
STATE OF CALIFORNIA ARNOLD SCHWARZENEGGER, Governor 

COMMISSION ON STATE MANDATES 
980 NINTH STREET, SUITE 300 
SACRAMENTO, CA 95814 

7NE: (916) 323-3562 
.: (91 6) 445-0278 

E-mail: csminfoQcsm.ca.gov 

December 14, 2004 

Mr. Leo~larcl I<aye 
Orfice o r  the Auditor-Controller 
County o r  l,os Angelcs 
500 West Temple Street, Rooill 525 
1,os Angeles, CA 90012-2766 

il17ll Affected . . Slnlc Agel~cies alzcl I~zterested Parties (See E17closed Mailing List) 

Re: Acloptecl Statement of Decision 
Dol~iest~c V~olel~ce Arrests and Victim Assista~ce, 9 8-TC- 14 
Penal Cocle Sections 264.2, 13701, and 135 19 
Statutes lC)9S, Chapter 698; and Statutes 1998, Chapters 701 and 702 

Dear Mr. [<aye: 

Tlic Commission on State Mandates adopted the attached Statement of Decision on 
Deccmber 9, 2004. State law provides that reimbursemei~t, if any, is subject to Commission 
al)l)~-ovaI ol1)aramctel.s and gilideliiles [or reimbursement of the mandated program; approval of 
a statewide cost estimate; a specific legislative appropriation for such puiyose; a tinlely filed 
c l am Tor reimbursement; and subsequent review of the clailll by the State Controller's Office. 
Followiiig is a description of the respoilsibilities of all parties and the Commission duriilg the 
13aranietel-s and g~~idel ines  phase. 

Claimant's Submission of P1-oposed Parameters and Guidelines. Pursuallt to Govei-ilment 
Code section 17557 and California Code of Regulations, title 2, sectioils 11 83.1 et seq., the 
claimaiit is responsible [or submitting proposed parameters and guidelines within 30 days of 
the adoption o r  tlie Statement of Decision, or by January 10, 2005. See Govei-i~iiment Code 
section 17557 and California Code of Regulations, title 2, sections 1183.1 et seq. for 
g~~idal ice  111 preparing and filing a timely submission. Also, the claimant illay propose a 
"reasonable reimbi~~.sement methodology," a fol111ula for reimbursing local agency costs 
nia~idated by tlie state. See enclosed copy of Government Code section 175 18.5, as added by 
S t a t~~ t e s  2004, chapter 890, effective January 1, 2005. 

Review of' 1'1-oposed Pal-amete1.s and Guidelines. Witl~in ten days o r  receipt of co~llpleted 
l~roposed parameters and guidelines, the Coillillissio~l will send copies to the Depai-tment of 
F~nance,  Orfice of the State Controller, affected state agencies, and i~iterested parties who are 
011 the enclosed mailing list. A17y recipient II ICL) ,  p~.opose a "reaso17nble ~ . e in lb z~r se~~ le~~ t  
17rcthoclol0,g) " I ? L I I . S Z I O I ~ ~  to Govelfi17771er1t Code sectlolz 17515.5. All recipients will be  given 
an o~portuni ty  to ])sovide written coillllleilts or recomi11ei1datioiis to the Coilllllission within 
15 days of service. The clailllailt and other interested parties may si~bmit written rebuttals. 
(See Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, 11 83.1 1.) 
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Adoptioi~ of Parameters aild Guidelines. The Coillillissioil staff will review the proposed 
parameters and guideliiles and all comments, and co~zsult with the Departlnent of Finance, 
the (gec t  state clgelicy, the Contvoller., theJscal ~l2clpolicj~ ~0171171ittees oftlze Assembly c111cl 
Sel~ate, the Legislcrtive Alzalyst, al7cl the clailnal~ts to consiclel* a reasol7able ~-ei~~ibzl~-senient 
~i~ethoclology that balalices accuracy with si17iplicity. Coi~ll iss ion staff will recommend the 
adoption of the claiil3ai3t's proposed parameters and guidelines or adoptioil of an amended, 
modified, or supplemented version of the claimant's original submission. (See Gov. Code, 
$ 17557, subd. (0, as added by Stats. 2004, ch. 890 and Cal. Code Regs., tit. 2, 5 1183.12.) 

Please contact Nancy Patton at (9 16) 323-8217 if you have ally questions. 

Sincerely, 

PAULA HIGASHI 
Executive Director 6' 

Enclosure: Adopted Stateilleilt of Decisioil 
Goveillllle~lt Code Sectioils 175 18.5 and 17557 
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The attached Statement of Decision of the Commission on State Mandates is hereby adopted in the 
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STATE OF CALIFORNIA 

Penal Code Sections 264.2, 135 19 and 
13701; Statutes 1998, Chapters 698, 701 and 
702 

Filed on May 2 1, 1999 

By County of Los Angeles, Claimant 

IN RE TEST CLAIM ON: 

Domestic Violence Arrests and Victim Assistance 

STATEMENT OF DECISION PURSUANT TO 
GOVERNMENT CODE SECTION 17500 ET 
SEQ.; CALIFORNIA CODE OF 
REGULATIONS, TITLE 2, DIVISION 2, 
CHAPTER 2.5, ARTICLE 7 

NO. 98-TC-14 

(Adopted on December 9, 2004) 

STATEMENT OF DECISION 
The Commission on State Mandates (Commission) heard and decided this test claim during a 
regularly scheduled hearing on December 9,2004. Leonard Kaye appeared on behalf of the 
claimant, County of Los Angeles. Susan Geanacou and Brendan Murphy appeared on behalf of the 
Department of Finance (DOF). 

The law applicable to the Commission's determination of a reimbursable state-mandated program is 
article XI11 B, section 6 of the California Constitution, Government Code section 17500 et seq., and 
related case law. 

The Commission adopted the staff analysis at the hearing by a vote of 5-0. 

BACKGROUND 
A. Test Claim Legislation 

In 1998, the Legislature enacted the test claim legislation to amend three Penal Code sections' that 
address domestic violence. Section 264.22 requires law enforcement officers who investigate and 
assist victims of specified sex crimes to, among other things, give the victim a victim of domestic 
violence card. The test claim statute adds two crimes for which a victim card is given. The new 
groups to receive a card are victims of spousal battery, and victims of corporal injury on a spouse or 
other specified victim. 

Section 135 1 g3 requires the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) to 
implement a domestic violence basic training course and response guidelines with content as 

' Statutory references are to the Penal Code unless otherwise indicated. 

Section 264.2 was amended by Statutes 1998, chapter 698 (see $ 5  1.5 & 4 of ch. 698). 

Section 135 19 was amended by Statutes 1998, chapter 701. 
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specifiede4 The test claim statute adds subdivision (c)(5), "[tlhe signs of domestic violence" to the 
course content and response guidelines. Section 135 19, subdivision (e), also requires supplementary 
training as prescribed and certified by POST. Subdivision (g) requires nonsupervisory officers who 
are "assigned to patrol duties and would normally respond to domestic violence callsu5 to complete, 
every two years, an updated doinestic violence course that includes the specified content of the 
response guidelines and basic training course. 

Section 13701 ,6 which contaiils the policies and standards for officers' responses to domestic 
violence calls, was amended by Statutes 1998, chapter 7 0 2 . ~  Chapter 702 amends the policies and 
standards for assisting domestic violence victims at the scene and the illformation given to the 
victim. Specifically, it adds to law enforcement's domestic violence policy: (1) transportation to a 
hospital and safe passage out of the victim's residence, and (2) contact information for the California 
victims' compensation program. It also adds two provisions to the content of the victim card: (1) 
phone numbers or county hotlines for local battered-women shelters, and (2) a statement that 
domestic violeilce or assault by a person known to the victim, including domestic violence or assault 
by the victim's spouse, is a crime. Further, the test claim statute amends subdivision (b) of section 
13701 by adding orders issued by other states, tribes or territories to the list of enforceable protective 
orders in the domestic violence arrest policy. 

B. Prior Related Commission Decisions 

The Commission has issued five decisions on prior versions of these test claim statutes within the 
past 17 years, as follows. 

1. Penal Code section 13519 -Domestic Violence Training 

Domestic Violence Training test claim: In 1991, the Commission denied a test claim filed by the 
City of Pasadena requiring new and veteran peace officers to complete a course in how to handle 
domestic violence complaints as part of their basic training and continuing education courses 
(Domestic Violence Training, CSM-4376); The Commission found that the test claim legislation: 
(1) does not require local agencies to implement a domestic violence training program and to pay the 
cost of the training; (2) does not increase the minimum number of basic training hours, nor the 
minimum number of advanced officer training hours, so no additional costs are incurred by local 
agencies; and (3) does not require local agencies to provide doinestic violence training. 

Domestic Violence Training and Incident Reporting test claim: In 1998, the Commissioil 
decided the Domestic Violence Training and Incident Reporting test claim (96-362-Ol), finding that 
Penal Code section 135 19, subdivision (el9 (amended by Stats. 1995, ch. 965) is not a reimbursable 

4 See <l~ttp://www.post.ca.gov/traii~ing/tps~bureaddoinestic - violence/domestic-violence- 
manual-wv.pdf> (as of September 24, 2004). 

