prc>,~ra~ns" (il 
Kalet~,48 Hasl~ngsI,.J. 129 (1996). 

LIBRARY REFERENCES 

2004 Main Volume 

Sentencing and Punishioenl 276, 1836 to 1865, 1886, 1890. 
Westlaw Topic No. 35011. 
C.J.S. Crirnil~alLaw 6s 1158, 147 1 ,  1380, 1502 to 1505, 1507, 15 1 1 ,  1540 to 1550, 1552 to 1.555. 

Background and general effect of 1965 amendment. Rev. of 1965 Code Leg. (Cont. Educ. of Bar, 1965) page 

187. 

Correctional facilities in California. Report of Assembly Interim Committee on Criminal Procedure, 1959 to 

196 1, vol. 22, No. 2. Vol. 2 of Appendix to Journal of the Assembly, Reg.Sess., 1961. 

Parole and probation. Report of Assembly Interim Committee on Criminal Procedure, 1963 to 65, vol. 22, No. 


O 2008 Thomson Reuterswest. No Claiin to Orig. U.S. Govt. Works. 



-- 

-- 

West's Ann.Cal.Pena1 Code 5 1203 

7. Vol. 2 of Appendix to Journal of the Assembly, Reg.Sess., 1965. 

Purpose of bill amending this sectioil as explained by the State Bar. Report of Senate Interim Judiciary 

Committee, 1957, pp. 328, 333. Vol. 1 of Appendix to Journal of the Senate, Reg.Sess., 1957. 

Sentencing standards for granting probation andor cornmittiilg to local correctional facilities, see Proceedings 

for the First Sentencing Institute of Superior Court Judges, 45 Cal.Rptr.Appendix 13 et seq. 


RESEARCH REFERENCES 

ALR Library 

99 ALli 5111 557, Validity of Requirement That, as Condition of Probation, Defendant Subinit to Warrailtless 
Searches. 

92. ALR 5th 35, Persons or Entities Entitled to Restitution as "Victim" Under State Criminal Restitution Statute. 

--22 AI,K St11 660, Right of Convicted Defendant or Prosecution to Receive Updated Presentence Report at 
Sentencing Proceedings. 

19 -41-R 4 th  1251, Propriety of Requirement, as Condition of Probation, that Defendant Refrain from Use of 
Intoxicants. 

17 1 .4I-R 54 1, Invalidity of Prior Conviction or Sentence as Ground of Habeas Corpus Where One is Sentenced as 
Second Offender. 

161 ALR 233, Right to Cross-Examine Accused as to Previous Prosecution For, or Conviction Of, Crime, for 
Purpose of Affecting His Credibility. 


146 AI-K 369, Relief in Habeas Corpus for Violation of Accused's Right to Assistance of Counsel. 


137 A1,R 656, Power to Impose Sentence With Direction that After Defendant Shall Have Served Part of Tiine He 

be Placed on Probation for the Remainder of Term. 


139 AL,R 673, Constitutionality and Construction of Statute Enhancing Penalty for Second or Subsequent Offense. 


141 ALK 1215, Imposition or Enforcement of Sentence Which Has Been Suspended Without Authority. 


132 AI,R 659, Suspension of Imposition or Execution of Sentence And/or Placing Upon Probation as Arfecting 

Grounds for Suspension or Disbarment of Attorney. 


83 41.,K 1 362, Constitutionality of Statute Which Makes Specified Punishment or Penalty Mandatory and Permits 

No Exercise of Discretion on Part of Court or Jury. 


77 AI-R 1 2  1 1 ,  Right of Court to Hear Evidence for Purpose of Determining Sentence to be Imposed. 


66 ALIi 638,Right to Withdraw Plea of Guilty. 


69 AL,K 792, Necessity and Sufficiency of Adjudication of Guilt, or of Recital of or Reference to Verdict in 

Judgment Pronouncing Sentence in Criminal Case. 

O 2008 Thomson ReutersIWest. No Claim to Orig. U.S. Govt. Works 



- - - - 

-- 

West's Ann.Cal.Pena1 Code 8 1203 

23 A[- l i- 5 3 0 ,  Power of Trial Court to Change Sentence After Affirmance. A 

Encyclopedias 

Cnl. .lul-. 3d Criinirial 1-aw: C'riiues Aga~ilsl .JLIS~ICC 4 5 19, Executive Officer, Ministerial Officcr, or Einployee of 
State, County, or City--Probation Only in Unusual Cases. 

CA Jur. 3d C'rin~inal Law: Post-Trial Proceedings fi I 5 I ,  Evidence and Circumstances to be Considered. 

CA J L I ~ .  --3d Criminal La\\/: Post-Trial Proceedings G 276, Placement in Diagnostic Facility. 

C'.A Jur. 3d Criininal I-a\&!; Post-Trial I'roceedings 6 307, Circun~stances Specified in Rules of Court--Facts Relating 
to Crime. 

CA Jur. 3d CriniinaI 1-au.:Post-Trial Proceedings # 31.5, Determination Made After Sentence Entered; Effect of 
Failure to Make Determination. 


CA Jur. 3d Criminal Law: Post-Trial Proceedinps fi 338, Rights of Defendants. 


C'A .lur. 3d Criininal Law: Post-Trial Proceedin~rs # 339, Court's Duty to Entertain Application for Probation. 


CA .lur. 3d Criminal Law: Post-Trial Proceedings 5 34 1 ,  Authority of Court in Misdemeanor and Infraction Cases. 


--C.4 JLII-.3d Criminal I.a\+*: PostLl'riaI Proceedillgs 4 -332,
Referral to Probation Officer in Felony Cases. 

C'A Jur. 3d Crin~iiial I d a ~ ~ .  343, Referral to Probation Officer in Felony Cases--When Post-Trial I~ rocced in ,~~  
Defendant is Ineligible for Probation. 


C'A .lure 3d Criminal Law: Post-Trial Pn)cecdincs 8 317, Transfer of Case to Another County; Release of 

Probationer to Another State. 


CA Jur. 3d CJriniinal Law: Post-Trial Proceedin~s 6 355, Availability Before Hearing. 


CA Jur. 3d Criminal Law: Post-Trial Proceedincs 8 359, Statements, Letters, and Other Collateral Information, 


--C'A .lur-.3d Criminal 1-aw: Post-Trial Proceedings $ 360, Psychological Evaluation of Person Convicted of Child 

Abuse or Neglect. 


C:i\ Jur. ?d C'1-in11nal I.aw: Post-Trial I'rocezdings tj -361,Criteria Affecting Probation in Uilusual Cases. 


CA Jur. 3d Criminal Law: Post-Trial Proceedings 5 364, Specified Offense Coinmitted While Armed. 


CA Jur. 3d (,'riminal Law: Post-Trial Proceedings 3 365, Infliction of Great Bodily Injury or Torture; Intentional 

Bui-ning of Inhabited Structure or Property. 

c.4Jur. 3d Criminal La\c: Post-?'rial I'rocecdiiigs 3 366, Prior Conviction of Crime. 
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C,il S L L ~ .3cI C'ri1ni1lal I-a\\i: Post-Trial P T C ~ C C C ~ I ~ ~ ~ ~ _ $  367, Prior Conviction of Crime--What Constitutes Prev~ous 
Conviction; Pleading and Prooi: 

C',4 Jur. 3d i 'ri~~iinal Law: Post-?'rial I'rocceclings $ 368, Specified Orfenses by Public Officers or Peace Officers. 

( .I L I ~ Q 375, Specified Controlled Substance Offenses. 3d C'rllnlnal I_a\l,: 1'0s t--1 I-la1 I)roct?ed~ng~ 

c.4h!~-..Jkl_ic:~-i~ni~~:~I 3 378,Violent Crimes Involving Firearms. I N.:I'~st-~l~~~~.iil~~~~~~~~~~d;~g~~ 

CAA .lur. -3d Cr~lninal 1-a\v: r-'osl-*l I-la1 1roceedings -9379, Inflictioil of Great Bodily Injury During Specified Violent 
Offenses. 

C:A Jur. 3d Criminal Law: Post-Trial Proceedinlrs 2 38 1, Felony Conmitted While on Parole or Probation Following 
Imprisonment for Serious or Violent Felony. 

CA Jul-. 3d Criminal La\\[: Post-Trial Proceedings 8 384, Lewd Acts With Children; Continuous Sexual Abuse of 
Child. 

C.4 Jur. 3d (.ll-i~ninal 1 . 3 ~ :  Post-Trial I'roceedings $ 386, Specified Controlled Substances Ofrenses. 

C:,A .flu-. 3d Criniillal Law: Post-Trial Proceedings 2 389, Presentation o r  Circumstances in Aggravation or 

Mitigation of Punishment. 


CA Jur. 3d Crirninal Law: Post--1.1-ial Proceedings 5 39 1,  Court's Discretion to Grant or Deny Probation. 


CA Jur. 3d Criminal 1-aw: Post-'I'rial l'roceedi~~gs 6 400, Validity 


CA Jur. 3d Criminal Law: Post-Trial Proceedings $ 422, Payment of Costs of Probation Services. 


C'A .lur. i d  C:rilninal 1-aw: I'ost-'l'rial I'roceedinjis 5 427,Victims of Crimes Committed on Public Transit Vehicles. 


C'A Sur. 3d-- -- -- --- of Amount 
- C'~-lm~l~al Post-.l't-ial I'roclceditlg.; and Manner of Payment; I _ ~ \ \ J :  b--q,3_2, Determination 
Interest. 

CA Jur. 3d C:riminal Law: Post-Trial Proceedin~s 157, Commitment of Defendant. 

CA Jui-. 3d Crilninal Law: Pos t-Trial I'roceedings $ 162, Order for Incoine Deduction. 

CA Jur. 3d Criminal Law: Post-Trial Proceedings 6 6 19, Sentence and Punishment. 

CA Jur. 3d Criminal Lam: Post-Trial Proceedings 5 766, Estoppel or Waiver of Right to Allege Error 

Cal. .fur. 3 d  Criminal L,aw: Prctrial Proceedings 3 629, Effect of Waiver of Exaininatioil or Plea of Guilty or Nolo 
Contendere. 

C'l. dur. 3d (Iriminal La\\!: Iiights of tllc Acci~bccl s _13-C, Tactical Decisions--Tactical Decisions Regarding 
Concession of Defendant's Guilt. 
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ICY!\ JLLI-. $ 8,Applicability--Courts and Proceedings. -3c1 I~viii~:r~cc 

('A Jur. 3 d hliiniclpal ilics i; 423,County Financial Evaluatio~l Officer. 

Forms 

.5BLIJcst's t-ccicral F.onns App. A, Advisory Committee Notes to Federal Rules of Criininal Procedure. 

Treatises and Practice Aids 

1iu1tt.r. Cal. 1'1-actice Guide: Enl'oi-ciiiri Judgmcnts;Ilcbt< C'11 6.A-2, Enforcement of Judgments Law ("Ej1")-
Background. 


Cl.il11inar I'uacticc h4anual $ 102:3I, Probation--Eligibility. 


6 C:riniinal I'roccdurc. *- Second Edition 3 20.1 ( I ) ) ,  Community Release. 


2 Witkln C'al C'nm. L. 3d Crllnes Agn~iihl G O \ . ' ~  
Aulll 9 8 9 ,  Punishment. 

3 LVltkln Cal Crini. I.. 3d Crimes Againct l'eace Welf 9 126-1, (New) Non-Drug-Related Violations. 

6 Witkin Cal. Crini. L. -3d Crinlinal Judgment 6 144, Information Considered. 

6 Witliin C'al. Criin. L.3d Crilnitlal Judgment 5 163, Limitations. 

6 Witkin Cal. C'i-im. L. 3d Criminal .ludgnlent 5 163, Correction in 60 Days. 

1 Llritkln C'al. --Crim.- I-. 3d Criminal Elemcnts 5 7, (S 7) Wilfulness. 

4 Witkin C'al. CJr~ln.I.-. 3d Pre~rial Proceedings 8 335, Modification of Judgment. 

3 Witkin Cal. C'riin. L. 3d P~uiisllment $ 200, Constitutionality. 

3 Witkill Cal. C1-im. L. 3d Punisliinent 6 279, When Statement is Not Required. 

3 Wilkin Cal. Crim. I-. 3d Punisliment tj 3 14, (S 314) Power to Strike Enhancements. 

3 Witkin C'al. Crilli. I,. 3d Punishnlent 8 503, (S 502) Nature and Purpose. 

--3 Witkin Chi. C'rinl. 1.. 3d l 'unisl~in~it $ 503, (S 503) Probation Officers and Agencies. 

3 Witkin Cal. Crim, I- .  -3d Punishment tj 5 0 5 ,  (S 505) Fonner Statutory Framework, 

3 LYitkili Car. Crim. 1,. 3d Punishment 5 5l2, (S 515) Felony by Person on Parole or Probation. 

3 Witkin CaI. C'ri~il. L.  3d Pi~nisl~ment$ 5 17, (S 517) P.C. 1203. 
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.1i'c'iik111_ill. $ 530,(S 520) Procedure, Crin1.-L.3d I'c~nisl~rnc~~t 

3 ~ V I---tlan--C'al. Cr111i.I-. 3d Pcil l ish~~rc~i~8 53 1 , (S 52 1) Mandatory Requirement. 

i \Vitkin Cal. CI-1111.LA.3d Pcl~lislltlle~ll$ 522, (S 522) Waiver, 

.3 iV11lg11 Ca1. (71-itii. L-.311 Punishment 6 523, (S 523) New Reference After Reversal on Appeal. 

--3 ib'i~kin---CaI..-.Crl~n.1,. 3d Pullislinlen~ 524, (S 524) Effect of Defendant's Ineligibil~ty. 

3 Wi~l;inCal. Criin. I_.3d Punisl~~nenl 6 525, (S 525) in General. 

3 Witki11 Cal. C'I-im. L,. 3d Pur~isllineilt $ 526, (S 536) Required Contents. 

--3 Witkill Cal. Crim. I-, 3d Punishinent $ 528, (S 528) Availability of Report. 

3 Witliin Cal. Crill~. I,. 3d Punishment $ 529, Hearing and Determination. 

3 Witkitl Cal. Critn, I.. 3d Punisl~inent $ 530, Election to Refer. 

3 Iflitkiii Cal. Crinl. LA. 3d Punishment $j53 1 ,  Conditional Sentence. 

,3_ l4'ill;in Cal. C:rill~. L,. 8 532, Discretion of Trial Judge. 3d Pu~rishn~erl~ 

3 Witkin Cal. Crim. L,. 3d P~~~lisllilleilt $ 534, Failure to Determine Merits of Application. 

3 LVitkin Cal. Crinl, r,. 3d Punishment $ 536, Ex Parte Comnlunications. 

3 Mli~kiii Cal. Crilli. L. 3d Punishnlcnt 6 533,  (S 543) Misdemeanor Cases. 

3 Witkin Cal. Crim. I,. 3d Pimishmenl $ 547, (S 547) Pem~issible. 

--? Witkin Cal. Crim. I.,. 3d Pu~~isllinent 9 662, Out-Of-State Supervision of Probationers and Parolees. 

I Witkin Cal. Evid. 4th Introduction S 28, Probation Hearing. -

3C' Wriyht & Miller: Federal Prac. Sr Proc. App. C, Advisory Committee Notes for the Federal Rciles oS Criminal 
Procedure for the United States District Courts. 

13A Wright blr Miller: Federal Prac. Jk Proc. App. €3, Orders of the Supreme Court of the Urrited Stales Adopling 
and Amending Rules. 

NOTES OF DECISIONS 

Accomplices, deadly weapons jI) 

Adequacy of counsel 

Admissibility, evidence @ 

Admissions of accused, prior convictions $5 
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Amendment 6 
Appealable orders, review 102 
Applications for probation 14 
Arined offenses, prior convictions 57 
Binding effect, reports 37 
Certification, reports 
Character of crime 
Collateral estoppel 11j 
Concurrence of district attorney 73 
Conditions of probation 26-3 1 

Conditions of probation - In general 3 

Conditions of probation - Fines 3 

Conditions of probation - Relationship to offense 2 

Conditions of probation - Restitution 30 

Conditions of probation - Searches and seizures 3) 

Conditions of probation - Substance abuse 2 2  


Confinement 80 
Consideration, reports 
Constitutional rights 2 
Construction and application 4 
Construction of orders, suspending sentence or execution -17 
Construction, orders 
Construction with other laws 5 
Contempt C)7 
Contents, reports 33 
Continuance 91 
Correction of record, prior convictions &I 
Counsel, adequacy of 
Criminal record, discretion of court 9 
Deadly weapons 47-53 

Deadly weapons - In general 47 

Deadly weapons - Accomplices a 

Deadly weapons - Evidence 2 

Deadly weapons - Findings 53 

Deadly weapons - Firearms 

Deadly weapons - Knives 49 

Deadly weapons - Time 51 


Defendant's rights, determination 19 
Determination 1 8-36 

Determination - In general 18 
Determination - Dismissed counts 23 
Determination - Form 3 
Determination - Merits 2.1 
Determination - Prior arrests 22 
Determination - Rights of defendant 19 
Determination - Summary grant or denial 2-1. 
Determination - Time 3,5 

Different judges 2 
Discretion of court 8-12 

Discretion of court - In general 8 
Discretion of court - Criminal record 9 
Discretion of court - Recommendations of probation officer !Cj 
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Discretion of court - Specific circumstances of case I7 
Discretioil of court - Specific crimes II 

Discretion, review 105 
Dismissal, prior convictions &I 
Dismissed counts, determination 23 
District attorney, concurrence 73 
Due process 2 
Effectiveness of counsel 
Enforcing judgment 96 
Evidence 53, 87-89 

Evidence - In general 87 

Evidence - Admissibility 

Evidence - Deadly weapons 52. 

Evidence - Weight and sufficiency X') 


Extension, orders 7') 
Final judgment 98 
Findings, deadly weapons 53 
Fines, conditions of probation 31 
Firearms, deadly weapons 48 
Foreign jurisdictions, prior coi~victions 3 
Form, determination &I 
Great bodily injury or torture 5.C 
Harmless error, review 1 0 7  
Hearsay, reports 57 
Indictment and information 
Informati011Q 
Inspection, reports 3 
Interpreters, reports 40 
Judgment, enforcement of 9(, 
Judicial discretion 8-12. 
Judicial irnrnuility 9S) 
Jurisdictioi~&I 
Juveniles @ 
Knives, deadly weapons 
Legislative intent 2 
Liability, reports 44 
Mandamus, review jHJ 
Merits, determination 2 
Minors 61 
Misdemeanors 4(, 
Modification of judgment, review jI1 
Modification or extension, orders 7') 
Moral turpitude 67 
Multiple counts 71 
Narcotics, generally 
Narcotics, conditions of probation ZX 
Nature of probation 13 
New trial J(J 
Objections, reports 43 
Orders 76-79 

Orders - In general 76 

Orders - Construction 78 
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Orders - Modification or extensioil _79 
Orders - Propriety 27 

Pardons, prior coilvictions (,3 
Petit theft hc) 
Plea bargains fi 
Powers, suspeilding sentence or executioil 1~2 
Prejudicial error, review 1C)8 
Presumptions, generally 90 
Presumptions, review 10(5 
Prior arrests, detennination 32 
Prior convictions 55432. 