Penal Code section 13519, subdivision (g). 

Section 1370 1 was amended by Statutes 1998, chapter 702 ($$ 3.3 & 6, subd. (c)). 

Claimailt origiilally pled Statutes 1998, chapters 698 and 701, but amended the test claim to add 
Statutes 1998, chapter 702. 

Penal Code section 135 19, subdivisions (b) and (c) (Stats. 1984, ch. 1609). 

This is cui-reiltly sectioil 13519, subdivision (g) as amended by Statutes 1998, chapter 701. 
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state-mandated program. This statute requires local law enforcement officers below the rank of 
supervisor who normally respond to domestic violence calls to complete an updated domestic 
violence course every two years. The Commission found that because law enforcement officers are 
already required to take 24 hours of continuing education every two years, requiring the two-hour 
course as part of the 24-hour requirement does not impose increased costs mandated by the state. 

The Commission's decision was upheld by the Second District Court of Appeal in County of 
Los Angeles v. California Department of Finance, holding that the statute did not impose a 
reimbursable state-mandated program because it merely "directed local law enforcement agencies to 
reallocate their training resources in a certain manner by mandating the inclusion of domestic 
violence training."10 

2. Penal Code section 13701 -Domestic Violence Response and Arrest Policies 

Domestic Violence test claim [response policies]: In 1987, the Commission adopted the Domestic 
Violence Statement of Decision (CSM-4222), finding that the test claim statutes" are state-mandated 
programs that require local law enforcement agencies to: "develop, adopt and implement policies 
and standards for officer's responses to domestic violence calls; . . . [maintain] records and recording 
systems, and . . . [provide] specific written information . . . to victims of domestic violence." The 
Commission's parameters and guidelines allowed reimbursement for, among other things: (1) 
development, adoption and implemeiltation of a domestic violence policy; (2) preparing a statement 
of informatioil for incidents of domestic violence and giving it to victims (not including the victim 
card12); and (3) reporting to the Attorney General. Furnishing the victim with written information 
when responding to domestic violence incidents is also reimbursable. 

Except for the 2003-2004 fiscal year, however, the Legislature has suspended these activities (the 
Domestic Violence mandate, Stats. 1984, ch. 1609) every year since the current test claim statute's 
operative date (January 1, 1999) based on authority in Government Code section 1758 1. l 3  

Domestic Violence Arrest Policies and Standards test claim: In 1997, the Commission adopted 
the Domestic Violence Arrest Policies and Standards Statement of Decision (96-362-02), finding 
that Penal Code section 13701, (as amended by Stats. 1995, ch. 246) constitutes a reimbursable 

10 Coulzty of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates (2003) 110 Cal.App.4th 1176, 1194. 

' I  Statutes 1984, chapter 1609 and Statutes 1985, chapter 668 (Pen. Code, $ 5  13700-13731). 

l 2  The victim card provision was added in 1991, which the Commission found reimbursable in the 
Rape Victims Counselilzg Center Notice test claim, CSM-4426 (1993). 

l 3  Except for the 2003-2004 budget (Stats. 2003, ch. 157), Statutes 1984, chapter 1609 and Statutes 
1985, chapter 668 have been suspended by the Legislature pursuant to Government Code section 
1758 1 every year since the operative date of the current test claim statutes (January 1, 1999) as 
follows: Statutes 1998, chapter 282, Item 92 10-295-001, Schedule (8), Provision 2; Statutes 1999, 
chapter 50, Item 9210-295-0001, Schedule (8), Provision 2; Statutes 2000, chapter 52, Item 9210- 
295-0001, Schedule (8), Provision 3; Statutes 2001, chapter 106, Item 9210-295-0001, Schedule (8), 
Provision 3; and Statutes 2002, chapter 379, Item 9210-295,0001, Schedule (8), Provision 3. The 
Legislature did not suspend in 2003-2004, as of August 2,2003, the date the 2003-2004 budget was 
enacted. It was suspended again in the 2004-2005 budget: Statutes 2004, chapter 208, Item 9210- 
295-0001, Schedule (3), Provision 5. 
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state-mandated program for development, adoption, and implementation of domestic violence arrest 
procedures.'4 The Commission distinguished between the domestic violence response procedures in 
the suspended statute discussed above, and domestic violence alplpest procedures in the amended test 
claim statute (now $ 1370 1,  subd. (b)), and concluded that the arrest procedures are not part of the 
legislative suspension of the response policy. 

3. Penal Code section 264.2 - Victim Card Distribution 

Rape Victims Counseling Center Notice test claim: In 1993, the Commission adopted the Rape 
Victims Counseling Center Notice Statement of Decision (CSM-4426), finding that Statutes 199 1, 
chapter 999 and Statutes 1992, chapter 224 (Pen. Code, $ 264.2, subds. (b)(l) & (b)(2), & Pen. 
Code, $ 13701) is a state-mandated program. The parameters and guidelines list the following 
reimbursable activities: 

[Rlequiring local law enforcement agencies to notify the local rape victim counseling center 
when the victim is transported to a hospital for examillation and the victim approves of that 
notification; subject to the approval of the victiin and upon request from the treating hospital, 
to verify whether the local rape victiin counseling center has been notified; to revise the 
"Victims of Domestic Violence" card by adding information to assist rape victims, and to 
furnish a rape victiin with a "Victims of Domestic Violence" card. 

Claimant's Position 

Claimant contends that the test claim legislation constitutes a reimbursable state-mandated program 
pursuailt to article XI11 B, section 6 of the California Constitution and Government Code section 
175 14. Claimant requests reimbursement for the costs of providing victiin cards to new groups of 
victims, giving additional written informatioil to victims, giving victims additional emergency 
assistance, training officers, updating policies and procedures and modifying record-keeping 
systems. 

Claimant amended the test claiin in December 2003 to add Statutes 1998, chapter 702, but pled the 
same activities as in the original test claim. The Commission accepted the amendment as filed in a 
timely manner. Claimant concurred with the draft staff analysis, as noted below. 

State Agency Position 

The Department of Finance (DOF) comments regarding Statutes 1998, chapter 698, that "these 
provisions would appear to result in a reimbursable state-mandated local program . . . ." (Chapter 698 
added two new groups of victims to those who receive a victim card). But DOF notes that the 
Legislature has suspended the mandates imposed by Statutes 1984, chapter 1609 relating to law 

l 4  This mandate (Stats. 1995, ch. 246) currently has $1 000 in the 2004-05 budget: Statutes 2004, 
chapter 208, Item 8120-102-0268, Schedule (1). The parameters and guidelines for this claim 
identify a uniform cost allowance as follows: A standard time of twenty-nine (29) minutes may be 
claimed to identify the primary aggressor in any domestic violence incident. The standard time of 
twenty-nine (29) minutes is broken down as follows: Seventeen (1 7) Minutes - Interview of both 
parties. Twelve (12) Minutes - Consideration of the factors listed [in the reiinbursable activities]. 
The total cost will be determined by multiplyii~g the number of reported responses x the average 
productive hourly rate, including applicable indirect costs as specified in section V., paragraph B, 
herein, x .48 (29 minutes divided by 60 minutes). 
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enforcement responses to domestic violence, and argues that this includes the provisions of section 
13701 requiring distribution of a victim card. According to DOF, "until such time as the Legislature 
may opt to remove its suspension of this mandate, we believe any reimbursable provisions of 
Chapter 698198 at issue in the present: matter would similarly not be reimbursable." 

Regarding Statutes 1998, chapter 70 1, DOF states that requiring the domestic violence training 
course for law enforcement officers to include techniques for recognizing the signs of domestic 
violeilce would be satisfied by POST. As to the rest of chapter 701 (responding to domestic violence 
calls to include emergency assistance to the victim's children, transportatioil of the domestic 
violence victim and children to a hospital for treatment if necessary, and police assistance in safe 
passage out of the victim's residence), DOF believes "that these provisions may result in a 
reimbursable state-mandated local program." However, based on the Legislature's suspension of 
Statutes 1984, chapter 1609, DOF believes "any provision of Chapter 701/98 at issue . . . would not 
be reimbursable." 

No other state agencies commented on the test claim, nor on the amendment. 

COMMISSION FINDINGS 
The courts have found that article XI11 B, section 6 of the California ~ o n s t i t u t i o i ~ ' ~  recognizes the 
state constitutional restrictions on the powers of local governmeilt to tax and spend.16 "Its purpose is 
to preclude the state from shifting financial responsibility for carrying out governmental functions to 
local agencies, which are 'ill equipped' to assume increased financial res onsibilities because of the P taxing and spending limitations that articles XI11 A and XI11 B impose."' A test claim statute or 
executive order may impose a reimbursable state-mandated prograin if it orders or commands a local 
agency or scllool district to engage in an activity or task. In addition, the required activity or task 

l 5  Article XI11 B, section 6, subdivision (a), (as amended by Proposition 1A in November 2004) 
provides: 

(a) Whenever the Legislature or any state agency mandates a new program or 
lligher level of service on any local government, the state shall provide a subvention 
of funds to reimburse that local government for the costs of the program or increased 
level of service, except that the Legislature may, but need not, provide a subvention 
of funds for the followiilg mandates: (1) Legislative mandates requested by the local 
agency affected. (2) Legislation defining a new crime or changing an existing 
definition of a crime. (3) Legislative mandates enacted prior to January 1, 1975, or 
executive orders or regulations initially implementing legislation enacted prior to 
January 1, 1975. 

l 6  Departnlent of Finance v. Co~n~nission on State Mandates (Kern High School Dist.) (2003) 
30 Cal.4th 727, 735. 

l 7  County of Sail Diego V .  State of California (1997) 15 Cal.4th 68, 81. 
18 Long Beach Unzj?ed School Dist. v. State of Califorlzia (1990) 225 Cal.App.3d 155, 174. 
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must be new, constituting a "new program," or it must create a "higher level of service" over the 
previously required level of service.I9 

The courts have defined a "program" subject to article XI11 B, section 6, of the California 
Constitution, as one that carfies out the governmental functioil of providing public services, or a law 
that imposes unique requirements on local agencies or school districts to implement a state policy, 
but does not apply generally to all residents and entities in the statee20 To determine if the program is 
new or imposes a higher level of service, the test claim legislation must be compared with the legal 
requirements in effect immediately before the enactment of the test claim legislation.2' A "higher 
level of service" occurs when the new "requireinents were intended to provide an enhanced service 
to the Finally, the newly required activity or increased level of service must impose costs 
mandated by the state.23 

The Commission is vested with exclusive authority to adjudicate dis utes over the existence of state- 
mandated programs within the meaning of article XI11 B, section 6.29 In making its decisions, the 
Cormnission must strictly construe article XI11 B, section 6 and not apply it as an "equitable remedy 
to cure the perceived unfairness resulting from political decisions on funding priorities."25 

This test claim presents the following issues: 

Is the test claim legislation subject to article XI11 B, section 6 of the California Constitution? 

Does the test claim legislation impose a new program or higher level of service on local 
agencies within the meaning of article XI11 B, section 6? 

Does the test claim legislation impose "costs mandated by the state" within the meaning of 
Government Code sections 175 14 and 17556? 

Does the Comlnission have jurisdiction over activities decided in a prior test claim? 

l 9  San Diego UniJied School Dist. v. Conznzission on State Mandates (2004) 33 Cal.4th 859, 878, 
(San Diego Ulzzjied School Dist.}; Lucia Mar Unzjied School Dist. v. Honig (1988) 44 Cal.3d 830, 
835 (Lucia Mar}. 

2 0 ~ a n  Diego UniJied School Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th 859, 874-875 (reaffirming the test set out in 
County ofLos Angeles v. State of California (1987) 43 Cal.3d 46, 56; Lucia Mar, supra, 44 Cal.3d 
830, 835). 

21  San Diego Un@ed School Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th 859, 878; Lucia Mar, supra, 44 Cal.3d 830, 
835. 

22 San Diego Un@ed School Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th 859, 878. 

23 County of Fresno v. State of California (1991) 53 Cal.3d 482,487; County of Sonoma v. 
Commission on State Mandates (2000) 84 Cal.App.4th 1265, 1284 (County of Sonoma); 
Government Code sections 175 l 4  and 17556. 

24 Kinlaw v. State of California (199 1) 54 Cal.3d 326, 33 1-334; Government Code sections 1755 1 
and 17552. 

25 County of Sonoma, supra, 84 Cal.App.4th 1265, 1280, citing City of San Jose v. State of 
California (1996) 45 Cal.App.4th 1802, 18 17. 
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If the Commission finds a reimbursable state-mandate in the test claim statute(s), does article 
XI11 B, section 6, subdivision (b)(5), apply to this test claim? 

Issue 1: Is the test claim legislation subject to article XI11 B, section 6 of the California 
Constitution? 

A. Do the test claim statutes impose state-mandated activities on local agencies? 

Domestic violence arrest policy (8 13701, subd. (b)): Statutes 1998, chapter 702 amended section 
13701, subdivision (b),26 by adding orders issued by other states, tribes or territories to the list of 
enforceable protective orders in the domestic violence arrest policy. The test claim statute amended 
the preexisting law as follows: 

These [domestic violence arrest] policies also shall require the arrest of an offender, absent 
exigent circumstances, if there is probable cause that a protective order issued under Chapter 
4 (commencing with Section 2040) of Part 1 of Division 6, Division 10 (commencing with 
Section 6200), or Chapter 6 (commencing with Section 7700) of part 3 of Division 12, of the 
Family Code, or Section 136.2 of this code, or any other state, tribe, or territory, has been 
violated. 

Local law enforcement agencies must now amend their domestic violence arrest policies to include 
these orders issued by other jurisdictions. The Commission finds that this amendment is not a state 
mandate because it is incidental to a requirement of federal law. 

The legislative history of this amendment clearly indicates that it was enacted to bring California 
into compliance with the federal Violence Against Women Act (1 8 U.S.C. § 2265), which requires 
any protective order issued by a court of one state or Indian tribe to be accorded full faith and credit 
by the court of another state or Indian tribe and enforced as if it were the order of the enforcing state 
or Indian tribe.27 

In Sun Diego Un$ed School District v. Commission on State ~ a n d a t e s , ~ ~  the California Supreme 
Court considered whether the pupil expulsion hearing procedures of Education Code section 4891 8 
are reiinbursable. The court held that this Education Code provision was adopted to implement a 
federal due process mandate, so the hearing costs were not re i inb~rsable .~~ In doing so, the court 
espoused the following rule. 

[Flor purposes of ruling upon a request for reimbursement, challenged state rules or 
procedures [i.e., test claim statutes] that are intended to implement an applicable 
federal law -- and whose costs are, in context, de minimis -- should be treated as part 
and parcel of the underlying federal m a i ~ d a t e . ~ ~  

26 This subdivision was added by Statutes 1995, chapter 246, which the Commission found is 
reimbursable in the Domestic Violence Arrest Policies and Standards, 96-362-02 (1996) test claim. 

27 Senate Judiciary Committee analysis, Assembly Bill No. 21 77 (1997-1998 Reg. Sess.) as amended 
March 26, 1998, page 1. 

28 Sun Diego Unified School Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th 859. 

29 Id, at page 888. 

30 Id, at page 890. 
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The reasoning of the San Diego Unified case applies to this claim because the amendment in the test 
claim statute was intended to implement a federal law (the Violence Against Women Act) and 
contains a de minimis, one-time cost (inserting a phrase in the domestic violence arrest policy). 

Thus, the Coinmission finds that the amendment to section 1370 1, subdivision (b), in Statutes 1998, 
chapter 702 does not impose a state-mandated activity on local agencies because it is "part and 
parcel of the underlying federal mai~date."~ ' 
Excluding the support person (Pen. Code, 3 264.2, subd. (b)(4)): Section 1.5 of Statutes 1998, 
chapter 698 adds subdivision (b)(4) to section 264.2 regarding sex-crime victims: 

A support person may be excluded from a medical evidentiary or physical 
examination if the law enforcement officer or medical provider determines that the 
presence of that individual would be detrimental to the purpose of the examination. 

Preexisting law gives the victim of specified sex crimes32 the right to have a support person present 
during any medical evidentiary or physical examination, 

The Coinmissioil finds that subdivision (b)(4) does not impose a state-mandated activity on local 
agencies. The statute's use of the word "may" makes this activity at the officer's d i ~ c r e t i o n . ~ ~  
Therefore, Penal Code section 264.2, subdivision (b)(4), is not subject to article XI11 B, section 6.34 

Basic training (3 13519, subd. (c)(5)): Section 13519 requires POST to implement a course for 
training law enforcement officers in handling domestic violence complaints and developing 
guidelines for response to domestic violence. Section 1 of the test claim statute (Stats. 1998, 
ch. 701) amended subdivision (c)(5), to add "signs of domestic violence" to the list of basic training 
procedures and techniques. 

In 199 1, the Commission, in the Domestic Violence Training decision, CSM-4376 (1 991), found that 
the basic training procedures and techniques of section 135 19, subdivision (c), are not mandatory 
because the test claim legislation: (1) does not require local agencies to implement a domestic 
violence training program and to pay the cost of the training; (2) does not increase the minimum 
number of basic training hours, nor the minimuin ilun~ber of advanced officer training hours, so no 
additional costs are incurred by local agencies; and (3) does not require local agencies to provide 
domestic violence training.35 The same analysis applies to this test claim. 

The Commission finds that the statutory amendment pled by claimant does not mandate basic 
training activities on local law enforcement agencies because the requirement to implement the 

" San Diego Unified School Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th at page 890. 

j2 These include rape (5 261) statutory rape ( 5  261.5), spousal rape (5 262), sodomy (5 286), oral 
copulation (5 288a), and forcible acts of sexual penetration (5 289). 