Prior convictions - In general 5 j  

Prior convictions - Admissions of accused 56 

Prior convictions - Armed offenses 57 

Prior convictions - Correction of record hC) 

Prior convictions - Dismissal ( ~ 1  

Prior convictions - Foreign jurisdictions iS 

Prior convictions - Pardons (,2. 

Prior convictions - Time jo 


Probation applications &I 
Probation conditions 26-3 1 
Probation, nature 13 
Probation officer's recommendations, discretion of court 11) 
Probation, rejection 82 
Probation, ten11 
Propriety, orders 77 
Public officials 
Purpose, generally 7 
Purpose, reports 33 
Recommendations of probation officer, discretion of court 11) 
Record, review 114 
Rejection of probation 83 
Relationship to offense, conditions of probation 27 
Remand, resentencing 95 
Remand, review 113 
Reports 33-45 

Reports - In general 31 

Reports - Binding effect j7 

Reports - Certification j8 

Reports - Contents 

Reports - Consideration 36 

Reports - Hearsay 42 

Reports - Inspection 3') 

Reports - Interpreters 10 

Reports - Liability *$ 

Reports - Objections 43 

Reports - Purpose 33 

Reports - Statements in aggravation 

Reports - Supplementation j5 

Reports - Waiver 4_5 


Res judicata 
Resentencing 91.95 
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Reselltencing - In general 93 
Resentencing - Remand 25 

Restitution, conditions of probation 30 
Review 103- 1 14 

Review - In general 10' 

Review - Appealable orders 103 

Review - Discretion 105 

lieview - Harmless error 

lieview - Mandamus 110 

Review - Modification of judgtnent I! 

Review - Prejudicial error 103 

Review - Presumptions u,c7 

Review - Record 111 

Review - Reinand 113 

Review - Scope 104 

Review - Time 112 

Review - Waiver of objections 


Rights of defendant, determination fi 
Scope, review 103 
Searches and seizures, conditions of probation 3() 
Sentence and punishment 92 
Sentencing hearing C)3 
Sex offenders 66 
Specific circumstances of case, discretion of court 13 
Specific crimes, discretion of court ll 
Statements in aggravation, reports _3_! 
Substance abuse, conditions of probation 3 
Sufficiency of evidence 
Summary grant or denial, determination 2 
Supplementation, reports 35 
Suspending sentence or execution 1 5 - 17 

Suspending sentence or execution - In general Is 
Suspending sentence or execution - Construction of orders 17 
Suspending sentence or execution - Powers fi 

Term of probation a 
Time, deadly weapons 51 
Time, determination 2 
Time of judgment or sentence 74.75 

Time of judgment or sentence - In general 7-1 
Time of judgment or sentence - Waiver 12 

Time, prior convictions ;I() 
Time, review a 
Torture 
Unusual cases 70 
Validity 1 
Waiver of objections, review lJC) 
Waiver, reports 35 
Waiver, time of judgment or sentence Z2 
Weapon offenses, prior convictions 5 7 
Weight and sufficiency, evidence el 
Withdrawal of plea & 
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1.Validity 

Provision of this section permitting judge, with district attorney's concurrence, to grant probatioil did not deny due 
process or equal protection on ground that California prisoner, allegedly otherwise eligible for probation, was denled 
probation because of lack of district attorney's concurrence, despite lack of prescribed statutory standard as to 
concurrence, in absence of showing that this section had been applied. Chrom~a l~  C' .A &oh\ - 1-I~IcI. 9 (<'a1 ) lC)_(,'), 

90 S Cc 581. 396 U S  1017. 24 I t d 2 ~ l508. ~cu~~lil~~J~g_nz!! ;SICl;I2d503, certiorari denied -__ -- tau r  

--c c ~ n ~ t l t ~ , l i ~ ~ l l a lI ,:,\I -473 I 

This section was not unconstitutionally vague where the t e rn~  "unusual cases" was not used in isolation, but was 
modified by the requirement that the interests of justice demand or would be best served by the granting of 
probation. People v. Wilson (App. 2 Dist. 1973) 1 10 C.al.llptr. 104. 34 Cai.iipp.3ci 522.  Constitutic~ilal1 - i i ~ v  
473 1 ;Sel~tuncincAnd Pullisluncnl 1875 

Within this section authorizing grant of probation in "unusual" cases which would otherwise be subject to statutory 
prohibition of probation, where "the interests of justice would best be served thereby," portion which requires 
coilcurrence of the district attorney is invalid as constituting violation of doctrine of separation of powers, despite 
contentions that the power to grant probation is wholly statutory and not part of the inherent judicial power, and that 
this section provides definite standard marking arbitrary countywide policy impossible; but the concurrence 
e q i - m e n  is severable. o I . (1 1 y . 4 1 is I I 9 7 I ) 06 (1 .I . (-~L~III.I.!.~.!tic.a 
I..a\v 237 1 ; Senrenciii~And Funishment l S ? j ;  _?&~lutcs Cw 

Question of constitutionality of this section requiring district attorney's concurrence in grant of probation to a 
defendant who has used or attempted to use deadly weapon upon human being in connection with perpetration of 
crime of which he was convicted where defendant's case has been found to be unusual and probation is therefore 
permitted was prematurely raised where court never asked district attorney's concurrence in the granting of 
probation to defendant convicted of voluntary manslaughter committed with a deadly weapon and where it was not 
clear that case had been found to be unusual, I'coplc c . \'illcj~as (App. 2 Uist. 197 1 ) 0 2  C'r~l.Rpt~-663. 14 C'al.illpp.3d 
7x1. C o n s t ~ i ~ ~ t ~ c ~ ~ ~ : ~ l  l ~ \ v  978 

Question of constihltionality of this section requiring concurrence of district attorney with views of court before 
grant of probat~on may be made to person who is otherwise ineligible was moot and did not require ruling where 
record did not contain probation report and did not show either directly or by inference that probation was denicd 
because of  noncurrence of  district attorney. PcopIc v I 1  lernd~ldc/ (App 5 1) 1 4 1 .  !96:L_(li) L1r.tl_l<lllr.--43j1 36) 
('al.App 2d 242.Crinl~nalI an1 1 1 28( I ) 

Anendinent restricting right of trial judge to grant probation to any defendant who shall have been convicted of 
robbery or to any public official who, in discharge of duties of his public office of employment, embezzled money, 
does not violate Constitution by attempting to affect right of courts to issue writs or impair exercise of their trial or 
appellate jurisdictions. E o p l e  \ .  Ilc4s ( h p p .  2 Dist. 1 9 5 4  107 C'al.App.3d 407.337 Il.2~1 5 6 8 .  Constitutional 1 - a ~ : ~  

2.37 I ~ \ ~ I ~ - I ' L I I I I ~ I I I ~ I C ' I I ~; Sentenci11~ 1825 

Where court in granting probation fixed confinement in county jail for first six months under this section as 
amended by Stats. 1927, p. 1493, and offense was committed prior to amendment, at which time court had no power 
to confine defendants, since coui-t in its mercy in endeavoring to reform individuals saw fit to inflict punishment 
considerably less than that imposed by law for the offense of which they were guilty, defeildants were not deprived 
of substantial right, and therefore arneildnient could not be said to violate constitutional inhibition against ex post 
facto laws. h s c  Nacllr~aber(;21,p. 3 Dih~.1928) 89 Ca1.A~p.530%26.5 P. 397. 

This section, as amended in 19 1 1 was not invalid. 1 : ~  parte Ciianni~li (APJ,. 1912) 18 (1';d.App. 166, 131 1'. $31 .  
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2. Constitirtional rights 

Police officer had authority to search defendant's vehicle, after defendant informed him that he had a gun in trunk of 
car, under I 'L ' I~~I ICode 4 1303 1, regardless of whether they have probable cause to believe that i t  was loaded; thus, 
di-~rgs which police officer found in plain view during search of automobile were admissible; declining to follow 
P(w~,lt' 1 1  l<c1411, 93 C'al.App.3cl 779, 155 Cal.Kptr 877 ( 1 Dibt.). U.S. L'. Bradv. C ii .9 (Cal 11387- 8 19 1 '  3ii_:S1, 
G i o r a r i  denied 108 S.CL.1032. 484 U.S. 1068, 98 I . .Ed . l d  996. 

A state may restrict a constitutional right in imposing a probation condition, but only when the restriction is 
narrowly drawn to serve a compelling state interest. People c-. I-larribson (App.  3 DIA.3005) 36 Cal.T<ptr3d 364._I_33 
Ci1 .+21?1~.4lhh i  7, modified on denial of rehearing , review denied. Scllieilcill~And P u n ~ s l ~ ~ n e i ~ t  1 963 

Conditions of probation that impinge on constitutional rights inust be tailored carefully and reasonably related to he 
compelling state interest in reformation and rehabilitation. [II re I3~ ron  I3 ( I ~ J ~ - L ) _ I \ L  i~!-2O!)$!_l -l__llal,j<pt~SO! 
I 10 L'nl . i \p~>-Ill1 10 13. Sentenclll And I'ull~\hniznl-- 1963 

An adult probation condition is overbroad if it unduly restricts the exercise of a constitutional right. ![I rc 13~11g1~ 113: 
(hpp .  -1 D i \ t  2994) 14 Cal.Rptr.3d 805, 119 Cal.App.4tll l 0 l i .  Scnlellc~ll"And I'un~shnlent 1963. 

A defendant does not have a constitutional right to a jury trial on issues of restitution. I'eoplc \,. L3sacli (..pp. 3 [zl_s_~ 

3)02) !!_ijg!.Il\~t-_2d 753, 95 Cal.App.4th 5 3 ,  as modified. .Iur\~ 24 

A condition of probation which requires a defendant to give up a constitutional right is not per se unconstitutional. 
G11llnmv L.n \  C:aurl (App .  3 Ilist. 197-9) 1 59 _l'a1.1<p_tr17~,-~7r211gcles~ ~ L L I I I C I ~ X I ~  C'g!-App~>d_7JN, certiorari denied 
100 S Ct. l085, 445 IJ.S. 907, 63 [..Ed ?d 323. Scntc:~~cnlg A11d P u n i h n l  I O()J 

Parolees, as well as probationers, although entitled to Fourth and Fifth Amendment constitutioilal rights, are not 
entitled to the h l l  panoply of rights possessed by the average citizen. People 1,. Icenoglc (Ar~1>~-2-1>1~-_1').?7_) 
('i1I I i p~c (~-37 .  6671 Cal.App 3d 576. Pardon And Pasolc 

Pen.C. b,$ 1323 1.5,1389 et seq., according constitutional rights to prisoners in federal correctional institutions and 
elsewhere by interstate compact on detainers were not applicable to defendant who had had complete trials on 
charges of burglary and attempted burglary, and order revoking probation granted defendant f o l l ~ w i n ~ s u s ~ e n s i o n  of 
sentences on convictions of such charges would not be set aside on theory that 14-months' delay in considering 
defendant's request for an immediate hearing on revocation of his probation violated his constitutional right to 
speedy trial. 1'cc)~~IsL 13uccliei-I (App 2 Ulst 1909)1_-83 Cr11.Rp1r 3 2 I L  2 CCtilt2pp13_cl 843. ~ c ~ i ~ c j - ~ ~ r i i g~_) l i~!  

I1uni\hnicnt 3025;  1:~tradi~lonhlld Dg inc rh  w-5~ 

-3. Due process 

Fifty-day delay of sentence after conviction while judge was awaiting probation report or for convenience of counsel 
was not denial of due process in view of 5 1191 and this section which provide that court may extend time for 
pronouncing judgment until probation officer's report is received and until any proceediilgs for granting or denying 
probation have been disposed of and which authorize court to refer matter to probation officer for investigation of 
facts relevant to sentence even if a defendant is not entitled to or eligible for probation. Ucvi11x I<liri~c~.,\ I ,  CCCA.C) 

2cl ?i?. ~ ~ ~ ~ i ~ ~ ~ ~ i ~ t ~ o ~ i a l((Lgl 1J O O O .  '36i I I.a\v 47 I fi 
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A defendant's d ~ l e  process rights on restitutioil are protected if he is given notice of the anlount of restitution sought 
and an opportunity to contest that amount; the rigorous procedural safeguards required during the guilt phase, 
including the right to a jury, are not required. I'coplg 1 ,  I ~ s ~ \ c ~ - & J L ~ .3 Dist. 2002)- Il-J-C'al.!<pt~-.?d?.Fi1!/S 
Cal . ibq--4th 571, as modified. Cc,nslltuc~onal 1-a~v 4737 

When a probation report has not been timely received and the defense has made a specific objection and requested a 
continuance, the failure to follow the requirements of the l'enal Code constitutes a denial of due process, requiring 
remand for resentencing. I'cople 13011a11non(App. 3 1)isl. 2000) 98 (:al.Kpts.?d 388. 82 _C'al.i\p13.4111 798, review \ I .  

denied. Const~t~l t~on;~l  4706L a n ~  

Defendant, found to have violated his probation for conviction of drug violations by failing to report to probationary 
officer for over two years was properly denied further probatioil and sentenced to three years imprisonment, despite 
fact he was alleged.1~ in the area; probation officer's failure to try to locate defendant after he found out that 
defendant had not finished serving weekends in prison, as required by terms of his probation, did not deny defendant 
due process, where it had recently been brought to defendant's attention that he had to report to his probation officer 
where defendant knew the authorities were looking for him, malung it obvious he was not mislead regarding his 
probationary status. Pcople 1;. ?'owe (App .  2 [list. 1984) 204 C,:al.Kpts. 733, 1 8  C:a1..i\pp33il 364, 
l'ul-~ishment 3033 

Defendant is entitled to an opportunity to respond to adverse sentencing information. I'eor~le 1.. ~I~~~LIcIcIc( 1978) 15Jj 
C;il.Ilptr. 778,-21 Co1.3d 749: 537 1'.2cl 220. Sentenci11.c And P~il~isl~lnent 368 

Sentencing court's receipt of information adverse to defendant without his knowledge and without affording hiin 
opportunity to respond undermines appearance of fairness of proceeding. In 1-c I-Itln~o~Ii (,-App. 4 Dist. 197'7),,_!3C; 
C'al.Rptl-.00 1,117 Cal.App.3d 913. Sentencing And I'unishrncl1( w214 

A defendant is not afforded procedural due process protections in probation hearings when procedures employed are 
"fundamentally unfair" to him. People v. Edwarcls ( 197(,1_ I35 Cal.Rplr. 1 1  1 ,  18 _(,'a1.-3d7')(,?- >7-_!) 2 4  0');;. 

Constitutlc,nnl I an 473 I 

A statement of reasons for denying probation when denial is contrary to a recommendation therefore is a preferred 
practice, but an unfairness that offends procedural due process concepts does not result by an absence of such a 
statement. h o p l e  v. I'dwards (I976) 115 Cal.Rptr. 41 1 ,  18 C;II 3d 796, 557 P.2d 9%. Constitutional I.aw 
373313) 

It was error for trial court to receive ex parte communication froin prosecutor concerning defendant's sentencing, 
without first allowing defendant opportunity to respond to charges contained in communication. 111 L-c (-'cdb>~~n 
~ 1 9 7 6 )130 C;AI<ptr. 139, 17 Cal.3d 75, 549 1'.2d 1235. S C I I I C I I C I I ~ ~  A11d !)LLIII~IIIIC~IJ 2 3 8  

The same procedural safeguards are not required at probation hearings as in the case of a trial on the issue of guilt, 
but an applicant for probation is entitled to relief on due process grounds if the hearing procedures are 
fundamentally unfair. People v.  I'eterson (1973) 108 C:al.Rptr. 8 3 5 ,  9 Cal.3d 717, 5 1 1  I1.2ci 1 187. ~ ~ ~ ) i ~ s ~ l l u t i o ~ ~ a l  
1-3~- 3733(2); Senteuc~ng And Pimisht~~ent 1907 

4.Coilstruction and application 

"Conditional sentence" imposed on defendant for reckless driving in California state court constitutecl "criminal 
justice sentence" under federal sentencing guidelines, wai-ranting addition of two points to criininal history 
coinputatioil upon conviction for tax evasion, even though probation office did not supervise defendant ~inder state 
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sentence, since defendant was supervised by being required to report directly to state court. UL> - <'olJ!!~,: 
N 11.Ca1.1998,28 i:.Supp 3c1 1114.Scntenci~t)cAnd l ' u n ~ s l ~ ~ n e ~ ~ t  790 

Statcite requiring defendants to pay presentence probation report costs applied to defendant sentenced to state prison 
rather than probation; statutory language expressly stated that grant of probation was not condition to paynlent 
obligation, and legislative history showed that purpose of statutory amendment was to expand obligation to pay 
costs to case in which defendant was not granted probation. l'i'upli' v .  ICobinson (A~Y~Y.3 Ilict. 2 0 0 2 )  128 C;d.!j~>!j-Lj 
(1I:;. 1 (N(':~I.ilpp 4th 002. SentcncingAild Punisl~ment 1975(3) 

Summary probation is not authorized in felony cases; grant of informal or suimnary probation is a conditional 
sentence, and conditional sentences are authorized only in misdemeanor cases. m p l e  \ . (;l:g&\l?~~--? 019-2jjO\i) 

--07 C'al I<~,tr.2ti 847, 83 Cal.App.4th 99, review denied, appeal after new sentencing hearing 300 I LVLI I20]4>S, 
unpublished. Sn tenc~nr !  And Punishment 1006 

Although traditional view that a grant of probation is a privileged act of grace or clemency has been discredited in 
favor of inodei-n view that such a grant should be deemed an alternative form of punishment in those cases when it 
can be used as a correctional tool, mechanics of granting or denying probation have not been prescribed by statutory 
or judicial guidelines nor have they often been tested against procedural process requirements. I:~(II? Ic- 1. _ l - c t \ i  '11L l \  
( 1  076)133 Cul.K,tr. 4 1 1 .  18 Cal.3d 796. 557 lJ.2d 995.Scnteiicl~le Aitd I1'ulusl~lnent I890e-


This section applies to municipal courts. In re Ilcrron (1933) 217 Cal. 4001 19 P.3d-4. Sciitunc~~iqAnd _PU~ISI~IIIC!~J 
I309 

The word "probation" as used in Cal.Stats. 1981, c. 940, includes informal as well as formal probation. ~GJ 

Qp.rZLtv.Gct~.903. 11-29-8 I .  

-5 . Construction with other laws 

Legislature clearly intended Well'. & 11lst.C.$ 6301 (repealed) to apply to those ineligible for probation under the 
penal code, where this section relating to probation did not designate any type of offender who was absolutely 
ineligible for probation regardless of unusual circumstances, and where distinction between whether those described 
in subsections of this section relating to unusual circumstances were technically eligible for probation unless the 
court ruled that the case was not an unusual one, or whether they were ineligible unless the court ruled that the case 
was an unusual one, was a distinction of semantics and not of substance insofar as was concerned. \Yell', C !  111stC:. $ 

( 3 3 0 1 .  l-)eople\.. Wilson (App, 2 Dist. 1973) 110 Cal.Rptr. 104, 34 CalI~\ppP3d521.klenfal Ilealth 454 

Section 12022.5 imposing increased punishment for person who uses firearm in commission or attempted 
commission of robbery was inapplicable to conviction for assault with a deadly weapon, and therefore, judgment 
was modified to provide that defendant was armed within meaning of this section and weapon was specified to be a 
gun. People \ .  C'ervantes (App. 2 Dist. 1970) 91 Cwl.K~,ts. 60 I .  13 C'al "Ipp3d li;i7. Cr~imn~al l,au 1lS?II); 
Sclitcr~ci~ig-- -'hid i'unisl~menl w 

Determinations of nature of weapon and its use for purposes of applying Ij$ 3024 (repealed), 12022 prescribing 
miniillurn terms for armed offenders and additional punishment for commission of felony while armed are to be 
made by properly instructed jury on specific allegation as to each count and to be set forth in special verdict as to 
each count, but determination as to nature of weapon and its use for purpose of this section providing that probation 
would not be granted to defendant who was anned with deadly weapon at time of perpetration of crime or at arrest is 
matter for court's consideration, subsequent to con~pletion by jury of its functions. Pcol7Je \ lfarl-~\oll(App 3 I ~ I ~ I  
C170-1Sj Cal l<ptr. 302.5 CaI..A1,p,3d 602. C ' I - I I I I I ~ : ~ ~12a\v 6 k J 796 
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This section authoriziilg court to grant probation in all misdemeanor cases supersedes restriction upon grant of 
probation to persons so as to permit probatioil to one with feloily conviction if he is given mere county jail sentence 
so as to make crime misdemeanor. People v. l3cnlal-d (!Zr)pL-?_!JL\L_ 1065) C $ _ - L ~ ~ ~ I { ~ ) L ~  >cj_-3<).-1C101_114.~c1J,;\j717 
Scn~cnclngi\lyl I'ull~shn~co~ 1838 

The definition of a "deadly weapon" in 8 3024 (repealed) dealing with minimum terins for arnled or pl~ol- offenders, 
is not applicable to this section, providing that probation shall not be granted to a defendant who used a "deadly 
weapon" on a human being. f'eople v. Henderson ( A ~ I I .1957) 15 1 C:il.i\pp 2d 407, 3 I 1 I'.2d .SC)4.k!~tci~c!w~g->!n~J 
I'unish~nent 1827 

Statutes requiring performance of certain acts in connection with granting of probation, such as ordering that 
probationer's fingerprints be taken and furnishing him with probation papers, are mandatory. People v .  hI~11icipi11 
Court of Oxnard-Port liucncme Judicial Dist.. Venlura Countv (App. 1956) 145 Cal.App.2~1 767. 30-3 _ l3.2ct-37. 
Sclltcncinrr,A11d punish in en^ 1827 

The definition of "deadly weapon" contained in indeterminate sentence statute defines the phrase only for purpose 
of that statute and has no bearing upon meaning of same words when used in other provisions of the Penal Code. 
Pcoplc v.  I\ancr (App. 1 D l  1918) 86 Cal.App 2'1 107. 101 1',2P-3-~, S C T I I C ~ I K ! ~  l ' u n ! i l ~ m e n ! - ~  l;. b c l  
Sentcnz~ilg.And Punishment 78 

No constitutional provision forbids trial judge to grant probation without first imposing sentence. [1!_ t y  j&-\'\)_e 
JApp. 2 Dist. 193 1 )  1 14 Cal.App. 730. 300 P 871. Sentencinc Anti Pu1u~11111cnt*1931 

-6. Amendment 

Amendment adopted in 1984 to this section dealing with probation reports makes mandatory a referral to the 
probation department for investigation of facts relevant to the determination of the amount of restitution fines, but 
leaves to the court's discretion whether the probation officer must also investigate facts relevant to sentencing. 
-I'cople \ ' .  Goldsteln (App. I Dist. 1990) 272 Cal.Rptr SS1, ! \ I K ~  

Punihhrnent *276 
323 C'i11 ilpp.3~1462,review denied. S e n ~ c t ~ c ~ t ~ y ,  

Effect of 1957 amendment to this section was to create new area where probation should be denied but where it  
might be granted in unusual cases in discretion of court and to remove from absolute prohibition of probation crinles 
of robbery, burglary and arson, and except for those three specified crimes, portion of section absolutely prohibiting 
probation for enumerated crimes continues to constitute an absolute prohibition of probation for those crimes. 
1)coplc v Orranlc (App. 1 ,,111ci- - Dlst. 1962) 20 Cal.Rptr-. 480. 201 CaI I+4p17.2cl5 5 3 .  SCII~~~ .~LICI I IL!  
1835 

Amendment of this section so as to onlit provisions for deducting any time served in jail as a condition of probation 
from term of confinement imposed upon revocation of probation and failure to otherwise provide by statute for such 
credit disclosed legislative intent that upon revocation of probation and imposition of sentence defendant should not 
be given credit for time served in jail as a condition of probation. 1 3  pai-te flays (App. 1 I l i s~ .1953) I 20 C1al?.A~71~.3d 
308.260 1'.3d---1030.- Sentencing And Punishment 2041-

Amendinent of this section so as to omit provisions for deducting any time served in jail as a condition of probation 
from term of confinement imposed upon revocation of probation and failure to provide otherwise by statute for such 
credit disclosed legislative intent that upon revocation of probation and imposition of sentence, defendant should not 
be given credit for time served in jail as a condition of probation. 1 : ~partc I-Iap b1~1_I_ C;ll.,\j,pLl~st.1 ' ! ~ _ ~ ! - _ ~ 2 [ )  2tl 
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3 0 8 ) 2 0 0  I'.2cI 1030. Sentencing And Piu~isliment 204 1 

Ainendment of this section, providing that probation should not be granted to ally public ofiic~al or "employee" of 
statc who embezzled public money, by which quoted word was omitted and "peace officer" substituted delinltely 
determined that an employee of the state was eligible for probation. jc.lhac,fc~-L -C;uperl_co!- c'i)y~ll-lngj~_cl_ >i111~:l 
t3;uhnm Cou~lty (App. 1953) 1 13 Cal App.2d 428, 248 I3,Zd 450. Ssi~tcncini~ /\i1c1 ~ ' L L I ~ ~ ~ ~ I I I ~ c ~ ~ IIS27 

The legislature, in amending this section prohibiting probation of one convicted of robbery while arined with deadly 
weapon by inserting word "himself' before "arined," is presumed to have known of previous judicial constniction of 
statute as forbidding probation of one acting with companion armed with deadly weapon in coinmission of robbery, 
though not persoilally armed with such a weapon, and to have intended to change law so as to forbid pi-obation only 
of one convicted of robbery while himself armed with deadly weapon. I'ec~~)leV. Cdl.2d..(j.2.:...2.3jj1'~Lkjj~=uuii!.C,.-S.!~_-~7.~ 
P.2d 353.  Sentencing And Punisl~mei~t 1 874 

Amendment of this section after accused had been placed on probation so as to extend time for pronouncen~ent of 
judgment until any probationary proceeding has been disposed of was procedural in nature, was not ex post facto, 
and did not deprive accused of a vested right. Pcoplc v. Willlains ( 1944) 34 C'a1.7~1348. 1 5 1 lJ.21244. Cc~ l s l i i~ t~c )  l!gl 


1.aw 28 18; Sentencing And Punish~nent 1825 


Where 60-day sentence was suspended and defendant was placed on probatioil for 2 years, comrnitlllellt after 
expiration of maximum possible term for defendant's offense, which was 6 months, was within jurisdiction of 
justice's court as against contention that reenactment of statute authorizing suspension of sentence for period not to 
exceed maximum possible term and providing exceptions repealed statute under which coinrnitment was had. kng 
i ' l i l~~e l i  I'.7d 1826( h p p  1 Ihst. 1936) 11Cal.App.2d 216.7 1353. Scnterlc~ng 4nd l ' u n i ~ l i ~ ~ ~ c ~ ~ r  

Amendments concerning indeterminate sentence and probation were ex post facto, and therefore inapplicable to 
defendant who committed offense before amendments were enacted. ~ - g g p ~ g q _ _ L ) a ~I (130) 7 I 0 ( . ; i l  360 - J1)2I'\oti ( 

--267.Seilteiicing And Punishment 1006; Sentcnclilg i\lld l'~1n~s1111len~ Jl-ZS; (>~ir~llul~oiialJ i~ iy  
2818 

Amendment adding clause "not amounting to a felony", without expressly omitting clause "if probatioil is not 
denied", from this section providing that court may summarily deny probation or hear and determine in defendant's 
presence the matter of probation of defendant on conditions, if granted, and providing that court must immediately 
refer matter to probation officer for investigation if probation is not denied, did not repeal power granted to the court 
to summarily grant probation in misdemeanor cases without reference to probation officer. 16 0p.Atty.Gen. 72. 

2.Purpose, generally 

In enacting statute governing persons ineligible for probation, the legislature intended to eliminate the trial court's 
discretioil to grant probation to a defendant convicted of a violent felony while on probation for a violeilt felony 
conviction. Pcopltt v. Neild (App. 3 Dist. 2002) 121 &l<ptl-.?d 803, 99 C:il.A~y?4111122.3, modified on denial of 
rehearing , review denied. Sentencing And Punishment 1801 

The legislature in enacting statute forbidding grant of probation for those convicted of a violent felony while on 
probation for a violent felony conviction did not intend its mandatory language to be subject to language of statute 
giving the sentencing court discretion to strike allegatioils that would enhance punishment in the furtherance of 
justice. People Neild (App. 4 Disl. 2002) 12 1 Cal.Rptr.2cl 803, 99 Cal.App.41I1 1333, modified on denla1 of \I. 

rehearing , review denied. Sentenciils And Punisl~mcrlt 1803 
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Clear i i~ te i~t  of probation sections of Penal Code and especially of $ 1203.4 providil~g that upon expiration of per~od 
of probatioi~ court upon proper motion may set aside feloily conviction and dismiss information, thereby releasing 
defendant from all penalties and disabilities resulting from conviction, is to effect complete rehabilitation of those 
convicted of crime, and record of one released is wiped clean, subject to reinstatement only when person commits 
another and subsequent crime or for purposes of certain exceptional situations. Pcol~lc T,l\llnr (App 2 111.;~ 19(i(1)\ I _ .  

-3 _C\l l<pt~-I Xi((,. 178 Cal.App i d  377. Sentellc~ng 4 n i l  I'u~l~\hnlcnt 1953 

The purpose of ainei~dment in 1957 to this section respecting probation to defendant convicted of robbeiy was to 
remove the crime of robbery with a deadly weapon from the list of offenses for which probatioil is absolutely 
prohibited. m - > l e  v. Ilollis (App, 2 Ilisl. 1959) 1 C'al+I<~->ts.203. 1-75C_'a_.Ap_p.2~!_~,3. :I!,lSg!ltil!ic~~~g I ~ ~ I ! I ~ I ~ I I I ~ I ~ :  

1813 

Legislative branch of government has power to declare that in certain criminal cases probation may not be granted, 
and it is not province of court to question wisdom of policy behind enactment of such statute. Bcnnett v. Super~oi-
Court oSI'laccr Countv (App. 1955) 13 1 Cal.App.?d 841.28 1 1' 2d ?e. I.a\vCOiis~i~~~ioil l l!  2507(3] 

To justify denial of permission to apply for probation on ground that circumstances of particular case bring 
defendant within an exception to basic rule with respect to probation, it must appear clearly and with certainty that 
the legislature intended an exception to such rule to render defendant ineligible for probation. Si.!l:~&j-\_- S L I ~ ~ W ~ ( ~ I -
Cour[ in and lbr Sanla Barbara County (App. 1953) 1 1 3  C ' a l l l p p  3d 12S1238l,_;d_-I-)(j. S~~~~~jg~lg._?n~I'uli~~~lnc.lir 

1870 

The benefits of the probation law are intended for defendants who deny guilt and are convicted, as well as those who 
plead guilty. People v. Iiicl<son (App. 4 Dist. 1953) 1 I2 Cal.hpp.2d 475, 736 P.3d 700. Sentcnc~llg ilnci I'i1iiis1111ie111 

1883 

-8. Discretion of court--In general 

Probation is a matter solely within the sound, but broad, discretion of the court. Pecylc 1 .  \Yilso~~(IL173) 110 
--Cal.Rptr. 104. 33 Cal.App.3d 524; People r.Cosla (1930) 290 P. 891. 108 Cyal.App. 90, 

Probation is act of clemency, the granting or denial of which is within discretion of trial judge. I.:gkjpk I.cj-t~ailclc,r 
11963) 35 Cal.Iik~tr. 370, 222 Cal.App.2d 760; People v. 13;zg!c~f( 19b3)jt_C'~L~L~tr1(7G.?. S I N .118 ('t11./\1?~~.711 

A petition for probation is addressed to the sound discretion of the trial court. I'coplc t-. Jeniliilgs~jC)j3)37(1_1'.3d 
124, 139 Cal.App.3d 130; People 11. Bal-tges (1954) 273 P.2d 49, 126 Crzl.Agp 2d 77,amended 275 P,3d 5 18.  128 
Cal.App.2d 496; People v. Coopcr ( 1954) 366 P.2d 566, 122 Cal.iIpp.3d 353; Pcoplc. \ I .  1Zick~o11( 1  953) 3-40 I',?d 
700, 1 12 C'al.fIpp.3d 475; People v. Dandy ( 195 1) 334 T' 3d h I .  1Oh C'al.tIpr).?d 19; I_uxirte Ilcal-c~ ( 1950) 3 I -lp.-;d 
585, 96 Cal App.2d 141; People \I. .Jackson (1949) 200 P.3d 204, 89 Cal App.3d 18I ;  l)col3le \ I .  Sllcel-lnan (l939) 93 
P.2d 507. 33 Col.App.2d 1 ;  People v. Wiley (1930) 91 P.3d 907, 33 C'al.App.3d 129; ceoplc \I Yuen (1930) S(1 f' 2il 
438, 33 (:al.A_up.2d 151, hearing denied 90 P.2d 29 1 ,  33 C'al.App.2d 151, certiorari denied 60 S.CYt I 15: 308 1J S 
555, 84 [,.Ed. 466; People 1,. Bill (1934) 3.5 P.2d 645, 140 C;zl.,~\13p389; I'eolIl~'1, 13r~aiit(1')39) 28 I_P_ 404. 1 U I  
Ca1,App. 84. 

Whether trial court will grant probation to convicted defendant is within discretion of trial court. l~~ .~ j , ! c .~ ,_ I<ag~~:~ ,  
(19.54) 27 1 I3.2d 144, 125 Cal.App.2d 7?9; l3eol7le v. / \ c ~ a ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ l . ? ~ j l - ~ ~ ~ ~ . j ' ~ ~ ~ ~ . , ~ ~ ~ . ~ .100 (.~;il.~\~~~:~~~.-~j-~;l:k(,p!c.~: 
\VaIu-mund(1950) 206 P.2d 56, 91 Cal.App.Zd 258; mI.c.-y:.-. <~~~~~1i~~Ij~~9~~-2~].,-1-~_I__I~~~,~~1_~~j.2.48 C:1 i1 .~41~,1~~2~c~~i~(~ i~ j ;  
b ~ l ev. 13lankenship ('1936) 61 1'.2d 352, 16 Cal.c\p~3.2.d 606; People v .  h/lol'lc11sc11(I(135).>1 1',2c1 4.50, 	 l.[j 

7 -Cal.App.2d 124; People v. Bra11111 (1929) 277 P.896, 98 C:al./Il~p. 733; S\I017~dil \:,.l.'i~~-kitl( 1(1)25j 2321)_2.S_I.,._:.s 

--C'al.App. 148. 
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Under this section, admission of one convicted of crime to probation rests entirely in trial court's discretion. 1't.clillc 
\ . It'tank ( 1049) 2 1 1 I'.?d 350. 94 Gal 1113~72cI 740; l'~~o13le J - I ~ ~ ~ ~ O ~ \ I ! >lL(42-j)2-lJj :!(I;. 74- -c'+l.,!1113- -401 ; I;L~OJ~IC 
\. . I)UIIIOP ( 1913)150 1'. 389, 27 C'izl.Al>p. 160;F ' C ( I ~ ~ I C  '\, ! ~ Z L I C \ . _ ( ~ ~ )  I [', S(78--- (1]-iO_fi- J 2 ('ill .*\l?p _'7 3. 

Court has wide discretion in admitting persons to probation. I'e~131c\.. I lc.llr-l!93?) 7 2 P  ZcL?[I27 3  l'a1:\1~1? 7d 
u;Ex parte McVetly (1929) 277 I-'. 745, 08 C'al.,App. 723. 