" Kenz High School Dist., supra, 30 Cal.4th 727, 742; City of Merced v. State of California (1984) 
153 Cal.App.3d 777, 783. 

34 Alternatively, because claimant pled no activities related to subdivision (b)(4), there is no 
evidence in the record that excluding the support person imposes costs mandated by the state. 

" This finding is consistent with the Comnission's decision in Law Enforcement Racial and 
Cultural Diversily Training 97-TC-06 (2000). 
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domestic violence course is on POST, a state agency. Moreover, the requirement to complete the 
basic training course on domestic violence is mandated only on the individual seeking peace officer 
status. 

Subdivision (c) of section 13519 states that "the course of basic training for law enforcement officers 
shall, no later than January 1, 1986, include adequate instruction in the [domestic violence] 
procedures and teclmiques described below: . . . ." The test claiin statute does not inandate local 
agencies to provide the course of basic training, nor does it specify who is required to provide it. 

In addition, there are no provisions in other statutes or regulations issued by POST that require local 
agencies to provide basic training to recruits. Since 1959, section 135 10 and following have 
required POST to adopt rules establishing minimum standards relating to the physical, mental and 
moral fitness governing recruitment of new local law enforcement officers.36 Recruits may obtain 
the required training at any institution approved by  POST.^^ Moreover, "each applicant for 
admission to a basic course of training certified by [POST] who is not sponsored by a local or other 
law enforcement agency . . . shall be required to submit written certification from the Department of 
Justice . . . that the applicant has no criminal history background. . . . ,,38 

Since 1971, section 832 has required "every person described in this chapter as a peace officer" to 
satisfactorily complete an introductory course of training prescribed by POST before they can 
exercise the powers of a peace officer.3g Subdivision (e)(l) requires any person completing the basic 
training course "who does not become employed as a peace officer" within three years to pass the 
basic training examination. POST may charge a fee for the basic training examination to each 
"applicant" who is not sponsored or employed by a local law enforcement agency.40 

Beca~lse the test claim statute does not mandate local agencies to incur costs to provide basic 
training, including the domestic violence course, the Commission finds that section 13 5 19 (as 
amended by Stats. 1998, ch. 701), as it applies to basic training, does not impose a state-mandated 
activity on local agencies. 

Continuing training ( 5  13519, subd. (c)(5)): As discussed above, the test claim statute 
(Stats. 1998, ch. 701) amended subdivision (c)(5), to add "signs of domestic violence" to the list of 
basic training procedures and techniques. Subdivision (g), the continuing training provision, 
requires specified peace officers to take the domestic violence course every two years "that is 
developed according to the standards and guidelines developed pursuant to subdivision (d)." 
Subdivision (d) states: "The guidelines developed by the commission [POST] shall also incorporate 
the foregoing factors." These foregoing factors are listed in subdivision (c), the subdivision that was 
amended by the test claim statute to include the "signs of domestic violence" to the course content. 
Thus, the test claim amendment to subdivision (c) also affects continuing training. 

36 These standards are found in Title 1 1 of the California Code of Regulations. 

37 Penal Code section 135 1 1, subdivision (a). 

Penal Code section 135 1 1.5. 

39 See also POST'S regulation, California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1005, subdivisioi~ 
(a>(9>. 

40 Penal Code section 832, subdivision (g). 
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The Commission found that the domestic violence continuing education requirement of section 
13 5 19 is not a reimbursable mandate in the Domestic Violence Training and Incident Reporting 
decision, 96-362-01 (1996). This test claim was litigated and the decision upheld by the court in 
County of Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates (2003) 110 Cal.App.4th 1176. But the 
court stated that POST certification for continuing education "is, for all practical purposes, not a 
'voluntary' program and therefore the County must, in order to comply with section 135 19, add 
domestic violence training to its curriculum." (Id, at 1 194). 

For this reason, the Con~mission finds that the amendment to sectioil 135 19, subdivision (c)(5), as 
applied to continuing training, is mandated by the state. It is therefore further analyzed under Issue 2 
below. 

Response policy, victim assistance & information (9 13701, subd. (c)(7) & (c)(9)(D)): The test 
claim statute added the following underlined provisions to section 13701 's domestic violence 
response policy: 

(subd. (c)(7)): Iilclude standards for "Emergency assistance to victims, such as medical care, 
transportatioil to a shelter, or a hospital for treatment when necessarv, and police standbys for 
removing personal property and assistance in safe passage out of the victim's residence." 

(subd. (c)(9)(D)): Include in written information given to the victim "A statement that, "For 
information about the California victims' compensation program, you may contact 1-800- 
777-9229." 

Before the test claim statute, the domestic violence response policy was not required to include the 
underlined provisions above. 

Therefore, adding these statements to the domestic violence respoilse policy is required based on the 
plain language of sectioil 13701, subdivision (a), which states: "Every law enforcement agency in 
this state shall develop, adopt, and implement written policies and standards for officers' responses 
to domestic violence calls . . . ."41 [Emphasis added.] 

The.Legislature, however, has suspended the underlying requirement to develop, adopt, and 
implement policies and standards for officers' responses to domestic violence calls. As discussed in 
the Background, the Commission approved the Domestic Violence test claim (CSM-4222) in 1987. 
As stated in the parameters and guidelines, local agencies are eligible for reimbursement for the 
following activities: (1) developing, adopting and implementing a Domestic Violence Policy; (2) 
preparing a statement of informatioil for victims of incidents of doinestic violence; (3) preparing a 
statement of illformation for victims of domestic violence; and (4) reporting to the Attonley General. 
The Commissioil also found that funlishing the victim with written information when responding to 
domestic violence incidents, as well as report writing and other specified costs are reimbursable. 
Except for one year, the Legislature has suspended Statutes 1984, chapter 1 6 0 9 ~ ~  in each budget act 

4 1 This finding is consistent with the Commission's decision in the Domestic Violence decision 
(CSM-4222). 

42 Except for the 2003-2004 budget, Statutes 1984, chapter 1609 has been suspended by the 
Legislature since the operative date of the current test claim statutes (January 1, 1999)' as follows: 
Statutes 1998, chapter 282, Item 92 10-295-001, Schedule (8), Provision 2; Statutes 1999, chapter 50, 
Item 9210-295-0001, Schedule (a), Provision 2; Statutes 2000, chapter 52, Item 9210-295-0001, 
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in fiscal years 1992-1993 through 2004-2005.~~ Although the budget acts do not mention Statutes 
1985, chapter 668, (part of the Domestic Violence decision, CSM-4222), the Commission finds that 
the Legislature suspended it also. As specified in the State Controller's Office Claiming Instructions 
for CSM-4222, the entire domestic violeilce program as outlined in the parameters and guidelines 
was suspended.44 

Thus, the issue here is what effect the suspension of Domestic Violence CSM-4222 ( 5  13701, Stats. 
1984, ch. 1609, Stats. 1985, ch. 668) has on the analysis of the test claim amendments to Penal Code 
section 13 70 1. 

DOF comments that the Legislature has suspended the mandates imposed by Statutes 1984, chapter 
1609 relating to law enforcement responses to domestic violence. According to DOF, "until such 
time as the Legislature may opt to remove its suspension of this mandate, we believe any 
reimbursable provisions of Chapter 698198 at issue in the present matter would similarly not be 
reimbursable." 

Claimant disagrees, arguing that the suspension of Statutes 1984, chapter 1609 does not include the 
victim card provisions.45 According to claimant, because chapter 1609's 'optional' requirements are 
different from the mandated requirements in the test claim legislation, chapter 1609 is not relevant as 
to whether the test claim is reimbursable. 

For reasons stated below, the Commission finds that for years in which the Legislature suspends the 
mandate to develop, adopt, and implement a domestic violence response policy, adding the 
provisions in (c)(7) and (c)(9)(D) to the response policy is voluntary and not mandated by the state. 
But for years wheil the Legislature does not suspend the mandate to develop, adopt, and implement a 
donlestic violence response policy, the activity of adding the provisions in (c)(7) and (c)(9)(D) to the 
response policy is mandated by the state. 

Government Code section 1758 1, subdivision (a), governs mandate suspension. It makes complying 
with test claim statutes optional for local agencies on two conditions. First, the Commission (or the 
Legislature or any court) must find that the test claim statute, or any portion thereof, is a 
reimbursable state mandate. Second, the Legislature must specify in the budget that the test claim 
statute is not reimbursable for the fiscal year (by appropriating zero dollars for the program). 
Government Code section 1758 1, subdivision (a), states the following: 

Schedule (8), Provision 3; Statutes 2001, chapter 106, Item 92 10-295-000 1, Schedule (8), Provision 
3; and Statutes 2002, chapter 379, Item 9210-295,0001, Schedule (8), Provision 3. 

43 The Legislature did not suspend the mandate in 2003-2004. However, chapter 1609 was 
suspended again in the 2004-2005 budget act (Stats. 2004, ch. 208): Item 921 0-295-000 1, Schedule 
(3), Provision 5. 