Under California law, court has discretion to grant or deny probation to one who is eligible. A~-l<cta v. WL9!~~)gl_C2.\.~l 
(C'al.) 1967, 373 F.2d 581. Sentencing And l~~ulisliment 1 SO2 

Trial court has broad discretion to determine probation conditions. Pcoplc v. Icwizera (-4pp. I Ilist. 3000) 03 
C:al.Kplr.ld 522, 78 C7al.App.4th 1238, review denied. S&!cnclng llnd Punishnicnt 1962 

Imposition of mandatory five-year sentence enhancement for a prior serious felony conviction does not deprive trial 
court of its discretion to grant probation to a defendant who is otherwise eligible. f3537kl~j-_ 'IL~~I!.C>'Ci_il~p~-[II>[ 

1998) 76 Cal.Rplr.ld 374, 65 Cal.App.ll11 279. Scntei~cliig And I'unlshnicn~ lfi7z(?j 

Grant or denial of probation is within the trial court's discretion, and the defendant bears a heavy burden when 
attempting to show an abuse of that discretion. People t.. Aubrey (App. 4 D 1 s ~  1998) 70 Cal.Iiptr.2d 378. -j~> 
Cal.Ap!,.4th 279. Sentencing And Punishment 1803 

All defendants are eligible for probation, in the discretion of the sentencing court, unless a statute provides 
otherwise. Peoplc v. 1998) 76 CijIIR17~r.2d 378, 65 Ci~l~~App.4111 Aubrcy (App. 4 Dist. 379. Sentenci~~q_-Aiid 
I'~~nishmell1 1802 

Decision to grant probation which simply ignores statutory requirements is abuse of discretion. I 'ccslg L:_>_LL~~I-!oI 

Co~u-t (Dorse~,,) (App. 4 Dist. 1996) 58 CaI.Kpir.?d 165, .;I0C14.1\13\7 4th !_2-!-<,, review denied. > C ~ ~ ~ ~ I ~ ~ I I I ~ - : \ I I ~  

Piui~ishmenl 1823 

Sentencing court has broad discretion to determine whether eligible defendant is suitable for probation and what 
conditions should be imposed. Pcople v. Welch ( 1993) 19 C:al.liplr.3d j 2 0 ,  5 C:a1.4111 228.  8 5  1 P.2~1803.S C I ~ L C I ~ C ' I I ! ~  
And Punishnierlt 1802; Sentencing And Punishnlen~ 1962 

Legislature has placed in trial judge's broad discretion in sentencing process, including determination as to whether 
probation is appropriate, and if so, conditions thereof. Peoplc if.\ianics (Supel-, 1992) 13 Cal.R171rf2c1 893. 
Sentciicilig And Purlishment 1801; Sentencing And Pun~\lumcnt 1967 

Probation is not a right but an act of clemency in discretion of trial court, I > ~ ~ ~ ~ J ~ _ ~ U _ \ - I ) ~ ! I I I J ~ I ~ ( ~ ~ Q . I 1 0_77) 1-132 )1.;t 

-Cal.lipir. 658. 76 C'al.App 3d 207. Sentencing .And l- 'un~sli~~icli~ 2~ ' > Y J  

Trial court has broad discretion in the sentencing process, including the determination as to whether probation is 
appropriate and, if so, the conditions thereof. People \I. Ldcnt (1975) 124 ('a1 Icpir. 905, I5 (:a1 3d -181 I' ?d 5-15. 
Sentencing And Punislunenl 1502; Sentmcins And Pu~il~l~rncln 1962 

Granting and continuance of probation is act of grace and clemency, within sound discretioil of trial court. Pccy?lc_L 

M:llranga (App. 4 Dist  A n d  I'unlhn1en1 I SO I1969) 80 Cal.Rpt1 3 13; 275 C a l . ~ \ p p d i X .Scntc~~c~ni:  ; 
Svntencinq And Punisllnle~it 18 12 
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Although court has wide range of discretion in imposing or modifying terms of probation, it nlay not acl arbitrarily 
or capriciously. 1)eopll: \.. LV~lson(App. 3 11~'sl. 1967) 15 C'31 Sgj![c~c!l~g-_Rp(c 07,20s C I ; L I . . A ~ ) L ) _ ~ ~ ~ - ? ~ ~ ~ ,\licl 

-I'iuiishiiienl 1967; Scnte~i~ing IAnd 13~lnisl~i~ie~ll r)Q 

Vesting of discretion in him gives trial judge latitude to express his own convictions in declaration of rights and 
application of remedies. 'gople \ .  Surplice (App 2 2111'1 - 1  ($632 I C:~l.l<ptr.836.7OiC'aJ,:Ai~l! W S ? .  C;C~II~I\ 
.c; 

Probation is not matter of right, but is act of clemency, granting and revocatioil of which are within discretion of 
court. 1)eopIc \ I .  1'1.ivltlcr (Apv. 7 L)~sl. 1962) 19 C'al Rplr 7 2 5 .  Scnter~g~ggh W 0 0  < al r\pt>.?d i?~lcl_l'~~~~~>lj~~j~~i~ 

18 I?; Sentencitij~ And I3unis1iinent 100! 

While probation is not a matter of right but an act of grace, grant or denial of which is within a court's discretion, 
where an individual is eligible for probation, the trial court must determine the matter on its merits, and failure to do 
so constitutes denial of a substantial right. People v. LValters ( -41~.1 Disl. 196 1 ) 1 1 Cal.Rptr. 597. 190 C'al.II,gy2Ldd 

--98. Senleiicing And I'u~lislimei~t 1890 

\I.Question of probation is almost solely within discretion of trial court. People U'alkel- ( L A ~  1 I)l\t 1960) 5 
C~l.I<ptr.2RJ. I8 I Val App.Zd 227. Sentencing And P~~i i~\ l in~ei l t  I SO2 

Probation is power that may be exercised in discretion of court, but it must be impartial, and guided by fixed legal 
principles, to be exercised in confonnity with spirit of law, and it may not be exercised in arbitrary or capricio~is 
manner. People v.  Wade (1959) 1 Cal.Rptr. 683. 53 C'aI.3~1327. -34&-!32.~!-116.S<]IIJ-~IC!~:l\n_c! I ) ~ I I I I s ! ~ ~ ~ ~ c ~ I ~  
1802 

When defendant is eligible, the granting of probation is a matter of discretion with the trial court. I'coplc \ .Ic)t~nc,fi 
(App. 1958) 164 Cal.App.?d 470. 330 11.2d 894. Sentencing And I'o~~isluiieilt 1802 

The granting or withholding of probation is a matter that rests in the sound discretion of the trial court. 1'eople \ . 

Ilulie C,&J~. 1058) 164 C:alalApp.2d i07. 330 1'.2(1 239. Seii~cilci~ig 1802i2nd lh i shn ic~ i t  

A court has power of its own motion to order a probation investigation. I3c_~ l_c_\-__lj-~ -~j111~g1;!lglg,!c'h -1)4Jj_ 50 
Cel.Al~p.2d Supp. 815. 139 13.2cl362. Sentencing I ~ i ! ~ i \ l ~ ~ e ~ r ~ - ~ -277 


A convicted defendant is not entitled to be placed on probation as a matter of right, but power to grant probation 
may be exercised in discretion of court. m l e  v. Leach (App._-! Lllst. 1937) 77 CaI.!lpp.2d 525 .  7 1 l)),ld_iC)4. 
S e i ~ t e n c ~ n ~  1802; Senlenciiig And 130n~slirncnt 8 13And 13unishmen( I 

-9. ---- Criminal record, discretion of court 

Sentencing court's denial of probation and imposition of middle term was proper where defendant had nunlerous 
prior convictions and adjudications of commissions of crime, had served a prior prison term, was on parole and 
summary probation when he committed present offense, and prior performance on probation and parole were 
unsatisfactory. People v.  Martine1 ( App. 5 Dist. 198-)-22 1 L'all<p~i-. 758, I75 C'a!_fi12p 3c1 88-1, revicw denied. 
Scnlencin~Ai~d_Puiiibhmc~~t iilln-itln_lcL~~_I @;7 I S72(  I 11 8 8 5 ;  ~ e ~ ~ t c i i m ~ d - ~ '  

Denial of defendant's application for probation was not abuse of discretion, in light of his past criminal record. 
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Action of trial court in denying probation for defendant, who had previously been coilvicted of two felonies, was 
within proper discretionary limits. -7le 1. Vanclerburg (ilpp 5 I11,t 1903) 29 C 'a l  1<1?jt--553. 2 I4 C Ll!\pp 3d j j. 
Sei~lr~nciiig e1871(2).2nd 13un~\hmerlt 

Where it was shown that defendant had previously been convicted of three crimes, and on cross examination lie 
admitted such convictions, denial of probation was not an abuse of discretion. I'cc~pllc: 1 l h l - t ~ c ~(App 1 131.1 Lc)53) 

120 Cal App.2~1 763; 273 P.2d 19,  amended 118 Cal.App 2d 406. 275 P i d  5 18. S e ~ ~ t a ~ c ~ i i i .I ' u r l ~ ? l > ~ ~ ! ~ ! 
.\nil 

1873(1) 


Trial court did not abuse discretion in denying probation to a defendant who was convicted of grand theft and who 
had committed two burglaries and had admitted committing other minor offenses. P ~ c ~ p l c  11. I)ii11(1y (fIp17,l95_!U_!c,fi 
C,'al..4~p.?d10, 231 P.2d 6 1. Sciitciicliig And Punishmelit 1856; Seiitc11cin.c find Pun i s l i~~y~i t  l S W  

Denial of probation to defendants convicted of grand theft was not abuse of discretion where application was 
referred to probation officer who reported that defendants had on previous occasions beell arrested on charges of 
disturbing the peace and assault and battery. People b. I I o p ~ c r ~ ~ & 7 ~ ~  -2_I!)S1 (76 1'3 1115~ 19-37) 20-<:_'a1CL2p17 Ild 450. 
Seilteliclng And Pun~\hment @;J 1877(3) 

Probation officer's report showing defendant in forgery prosecution had been arrested 13 times justified denial of 
application for probation. People v. Payne (App. 1 Dist. 1930) 106 Cal.App. 609. 289 1'. 909. Sentcricin: f211d 

10.---- Recominendations of probation officer, discretion of court 

Trial court has discretion to reject probation report in whole or in part, and to strike report and order new probation 
report prepared. People L . Municipal Court, Sutter hlunicipal C'(-IL~~I 01. Couiitkw)t- Syj~q( ! A L ~  -3j)r-,t L)I ) i , t r ~ ~  1 

172 Cal.liptr. 140, 11 6 Cal.App.3d 456. Sentelicllig Alld Ilu_ll~\hnlc~-~ 300; ( ~ ~ I ~ C : I ~ K ~ I I ~ ,\ ~ ~t L r ) ~ ~ ~ ~ l > l l r y c ~ i ~  
2x2 

In prosecution for child abuse, trial court did not abuse its discretion in failing to follow probation officer's 
recommendation, People v .  Hernandez (App. 2 Dist. 1980) 168 Clal.Rptr, 898, 11 1 Cal.App.3d ,488. Sciitcilciilg il11cj 
Punishment 300 

When an abuse of discretion in granting or denying probation is claimed, it is not sufficient to answer that the trial 
court follow the recommendation made by the probation officer, rcople v. Wal-ner-( 1078) 113 C'al ltptl-. 8 8 5 ,  2 0  
C'al.3d 678. 574 P.?d 1237. Sentelicing And Pun~stin~cnt 1834 

Trial court's discretion to grant probation is to be exercised after motion therefor and filing of probation officer's 
report. b p l e  v. Hcasley (App. I Disl. 1970) 85 Cal.ltpts iQl, C;il/\p~?_jil fiL7.&~i(cpi:lng. Ail4 I ) ~ I I L L I ~ I ! I C ~ I I  

Trial court's refusal to refer the matter of defendant's conviction for second-degree inurder to probation department 
for presentence investigation report was not an abuse of the court's discretion where defendant was not eligible for 
probation, and the trial judge was required to impose a statutorily prescribed sentence. Pcoplc v. Ford (!\z,p. 2 1)ik!, 
1957) 61 Cal.llptr. 329, 353 Cal.Alpp.2d 300. Seiitencin~ And l'~~~iisIl~u_ent e277 
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Trial court's denial of probation officer's reconmendation of probation was not an abuse of discret~on, where trial 
court's single allusioil to matters outside record concerning defendant's pattenl of coilduct was merely a brief 
introduction to his clear statement that order denying probatioil was based upon weighing of prosecutrix' testimony 
under oath against defendant's statement to probation officer, both of which were matters in the record. I'cgp!c 
I.izlicnr p ) 6 - 3 )  -30Cal.Rptr. 468. 59 C1z1.2~1587. 38 1 I',2d D!. Aiid ~ u i 1 ~ 1 1 1 1 i c i i t  S c ~ i t c n c ~ n , ~  I 

Broad discretion is lodged with trial judge in probation matters, and deterinination of trial judge in revocation 
proceedings can be made solely on probation officer's report. I'ctjlIc i. U'CNtc/ ( , 1 1 1 ~ 1 _ 1 I > i \ ~ .  i ' a j  l < l ) r l1!)(,2] j l )  

199 (',I App.2d 839. Sentenclnq And  Puiiislinicnl A ~ ~ ~ - I ' U I ~ I S ~ ~ I ~ I C I I II--- 1807; S C I ~ L C I I C I I I ~  2 0 2  

Denial of probation to defendant convicted of robbery in second degree was not an abuse of discretioil although 
probation officer's report recommended probation. People i. %'alkcr (A1313 I Illit 1960) 5 C'al. L ~ ~ L I - 13128-\, _ 

Cal.App.?d 327. Sentencin~And Punlsh~nent 1886 

Trial judge did not act arbitrarily or abuse discretion in revolung probation of oile pleading guilty of violatiilg 
Corporate Securities Act for violation of condition that he reimburse investors, in view of probation officer's 
unfavorable reports, I'eople v. Lippner (1933) 219 Cal. 395, 26 1'.2d 357. Seiitencin. And P~1iii~Ii~1icii~ 2!'l\!i 

Court has discretion to deny probation as well as grant it, regardless of recommendation of probation officer. l'sp171< 
v .  Mal-tioo (Al3~ .1 Dist. 1931 )  113 Cnl.App. 661. 299 1'. 86. Senteiici~ra And Pi~ilisllilic.111 1803; S C I ~ ~ U I ~ C ~ I I K  
:2nc\ Punishinent m1887 

Refusal of court to follow recommendation of probation officer that applicatioil be granted on coiiditioii applicant 
spend first six months in county jail was not arbitrary. 11e01~le y.- 1!)31) 1.1 7 (la1 :L17p1 6'1 I : 3c1c)I,h.l:~rtili!!i i .>~p~&I) is t .  
1'. 86. Senicncliig And Puiiishnicnl-- 1880 

--I I. ---- Specific crimes, discretion of court 

In view of court's full consideration of many factors argued by both prosecution and defense, and reasonable 
assessment of their relative weight, trial court did not abuse its discretion by denying probation and in~posing ~ ~ i i d d l e  
term upon plea of guilty to first-degree burglary and inflicting great bodily injury, and, absent circumstances in 
mitigation of additional punishment, court also did not abuse its discretion by failing to strike tluee-year term for 
great bodily injury enhancement. Pevple v. Roe (App. 4 Ilist. 1983) 195 C:al.Kptr. 802. 148 C'a1.App.3~1 I j-3. 
-Sentenciil~Aiid Puiushnienl 181.1; Sente1icin.c Aiid I'onishrnenl 85 

Record established that trial court did not fail to exercise discretion in denying probation to defendant coiivicted of 
driving automobile without consent of owner, with one prior felony conviction. !'tx)jlg_j ( )\trcjj3 L.1I1711- I - T i i \ ~  

1980) I69 Cal.Rpl~-. 359. 1 12 Ce l.Ap~7.3d And P U I I I S ~ ~ I ~ C ' ~ ~ ! = ~34 1 .  Sei~tei ic~i~g J-853 

Legislature intended that discretion could be exercised by court in case of crimes falling within this section 
governing probation, but not within 6 1203.06 prohibiting probation, for enumerated crimes. lki)pl_e_! .  I alilic'r 

[I 979) 156 Cal.Rp~r. 150,24 Cal.3d 5 14. 596 I'.ld 328. Sentencing And I 'uiiisl~~i~c~it 1835 

Review of record showed that trial court did not abuse discretion in denying probation to defendant convicted of 
forced oral copulation and ludnapping. Pcople c .  Cioodson IL4171? SO C ' i ~ l-\l71~-3~!3 Ilisl. 1978) I15 C '~~I . f<p t r~~ i ;U~~ .  
11)Q.Seiite~ic~iig 1862; Sci~teiici~ig 8-x5And I'uii~slimeil\ ,411d I)un!hlin,c~! 

In prosecution for first-degree robbery, it was the function of the court to determine the facts relevant to the fixing of 
probation and, in the exercise of its discretion, to determine whether probation should be granted or denied. i ' ~ ~ c ~ ; ~ ~ , ~ 
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Trial court, after defendant's entry of plea of guilty of contributing to delinqueilcy of minor, did not abuse d i ~ c r e t ~ o n  
in failing to grant defendant straight probation instead of imposing as a condition that he serve 90 days in county jail 
and register as a sexual offender. 13ccq~lt' l'royr~ (App I ~ I S ~ - -()hil) -3'l _C':~l,J<p~r- 2 7 0  (-'c~l I h I .5 I '!;A, ' \ I)p 311 
S C ~ ~ ~ C ~ ~ C I I I~ \ n d  Punlsl~ment 1976(2); Sentencing And I '~mislii~ieii~ I9S3L2j 

\ I .  

Grant of probation to defendant convicted of misdemeanor was discretionaiy. I'co13lc L Alotis ( I 964) 36 CJ2~lL.Rptr. 
443.(30 Cal.2d 6'38. 388 P.2d (375. Sentencil-ig And Pun1shnje11I 1838 

Denial of application for probation by defendant convicted of assault with a deadly weapon did not coilstitute an 
abuse of discretion even though the defendant had no criminal record and was otherwise eligible for probation. 
fleo,~le11.1-Iercl (App. 2 Disl. 1963) 31 C;lI.RpLr. 14 1 .411dI ~ L I ~ I ~ ~ ~ ~ T ~ I c I ~ I ~ ~ ~ - ~ ~ ~ ;330 Cal.App.2d 8-17. ~ e i i t e i l s ~ i ~ ~  
Sentencing A11d P~~n i s l imcn~  1371 

There was no abuse of discretion in denying probation to one convicted on 22 narcotics counts. l&!ak 1 &IL:;,S!-
u ~ p .  6&J lSQ5I Dist. 1963) 3 1 Cal.R13tr. 785, 2 1 6 Cal.App.Zd 6 18. Se11ter1c:in.g illid II ' liii\I~~i~c~it 

One convicted of murder cannot be granted probation. People L . Superior C'c~c~i-t ( j > g n t j1n iit1~1Fc)r I-ob ,I~xgl<> 
((iusnci-(3) (4pp.  2 Disl. 1962) 18 Cal.Rpt1-. 557, I99 Cal.Apl.2~1 303. Sentcnci~~g e - 1s 5 3,411cl l'~~iiisli1i1~~ii~ 

In prosecutions resulting in convictions of violation of 5 288a, rape and kidnapping, trial court's determination to 
deny probation to defendants constituted proper exercise of discretion. People L _j.lp~-_!CLiC)) I hi3l l~ i i t o~ i  
Cal.App.2d 743, 33-3 P.?d 822. Sentencincr And Punishmcil~ 1862; S c ~ i t e i ~ c ~ ~ l g  h 5  iJ\iid [ l ~ ~ i ~ ~ ~ l ~ i i i c i ~ L ~ - l  

Where defendant was convicted of second-degree murder as a result of an abortion, denial of probatioil was no! an 
abuse of discretion. People iJ  Na~ar ro  (hpp .  1946) 74 (;al1.4p13 2cl 511,lhs) 1) 2c1 265. Scntcncir~g~~~'~ I ' ~ ~ I ! ~ ~ I ~ I I ~ I I  

I X F ?  

Under this section the granting of probation to defendant following his conviction O F  voluntary manslaughter was 
discretionary with trial court. People iJ P I ~ ~ T I I I I_I _I(l(jI-)-?cl I ~ l gApp. 3 Llis~.1946) 73 Ci11,21113 2~1.39I 2  530. 5, I I ! ~ I I ,  

And P~mishn~ent 1 Xu 

"Involuntary n~anslaughter," which is the taking of life in certain unlawful ways, without any intention of doing so, 
must be distinguished from "voluntary manslaughter" in considering application for probatioil Following conviction. 
1)tciplc 11. Pilgr~m (App. 3 Llisi. 1946) 73 Cal.App.2d 39 1 ,  166 IJ.3c1 636. Senteiic~ng A~cl-J'~~l.;!~!lio~il e-1-853 

Granting or refusing application for probation by defendant convicted of perjury was within trial court's discret~on. 
People \ I .  I<c\;lon ( A p p  1931) 172 Ca1.App. -108. 10 P.2d $6. Sc~itcilcinu And P u n ~ h ~ ~ w t  1800 

Refusal of application for probation after conviction for driving automobile while intoxicated and for manslaughter 
was not abuse of discretion. People v. Mar l inm3p.  2 Ilist. 193 I )  1 I4 C;al1i\1313- 1j7-L30(j-1' ~ ~ ~ I ~ I C ~ I I ~ I I I ~1 O X .  \_I111 

I~u~ilshlnent 1858 

Denying application of defendant, convicted of murder in second degree comillitted by at!empted abortion, for 
probation was not error. Peiiple \ Darrour ( 1931 ) 2 I3 Cal I:._!. S i  J167, 203 S ~ C ~ ~ C ~ I ~ I ~ ~ ~ ! _ ~ \ I _ I ~ ~ _ I ) L L I I I ~ I ~ I ~ I L ~ I I  

13. ---- Specific circumstances of case, discretion of court 
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Denial of probation for defendant convicted of second-degree inurder in stabbing death 01' drinking coi~lpailioil was 
not abuse of discretion in view of nature and seriousiless of criine and prior criiniilal record of defendant, even 
without consideration of contents of incriininating letter written by defendant to wife. ['eol?le \ l i o c l  LIEL~LY(i\l-u~.2 
LIi\l. 198 1 ) 173 Cal Rptr. 82, 1853; S c n l c ~ i c ~ g1 17 Cal.App.3d i'j'. ktgencini: And 1'unishinc11!;=3 '_ l~d 
I'un~\li~nenl-- - 1872(1) 

At sentencing hearing, trial court abused its discretioil in expounding at length on f a ~ ~  that defendant had several 
children, all of whom received welfare support and some of whom were born out of wedlock, and In indicating that 
he was imposing a prison sentence, rather than probation, to punish defendant's conduct in fiither~ng a second or 
third child out of wedlock, as well as the crime for which defendant had been convicted. llcoplL~ _\- I:ol toti d:)70 
157 Cal Rptr 131. 23 Cal.3d 208, 589 P.2d 306. Serlrc.nclnv \lid I'uniahnie~l~ 

Denial of probation application filed by defendant who was convicted of possession of sizable quantity of marijuana, 
and who had given deceitful story to probatioil officer, was not abuse of trial court's discretion. I ' ~ O I I ! ~ - L._Ly_dt.i;~l 
(ilp11.5 Dist. 1976) 133 Cal.Rplr. 409, 62 Ca1.App.M 708. S e n l c n c ~ n ~  e-184PI?; Yci~lellci~ig\ncJAnd P L I I I I ~ I I ~ I ~ . ~ ~  
Puriishmcnl IS81 

Denial of probation to defendant, who was convicted of committing lewd and lascivious act on child i~ilder age of 
14, who had actual contact of sexual intercourse with victim with possible resulting psychiatric damage to victim, 
and diagnostic study of whom revealed, inter alia, that defendant had severe antisocial personal~ty and was sexually 
deviate, was not abuse of discretion nor arbitrary deternlination. !Jci)ple L ~ - [ ) I > I  12)--Gj IS_ I Q r ~ g ~ ~ ( g ~ _ ~ , ~ \ 1 ~ 1 ~  

--Cal.Rptr. 896, 14  Cnl.App 3d 629. Senlenclng And I'u~~ishtnent 18172; ; c w n ~ g  :\iill !'!1!1~Ji~,igji !ST7 

Where trial court minutely complied with this section directing reference to probation officer for iilvestigation and 
report and where defendant admitted 11 prior felony convictions including number of narcotics violations and failed 
to show why probation should not be denied as matter of law, there was no abuse of discretion in denying probation 
for drug offense. People v. Piial ( A p ~ 3 .  1 Dist. 1973) 109 Ca1 Rptr 230. 33-_Cja1_.\ly.;li-682.> ~ I I & ! ~ c I I ~ ~_!\11_d 
Pui~is l~i~ie i l~  1872(3); Sentencing And l'un~shnien~ 1886 

Where triers of fact rejected defense testimony that defendant was acting unconsciously in firing at the victim when 
they returned a verdict of guilty to voluntary manslaughter, a felony, defendant was ineligible [or probation. ]'cj~;llc 
v. Filrber (Apv. I Dist. 1965) 43 Cnl.Kptr. 77 1, 233 Cal.hl,p Id  678. Scnizniin~. / \ i ! ~ ~ f l u ~ 1 ~ i l l i 1 ~ ~ ~ ~ 1 ~lSS-71 

Refusal to grant probation to defendant whose history iilcluded numerous examples of antisocial conduct and whose 
personality characteristics included borderline schizophrenia was not abuse of discretion. pclc,13jc I lc!~c~.;on(41,17 

3 Dist 1964) 37 C;iI.Rp(r. 483, 226 CaI..App.ld 160. S e n l c ~ c iA ~ I - S X SI i i ~ r h n ~ e i i l  

Denial of probation was not, under the record, an abuse of discretion. Peq~li.1- ICO\?-(:\~J~J2 / > I \ [ - l c ) 0 2 J 24 

Cal.Rptr. 1 .  206 Cal.App.?d 542, Senlcncing And Puni~hnici~t 1830 

There was no abuse of discretion in denying probation to defendant convicted on tlvee counts and in linposing 
sentence running consecutively as to two counts and sentence running concurrently as to third count, where 
defendant had admitted two prior felony convictions and was given opportunity to be heard and probatloll officer 
and district attorney had made recommendations. I'coplc L ( i\13pLL11 111rt I?i,_l) -0 I S .  l S 8~ l i - i i ~ ~ ~ ~ m g  1 (Jc iil ~ ~ J , L I  

Cal.App.2d 715. Sentencing And I'~~l~ishlnc~iL 187212); Sentcn~ing :\11~1 ~ '~~!\!h!!c~!l-~!li)! .!.\!<I; ~ - C I ! I ~ I I C I I I ~  

I>~~n~hhrnent*1886 

Refusal to grant application for probation made by defendant who stipulated, in open court in criminal proceeding, 
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that he had received stolen gasoline lu~owing that it was stolen property and had received it for his own gal11 and to 
deprive owner thereof was an exercise of sound judicial d~scretion. I)~.oplc.i I clllorl (~Ap l )  I " > ) )  I 4  1- i a1 -/'\pp :(I  
357, 296 l ' .dS?L1. Sci~tcr~cing IAild I ' u i l i \ l l ~ i ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ t  

Where court, in probation hearing of one convicted of attcinpting to have sexual relations with h ~ s  ten year old 
stepdaughter, considered report of superintendent of state hospital, along with other matters presented, dcnlal of 
application for probation was not abuse of discretion. ecyprlc_~ Jl-~!lc_c C:bp _l I > I ~ I _I (2i.I)128 i:gl ,J~J '  2d I - I S 2  I) ' ; 

P.2d 533. Sentcn~incr And P~unisllinent 1862 

Where, under the admitted facts, defendant had committed crime of first degree 1-obbeiy while being armed with a 
pistol, which defendant purportedly did not display during the robbery, trial court's refusal to grant defendant 
probation did not constitute an abuse of its discretion. Peoplc \ Rainey (i'rpp j-_r)i\t 7-39.1954) 125 C:al.A1)p.2d?.30,2d 
27 1 1'.2d 144. Sentencing Aild Punishnient 186 1 

Claim that prisoner convicted of vicious crime should be restored to full liberty because he is diseased has no 
foundation in the law. I'eople i f .  Cooper (App. 19541 _ C 31 /ll~l,Zd .:I :L 20h I '  I 6 . S i c \ i 1 ( 1  

Punisl~ment'"=);;3 1876 

Where party pleaded guilty to crime of robbery and was armed with gun at time of offense, but it was uncertain 
whether gun was loaded, and court found crime was robbery in first degree and that defendant was in possession of a 
dangerous rather than a deadly weapon, court's denial of probation was not abuse of discretion. ikc)171i\  \,. Jotin\o~l 
[App. I95 I )  106 Cal.App.2~1815. 230 P.2d 190. Robbery -4 

Trial court did not abuse discretion in denying probation to one who pleaded guilty to grand theft, even though most 
of the money defendant took was recovered, and defendant had never been arrested before and had a wife and five 
children, where deputy probation officer testified that defendant, when questioned, gave different accounts of what 
took place and why he left the state. I'eople v .  Jackson-&pl-l- 1 > _ 1 f i1948) 89 (':d_A_12p2d_-l S lld()O_I) 2cl ?(LA. 
Sentencing ibnd 1)unishnlent 1884 

In burglary prosecution, trial court did not abuse its discretion in denying defendant's motion for probation, 
notwithstanding that defendant had not been armed, that there was no showing of ally prior convictioil and that he 
and his family had resided in city for several years. Peoplc 1,. Wilc'y (11pp. 3 D i s~ .1939) 33 C::il.14pp._d 424- 9 1_1TL2_cl 
907. Sencencin~ And I'un~slunent 1871; Seotencinn And 1'~11usI~mcii~ 1888; Scntenc~ng!\tic1 f3i~ti~h11r~~cnt 
e1844 

The trial court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to grant probation to those who were found guilty of riot, 
where the sentences were not harsh nor excessive, and the record clearly indicated that defendants were guilty and 
disclosed no valid reason on which they could base a plea for probation. f>ckjplc: \, _>y111(-\~)p' _ I ) ~ s t  l _ C l ? O )  i? 

Ca I.App.2d 1 5 1. 89 P.2d 438, hearing denied 32 Cal.Apl7-25i 15LS_',Q 3 1  :')I_, certiorari denicd 60 ,I;-C'I - 1 I -\ J0S 
U.S. 555, 84 L.Ed 466. Sentencing And I'u~~islimerit 1847 

Refusing probation was not abuse of discretion where court considered written report of probation officer and also 
heard oral testimony in defendant's behalf. People L, R.O~LCI I(.jp~7_-L934) I' !d 82%. I!~S1 3J)_C,il ~ \ p p-384, 3-3 5 c t 1 1 ~  

And Punlshmeni a 9 7  

Denying defendant, convicted of manslaughter for causing death with pistol, permission to apply for probation, was 
not abuse of discretion, under circumstances. Pc'oplc \-_ \I\lAl1:~1n.~(,21,17 , 4 1 7  1 ')_3_2) 12 1- _c d l  . i p p  (5: 0 1'-2ci i1 i. 
Scllteiicliig And Punishrnent 1853 
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13. Nature of probation 

See, also, Notes of Decisions under I>c~ial Codt. 9 1203.1.. 

Probation is not matter of right, but act of grace and clemency. SL'C)I~~L' 50- 199\ .  C'dl-tez (E61)19 C ' ~ ~ l . I i l ~ ~ r .  
Cal.hpp.2d 839; People v. Brown ( I  959) 342 P.2d 4 10, 173 C'nl .:\pr7.2d 30;Scliacfel- \:. Superior C'ourr ill :LIICIIi)r 
Santa Barbara Coi~nty (1952) 348 11.2d 450, I 1  3 Cal.,~\12p.2(1 428; l'eople v ,  l>anc1v (1951 ) 234 fJ.3d (11. 106 
~'al.!lp1~.3d19.-. 

Probation is not a matter of right but is an act of clen~ency. I)ccjl,lc~ t . I ~ I I I I ~ I I ~ :  124. 133 ( ' ~ 1  \ pp( 1  054) 27h_1).3tl_ 

120; P C O ~ I C  J Mon,gc (1952) 240 1).2ci 432. -I-(!?- 3 1 141; I 1 ~ 1 r r ~  2c! -j85-,--c]fi
-- <>11-.4[~1) i2cc~o(lO>O) 2 1-1  
Gal App.2d 14 1 ,  

Probation is not an absolute right to which the defendant is entitled but is an act of clemency which may be granted. 
People v.  Wah~nund  (1949) 206 P.?d 5 6 ,  9I C;+l.Rp1~.3d1 5 8 ;  rec)ple \ .I:LC~\<JII ?OA..-SO( 1049) 2(J(j--l',.?d 
Cal.App.2d 1 S 1 .  

Probation is not an absolute right to which a convicted person is entitled, but is an act of grace and cleinency on the 
part of the court; it has no constitutional basis, but exists by reason of statutes creating it. Applicatton (,I' O\tide;ul 
(1961) 16 C'al.I?@r. 193. 195 C:al.App.2d 814; People L'. R111Ier(l960)8 C~~il.I<p~r.578, 186 C'al.App.3ci 34. 

Probationers have only conditional liberty, their freedom is at bottom act of clemency, and revocation of probation 
Y ~ I  [ A13p2-.3 121';~ ~ l < l ~ ~ ;3should not require hll-blown adversarial deployment. !'l;jylc: L c/ l ~ ~ <:$I2~ ~ - ~J!i 11 >(j 

Cnl,Al~p.4tl1900, as modified. S c n t e n c ~ ~ l , ~  I S 13; >cnicncillg C\ncl l )ggl \ l i~ j~c!~t- 196 ;And l ~ j m ~ ~ l i ~ r l c . ! i ~ - ~  I 
Sentencing And Punisliitien~ 2009 

Both probation and the availability of the youth authority comnitment are privileges granted by legislati~re arid are 
not rights. People \ I .  Main (App. 5 Illst. 1984) 199 Ual 1 l p ~ ~ _ h S  j ~ ~ i d l l i ~ ~ ~ ~ ? l ~ ~ t ~ t1;152 _C_ L11.1\p12.3d bX6. Seitt~iic111g 


1X 17; Inlants 69(3. I )  


A properly administered probation program not only serves society in effecting desirable rehabilitative goals, but 
also insures that important rights are not denied any person convicted of a crime, t,coplrl \ I tly L127fi]--l13_S 
C:al Icptr. 4 1 I .  18 Cal.3d 796. 557 P.21993. S ~ I I ~ C I I C I K  l S l i(?nd I ' ~ ~ - ~ ~ J ~ I I L  

Probation has an advantage as an alternative to confinement in that its terms can be tailored by the court to fit the 
individual defendant. People v. McI)o\vcII (.App. 3 I ) I s ~ .  l1!}7fi) I ;() c - ~ ~ I J C L ~ ~ ~ :  C~L.\$p_3d507_. S C I I ( C I I C I I I ~UjC) ,  ic) 
,And Punishment 18 1 1 

Probation is not a right but a privilege, and there is neither constitutional nor statutory right to notice of hearing 
preceding revocation of probation granted after judgment. l)<c>ple \ HuccI1e1.iI/\pp.2 I ) I ~ [ .  1969) 83 (jil.[<l?r!-2--2-2j.2 
--Cal.App.3d 842. Selttencing And P~~nisliment 701 3 

"Probation" is bargain made by people with malefactor that if he complies with requirements he will be rewarded by 
not having to go to prison. I'eople v. Atwood (App 1 IIISI19hL) -3-4 c;ll(~>tr.i6 1 - 32]CaI ..~17~2ci--:16. St.p[clic.~~g 
,4nd  Puni~lilncnt 18 1 1 

"Probation" is granted either after a verdict or plea of guilty and bel'ore sentencing, or afiel- sentencing but before 
commitment to prison term, and is available only to those defendants found elrgible by the proper authorit~es arid by 
court having jurisdiction. ~ ~ , - l g y b t - ( 4 P ~ ~7 [ ) ~ h t  I ' 1 0 ( l )  7 c ~1 I<pt~ 1 <I(). 1 7 S  c , J I  _\_pr~_:l(l+;:!. ( ~ C I I I ~ ~ \ C I I %  
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Defendant has 110 right to be granted probation, but "probalion" is a privilege, an act of grace, or clemency. 511 L-cx 

<?\\lo{ 1958) 5 1 (:;11.2cl 37 1 ,  334 1) ?d !. ~ ~ I ~ L C I I C I I I ~  18 I ?,\ncl l ~ ~ ~ n ~ \ I ~ r t ~ c ~ i t  

Probation is not an absolute right to which a defendant is entitled, but 1s an act of grace and clei~~ency which inay be 
granted to a seemingly deserving defendant. ~'col>Ic \ l )~~l~~:-[ , \_pl?_1 O i S )  21'1._ 1 (~4 :tl 2j1p 3d_ I !)7:_330 1_2>1 
Senrcncing Ancl l'unishme~-tt 1 

Granting of probation, aside from being an act of clemency extended to one who has committed a crime, is also in 
substance and effect a bargain made by people, through legislature and courts, with malefactor. !+mpl c \,. Jrrlinsr~~i 
(App. 3 Dist. 1955) 134 Cal.App.3d 140. 385 1'.2d 74. Ssntcncing And I'unisllinent l S u  

Grant of probation is an act of grace and cleineilcy and is properly denied where conduct of convict is such that it 
indicates a depravity that requires exercise of restraint and discipline as means of improviilg such offender. I~:~)p!<-\ 
C'o017c1- (4~13  -1 ~ I L ~ - ~ ~ J ' L ~ ~ ~ \ ! I I J L C C I ~ ~  'jgij1cCnc!lig 211jl 95'4) 123 C:il.:\l~p 2d 35-3?260 l'_l_ilOii(,. >g~~tc j l c~g~g  -'-!8!3; 
I'unishr~~cnt 184 1 

Probation is not a right but a privilege. m l c  S\L tlcdcy -1- A-0 5 ; )  I _ I ~ - C L ~ l ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ - 2 c _ 1 - ~ r c ~L-224-k2;!_SOC). 
S t l n t c t ~ c i ~ ~ ~  1,41-2And P~mishmciit 

Probation is not a matter of right. Peoplc \ . Johnson (A~I-7. 1951 ) 10(7 Cal.App.2~1 X I F ,  336 1'.3d 100. Sc'r iccr~c~r~~ 
And Punishlncnt 15 12 

"Probation" is not a judgment, but act of grace and clemency, which court may grant seei~lingly deserving defendant 
to enable him to escape extreme rigors of legal penalty for offense of which he stands convicted, while "judgment" 
imposes such rigors. People L .  LV~l l l a~n~  1>iit 10-II)) 0 ;  C a I  2pp.?d ?71; 200p.3d (14~1,Scntenc~nc .%rid (12p~7 I 
l'un~bhrncnt 18 I? 