44 State Controller's Office, County Mandated Cost Manual, Revised 9/94, page 1. 

45 Claimant cited the victim card provisions of Penal Code section 1370 1, but the arguments also 
apply to the victim card provisions of Penal Code 264.2. It appears claimant's comments implicitly 
refer to the following prior Commission decisions: (1) Domestic Violence, CSM-4222 (1 987) [Stats. 
1984, ch. 1609 & Stats. 1985, ch. 6681; and (2) Rape Victims Counseling Center Notice, CSM-4426 
(1993) [Stats. 199 1, ch. 999 & Stats. 1992, ch. 2241. 
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No local agency shall be required to implement or give effect to any statute or 
executive order, or portion thereof, during any fiscal year and for the period 
immediately following that fiscal year for which the Budget Act has not been 
enacted for the subsequent fiscal year if all of the following apply: 

(1) The statute or executive order, or portion thereof, has been determined by the 
Legislature, the commission, or any court to mandate a new program or higher 
level of service requiring reimbursement of local agencies pursuant to Sectioil 
6 of Article XI11 B of the California Constitution. 

(2) The statute or executive order, or portion thereof, has been specifically 
identified by the Legislature in the Budget Act for the fiscal year as being one 
for which reimbursement is not provided for that fiscal year. For purposes of 
this paragraph, a mandate shall be considered to have been specifically 
identified by the Legislature only if it has been included within the schedule 
of reimbursable mandates shown in the Budget Act and it is specifically 
identified in the language of a provision of the item providing the 
appropriation for mandate reimbursement. 

The activity required by the test claim statute to amend the original domestic violence response 
policy is included within the suspended program. The test claim statute requires adding 
transportation to "a hospital for treatment when necessary," and "assistance in safe passage out of 
the victim's residence" to the emergency assistance provision of the domestic violence response 
policy. It also requires adding victim's compensation program contact information to the domestic 
violence response policy. The underlying suspended program encompasses these emergency 
assistance and victim information test claim amendments. 

Since the underlying domestic violence response policy is voluntary in years that it is suspended by 
the Legislature, the local agencies' obligation to amend the response policy is also voluntary in years 
the suspension is in effect. The California Supreme Court, in Kern High School District, found that 
"if a school district elects to participate in or continue participation in any underlying voluntaly 
education-related funded program, the district's obligation to comply with the notice and agenda 
requirements related to that program does not constitute a reimbursable state mandate."46 The court 
further stated, on page 73 1 of the decision, that: 

[ W]e reject claimants' assertion that they have been legally compelled to 
incur notice and agenda costs, and hence are entitled to reimbursement fiom 
the state, based merely upon the circumstance that notice and agenda 
provisions are mandatory elements of education-related program in which 
claimants have participated, without regard to whether claimant's 
participation in the underlyingprogranz is voluntaly or compelled. 
[Emphasis added.] 

The Commission is required to follow the holding of the California Supreme Court in interpreting 
state mandate issues. 

46 Kern High School Dist., supra, 30 Cal.4th at page 743. 
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Therefore, for fiscal years when the Domestic Violence, CSM-4222 (1987) program is suspended, 
the Commission finds that adding the emergency assistance and victim information to the domestic 
violence response policy, as required by Penal Code section 13701, subdivision (c)(7) and (c)(9)(D), 
is part of the suspended mandate, CSM-4222, and is optional. For fiscal years when the Legislature 
does not suspend the program, the Commission finds that adding the emergency assistance and 
victim inforinatioil to the response policy is mandated by the state. Thus, the analysis continues 
under Issue 2 as to whether the activities in Penal Code section 13701, subdivision (c)(7) and 
(c)(9)(D), constitute a new program or higher level of service in years that the Legislature does not 
suspend the underlying domestic violence response policy program (CSM-4222). 

Response policy, victim card ( 5  13701 subd. (c)(9)(H)): The test claim statute requires local 
agencies to add the following to the victim card provision in the domestic violence response policy: 
"(i) The naines and phone number of or local county hotlines for, or both the phone numbers of and 
local  count^ hotlines for, local shelters for battered women and rape victim counseling centers 
within the county, including those centers specified in Section 13 837 . . . [q.. . [v (iv) A statement 
that domestic violence or assault by a person who is known to the victim, iilcluding domestic 
violence or assault by a person who is the spouse of the victim, is a crime." 

The victim card provision was not part of the suspended domestic violence response policy mandate 
because it was added to section 13701 in 1991, and was the subject of a prior test claim: Rape 
Victinzs Counseling Center Notice (CSM-4426) that was approved by the Commission. In it, the 
Commissioil found that revising the victim card, and furnishing it to victims, is reimbursable. The 
Comn~ission's decision in Rape Victims Counseling Center Notice has not been suspended by the 
Legislature. 

Therefore, the Commission finds that adding the following to the domestic violence response policy 
is mandated by the state: (1) phone numbers of or couilty hotlines for local battered women shelters 
and (2) a statement that domestic violeilce or assault by a person who is known to the victim, 
including domestic violence or assault by a person who is the spouse of the victim, is a crime. 

Providing the victim card (5  264.2, subd. (a)): Section 1.5 of Statutes 1998, chapter 698 amended 
subdivisioll (a) of section 264.2 to require law enforcement officers to give victims of specified sex 
crimes a Victim of Domestic Violence Card, or victim card. The test claim statute adds victims of 
two crimes--alleged battery or corporal injury on a spouse or other specified victim--to the list of 
those for which a victim card is provided. Statutes 1998, chapter 698 amended section 264.2, 
subdivision (a) as follows (added text underlined): 

(a) Whenever there is an alleged violation or violations of subdivision (e) of Section 
243, or Section 261, 261.5, 262, 273.5, 286, 288a, or 289, the law enforcement officer 
assigned to the case shall immediately provide the victim of the crime with the 
"Victims of Domestic Violence" card, as specified in subparagsaph ( ~ 1 ~ ~  of paragraph 
(9) of subdivision (c) of Section 13701 of the Penal Code. 

47 The reference to subparagraph (G) of paragraph 9 of subdivision (c) of Penal Code section 13701 
is in error, as (G) does not refer to the victiill card. The correct reference to victim cards is 
subparagraph (H). Subparagraph (G) requires providing victims with a statenlent about the right to 
file civil suit for certain losses and expenses. This subparagraph predates the test claiin statutes and 
is not analyzed herein. 
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Penal Code section 243, subdivision (e), involves battery against "a spouse, a person with whom the 
defendant is cohabiting, a person who is the parent of the defendant's child, former spouse, fiance, or 
fiancge, or a person with whom the defendant currently has, or has previously had, a dating or 
engagement relationship." Penal Code section 273.5 involves willful infliction of corporal injury on 
a "spouse, former spouse, cohabitant, former cohabitant, or the mother or father of his or her child." 

The Coillmission finds that Penal Code section 264.2, subdivision (a), as amended by the test claiin 
statute imposes a state-mandated activity on local agencies to provide two new groups of victims of 
specified crimes with a victim card. 

Summary: On the issue of whether or not the test claim statutes impose a state-mandate activity on 
local agencies, the Commission finds the following. 

13701 (d): DV arrest policy No. A de minimis activity intended to implement a federal law. 

264.2 (b)(4): Excluding the No. A discretionary activity. 
support person 

135 19 (c)(5): Basic training No. Requirement is on POST and on person seeking peace officer 
status. 

13519 (c)(5): Continuing Yes, for all practical purposes not voluntary. County of Los Angeles 
training v. Commission on State Mandates (2003) 110 Cal.App.4th 1176, 

1 194. 

13701 (c)(7) & (c)(9)(D): Yes, adding statements to the response policy is mandatory in years 
respoilse policy, victim in which the Legislature has not suspended the Domestic Violence 
assistance and infonnation mandate. 

1370 1 (c)(9)(H): Response Yes, amending the victim card provision in the response policy is 
policy, victim card mandatory. 

264.2 (a): Providing the Yes, providing victim cards is mandatory. 
victim card 

B. Does the test claim legislation qualify as a program under article XI11 B, section 6? 

For the remaining test claim statutes ($4 1351 9, subd. (c)(5), & 1370 1, subd. (c), & 264.2, subd. (a), 
as amended by the test claim statutes) to be subject to article XI11 B, section 6 of the California 
Constitution, the legislation must constitute a "program," defined as a program that carries out the 
governmental fuilction of providing a service to the public, or laws which, to implement a state 
policy, impose unique requirements on local governments and do not apply generally to all residents 
and entities in the state. 48 Only one of these findings is necessary to trigger article XI11 B, section 
6.49 

The test claim statutes pertain to assisting and distributing information to domestic violence victims 
and domestic violence training for law enforcement. These activities are peculiarly governmei~tal 

48 County qf LOS Angeles, supra, 43 Cal.3d 46, 56. 

49 Carnzel Yalley Fire Protection Dist. (1 987) 190 Cal.App.3d 52 1, 537. 
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public safety functions administered by local law enforcement agencies as a service to the public. 
Moreover, the test claim legislation imposes unique requirements on local agencies that do not apply 
generally to all residents and entities of the state. Therefore, the Commission finds the test claim 
statutes constitute a "program" within the meaning of article XI11 B, section 6. 