Granting of probation is not right given to defendant in criminal proceeding, but is an act of clemency. Pr:upli. '. 

Rli~iikcnship (Alip. 1 Dist. 1936) 16 CaI.App.2ci 0002((rl 1'.2d -3c. !\nil IS ~ ~ C I I C I I I . ~I ' L ~ I ~ I ~ I ~ ! ~ L ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ I ~ ~ !  

"Probation" is not right of accused, but is act of grace and clemency which may be granted by court whereby 
seemingly deserving accused may escape penalty imposed by law for offense of which hk is convicted. I'copll: \ . 

Hainline (1933) 219 Csl. 533. 78 IJ.2cL I(,. Set~ttl~icing 1s 12~\ l ldI J i ~ n ~ ~ l i l i i c ' ~ l t  

--14. Applications for probation 

Overruling defendant's oral application to file written application for probation was not error, where oral application 
embodied request for new trial which had been denied. I'col~lc 1 III~Iao~1 I 11 12-1 (-';I! App .  675.-20( '/\P~J7 )I,C l_CJ? 
P.2d 5 17. Scnteucl~lg Aild I ' u n ~ s h ~ n c ~ ~ ~  189  I 

Refusal to permit defendant to file application for probation after trial and convict~on because of his failure to adinit 
guilt was erroneous. People v. 0stel.helt ( A p p .  1932) 1 2 5  CA~I__\J~~ 72.3. 13 3-140.>c1ilenc~~1~~i41ld-I~~~1l!\l11i!c'1ij 
e=1 x91 

Rehsal  to permit filing of application for probation solely because defendant had not pleaded guilty was error. 
I'ciq~lc \.. .lanes ( A p p  2Disl. 1937) 87 Cal ; \pp  -1-82.262 1' \ C I I ~ C I I ~ ~ I ~ ~  188.3-- -361 .  r4lid i)mishnie1il~lfi8i 
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15. Suspending sentence or execution--In geileral 

See, also, Notes of Decisions under I'cllal Code \ 1203.1. 

Coui-t which suspeilds imposition of sentence and grants probation is not required to specify the constitutionally 
permissible maximum term to which defendant could be subjected upon revocation. PPplc \ h1idc1.bFAPI>.4 Illsf 

1976) 13 1 Cal 1(1,11-. 533. 59 C;nl.App 3d 846. b c n t c n c ~ n ~  1-913--- \ ~ ! ~ ~ I ) L L I I I ~ ~ I I T ~ ~ ~ ~ I  

If an order of suspension of sentence of the defendant in prosecution for assault with intent to commit robbery while 
armed was void because the defendant had previously been convicted in New York state of third-degree robbery 
allegedly a felony if committed in California and was therefore not entitled to probation, such, would not infect the 
sentence itself with invalidity but the judgment would remain valid and must be served. ~ ) cc l l~ !~\ .  Vv'~~\cnlkl~-~- . \y~ 
-1959) 1 hClCal.App 2d 59. 33 h P.3d 959, certiorari denied 80 S.C'i_!Oil,.jf;l_ 0 . S .  &iCiL .I-_I,_I'd-zd(,. ~ \~ic iS g g t ~ p ~ ~ i i g  
Punlsllinent 2032 

It is not necessary, in order to have informatioil and finding of guilt set aside upon coillpletion of probationary 
period, that defendant prove total and permanent reformation or rehabilitation. I'c(1pIc \ .loli~isoii((12~9~-2_l1!\~-
1955) 134 Cal.App.?J 140. 285 P.2d 74. Senicnclng 4nd  l '~ [n l \ l i~~~en t  1953 

Withholding of privilege, after completion of probation, to have information and finding of guilt set aside, not 
amounting to a constitutionally guaranteed right, does not constitute punishment in sense that it is a penalty exacted 
by society for commission of a crime. I'coplc \ .Iotin2c,l~ L!\ly~ 3 3 5 . 5) 74,21.i 1' 285-140.App.2~1LLi!,-14?I 
Sc.nlcuc111~ 1952And Punlshlncnt 

Power of court to grant probation may be exercised in either of two ways: (1) by suspendiilg inlposition of sentence, 
in which case there is no judgment of conviction, or (2) by imposing sentence and thereafter suspending its 
execution. Jules v. Maloney (App  195 i ) 106 CCal'4pp.1.d e0. 234-1' 2J (,hh. 1 1 1 ~  I ' u i i ~ ~ I ~ ~ ~ i c i i ~Sc~!lci~c i!~~d 
103 1 ; Sentencing And Pulusllinent 1932 

Where trial court in prosecution for selling security without permit denied application for probation, but judgments 
imposing jail sentence recited that court would consider suspension thereof if restitution was made, and it appeared 
that court and counsel misapprehended effect of denial of probation and that question of probation was considered 
separate from suspension of sentence, defendants would be entitled to apply for probation on going down of 
remittitur. 13c'~~pIt' \ .  S~i-it\~ell(1945) 27 Cal.2d I7 I .  w-jj102 P l c i 9  1 3 .  C~-~~il!~gl-!,n_u 517, 

Instructions that sentence of prisoner to county jail for 90 days should be served from 7 p.m. Monday to 6 p.m. 
Wednesday of each week were void as an attempt to grant periods of suspension from sentence imposed. I .\ ~ U I ~ L '  

Tilvlol- (App. 1934) 140 Cnl.App. 102; 34 P.211 1030. Sc~l~enc~!ig @=)i~Cj+l d  1'~[11isllrilc1it 

After suspending execution of judgment by state court pending imprisonment by federal authorities, accused may be 
compelled to undergo imprisonment in pursuance of sentence by state court. 1;sparte_C'olic~~( 1936) 198 C'gl. -22 L2 
234 I ) .  359, Senfenci11.c And Punishment 1 173 

This section, which authorized the court or judge to suspend the iinposing or execution of sentence and to direct that 
such suspension inight continue for a time not exceeding the maximum possible term of such sentence, did not 
require that the court should enter a formal order declaring the imposition of sentence to be suspended, !'c~ol?lq t 

S a g i c n ~ c-(.4pp I l l p p  620 i)-2]4, S C I ~ L I . - ~ < ~ ~ ~ - \ ~ ~ ~ ~ , I ~ I \ ! ~ - C I I I-- - T l ~ h l  1923)  60 C 211 2 I ?  e-&fi 
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Under this section, suspension o r  the execution of a sentence 1s restricted to seilteilces to pay a fine with 
impr~soizment as an alternative, while suspension of sentence IS the general rule in cases in which the defcildant is 
over 16 years of age. F,\i parlc ColI111s( . l p p  I908] 8 CCL1I \pp ;~d, 88. S C I I L ~ I I C I ! ~ ~I ) L I I I J \ ~ I - I J ~ C ~ I ~  --07 I'_ 11~1 
j-S!!6; Scntcilcl~ig ~\l id P u n ~ \ l ~ ~ ~ i e i i l  1837; Sc'~itc~ici~~g~!nc! I ) L L I ~ ~ \ ~ J I ~ C I I ~  IS?? 

Suspended sentence is awarded in sound discretion of court. I!] g- I ~ ~ ~ ~ I I ~I I,>! I . 1 0 1' -2~1 
j-jfj, S c n t c n c ~ ~ ~ g  * I 804 

(App - 1  9721-1: 1213~1.7 I 
.4nd P L ~ I I I S ~ I I T I ~ I L  

Order suspending execution of sentence in burglary prosecution was void, in view of this sectio~z, and hence 
judgment was not satisfied by expiration of period of suspension, where order stated that application for probation 
was denied and remanded defendant to custody or  sheriff for work on roads. I n  re CCIIa~-li_ ( A J ) ~ .l Dis~.1 97,.~5.._~!. 
Cal.App. 642. 234 1). 109. Sentencin~: And Pr~nislumei~~ 1948 

-.16.- ---- Powers, suspending sentence or execution 

Trial court has no power to suspend execution of sentence except as incident to granting probation. I'c'c~plc: \ Victor 
(1965)42Cal.Rptr. 199, 398 P.3d 391, 62 Cal.id 380;1)coplc \ .  Crii\ ells (1953) 351 P.2J 717, 115 C'al.Al1p.2d 201; 
[J.S. Fidcliy 22 Guaranty Co. c .  Justlce Court o C V i s t ~ ~ l ' ~ ~ . .S1:1iiDittycj (Jc~ullty( 1950) 232 P.2d 292. 99 (-''a1 ,41y23A 
683. I'col~lc v. Sidwell (1935) 162 1'.2c1 91 3, 27 Cal.24 131;Ex parte CIi11k (1945) 334 P. 109, 70 C':L~.!!J>~. 643.- - -J  -

Authority to grant probation and to suspend imposition or execution of sentence is wholly statutory. l:c~~pJ~_l 
Iional-d (1 997) 68 Cal Rptr.3d 870. 16 Cal.4~11 108 1 . f ' u ~ i ~ b ~ i n i c : n ~ - ~ -I ;946 c .3d 8 2 8 ,  Seiltciic~~~p~\!icl LS?) 
Sentencung And Pun~shrnent 1805; Sentcnc~i~g m1805And P u ~ i ~ s h ~ n c t ~ t  

Where execution of sentence is suspended during grant of probation, court retains jurisdiction over defendant during 
probationary period, and at any time during that period court may, subject to statutory restrictions, modify order 
suspending imposition or execution of sentence. l'ec~r>lc L.. 14o_\vard( 1997) 68 Cal.Kptr.?d 870. 16 Cal.4th I O S  1 ,  946 
I'.?d 828. Sentencing A n d  Funisli~ngnt 1923 

The authority of a court to grant probation and to suspend execution of a sentence is wholly statutory, and the statute 
ltselr furnishes the measure of the power which -\ CAfil?. 1?5c.1!.1! 172may thus be exercised. I'ct_ll~lc. 131~~\~~r1  
Cal.App.2rl 30. 312 1' 2 ~ 14u. 1 \l?(l 1,YClOSc~ltcnclilg i\nd Punl\I~mcnt ; Scn_lc~ic~~l,p I ~ ~ ~ n ~ b I i ~ n c ~ i t  

The authority of a court to grant probation and to suspend execution of a sentence is wholly statutory, and the statute 
itself furnishes the measure _-lilo\\l~i(L2p~'_1-_L(>_5911-lof the power which may thus be exercised. !':~.'IJ&-_v 71 
(';il.App i d  30. 342 P 3d 41 0. Seiltenc~np And Punlsllmuiit e1801 ; Scnlencl i~~ @" 1806Alicl I ~ u n ~ ~ l i ~ n e ~ i t  

Court has no power to suspend a sentence except as an incident to granting probation. Ostel- i f . Munkipal Cour-r of' 
I-os Anqelcs Judicial Dist.. Los A~~gc lcs  --- Coiinly (1955) 4? C'al ?d 131,287 I'.?d 755. Sentei~cing Alld Punislinlggt_ -IS10 

Power of court to grant probation may be exercised in either of two ways: (I ) by suspending iinposition of sentence, 
in which case there is no judgment of conviction, or (2) by imposing sentence and thereafter suspending its 
execution .lonss v Mal~lrr\ .( - \ j ? ~  I00 CaI ,11?l,J ?YO2-211t . 2 ~ 106$. . ~ ; s c ~ l c i ~ i ~  I:); I ;? ~ i d - - l - ) ~ ~ ~ ! l \ h ~ i l c ~ ~ ~ - e  
Sclltencing . . \ I I ~  I'util<h~nen~ I932 

A court not acting under the probation law has no power to suspend execution of any part of sentellce inlposed under 
the Vehicle Code, and order purport~ng to do so is void. l.I11\ \- _I)c:pi1rtnle11~offMcl~cIr \/cIilcles (:Ipfi-.-2 1>iJt 1934) 
--5 l--..-- 3d 7j3. 12.5 1).7ci i7 I. Scntcnclng And I ' L I I I I ~ ~ ~ I ~ ~ C I I Lc ' a l .Ap~~  l 8 5 S  
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Court had no authority to suspeild part of sentence where probation was denied. Pcoplc \ .  I - o I ~ ~ L(Sul,cl*. 1 ()--I 133 
C;11.Apl7.2d Sul~p. 854. I I O 1>.3d1 A(]. 

Municipal court on conviction for misdemeanor has power to effect suspension of sentence only by following 
method prescribed in this section. F'coplt? Wallach (App 19-33 S C'al A\~p.2d 129. 47 1'2d I07 I ,  Sc~i~cn~~j~g,v.;'yicJ\ I .  

--I'unlihmcnt---- ---1-803-

Power to deny probation rests exclusively in trial court. t>c~~pIc  \ K I I\vln (A1213 2 I ) I \ L .  19211 87 Call .?S>.-ZC,2 
1'. 803. Qinurial L-aw 1 1-lJ 

This section conferring on court authority to place defendant on probation, does not authorize suspension of 
execution of sentence, except as an incident to granting of probation. L I - e  Clark I&p. I 1 ) i~ t .1925) 70 C a l , / l p p  

--643. 731 1'. 109. Sentencing And 13unishmunt 1810 

After judgment of conviction has been affirmed on appeal, the trial court has no power, under this section to suspend 
execution of sentence, since its power to suspend under such sectioil expires in view of 5 1191, with pronouncement 
of judgment followed or accompanied by no order of suspension, and does not attach anew after affirmance on 
appeal in view of $ $  1263, 1265. Bcg,~b \,. Si~!~sl-~ot- ICourt o f  Santa Clara Counly (19 18) 179 C'al. 130, T-j-jL 6.1-2. 
C k j ~ ~ i l ~ a l  1 192Ida\\! 

The court cannot suspend sentence for burglary and remand the defendant to the custody of the sheriff, for the latter 
is required by 5 12 16, to forthwith deliver the defendant to the warden of the penitentiary, but a sentence inay be 
suspended under this section by allowing the defendant to go at large "under the charge and supervisioil of the 
probation officer." 13cople\ . Mcndoia ( 19 18) 178 Cal, 500. 17-31). 998. SCII~CIICIIIX .(l1 3 i ~ l l i ~ l ~ ~ i ~ c 1 ~ ~1 SO(? 

The court in exercising its powers to suspend sentence must do so in conformity with this section as amended. I , \  
p ~ a eSlntlcrv ( 19 11)103 Cal. 17h.173 P. 856. Scutcncll~g And IJi,nl,lirncnt 1x01 

Under this section amended by Act April 6, 19 1 1, Stats. 19 1 1, p. 689, the court has an absolute power of suspension 
of sentence; and a failure to place the person released in charge of a probation officer does not invalidate the 
suspension. &-park (3innnini (App. 19 12) I8 Cal.i\l,u. 16h. 1 2 2  1). 83 1. Seii~encing-And13i~liis1~1~ieiit IS!fi 

Unless otherwise provided by law, the court has inherent power to stay execution in a criminal case, and such 
power, being exercised for the benefit of the defendant, will be presumed to have been with his consent. tLsj2:ari 

-C'ollins (r?pp 190s)S Cal.i\pp. 367, 07 P. 158. Scntcnc~l~g 470And I J ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ , h ~ i ~ e n t  

1.---- Construction of orders, suspending sentence or execution 

California court's action, following conviction for assault with intent to commit robbery, of suspending sentence on 
condition that defendant be confined to county jail for one year, had the effect of a grant of probation. u..L -e._r_cll 
5Aihenfcld v. F a y ;  1963. 311 Iy.Supp. 360. Sen~enclne And Punihlllnent 1800 

Where court after pi-onouncing judgment and sentence or imprisonment orders all or part of sentence suspended, 
such order is considered to be an ~nformal grant of probatioil equivalent to a formal order, unless order of suspension 
is made after court has already expressly denied probation and it is clear that a grant of probation was not intended. 
O~j<j--yJ ~ A I I ~ I C - I ~ J I  o f-h ~ - ~ t ~ g e l c \  I I ~ ~ ~ - , - I , ~ ~ ~ - ~ I I ~ c I c ~L ~ i ~ r t  J u c l i ~ ~ ~ a I  Cqiulty (1955) 45 Cal 2d 134, 387 I) 3 1  7-32. 
%&'YJ-,llL! *!,id l'~,ll1~~lll,lcr,t I so0 
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If court tries to suspend execution of a sentence otherwise than by granting probation, suspension is void; howevcr ~t 
is only the suspension that is void, and the sentence remains valid. !yt:<ll~~_!1_(jr_l\~g>-Liz_1717I I ) I ~ J  I ([5-3)-1!.5 

< gl-/\17172cl 30 I ' l l l c l  1~~ l r l l \~ l t~ l c l l~-18 1u, 2 5  1 1) 2cl 7 17, s c l ~ ~ ~ , , c , l l ~  

Where defendant who had been convicted of forgery made application for probation and hearing was held thereon, 
and there was express denial of probation, suspended sentence as to three of six months sentence could not be 
construed as constituting a probation order. I'cople 1I1clc~o11 4 111\t.-!-O.52] - 1  !2-(>1!.&717 2d 4 ;i2-iJ10-!' 2d 
700. !55tencuig And Pun~shnicl~( 1809 

Order suspending sentence is in legal effect the equivalent of an order granting probation, U.S. l:idclit!r CQ C_rlliirc~ll[\_ 

-Co v. .lustice C o ~ ~ r t  -- O F  Vista Tp., Sail Diego County (App. 19.50) 99 Cal.,4pp.?ci 683, 333 P.2d 392. 

In absence of a denial of probation, the suspei~sion of a sentence or a part thereof is recognized as the "granting of 
probation" although not accompanied by any other evidence that that was court's purpose. I'eol,lc 1'. I - ~ T ~ L( S L I ~ ~ C ~ .  
I94I )  43 C7i~l.i\pp.2d !elj- Supp 851. 1 10 P 2d 140. Scotencir~g,And t ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ i s l i ~ i ~ c i i t  

Where probatioi~ was denied and hence court had no authority to suspend part of sentences, suspension, as tcsted on 
habeas corpus, would be held a nullity and sentences would be regarded as straight jail sentences. I't.c)l?lc J.: JA?pg/ 
(Super. 194 1 ) 43 Cal.Apy.2d S ~ P E854, 1 10 IJ.2d 140. 

Order suspendiilg all but 5 days of 6 months' jail sentence was equivalent to placing defendant on probation, and 
hence was a nullity under this section where defendant pleaded guilty of assault with deadly weapon. 111 re S.ll~lj~l~ 
Q\1'p. 2 Dist. 1936) 1 S Cal.App.3d 177, 63 I'.?c1 839, Sen~enci~l-E 1843And Punish~ne~il 

The effect of an order granting probation to one who had pleaded guilty of an offense and releasing hiin from 
custody was to suspend the order of sentence. l'eople 1,. S a p ~ e n ~ o  I(App. 1 Illst. 19Xi j  60C:al./)\pp. 626, 2 
Scnccncin~And I~unishineiit 1815 

!'-, _3 2-73. 


In  the case of I'eop12 11.Ph~lllpq(App 1 Dlct. 1911,) 76 ['al.,4pp,3c-i 1 5 ?  173 I] 2ci -:O2, the court said: "In the instant 
case the appellant was sentenced on the conspiracy charge of the first count of the indictment and on the 
independent violation of section 337b of the I'eilal Code charged in the second count to 'iinprisonment in the Couilty 
Jail of the City and County of San Francisco, State of California, for the tern1 of  One (1) year, One Day suspended 
on probation, Count No. Two (2) term to run coi~currently with term imposed in count No. One (1). ' Since a inotioi~ 
for probation was denied by the trial court, for appellant admitted that he had been convicted of a prior felony (sec. 
1203, Penal Code) and as the court made no reference of the matter to the probation officer for his investigation and 
report as required by section 1203 of the Penal Code (Peor,lev. L o p c ~ ~4-3 Cal.Al3p.Supp.2d 8-54. 861, I 1 0  I'.?d 
- -140), it cannot be assumed that the court granted probation on the condition that Pllillips serve the sentence to the 
county ~ a l l .  Therefore, it must be held that a judgment was actually rendered rather than reserved durlng a 
probationary period." 

Where execution of sentence for 180 days was "suspended for 3 days," and prisoner remained at liberty from May 
13th to Feb. 7th following, without any revocation of suspension of sentence, suspension would not be presumed an 
admission to probation, under this section and judgment was not satisfied, and was still enforceable. b1 rc I I O U  iir~l 

(-~\pp_I l l ~ h t .1'25) 73 CaIApk7,. 374. 237 1'. 4%. Sen te i~c i~~g  1815'4t1c1 I'un~shmcnt 

-I S . Detei-n~ination--In general 

It is not punishment but circumstances in mitigation of punishment which must be taken into accoui~t by court ~n 
granting or denying probation. I'coplc \ 1'11ii1 (.Am- l-)ly~ 33 CciI-Ap1~-31.1 !!$Z.F-731__!Q>) (I~I!.~&JL~:?_I~)~-
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To determine whether a convicted defendant is a deserving candidate for clemency, trial court may consider the 
defendant's record and all the facts as disclosed by the evidence and by the probation officer's report, and in 
dctcnllining such matters the court is not bound by findings of fact necessarily implied in a verdict fixing the degree 
of the crime. I'coplc H o h s  (App. 2. Dist. 1959) 1 Cal.Rpts. 293%176 Cal.App.2d 0 2  Sciitci1~:111q,4nc1 l'~1iii~lt111~11t\ I .  

_ -I -$38 .  ---Sen- Aiid Piinislinie~lt 1 870- -¶ 

The formal denial of defendant's petition for probation would not preclude the court from thereafter granting 
probation. J'coplc \.. Brandun ( A p p  1958) I(,(, 1\!~d.i)~jll~1t~j.1~~C'a1.1App.2~190. 332 11.3cI :It@. S C I ~ ~ C X ~ ~ I I ~  
-1014 

A pronounceinent by Superior Court that defendant, pleading guilty of burglary, be confined to county jail for one 
year, but that sentence be suspended on condition that he be turned over to state authorities as parole violator, was 
nullified by granting of continuance at same hearing, with direction that probation officer ascertain defendant's exact 
status at state penitentiary, so that later judgment, denying probation and sentencing defendant to state penitentiary, 
was only judgment in case and hence not void as placing defendant in double jeopardy. I'ec,plc \'. Williams (1_\1yxJ 
IS^. 1049) 0 3  Cal.Aptl.2d 777, 209 1'.2d 949. Ilouble .leopardy ---- - 11 

I.---- Rights of defendant, determination 

All defendants are eligible for probation, in the discretion of the sentencing court, unless a statute provides 
otherwise. People 1. Bruce G.(App. 3 llist. 2002) 1 18 C : I I I .R~~I~ .~C~ 1233. S C I ~ ~ C ~ I ~ ~ : I I ~ %S 9 0 ,  C)7 Ca1,1-21~~.-Ttli .b!cl 

I'un~~limcnt 1830 

Defendant did not have fundamental right to file for bankruptcy where condition of probation was that he not 
attempt to discharge restitution order by any bankruptcy proceedings. Peoplc v. Warncs (Sutxr. 1902.) 
C!L!<pts.?d 893. Bankruptcy 2212.1 ; Se11tcncin.g Aiid Puilishnlcnl 1?83(3] 

Where individual is eligible for probation the trial court must hear and determine his application therefor on the 
merits, and failure to do so constitutes denial of substantial right. In re Black ( I  967') i 9  C'al.lil,ts. -FZC),_C,O Cal.24 
---88 1.428 1'.2d - 293. Scnteiiciiig .And Punishrncnt 1906 

Applicant for probation has right to have his application considered by court. People 1.. EIu~coll( Y I P ~ .3 Ilist. l?t)-3) 

. 34- (::il.lQ~l,lr. 790. 221 Ca1..4p~.Zd 75 1. Sentencing Aiid Punishmenl 189 1 

Failure of trial judge to rule upon defendant's application for probation after conviction amounted to a deprivation of 
a substantial right, entitling defendant to reversal of order of commitment subsequently entered. People v.  Meal13 
(-App. 2 Dist. 1953) 1 17 Ca1..4pp82d 29, 254 P.2d 5 8 5 .  Criminal Law 11 1 1) 

Under this section relating to probation, the granting of probation is within sound discretion of trial court, but it is 
mandatory that court hear and determine application for probation. People v Ncal (App,  2 Dist. 195 I )  108 
C4LL4pp.2d 49 I ,  239 P.2d 38. Sentencing And I'unislunci~t 1 a2 

Defendant is not entitled as matter of right to have application for probation considered after denial of previous 
application presenting same issues. People v. S i t l~~e l l( 1935) 27 C'al 2d 1 21 ! I62 P 7d  4 I 3. SU-JL.I~(:IIIC .~LIJ! 

I ' l~~ i~h jncn t  I933 

Applicant for probation may require that his petition be considered by trial court, but may not demand clemency as 
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inatter of right. I'coplc ir. 131ankensll_j_p 4 [list. 3 i 2 .  ' ; c l ~ t z i ~ ~ ~ i g _(L4p~2. 10-36) 1 (?-<I31 App 2.~16052-1,1--P.1~1 
--[)un~slimenl I X 1 2  

Defendant in matter of probation has only right to have his applicatioil considered by court, and probatioil may not 
be demanded as inatter of right. !:eopIe 1. Roach (App 19-34! I39 Cali\pl~ 384. 33 I )  7-cl S-gS. Uit&~~xr~z_ ind  

I)uillhlll~lent 1 S 1 2 


Trial court should have permitted defendant convicted of per-jury to file formal application for probation and 
proceeded to final determination of same, b ~ l cv. K~y!~)!l(~?p1?1'1_32]!_)_13l J~\]LP->!)~,-! $ 0 .  { L ' I ~ ~ L ~ I(_)-1'.1~! i c  1~1;: 

Ancl Pun~shmen~ 189 l 

Only right of defendant in matter of probation is to have trial court exercise judicial discretion in lawful inanner in 
granting or refusing probation. People v. Pavne (App. 4 Dist. 1930) 106 C':il..App, 609, 389 1'. ,411d909. Sentc~~ci~ig  

Punisllil~cnt 1 802 


Refusal to consider application for probation, after plea of guilty to involuntary manslaughter, was erroneous. 
People \ .  Lovelacc (&p. 2 Uist. 1919) 97 Cal./\pp. 228; T75 1'. !\id Pun~shnien~ I853489. S C ~ ~ I G I I C I I ~ , ~  

30.---- Form, determination 

A trial court is without the power to deny probation or impose sentence until it has expressly and in the language of 
this section stated on the record or in writing that it has read and considered the probation officer's report. ~ c c ~ ~ ~ c - y _  
Arrccioodo (App. 5 Dist. 1975) 125 Cal.Rptr. 410, 52 Cn1..4pp,3d 973. Sentcncin~ \11d I'unlailmelit 300 

Trial court was without power to deny probation or to impose sentence unless and until the court had expressly and 
in the language of this section stated on the record or in writing that he had read and considered the probation report; 
only the signature of the sentencing judge or his statement in open court that he had read and considered the report 
could comply with the requirement of this section. People L.. Willianls (App. 2 [list. 1963) -35 Cal.I<~?tr.SOS,-~Z$ 
Cal.kIpp 7cI 676. Sentencilie .4nd I~uuishment 300 

Statement of court, after hearing considerable argument on defendant's application for probation after pleas of guilty 
to charges of forgery and burglary, that "Well, probation is denied", amounted to a "determination" of the 
application as required by this section. Pcople v. Escobar (;\pp. I k t .  1953) 112 (_'al.!Zpp.2~1 1-5. 364 IJ._3_1l 57 i .  
Sentencing And Pun~shnlent 19 13 

21.---- Merits, determination 

Where an individual is eligible for probation, the trial court must hear and determine his application for probation on 
the merits, and where a court erroneously concludes that a defendant is not eligible for probation and pronouilces 
judgment without considering the merits, the judgment must be reversed not for a new trial but with directlolls to 
consider the application on its merits. People i IIoll~s(&13--2- 1959) 1 CaI RQ~I-293,- 170 Gil , A p p  251-0-2. 
Scnlonc~ngAnd I'u~ii\li~ncll~ Im;C.1-11111iia1 . a ~  I I1 88
---A-

Where record discloses that trial court, without considering the merits of application for probation, erroneously 
determined that defendant was not eligible for probation, judgment would have to be reversed with directions to trial 
court to consider application for probation on its merits. l-'eoplc 1. So~~t I~ack  2.~1578. 2-48 I'.:d(1953) 30 C:L~  13. 
Crinlillal I .aw 1 189 

In prosecution for armed robbery under i j  21 la, failure of court to give jury opportunity to find that defendant ]nay 
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have been armed with a dangerous weapon rather than with a deadly weapon did not require reversal on theory that 
under this section, making a robber anned with a deadly weapon ineligible to parole, defendant was deprivcd oS 
having his application for parole heard on merits, in view of fact that application was denied without colnnlent and 
could have been denied in discretion of court without reference to type of weapon. t ' ~ ~ q > l cCc~~!io111-1:"\~lj1\15 l jL 

P.?d103 C.al.A1y.?d 245. 229 -- 112. Crinlionl 1..a\\. e1 11_7 

Decision of trial judge, after trial on merits, that he would not permit accused, convicted of statutory rape and 
another statutory offense, to file application for probation, was not abuse of discretion. Peopli. L,. I<ove:~iioLiAu& 
1933) 130 Cal.Ap17. 232. 19 P.2d 506. Sentencing A11d Punisllmcot 1862 

Denial of probation after conviction for manslaughter because not sought before trial was erroneous, requiring 
reversal for consideration of application for probation on merits. I'cople \;. Miller (;\luq2 Dist. 193 1 )  112  Cal.,r\p12, 
535, 297 I], 40. Sentencing And Punislllnent 189 1 

2.---- Prior arrests, determination 

In considering defendant's application for probation, trial court's consideration of prior charge against derendant, 
which charge had been dismissed on constitutional grounds, was not a denial of defendant's due process rights, since 
trial court carefully limited its consideration of prior arrest to fact that it put defendant on notice of seriousness and 
possible consequences of being involved with marijuana. People v. podcslo (Ap l~ .5 Dist. 1976) 133 Cal.Rl~h-,409. 
h? Cal .kp .3d  708. Constitutional I..a\r/ 473 1 

Fact that defendant's prior arrest did not result in trial and conviction did not mean that trial court could not consider 
such arrest in deciding whether to place defendant on probation. l'coplc \ .  P o c l e ~ ~ ( ~ i \ p ~ ~ .5 [)IS[ I [)76) 133 (:ill. RI-ILJ-_ 
JOT 0 2  Ctil.App.3d 7(]X. ScnIeiiciilg And P~~nislulicnt 18_7_71Ql) 

-.23. ---- Dismissed counts, determination 

Exception to general rule of Hawey, that facts underlying dismissal of counts should not be cons~dered for the 
purpose of denying probation, existed for defendant who violated prohibition against lewd or lascivious act with 
child under 14 because P e n a l  Code 5 288.1 specifically required a report on defendant's current inental condition to 
determine defendant's suitability for probation and this necessarily included facts underlying dismissed counts. 
Pec~ple v. 17i-anco (App. 5 Dist. 1986) 226 Cal.Rptr. 280, 181 Cal,App.3d 312, review denied. S e ~ ~ t e i ~ c i i ~ g  
Punishinent 1877 

--24. ---- Summary grant or denial, determination 

Under this section, court in its discretion may summarily deny probation. 1'g!y)Ic 1 .  ! j~a \ a~~c ,_ j~~I l~ l~1 c j - lh )  '4 
Ca l . i I~p .2d544, I69 P.Zd 265.  Seiitenc~ng And l'un~hhn~cnl w l L h l ( 2  

Trial court did not abuse its discretion in surmnarily denying without a hearing defendant's petition for probation, 
following his conviction of manslaughter based upon attacks made by him with his fists upon a 70-year-old Indian. 
I'eoplc v. I ' ~ l~ . r~n i  166 11.2d 636. S e n t c n c i ~ i g ~ ~ ~ t  I S . i j(App. 3 Dist. 1946) 73 Cal  App.2d 39 1. l'unlil?iiic~it 

Whether application for probation will be surmnarily denied is within the discretion of trial court. I'coplc 1, -jr]w~nan 
[hpp.  2 D~s t .  1942) 56 Cal.App.2d 394. 132 P.?d 539. Sentenc~ilgAnd Punish~nciit@;J 1802 

Justice's and police courts on conviction for misdemeanor may grant probation summarily. - t -~ l~ j~- tc 'C J Q C I / _ (  IJJJ~-4 
U ~ b t  1941) 46 CaI Alip.2d 848, 1 17 P ?d 4J. Sentcnclng And ~ ~ L I I I I ~ ~ I I I I C ~ I ~j:)O 
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While probation may be summarily denied, it is en-or suminarily to grant it. I'ool3le \ I o~x/I , ~ ~ p c rlC)4I)-;~-i 
Ctnl.App 2'1 Supp_ 824, 110 P7d 140, Sentencing .And l ' i ~ ~ l ~ ~ l ~ ~ l ~ i n i ~1890 

Where defendant's counsel stated, after motion for new trial was denied, that he wished to make application for 
probation, trial court summarily denied application stating reasons for denial, and counsel stated prior to 
pronouncement of judgment that he wished t o  renew application, trial coitrt did not act arbitrarily in denying 
application with proviso that denial was without prejudice to renewal thereof upon determination of appeal from 
judgment, since there was no request for pernlission to file a formal application for probation, and hence no denial of 
such request. Pccyple v. 11enl-y (App.  4 Dist. 1937) 73 C'al.A~p.2~1 ;Ili(J155. 72 1' 2cl Y 15. h f i l ~ 1 1 ~ 1 i i g  I ' ~ ~ ~ - ~ ~ ~ t _ l t i ~ c t i j  

--1891 

Summary denial of defendant's oral application for leave to file written application for probation was within trial 
court's discretion. J'eople v. Krug ( A p p  1935) 10 CYa1.App.ld 173, 5 1 P.2~1 445. SsliLe~lcinrr12nd l'i~11isin~-u!i 
189 1 

Summary denial of application for probation is permissible by this section. People \.. 1Iovve(App. lCJ34J--J 
1 

Summary denial by trial judge of motion for probation by one conviction of felonious possession of a preparation of 
cocaine without reference to probation officer for investigation and recommendation was not abuse of d~scretion. 

2d 645. ~ g r \ t c ~ i c ~ ~ i gt ~ g n ! ~ ! ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ! ~ ~People \ . Rill (App. 1934) 140 Ca1.App. 389, 35 I' !II~CJ F-2%; S < ~ l ~ ~ ~ l ~ i ~ i ~\ ~ I ( J  

Pil~l~slliileilL 1818 

25.---- Time, determination 

Trial court has power to entertain application for probation at any time before execution of sentence, before or after 
judgment is pronounced, and on going down of remittitur. I'eo~lc v. Ne\,rzrc? (A=? Dist, l 9 6 2 ) 7  (2x1 Rpty1.-22_?, 
21 I 1899. Cal.App.Zd 147.Sentencing And I'unislliuel~L 

Probation may be granted at any time before execution of sentence is begun and mere pronouncement of sentence or 
denial of application for probation before judgment does not preclude the granting of probation after judgment is 
pronounced or has been affirmed on appeal. OsLer \I h ~ i  / \ris!~I L ~ ~ c I : I I  j A ~ - ) ~ I I ~ : ! L : \L I I I I L ~ ~ B IC'OUI t 01' s I ) I \ I  
Countv (1951) 15Cal.7d 134, 287 P.2d 755, SenLenciny L\lld l'ull~rhnicn~ liq9-1 

Application for probation by accused after conviction may be heard and determined at any time prior to execution of 
sentence. People v. Forbrand (App 1902) 127 Cal . .4p~~.  .4nc1 I'unisI1111ent 768- 16 I ' d  755. Senle~rcn~g 189% 

Trial court was without power to hear probation application after remittitur where no stay of execution was ordered 
pending appeal. Iir re Bast (193 1)  114 Cal. 150, 4 P. ld 534. Criminal La\$; 1I')? 