Issue 2: Does the test claim legislation impose a new program or higher level of service on 
local agencies within the meaning of article XI11 B, section 6 of the California 
Constitution? 

To determine if the "program" is new or imposes a higher level of service, a comparison must be 
made between the test claim legislation and the legal requirements in effect immediately before 
enacting the test claim legislation.50 

Continuing training ( 5  13519, subd. (c)(5)): The Commission found, under issue 1 above, that 
local agencies are required to include the "signs of domestic violence" in the course content for the 
domestic violence continuing education training course for "each law enforcement officer below the 
rank of supervisor who is assigned to patrol duties and would normally respond to domestic violence 
calls or incidents of domestic violence." 

In the Domestic Violence Training and Incident Reporting Statement of Decision (96-362-Ol), the 
Commission found that the domestic violence contiiluing education course required by Penal Code 
section 13519, subdivision (el5' (amended by Stats. 1995, ch. 965) is not a reimbursable state- 
mandated program. The Commission determined that because non-supervisory patrol officers are 
already required to take 24 hours of continuing training every two years,52 requiring the two-hour 
donlestic violence course53 within the existing 24-hour requirement does not impose increased costs 
mandated by the state. 

The California Court of Appeal u held the Commission's decision in County of Los Angeles v. 
Commission on State  mandate^.^' Since the court's holding was based on the 1995 version of 
section 13519, the issue is whether the test claim amendment could alter that conclusion. 

The County of Los A~zgeles court stated, 

[Llocal law enforcement agencies may choose from a menu of course offerings to fulfill the 
24-hour requirement. . . .Adding domestic violence training obviously may displace other 
courses from the menu, or require the adding of courses. ... However, merely by adding a 
course requirement to POST'S certification, the state has not shifted from itself to the County 
the burdens of state government. Rather, it has directed local law enforcement agencies to 
reallocate their training resources . . .by mandating the inclusion of domestic violence 
training. . . . [Tlhe state is requiring certain courses to be placed within an already existing 

50 Sun Diego Unfied Sclzool Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th 859, 878; Lucia Mar, supra, 44 Cal.3d 830, 
835. 

5'  This is currently section 13 5 19, subdivision (g) as amended by Statutes 1998, chapter 70 1, 

52 California Code of Regulations, title 11, section 1005, subdivision (d)(l). 

53 Califoi-nia Code of Regulations, title 1 1, section 108 1, subdivision (a)(25). 

54 county ofLos Angeles v. Conznzission State Mandates, supra, 110 Cal. App. 4th 1176. 
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framework of training. This loss of "flexibility" does not.. . require the County to expend 
finds that previously had been expended on the POST program by the 

Thus, the court concluded that the statute did not mandate a higher level of service.56 

In adding "the signs of domestic violence" to the doinestic violence continuing training content, the 
amendment to section 135 19 is not a higher level of service because it does not alter the factors upoil 
which the court relied, nor does it increase the existing framework of training. Local law 
enforcement's requirement to take the two-hour domestic violence course, and to take 24-hours of 
training every two years, remain the same. The test claim statute does not increase the hourly 
requirement for contiiluing training. Therefore, the Coinmission finds that the test claim amendment 
to section 135 19, subdivision (c)(5), as it relates to continuing training (amended by Stats. 1998, 
ch. 70 1)  does not constitute a new program or higher level of service. 

Response policy, victim assistance (5 13701 subd. (c)(7)): Statutes 1998, chapter 702 amended 
section 13701, subdivision (c)(7), to add the one-time activity of amending law enforcement's 
policies and standards, for officers' responses to doinestic violence calls. Specifically, chapter 702 
added to the policy, "transportation to a 110s ital for treatment when necessary," and "assistance in P safe passage out of the victim's residence." Although this activity is currently voluntary because it 
is part of the legislatively suspended program, as discussed above, further analysis is necessary for 
years when the underlying program is not suspended. 

Preexisting law did not require law enforcement's domestic violence response policy to include 
"transportation to a hospital for treatment when necessary," and "assistance in safe passage out of 
the victim's residence." Therefore, the Comnlission finds that adding these provisions to the 
domestic violence response policy is a new program or higher level of service only in years when the 
Legislature does not suspeild the underlying doinestic violence response policy program 
(CSM 4222). 

Response poIicy, victim information (5 13701 subd. (c)(9)(D)): The test claim statute 
(Stats. 1998, ch. 702, 5 3.3) amended the domestic violence response policy by requiring local 
agencies to include in the response policy the following: 

Include in written information given to the victim "A statement that, "For information about 
the Califorilia victims' compensation program, you inay contact 1-800-777-9229." 

Although this activity is currently voluntary because it is part of the legislatively suspended 
program, as discussed above, further analysis is necessary for years when the underlying program is 
not suspended. 

Preexisting law required the policy to include giving victims other assorted information, including 
information about shelters, coinmunity services, restraint of the alleged perpetrator, and legal 
information. Under prior law, however, the policy was not required to include giving the victim 
information about the California victims' compensation program. 

55 Id. at page 1194. 

56 Id. at page 1 193. 

57 Penal Code section 1370 1, subdivision (c)(7). 
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Therefore, the Commission finds that the one-time activity of inserting this contact information for 
the victims' compensation program, as specified in the test claim statute, into the domestic violence 
response policy, is a new program or higher level of service only in years when the Legislature does 
not suspend the underlying program. 

Response policy, victim card ( 5  13701 subd. (c)(9)(H)): The test claim statute amended 
subdivision (c)(9)(H) of section 13701, whicl~ contains the policy's description of the victim card's 
contents. It was amended to add information to the card, as follows: 

(i) The names and phone number of or local countv hotlines for, or both the phone numbers 
of and local countv hotlines for, local shelters for battered women and rape victim counseling 
centers within the county, including those centers specified in Section 13837 . . . [a]. . . [f 
{iv) A statement that domestic violence or assault by a person who is known to the victim, 
including domestic violence or assault bv a person who is the spouse of the victim, is a 
crime." 

Preexisting law required the victim card to include the following specified information: 

(i) The names and locations of rape victim counseling centers within the county, 
including those centers specified in Section 13837, and their 24-hour counseling 
service telephone numbers. 
(ii) A simple statement on the proper procedures for a victim to follow after a sexual 
assault. 
(iii) A statement that sexual assault by a person who is known to the victim, including 
sexual assault by a person who is the spouse of the victim, is a crime. 

Prior law did not require the domestic violence response policy's description of the victim card to 
include information about battered women shelters or a statement regarding the criminality of 
domestic violence or assault by a spouse. Since the test claim statute altered the victim card to add 
this information, new printing would be required. 

Therefore, the Commission finds that the one-time activities of inserting information about battered 
women shelters and a statement regarding the criminality of domestic violence or assault by a person 
lulown to the victim or a spouse, as specified in the test claim statute, into the domestic violence 
response policy, and printing victim cards to include the new information, is a new program or 
higher level of service.58 

Providing the victim card ( 5  264.2, subd. (a)): Section 1.5 of Statutes 1998, chapter 698 amended 
subdivision (a) of section 264.2, which specifies the types of victims who must be provided with a 
victim card. 

The test claim statute adds victims of two crimes--alleged battery or corporal injury on a spouse or 
other specified victim--to the list of those for which a victim card is provided. Statutes 1998, chapter 
698 amended section 264.2, subdivision (a) as follows (added text underlined): 

(a) Whenever there is an alleged violation or violations of subdivision (e) of Section 
243, or Section 261,261.5,262, 273.5,286,288a, or 289, the law enforcement officer 

'%ecause the Legislature has not suspended the Commission's Rape Victinzs Cozinseling Center 
Notice decision, CSM-4426 (1993), suspension is not an issue for victim cards. 
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assigned to the case shall immediately provide the victim of the crime with the 
"Victims of Domestic Violence" card, as specified in subparagraph ( ~ 1 ~ '  of paragraph 
(9) of subdivision (c) of Section 1370 1 of the Penal Code. 

Penal Code section 243, subdivision (e), involves battery against "a spouse, a person with whom the 
defendant is cohabiting, a person who is the parent of the defendant's child, former spouse, fiance, or 
fiancee, or a person with whom the defendant currently has, or has previously had, a dating or 
engagement relationship." Penal Code section 273.5 involves willful infliction of corporal injury on 
a "spouse, former spouse, cohabitant, former cohabitant, or the mother or father of his or her child." 

Prior law required law enforcement agencies to provide a victim card to victims of the following 
crimes: rape, sex with a minor, spousal rape, sodomy, oral copulation, and penetration by a foreign 
object. The amendment to section 264.2, subdivision (a), requires law enforcement to provide 
victim cards to victims of an alleged battery or corporal injury on a spouse or other specified victim. 
Because this amendment expands the universe of victim card recipients to include victims of two 
new crimes -- spousal battery and willful infliction of corporal injury - the Commission finds that 
section 264.2, subdivision (a), as amended by Statutes 1998, chapter 698 constitutes a new program 
or higher level of service. 

Summary: As to whether or not the test claim statutes are a new program or higher level of service 
subject to article XI11 B, section 6, the Coillmission finds the following: 

13519 (c)(5): Continuing No, not a new program or higher level of service. County of 
training Los Angeles v. Commission on State Mandates (2003) 110 

Cal.App.4th 1176, 1194. 

13701 (c)(7): Response Yes, the one-time activity of adding statements to the response pol, - 
policy, victim assistance is a new program or higher level of service if the Legislature has not 

suspended the Domestic Violence mandate. 

13701 (c)(9)(D): Response Yes, the one-time activity of adding contact information to the 
. policy, victim information response policy is a new prograin or higher level of service if the 

Legislahre has not suspended the Domestic Violence mandate. 

13701 (c)(9)(H): Response Yes, the one-time activities of amending the victim card provision in 
policy, victim card the response policy and reprinting cards is a new program or higher 

level of service. 

264.2 (a): Providing the Yes, giving out victim cards is a new program or higher level of 
victim card service. 

59 As stated in footnote 48 above, the reference to subparagraph (G) of paragraph 9 of subdivision 
(c) of Penal Code section 13701 is in error, as (G) does not refer to the victim card. The correct 
reference to victim cards is subparagraph (H). 
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Issue 3: Does the test claim legislation impose "costs mandated by the state" within the 
meaning of Government Code sections 17514 and 17556? 

In order for the activities listed above to impose a reimbursable state-mandated program under 
article XI11 B; section 6 of the California Constitution, two criteria must apply. First, the activities 
must impose increased costs mandated by the statea60 Second, no statutory exceptions as listed in 
Goveriment Code sectioil 17556 can apply. Goveriment Code section 175 14 defines "costs 
mandated by the state" as follows: 

[Alny increased costs which a local agency or school district is required to incur after 
July 1 ,  1980, as a result of any statute enacted on or after January 1, 1975, or any 
executive order implementing any statute enacted on or after January 1, 1975, which 
mandates a new program or higher level of service of an existing program within the 
meaning of Section 6 of Article XI11 B of the California Constitution. 

Response policy, victim information (5 13701, subds. (c)(7) & (c)(9)(D)): As discussed above, 
for years in which "Statutes 1984, chapter 1609"~' is not suspended in the budget act, the one-time 
activity of adding the following information to the domestic violence response policy is a mandated 
new program or higher level of service: 

Victim assistance provisions: "transportation to a hospital for treatment when necessary," and 
"assistance in safe passage out of the victim's residence." (5 1370 1, subd. (c)(7).) 

Victiin notice: "A statement that, "For inforillation about the California victims' 
con~pensation program, you inay contact 1-800-777-9229." (5 13701, subd. (c)(9)(D).) 

Except for fiscal year 2003-2004, the underlying program has been suspended by the Legislature 
since the effective date of the test claim statute. According to a declaration provided by the 
claimant, the claimant incurred costs for this one-time activity between January 1, 1999, and 
June 30, 1999, when the suspension was in effect and the state did not mandate the a c t i v i t i e ~ . ~ ~  
Therefore, there is no evidence in the record that the activity of adding victim assistance information 
and information about the victims compensation program, as required by Penal Code section 1370 1, 
subdivisions (c)(7) & (c)(9)(D), to the domestic violence response policy resulted in "costs mandated 
by the state," within the nleaning of Government Code section 175 14, to the claimant or any other 
local agency. Therefore, reiitlbursement is not required for Penal Code section 1370 1, subdivisions 
(c)(7) & (c)(9)(D). 

Response policy, victim card, and providing the victim card (55 13701, subd. (c)(9)(H), 264.2, 
subd. (a)): As indicated above, the Commission finds the following activities constitute mandated 
new programs or higher levels of service: 

The one-time activities of amending the victim card provision of the domestic violence 
response policy to include information about battered women shelters and a statement 

60 Kern High School Dist., supra, 30 Cal. 4th 727,736; Lucia Mar Unified School Dist., supra, 
44 Cal.3d 830, 835; Government Code section 175 14. 

61 The suspended budget provision states "Statutes 1984, chapter 1609." As discussed above, this 
refers to the Commission's decision in the Domestic Violence test claim CSM-4222 (1991). 

62 Declaration of Martha Zavala, May 7, 1999, page 4, Schedule A. 
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regarding the criminality of domestic violence or assault by a spouse, and printing victim 
cards to include the new information, as specified in Penal Code section 1370 1, subdivision 
(c)(9)(H); 

Providiilg victim cards to victims of an alleged spousal battery and willful iilfliction of 
corporal injury, as required by Penal Code section 264.2, subdivision (a). 

In the test claim, the claimant states that it would incur increased costs in excess of $200 per 
annum," wllich was the standard under Government Code section 17564, subdivision (a), at the time 
the claim was filed. For the costs of printing the new cards, claimant estimated costs of $ 8 , 0 0 0 . ~ ~  
There is no evidence in the record to dispute these costs. 

Furthermore, none of the exceptions in Governmeilt Code section 17556 apply to this claim. 

Therefore, the Con~mission finds there are costs mandated by the state within the meaning of 
Government Code sections 175 14 for these activities. 

Issue 4: Does the Commission have jurisdiction over activities decided in a prior test claim? 

Providing victim assistance & information ( 5  13701, subd. (c)(7)): Claimant requests 
reimbursement to implement portions of the domestic violence response policy. For example, the 
claimant requests reimbursement for transporting victims to a hospital for treatment and assisting 
victims out of the residence. The Commission finds that the Commission already decided these 
"emergency assistance" activities in the Domestic Violence parameters and guidelines, CSM-4222 
(1987), and therefore has no jurisdiction over this activity for purposes of this claim.65 

The statutory scheme for mandate determinations under article XI11 B, section 6 establishes finality 
for decisioils adopted by the Commission. The Commission has no continuing jurisdiction over its 
decisions, including the Domestic Violence decision (CSM-4222). Until 1999, the Commission did 
not have any statutory authority to reconsider test claim decisions. In 1999, Government Code 
section 17559 was amended to authorize the Commission to order reconsideration, on petition of a 
party, within 30 days after the statement of decisioil is issued. (Stats. 1999, ch. 643.) 

This finality also applies to parameters and guidelines. Once the parameters and guidelines are 
adopted, the State Controller's Office has 60 days to issue claiming instructions to assist local 
agencies in claiming costs,66 who then have 120 days from the date of the claiming instructions to 
file their reimbursement claims with the State Controller's Office for initial fiscal year costs.67 
Although the parties may request amendments to the parameters and guidelines, the request must be 
filed with the Commission before the deadline for initial claims to apply the proposed amendment 

63 The current standard is $1000, amended by Statutes 2002, chapter 1124, effective September 30, 
2002. 

" Test Claim 98-TC-14, page 3. 

65 The decision of the quasi-judicial admillistrative agency, if not challenged within the applicable 
statute of limitations, binds the parties on the issues litigated. Hollywood Circle, Inc, v. Department 
of Alcoholic Beverage (1961) 55 Cal.2d 728,73 1-733. 

" Government Code, section 17558, subdivision (b). 

67 Goveininent Code, section 1756 1, subdivision (d)(l ). 
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retroactively back to all years eligible for reimb~rsernent.~' Requests to amend parameters and 
guidelines filed after the deadline for initial claims must be submitted on or before January 15 
following a fiscal year in order to establish eligibility for that fiscal year.69 Thus, Commission 
adopted amendments may apply to the prior fiscal year if filed before January 15 following a fiscal 
year. A request to amend the parameters and guidelines for Donzestic Violence could not be 
retroactive to the initial reimbursement period of the original decision unless it were filed before the 
due date for the initial reimbursement claims. 

The test claim statute in this case, Penal Code section 13701, subdivision (c)(7), added the following 
underlined provisions to section 13701's domestic violence response policy: 

Iilclude standards for "Emergency assistance to victims, such as medical care, 
transportation to a shelter, or a hospital for treatment when necessary, and police 
standbys for removing personal property and assistance in safe passage out of the 
victim's residence." 

In years when the underlying Domestic Violence prograin is not suspended, claimants are eligible to 
receive reimbursement for, among other things: '(1) development, adoption and implementation of a 
Domestic Violence Policy.' The emergency assistance to victims, medical care, and transportation 
to a shelter were all included in the original test claim statute's response policy. Penal Code sectioil 
1370 1 originally included "[e]mergency assistance to victims, such as . . . ." [Emphasis added.] The 
phrase, "such as" means, "for example" or "of a kind specified."70 Thus, the test claim statute in this 
case merely adds further examples of assistance after the "such as." These amendments were called 
"clarifying" by the Assembly Public Safety ~ o m m i t t e e . ~ '  Since the amendments are clarifying only, 
they do not increase the level of service required of local agencies.72 

Thus, because the activities of emergency assistance, medical care, and trailsportation were already 
decided in the original Donzestic Violence statement of decision and parameters and guidelines, the 
Commission has no jurisdictioil over these activities in this claim. 