Application for probation may be granted after affirmance of judgment of conviction on appeal. T'co~?lc-~/. Cu~cr ro !  
('oul-t of 11npc1-1alCounty ( 1  930) 208 Cal. 692. 284 l V 5  1 ,  S e n t o ~ ~ c i n ~  I ' I L I ~ I ~ ~ I I ~ L ' I ~ I - @ = ~!\ird 1893 

Trial court has power to hear and determine probation applications at any time prior to execution of sentence, 
regardless of appeal. Lloyd v. Supcr-iorCourt of Calil'orn~a,ill aiid Sol- 1.04 ~II~QcIc.I_C,~,~IIJ~_\I 622.2s-3(!-935))-2()S<'$I. 

--P. 93 1. -C'rin~inal 1 . a ~ ~  C"=r;;S 1 192 
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Under this section, trial court has power to hear and determine applications for probation at any time prior to 
execution of sentence, without regard to whether defendant has in the meantime uildertalcen to prosecute a valn and 
ullsuccessful appeal. Lloycl L . ~ i l l > t l - i c ~ l -C'0111-t oi1~~ii11 ,411gc~ t~  [!!!-29)k)l-llia.ill ~illdc(ji)lj,~js < - ' o ~ I ~ I ~ ~2(18-c:aL ~ ~ ~ z - ~ f i 2 ?  
P. 93 I .  Criminal 1,a~v 1 192 

Application for probation can be considered oilly before judgment. k g g l c  1 .  .Ionc\ 115137- 11 L ) I ~ I .  1c127]-8!,7C't~1_ l ~ 1 ' -

487, 361 1' 3h I .  Se l~tcnci~~p lfi')?i\~ici Puli~sh~lient 

Trial court issuing commitment under which there was actual imprisoilineilt was without right, more than year 
thereafter, to grant probation. 111 rc 13ost (App. I D I ~ I .  1!_3_-C'iiliZ1y3. 8 5 .  Scr\tctnc~~;! \I14 -!Clj_j)- 2-77. 398 P. 
Pun~shment 1894 

26. Conditions of probation--In general --. 

See, also, Notes of Decisions under Penal C:odt. 8 12(lc13.1-. 

Califol-nia law, like federal law, lodges broad discretion in sentencing judges with regard to probation conditiolls and 
does not require that the conditions be directly connected to the crime of conviction. Cl\!~~!cl~~!'c'l.~/->-_(;c~~l~,~lt*\~ 
C.-4.9 (Cn1.)2006, 465 I:.3d 386. Srntenclnr: And Pun~~hnicnt 1962; Sc~i tcn~inq- \ i i d l ' _ n 1 c n ~ ~ ~ ~ 0 / I j  

California prisoner who was granted probation, on condition that he serve time in county jail, was not sentenced 
both under Ij 489 relating to imprisonment and this section relating to probation, and could be subjected to 
imprisonment for offense upon revocation of probation. I-lo~lardv,  Crat en. C.D.Ca1.1969. 306 F.Supp. 73(!. 
Selltencing ,And Punisl~ment 2038 

An unconstitutionally vague or overbroad probation condition does not come within the narrow exceptioil to the 
forfeiture rule made for a so-called unauthorized sentence or a sentence entered in excess of jurisdiction. rc 
Sllecna K. (2007) 5 5  Cal.Rptr.3d 7 16, 40 Ca1.4lli 875, 15-3 1'.3d 281.  C1*in1111i11I a\v 1042 

A probation condition is constitutionally overbroad when it substantially limits a person's rights and those 
limitations are not closely tailored to the purpose of the condition. E g 7 i '  \,. (1\Ix.-j i ( 31 Ia~-r~~sot i  l ) ~ t _ - ~ O O > )  
Cal.Kptr.3d 263, 134 Cal.App.4th 637, modified on denial of rehearing ,review denied. Scn~c'ncin: !l!lndl'~~llj( J I I I I C ~ L  

1963 

A condition of probation which requires or forbids conduct which is not itself criminal is valid if the conduct is 
reasonably related to the crime of which the defendant was convicted or to filture criminality. l)eoy>lt: \;. 1-Ia~.i-issc>n 
(Apr,. 3 Diht. 3005) 36 Cal.FQtr.3d 264, 133 Cal.Al3p 4th 637, modified on denial of rehearing , review denied. 
S ~ t c n c i n ~  1963And t~unishinent 

A condition of probation will not be held invalid unless it (1) has no relationship to the crime of which the offender 
was convicted, (2) relates to conduct which is not in itself criminal, and (3) requires or forbids conduct which 1s not 
reasonably related to future criminality. I'eople L liarriwm c/\pfi_- J- Dl)!. 2 0 0 5 ) -.jO-C:clI.l<l~! jti 3(3-1. ;i 
Cal.App.4111 63 7, modified on denial of rehearing , review denied. Sc~~tc l~cl i i r  I J ~ ~ n ~ ~ l i i ~ ~ c n1I \ I I ~  t 

Under statute authorizing conditions of probation and suspension of sentence, trial courts are granted broad 
discretion to prescribe conditions of probation. I'eople \ Juare7 (,.4pp. 1 Illst. 2004) S Cal R-ptr.3d 138.2-,-j 
Cal.App.4th 1095. Sentencing And Puiiisliiiient 1962 

A condition of probation will not be held invalid unless it (1) has no relationship to the crime of which the offender 
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was convicted, (2) relates to conduct which is not in itself criminal, and (3) requires or forbids conduct which IS not 
reasoilably related to future criminality. I'coplc j 1 I Iclihc~c~li 3 I I I ? ~  5)-Z - ( X R Q ~ ~  1 I 3-C ':dL\12p j t l l(41713  -:()(I _id2;6. 

14-33. Sen1enc'inr: And I'Llnlshrnc~~t I (963 


An unreasonable condition of probation is one that is unrelated to the criine of which the offender was convictcd. 
relates to conduct which is not itself criminal, requires or forbids conduct which is not reasonably related to future 
criminality, or does not serve the statutory ends of probation. 111 I-c Jua~inS j&llp. 2 111~t.300 I ) 1 1-3 c'i11 I<ptl,;J 
dhh,  93 Cal.App.lth 81 1. Sentencing And Punisl~mciit 1963 

A condition of probation will not be held invalid unless it (1) has no relationship to the crime of which the defendant 
was convicted, (2) relates to conduct which is not in itself criminal, (3) requires or forbids conduct which is not 
reasonably related to future criminality. I'eople v. Kwi~era(App .  4 Dist. 3000)93 Cal.Rptr.7~1 522>78 C'al.Al?l?->b 
1 3-38, review denied. Senlencin~ And Punishinen~ 1 CiQ 

Condition of probation, requiring that defendant "follow such course of conduct as the probation officer prescribes," 
was reasonable and necessary to enable probation department to supervise compliance with specific conditions of 
probation. People v. Kwizera (App. 4 Disl. 3000) 93 Cal+l<ptr.?d 532, 78 C;1l.i\pp.4111 1338, review denied. 
Sentencing -And Punishment 19h0(2) 

Probation condition which merely directed defendant to cooperate with the probation officer and the court in 
determining the amount of attorney fees and his ability to pay was valid. I ' C C ~ I J I C  i liar-s_lil17p 3 I l k  _jKL?).I)_Zfi 
CTal.liptr.2d 837, 65 Cal.App.lth 902, modified on denial of rehearing. S e n t e ~ l c i t ~ ~  1 ( i !)(I(?],411d I'i~1lisli111c11~ 

Reimbursement for services of deputy public defender who represented minor in juvenile court proceeding could not 
be imposed as a condition of probation. In re I'_li~abeth AIIIICS LApp. 1 111x1 1987) 1 ,YS_('a!fQ1t1: _&12& (-11 \ply jci 
450.Infants 335 

Coildition of probation requiring juvenile to spend not less than five nor more than ten days in juvenile hall was to 

be eliminated, not because it was improper when the order was made, but because its intended therapeutic effect had 

evaporated with passage of time pending appeal, during which period juvenile was on probation. 111re I )~!I~~.~I-J I~_!~_ 


my.2 ?list. 198 1 ) 173 Cal.Rptr. 627, 118 Cal.App.3d 802.Infants @"'3 3 0  ! 


Condition of minor's probation following disposition order sustaining charge of unlawful driving and taking of 

motor vehicle that he "shall promptly notify the probation officer of each absence from a single class, and for each 

absence from a class that's unexcused, [he] will spend one day in juvenile hall", was proper provision making 

regular school attendance a condition of probation, but may have appeared to be self-executing; therefore, the order 

was modified to delete reference to penalty for nonobservance of the condition. I J ~ ~ c  ML-Qllw---2!IISJ
. l ona t l~a~~  

-198 I ) 172 Cal.Rptl-. 833, 1 17 Cal.App.3d 530. I i i h n t ~  225-

Trial judge has broad discretion in determining whether statutory conditions under which probation may be granted 
are satisfied; this discretion, however, is neither arbitrary nor capricious, but is an impartial discretion, guided and 
controlled by fixed legal principles, to be exercised in conformity with spirit of the law, in any manner to subserve 
and not to impede or defeat the ends of substantial justice. Pec~ple it. Warnel- ( 1978) 143 Cal.I<ptr. 8 8 5 .  20 C'i1l.3~1 
6 7 s .  573 1?3d 1237. Se~ l t cnc in~  I 8 0 2-- Aw1_1'unishrncnl 

In granting probation, courts have very broad discretion to impose conditions. 1'ci)171c' i, bIc1 ) L l i v ~ ~ I(:\1311I 2 l>pt_ 

1976) 130 Cal.Rp(~-. !962-- 839. 59 Cal App.3d 807. SC-IIL~~_~IPI {\r!d I'uilj\ll~i~ern 

If condition of probation that defendant was not to go out of his house unless he was wearing shoes with leather 
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soles and ineta1 taps on soles and heels meant that defendant was required to wear shoes with taps at all tlmes 
outside his home, defendant would be precluded from participating in most forins of athletic activity, and if ~t meant 
that defendant was only required to wear shoes with taps as he left his house, condition would be virtually 
ineffective with respect to defendant's budding career as a purse snatcher; accordingly, trial court would be b '~iveilan 
opportunity to clarify condition or impose different terms in place of condition. P g p l e  ir.k e I c l l i ~ ~ ~ ~ e l l('.App. 2 111\{-

1970) 130 C'al.llpli-. 839. 59 Cal A,1p.3cl 807. Criininal laa\v 1 I8 I .5(8) 


Where the jury, upon finding defendant guilty of unlawful sexual intercourse with a female under the age of 18, 
recommends state prison for the defendant, the trial court must pronounce judgment by sentencing the defendant to 
state prison, thereby fixing the crime as a felony; but the court may thereafter suspend execution of the judgment 
and place defendant on probation subject to whatever terms and conditions in its discretion it sees fit to impose. 
I r d ~ ( 4 .  5 1 1 9 7 )  1 5  R t 1 . 5 3 i 7 .  i I P L ~ ~ I I I I I I I C I ~ ~ - - ~o 

1886; Sen~cnclnl;.And I'i~nis11i~~cl.nt 375 

Defendant, who made a plea bargain that contemplated possible probation with some local custody for felony 
offense of grand theft, was not obliged to accept probation upon onerous terms not expressed in bargain, but could 
not, absent a request to withdraw his guilty plea, reject probation that imposed no unusual, unreasonable or onerous 
conditions, with aim of obtaining a misdemeanor sentence, where no specific promise of such a sentence was made. 
People v. Iienzulli (App. 3 Dist. 1471) 114 Cnl.Rptr. 321, 39 Cnl.App.3d 671. (anilia1 i-aa! 2'73. I ( ? )  

Where defendant had been sentenced on prior conviction for possession of marijuana to county jail although 1I t.3 it11 
& S.C. 3 11530 (repealed; see, now, t-Icalth Clr. S.C. 9 113F7) required sentence to state prison, and at time of 
subsequent conviction for possession of marijuana sentence to county jail for a narcotic violation would be 
authorized and could result in possible benefit to defendant under this section prescribing conditions for probation 
and would eliminate prior felony conviction which could be used as basis of impeachement, cause would be 
remanded to trial court for reconsideration of imposition of sentence for prior conviction. I ' c ' c l b  \ ,  Sproul (,App 2 
[Ilrt. 19691 83 Cal I<ptl-. 5 5 ,  3 Cal.App.3d 154. Criminal 1 - a m 1  .F(S)  

Probation condition prohibiting defendant from publicly or privately by words or conduct urging others to use 01-

possess any narcotics or psychedelic drugs did not infringe on his freedom of speech, as condition prohibited oilly 
advocacy of violation of narcotics laws and it was that advocacy, not political argument, that defendant was round to 
have made. People lr.Wright (App. 2 llist. 1969) 80 Cal.l<ptr 3 3 5 .  275 C"~tI.'4pp 1 :iu --261 -7-??S. (:~gr~!i~~!i~>nal 
3104; Sentencing And I~onis l~men~ 197l(3) 

Imposing state penitentiary sentence on defendant and allowing him to serve one year in county jail on that scilteilce 
with provision that if he got into hrther difficulty l ~ e  would be sent to state penitentiary constituted granting of 
"probation" and subsequent order revolung probation, reimposing execution of sentence and committing defendant 
to state prison was final jurisdictional act in execution of outstanding valid judgment. P L ' O I ~ ~ C  \ .  At~vooci(ii1717.-1 

Ilist. 19631 31 Cal.Rpti-. 36 1 ,  22 1 Cal.App.ld ? 16. Sel~tcnain'i.And I'i~nislunei~t 1935 ;  Sentencing 'Ad 
Punishnlcnt 20.34 

An essential part of probation is a standard of conduct which the probationer is required to follow as a conditioii of 
his grant of probation. People \I. Rye (Super. 1956) 140-Cal. ~ipp~~..>~.L-C)G22_2C)()_l~ ~~I I . Jc '~ !~ . I I~~-3d-1-26. .211~l 
I'unlslilncnt 19OO 

Power to trial court to impose conditions of probation is great. l&oplt: \ .  Fra111, (.II~P lL140) 04 C : t l . , \1qAl3 I l i b t .  

740, 2 1 1 P.3d 350. 

Requirement as prerequisite to probation that 23 year old defendant afflicted with syphilis who had pleaded guilty to 
rape of 13 year old girl submit to an operation of vasectomy was not invalid as unreasonable. rg~~3!c~~J3jg~l;e!l~ll1~~ 
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Prisoner who was sentenced to couilty jail for two years with six months off for good time earned was not entitled to 
be released eighteen months after imposition of sentence on ground that reduction of six months on good behavior 
was condition of probation where prisoner's application for probation filed at time he entered plea of guilty was 
expressly denied. iIu pal-tt: Cvre (/\pp. 1934) 1 C ' L ~ l:I~fp2ci 451. -30 P 2d 84-2. 5c_!11ci1z!!1: .LLI(Il ~ ' l ! n ! . ; l l r ~ t ~ ~ - e  

-lC>(,O 

B.---- Relationship to offense, conditions of probation 

An adult probatioil condition is uilreasonable if it (1) has no relationship to the crime of which the offender was 
convicted, (2) relates to conduct which is not in itself criminal, and (3) requires or forbids conduct which is not 
reasonably related to hture criminality. In  re Byron B. (App. 4 Dist. 2004) I I Cal.I<~31r3d 805. 1 10 CaI .!I1317 4th 

And Punishmeiil 1963 

A probation condition is valid as long as it relates to the crime for which the defendant is convicted, relates to other 
criminal conduct, or requires or forbids conduct which is reasonably related to future criminality. &o~,LgiA<L%;IK~I~ 
(4pp. 3 [)IS[ 3001 1 I13 Cal Rpw 2d 271, 93 Cnl 4 ~ p _ i i l ~ > I J .Sc~ltencin~llncj  1'26 A~ ' ~ ~ ~ i r s j i ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~  

Condition of probation which requires or forbids conduct which is not itself criminal IS valid if that conduct is 
reasonably related to the crime of which the defendant was convicted or to future criminality. pgo l> l~ '1 I<-\\ !/g!> 

(App. 4 [list. 3000) 93 Cal.Rptr 2d 522. 78 Ca1 .\pp.4tli 11'38, review denied. S c ~ i ~ e i i c ~ ~ ~ g  And l ~ ~ 5 ~ n l c ~ i ~ - ~  
1963 

Probation condition must be reasonable in relation to the seriousness of the offense. !:eople 1,. KLVI/CI-;I( i \pp.  4 Ili-,tt 
3000) 93 Cal.ltptr.3d 522, 78 Cal.App.4ili 1238, review denied. Sentsnciii,q And IJunihhnient 19(,3-

Standard, that probation conditions which regulate conduct not itself criminal must be reasonably related to crinle of 
which defendant was convicted or to future criminality, is violated by sentencing court when its deterinination is 
arbitrary or capricious or exceeds bounds of reason, all circun~stailces being considered. I'cc3pllr.r M crlcli (l')')ilI-.) 
Cal.Rptr.2d 520, 5 Ca1.3~11 '78 ,  85 I /\lid I J i~~ l~~ l i i i i c i~ t  P.2d 803. Scn~er~cl~lg  -_L'~'$J 

Condition of probation will not be held invalid unless it has no relationship to crime of which defendant was 
convicted, relates to conduct which is not in itself criminal, and requires or forbids conduct which is not reasonably 
related to future criminality. -1,er. 1992.) 12 Cal.Rptr.2d 893.Sciltcllcin9 And f'~111is t i ~ ~ i c ~ u  
1963 

Condition of probation which requires or forbids conduct which is not itself criminal is valid if that conduct is 
reasonably related to crime of which defendant was convicted or to future criminality, Pcoplc ->_- L ~ ~ ~ I J ~ \ - ~ J I ~ ) ! . ; ~  
1992) 12 CaI.ll~>tr.2d893. Sentenciilg And 13unishilieni 1 (3h3 

Power to impose conditions of probation, while broad, is not boundless; valid coildition must either bear relationship 
to crime of which offender was convicted, or be reasonably related to avoidance of future criminality. k._~!; 
13cnnardino S. {App. 1 Dist. 1992) 5 Clal.Rptr.2d 736. 4 C:al.ApgS4tli 613. Se1l~cnci11.g Anif I ) L ~ I I ~ S I I I I ~ ~ I I I ~ ~ - -

Conditions of probation imposed upon defendant's conviction of soliciting an act of prostitution, prohibiting 
defendant from soliciting or accepting a ride from motorists or from approachiilg male pedestrians or illotorists or 
engaging them in conversation upon a public street or in a public place, were overly broad in the otherwise legal 
activities proscribed, i.e., accepting a ride from a motorist, and engaging male pedestrians in conversation in a public 

O 2008 Thomson ReutersIWest. No Claim to Orig. U.S. Govt. Works. 