Claimant's comments on the revised draft staff analysis state that claimant concurs with staffs 
analysis, and concurs that the prograill "may, in 2005-06 and subsequent fiscal years, impose 
additional reimbursable costs in providing emergency assistance to domestic violence victims as 
noted . . . [in] staffs analysis." To clarify, the Commission does not find reimbursable costs for 

Government Code, section 17557; California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2, 
subdivision (b). 

69 Governmei~t Code, section 17557; California Code of Regulations, title 2, section 1183.2, 
subdivision (c). 

70 See <http://dictionary.reference.com/search?q=such%2Oas as of October 6, 2004. 

7'  Assernbly Public Safety Committee, Analysis of Assembly Bill No. 2172 (1997-98 Reg. Sess.) as 
introduced. Originally, the bill referred to "guaranteeing" safe passage away from the residence, but 
was later changed to "assisting." This bill was later double joined to Assembly Bill No. 2177 (Stats. 
1998, ch. 702), which was enacted as to section 1370 1. 

72 Sun Diego Unyied School Dist., supra, 33 Cal.4th at page 877. 
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emergency assistance in future fiscal years. Rather, should the Legislature not suspend73 the 
Donzestic Violence mandate (CSM-4222), the activities in the parameters and guidelines, as 
mentioned on pages 3 and 10 of this analysis, would be reimbursable. 

Claimant also requested reimbursement for assisting children out of the residence, but this activity is 
not in the enacted version of the test claim statute that amended section 13701 (Stats. 1998, ch. 702, 
$ 5  3.3 & 6). The last chaptered bill is assigned the higher chapter number,74 which becomes law 
when legislative bills are double or triple-joined, as they were in this caseq7' Neither chapters 698 
nor 70 1, which include the provision regarding assisting children, amended or became law as to 
Penal Code section 1 3 7 0 1 . ~ ~  SO the Commission finds that the test claim statute does not mandate 
assisting children out of the residence. 

Issue 5 -If  the Commission finds a reimbursable state mandate in the test claim statute(s), 
does article XI11 B, section 6, subdivision (b)(5), apply to this test claim? 

On November 2, 2004, the voters enacted Proposition lA,  which among other changes, adds 
subdivision (b) to article XI11 B, section 6. Subdivision (b) states in relevant part: 

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), for the 2005-06 fiscal year and every 
subsequent fiscal year, for a mandate for which the costs of a local government 
claimant have been determined in a preceding fiscal year to be payable by the State 
pursuant to law, the Legislature shall either appropriate, in the annual Budget Act, the 
full payable amount that has not been previously paid, or suspend the operation of the 

73 Proposition 1 A, enacted in November 2004, among other changes, adds subdivision (b) to article 
XI11 B, sectioil 6 of the California Constitution, as follows: 

[Flor the 2005-06 fiscal year and every subsequent fiscal year, for a mandate for 
which the costs of a local government claimant have been determined in a preceding 
fiscal year to be payable by the State pursuant to law, the Legislature shall either 
appropriate, in the annual Budget Act, the full payable amount that has not been 
previously paid, or suspend the operation of the mandate for the fiscal year for which 
the annual Budget Act is applicable in a manner prescribed by law. 

74 See Government Code sections 95 10 and 9605. 

75 Double-joined bills are two bills that propose to amend the same code section, drafted so that the 
amended bill does not override the provisions of the bill that affects the same section. In this case, 
section 6, subdivision (c) of Statutes 1998, chapter 702 states: 

(c) Section 3.3 of this bill incorporates amendments to Section 13701 of the Penal Code 
proposed by this bill, AB 1201, and AB 2172. It shall only become operative if (1) all three 
bills are enacted and become effective on or before January 1, 1999, (2) all three bills amend 
Section 13701 of the Penal Code, and (3) this bill is enacted after AB 1201, [chapter 6981 
and AB 2172, [chapter 7011 in which case Sections 3, 3.1, and 3.2 of this bill shall not 
become operative. [Emphasis added.] 

76 Statutes 1998, chapter 698, sections 2.1, 2.3 and 5. Statutes 1998, chapter 701, sections 2, 2.1, 
2.2, 2.3 & 3. 
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mandate for the fiscal year for which the annual Budget Act is applicable in a manner 
prescribed by law. 

(2) Payable claims for costs incurred prior to the 2005-05 fiscal year that have not 
been paid prior to the 2005-06 fiscal year may be paid over a term of years, as 
prescribed by law. [I] . . . [I]. 

(4) This subdivision applies to a mandate only as it affects a city, county, city and 
county, or special district. 

(5) This subdivision shall not apply to a requirement to provide or recognize any 
procedural or substantive protection, right, benefit, or employment status of any local 
government en~ployee or retiree, or of any local government employee organization, 
that arises from, affects, or directly relates to future, current, or past local government 
employnleilt and that constitutes a mandate subject to this section. [Emphasis 
added.] 

Subdivision (b)(5) excludes specified types of inaildates froin the operation of subdivision (b). The 
portions of this test claim that the Commission finds to be reimbursable mandates, as listed below, 
do not apply to the "employment status of any local government employee or retiree, or any local 
government employee organization, that arises from, affects, or directly relates to future, current, or 
past local government employment." Rather, they are merely new local government duties. 
Therefore, the Commission finds that subdivision (b)(5) does not apply to this test claim. 

CONCLUSION 
Therefore, the Cominission finds that section 1370 1,  subdivision (c)(9)(D) and (H) (as amended by 
Stats. 1998, ch. 702), and section 264.2, subdivision (a) (as amended by Stats. 1998, ch. 698), 
impose a reimbursable state-mandated program on local agencies within the meaning of section 6, 
article XI11 B of the California Constitution and Government Code section 17514. 

The Commissioil finds that the following activities are reimbursable. 

Providing victim cards to victims of the following crimes: (1) Penal Code section 243, 
subdivision (e), battery against a spouse, a person with whoin the defendant is cohabiting, a 
person who is the parent of the defendant's child, former spouse, fiailcC, or fiancie, or a 
person with whom the defendant currently has, or has previously had, a dating or engagement 
relationship;77 and (2) Penal Code section 273.5, willful inflictioil of corporal injury on a 
spouse, former spouse, cohabitant, former cohabitant, or the mother or father of his or her 

(9 264.2, subd. (a)). 

The one-time cost of printing victim cards to add the following new information: (1) phone 
numbers andlor local county hotlines of battered-women shelters; (2) a statement that 
domestic violence or assault by a person who is known to the victim, including domestic 
violence or assault by a person who is the spouse of the victim, is a crime. '(9 13701, subd. 
(c)(9)(H)(i) & (iv)). 

77 Penal Code section 243, subdivision (e). 

78 Penal Code section 273.5. 
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The one-time cost of adding to the domestic violence response policy two new crimes 
(5 s  243, subd. (e), & 273.5) to those for which a victim card is given out (§ 13701, subd. 
(c)(9)(H)). 

The one-time cost of adding the following to the description of the victim card in the 
domestic violence response policy: (I)  phone numbers andlor local county hotlines of 
battered-women shelters; (2) a statement that domestic violence or assault by a person who is 
known to the victim, including domestic violence or assault by a person who is the spouse of 
the victim, is a crime. (§ 13701, subd. (c)(9)(H)(i) & (iv)). 

The Commission also finds that all other amendments to the test claiin statutes, as discussed above, 
do not coilstitute a reimbursable state-mandated program under article XI11 B, sectioil6 of the 
California Constitution. 
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Governlnent Code Section 17518.5 
As Added by AB 2856 

Statutes 2004, Chapter 890 

SEC. 6. Section 175 18.5 is added to the Goven~i~lent  Code, to read: 
175 18.5. (a) ' 'Reasoi~able reimbursement methodology" means a fo'ollllula for reimbursing local 
agency and school district costs mandated by the state that meets the followii~g coi~ditions: 
(1) The total an~ount  to be reii~~bursed statewide is equivalent to total estimated local agency and 
scl~ool district costs to i111plei11ent the mandate in a cost-efficient manner. 
(2) For 50 percent or more of eligible local agency and school district c lain~ai~ts ,  the ainount 
reimbursed is estimated to f~l l ly  offset their projected costs to implen~ent the mandate ill a cost- 
efficient 111ai111er. 
(b) Whenever possible, a reasonable reii~lburse~~lent methodology shall be based 011 general 
allocatioi~ formulas, unifoi-111 cost allowances, and other approxin~ations of local costs tnaildated 
by the state, rather than detailed docun~entation of actual local costs. 111 cases when local agencies 
and school districts are projected to incur costs to i n ~ p l e ~ l ~ e n t  a mandate over a period of more 
than one fiscal year, the determination of a reasoilable reilllburseinent metl~odology imay consider 
local costs and state rein~bui-sernei~ts over a period of greater than one fiscal year, but not 
exceeding 10 years. 
(c) A reasonable reiinb~irsen~ent n~etl~odology nlay be developed by ally of the following: 

+ mance. (1) Department of T' 
(2) The Controller. 
(3) An affected state agency. 
(4) A claimant. 
(5) A11 interested party. 
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